View Full Version : getting petrol
northern
19-10-2011, 13:19
question: Would you / do you leave your baby in the car while you pay for petrol, or do you unstrap them and bring them in with you?
This came up as I was talking to my friend who has a 3 month old, and I'm due in 3 days with my first. My friend was dead against it and refused to let her partner do it either.
I asked my partner and he said he didn't see why not, you'd only be gone for 5 mins.
What are others thoughts on this?
Great thread. I have wondered this myself. I wouldnt do it but wondered if others do it.
Subscribing.
jessesgirl
19-10-2011, 13:22
Yep! I would! Just make sure the doors are locked!
I think it depends on how hot it is and how long the queue is to pay. If it's not a hot day and I knew it would only take a couple of minutes then I would just lock the car and run in real quick.
You should check out the last few times this question was asked on here. It got very heated!!Basically there's an argument for both sides, so just do what you feel is right for you.
Littlemissmetal
19-10-2011, 13:23
My boys are 2 and 3.5yrs and they stay in the car while I pay, I just take the keys with me.
I think it's fine if you can see the baby at all times.
But I've never done it as I found out from bh that people are really against it.
Chocolate All Gone Now
19-10-2011, 13:23
You should check out the last few times this question was asked on here. It got very heated!!
Basically there's an argument for both sides, so just do what you feel is right for you.
This ^^
Popcorn??
This thread comes around a lot and usually ends up with nasty comments towards those who do leave their little ones in the car.
It's up to everyone to make their own risk assessment. I know after a certain age I actually found it safer to leave DS in car with car locked and window slightly open as he was a bolter and I'd rather risk whatever those are worried about leaving them in the car than risk him letting go of my hand and being run over which, in my opinion and risk assessment, was far more likely.
I used to take in the exact correct money and ensure I'd parked where I could see him from inside the station. I'd leave my phone and handbag in there, too. Just getting that in there before anyone comes out with the "people take their handbag in but don't care about their kids" comment.
Slapmyelbow
19-10-2011, 13:25
I take my two with me every single time. So does dh.
But whenever possible we fill up when both of us are in the car or fill up without the babies in the car.
My reasons are that it is too hot in qld to leave kids in the car. And i would never forgive myself if my car got stolen with my babies inside.
Alexander Beetle
19-10-2011, 13:27
Oh oh, here we go....
I agree slapmyelbow - I try to have the car filled by either myself or DP when DS is at home/school.
This ^^
Popcorn??
Mmm. Thanks:D
BTW, I leave my kids in the car if I can see them from the cashier. I'm of the point of view that my kids are runners and could get hit by a car. And servos are favourite hangouts for armed robbers. Just sayin'..... Now where's the butter Chocolate all gone? :wave:
northern
19-10-2011, 13:28
Hmm interesting I will search the old threads! Love reading a heated one :yes:
Chocolate All Gone Now
19-10-2011, 13:31
Mmm. Thanks:D
Now where's the butter Chocolate all gone? :wave:
In the fridge :D I shall bring it!
You bring the drinks :p
OP I try to fill when I have no kids or DH is in the car. But ... Nah not going there...
Opinionated
19-10-2011, 13:34
Oh oh, here we go....
Exactly what I thought. I leave mine in the car, in the shade at our quiet country petrol station. I lock the car and take the keys with me and am within 15 feet of the car when paying.
I have always left my children in the car. It's a lot harder to take 2 children out, make sure no cars are coming, try and pay with one arm whilst holding a baby. My opinion is that they are safer in the car :)
BoyCrazy
19-10-2011, 13:38
wonder how long this thread will stay open for this time?
I leave my 5 in the car. I always have.
Jane Citizen
19-10-2011, 13:41
Does Bubhub have listening devices in my house? I was discussing this on the weekend with my DP and his family.
The one time I had DD in the car and went to the service station I took her in and it was a pain the behind trying to hold her, my wallet and my drink (she was 4 weeks at the time) and I had to ask for a carry bag. It took me as long to get in and out of the car as it did to grab what I wanted and come back.
Honestly I would like many above have to assess the risk each time. It would depend on the weather, how busy the service station is, how long the line to pay is, whether I am buying other items etc but really I am ok with leaving her in the car IF (that is a big if) I have assessed the risk and found it ok. I do worry about someone saying something though because I do not know the legalities of doing this.
The Girls Only Club
19-10-2011, 13:42
Yep I leave all my kids in the car.
I also park as far away from the door as I can, I leave the windows down and the car unlocked, keys in ignition and I take my time paying for the petrol. That is my 5 min peace and quiet away from the kids.
(This is not a smart ar$e remark I really do this.)
Fighting Auto Correct Americanizing my spelling.
Well.... I have a 14kg, 15 month old and a 3.5 year old. I don't like the idea of my baby walking through puddles of petrol and I definitely don't have the strength to carry both boys into the petrol station. I totally understand the difficulty in dragging kids inside for a 2 second job. I don't judge any mother on what they choose to do.
HOWEVER I must say I am very lucky :D I have found a station in my little town that ladies pump the fuel for you and I just give them cash. I don't have to leave my seat!
northern
19-10-2011, 13:47
I think I would, as long as
1) it wasn't too hot
2) the queue wasn't too long
But having said that, i don't have her yet so I may change my mind once I meet her.:hugs:
Sometimes I go to the petrol station, fill up, leave all the kids in the car, take my time browsing in the shop in the hope that someone will steal it. Guarenteed with 4 screeching, fighting terrors inside not to mention a petrol guzzling vehicle, that the theives wouldn't take it too far. Maybe one day.............
I am kidding BTW. For the most part.
Guarenteed with 4 screeching, fighting terrors inside not to mention a petrol guzzling vehicle, that the theives wouldn't take it too far.
Ooooooooo. Best car alarm on the market.
I have pros for and against leaving them, for eg a car might run into the bowser if i leave them in, or a car might run into us if i get them out. So i say just do what YOU are comfortable doing.
ME, i leave them in the car with the doors locked at my small local servo, but at bigger ones i take them out, unless they are asleep. It is the solution the *I* feel comfortable doing. I dont feel guilt or apprehension over my decision as i feel its the right thing for *ME* to do. Good luck deciding :)
FearlessLeader
19-10-2011, 14:06
ah, yes, this thread again. It's interesting that no-one starts any hand-wringing threads about driving in a car with kids in the first place. Your kids are probably much safer alone, stationary, in a car than driving on a free way with every other driver out there.
Won't somebody think of the children? :freakingout:
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 14:06
Meh I'll say it :laughing:
Yep I fill up, lock the doors and go and pay with the 2 in the car still buckled up.
I have even run into the local deli/market very quickly to grab a 2L milk and left them in the car. It would probably take me 1 minute and 30 seconds to do this so honestly, if you want to try and break into my car without setting off the unusually loud alarm or trying to get it started without the immobiliser go ahead lol.
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 14:11
In all honesty, getting your 4 yo out of the car, making sure they stay on the sidewalk away from other cars while you lag the pram out of the boot, wrestle your crazy 10 month old out of their seat while they squeal in cute little hysterics then vomit into before mentioned pram because they are a bit excited that there was a crow next to them, and then locking car, whoops forgot bag, go back to car, another vomit, lock car...buy milk, back to car, search for keys...cant find keys in bottomless pit bag, put bag on top of car to find keys, find keys, spill contents of bag in parking bay, try not to die as tampons roll off towards elderly couple entering deli, put psychotic 10 month old back into seat, make sure 4 yo is staying by the front tyre "STAY BY THE TYRE OR YOU'LL GET RUN OVER I SWEAR IF YOU DONT STAY BY THAT FRONT TYRE...", another vomit, get 4 yo into car, put huge pram into boot, find keys again, get into car, remember milk is in bottom of pram, f**k it I'm sure it will be ok and OFF WE GO!
All to get milk. While 15 weeks pregnant. Yeahhhhh no.
CaydensMama
19-10-2011, 14:13
As a new Mummy, I won't dare leave DS (5 months) in the car alone. It's more out of fear of 'what if'... It may only take a couple of minutes to pay but what if something were to happen? I think the slight inconvenience far outweighs a lifetime of guilt if something unfortunate happened... :D
Maybelline
19-10-2011, 14:14
I leave my girl..lock the doors..always the same station..but prefer my man to fill my car..
I had the roof off yesterday ..had to fill up.... left my girl..then thought ****..she is a little exposed..was fine though
Anyone in here left their kid in the car and had something happen..stolen/burgled /crashed into?
FearlessLeader
19-10-2011, 14:14
oh Lemonhead :laughing: so much love to you
just her chameleon
19-10-2011, 14:19
I have once and I will do everything possible to avoid having to do so again.
She had just fallen asleep, was about 18months old and it was winter. I parked closest pump to the cashier, all 4 windows down and doors locked. Waited until the 2 people inside paid so I could just pay without waiting in line.
It just felt so wrong, I always get her out now. Having said that I can't remember the last time I actually got fuel by myself with DD, we fill the car up on weekends when DH can do it :)
So far there has only been one occasion where the kids and only one parent have been at the servo, hubby left them in the locked car ( to which my eye brows nearly lifted off my face) but you know what I reckon he was onto something... The thought of dragging 5yo 6yo and 5 mnth old through the servo just doesn't appeal!
Generally hubby goes fills up the cars though so it hasn't come up that often
Side note: I'm pretty sure I have said in past threads I never would lol, look at that, I've grown :D
share a book
19-10-2011, 14:28
I've never left mine in the car to pay for fuel.
I've never left him in the car to pay for fuel, but I have to get sweet stuff from the bakery if I can get a park outside.
I hve my priorities in order. :D
Alexander Beetle
19-10-2011, 14:40
I don't drive, but ExDP does and he leaves DS in the car when he pays. I have zero problem with this.
Lillynix
I use risk assessment when it comes to things like this.
Yes, I choose to leave my 3 children in the car when I get petrol because I feel it is the safest option for me to do. Though normally DH puts petrol in my car, or there's two of us in the car, but if I have to do it myself, I choose to get petrol at quiet times of the day, never on a really hot today, I lock the car and take the keys with me and I make sure when i'm inside I can still see the car.
One I just had 1 child, I did take her with me, but when I had a toddler and a newborn (and now a 5yo, 3.5yo bolter and a toddler) I made the decision that it was safer they stay in the car for 2 minutes than for me to try and wrangle them in a petrol station.
You do what YOU feel is best in your situation. Everything we do in life can be seen as a risk, and as individuals we make our own decisions based on risk assessment, we will always come to different decisions based on what risks we feel are okay to take in any given situation :)
mummykitty
I have always found it safer to leave them safe in my climate controlled car in sight away from other cars people and the many wonders of a service station (inquisitive little people like to explore) It's also often faster to leave them in than take that extra 5-10 min getting them in/ out of the car. I'm another like benji who will leave it all in the car I go in a pay that's it. I'll have to find my previous response it was much better written I suspect :p
mum2one99
19-10-2011, 14:46
If you have a caltex nearby then the woolworths prepaid credit card allows you to just swipe and pay at the pump - they get my business for that reason alone.
Busy Bee
19-10-2011, 14:47
Lucky I have my popcorn ready!
Guest1234
19-10-2011, 14:52
In the 4 years I've been a parent, I havent ever been faced with this. DH fills the car for me.
I dont know what I'd do if I didn't have DH with me and the car needs filling.
Kimberleygal1
19-10-2011, 14:56
It isn't often that i have the kids with me when fueling, dh usually fuels the cars up but if i do happen to have the kids with me, because of the small town we live in it's a small servo and takes just seconds to go in and pay. I don't do it on our visits to the city though!
jaffasmum
19-10-2011, 14:57
This isn't at a servo,
But a friend of mine left her bub, 2 at the time i think, in the car with the windows down while she went into a shop to get a couple of packing boxes was only gone for about a minute and came back to her car to see a security guard holding her DD while talking to the police on his mobile.
I guess it's upto the individual i don't have kids myself but i have had a friends 2 yr old with me a couple of times when i have put petrol in my car and have taken him with me only because if anything happen i couldn't forgive myself if something happened to someone else child
SpottySocks
19-10-2011, 15:03
I have always left my children in the car when filling up. The servo closest to us is usually very busy and it feels safer to leave them in the car for the couple of minutes it takes to pay. In summer I open a window and I try to get a spot as close to the shop door so I'm not too far from them.
I think I've only left DD in the car while paying for petrol a handful of times and only when she's been asleep or old enough to know that I'll be back in a minute and happy with that. I always assess the risk, if it's a cool enough day.. Never in summer in Queensland though, if she's asleep, if the line is short, if i can see her, if I have the right money.. But usually I feel anxious when i have done it and find it's easier to bring her inside. I think when baby #2 is born I'll try and avoid filling up with them in the car.
Sent from my iPhone
Stumbleine
19-10-2011, 15:16
I know its paranoid but i always think what if i get hit by a car or the servo is held up and no one realises i had a baby in the car before its too late. This is why DH refuels the car.
By the way i also dont return the trolly at the supermarket for this exact reason without DD in my arms unless i park right nexto the bay :)
Stumbleine
19-10-2011, 15:20
Btw i realise my logic is flawed but paranoia is not often logical lol
trishalishous
19-10-2011, 15:21
But whenever possible we fill up when both of us are in the car or fill up without the babies in the car.
My reasons are that it is too hot in qld to leave kids in the car. And i would never forgive myself if my car got stolen with my babies inside.
same.
we just get fuel together, much easier.
and my cousins car was stolen with her kids in there, when she posted a letter (and we are rural wa, so not like theres heaps of people away)
rysmummy
19-10-2011, 15:22
I used to leave DS in the car to pay for petrol as it was less hassle and much safer then him running off on me. But since my mum got a $250 fine for leaving my siblings in the car I dont do it anymore! Btw she ducked in to pay for petrol and get milk and she had moved car to infront of the shop!!
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
Pawzette
19-10-2011, 15:23
Always do it.
Intrigue
19-10-2011, 15:24
Just makes me think about the good ol days when we had service at our service stations... I'm only in my 30's and no children as yet (trying) but its just another reminder of how issues present purely because there is no true service anymore!
Bambaloo
19-10-2011, 15:27
Depends.
Today I had to put petrol in and only had DS as DD was at kindy. I took him in. This particular one the pumps aren't that close so if I have both I would take them in or go and move the car outside the door.
If they are both in the car I usually go to a servo that has a fuel pump right outside the door and cashier and if there is someone parked there and other spare pumps I still wait for that one.
On the whole we usually do it when there is only one of us in the car (eg hubby going to work when I'm at home with kids) or if we are both in the car.
If I leave them in the car, I take the keys and lock the doors with their windows slightly open.
It'll be a nightmare with 3
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 15:41
If I waited for my DH to refuel the car for me, like everything else around here that needs doing it would happen by 2018. He just doesn't have the time, he works too much and I don't really feel like I need a man to fill my car for me, unbelievably I can manage sticking the fuel thingo into the hole bit and pushing the button whats-it-thing.
I just realised I sounded like one of those girls who can't fill the car lol, hubby does it cos I don't have a licence, yanno all the legal mumbo jumbo of needing one to drive and stuff, hence why he fills the cars :P
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 15:48
I just realised I sounded like one of those girls who can't fill the car lol, hubby does it cos I don't have a licence, yanno all the legal mumbo jumbo of needing one to drive and stuff, hence why he fills the cars :P
That would suck!
elleandsam
19-10-2011, 15:52
Nah I only leave them in the car when I play the pokies, they ruin my mojo.
Bambaloo
19-10-2011, 15:54
I don't NEED him to fuel up for me, just that I only have the car 2 days a week so it's usually him driving or both of us in it.
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 15:58
I don't NEED him to fuel up for me, just that I only have the car 2 days a week so it's usually him driving or both of us in it.
I wasn't saying you couldn't lol. I was just pointing out that for people who have partners who do not work normal hours/days etc the whole "waiting for DH to do it" could take several years. I reckon we'd be driving hover cars by the time mine got around to doing it lol.
Kimberleygal1
19-10-2011, 16:04
If I waited for my DH to refuel the car for me, like everything else around here that needs doing it would happen by 2018. He just doesn't have the time, he works too much and I don't really feel like I need a man to fill my car for me, unbelievably I can manage sticking the fuel thingo into the hole bit and pushing the button whats-it-thing. . I work hard too! I do the shopping, hubby fuels up the vehicles, it's the weekly thing!
That would suck!
I am slowly getting more and more over it lol, dragging three kids in the pouring rain is losing it's charm... driving test booked in a few weeks though so I shall become one of you mwahahaha!
IhaveYourToaster
19-10-2011, 16:11
I do this. But I only have one at the moment. I just try to fill up when I don't have DD with me or if DH and I are both in the car.
Boobycino
19-10-2011, 16:11
I don't drive, but I wouldn't. Df hasn't. It's the 'what if' factor.
But then I'm nervous running out to the letter box when jaspers asleep in case he wakes in the 45 seconds I'm out of earshot.
Eleven Eleven
19-10-2011, 16:14
I leave DD locked and belted up. She's a nightmare to get in and out the carseat.
I wouldn't go to the servo if it was busy, big or hot.
Life is full of what-ifs, I'm not going to be able to cover them all, all the time.
Mind you, I had only done it once or twice. Usually I manage to wait til DH or mum is with me to get fuel.
Dh all ways fills my car then he pays for it too:laughing:. I think I've only filled it 2 times this year:confused:. Both times i would have taken DS in with me
Beachside Mumma
19-10-2011, 16:16
When I only had one I always took her with me but now I leave them in the car. I believe it's the safest and least stressful way for us instead of getting 2 toddlers out of the car who both want to walk, get into everything and run off down the street whilst I'm trying to pay for fuel. The windows get left down and the car locked and I watch them the whole time I'm waiting to pay. Although I do try and get fuel when they're not in the car or when DP's with us instead.
Keeping Up With K
19-10-2011, 16:16
I'm in a hot little town sooo NOW i take my daughter in with me.. but before i didnt it takes me a minute to duck in and pay fuel.. so i just locked the doors. half the time she would be asleep anyways. . Specially as you can see the car I think its ok. If you cant see the car & there is a big line I would grab her out. . But I dont see a problem with a couple minutes duck in throw the check out chick the cash & see you later :D
Nah I only leave them in the car when I play the pokies, they ruin my mojo.
:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing: Pokies next week on pay day? Do you want me to pick you up?
Lovemyfam
19-10-2011, 16:36
Its against the law here, and if you are found doing it they will take your child and you will have to go to court to try to get them back. Even if it was not against the law I would never do it, not worth the risk of someone stealing my baby
Elijahs Mum
19-10-2011, 16:50
I just had DS when this thread was about last year and it scared me as I didn't know what I would do so DH always fills up for me or we are both in the car :)
TripleTime
19-10-2011, 16:51
I leave them in the car, no other option, skews have, always will.
Burn me at the stake if you want, you'll always see my 3 waiting in the car.
Its against the law here, and if you are found doing it they will take your child and you will have to go to court to try to get them back. Even if it was not against the law I would never do it, not worth the risk of someone stealing my baby
Don't know where you are but it is in nsw.
MyAlterEgo
19-10-2011, 16:53
My DH and I were getting fish and chips once in Brisbane and DS who was 12months or so old at the time was asleep so we left him asleep. Parked in shade, window down cool breeze, I went in and ordered came out and our friends pulled up in park next to us so DH got out of car and we both stood infront of car bonnet chatting hubby was leaning on car, we did NOT leave car at any point and a police officer pulled us up told us the fact we were both out of car meant we could be fined but let us off with warning, had we been inside shop we would have been fined.
narribri
19-10-2011, 16:54
I will always take mine in with me regardless of inconvenience. I try and fuel up while DH is with me, or I leave them both at home on the weekend and do it.
As slight as the chance of something happening is, I could never live with myself. So I just don't.
NancyBlackett
19-10-2011, 16:56
I've done a bit of everything. I've left DD in the car if I've deemed it safe, I've taken her in with me, I've had DH full up for me and we've all gone together when it's time to fill up.
kezanazz
19-10-2011, 17:02
Stone me now! Lol
I always use the pump right next the the door.
I always get out the car with my wallet and lock the doors.
I always fill up, check that DD is ok and then go to pay.
No problems yet and i feel it's safer doing that than risking having her get mower down by a car in the servo.
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub-that's why it's full of bad grammar and spelling mistakes!
BlissedOut
19-10-2011, 17:03
On the very rare occasion I have to fill up without DH there I go to a different petrol station where there are only 4 pumps rather than our usual 20 pump station.
I'm not lugging 26kg in and out when I can keep them within eye sight.
Elijahs Mum
19-10-2011, 17:04
Don't know how to link it but on the RTA website it states it is illegal to leave kids in the car, I would doubt they would arrest a mum running in to pay for petrol ? Probably a fine or warning?
sweetseven
19-10-2011, 17:08
My answer -
if they can get themselves out, then I'll leave them in the car - probably with a door open for ventilation and easy escape if necessary.
if they cannot get themselves out, then I'll take them with me.
------------
Thus if I have a preschooler and a baby in the car, I'll take the baby with me and leave the preschooler in the car.
If I have teenagers in the car that are capable of getting the baby out, then I'll leave the baby as well.
rysmummy
19-10-2011, 17:10
Don't know how to link it but on the RTA website it states it is illegal to leave kids in the car, I would doubt they would arrest a mum running in to pay for petrol ? Probably a fine or warning?
Mum got a $250 fine for leaving minors in the car to pay for petrol :( she parked right out side the door too. My little sister who was 9 was in the car with a 7yr old a 4yr old and 6month old. It was ****ing down rain and stormy too!!
Mum2Lil13
19-10-2011, 17:11
I leave my nine month old in the car. I always park at the pump closest to the service station so I can see the car and I always lock the doors. It is a small town and everyone knows each other and I don't see a problem with it. Each to their own, it is whatever you feel comfortable with.
It is absolutely legal to leave your children in the car whilst paying for petrol -they were talking about this very thing on ABC702 last week and there was a police officer saying its fine. Obviously not leaving in there and going for a shop by yourself, but going to pay for petrol etc.
I do it when I'm on my own. But if I absolutely had to - it is farrrr safer for my 4 under 5 including bolter 2 year old twins to be in the car than out of the car at a petrol station. So yeah -if faced with this I would leave them in.
Before bubhub i never realised some people were so against leaving kids in cars at petrol stations - i can honestly say it never crossed my mind to bring DD in with me (although understand why people do).
ElastiGirl
19-10-2011, 17:42
Seriously, its no big deal. I don't see what the big issue is regarding leaving a child in the car for a few minutes while you fix up the bill. People in Mongolia leave there children in huts all day while they farm and hunt.
Common sense people, common.......
Lemonhead
19-10-2011, 17:53
My DH and I were getting fish and chips once in Brisbane and DS who was 12months or so old at the time was asleep so we left him asleep. Parked in shade, window down cool breeze, I went in and ordered came out and our friends pulled up in park next to us so DH got out of car and we both stood infront of car bonnet chatting hubby was leaning on car, we did NOT leave car at any point and a police officer pulled us up told us the fact we were both out of car meant we could be fined but let us off with warning, had we been inside shop we would have been fined.
That is effing ridiculous.
Meh, slap me with a fine, its way easier to pay that than get them all in and out of the car. Plus thanks to my sciatica I can't carry DS2 for anymore than a minute so I'd have to get the pram out too. Yay.
MrJones&Me
19-10-2011, 18:09
My local servo has 4 pumps... I think bubs will be ok in the car for the 15 seconds I am paying. If I were anywhere else I'd probably take her.
Keeping Up With K
19-10-2011, 18:15
My local servo has 4 pumps... I think bubs will be ok in the car for the 15 seconds I am paying. If I were anywhere else I'd probably take her.
defs okay :)
blondekelli
19-10-2011, 18:22
Always do. With doors locked. Much more chance of something happening whilst actually driving!
Keeping Up With K
19-10-2011, 18:40
Mum got a $250 fine for leaving minors in the car to pay for petrol :( she parked right out side the door too. My little sister who was 9 was in the car with a 7yr old a 4yr old and 6month old. It was ****ing down rain and stormy too!!
this has annoyed me are the 5 0 retarded ? clearly they dont have children or they are that depressed with their lives that they have to punish normal people who are just trying to get on with life grr grr grrrrr :freakingout: *insert angriest face*
I leave my children (5, 3, 2, 11 months) in the car to run in and pay. I can see them at all times and I make sure I don't go anywhere with a long queue.
We only ever fill up my car when we are together on the weekend, so it's not an issue that's ever come up. If I was alone and had to do the petrol thing, I would go to a swipecard one, so I didn't have to go inside to pay. And if I wasnt' close enough to the swipey one, I would take my kids inside with me. I know the odds are incredibly low of anythign happening, but I always remember the stories of cars beign stolen with kids still in the back, and I'd never forgive myself.
It all just comes down to personal reasons doesn't it, we all have to weigh things up in our own minds and be comfortable with our own decisions.
ElastiGirl
19-10-2011, 20:12
this has annoyed me are the 5 0 retarded ? clearly they dont have children or they are that depressed with their lives that they have to punish normal people who are just trying to get on with life grr grr grrrrr :freakingout: *insert angriest face*
This annoys me too, and if it were me I would take it to the courts.
Torrie77
19-10-2011, 20:30
Always leave my 3 in the car. Before I had my first i would have said 'never ever' but alas having kids/toddlers changed that. yep i did have times taking 2 year old and newborn out of car to have 2 year old run off between cars.....never again. To me the 3 are far safer in the car with it locked and windows down than at risk of being run over....yes the older 2 are more wise now but the now toddler also tries to run off. I can see them from the counter and feel alot safer than trying to get them back to car with cars everywhere and not looking as people all just got petrol and are not looking out for kids.
madjedjjlill
19-10-2011, 20:52
I always took my first born in with me but then along came #2 an first was only 2 so it got harder then when the twins were born no way could i get new born twins a 4 year old an a 6 year old in to a servo an still have a hand left to actually get money out an pay. So yes i leave my kids in the car
madjedjjlill
19-10-2011, 21:07
I always took my first born in with me but then along came #2 an first was only 2 so it got harder then when the twins were born no way could i get new born twins a 4 year old an a 6 year old in to a servo an still have a hand left to actually get money out an pay. So yes i leave my kids in the car
MissWinter
19-10-2011, 22:07
I bring my 15mo DD in with me. Mostly because a) She freaks out when I leave her in the car to open the garage (lol) and b) I get the guilts BAD thinking about anything that could go wrong.
*babygirl*
19-10-2011, 22:16
If baby is asleep and i have DD (4.5) in the car ill take the keys and lock the car and run in but i try to only do that at petrol stations that are very quiet and the pump is close and i wait until there is no line up and mostly have cash and put the exact amount in so i dont need change. If i dont have DD1 or bub is upset or the station is busy or far awsy and i NEED petrol i will take them in no worries!
BorrisWombatWife
19-10-2011, 23:20
I have a huge mummy bus (called Borris) so I have a simple rule: If it takes the same amount of time/distance to walk/do as it would take to walk around my bus then no problem.
This is why my mail box is in the next suburb. I can pull up infront of it and in two steps collect mail and return. Shopping I park close to the trolley bay rather than the shop doors, easier to walk a bit further to shops than wrangle my bolting toddlers.
We try to top up the tank on weekends to avoid this issue but not always possible.
Every situation has its pros and cons, there is never one right answer.
I have a smart phone & one day I will be smart enough to use it!
Stiflers Mom
20-10-2011, 06:22
It never even occurred to me to be concerned about something happening to her while safely buckled in her seat in the car. I don't even watch from in the station and I never lock the doors. I park at any bowser that is available. Windows would depend on the weather, keys in my hand/bag like they would be in any situation where I wasn't in my car.
I am more worried about being mowed down while driving on the roads.
insanity
20-10-2011, 06:47
I get DS 5 months out and take him with me or if I know petrol is low I get DP to go and fill up for me before I go out alone
Ok I don't have time to read past the first page of this thread but HAVE to throw in my 2cents worth.
When my bub was 3 months old she was hysterically crying in the car, I needed petrol and pulled up at the station and quickly got her out to settle her. I then put her back in the car and pumped my petrol and when I finished I got her back out to go in and pay. When I got her out and stood up I saw the petrol management lady storming my way and starting yelling at me that I am not to remove an infant from the car in a petrol station and another patron had complained about me taking her out. She was so abusive I started to cry. I went straight to my Mums house who then called head office and made a formal complaint. The lady was fired as it was all caught on camera BUT they could not give my mum a clear answer on whether you CAN or CAN'T remove an infant from the car in a petrol station.
I now leave my baby in the car if I have to get petrol but most of the time get petrol when my hubby is with me.
Before this I wouldn't have done it but I would never judge anyone who did but everytime I have to leave her in the car for the 2 minutes I feel physically sick and don't take my eyes off the car.
Boobycino
20-10-2011, 07:36
That's insane mezzee! Good thing she was fired!
She was also wrong. While I do believe there are laws that you shouldn't leave kids in the car - but I do think most police would ignore that because taking 2+ kids out of the car to pay is really up to the mum whether that's safer or not. But there's DEFINITELY no laws or regulations to say you must leave your child in the car.
Maybe she was confusing newborns with mobile phones ;)
share a book
20-10-2011, 07:48
There was a couple in a car behin me once who were very impatient. I had to fill from empty which took a little while. Then I opened the back door to let my LO out (then 6) and they literally yelled at me because now it would take even longer. I went in and mentioned it to the person who worked there and said I was a little concerned about walking back out now. I told them that they were really upset that I took my 6yo out of the car. The lady told me that if I'd left her in the car then she'd have had to notify the police of that because you can't leave a child unattend ed like that.
I always leave DD in the car. BH is the only place where I have heard of people 'not' doing that, TBH!
I park at the bowser in front of the doors, and wait until there is no queue before I go in to pay. I can see DD at all times, and we play peekaboo while I'm filling up and paying. :)
Farmerwife
20-10-2011, 08:28
Never knew there would be such an advantage to have a fuel bowser on the farm! I had no idea of this issue. Can't say I've ever noticed if kids were left in a car or not at a servo but then I so rarely fill up at a servo, only on big trips when I can't get back to the farm for fuel & even then we have a fuel card so paying is really quick so don't notice much. BH is teaching me so much!
speckled
20-10-2011, 08:38
I gave infant twins and DH works away, so no real choice. And it makes me uneasy. DH does make sure the car is full before he leaves.
20-10-2011, 08:49
I leave them in the car. I feel it's safer that way.
I have gotten one of those pay at the pump credit cards..It's soo good! you just swipe it and start filling up and then drive off all the while im watching DS asleep in the car and it instantly emails you a receipt. it takes max 2 mins. ..I also like not having the temptation to buy something naughty inside :)
BlissedOut
20-10-2011, 09:12
I can see DD at all times, and we play peekaboo while I'm filling up and paying. :)
You're that crazy woman at the servo!! :laughing:
Found this on another forum - for NSW only. And this is exactly what they were saying on ABC 702 the other week.
So perfectly legal in NSW.
There has been an ongoing debate in my mothers' group if it is legal to leave your child in the car while paying for petrol.
This is making sure the windows are wound down, the car is in the shade and the parent is a few meters away from the car with full view of the car.
The other question is, can the car be left running with the air-con or is it illegal to leave a child in the car with the engine running?
Dear Prama,
To help you I have obtained the legislation in relation to this from the Children's and Young Persons (Care and Protection) Act 1988 No. 157.
The following is the direct quote:
A person who leaves any child or young person in the person's care in a motor vehicle without proper supervision for such a period or in such circumstances that:
(a) the child or young person becomes or is likely to become emotionally distressed, or
(b) the child's or young person's health becomes or is likely to become permanently or temporarily impaired,
Is guilty of an offence.
Bearing the above in mind, the scenario you describe would be acceptable.
I would urge you to not leave the motor running or the keys in the ignition with a child in the car. Opportunistic car thieves have stolen vehicles in the past, not realising a child was in the rear car seat.
Hope this helps,
Regards
Steve
Customer Assistance Unit.
I quite often have a 2yo (10kg runner), 21 month old (15kg) and 3 month old with me when I have to fill up and I always take them in with me. It's hard (and time consuming), but I feel it's safer for them to be with me than left in the car. I'm also 27 weeks pregnant.
Jess1889
20-10-2011, 21:03
Mamacub how are you 27 weeks pregnant and have a 3 month old? That doesn't make any sense.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Bubhub
and a 2 year old and a 21 month old? Unless they aren't all yours of course!
Jess1889
20-10-2011, 21:04
My mistake, they may not be your.children. Sorry.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Bubhub
I was wondering too Jess!
ICanDream
20-10-2011, 21:22
When it's just DD I take her with me as she goes nuts if I leave her alone anywhere. When the two of them are in the car then they both stay, windows dependent on weather, car locked, pay cash where I can and will watch the queue from the car and will only go in and pay if I'm first in line, otherwise I'll wait in the car till the queue goes. I constantly watch the car as I do feel nervous but for me it beats getting them both out.
I always take my kids in with me. But I am an anxious, cautious, over-thinking type. :freakingout:
tigerchick
20-10-2011, 21:49
I tryed to get my petrol when someone else was with me but if I was alone the kids always get out of the car.
~ElectricPink~
20-10-2011, 22:46
When DS was much younger, and couldn't undo his seat belt, I'd occasionally leave him in the car whilst paying for petrol. ONLY when it wasn't a hot day, and only when the car was at the tank closest to the entrance, and it wasn't very busy. These days, I ALWAYS bring him in with me, as he can undo his belt, and I'd worry that if I left him in the car he'd let himself out, and get hit by a car...
Sorry should have clarified - they are not all mine! I look after my 2 nieces during the week! :D