View Full Version : Help with Stocking Fillers

mrsmamo
15-10-2011, 11:35
Morning Ladies,

Just after some ideas.

DD will be 3 in the first week of Jan and i need to get christmas sorted.

DH and I know what we want to give her, but i am at a loss as to how to fill her santa sack on a budget.

The last two years we just got stuff she needed like clothes and a toy - only small as she really didnt get what it was all about, more just because we stay with my sister who has 2 school aged children so we needed to do something.

This year though she understands all about Santa and presents and the like so this will be her first proper santa sack (if that makes any sense).

Im lost as to what to do. I was thinking of getting maybe an outfit, and a decent toy she has wanted and then the rest just stocking stuffers - but what to stuff with?

bubbles? hoola hoop (too young?), toy cars? (loves em!)... what do you fill your santa sacks with and where do you get most of your 'stuffing' from?

thanks ladies! Have a great day! x

bunkx
15-10-2011, 11:39
kids play jewellery
pencils/Crayons
Stamps
Stickers
Bouncy balls
Slinky
Spining tops
little books

jadee22
15-10-2011, 11:47
Books, cheap dvds.

Bigw have a section with toys for $1 and up. I bought ds heaps if big plastic dinosaurs and farm animals for $1 each. They are his favourite toy. The have those big bubble wands for $1 (i found the same things at crazy clarks for $2). They have beads and Dr sets, play food etc.

kmetius
15-10-2011, 12:00
I used to stuff the stockings with small things like play jewellery, bubbles just small cheapie toys from either bigw $1 section or crazy clarks...I also add in lollies and such....as my girls are older now I stuff them with personal care products like body creams, bath stuff, hair stuff, nail polish etc

~Danni~
15-10-2011, 12:34
My kids are going to be 6, 5 and 7 months

We do chalk, coloring stuff, lollies, undies and socks and cheapo toys like what a pp has mentioned from big w etc.

We will also be adding in things Luke apples and carrots/horse treats fir DD as she will be getting a pony and DS will get motorbike gloves and goggles for his dirtbike ( just to tie everything in iykwim)

The bub will probably get some clothes, pouches of baby food etc just so the kids see him get something, maybe a sun hat too as he is getting an outdoor play-gym.

I really like the idea from a pp for older kids too, I will be stealing that for sure and doing things like personal hygiene, phone recharge, iTunes cards etc

loving6
15-10-2011, 12:54
My kids are 17, 11, 10, 8 and 3.

We don't do bags or stockings, we just put them all under the tree.

I do
books
bubbles
pencils, pens, textas, crayon, chalk etc
colour ins
coloured paper, cardboard for crafts
buttons, stick on thing etc
felt squares
glue
goggles eyes
ribbions
crafty nic naks
craft sets
bead sets (kmart has a good set for $5 atm)
christmas plates, cups, bowls
undies
clothes
pj's
small toys
dino
cats/dog (zhu zhu pets etc)
accessary for said pets/doll/cars
cars
balls
skipping ropes
trains
dolls
slinky's
packs of dino's, farm animals etc
play food
homemade playdough
stickers
body glitter
foot scrubs
make up
facial srubs
nail polish
special paper/notepads
anything london, paris new york themed (teenager girls:rolleyes:)
hair clips/ ties
small lego
games
cookie cutters
glory box things
model car/plane sets
wooden crafts set (like the bunnings ones)
paints
small canvas
etc....

there so many more things

Note my kids aren't getting all that this year but it is things I done in the past.

Annabella
15-10-2011, 13:10
When my DDs were that age I used to get mostly things they need with a couple of 'presents' like bubbles, textas/art craft stuff, pjs, undies, hair stuff, a book, a DVD. We don't buy a lot from Santa though and I have a very strict 'no-crap-just-for-the-sake-of-it' policy. So much stuff gets wasted every year at Christmas because people think they HAVE to get lots when really, the kids don't need it.

SassyMummy
15-10-2011, 13:12
Caryons and colouring books
Bubbles
Fake Jewellery
Toy Cars
Small story books
etc etc

BorrisWombatWife
15-10-2011, 13:54
I am going to introduce a tradition from DH when he was a kid. They were never allowed 'Sweet' cereals but Santa would bring them mini boxes of Coco pops and fruit loops.
I deliberately have smaller stockings so don't need much to fill them.

I have a smart phone & one day I will be smart enough to use it!

srguitargirl
15-10-2011, 16:03
I usually fill my kids sacks with
crayons, pencils, textas
coloured card and paper for drawing
glitter glue
funky rolls of tape coloured and patterned
pompoms and other craft materials

lollies
chocolate
can of cool drink in my 6 yr old ds he thinks it is the best thing in the world LOL

undies
socks
summer clothes

dd will get some cheapie jewlery, nail polish, hair clips and elastics

the baby will get some teething bisuits, fruit bars and maybe a chocolate , some new bibs, summer jammies, a pair of shoes, socks and maybe a few bath toys as she really needs nothing ! oh and maybe a few new cloth nappies just for fun for me LOL

4fullstop
15-10-2011, 16:53
We don't buy a lot from Santa though and I have a very strict 'no-crap-just-for-the-sake-of-it' policy. So much stuff gets wasted every year at Christmas because people think they HAVE to get lots when really, the kids don't need it.
Totally agree :yes:

I am going to introduce a tradition from DH when he was a kid. They were never allowed 'Sweet' cereals but Santa would bring them mini boxes of Coco pops and fruit loops.
We had this when I was a kid too! It was such a treat - and I've continued it with my kids. Also little tins/cups of fruit or jelly & fruit - another treat they don't usually get.

mrsmamo
15-10-2011, 21:15
awesome posts! thanks everyone :)

i agree Annabella - thats why i was having so much trouble with the fillers. I really dont want all the junky crap laying around that i know she wont let me throw out in a years time lol

We only do presents for under 18's in our family and then the cap is $30/gift.

She LOVES arts and crafts so will gather some things for that and the treat idea is great. I forgot completely about the little choccies i used to get in my sack!

The sweet cereals thing is a great idea too... Olivia wouldn't know what one tastes like - her preference... Special K lol

At least if its arts and crafts we can add too it and use it on rainy days and bubbles - she LOVES bubbles! so at least that will get used :)

RainbowSky
15-10-2011, 21:48
If you go to Book Depository (website), they have cheap books and you could get a couple of nice ones at a great price for stocking fillers. I have just ordered a few cute Christmassy ones this week. Free shipping too!

Definitely go with craft stuff - Hot Dollar type shops have heaps of that kind of thing at really good prices - glitter glue, felt sheets, googly eyes, textured paper, glue sticks, coloured pipe cleaners, stickers etc.

You could also do a couple of things that she "needs" anyway but bulk up the stocking a bit - pj's, new swimmers, goggles, thongs, hat, character undies, novelty toothbrush etc. Bath or beach towel fills it up quite a bit.

Cheap kite, frisbee, floaties, sidewalk chalk - something to use for outside.

Placemat (I saw some really cute Smurf ones today for $2), new plate, cool cup - you can get glittery ones that are Christmas themed from $2 shops or a lunch-box or drinkbottle.

I think trying to get as much stuff as possible that will actually get used and has a purpose rather than a bunch of cheap plastic toys that will break or be tossed aside a day later, is a great idea!

share a book
15-10-2011, 22:03
Every year I put in:
1 pack of knickers
1 s et of pyj amas
A pack of bubbles
A small dinosaur toy (or 2)
A Hot Wheels car (or 2)
A train from the die cas t Thomas set
A few little hair clips or hair ties
1 pool toy

Except the year before last it was a travel pack with a toiletries bag and a heap of s tuff in it like s unscreen and toothpas te and a new toothbrush and of course shampoo and cond itioner and a bottle of shower gel.

This time she's 8 and will have most of the above other than Hot Wheels and a Thomas train and instead will have Harry Potter 1, 2 and 3 the movies.

From me she'll have Harry Potter 2 and 3 the books and membership to one of the parks for..