View Full Version : ~How Did You Feed Your Twins~
A Party of Five
02-10-2006, 11:43
:wave: Hi There Everybody, I have a couple of question for the mum's of twins. And if you have any other tips or tints you would like to share. Please feel to add them.
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both?
How many bottles did you need?
How much formual did you use in a week?
Did you feed them at the same thime?
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time?
That all I can think of right now, but will add on if I think of anything else.
tweedledee*tweedledum
02-10-2006, 13:18
:wave: Hi There Everybody, I have a couple of question for the mum's of twins. And if you have any other tips or tints you would like to share. Please feel to add them.
I breast-fed both of them for 4 and a half months and then went to the bottle, as my supply was depleting and it began around the time I fell pregnant again!
How many bottles did you need? I have 6 bottles
How much formual did you use in a week? At the moment I go through 1 tin in a week and a half
Did you feed them at the same time? Sometimes
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time? No
hope that helps!
Hello, here's my answers:
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both? In hospital I had the help of the Breastfeeding Consultant and I breastfed both, mostly football style. Then I haemorrhaged and didnt want to b/f anymore. I b/f them for 10 days and am happy with that. Plus DH wanted 2 help so that made the decision easier.
How many bottles did you need? I had a set of twelve bottles, 6 each. I made the mistake of getting the small bottles 1st - waste of money! I made all 12 up in one go. Put 'em in the fridge and microwaved them when I needed them. Just got to make sure u shake the bottle to disperse the heat.
How much formula did you use in a week? We went through 2 tins of S26 Gold whilst they were little, then 2x S26 from 6mths.
Did you feed them at the same time? When they were little I used to lay them on my bed and feed both at the same time. When they were bigger, 1 at a time. It got so 1 would fret too much so we got Podee bottles and they'd feed themselves. No more fretting. But we'd still hold them while they were guzzling away. Only in the car and at brekky did they sit in their bouncers and have a feed. (our house was tooo small 4 highchairs - thank goodness we moved!)
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time? My twins shared a cot whilst they were really little then went into their own cots. Their feeding times were the same.
Good Luck with everything! :fingerscrossed:
A Party of Five
02-10-2006, 16:24
Hi Nemo, Just a quick question what are Podee bottles? And how did your twins share the cot, was it sleeping head to head?
Duchessa
02-10-2006, 17:34
I boob fed mine until 9 months. They had a couple of comp feeds at 4ish months when I had mastitis. I would have kept going but my I was hospitalised with pneumonia and had to stop as I was VERY sick.
I expressed a lot and used stored milk for top ups as needed.
Once I began bottle feeding, I bought 4 bottles then another 2. Because I use an elemental amino acid formula, I can't make it up ahead of time - it starts to break down so I couldn't make up a days supply ahead of time.
A lot :D.
Absolutely - you will go spare for time if you don't, but I did sometimes alternate as its not cool to be a moocow ALL the time.
YES! You will find it hard to get enough sleep if you don't, in my experience. Mind you I had same size identical twins so their requirements were pretty much the same. If you had fraternals or very different sized twins, this might not work.
I hope that helps a bit. I had no problem with my supply. The old formula (output=production) really works. Breastfeeding really can save time and make things easier. And cheaper. It was very hard, sometimes too hard, but overall the best decision I made in terms of management.
Duchessa
02-10-2006, 17:42
My girls also shared a cot until about ummmm... 7 months? Seems like an eon ago!
Dannielle
02-10-2006, 20:01
I bottle fed mine.
I had 12 bottles (6 each) and used to get the water ready in the bottles in the fridge. That way when I went out I just heated the bottles and had the formula ready in the bag.
How much forumla did you use in a week?
Heaps! Its so long ago now but I think I was going through about a tin each a week before they changed to cows milk (for one) and soy milk (for the other).
Did you feed them at the same time?
Yes! I tried to change their feed times a bit so that I could feed them one at a time but the one that wasn't due for a feed always decided that she was starving when the other one was feeding.
Yes!! I found if one was asleep the other would wake up by the time her sister was finished if not before. They are fraternal and one has always been bigger than the other but when it came to their bottles their needs were the same.
A Party of Five
22-06-2007, 02:38
How long did everyone else BF their twins for?
ok even thou i have only been a mum of twins for a week i thought id answer the questions any way:D
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both? bottle
How many bottles did you need? we have 10 so far but i want to buy more this week as i feel like im always washing them
How much formual did you use in a week? since thye have been born we have used just over 1 tin
Did you feed them at the same thime? sometimes but mostly Jordan first then Sophie
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time?:yes:
busymummyof4
22-06-2007, 15:41
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both? I breastfed for 7 weeks. I used the football hold and bought a big piece of foam (on hospital advice) that I had a hole cut out of to mould into my stomach and each baby laid on one side. if you want more explaining i will!!
How many bottles did you need? I agree that the small 125ml ones are a waste as they only last a short time. I have 10 but would have liked probably 12. The bottles are cutting down now though
How much formual did you use in a week? 2 tins roughly i think. I alway stock up when its on special and its been on special heaps at Woolworths over here.
Did you feed them at the same time? yes and no only if they were awake at the same time
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time? never
I have a question for everyone - how do you feed yr twins solids? One spoon and one bowl or two spoons, two bowls?
mum23boys
22-06-2007, 18:42
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both? Bottle
How many bottles did you need? I had 18, I always had 12 made up with water in the fridge ready to go
How much formula did you use in a week? 2 tins up till when I think they were around 12months then they started to last abit longer
Did you feed them at the same time? Yes every time
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time? Absolutely
How do you feed your twins solids? One bowl and one spoon
Congratulations Niki, how are you doing? How was the birth and how are you coping, how are the kids doing and how is their big brother coping?
How did you feed your twins bf, bottle or both? BF for 5 weeks then bottle
How many bottles did you need? I have 12 bottles.How much formula did you use in a week? 2-3 tins depending on how much they eat.
Did you feed them at the same time? Yes every time
Did you wake the other to feed at the same time? Absolutely
How do you feed your twins solids? good question, not up to this yet.
A Party of Five
25-06-2007, 12:15
How do you feed your twins solids? good question, not up to this yet.
We have just started and let's just say that it's heaps of fun! I can't get it in their little mouths quick enough for them. I have been using the banana farex which they both love, it taste a bit better than the normal farex. Nick is always watching us when we eat. he loves his food already.
DoubleDelight
25-06-2007, 13:07
While they were in hospital I expressed and they were fed via NG tube. Taea was BF in hospital and then for a further 2wks after discharge. Bailey was bottle fed EBM, he wouldn't bf due to attachment issues, then they were both bottle fed from around 6wks.
I had 14. 12 for feeds and a couple for water
How much formula did you use in a week? 2-3 tins depending on how much they eat.
Did you feed them at the same time? When they were smaller they were fed separately a few times but generally together although Bailey was a much slower feeder. As they got older and could hold their own bottles they usually fed together.
Because they were prems in the early days we had to wake them regardless so that they would gain weight but once they were gaining weight well if they were asleep we would leave them until they woke naturally.
How do you feed your twins solids?
My two started solids at different times but once they were both on solids I would have one bowl and spoon and they would go alternate mouthfuls. Now of course they have their own bowls and feed themselves :thumbsup:
FiveInTheBed
26-06-2007, 20:54
Have BF for close to six months now.And plan to continue until they wean themselves.They feed together on a twin BFing pillow football hold or seperately as any other single bub. Tried introducing the bottle but Lucas wouldn't take it and it seemed more hassle to just bottle feed Aishnn. But have now started giving Aishnn a bottle at 10pmish and 3amish so DP can share some of the load!
Have an electric double pump that I have only used a handful of times.
Have two.
How much formula did you use in a week?
Wasted a couple of tins when experimenting so bought the stick packs/sachets. And have now just bought a tin... we'll see how long it lasts
NO. Tried it, because I read others did it, made Everyone very grumpy. I have fraternal G/B twins who are 500grams apart. And who seem to like tag teaming one week and not the next- I take their lead, and although am sleep deprived love the one on one time and know it will be over too soon.
same with Sleeps/naps, one sleeps more than the other and if i try to put one down when they're not ready I waste alot of energy and time.(I envy those who have them in sync!)
I started these guys on rice cereal and apples/pears around 4 and a bit months and they lurve it! I have one bowl and NOW TWO SPOONS(with a third on standby incase they don't want to let go of theirs!), I was doing the alternate mouthful thing, but they seem to lack patience and like to hold on to the spoon and feed themselves a little bit, so I am slowly learning to be ambidexterous (SP?)
BlessedWithBlue
07-07-2007, 21:29
Mine are bottle fed
i started with heaps about 24 or so but since they only have four feeds a day now i have put them all away and only kept 8 out so they both have their four bottles for the day
We go through 2 tins a week
Yep, in their bouncers and a bottle in each hand. We did use the Podee hands free bottles but imho they were more trouble and help and my twins are on AR formula and it's too thick so the boys couldn't suck it through the tube properly without getting tired.
No if one is awake and it's feeding time i will feed the one tat is awake and usually by the time i am finished with the first one the second one is awake and ready to be fed. When they were newborn i used to wake them because i would have never gotten them on a schedule as such and would have been constantly feedinh iykwim??
This is something we have only just started and they are not really interested in solids yet, they are five and a half months old atm and i have been trying them a little each day in their bouncers and a few spoonfulls each alternating.