View Full Version : Another Gippsland thread...

haveheart
11-10-2011, 05:41
Hi there!
I have started and commented on Gippsland threads before but it never goes anywhere and I have pretty much no friends around here since I moved back a year ago and desperate for friends!!
I live with my fiancé and daughter who is 4, currently in Sale and am happy to travel for play dates!
Anyone from Gippsland/Latrobe valley are welcome to reply!

haveheart
12-10-2011, 07:17
Bump!!

MsEnchantress
28-11-2011, 07:01
Hi, I'm from Korumburra :)
Expecting bump arrival may 2012 :)

haveheart
28-11-2011, 07:18
Hi there!! I was beginning to think I was the not gippsland mum on bubhub!!
Congratulations! Is this your first bub?
Oh and I'm in Sale, not sure how far Korrumburra is but I kind of know where it is, well I know where the turn off for it is haha!!

MsEnchantress
28-11-2011, 07:52
I gave a dd that is 15 years... So it's all kinda new again.. We are about 30 min south of warragul :)

haveheart
30-11-2011, 08:58
I gave a dd that is 15 years... So it's all kinda new again.. We are about 30 min south of warragul :)

Oh that is a big gap! That will probably end up being me as I don't plan on having another baby for a while! My DD is 4 :)

MsEnchantress
02-12-2011, 08:03
Lol... I was in no hurry ;)
4 is a nice age :)

Are you a sahm?

haveheart
03-12-2011, 08:41
Lol... I was in no hurry ;)
4 is a nice age :)

Are you a sahm?

Haha that sounds like me! Not sure if I'll have another one but if I do there will be a big gap too!

Yeah I pretty much am, I have a casual job but it's only a few hours a week which is enough at the moment!

Ravinder
22-12-2011, 18:30
Hi. I think I'm in the right area as I'm going to be moving to Inverloch in a couple of weeks. I'm currently in NSW and we're moving as my husband has a new job in Leongatha. We have a 22 month old son and I'll be looking to meet other mums in the area as I am a 37 yrs old stay at home mum who would like to make some friends who say more than choo choo or want to play with train sets to help keep me sane!

Buttoneska
22-12-2011, 18:36
Here there :wave:

There never seems to be anyone from Gippsland. I work in Inverloch and live near Meeniyan a town just past Leongatha. Inverloch is lovely!! The whole area is amazing. I am from Mel orginally but hope I never ever had to leave this place!!

I don't have any kids - we have been trying for about 18mths and had 1 misscarraige.

BH is great too!

What sort of area do you live in in NSW? Have you lived the country before?

MsEnchantress
22-12-2011, 19:19
Yay... We could meet for hot choc in the new year :):)

Ravinder
23-12-2011, 20:07
Oh there are at least 2 people in Gippsland :cheerleader2:

We'll be arriving on 9 January and thankfully have a house sorted to rent, but unfortunately it is unfurnished so it is a blow up mattress for us until we go out and buy a bed. We currently live in Terrigal on the Central Coast in NSW. My husband is orginally from there but he lived in the UK for 11 years which is where I met him as I'm English. We moved over to Oz in August as we decided we want to bring up our son here. We've come to Terrigal every year for holidays in the past 4 years and my sister lives in Ballarat so we've also been that way and Melbourne, but never been south of Melbourne.

My hubby is going to work at the Mary McKillop Catholic Regional College in Leongatha so we know we are going to settle in the area for a few years to come. We chose Inverloch as we heard it was lovely and it is likely Terrigal so what hubby is use too and likes.

Anyway, enough waffle from me. Look forward to meeting up and chatting in the New Year. I'll not know a soul so if we do meet up I may talk the hind legs of you as I don't get much conversation out of a 22 month old :D

MsEnchantress
28-12-2011, 15:15
Ravinder,
I started with a blow up bed too :) it doesnt take long for things to come together :):)
Are you having all your household items shipped down?
What will hubby be teaching at Mary Mac?
Inverloch is stunning, and the people in the area are just lovely, Im sure you will love it :)

Im relly liking the sound of meeting up in the new year... i work full time at the moment in Melbourne, sigh. But hoping to be on maternity leave at the end of April :)

Ravinder
30-12-2011, 17:36
Hi. All our things got packed up today so at the moment so we're sleeping with a sleeping bag for the next week or so. We've not got any furnitue but other that that most household goods as we brought it all out with us from the UK back in August. We're going to go up to Fountain Gate shopping centre after we arrive and have booked a motel nearby so we can stay overnight and have 2 full days of shopping as we're also going to check out Fantastic Furniture and Harvey Norman etc. in Dandenong to order all our furniture.

Nathan is going to be a Deputy Principal at Mary MacKillop. He was that in the UK so we are happy he has been able to get the same level job here, but it has been hard finding it and has taken 5 months. He use to teach IT in the UK but I think he is going to be doing RE here.

How long does it take you to commute to Melbourne? Is it not a trek? I would like to get a part time job but doubt that will happen for a while as we have only managed to find a place for 1 day at a kindy in Wonthaggi for our son Naresh, so until I can get him more days I won't be able to work. I only want to work as after 2 years out I feel my brain is turning to mush and the main reason is I NEED adult chat and not just about Thomas The Tank Engine :D

Congrats on your pregnancy, it is your first child? April will come round so quickly :)

Buttoneska
30-12-2011, 18:01
Sounds like you have things mostly planned out.

From Inverloch to Mel its about 1hr45min ish - that to CBD. A bit less if you going to inner eastern like Abotsford/Richmond etc. And about 2hrs to get to other side of city - Williamstown outwest - Essendon/Tullamarin out north. Its a really easy drive, mostly highways. There are a few different routes and ppl tend to have different preferences. We basically go Gippy/Bass highway, through Koo Wee Rup onto Pakenham bypass adn then take the monash into the city.

Is there any child care available in Inverloch? I have friends who struggle to get places in Inverloch but have been told that because they are not from Inverloch (Incerloch kindy/primary school has a good rep).

I have heard terrible things about Little Rascal in Leongatha and great things about the childcare at Tarwin District School (in Meeniyan).

What sort of work are you looking for?

MsEnchantress
30-12-2011, 19:31
Wow Ravinder, looks like you have a busy few days ahead of you. There is also a large IKEA store in Springvale... they have some really nice furniture there too.

This is my second baby, my first is 15.5 and attends Mary mac :cheerleader2:so Im sure she will get to know your husband ;).

It takes us about 2 hours to get to work... but soon we will move to korumbura which is 30 mins closer. Im hoping that will be better, this baby isnt liking the travel :(

Buttoneska
30-12-2011, 19:33
Wow Ravinder, looks like you have a busy few days ahead of you. There is also a large IKEA store in Springvale... they have some really nice furniture there too.

This is my second baby, my first is 15.5 and attends Mary mac :cheerleader2:so Im sure she will get to know your husband ;).

It takes us about 2 hours to get to work... but soon we will move to korumbura which is 30 mins closer. Im hoping that will be better, this baby isnt liking the travel :(

Geez I don't know how you travel to Mel for work! I took a job contract in Melbourne and moved back to my dads because driving every day I would have gone insane!

MsEnchantress
30-12-2011, 20:02
Im lucky, my partner works in melbourne too, so most of the time im a passanger :):cheerleader1:spoilt

Ravinder
03-01-2012, 18:00
I put this in the childcare forum but had no response so wondering if anyone on here can help......

Has anyone used the McKenzie Street Children's Centre in Wonthaggi? I'm moving to Inverloch in a couple of weeks and have potentially got a space for my son for one day at the Centre and wonder if anyone has any experience of it.

He is also on waitlist at the Bass Coast Childrens Centre in Wonthaggi, anyone used them for childcare?

Apart from the one day at McKenzie I am finding it hard to find him somewhere and I would only like 2 days to start with. I am a SAHM and my son will be 2 in February so I think it is important to interact with other children and have some structured play. He currently goes to childcare 2 days a week and I'd hate him to lose out on that when we move to VIC.

We're moving rom NSW and don't know the area so any advice welcome. Thanks in advance. ...........

Move time is here. We've been busy cleaning today as we move out of our currentl rental tomorrow and have the dreaded inspection so we can get our bond back. We're then staying with my father-in-law a couple of nights and start our drive down on Friday. We're going to take easy and only do 4-5 hrs drive a day as our little one will scream the car down if we keep him in the car seat any longer than that, and come Monday we'll be picking up the keys for our rental in Inverloch. This time next week, I'll be sat on a blow-up airbed planning for a BIG shopping sphree :hyper:

MsEnchantress
03-01-2012, 20:45
Not sure about the childcare, another option is Family day care, ran through the Bass Coast Shire council, it would be worth looking into.

There are a few childcares in Wonthaggi, and Im sure if you didnt like a certain one, you could try the other :)

Yay for the shopping spree :):) sounds wonderful :)

MsEnchantress
06-01-2012, 16:22
Hi ravinder.. How is the traveling going??

aimsy
11-01-2012, 21:17
I'm from traralgon and love to chat, but I often forget to check bub hub threads it needs to notify me like facebook does! Hehe

MsEnchantress
12-01-2012, 06:57
Hi aimsy :)
Your not far at all :)
How old is your bub??

aimsy
12-01-2012, 13:43
I have a 3 year old boy and 1 year old girl! They go to Childcare once a week too, so I can venture out on my own! Hehe

MsEnchantress
12-01-2012, 13:47
I have a 15 year old and currently 24 weeks with #2 :)

Being that young they would keep you busy :)

Ravinder
12-01-2012, 21:05
Very quick message as my bum is going numb from sitting on the floor and I'm pooped after a couple of days of shopping. We got to Inverloch safely on Monday and the house we are renting is lovely. However I must admit the wake up to wind, rain and hail on yesterday wasn't very pleasant.

Hopefully I won't be sat on the floor much longer as we've ordered all our furniture and it will hopefully be delivered next Wednesday and then husband will be very busy building a lot of flat pack, whilst I sit on a nice new sofa :D

Off to register with the doctor tomorrow and hopefully see a childcare place in Wonthaggi for Naresh to go 1 or 2 days a week, and then I hope the sun shines on the weekend so I can test out our pool :fingerscrossed:

MsEnchantress
13-01-2012, 08:25
Ravinder, glad you have made it safe. This cooler weather would be a blessing for unpacking and such :)
Good luck with childcare :)

Remember, Rome wasn't built in a day... Take your time :):)

Buttoneska
13-01-2012, 08:56
Ravinder, glad the move went well. It has been cold weather here all week. Although it does always seem to be raining in sth gippy - you will get used to that. Next week is supposed to be really warm.

How have you found Inverloch? It is super busy around here atm. I barely leave the office at lunch because their are ppl everywhere. It's holiday town so once school goes back alot of ppl will return to Melbourne and it will quiten down a fair bit.

Are you settling in? The low down on Inverloch:
-The Foodworks is quite pricey and I think most ppl would go to Wonthaggi for their normal grocery shopping - their is an Aldi, Coles and Woolies in Wonthaggi and better pricing.
-The antique shop in the main street does the nice coffee (although they are super slow!).
-Slice of paradise for pies
-Tomo - BEST Japanese EVA!!!
-Mannagum - great restuarant near the beach (bit out of town)
-Esplanade I like better then the other pub.
-I don't eat at Paul the pieman
-Beaches and cream/Red Elk aren't bad
-Waxer/Beautican - in the arcade - her name is Margie and she lovely.
-Jeminy hair for hairdresser
-The old divey takeaway shop next to the chinese restuarant is the best one of the 3 takeaways
-Pizza shop next to Hotondo homes is best pizza shop I reckon

If your hubby surfs - Cape Paterson has the best surfing generally. Otherwise all the beaches are nice for a walk etc. Just watch the inlet - it's not for swimming and has really deep dangerous channels running through it. 'the rocks' at Cape Paterson is really safe for kiddies too I have been told.

Thats all I can think of for now.

the dargonfly faery
14-01-2012, 16:16
Hey i'm from Traralgon, have a daughter who just turned 4. I'm not on here much anymore due to being back at work.

MsEnchantress
14-01-2012, 20:33
Hey i'm from Traralgon, have a daughter who just turned 4. I'm not on here much anymore due to being back at work.

:wave: another gippsland mumma :):)

Ravinder
26-01-2012, 20:06
Thanks for all the info. Buttoneska, very usefull.

Can I ask, do you know if insects inside the house are a problem in Inverloch. My husband has to catch on average everyday a dozen or so crickets, sink bugs and spiders inside the house and we have fly screens on all the windows so can't understand how they get in. We've been away two days and have come back to 16 dead ones in the corridors as we left an indoor bug spray on and saw a few more running around. When I asked the retail agent about the last pest inspection, I was told this was the norm in Inverloch as it is a coastal town, but I can't believe everyone in Inverloch puts up with having insects walking around the house. My husband also grew up in a coastal town in NSW and he said he's never encountered as many bugs as this on a daily basis. Does this sound right or should I make more of fuss for the landlord to look at how and why they are coming in?

Buttoneska
26-01-2012, 20:24
I would request another pest treatment. We have a few spiders and some flies buy not heaps. What agent are you renting through. Also there was an article in the local paper by the CDs saying those plug in bug things and air fresheners are fire risk.

Ravinder
27-01-2012, 09:05
We're renting through Alex Scott. They have been really good so I hope they will be good with this issue too as it has really put us off the house now and we've only been here 3 weeks and have a 6 months lease.

MamaHearts5
30-01-2012, 21:55
Hi all i'm in wonthaggi :wave:

Buttoneska
30-01-2012, 22:03
Hey there, welcome to the thread. not many of us in sth gippy. I couldn't quite tell from your signature, do u have a 4 yr old. I'm sorry for your angel baby, I had miscarriage in 2009 and we ttc atm.

MsEnchantress
31-01-2012, 11:28
Hi all i'm in wonthaggi :wave:

Hi bb78 :)
Welcome :):)

MamaHearts5
31-01-2012, 13:24
Hey there, welcome to the thread. not many of us in sth gippy. I couldn't quite tell from your signature, do u have a 4 yr old. I'm sorry for your angel baby, I had miscarriage in 2009 and we ttc atm.

Hi ... sorry need to fix my sig.. I have 4 children :) twins & 2 lil ones. No I have noticed not many down this way on bubhub I have been on bubhub since 2007 and this is the most I have seen :) so it's good. Where abouts are you Buttoneska?

Hi MsEnchantress :wave:

Buttoneska
31-01-2012, 13:47
ahh that makes sense - how old are your kids?

im in stony creek and work in inverloch. hubby is from nareena and im from mel. have u always lived down here?

Ravinder
31-01-2012, 15:37
Gosh I've only been living down here 3 weeks and we seem to have encountered every type of weather going. People said in NSW moving down here would be diferent, and I guess they were right!

We starting to get sorted now. Hubbie started work Friday and all seems to be going well, but we'll see once the kids actually start back at school on Friday how much he likes it then :laughing:

We had no luck getting Naresh into the Bass Coast Childrens Centre in Wonthaggi, but have thankfully got him into the Leongatha one so he'll be starting this Thursday and going on Thurs & Fri and we're going to see if they still have the space open on Monday as well as I want to look for a part time job and having him in child care for 3 days will hopefully help with that.

I did apply for Front Desk at the RACV resort last Monday and actually got a call on Tuesday inviting for interview the next day, unfortunately we were halfway up the road to Ballarat so had to say no, and they said they would call me back Monday if no suitable candidates were found as they would be interviewing again this week. I guess they found them as I never got a call :(

I was also thinking about doing a childcare course or education support one, but hubbie would prefer I got a job so more money coming in. I've been thinking about going into education for a while so maybe I should take the plunge, but doing it would invovle spending money enrolling instead of the money coming our way. Wish I could win the lotto :fingerscrossed:

Anyway, enough waffle from me. Hope everyone is well xx

Buttoneska
31-01-2012, 15:56
yeh it has been a bit full on down here, normally its rains alot but it cools down. we have had this wierd humid rain weather which i don't like and today was super windy.

don't stress about RACV - they mustn't be very nice to work for becuase they seem to go through that many staff. Its insane, they are always advertising.

if you are looking for part time work just pick up the local papers (sentinel times and the star). Sentitel is more inverloch/wonthaggi area and star is more leongatha. Leongatha may suit better if your little one is in care over there. Papers come out on Tuesdays.

Also look at both bass coast and sth gippy council sites, they often have positions adviertised although it can be a bit hard to get in there I have heard.

Workways is an employement agency in Leongatha alot of local companies hire through them so they may be worth talking to.

MsEnchantress
02-02-2012, 21:35
tomorrow... we get our house back TOMORROW..... im soooooooooooo excited!!!
Can't wait... the view, the storms, the sunsets... all from my very own front porch :):)
Gippsland is awesome:cheerleader1::cheerleader2:

Jade26
12-06-2013, 22:44
Hi i know this is an old post thought id reply anyways :-) i moved to sale from qld at the start of the year with my fiancee and our 3 little ones 7,4 and 15 months hoping to make some friends :-)

MsEnchantress
13-06-2013, 08:47
Hi Jade!!
That's a big move :) I'm in south Gippsland so a bit far away from you :( did you move for Air Force??

Jade26
13-06-2013, 10:43
hi no we moved as my partners family is here and in melbourne and work had dried up in qld :-( were abouts in south gippsland are u? :-) i try and get out a fair bit and dont mind driving :-)

Buttoneska
13-06-2013, 12:23
Oh I forgot about this thread. Are you in inverloch miss e

haveheart
13-06-2013, 13:03
Hi Jade, I'm in Sale! I actually think I may have started this thread haha!

Sent from my GT-I9305 using The Bub Hub mobile app

Jade26
13-06-2013, 16:31
:wave:hi haveheart i think you did :-) how are you? is there any thing to do around here to get out and meet new people? how old are youre little ones?

haveheart
13-06-2013, 18:10
I have an almost 6 year old daughter and am 32 weeks pregnant with number 2! Umm there really isn't that much to do here with kids these days, There was a play centre here but it's closed down so the only indoors thing left is the pool really! Hope you are keeping out of this crazy weather!!

MsEnchantress
14-06-2013, 02:29
Oh I forgot about this thread. Are you in inverloch miss e

Korumburra :)
Are you still Meeniyan way??

MsEnchantress
14-06-2013, 02:46
Congrats haveheart!!!
Exciting times ahead

haveheart
14-06-2013, 08:07
Congrats haveheart!!!
Exciting times ahead

Thankyou! :) it's getting very exciting now!

HelsandFeenie
15-06-2013, 11:13
Hi everyone, am new to bubhub... couldn't find many recent posts but am looking for other Mums to connect with, have a 3 yr old son and am currently expecting...congrats haveheart too ;) My son gets a little lonely and would love to find him playmates around his age that he can see often...

I live in Rosedale, recently moved from Morwell. I am into natural parenting, living healthy, organic gardening, tennis, swimming, singing and learning to play piano.

You can add me on Skype as 'proudmumtwo' and we can chat or add me on fb too

Cheers everyone :)

Buttoneska
15-06-2013, 18:33
Yeh I'm in stony creek. My ds is 7mths and I'm 17wks pregnant.

haveheart
15-06-2013, 18:59
Hi everyone, am new to bubhub... couldn't find many recent posts but am looking for other Mums to connect with, have a 3 yr old son and am currently expecting...congrats haveheart too ;) My son gets a little lonely and would love to find him playmates around his age that he can see often...

I live in Rosedale, recently moved from Morwell. I am into natural parenting, living healthy, organic gardening, tennis, swimming, singing and learning to play piano.

You can add me on Skype as 'proudmumtwo' and we can chat or add me on fb too

Cheers everyone :)

Congrats to you too :) how far along are you?
I don't have skype but have facebook, I know my daughter is a bit older than your son but I'm always up for a chat :)

MsEnchantress
16-06-2013, 10:05
Yeh I'm in stony creek. My ds is 7mths and I'm 17wks pregnant.

Ooh just saw your signature... I have a 12 month gap between my 2 littlies.. It's craZy times!!!

Do you drive?? We should catch up for a cuppa :)

HelsandFeenie
16-06-2013, 15:17
Congrats to you too :) how far along are you?
I don't have skype but have facebook, I know my daughter is a bit older than your son but I'm always up for a chat :)

Hi haveheart,

I'm about 11 weeks along, you're 32 weeks right?... wow you must be excited, not too long to go! :) How old is your daughter now?

Would be nice to chat sometime, just add me to facebook as 'Helen Amber', or I could add u...

Cheers :)

HelsandFeenie
16-06-2013, 15:26
Hi buttoneska,
Stony Creek, that's Leongatha way? We'll I just moved to Rosedale and like it here, much more peaceful compared to Morwell. Moved from Morwell a few months ago, it's good because it's still close to town and Traralgon... I'm 11 weeks along, so you're not too far ahead of me ;)

haveheart
16-06-2013, 17:30
Hi haveheart,

I'm about 11 weeks along, you're 32 weeks right?... wow you must be excited, not too long to go! :) How old is your daughter now?

Would be nice to chat sometime, just add me to facebook as 'Helen Amber', or I could add u...

Cheers :)

I'm 33 weeks as of Saturday so it's getting close now!! My daughter is turning 6 in a month so it's been a while since I've done all this haha!
How are you finding your pregnancy so far?
I just had a look on facebook but not sure which one is you so I hope I've added the right one!!

katehelen
16-06-2013, 17:43
Hi girls! im in bairnsdale, bit further away from you all! I have a 3 year old son and 14 month old daughter. I'm always up for new friends :)

haveheart
16-06-2013, 22:18
Hi girls! im in bairnsdale, bit further away from you all! I have a 3 year old son and 14 month old daughter. I'm always up for new friends :)

Hi Katehelen!
You're not too far from me, I come to Bairnsdale occasionally for a drive and Kmart!

HelsandFeenie
17-06-2013, 09:01

Hi katehelen, I have a 3 yr old son too and am expecting atm, I'm in Rosedale..do u have fb or skype??

katehelen
17-06-2013, 10:29
Yes I have Facebook. When are you due? Do any of you guys work or sahm? Do you get out much?

HelsandFeenie
18-06-2013, 10:16
Hi am due Jan next yr...don't get out as much as I would like as have two dogs that need looking after...how bout u? U can add me 'facebook.com/helen.amber'...I find fb so much better to chat than forums

haveheart
18-06-2013, 22:50
Yes I have Facebook. When are you due? Do any of you guys work or sahm? Do you get out much?

Not sure if this was directed at me but I'm due on the 3rd of august and am not working at the moment! I try to get out as much as possible as I get so bored at home!! How about you?