01-10-2006, 19:49
Hey girls
as razzle said the other april 2006 babies thread was getting quite long
so heres the new one
post away :thumbsup:
FunkyMonkey
01-10-2006, 22:05
Tarqins been enjoying his rice cereal but wasn't so keen on mashed carrot, might not have been smooshed up enough though. He had some kiwifruit on thursday, he pinched a peice out of my hand so I though I'd seive some for him, one whole rather large kiwifruit down the hatch. I was only going to give him a few teaspoons but he chucked a bit of a wobbly when I went to put it away. I had to show him the dish was empty, I recon he would have licked it clean if I'd let him.:eek:
We went to vist some friends tonight, turns out they are having an April baby next year! Go April Babys!!! Their little boy is turning 2 next week so they are thrilled about the gap between bubs.
Joe: I have some Baby Bandz sunnies for TJ, they're about $15 from OPSM from memory. And i think some chemists have them. TJ wears them almost everytime he goes out the door. Super cute.
Hope everyone has a great week,
Jaime.
02-10-2006, 07:22
Im thinking about getting the baby banz for my DD aswell, im just having a hard time finding them in pink :laughing:
02-10-2006, 09:52
Oliver has slept thur 7-7 the past 2 nights!!! Thats 3 times this week!
He's also LOVING his vegies and fruit! Gobbles up about 3 tsp full at each feed!!!!
02-10-2006, 09:56
Mischief your comment made me giggle! Emma has a full jar of food at each feed :laughing:
Hey all.
We also have sunnies for Blake,they are "Kids Wrapz" made by the Cancer Council and $15 from chemists and Kmart. They are super cute!
Blake seems to be sleeping a lot better this week so fingers crossed it stays that way.
Better go get some stuff done while he is asleep.
porridge
02-10-2006, 12:39
Well!! Just got back from the CHN and had Griff weighed and measured...
He's 68cm and 7.44kg... he's grown 1cm and 720g in one month :)
I had to do the PND test and scored an 8 (who hasn't felt a little sad in the past 7 days??!!) but better than the 16 I scored earlier.
Griff wee'd on me (which reminds me - I need to change my clothes!!) but babbled away and did cute things for the CHN to see (show off)
mylittleangel
03-10-2006, 15:57
hi all, i just thought i'd pop in and say hi. dd has been keeping me on my toes, teething..
we have also had family here, and more are coming next week. It's great having visitors and showing off dd but sometimes we just need a break!
I hope all is well.
Mara xxx
hummingbird
04-10-2006, 06:50
We had an interesting long weekend. We went up the coast and basically spent the whole time driving around the place to see friends and family. By Sunday night I was about to tear my hair out. It’s too stressful and not fair on Sienna to have her in the car for half the day and also having all these new people in her face all day long. I was so relieved to get home yesterday morning just so I could get back to a familiar environment and let Sienna get back to her routine. She started waking at 12 (aswell as 3am) for a feed. It was either a growth spurt, teething or just unsettled in a new environment. Last night she woke at 12am again, and I feed her, but then left her to gumble when she woke again throughout the morning (3, 4 and 5am….) She was totally fine and happy this morning, though awake again (for I don’t know how long) when I went in there at 6.30am.
Last night I tried rice cereal again and this time it was much easier. No dry retching like two weeks ago when I first tried. Most of it was spat back out, but there was some definite swallowing happening which was exciting and a relief to see. It just goes to show that babies will let you know when they are ready.
Mel, I know what you mean about breastfeeding. My mother and sister think I need to start weaning Sienna soon as I only have myself to blame when I start to feel that I am so restricted with what I can do without her in the time I have. It’s certainly true, but I can’t remember another time in my life when I have felt so persuaded to change from something that is constantly advocated as ‘the best thing to do’ and just feels so natural to me. I keep getting told that I have ‘put in such a good innings’.
04-10-2006, 07:06
Oliver has slept thru 7pm - 7am the last 4 nights in a row, and 5 times this week! YAY! Fingers crossed it keeps up, but even if it doesnt at least I know he can do it now!
He's eating 3 meals per day now. Yesterday I tried him on Swede. LOL He wasnt to impressed. This morning he had apple again, the first time I tried him he didnt like it, but this morning he loved it!
mylittleangel
04-10-2006, 07:35
Annabella LOVES her food now. She is only having lunch and dinner (about 5 tablespoons). It's great. It is funny though, seeing her open her mouth while the spoon is still in the bowl - a few weeks ago it was hard to get her to open her mouth at all!
She has a definate sleeping pattern now. She sleeps from 9-10pm til 6-7am. She does wake alot during the night though (I either have to roll her over, give her her dummy or put the blankey back on her cos she kicks it off almost straight away!). The night before last she slept 6 solid hours without waking and I felt so refreshed! I even took dd and the dog for a walk - I dont know if I will be doing that again, my dog has no walking etiquette at all!
hummingbird: I know it's hard (especially when it's family) - but don't let anyone tell you what to do, you know whats right and you are the best mother Sienna could ever have!
Mischief: I have tried Bella on home pureed pumpkin, potato, cauliflower and carrot. She loves the first three but HATES carrot. I have also tried jar baby food like pumpkin & sweetcorn (she loves it), chicken and corn (it was ok), apple, banana and berries (loved it but gave her a tummy ache) and peach and apricot (loved it!).. I don't think there is anything wrong with the jar stuff, what do you ladies think?
I hope all is well.
Mara xxx :)
porridge
04-10-2006, 07:57
mara - I'm glad you said something about pumpkin and sweetcorn... I bought a jar of it but was too scared to give it to griff (don't ask me why). I don't think there's anything wrong with the jars of stuff, but after making my own, I find mine tastes heaps better. It's a lot cheaper too (making your own)
Griff seems to be mastering the sleeping through thing, which is good for us. I'm starting to tidy up the spare room now too, so he'll be going in there soon. I probably won't sleep any better with him in another room... always wondering if he's ok or not :rolleyes:
have a great day everyone!
04-10-2006, 08:16
:banghead: :banghead:
Emma woke at 12am 1.30 am 2.45 am and then 4.15am
can teething cause sleep patterns to be messed up
MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
04-10-2006, 11:49
Well, I have officially given up on solids - I will try again in two weeks. He didn't spit it out but wasn't swallowing at all - just leaving it sitting in his mouth and it would eventually all dribble out. We were both getting really frustrated.
EmsMum we had a night like that earlier in the week and I wasn't impressed either. Unfortunately we didn't get any teeth out of it, but maybe they are moving in the gums:detective:
We can't keep Jaidev on his back today, he just rolls straight to his tummy every time:)
Hope everyone's having a good day,
mylittleangel
04-10-2006, 13:00
hehe Mel, I know what you mean about the can't keep them on their back thing. Bella just wont stay put! She has also rolled right over a few times but I keep missing it!
Mara
Dear All,
Not posted for ages had my Nanna and Brother here. Gaia is on solids. Started her on baby rice for brekkie and then tried sweet potato for lunch. She loved it, ate it all was sucking her bib after to get the stuff which had missed her mouth! had her 6 month check and injections. She is 68cm and weighs 7.2 kg. Doctor think she is doing well but then nurse phoned me to say she hasn't gained enough weight since last time and I am to bring her back next week. She is a hungry munchkin and SO active she is always rolling and on the move so I am figuring that she needs more food so hopefully now she is on solids will gain bit more weight. Also she now sleeps from 6.30 till 7.30 or even 8 so we are going to wake her before we go to bed for a feed as I think that is too long to go. She also just rolled off the bed so am feeling like the worst mum ever. She screamed for ages don't think she banged her head on the drawer but can't be left AT ALL from now on.
Was my birthday yesterday got some new clothes wasn't sure what size I was so DH and Gaia waited outside while I tried on about 20 things. Got some stuff but got money from my parents and my MIL so will go and choose something else. DH made me a lovely meal and we had cake of course!!
Better go and tidy a friend is popping in to see Gaia later and our place is a mess.
love Jxx
p.s. Will reply to your posts soon I read them all regularly but don't get round to answering.
Mandy would have thought teething would affect sleeping for sure.
porridge
04-10-2006, 14:37
I bought some banana's for $6.95/kg today!! sooo excitied! I whizzed some up for griff with some yoghurt (enough for me too:D ) and he ate it up! (with a suspicious look on his face)
It's that time of week again when I have to make more fruit and vegies for griff and put them in the freezer... I've been mixing them up so he has 3 in one ice cube. Any suggestions??
We're having such beautiful weather down here atm (Tassie) it's so nice! I am looking forward to summer and going to the beach! I imagine Griff will love eating the sand too and swimming in the sea!!
Does anyone else have summer plans?
Edited to add - Happy Birthday jmacg!! sorry to hear about Gaia falling off the bed... I'm sure she's ok!! Gaia and Griff sound pretty much the same size wise... Griff's a skinny little thing - no chubba for me!
angcaltam
04-10-2006, 14:40
:banghead: :banghead:
Emma woke at 12am 1.30 am 2.45 am and then 4.15am
can teething cause sleep patterns to be messed up
Mandy,
When the boys were teething they would have us up all night, so yes it can cause problem with their sleep patterns. I hope she cuts them soon for both you and her.
Well, Tamara is now on 4 bottles and 2 lots of solids. I tried her on Weet-Bix this morning but she wasn't sure about them, I'll try mixing some fruit in with it tomorrow morning and see what she thinks then. She loves the Gels ! ! ! I took her for her check-up with the CHN yesterday and she weighed in at 7.5 naked, Length 62cm's & head circumference is 41.5cm's. So she isn't huge like we thought.
I'm trying a routine today and tomorrow to see how she goes because MIL wanted me to write down when she has her bottles, solids, sleep & play, we just go off what she wants usually but I thought I would see if I could work on a little bit of a routine for her, so far so good. It includes 4 bottles and 2 lots of solids.
Well, I best go before she wakes up. Hope you are all having a great day.
FunkyMonkey
04-10-2006, 15:17
My sister is visiting at the moment and my DS keeps saying "Aunty Ingrid" clear as a bell. I thought he would say DADA or BABA first, but no, he wants to start with the hard stuff. LOL
mylittleangel
04-10-2006, 19:02
YAY for Tarquin!
Hi guys, sorry I haven't written yet. I've been so slack. I've got alot to catch up on, I wont do that again
Here goes:
Hummingbird: Congrats on the tooth! I'm hoping Alexi's comes through soon, she's been a real grizzlebum lately.
Katherine: Two teeth wow :eek:
Mandy: That must be so frustrating! Its only been a few days of teething and I can't wait for it to come up!
Priya: I hope you have a fantastic time! Stay strong with the solids!
Jaime: That's so cute about the kiwifruit. Alexi loves to eat too. its like a shark attack when she has her pumpkin! :laughing:
Kat: yay Oliver! its sooooooooooo good when they sleep through. :fingerscrossed: it stays that way!
Jmacg: Happy Birthday!! Hope u had a fantastic day!! Sorry to hear about Gaia falling off the bed. she sounds like Alexi. Turn around and she's up the other end!!! :hugs: Don't feel to bad, accidents happen.
YAY TARQUIN!!! You clever boy!
Alexi has said BABA, is that considered her first word?? or just sounds?
We're having rice cereal and apple&mango for brekky here, about 4 tbsp along with a bottle. then usually some rice cereal and pumkpin at night.
I met my first bubhubber yesterday!! Kayteigh. she's so nice! had a great time.
For those who are on solids. When you feed bubs apple, do you mix it with rice cereal? or just feed them milk b4 hand? I mix it with rice cereal myself.
Well, time to get this place cleaned up. Have a great day everyone!!
mylittleangel
05-10-2006, 09:34
I know what you mean about not knowing the difference between words and sounds Mum21 - DD says things like boom and mumumum, but I think they are just sounds. I am waiting until she looks at me and says a word before I count it lol.
I am so going insane - I need to get out of the house!
Do you want to go out for a coffee? I'm getting a bit of cabin fever myself here LOL :rolleyes:
porridge
05-10-2006, 10:30
Hey guys
on the topic of words vs. sounds... was talking to a friend on mine who is a speech pathologist about when babies start talking... she said not until around 1 year old! Babies make a lot of sounds... mamama, dadada, bubbub etc, but it's not counted as a 'word' until they do it in response to something, or like you said mara, look at you or reach for you and say 'mama' Not to worry, i'm sure our bubs are all very advanced and will start talking real soon :D
Griff says a lot of 'thhhh' and 'fffff' sounds and squeaks... cute
My family tease me and say that Alexi's first word will be BUBHUB :laughing: Would not suprise me in the least if it is though haha.
FunkyMonkey
05-10-2006, 12:45
It seems today my son has decided that a new routine is in order.
6am- woken for first feed, not interested falls asleep after 15 mins
9am- wakes for feed, starving but had enough after 25 mins
9:45am- very grizzly rooting around so back on boobie
10:45am- more sooking back on boob has both boobies in 30 mins
11am super cranky so of to sleep.
12pm-still asleep
1pm still asleep
So I'm off to wake him as this is totally not his usual self.
05-10-2006, 13:32
Emma had a better night last night thankfully :yes:
She has also FINALLY mastered the whole rolling thing :yelclap: :yelclap:
hi everyone have been off line for a while.
hope everyone is doing well seems as all the bubs are growing so big and clever
we have two teeth now:smiliedance: also we r rolling lots more now
we had dd naming day on sunday and it all seemed 2 go really well.
thought we mite start the solid thing again on monday but dd has been really sick :barf: does anyone have any ideas as what i can get her 2 drink as the only thing she wants is her milk bottle. have tried h2o hydraloyte drink and ice blocks but she wont take them now.:wave:
mylittleangel
05-10-2006, 18:01
What about a little bit of orange juice or ribina in cooled boiled water? My Dr said thats fine.
Mara xxx
Mandy ~ Yay Emma! Clever girl :yelclap:
Kahazo ~ Let DD suck on a washer in the bath. she'll get her water :) Glad her naming day went well :yes: I hope she's feeling better soon.
05-10-2006, 19:02
Mandy ~ Yay Emma! Clever girl :yelclap:
Kahazo ~ Let DD suck on a washer in the bath. she'll get her water :) Glad her naming day went well :yes: I hope she's feeling better soon.
My DD loves sucking on her washer!
So does Alexi. its a tug of war to get anything off her at the moment :rolleyes: :laughing:
BubbaNoogie
05-10-2006, 22:27
Well Amaris is officially 6 months old today:smiliedance:
Still B/F, no solids, no sleeping through the night, no signs of any teeth, lots of rolling, sitting up by herself, squeals, growls, ahhhs, ffffts, abuh and raspberry speak, and heaps of funny faces.
For her 6 mth birthday (any excuse to buy her something :D ) we bought her a walker, she loves it! She has only worked out how to go backwards, which she does with a very proud look on her face. So cute!
Hope everyone is well.
Brooke.
angcaltam
06-10-2006, 00:37
Well, we had a shocker of a night last night. We got Tamara down about 9:30 which is half an hour before she normally goes down, then she woke up screaming about an hour later, finally got her settled and back to bed, but then it was about every 15 mins - 1 /2 an hour wake ups. Then at about 3am we had to give her a bottle which normally she wouldn't have until about 8am. That helped a little but in the end she slept with us just so I could get a little sleep.
Now tonight she has been having a few screaming matches, and it looks like another 2 bottom teeth are trying to cut through, so hopefully she will sleep all night and then wake up with 4 teeth, wishful thinking I know.:detective: :laughing:
Well, I best go and try and get some sleep because I know for a fact that I will not get much at all tomorrow night, I'm going to be all wrinkly because I plan on staying in the spa most of the night ! ! ! Not sure what DH will be doing.:laughing: :laughing:
Hope you are all having a good nights sleep.
06-10-2006, 08:46
Had bub wieghed yesterday, he's spot on 8kg and is 70.5cms. I'm so proud because he hasnt been taking any solids or anything so that's all from my milk! On a less positive note the last few nights he's decided not to go back to sleep after his 4:30am feed:eek: I'm not prepared to start the day then!! He's also been grizzly the last two days and really difficult to settle, so I'm really hoping we get some teeth soon, his gums are sooo lumpy.
He's loving the warm weather because he gets lots of time playing with his nappy off and seems to think this is great fun.
Hope everyone's having a good day and hope Tamara does better tonight Katherine (whose looking after her tonight?) - Enjoy your night out!! Seems like you deserve it after all you've been through.
FunkyMonkey
06-10-2006, 09:38
Tarquin did the cutest thing this morning. I was asleep with him in our bed and he rolled over and was patting my arm and touching my face to wake me up. He must have been doing it for a while because he squealed at me like he was frustrated. Then he laughed when I finally opened my eyes.
But now he's still grumpy andwon't let me put him down. which is not good as im not well today. :(
angcaltam
06-10-2006, 10:59
Mel, DH's parents r having them. But Shandi is on standby if they get into any trouble with them. We have said that we only want a phone call if it is an emergency. Any yes, I think I deserve it after everything.:yes: :thumbsup:
Well, she didn't wake up again until 8am today for her morning bottle. :yelclap: So I'm really hoping that she sleeps all night for Grandma & Poppy.
Well, I should keep going and try and get the kids stuff all packed, then pack what little stuff we need. I just can't wait, look out SPA here I come ! ! !:laughing:
Hope you all have a great weekend ! ! !
06-10-2006, 12:35
EMMA SAID MAMA TODAY
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
another proud mummy moment
mylittleangel
07-10-2006, 07:56
YAY EMMA!
Testing my new avatar
Didn't work will try again
Hi girls. I hope everyone's doing well.
Our internet is down at the moment. so i won't be online for a bit. Have to use mums for now.
Clever Emma btw, what a little sweetie.
See you soon (hopefully) :hugs: :wave:
08-10-2006, 10:36
Weekends are very quiet here on bubhub, I guess because most DH's are at home and older kids? My DH works weekends, so I'm still here haunting the place!:D
We had a very bad day yesterday, but today is much better. I've introduced a teddy to DS as a sleep association. It's so cute, he falls asleep with one hand on his teddy. He's getting to be such a big boy now. I remember when he was newborn the cot seemed HUGE for him, and now he takes up half of it. They've just grown up so quickly. I remember when I went to my first mothers group meeting, DS was 5 weeks old and I saw a 9 week old and thought wow, that babies so grown up:laughing: . Now a 9week old looks so tiny to me. Anyway:ecomcity: :ecomcity: traipsing down memory lane.
Hope you're all have a great weekend, enjoying the warm weather,
aprilbaby
08-10-2006, 20:37
hi girls,
Just wanted to come on quickly to let you know i'm still here.
We've settled into our new house and are loving being around our family. It's so nice having the help with James, and seeing him play with his cousins is gorgoeus!
We left him with my mum and dad for the first time and he was an angel. As for me, i only called to check in 6 times in three hours! Not bad for the first time. :o
He's started solids and LOVES his food. He was so ready for it, he never gagged, has gobbled down everything i've given him and is now obsessed with food. I can't eat anything while I'm BF coz he grabs it and tries to put it in his mouth!
His sleeping is still shocking but he is now in his own room and I'm determined to persist and not take him into our bed. It's a big adjustment moving and everything so he'll settle down soon enough. :fingerscrossed:
wait, he's crying, I'll try and come back on in a sec...
aprilbaby
08-10-2006, 21:19
back again..
anyway, everything's great. I have to get used to people dropping around all the time but I'm sure once we've been here a while that will slow down. I also have to get used to getting so much help with James. We went out today and I barely saw him all day, I only got him back to feed!
I'm glad he's adjusted to everyone so quickly, he was used to only being around DH and I but he already seems to know his grandparents, which is lovely.
What else? Oh, he sat up for about 30 seconds yesterday, the longest he's gone without toppling over. He's still very busy and LOVES the jolly jumper. Thank god for the jolly jumper, it is the only reason I got us packed in time!
So things are great with me. I haven't had a chance to read all the posts yet so I hope you're all doing well and your bubs are happy and healthy.
I might not be able to come on as much anymore, the computer is upstairs now so it's not as easy to quickly log on while I'm watching him play. And by the end of the day I'm so comatose it's straight to bed. You're probably all the same. But I'll keep checking in when i can, I have to keep up with everyone's lives now we've spent so long chatting!
Take care for now. xx
OMG I have missed soo much & finally found you all again. I can't believe Dusty is 6 month old already & weighs 6.25 kilos . She is having 2 meals of solids a day & sometimes likes to suck on my toast at breakfast. She tries to sit up but only for a few seconds & is trying very hard to roll over, she looks like a contortionist especially if there is an ad on the T V she likes. She says Dad all the time. She has even said Nan a couple of times, which brings a tear to my eye knowing that she will never get to know her Nanna, but sometimes I think my mum's spirit is here with us because Dusty will look at a certain place where there is nothing to look at and she'll smile & get all excited. I could just see my mum talking to her saying " Who's Nan's beautiful girl". Must go now as it's getting late & hard to keep the eyelids open. The older kids are on Holidays till next Monday. Oh & I forgot, our eldest DD has left home:smiliedance: . Things seem much quieter without her here. She still comes to have tea with us and sometimes spends the day with us. Raymond starts full time kindy when school goes back & he is soo excited he tells everyone he meets. Better go now before i go to sleep at the computer. Take care:wave:
mylittleangel
09-10-2006, 08:52
Welcome back Tracie, we have missed you! :hugs: :kiss:
It's great to be living near your family and friends now Aprilbaby, things will be so much easier.
Well Annabella is been a loud little one the past few days, I think it's funny, but some people can't stand it lol.
She has been rolling right over the past few days, it's so cute. I find her at one ned of the lounge room :laughing: I had to move some furniture around so there is a huge space for her to roll/play in.
She seems to be left handed, she holds her spoon with her left hand and she grabs for things with her left hand, and she can only roll fom her left side. Does anyone else notice a right/left pattern?
I think it's time to do a spring clean. I love cleaning.. I know, I'm sad.
There is this great site I go to, http://www.freecycle.org/ , you join the site and give away your unwanted items, and you can pick up some goodies yourself.
Mara xxx
~mia&ryan~
09-10-2006, 10:07
Hi All!
Just wanted to say hi to everyone:wave: I too have an april bub! Mia Kathryn was born at the Gold Coast Hospital on Sunday 23rd April 2006 at 8.40pm, weighing in at 9lbs 1oz 53cm long head circ 35.5cm. She is a great little bub. She sleeps through and has since about 8weeks old. She has 3 meals of solids a day loves veggies, but only like banana, no other fruit.
Well little miss is up from her nap, gotta go!
porridge
10-10-2006, 11:06
ARGH!! Griff has been so grizzly these past two days! WHY?? I have no idea :no: It could be more teeth?? he has 2 on the bottom already.
BUT! an exciting thing!! He 'did' his first crawl today!! For about a week he's been going up on his toes (like a push up) and today he brought one knee forward and then the other... and then fell flat on his face :D Griff's on the move!
Well, DH is away again for 2 weeks (home for the weekend though) and I miss him so much already!! He's missing Griff lots already too and is sad because he's doing so much now and he misses out :(
Off to the Dr's today for Griff's 6 month check and immunisations... and a check up for me. I hate going to the dr but better to make sure that everything is ok rather than not...
Time to go and sit in the sun :smiliedance:
FunkyMonkey
10-10-2006, 11:41
hello girls hope everyone had a good weekend.
We spent the weekend at a friends place, their little boy had his 2nd birthday, TJ had a great time trying to eat the wrapping paper. But didn't have a single nap. :O crazy kid. and he still woke up at 2am ater going to bed at 9:30pm. But we had such a good time it really didn't matter at all.
He has started wriggling his way around, he moved from under his playgym to the computer desk (about 6ft) and managed to get himself all the way out from under his covers last night. He ended up on his side with his head against the side, arm flung over his head. So very cute.
His vocabulary has extended to include dada, baba, and mama. The little darling also hums himself to sleep. If i sing or hum to him he will stop and listen, but will soon interupt with his version of the song. :)
I've got to go and iron about 100 nappies as they are all out of alignment and don't hold anything. yuck.
jaime.
FunkyMonkey
10-10-2006, 12:00
porridge: Yippee for griff!!! TJ will stay on his hands and knees for a little while but it always ends with a face plant and sometimes tears. Hope the needles go alright I dread going to the GP too, but you have to do what you have to do.
angcaltam
10-10-2006, 15:47
Hey guys,
Well, Friday night was just perfect. DH picked the key up on his way home so he could set the room up. He put candles around, had our Bride & Groom glasses with a bottle of red wine and had our song playing on repeat for when I entered the room. It done us the world of good. We then went to McDonald's for breakfast on Saturday morning and then went shopping to finish off the boys birthday presents. So that's all done now.
Tamara is saying Dada lots but we aren't counting it as a word yet cause she has only looked at DH twice and said it so if she does it a few more times then I'll let him say it was her first word. Then the other day she was making the Nana sounds but it got to me a little cause my Mum was going to be Nana.:crying: :gloomy:
But her teeth are still giving her hell. She weighs the same amount as what DS1 did at 4 months and we didn't think he was a big boy.:confused:
Anyway best go, have bottles to do cause we have soccer tonight. See who I can take out, I've had a sh!# of a day so it will be good to get my aggression out.
Hope you are all doing good, not as many posts happening anymore.:detective:
We have started solids this week and so far DS likes Rice cereal (but only when mixed with EBM) and doesn't think much of avacado. I will try him on some pumpkin next week I think - might even take out a loan :laughing: and buy some bananas for him to try.
I'm not sure if he is having teething trouble. He was really unsettled last week and still isn't back to his cheery self - I can't see or feel teeth but am not sure what else it could be :detective: .
There are no words for us yet and no crawling either, just lots of rolling and wriggling which results in DS going backwards instead of forward but in preparation I have put in the power point covers and have got some cupbord locks.
Hope you are all having a good week!
10-10-2006, 19:58
this thread has been super quiet lately... no body better be dropping outta this thread!!! hehe
The last week or so has been fairly challenging emma seems to have a few really good days then a few really bad days.
Sleepwise things are getting very frustrating shes gone from a baby who slept through the night to a baby thatsometimes now will wake up 3-4 times a night argh
I'm so sorry i've been AWOL for so long.... and i've been trying to catch up on all the posts i've missed, but it's just not possible!!
Thought I'd let you all know that Rohan had his heart operation on Thurs 14th september, and it all went brilliantly, and we are back home (2 weeks now) and finally back into our routine. Rohan is now basically fully recovered. It is just amazing how fast he got over it all. It all seems like ancient history now, and it was only 4 weeks ago!
I hope everything is going well for everyone and their bubs.
Mandy, Rohan did exactly the same thing with the waking 3-4 times a night after sleeping through from 9weeks, and it says in BabyLove that it is quite common for this to happen at around 4-6 months, and that there isn't really an explanation. I've managed to get Rohan back to sleeping through, but that is only if i maintain a really strict routine during the day and let him have uninterrupted sleeps in his cot at home. If we go out and miss a sleep (or he has a 40 minute nap in his pram instead of a 1.5-2 hour sleep), then he will definitely wake 3-4 times that night. It seems that a good night's sleep always follows a good day's sleeping routine. Quite frustrating because Rohan's routine is to be awake from 7am-9am, then from 11.30am-2pm then 5pm-7.30pm - which really doesn't leave a lot of time for me to get anything done if i need to go shopping or out for something!! :rolleyes: But it is worth keeping to his routine if it means a full night's sleep!!
Hope this helps!:)
L
11-10-2006, 06:36
oh dear
emma was up at 11pm 12am 3am then 6am
Oh dear Mandy is she teething??:hugs: Maybe she'll have a nap later and u could get some rest.
J
11-10-2006, 07:14
Oh dear Mandy is she teething??:hugs: Maybe she'll have a nap later and u could get some rest.
J
yeah she is teething!!!! and to top it off the next two days we are going to be having really hot weather!
BubbaNoogie
11-10-2006, 08:55
LisaC- So glad to hear that Rohans operation went well. Its great to hear he has made a full recovery.
Mandy- I know how you feel, Amaris has gone through the waking up to 4 times a night on and off for as long as I can remember now.
angcaltam
11-10-2006, 11:54
Lisa, I'm so glad to hear that Rohans operation went well and that his recovery is going great. :yelclap: How did you cope ? I was a basket case with both of DS1's operations.
Mandy, You poor thing. Hopefully her sleep will go back to normal soon.:fingerscrossed: We had this for about a week with Tamara and it's just been the last 2 nights that she has slept through again. Just stay positive, things will get better soon.
Well, I've got a Hen's night to plan for the 21st and I have no idea what to do. All I know is that we are having a Bridal Shower in the late afternoon, (it's an undercover wear one that Shandi is doing) then out to dinner, still don't know where, then out to get her p!$$ed. We have a veil and female and male garter for her but that's it. If you ladies have any suggestions please help. I never had a Hen's night.:crying:
On top of that I've got DS1's birthday coming up on the 29th October which is the day after the wedding, then DS2's birthday on the 8th November we are having his party the weekend after DS1's. My birthday on the 31st October which will most likely just be forgotten, but not next year, I've made it clear that I want a big 30th.:yes:
Well, I best go and maybe think about doing some housework. hahaha
Hope you ladies are all having a great day.
12-10-2006, 12:01
Where is everyone????
its been so quiet in this thread lately...
Emma is still waking during the night but last night she only woke at 10.30 pm and then at 4.30 am so that isn't too bad..
It is REALLY hot here today 35 degrees so far emma is handling the heat pretty well, once she has had her nap im going to probably go down to the local swimming centre with her :")
Hope everyone is doing well
12-10-2006, 12:31
I'm here....Ive just been lurking more lately!
Oliver is sleeping thru the night 7-7 and rolling everywhere. When he's standing (as he loves to do) he now tries to walk, taking little steps. He's constantly babbling, but no words yet. He says mummumammaammaaa when he's upset, but I'm not counting it as a word because I think its more of an annoyed sound than an actual word. :)
He is gobbling up everything I put in front of him now. Mandy I recon he could take Emma now! LOL He LOVES his fruit.....I swear he would eat and eat and eat pear and apple until he burst right open. He's also eating potato, swede and zuch, sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin, and bean.
It was so cute, the other night we had roast lamb and he started wailing and reaching for it, so then he sucked away on a peice of lamb for about half an hour before throwing a tantrum because I wouldnt let him swallow it! :D
Have discovered he cant have wheat. Every time he has a Rusk or Farex (6 month +) he breaks out in a rash. :( So thats 2 things he is intollorant too.....wheat and cows milk. hmmmmm....hope thats all. Will try again in a couple of weeks and see if he still reacts.
I just cant belive my baby is nearly 6 months old and I am going back to work in 6 weeks time. I know its only 2 days a week but......
On another note, I though I would let you girls know (I havent made it public knowledge, Ive only told one GF and my husband) I was diagnosed with PND a couple of weeks ago and am now taking tablets. Since starting Ive been feeling much better in myself, actually I cant remember feeling this OK since I was about 15. Ive changed my diet, and feel so much more decisive.
It was so heartbreaking for me to hear the Dr telling me that there was nothing physically wrong to cause all the problems I have had, but that I was depressed and she wanted me to try medication. Ive been dealing with things for years and accepting medication made me feel like such a failure, but now I wish I had sort help years ago, and not waiting until having a baby tipped me over the edge.
Anyway, I think I can hear Oliver stiring now. So I better go and check on him!
BTW its - 33c here today! In Tassie, THAT is a heatwave!
mylittleangel
12-10-2006, 16:51
Mischief - I really do understand how you feel like a failure. I did too - I felt so ashamed. But the meds really do work, i wish i found them years ago! Now I find out alot of friends are on them too.
12-10-2006, 17:51
its been 38 over here :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
13-10-2006, 07:55
Hi all, well Jai's going to have his first ever swim today!!! Very exciting and good weather for it - the only downside is that I have to get back in my swimmers:eek: Maybe I could swim fully clothed:D . I should probably get some washing done since its so warm.
13-10-2006, 08:31
Hi all, well Jai's going to have his first ever swim today!!! Very exciting and good weather for it - the only downside is that I have to get back in my swimmers:eek: Maybe I could swim fully clothed:D . I should probably get some washing done since its so warm.
We are off to swimming today too! It took me all my motivation to get ready to go this morning. I STILL dont have my period, its now over 2 weeks late. :O I dont know what to think. I took 3 tests last week and none of them came up positive. I feel really achey today though, so maybe its on its way?
FunkyMonkey
13-10-2006, 10:06
Hi girls!,
It's been an interesting week we've been having, since starting him on solids TJ's routine has been, well, not a routine anymore. But he has been so cuddly and very adorable, still not scared af strangers except if they approach too fast, rolling around llike no-ones business, I've been finding him in some odd positions, LOVES his food, he has lunch and dinner now and I will be giving him breakfast from next week as he is very demanding on the boob after we o back to bed after his 5:30-6am feed, so I recon he needs just a little bit more. I'm going to make those "housepoets lactation cookies" tonight as I'm going back to work next week. Just the weekend, so i'll really never see DF.
GTG Himself has started to really whinge now so best go see what he needs.
Have a great weekend girls!
Jaime
hummingbird
13-10-2006, 18:22
Hi all. OK lots of catching up to do!
I was a bit derr in the head about the whole solids thing. I thought it would be much quicker and easier than it was. For some reason I just thought she would taste a bit and want more more more. I didn’t realise that it was going to be little teeny teaspoons getting spat out, or even a refusal to open the mouth. I’ve since heard that if they don’t open their mouths, then they aren’t ready and try again in a couple of days.
I think there must be something about carrots and April babies. I made up a whole batch to freeze and Sienna hates it too! At the moment I am sticking with apple or yoghurt in the morning and sweet potato in the evening. Will probably try zucchini next week…I’ve heard lots of bubs like it. Mum21 - I mix rice cereal and formula with Sienna’s food (except the yoghurt) as I have read the whole point of getting them on solids is because their iron stores they got in the womb start to dwindle from 6 months and they don’t get any from your milk, (not sure about formula) so the point of rice cereal is that it is low allergenic and they fortify it with vits and minerals including iron.
I studied nutrition and had to do an assignment comparing baby jar food brands aswell as infant formula. I came out thinking that if ever I had children I would have no problem using the jarred food (but I would use organic over conventional), it really is very good. So don’t feel guilty! One mum did mention to me that the one time she tried jarred food, her little boy was up all night with wind and tummy pain. I would think that this may have been a reaction to a particular combination, or food within the combination, not so much because it was jarred, as Mara experienced with the apple, banana and berri combo.
Well my latest newsflashes are:
Sienna is now in the big bath with her bath seat we got from ebay
Sienna loves her jolly jumper (we had a bit of an ebay frenzy)
A second tooth is peeping through (I reckon for sure teething can effect sleep)
And best of all……
Sienna took her first bottle!!!! SHOCK I know. I am going to continue breastfeeding, but I am so relieved now to know that if I need to, she will take one. I was preparing a bottle on Monday morning so I could mix it with her food and she was very interested in what was going on, so I gave it to her to hold and before I knew it she was sucking away like she’d been doing it from birth! She had 100ml which I thought was pretty god. I also think she was using a 3 month’s old teat so I think she got a bit tired from sucking so hard, so will have to get a couple of teats for 6 months over.
Bit of sitting up going on here too! It’s amazing how much better they get in such a small amount of time. She can sit up for quite a while on her own, but we do need pillows around for when she tilts sideways. She also stands on her own for quite a bit (5mins?) when up against the coffee table.
We have Sienna’s Christening on Sunday. I bought her little dress a couple of weeks ago - she is going to look so cute. Somehow I don’t think the hat will stay on for very long. I had a spray tan this afternoon as a treat and didn’t realise what a palava it was going to be with Sienna – she had fake tan all over her jumpsuit! And the area around my nipples is all white so she doesn’t suck any of the tan!
As it was so hot today I put a fozen cube of peach puree in one of those Tommee Tippee mesh bags so Sienna could have a suck and she absolutely loved it.
Lisa – top news about Rohan. What a clever little man.
porridge
13-10-2006, 19:39
oooh! Hummingbird! That sounds like a great idea with the ice cubes in the mesh bag... where did you get the bags from?
Griff had his first day at the beach yesterday and loved it! He splashed in shallow pools and for a while in the waves, but didn't really like it all that much (bit cold and loud!!) He loves sand and was absolutely covered by the time we left! :laughing:
He took a dive yesterday too and landed on his face - there were so many tears!! I actually thought he'd hurt his nose a lot, but it's looking alright today (phew)
Hope everyone has a good weekend!!
13-10-2006, 19:43
hope everyone is doing well
im feeling rather :gloomy: today so im going to have a early night
I got a tatoo today, its a kanji symbol that means mother
angcaltam
14-10-2006, 00:19
Hey guys,
Don't have much time to post so I just thought I would pop in and say that I'm still here. Just been very busy planning a hens night, a wedding and 2 birthday parties for my kids. So run off my feet.:yes: :devil6:
DD is 6 months old today ! ! ! Where has the time gone.:crying: I weighed and measured her today at the chemist and she weighs 8.25 kg and her length is 69 cms.
Well, I best go and try and get some sleep now. Will try and get on again over the weekend.
Hope you all have a good weekend.:thumbsup:
14-10-2006, 09:44
Hi everyone! jaidev loved his first swim and it was a lot of fun - I still haven't got my period back since having DS so it'll be great if it stays away all summer - for swimming I mean.
You can get the mesh bags from Woolies or probably any supermarket. I gave Jaidev some banane in one this morning - messy but fun!
He now does 360's on his tummy, very cute, and has started moving backwards - I wouldn't call it crawling, more caterpillaring, sticking up his bum, pushing back with his hands and sliding backwards. He is so great with sitting now - his back is really straight and only reallyu falls over when he gets distracted by something behind him or when you make him laugh really hard:D .
porridge
14-10-2006, 11:43
Mel - Griff sounds like he's moving the same as Jaidev... it's funny hey?
well, we walked into town today and got caught in the rain! would've been fine if I'd taken the pram rain jacket (which I normally do!!) so DH had to catch a cab home and bring the car in :banghead:
I'm going to get me some of those bags! They sound great!!!
14-10-2006, 13:01
whooo hooo
emmas been good sleeping the past few nights :D
angcaltam
14-10-2006, 13:10
That's great to hear Mandy ! ! ! Now just keep it up Emma ! ! !
:yelclap: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :yelclap:
14-10-2006, 13:27
That's great to hear Mandy ! ! ! Now just keep it up Emma ! ! !
:yelclap: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :yelclap:
I hope she is psychic and can read what you just wrote haha
angcaltam
14-10-2006, 13:32
I hope she is psychic and can read what you just wrote haha
Wouldn't that be great ! ! !:laughing: :laughing: :rolleyes: :idea:
14-10-2006, 13:34
Wouldn't that be great ! ! !:laughing: :laughing: :rolleyes: :idea:
if only haha
Dusty ate her first lot of home made vegies tonight & lastnight she rolled over from her tummy to her back for the first time:smiliedance: . 2 of her older brothers have a really bad flu at the moment & I think she is coming down with it too:( She has been refusing the boob but still eating her custard at lunch & her vegies & custard at tea time. She will have a bottle of formula but am trying to avoid giving her more than the 1 bottle of this(she usually has this at about 5.00)
15-10-2006, 09:21
I think I spoke to soon about DD's sleep, I think its just a case of im going to have to get used to it while she is teething...
Good to hear from you again Tracie
15-10-2006, 11:48
oliver slept thru last night! :)
sorry i havent been posting, i haven't had time to sit down and read everyone's posts, and now i have 7 pages to catch up on! :eek: AGAIN. LOL.
Well, Alexi is nearly crawling, she's getting her knees right up underneath her and she's pushing. She's also sitting up by herself with a topple every now and then :hugs:
We're well and truly into the solids now. Alexi is LOVING it all. its so cute watching her try new ones. especially kiwifruit, hehe, screwing her nose up :laughing:
We took Alexi to the pool last month, she loved it so much i cant wait to take her again!
Mara ~ I haven't noticed any right/left pattern, but then again I haven't been watching for that. I will now though.
Miamama ~ Welcome to the AprilThread
Katherine ~ i'm glad to hear your night went well.
Kat ~ Good to hear that Oliver is sleeping through. It makes all the difference doesnt it?
Mandy ~ Congrats on the tatt, You picked a good one.
I hope everyone's keeping well, gotta go pick Alexi up from Nans.
angcaltam
15-10-2006, 14:05
Well Tamara had a 3 hour sleep yesterday morning then another 3 hour sleep yesterday afternoon. So I didn't know what to expect last night from her but she had her 3rd bottle at about 7pm then I done up some mashed potatoe with cheese for her and she had that about 8pm and then after a little play she went to bed and didn't wake up until about 8:30am and had her first bottle at 8:45am. :yelclap: :smiliedance: We were so shocked because she usually has to have her 4 bottles to sleep through. With the Formula that we are using it says that at 6 Months they will want 3 -4 bottles a day. So she is going to have 3 lots of solids today and 3 bottles and we will see how she goes tonight.:fingerscrossed: she does what she done last night for us again.
Welcome Miamama, not sure if I've already said Welcome so I'll say it again just in case.:laughing:
Kat, Mr O is such a good little boy sleeping through for you.
Mandy, Congratulations on the Tattoo. And I hope that Emma's teeth stop giving her so much grief soon.
Well, back to school for the boys tomorrow, YAY ! ! ! Caleb only goes to Pre-School on Mondays but that's enough of a break for me, then next year he will be going on Thursdays and Fridays so that will be good. I've got Caleb's second opinion tomorrow morning at 9:30 and then his assessment with Early Intervention on Wednesday. So I'm hoping we will have some answers this week as to why he his so aggressive.
I've got a hair trial tomorrow afternoon to see what we can do with my hair for my Friends Wedding. She got them to do a deal for her so that we could both have a hair trial and then on the day they will also do her Mum's hair and they are only charing her $200. We thought that was good, and she knows someone that does make-up so that's going to save us more money. Now just what to do to her on the Hens night ! ! !
Well, that's about all from me for now. Hope everyone is having a great weekend.
Well today has been a horror of a day for us. DS woke twice last night which he hasn't done for ages and was so unsettled today. I'm not sure if teeth are to blame - I checked his mouth again and still can't see anything so I will just wait and see how things go tomorrow. He got his needles this week and was so good. He let out a cry when the needles went in then forgot all about it. We got the usual comment about DS's size and the doctor said he needed the next needle size up as he didn't think the smaller one would reach his muscle (DS has superdooper thunder thighs :o ).
Here's hoping everyone had a good weekend!
15-10-2006, 19:04
Well today has been a horror of a day for us. DS woke twice last night which he hasn't done for ages and was so unsettled today. I'm not sure if teeth are to blame - I checked his mouth again and still can't see anything so I will just wait and see how things go tomorrow. He got his needles this week and was so good. He let out a cry when the needles went in then forgot all about it. We got the usual comment about DS's size and the doctor said he needed the next needle size up as he didn't think the smaller one would reach his muscle (DS has superdooper thunder thighs :o ).
Here's hoping everyone had a good weekend!
joe your DS sounds exactly how emmas been today
very unsettled
mylittleangel
16-10-2006, 13:54
my dd is trying to crawl! she tucks her knees under her body and trys so hard to push herself forward.. all she does is face-plants :laughing:
I feel soo bad, i left her on the couch quickly while i went to fill the bath up - i had a bad feeling so i came back out and there she was face first on the pillow (luckily the pillow fell with her), her cries were all muffled :(
She was all shocked, but she is just fine now.
Mara xxx
mylittleangel
16-10-2006, 15:45
People don't really post anymore do they. Do you think it is because of the change of thread? Or is everyone just super busy?
Mara xxx
16-10-2006, 16:38
People don't really post anymore do they. Do you think it is because of the change of thread? Or is everyone just super busy?
Mara xxx
I think everyone is probably super busy :gloomy: :gloomy:
hummingbird
16-10-2006, 16:48
I wonder if we aren't becoming a lot more confident with being mums. Remember when you were pregnant when everything was new and exciting and a bit scary and then when bubs came along and we were all eshausted and having troubles with feeding and sleeping? Perhaps we are all too good at our 'jobs' that we might not feel the need to get on bubhub so much.....?
Big news everyone! Alexi is crawling! Not very well at this point, but its a start! :D
BTW I'm loving our new icons :bfn: :bfp:
mylittleangel
16-10-2006, 17:30
That could be right. Although I have had a bad time today! Bella rolled off the couch. She rolled onto her stomach and launced herself half off the top of the change table (we wont be using that anymore). she pulled on the activity may bar thing and it came undone and almost flicked her in the face... oh and i rolled over over on a blanket on the floor and she smashed her head down on the ground - and screamed the house down. She is fine though!
So today has been an eye-opener to say the least.
She is so close to crawling it's not funny.. I need a play pen NOW - and some gates.
Anyne else having troubles with a rolly-polly baby?
Maraxxx
mylittleangel
16-10-2006, 17:32
YAY Alexi!:smiliedance: :yelclap:
What do the new icons mean?
FunkyMonkey
16-10-2006, 17:41
What a interesting few days we've been having, Tarquin had his first haircut on Saturday, no tears or tantrums, just sucking away merrily on the cape. Then yesturday we had our first trip to the seaside. Was a bit too chilly for a proper dip so he just paddled his feet into the waves and was digging his feet into the sand and grinning away.
Today must have been a bit too dull for him, just the two of us, so he was grumpy and sooking all day. Didn't want his solids and didn't want to sleep. But wanted boobie every 1 or 2 hrs. Talk about draining. He also didn't sleep through and spent most of the night kicking me in the tummy and grizzling when he kicked the blankets off.
Hoping for a better night tonight. Shouldn't complain though, days like these are few and he's usually a dream baby.
He's due for his shower and solids now so better get things ready,
Have a great week everyone.
Jaime.
FunkyMonkey
16-10-2006, 17:43
YAY Alexi!:smiliedance: :yelclap:
What do the new icons mean?
:bfn: = pregnancy test negative
:bfp:= pregnancy test positive. (i think) LOL
:bfp: ~~ Big Fat Positive
:bfn: ~~ Big Fat Negative
mylittleangel
16-10-2006, 21:05
ohhh I get it now - little pink lines :P
I remember them! I still remember how I felt too :smiliedance:
Mara
17-10-2006, 05:55
HAPPY 6 MONTHS EMMA
OOOOH Happy Half a year Em!! happybirthday happybirthday :hugs: :hugs:
17-10-2006, 06:57
Mara xxx
Its a combination of both for me. When the main thread closed (or original) I must admit I lost a bit of interested. Sounds weird, cause it still the same, but I think a few people havent come over, so the thread doesnt have anyone posting and I tend to forget to check it.
I wonder if we aren't becoming a lot more confident with being mums. Remember when you were pregnant when everything was new and exciting and a bit scary and then when bubs came along and we were all eshausted and having troubles with feeding and sleeping? Perhaps we are all too good at our 'jobs' that we might not feel the need to get on bubhub so much.....?
Siobhan, you are spot on. I do feel so much more confident now. So I guess I tend to not post any where near as much on BH. I still lurk alot, but just dont post. :)
HAPPY 6 MONTHS EMMA
Yay for Emma! :) How exciting. Oliver is 6 months tomorrow!
17-10-2006, 07:07
Okay, my update.
Oliver is 6 months old tomorrow! :) I just cant belive the time has gone so fast. Im both happy and sad, I guess you could say its a bittersweet moment. He's so much FUN, doing so many things and interacting so well, but its sad because my little baby is so grown up and I feel like Ive blinked and missed it all.
Oliver has been rolling both ways for months now, and standing too. He's started stepping when you hold him with his feet on the ground, trying to walk. He's constantly patting my face and talks to me. I tell him NO and he looks at me, smiles and continues to do what he wants! TYPICAL MALE! He also understands "ta mum" and lets go of my hair, or whatever it is he has grabbed a handful of.
Who else is getting baby kisses? HEHE, just in the past few days he has started turning his head and kissing my cheek. its so slobbery, but I just love it.
We have his 6 month CHN check today....so I'll post later and let you know how that goes. :)
Where has the time gone? :'(
porridge
17-10-2006, 07:16
He's constantly patting my face and talks to me. I tell him NO and he looks at me, smiles and continues to do what he wants! TYPICAL MALE! He also understands "ta mum" and lets go of my hair, or whatever it is he has grabbed a handful of.
Who else is getting baby kisses? HEHE, just in the past few days he has started turning his head and kissing my cheek. its so slobbery, but I just love it.
Griff loves patting faces, it's so cute! He does need to be reminded to be gentle though...
I've been getting 'kisses for mum' for a while, but DH is getting 'kisses for dad' now too which is very cute and he loves it!! It used to be just gums, but now there's teeth... could get a bit interesting!
I brought out a puzzle for Griff last night and he loves it (can't do it, but it keeps him amused)
What do you guys do to entertain your little ones?
17-10-2006, 07:34
What do I do to entertain Oliver?
Good question. LOL He's getting soooo annoyed now when he gets bored!
We got walking, driving, singing, reading, talking, bouncing, TV, floor time, toy time....ect. Somedays he keeps me running constantly all day! LOL
~mia&ryan~
17-10-2006, 08:44
Aaaaaarghhh!!!!!
I did a HUGE post last night, and it seems to have disappeared! Grrrrrrrrrr:banghead: Who knows what I did, it was late!
Thanks for the welcome guys!!!!!! I appreciate it. Well DD well and truly has crwling down pat she is soooo fast now and gets into absolutely everything! We had to childproof the house quick smart!! LOL I am off to buy a play pen this week, so that I can get some things done around the place
Congrats to all the babies who have hit the big 6months!!!happybirthday LOL
Mia is doing really well, having 3 solids meals a day. Loooves her food. Has pear and banana farex for brekky, farex and yoghurt/apple for lunch and tin/jar for dinner, sometimes dessert also if she is still hungry. Plus she has 3-4 bottles a day.
She is a happy little bub and sleeps well. Has 3 naps a day for approx 2hrs each and sleeps from 7.30 to 7 at night. She is a good little monkey.
Not looking forward to taking her for her needles am dreading it already (I am such a wuss!!) her daddy is coming with us so I can leave the room when she is actually getting her needles:o
Mia takes soo much to keep her occupied now, I have to make sure I have things for her to do all day. So I save her musical toys/toys that light up until after lunch cos by then she is sick of her normal toys. I take her for a walk in the arvo cos she loves looking at everything. I try to take her into different rooms to play so she can look at different things. She loves things that roll and that she can push or pull. And she loves things that she can bang! She loves singing, and reading books! She keeps me very busy indeed:laughing:
Well I had better go, some housework to do, hopefully this post works or I am going to have to do it all over again! HAHAHA!!
Take care all, em x
FunkyMonkey
17-10-2006, 11:35
What a day already! We had our first swimming lesson this morning, bgot there a bit early so TJ could have a feed before we went in but with so many other people and babies around that sure wasn't going to happen so he ended up going nearly 5hrs between feeds. As opposed to yesterday feeding less than every 2hrs.:eek:
Looks like I might be starting back at work on Sunday, sorta looking forward to it, but really not.
hope you all have a great day.
The boy is screaming so I'm off.
Jaime
mylittleangel
17-10-2006, 13:24
Mischief - That seems like alot! lol, I don't do all that.
I keep her entertained with playing on the floor, walking - she plays with her toys and on the activity mat, or her rocker. That's about it really. I forget to read to her.. but I do sing to her! and we listen to songs together and I dance around with her :laughing:
I love singing, I don't think I am a great singer, but I'm not a bad one. At least I try! haha. Hubby wants to get me that singstar on PS2. We only just got a PS2, and I have that buzz game. It's so much fun. I think the PS2 will be good for annabella (as far as video games go) because you can get interactive ones.
I want to get one of those book bears for Annabella - I don't remember the name, but he reads the book. I know there is a carebear one too. (I have been collecting carebear stuff).
My sister-in-law is trying to find a cabbage-patch doll with annabella's birthdate. I think that's sweet! I always said Annabella has to have a cabbage-patch doll and a strawberry short-cake doll :laughing:
And I liek the 3 princess' stuff too (Ariel, Bell and Cinderella)
Ok, I will shut up now!
Mara xxx
~mia&ryan~
17-10-2006, 20:40
I want to get one of those book bears for Annabella - I don't remember the name, but he reads the book. I know there is a carebear one too. (I have been collecting carebear stuff).
There is one called T.J. Bearytales! (full name Theodore James he he) I have seen the ad sooo many times!:laughing: :D
mylittleangel
17-10-2006, 21:02
hehe thanks for that!
Nice pic btw - sooo cute!
Mara xxx
18-10-2006, 19:24
im one tired mama here emma decided that she was going to wake up at 4 o clock this morning :sleeping: she better not make a habit of that
FunkyMonkey
18-10-2006, 21:47
My lil man has turned into a real wiggle bum. Put him down in one spot and 5mins later hes WAY over the other side of the room. He's trying so hard to crawl does the biggest push-ups, and pulls himself along on his elbows. Poor munchkin smaked his head 3 times today, first he was on the footstool in front of me leaned forward suddenly and bumped his forehead on the coffee table glass. Sounded like he cracked the glass but didn't, no egg or mark on him, poor lil mite screamed for ages though. rolling on the floor rolled into coffee table (I think the table has got to go soon, too damn dangerous) bumped back of head on leg. more screaming (thank god for boobie) Was holding him while Daddy was giving him dinner, didn't realise how close his nogin was in proximity to the kitchen bench, slammed head into bench. LOTS of screaming, sobbing and clinging to me. Bath worked a treat. Lots of nappy free time after his bath, he loves it soo much, then boobie for over an hour (i had the guilts really bad so just let him suck himself into a stupor.) I'm going to give him a dreamfeed as he usualy has about a half a jar of solids at night but didn't end up having any tonight. Well I'm off to feed the lil man and then to bed,
Take care everyone
Jaime
aprilbaby
19-10-2006, 19:50
I second that we're all getting so good at this Mummy thing that we don't need to come on here as much now. That and the fact that our bubs are so busy now we don't have the time or luxury to get on the computer. At least that's my reason!
DS had his first swimming lesson today! He LOVED it. He loves swimming in the bath so I thought he'd like it but he did so well. It was a really fun thing to do together, I recommend it. You sing songs and stuff, very cheesy!
He's eating is going great, he's having two meals a day, apple, pears, banana, rice cereal, yogurt, potato and pumpkin and loving it all. The only thing he hasn't liked is avocado, he couldn't get it out his mouth fast enough!
His sleeping is still terrible, in fact it's probably the worst it's ever been. He's waking every 2 hours in the night atm. I was hoping the solids would help but it hasn't.It's definitely not a hunger thing, it's a comfort thing. he just wants cuddles, which is lovley but also :banghead: :sleeping:
As I don't want to do controled crying I'm just dealing with it for now but it's very tiring. It's lucky he's easy in the day so that's a good thing. It really is amazing how you adjust when you have too. It's been going on so long I'm kind of used to feeling like s*** now so I don't know any different! I honetsly can't remember what it was like to go to sleep and wake up in the morning. At this stage I'd be happy with four hours in a row. Sad how low my expectations have become!
Apart from that he's fantastic, this is such a great age and I'm loving watching him grow and learn. He's also grabbing my face and giving me big sloppy kisses, I love them!!
Anyway, I'm going to have a rest and watch some tv while i have the chance.
Take care everyone xx
FunkyMonkey
20-10-2006, 11:46
TJ is currently having his first over 1hr sleep since he was 6wks old. And he slept though last night. Odd. Gunna wake him in 15 mins as my poor boobie is gunna explode.
21-10-2006, 08:12
Tarquins' Mum - isn't it nice when they sleep longer then expected :yelclap:
Emma had a sleepover at her nanas place last night... was great to get 7-8 hours of straight sleep
mylittleangel
23-10-2006, 01:54
My little Anna-bear isn't sleeping through the night anymore. I guess she is just hungry. :(
She is crawling now! :cool:
Mara xxx
porridge
23-10-2006, 08:10
Mara that's SO exciting!! YAY Annabella!!
Griff is a bit sickie at the moment, snotty mostly. He's getting some more teeth! And we visited some friends last week who have chicken pox... so...
no crawling yet, but lots of pushups and trying to move forwards :D
hummingbird
23-10-2006, 08:15
April baby, sienna has also been waking the last couple of nights and just wanting cuddles. She’s waking nearly every two hours. She was doing really well, down at 7, up for a feed at 5 (after only waking once at night), down again then up at 7 for breakfast (apples and peach), up till 10am, down for a two hour sleep (which she has NEVER done before – usually 45mins), up at 12 to 3, down for a 45min nap then up again for play, dinner (apple again – hates avocado and carrot, indifferent about sweet potato), bath then boobie then sleep at 7pm.
I gave her some cut up kiwi fruit to suck on and it was going really well until she nearly choked on a bit that came off – and here I was thinking I was being really careful. So won’t be doing that for a while.
Anyway I stewed some kiwi fruit and tried it with apple this morning and she wasn’t going for it….so I tried some zucchini instead and she loved it – yay, she’s eating a vegetable!
Had Sienna’s Christening last Sunday in Newcastle and it went really well. Had a lunch afterwards at DH’s parent’s place. They were panicking a bit (not used to entertaining on a large scale) but it was a great day. Sienna slept through the whole night she was so exhausted from all the attention.
The following day she started blowing raspberries for the first time. Now it’s all she does, along with high pitched oohhhing and aahhhing. Certainly no crawling going on here. She doesn’t like to spend too much tome on her tummy, but loves sitting, standing (while I hold on) and leaning on the coffee table to play aswell as ‘walking’.
It’s playtime on the carpet sitting and once she gets sick of that it’s in the jolly jumper, then it checking out the cars on the street, walking around the house looking and touching things, eating, reading, singing and clapping hands (me, not her!). I try to get out of the house with (or without!) her at least once a day. She loves being outside and it’s so much easier keeping her occupied when you are pushing her in a pram, or talking to friends, or in the car. It makes the day so much quicker.
Hope everyone is well.
S
23-10-2006, 11:03
Well, after sleeping through for a week Ds has started waking up again the last few nights - oh well, it was nice while it lasted! He is also trying to crawl but always goes backwards. He's a bit unsettled today as we had a very hectic weekend and I'm feeling sick we are having a very low-key day.
The best thing that happened was this morning - his dad was trying to put him down for his sleep before going to work to give me a break since I'm not well, but DS was crying and wouldn't settle. I went in a DH picked him up to comfort him, then DS saw me, turned and leaned towards me from his dads arms with his little arms outstretched!It's the first time he's done this - I know in future I wont consider it such a good thing I guess when he only wangts me but I need a rest, but for now it was such a good feeling and so cute - luckily DH wasn't jealous, just said of course he'd be more attached to you, you're his mum and you're with him all the time.
Hope everyone is doing well..please keep posting! I don't want this thread to die..
BubbaNoogie
23-10-2006, 13:16
Hi everyone, hope you are having a good day.
Amaris had her first solids today (she is 29 weeks this week so I think it is time!!) She had rice cereal and wasnt impressed with it one little bit! The faces she was pulling were hilarious, I think in the end she wore the majority of it:laughing: . Better luck tomorrow.
She is sitting up for longer periods now and has worked out how to rebalance herself, but no sign of crawling, she either is up on her knees with her face planted on the ground or pushing up with her hands and her bum down, wonder how long it will take for her to co-ordinate the two.
She has worked out her walker now and is flying around the house following everyone and getting into draws and cupboards. Am now having to child proof everything. Its cute though, she looks so proud and happy doing it!
Reading everyone posts it is obvious how much our bubs are growing up and it is interesting to see what they are all doing, I hope this thread doesnt die off.
Anyway I had better go and do some housework while Amaris sleeps.
Have a good day.
Brooke
No crawling for us but lots of rolling, wiggling and I'm not sure how to describe it but he sort of does a push up and ends up going backwards, not usually a happy ending as DS gets further away from whatever it is he is trying to reach. He is quite fond of my vertical blinds too. I can tell when he is trying to get to them as he makes a little squealy noise when he gets close which gives me just enough time to rescue my poor blinds.
As for solids, I am still trying to sort out what DS likes. He is a lot fussier than I thought I would be. So far he has about 2 tbsp of plain rice cereal with EBM for brekkie (only likes plain cereal with nothing added), he has a piece of something (apple or pear or zucchini) in his mesh bag about lunchtime and then 1-2 tbsp mashed vegies for tea (potato, sweet potato, pumpkin). He hates avacado and only eats banana sometimes. I will try him on some new vegies next week and see how we go.
Hope everyone had a good weekend!
joe
angcaltam
23-10-2006, 14:03
Well I had my friends Hen's night on Saturday night and Shandi was our Taxi as she couldn't drink due to B/Fing. We dressed the Hen up really sexy NOT ! ! ! HEHEHE But we all had a great night, now I'm starting to get nervous about next weekend. I'm Maid of Honour. :eek: It was ok when I done it for Shandi cause I knew almost everyone there but I hardly know anyone that's coming to this wedding. We have had our hair trial and this week we are having a make-up trial and a walk through.
Then on Sunday DS1 is turning 6 years old ! ! !:crying: We are having his party on his birthday.
As for DD, she slept 13 hours last night ! ! !:smiliedance: She went down at 9 last night and got up at 10 this morning. I was so happy with her. Now if only she would go that long every night. She is sitting for a little longer now and when you put her on her belly she rolls straight over. Today I was looking after one of my friends 5 1/2 month old little boy, and his book was making more noise than hers so she rolled over onto him took the book and rolled back. It was so funny, but I took the book off her and told her no and gave it back to the little man. She is still loving her Jolly Jumper, she swings herself in it now, it's so funny to watch.
As for me, I can't wait till my AF is due, my feet and ankles have been swelling, my boobs are growing, the veins in my boobs are popping out, I had some spotting yesterday and my period only finished last Tuesday I think. I don't know what is going on. If anyone can think of anything that can be causing this please let me know.
Anyway, better go now, have a priest coming round today at 4:30 about getting the kids baptised, none of them are done. So :fingerscrossed: he will do them for us.
Hope everyone's week has had a good start, and please try and keep posting.
hummingbird
24-10-2006, 08:27
In an attempt to keep this thread alive I am back!
Sienna is being super sooky. I think it has to be her top teeth moving about. My sister thinks these are worse than the bottom teeth.
Sienna is wanting to feed more often and she's happy for less time after them. I have noticed this last week she has begun the outstretched arms to me, which does make you feel very loved, but
I have a feeling this is only the start of a very clingy period.
I am going to go for a long walk this morning, so less procrastination and more getting on with it.
Adios amigos.
S
24-10-2006, 08:27
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG
GUESS WHOS GOT A TOOTH :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
FunkyMonkey
24-10-2006, 13:20
HOORAY EMMA!!!!!
I think we'll be waiting a while yet for teeth as I was over 12mths and DF was about 10mths when we got our first teeth. Tarquin is now eating just about everything aI put in front of him. His favorite is mashed peas with rice cereal, but he also loves pumpkin, corn, sweet potato, banana custard, apple.......... the list goes on and on. He really hates the heinz Pumpkin, potato and beef, and also the one with lamb. But anything else he goes crazy for.
He's started being quite clingy also, Nanna didn't stand a chance last night. He was sooking before I even left the room. :laughing:
DF tried to get him to sleep for me but by the time he was out it was time for him to have a feed, but I just put him to bed just to see if he would stay asleep, but alas no, he was awake at 2am and was starving. So he still really wants 6 plus feeds and all his solids. :eek: I'm really starting to worry about how DF will go on his own on Sunday. I don't think he has a clue what he is i for. :rolleyes:
TJ's getting his 6mnth needles tomorrow so :fingerscrossed: he's OK.
Anyway better go,
Have a great day girls.
24-10-2006, 13:26
TM - I was hoping id be one of those lucky mums that have children that don't feel teeth comming through but I was wrong and upon looking at her gums again I think she is getting another tooth aswell!!! Poor kid has been so sad and clingy today, she's been driving me nuts
FunkyMonkey
24-10-2006, 13:33
Big hugs for the both of you, hope this one doen't give you too much grief. :hugs: :hugs:
24-10-2006, 13:44
Big hugs for the both of you, hope this one doen't give you too much grief. :hugs: :hugs:
thanks hun :hugs:
24-10-2006, 14:53
Good luck with the needles - Jai had his today and was really good, fell asleep on the way home, transferred to the cot without waking (he has NEVER done this) and slept two hours, plus he's sleeping well now. I think the shots must have made him drowsy, although after his sleep he was quite alert.
Wow, 13 hrs sleep...I'd be twiddling my thumbs not knowing what to do with myself if DS slept till 10am because it's never happened and I'd keep expecting him to wake up any minute. Well done Amaris!!
Teeth! Well done Emma - what were the signs before it? I've been so sure Jai's about to get teeth for weeks now but still nothing.
Has anyone done the 6mnth check with the MCHN? What do they do? Is it just measurements or is there another PND questionaire?
~mia&ryan~
24-10-2006, 19:56
Great to hear how all the bubbies are going. Firstly yay to Emma, I have thought that Mia has been teething forever :banghead: but alas no teeth yet!
Mmmm needles, Mia is having hers on friday so :fingerscrossed: they go okay. Just a q and the questionaire for PND I have never had to do one, are you supposed to?
Mia has been sleeping well going down at 7 and up at 7. She doesnt feed through the night. Sometimes she might stir a couple of times, but she usually gets herself back off to sleep. She then has 3 naps a day. She sleeps alot lol, but I think its cos she wears herself out crawling.
Just a q, how much are the other bubs having re solids? Mia has cereal mixed with apple and pear for brekky about 2 - 3 tablespoons. She has a rusk for morning tea (not really food but she does eat most of it lol). She has a tub of yoghurt (100g tub) for lunch again sometimes with apple. She really likes apple and pear lol. She then has a tin (120g) for dinner and tonight she followed that with a 3/4 tin of custard (120g). She also has 3- 4 bottles a day. Some people have been commenting on how much she eats. :(
Also does anyone know when to put the cot down to the lower level, she has started pulling herself up using the side of the cot, so I think it may soon be time.
Well best be off, my dog is trying to get my attention!:laughing:
Bye all, take care. Em x
BubbaNoogie
24-10-2006, 20:06
Wow, 13 hrs sleep...I'd be twiddling my thumbs not knowing what to do with myself if DS slept till 10am because it's never happened and I'd keep expecting him to wake up any minute. Well done Amaris!!
Alas it wasnt Amaris, but Tamara that slept 13hours. :) I wish it was Amaris, but she never sleeps longer than 4 hours.
FunkyMonkey
24-10-2006, 21:45
I've never had to do the PND questions either...... Will ask my GP tomorrow (if i remember)
mylittleangel
25-10-2006, 01:15
Sleeeeep, Sleeeeep, where for art though? Sleeeeep!
porridge
25-10-2006, 07:13
Griff is really really sooky atm - it's getting very tiring!! He's got two more teeth coming through though, so I guess that can be his excuse!
re food: he has 4 bottles a day, 3 ice cubes of apple and some yogurt for bfast, 3 cubes of vegies for lunch... couple of teaspoons of meat n' vegies from a can + extra cube of vegies for tea... doesn't always get that much though and it doesn't seem to bother him either way. Does everyone give their bubs dessert?
well, time for a tired bub to go to bed....
toodles
25-10-2006, 07:23
emmas having 3 full solid meals a day plus dessert at night
hummingbird
25-10-2006, 07:37
I've never had PND questions either. 6 month checkup is just weight and measure and asking you if you have started food. I got in trouble for telling the nurse that Sienna still had a feed in the night and that I had to spend more time on tummy for her to rollover more otherwise I would be taking Sienna to a physical therapist later on when she wasn't able to crawl properly. They really know how to make you feel good sometimes. I don't think they had physical therapists hundreds of years ago and the last time I checked the human race where all normally mobile.
Sienna seems to have gone right off her food, even the things she's shown an interest in before. She slept much better last night so I am hoping that this latest stage of sookiness and clinginess is coming to an end.
When she was eating it was apple or apple and peach with some rice cereal for breakfast and even dinner. I was always trying different vegetables, but she'd only take one or two mouthfuls and not want anymore. I can't recommend those tommee tippee mesh bags though. Yesterday Sienna wan't interested in eating from a spoon so I gave her a cube of frozen kiwi fruit and another of apple for lunch and she ate it all. The for dinner she has another kiwi. Makes me feel better that she's eating something at least. I think the coolness must relieve her gums too.
Anyway Mia I wouldn't worry about what other people say about your bubba being a big eater. At least she's eating! You just have to read this thread to know that every baby is just so incredibly different so don't worry about what other peple say. You are her mummy and know what the go is better than anyone else.
angcaltam
25-10-2006, 12:14
Miamama, DD eats a 120g tin of either pear or apple in the morning then has a 110g jar of Gel for lunch then a 110g jar of apple cereal for tea. She will also sometimes have a biscuit or rusk for arvo tea. Plus she is having 3 bottles of about 240 a day. Just remember that all babies are different.
As for lowering the cot base, we lowered Tamara's a while ago now. I think you are meant to when they are either sitting or starting to pull themselves up.
I've been up pretty much from 2 this morning. :sleeping: The kids decided to take it in turns on me. Tamara started it off with a few screaming fits, then Caleb got woken by the thunder which he really doesn't like loud noises, then Angus decided to join in but I had to wake DH up and he just took Angus back to bed and he slept in there with him, so I was left dealing with the other two.:devil6:
I forgot to mention that on Friday night we went to a friends birthday BBQ and Mark broke our pram that Shandi and Steve gave us when we were pregnant with Tamara. He pushed down on the handle (not hard at all) to get it from the grass onto the concrete and the handle snapped off. I'm so p!ssed right now, so now we have to see if it is going to be worth getting it fixed or if we should just buy a lay back stroller. Don't have much money to spend at the moment so he could have timed it a little better.:banghead: :mad:
Shandi is picking Angus up from school today and taking him down to the bakery where she works (well they still think she does) to pick out a cake for his birthday party on Sunday (Party for his school friends). Then we are having a joint party for the boys for family and friends the following weekend at our house.
Oh, and we are getting our kids Baptised on the 31st December. We wanted to get them done while DH's brother and sister are down (they live in Darwin), so this was the only day we could do it. So we will have to start planning that now to.
Anyway, best go have some lunch before Shandi turns up. Keep up the posts girls ! ! !
mylittleangel
25-10-2006, 17:47
Gee Katerine, it's just non stop for you hey! Planning this and going there. I feel for you, I really do! Although I would like to get out a little more, sometimes I don't get out of the house for days, except for the clothes line!
I hope everyone is doing well.
As for eating, Annabella has 4 - 5 190ml bottles, and lunch and dinner (about 4 icecubes of vegies for lunch, and 5 icecubes of vegies for dinner). I want to start brekky too. Today I tried peach and pear custard, but i think it was a bit tii thick.
Must go, bub is sick
Mara xxx
25-10-2006, 18:57
katherine - i hope you get more sleep tonight
FunkyMonkey
25-10-2006, 22:00
TJ turned into an eating machine today. boobie for breakie(6am), boobie for morning tea(9am), boobie before lunch and then he had a half tin of chocolate custard(nnon). My sister came over so we went to the shops, while we were having a cuppa he was getting very cranky and wanting to have cake too, gave him boobie but still wasn't happy so i went to woolies and got him a jar of custard for his afternoon tea(3pm). One of the big ones. He ate 3/4 of it. And would probably have eaten more, but as he has never eaten that much before I thought I'd better stop at that and gave him boob and he merrily sucked away for another 10 mins. Dinner he had a whole jar 120g of Pumpkin, Potato and Beef, and boobie before and after(6:30pm). Then boobie for supper about 9pm.
Either he's having a huge growth spurt or he has just realised how much he likes proper food. I never thought such a small body could hold so much food!
My breasts aren't as empty as normal so it seems like he's started to self wean a little bit, but we'll see how he goes over the next few days.
Have a great night everyone,
Jaime
Hi everyone! Looks like people are posting more which is good.
Well, we're well and truly off and running. I can't keep up with this little munchkin! Its so cute, when she's after something she's not aloud to have and I call out to her, she crawls faster! cheeky little bugger! :laughing:
Alexi is sitting herself up now. We've had quite a few bumps to the head. can't wait till we get into our house, maybe the carpet will soften the blow.
I went into get her from bed the other night, and she was standing up in her cot! :eek: I nearly fell over with shock. So now we have to put the mattress down a level. I was hoping she would wait till we moved, that way we only had to take it apart once. ahh well.
We are FINALLY saying dadadad and bububub. Daddy sat and said dadadad over and over for 30 mins straight. lol, needless to say she was saying it after that.
We're eating 3 solid meals a day too. my gawd this girl loves her food! wer'e eating chicken and beef now!
Miamummy ~ It sounds like you have a good baby there.
We're eating about the same over here.
Tarquins mummy ~ First swimming lesson how exciting! I tried to get Alexi in here, but they're all booked out.
April baby ~ Sorry to hear bubs is waking alot, I hope he settles soon.
mylittleangel ~ Yay Anna! She's using alot more energy now, so that's probably why she's hungry.
hummingbird ~ Glad to hear the christening went well. Don't you love those raspberries?! i think they're absolutly adorable, and so cheeky!!
I had to spend more time on tummy for her to rollover more otherwise I would be taking Sienna to a physical therapist later on when she wasn't able to crawl properly. oh please, :rolleyes: some nurses.
Jaidevsmum ~ looks like waking through the night has become a trend, Alexi's doing it too. Normally she sleeps from 7 to 6/6:30, but the other night she was up at 1! I wasnt impressed lol.
I can't wait for Alexi to reach out to me. She does it a little, but not like you described. she more so leans over to me and hits me LOL
mariusmum ~ Marius sounds soooo cute! I remember the farex thing, its alot of fun.
When i feed, I give her a spoonful to play with. Its all part of the fun! I don't like giving her pumpkin to play with though, orange gets everywhere!! I'm still finding it up her nose! LOL
Joe ~ What's the mesh bag? I've heard of it before, but I'm not 100% on what it is.
angcaltam ~ Yay Tamara! what a good girl, hopefully it continues! happybirthday Angus!!
Mandy ~ YAY Emma!! Its about time that tooth came through LOL
Well, I better go. I'm starting a Young Mums Group and the first meeting is today! I hope people turn up!
Have a great day everyone!!
26-10-2006, 07:34
goodluck today mum21 :D
sshellzp
26-10-2006, 09:10
Hey guys, I havent posted in a while because we don't have the internet at home anymore and both me and Emerald have been sick the last month. Ive had 2 bouts of the flu and gastro :barf: and Emerald had a cold.
Its strange to hear about all the solids all the babies are having as Emerald still won't eat solids. Last time I tried she cried, but oh well every baby is different. She also can't roll yet or anything like that but im not too fussed, im just lucky she is alive and relatively well after her traumatic birth.
My DB has finally got a job so we will be looking to move out of his mothers and into our own place in a few weeks :smiliedance: YAY!
Anyway thats about it.
Love Shell.
angcaltam
26-10-2006, 09:16
Well, last night wasn't as bad as the night before. No screaming fits, but a few wake ups, dummy in and just waited till she went back off to sleep. But she was very restless in her sleep which isn't like her at all.
My boobs are getting bigger and very sore, my lower back is starting to ache a lot, my feet and ankles are still swelling and I'm still getting lots of headaches. I'm really stressing ! ! ! :eek: :detective: AF isn't due till the 7th November.
Off to do some last minute shopping tonight for the Wedding, need to buy a bra that fits,:banghead: some shoes and a few more things.
Ok, best go and try and get some housework done.
Hope you are all having a great day.:fingerscrossed:
mylittleangel
26-10-2006, 10:32
Well Annabela still isn't sleeping well. She wakes every hour - needs to be rolled over or put back down the bottom of the cot or blanket put back on her or dummy back in - last night she even woke up screaming, I had to rock her for half an hour and give her bonjela. :banghead:
angcaltam
26-10-2006, 11:54
Well Annabela still isn't sleeping well. She wakes every hour - needs to be rolled over or put back down the bottom of the cot or blanket put back on her or dummy back in - last night she even woke up screaming, I had to rock her for half an hour and give her bonjela. :banghead:
You poor thing. Hopefully you will start to get some full nights sleeps really soon.:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:
I second that.
:hugs: :hugs:
hummingbird
26-10-2006, 17:29
mylittleangel - Sienna was the same last night too. Woke at 11pm and kept crying after I would rewrap and put the dummy in, like five times. In the end I brought her to my bed and she was still crying in fits and starts till she finally zonked out at 12.30am. Then she woke again at 3.30am so I gave her a feed and then she was up again at 5am - I am soooooo tired I will be going to bed by 7pm I reckon.
At least she ate her breakfast (two cubes of apple) and dinner (two cubes of zucchini with rice cereal) today.
I went to meet my two great aunts and great uncle today with my dad. I am researching my family history so I wanted to meet them and ask them lots of questions. I was worried about how Sienna would be in a nursing home (like if she got stroppy and tired) but she ended up falling asleep in my arms and was such a good bubba the rest of the time. I hope my regular Sienna is back! We will see tonight.:fingerscrossed: I need 6 hours solid sleep and I know I will be a new woman!
mylittleangel
27-10-2006, 09:44
Still not sleeping better. But on the upside she LOVES her new walker, and she is also sitting up by herself now! She sits up from a laying position, I'm pretty proud.
hummingbird - I hope Sienna slept well !
Thanks angcaltam and mum21 :kiss:
Mara xxx
27-10-2006, 10:07
ugh!
I had a rotten night with emma last night
it wasn't her teeth for once the poor thing had wind
mylittleangel
27-10-2006, 10:15
Oh Emsmum, I really hope it gets better for you both soon. I kind of know how you fel with having an upset/unsettled bub, but you seem to have had one since birth. I really hope things look up soon :hugs:
Mara xxx
27-10-2006, 10:17
Oh Emsmum, I really hope it gets better for you both soon. I kind of know how you fel with having an upset/unsettled bub, but you seem to have had one since birth. I really hope things look up soon :hugs:
Mara xxx
acutally ive been quite lucky with emma but its just been the past say 2 months that shes either been waking due to her teeth or something totally different
FunkyMonkey
27-10-2006, 10:23
TJ was a little angel yesterday, he was asleep before H&A was finished! He woke up a little when i moved him from his pram to our bed at about 9, i thought he would wake up fully but nope. Gave him a top up at 10 then noticed he was rather smelly...... Needless to say the sneaky ratbag got a pooey nappy in while I was in the shower. He was still asleep but i surh wasn't putting him to bed like that. Lets just say that I knew little bubs get erections but, um, i thought they didn't last long. He was still asleep & it was still, err, erect, when I finished changing him. Must have been a pretty fantastic dream. LOL.
He even let me have a sleep in of sorts today! After he had his breaky and rice cereal, I was feeling a bit ordinary so I thought I'd put him in his pram and he would be asleep in a few minutes, 30mins later I took him out, told him that mummy felt sick and that we were going back to bed. When I put him down next to me he rolled over and put his head on my arm and gave me the biggest smile, the he closed his eyes and didn't open them again till 9:30! Then he was bashing my arm and poking me in the eye and trying to get his hand in my mouth. Come to think of it, he only ever puts his hand in my mouth when he's hungry, maybe he's invented his own signing to let me know what he wants.
Clever lil man.
Someone in my steet is cooking chocolate cake from the smell of it, so might raid the pantry and see what I can whip up.
angcaltam: hope the bra hunting goes well and AF arrives without incident....
hummingbird and mylittleangel; hope you both get some sleep, I hope TJ keeps up with what he's been doing as I'm back at work on Sunday and I'll need my wits about me.
mum21; hope your play group went well.
shell; It's such a miracle your lovely babe is still with us, her starting solids really isn't much of an issue is it. As long as she's happy and healthy thats all that matters. I can't wait to be out of the in-laws place either, but it may be a while unfortunately. DF just got passed over for a permanent job (he's casual) thus me going back to work.
Well I'm of to do some cooking, then hairdressers at 1:30 (yay for B/F thats a hairdresser!!)
Have great day girls!!
Jaime & Tarquin!!
Someone in my steet is cooking chocolate cake from the smell of it, so might raid the pantry and see what I can whip up.
Or just steal theirs!! :laughing:
angcaltam
27-10-2006, 12:10
It is so good to see all the posts happening again.:yelclap:
MANDY - I really hope that things start looking up for you really soon.
MARA - Hopefully we will all start having some full night sleeps again really soon.
JAIME - I couldn't find a bra.:banghead: And here's hoping that AF does show up. I wouldn't mind if I was pregnant again but with the treatment that I had 2 months ago, I was told not to fall pregnant or B/F for 6 months.
Well, Sunday is DS1's 6th Birthday, then Tuesday is my 29th Birthday, then on the 8th November it is DS2's 4th Birthday. Lots of Birthdays so lots of partying.:smiliedance: Plus, tomorrow is my friends wedding which I'm maid of honour for. We are going to sleep at DH's parents house so we don't have to wake the kids to bring them home, (we decided not to take them to the wedding with me being in the bridal party and Mark driving the bridal car, it would have been to hard), so Angus gets to wake up with all of us plus Grandma and Poppy on his birthday so that will be special. :yes:
Anyway, better go, lots to do and little time to do it in.
FunkyMonkey
27-10-2006, 18:48
I found a really cute video while browsing with DF, going to put it in the main forum too but thought I'd share here first.
http://ebaumsworld.com/2006/07/nipplebaby.html
27-10-2006, 18:56
I found a really cute video while browsing with DF, going to put it in the main forum too but thought I'd share here first.
http://ebaumsworld.com/2006/07/nipplebaby.html
it won't load for me :gloomy:
mylittleangel
27-10-2006, 20:08
Heya. It's cute. But as a non-breastfeeder, I do find it a little strange. Although you can do yoga and BF at the same time!
Mara xxx
27-10-2006, 20:11
well im off to bed girls
heres hoping for a better night then last night!!!!!!!!!
~mia&ryan~
28-10-2006, 13:25
Whew thats a whole lotta posts to read!
Where do I start.... Its great to hear that some other bubs are eating as much as Mia, she has upped her intake again so I guess all that crawling is burning lots and lots of energy!! We usually give her apple for dessert cosshe loves her food but her daddy insisted on getting some custard for her and she loved it, wasnt to happy when we went back to apple. Hehe.
We have now put her cot down to the lower level cos she is getting far to get at pulling herself onto her feet:eek: It didn't effect her sleep which was good. We had her needles yesterday and she only had a little cry then was fine. Didn't bother her much at all which was good, didn't need to give her panadol or anything.
Hope all the bubs have been getting better with their sleeping, there is not enough coffee in the world to make up for all the missed sleep that mummies go through is there???.. LOL
Porridge - Hope Griffs teeth come through without to much drama (and stress for you)
Hummingbird - Pfft sometimes the CHN's are so full of it arent they. I'm glad Sienna went so well at the nursing home we took Mia to one to visit her daddy's Grandma who is 98 and as soon as Mia saw the old people she screamed. If we turned her away she was fine but as soon as she saw them the screams started again... Not sure what that was all about?? Hope she has been sleeping better for you too.
Angcaltam - boy oh boy you are a busy one arent you. How do you fit it all in? And birthdays and a wedding too!!! Hope you had an easy time getting the last minute things you needed for the wedding. Oh and I hope your AF comes without any dramas for you:fingerscrossed: Let us know how her wedding went. Loove hearing about weddings. Wish Angus a big happybirthday !!
Mylittleangel - hope Annabella is all better poor possum. Hope she is sleeping better too. Yey what a clever girl pulling herself into sitting position, congrats to her and to her proud mummy. Glad she likes her walker we are getting Mia one soon, just trying to agree on one DF and I both like (her wants one that looks like a police car!!)
Tarquin's Mum - your little man must be going through a growth spurt, either that or the food is just toooo gooood! LOL you cracked me up with the story of his ummm, 'happy', nappy change lol Glad he slept well for you.
Mum21 - Glad to hear Alexi's crawling is going so well. So cute how she goes faster when you call out to her and she goes faster, Mia does the same thing. We have had a few bumps here too, she loves sitting on her feet and playing but sometimes forgets she is holding herself there and just topples straight over. Poor monkey. BTW hope youe young mums group went well and that there was a good turn out.
Sshellzp - hope you and Emerald are feeling better. Dont worry about her not rolling etc. or her food intake like you said she is one lucky little bub. Plus it makes things easier for you. No chasing her around trying to stop her from rolling while you try to change a pooey nappy, and not having to soakpumpkin stained clothes and bibs.
Emsmum - Hope Emma slept better for you last night
My goodness that took a while LOL hope I didn't miss anything. Take care all and have a great weekend!
Em
28-10-2006, 13:26
Hey girls!
I hope everyone is doing well
Emmas now got a walker she loves it!!!
porridge
28-10-2006, 14:20
Not many changes on the crawling front for Griff... he gets points for trying though.
Well, DH and I are going out to a cocktail party tonight - YAY!! I'm not one for dressing up, but it'll be nice to put some pretty clothes on, a bit of makeup and head out for the evening.
I think I got burnt today... we went down to the rugby field and kicked a ball around for a bit... Griff played on the grass.
*sigh* better go and comfort my little man... he's very upset and is resisting sleep!
Hope everyone has a great weekend and bubs are happy!!
28-10-2006, 15:34
Hi everyone, I hope you've all been getting enough sleep. Jai has been pretty whingey the last few days and its getting a bit tiring. It's funny because just when you think you can't take it anymore and are at the end of your tether they do something really cute and you know you cant help but love them.
We just found out last night that DH's cousin from India is coming to live with us while she studies here. Her course starts jan 15th and they haven't decided whether she should wait till then to fly out or come now and try to work a bit. I am being amazingly calm about it because there is nothing I can do about it. It's a cultural expectation and I knew this was part of DH's culture when we were married. It's just that my home is my refuge away from the world where I can totally relax and now I'm losing that.....anyway...sometimes I get a bit stressed out and have trouble coping and I don't really need an audience to that - especially not one who can report back to the whole extended family in India - I don't even let on to my own family how I can get sometimes.
mylittleangel
28-10-2006, 18:50
miamama - The police car walker doesn't suit a girl. But The space ship one does :P
Mara xxx
29-10-2006, 07:43
ugh! sick baby
poor things been chucking since 4am
if she doesn't keep her lunch down ill be taking her to the docs :gloomy:
i gave her a new dinner last night maybe thats what upset her tummy
29-10-2006, 08:33
What did you give her Mandy?
Wow! I forgot how much the April Mum's love to chat!! I have been away for the last few days and have just spent way too long catching up. It was our first trip away since DS was born - gone are the days when you just throw some clothes in a bag and off you go.
DS had his first trip to the beach while we were away but cried when I put his feet into the water. He loved playing in the sand and I think his favourite part was getting rinsed off afterwards under the tap. We did get some cute photos though.
DS is having his 6 month check tomorrow - I haven't had him weighed for a while so will be interested to find out just how heavy he is.
Still no teeth for us, no crawling either but it won't be long. He can get up on all fours but just hasn't figured out how to take off yet (which is fine by me :o ).
Well hope everyone had a good weekend.
31-10-2006, 11:44
sorry girls i haven't posted lately
emmas had gastro
and now I have it aswell
:gloomy: :barf: :no:
ohhh Mandy I'm so sorry :hugs: :hugs: i hope you're both better soon :hugs: :hugs:
HI everyone........yep I am still around. Just been super busy lately. We had Blake's 6 month check up today and he is 7.1kg. 63 cm(but I dont like the way that nurse measures as we think he is longer than that. and HC 43.
We started solids last week and he is just loving them.
Well better run,my boy just woke up.
angcaltam
31-10-2006, 12:17
Well the Wedding went great. A few scares in the car due to scary driver but all worked out well ! ! !
Angus had a great Birthday, he thought it was fabulous to wake up with all of us plus Grandma and Poppy. His party was great. Today is my birthday not that I would know any different. Then we are having a joint party for the boys this Saturday for Family and Friends. Then it's Caleb's Birthday on the 8th. So we are still very busy.
Don't have anytime to post more, Tamara has decided that today would be a great day to play up for Mummy, she has an infected little toe from what the Dr thinks is a white tail bite,:eek: so she is back on antibiotics and we have special cream to put on it. The Dr also thinks she could be getting Asthma.:mad: :banghead:
So we are still having a **** time here ! ! !:gloomy:
Hope everyone is having a great day.
Happy Birthday Katherine!! and Get well soon Mandy!!
DS had his check up yesterday and is 10.7kgs and 71cm long :eek: I'm not sure how much longer I am going to be able to keep lugging him around. I keep hearing that he will slow down once he is crawling around so fingers crossed - not that I am in a hurry for him to crawl. He is hard enough to keep track of when he is rolling.
Well better go! :)
Joe
31-10-2006, 19:55
Oliver is just growing up so fast, I dont feel like I have much time to be online anymore. He is just changing so much every day that I feel like I miss things if I even blink.
He just LOVES his solids now, esp Pear and Prune. LOL You just cant fill his mouth as fast as he swallows it! He also throws temper tantrums when he cant reach something he wants.
I got him a walker last week and he walks around the kitchen in it. HEHE. Its good cause it doesnt go well on the carpet, so he isnt overly mobile! :D
Anyway, thats all from me for now! *bye!*
01-11-2006, 11:54
hi girls
:gloomy: still sick here!!! and it sucks
AWW Mandy, sorry to hear that.
We're sick over this way too :(
01-11-2006, 13:55
AWW Mandy, sorry to hear that.
We're sick over this way too :(
Oh really whats up?
Oh Alexi's had the sniffles for a while and now she's got a cough :thumbsdown: and I think a sore throat too. She woke up at 2:30 this morning with a very hoarse cry :crying:
Now i think I have a flu.
Nothing like what you had Mandy. :no: We're doing pretty well compared to what you've gone through I'm sure :)
angcaltam
01-11-2006, 13:59
I hope everyone starts feeling better soon.:fingerscrossed: :hugs: I'm not feeling that well either, there is just so much going around at the moment.:banghead: We all just have to be better for this Saturday for the boys combined Birthday Party.
Well, Tamara had a reaction to egg custard yesterday. I tried her on it last week but she just kept gagging so I gave up and Shandi gave it to Blake while I gave her some gel. She came out in a mild rash that day but I just thought it was a heat rash, but yesterday just after 4pm I tried her again and within about an hour she had started getting the rash again but this time it was worse then after we had dinner we were sitting down talking to DH's parents and what do you know, she :barf: all over herself and Grandma. So no more anything with egg until she is over 12 months old. Then we will give it another try.
Then today, I walked Angus out (his best mates Mum picks him up 3 days a week and takes him to school for us) and looked over to our front tap and what do you know, there was water spraying over the lawn cause we had a busted pipe ! ! ! So I had to make sure that I had enough water for bottles and cordial before they came out to fix the problem, the guy didn't even come up and let me know that he was turning my water off, he could hear Caleb playing inside. ! ! !
So then after all that, I was talking to my sister on the phone and she was asking me when Caleb's first appointment is with Early Intervention and I said Friday, but thought I would go and have a look anyway, well, there was an appointment for today at 11:30am and it was 1pm when I was speaking with my sister. So I had to make a phone call to them and all I could do was keep saying "I'm so sorry". But they were good about it after me telling them everything that has happened in the last 24 hours.
Well, that's about it from here. I hope everyone else is having a better day than I am.
01-11-2006, 15:51
Well it seems its a bad time for the april bubs - my DS is sick to - stuffy nose etc. Last night he slept from 11pm till 1am, then was pretty much awake (except for 10 min naps if I fed him) til 4:20, then woke at 5am and 5:40 was up for the day. So....I'm pretty much buggered today and I hope tonight he sleeps well but his nose is even more stuffy so maybe I should just expect no sleep and get pleasantly surprised instead of hope for sleep and get disappointed? Hope everyone elses bubs get better soon and that everyone can get some sleep.
01-11-2006, 15:53
seems like everyones bubs seem to be sick atm, emmas slowly getting better thank god and so am I.... it was my first experiance with a sick child... I hope she doesn't get sick too often... its so heartbreaking
Just wanted to say that i am back. But Ria is sick . She is down with feversince yesterday afternoon and her fever seems not to fall even after regular four hourly medication. Yesterday she :barf: thrice and she had lost all her interest in feeding. We don't know what to do so we hace started her on antibiotics and there is a little bit of improvement in her health.
After reading few posts it seems a lot of babies are sick right now. Just as Mandy said, it is heartbreaking to see your kid sick.
I wish best of health for everyone else's bubba and Ria.:fingerscrossed:
Love.
FunkyMonkey
01-11-2006, 22:25
Priya: Hope Ria is feeling better soon, there really is nothing worse than a sick bub. I hope you enjoyed your trip and that the rellies where not too overbearing.
TJ is still trying very hard to crawl and gets very upset when things don't go his way, He has been uninterested in solids the last few days and is waking up during he night absolutley starving. Hopefully he will be back to his normal hungry old self soon.
Off to bed for me, I had an early night last night but was woken up by said starving child so I'll give him a dreamfeed before I turn in. Maybe that'll help him sleep.
love
Jaime
I hope everyone starts to feel better soon. Rohan is not crawling yet (and not really interested in rolling that much either - but can do it when he really wants to) but he HAS sprouted two teeth! I only discovered the very tips of them yesterday morning - until then i had no clue he was teething! (He's been dribbling and chewing on things for the past month, but not too different to normal, and he certainly hasn't been grumpy or anything!) So i'm guessing we're pretty lucky.
Priya, welcome home! I hope you had a fun time showing Ria off to everyone. We have just got back from a week in Canberra showing Rohan off to all his great Aunts and Uncles + my cousins, as well as his remaining great grandparents. He was such a charmer the whole time. And that is truly amazing in retrospect, given that he clearly had two teeth coming thru!!
Katherine - i hope things improve for you soon. You really have had a rough time of it this year. Hopefully the new year will bring some positive changes. :hugs:
I'm sorry i'm so slack with the posting girls, it just seems that whole weeks go by and i don't get a chance to get on the computer other than for work. The main reason i'm here this morning is because i need to look up some advice for babies who have teeth and bite nipples! Cos that's what Rohan did to me this morning. He's been biting for a while, but while it used to hurt a bit, this morning it felt like he could have taken the whole nipple off - and that's without top teeth!! So i really need to get on top of this before they come thru, or else i will have to wean. Any advice would be appreciated. I'm going to head over to the breastfeeding forums now.
Take it easy girls.
L
FunkyMonkey
02-11-2006, 12:45
EEEK! I sure hope TJ doesn't bite when he gets teeth. But with my family history he won't get teeth for another 6 months. LOL
Still not really interested in solids but he ate about a 1/2 a jar of custard for lunch. Really don't like giving him sweets but if he eats it it better than nothing.
Well I'd better go and hang out the washing, I think I'm already burnt from the last lot. Oh well looks like I'll have a tan for summer, not that anyone will ever see it.
Have a good day girls!
Jaime.
Hi guys, I can do a proper post now
Well, we've had two weeks of our Young Mum's Group now, it's going well. The girl's that have joined so far are really nice.
Alexi's still a bit sick, poor little bugger, she's just miserable.
Mel ~ How long is his cousin staying for? I know how you feel about losing your refuge, I need my privacy too. I hope it doesn't feel too much like having a spy for the inlaws living with you, that's the last thing you need!!!
Mandy ~ I hope you and Emma are feeling better :hugs:
Katherine ~ Glad to hear that the wedding and Angus' birthday went well! That must have been scary to find a white tail bite on Tamara! I thought they paralyse (sp?) you within a matter of minutes :confused: . Also sorry about the athsma, I had it bad as a kid (still abit now, not as bad since I quit smoking), get her swimming as much as you can, or on the trampoline when she's older.
And I hope today is going better than yesterday!!
Joe ~ whoah, what a big bubba you have there! I know what you mean, before Alexi was crawling I would find her under the couch!! LOL sometimes I would panic because she'd just disappear LOL
Kat ~ Oliver sounds so cute! I can imagine him in his walker, they think they're so clever don't they?! haha.
Alexi doesn't have one, but Nan bought her a excersaucer as an early xmas present, she just loves jumping in it! lol
Hi Priya!!! Welcome back, we've missed you! How was your holiday? Did you manage to keep everyone from feeding Ria??
I'm sorry to hear she's sick, like you said, it seems everyone's baby is getting sick :( . I hope she gets better soon.
Lisa C ~ Congrats on the teeth!! We still seem to be nowhere near that yet! lol. oh and ouch!
Well, that's all from me for now.
I hope all our bubs get better soon. Have a great day girls. :hugs:
02-11-2006, 16:13
Emma got her 2nd tooth today :yes:
She's already bitten me once :laughing:
Emmas pretty much over her gastro but poor things still having trouble with her teeth :banghead:
Hi guys it's been a while since I posted but you know how busy life can get sometimes.:eek: Dusty has been a busy little girl , she can now roll over & sits up for a little while on her own, she has also got 2 teeth, they arrived within 2 days of each other & I think more are on the way judging by the moods lately bye for now
Hi guys it's been a while since I posted but you know how busy life can get sometimes.
Uh yea, with 6 kids I think life would get a little bit hectic!!! :laughing: :laughing:
Dusty is just gorgeous! :yes:
02-11-2006, 16:29
Hi guys it's been a while since I posted but you know how busy life can get sometimes.:eek: Dusty has been a busy little girl , she can now roll over & sits up for a little while on her own, she has also got 2 teeth, they arrived within 2 days of each other & I think more are on the way judging by the moods lately bye for now
I feel ya!!! Ems got two teeth within two weeks :laughing:
HI girls,
Thanks for the welcome.
Lisa C- good to hear from you. I don't know how to avoid biting during breast feeding but i know for sure that you will get great advice from the b/f subforum.
Alicia and Jaime- Both my and DH's relatives were very overbearing and always tried to feed her. But i had one thing which stood in favour of me. I told them that i have not weaned Ria. I have tried Ria on farex a couple of times and i think she is not at all ready. She is sick right now. So i will try with something else when she gets fit.
Love.
03-11-2006, 06:07
priya - good to hear from you again
hi everyone:wave:
we have been away 4 a while. looks like so much has been goin on 4 everyone. dd has 2 teeth, is rolling all over the place. and is usually having 2 meals per day. shes not her self at the moment. dont know whether its her teeth, her needles. i got her ears peiced the other week. it looks so cute.
was wondering how long has everyone had their bubs on farex for. dd has farex with fruit puree for breakfast and farex with vegies 4 tea.
bye 4 now
henrygirl
04-11-2006, 21:25
:wave: hello ladies i'm new to this i have a bubba girl burn 24/03/2006 so i'm almost a april mumma. she has got to teeth and 2 top ones coming threw now.:crying: so she is a bit sooky but we're dealing with it . funnily enough though she has sleept in her own cot for the past 4 nights:smiliedance: we have been having a rough time getting her back to sleep at night but know i think she has the hang of it. she is doing swimming lessons 1 day a week and loving it. any way thats my bubba. i am 23 years old live in northside brisbane and i am a full time mum doing part time hair at home as i am a hairdresser. best of both worlds i guess any way thats us .:ecomcity:
Philippa
04-11-2006, 21:57
Never been here before, wish I'd seen this during my pregnancies! I've got two boys: Hudson who is a gorgeous 25mth old and Parker who was born on the 28th April.
I haven't slept through the night since Hudson was born! Sleep debt is a terrible thing and my overdraft is well and truly overextended.
We've only got a small house so the baby crying wakes the toddler up and visaversa.....
Think I'll set up a new post and get it all off my chest.
See ya
Hi guys, welcome to the April group. :wave: :hugs:
I think you'll find that we're a lovely bunch :D
Phillipa, get it all off your chest, you will feel alot better for it. And you may get some good advice.
I look forward to getting to know you both. :yes:
Not posted for ages been a busy Mummy. Read all your posts but haven't had chance to reply. Great you're back Priya and hop all the sicks Mummy and bubbies are getting better.Well Gaia is LOVING solids has eaten everything except banana which I guess is good as they are really expensive! her favourites are carrot and pear so always have then in the freezer in case she doesn't like new stuff.
She started crawling this week very exciting :smiliedance: . She spent a morning exploring the living room so cute. Need to have a big tidy up as she is into everything. Took her to Woolies this week in the sling and she managed to tip over the SIDS charity box and the coins went everywhere. Monkey.
That's all from me. back to bed. Got her chubby legs caught in the cot so woke up. Hope you are all getting lots of sleep.
Bye for now,
Jxxx
05-11-2006, 06:13
welcome to all the new girls :)
Emma is doing well, things are finally back on track :yes:
Yay Mandy! That's fantastic news! Are you better too??? :hugs:
yay Gaia, clever girl! Now you'll find out what you haven't babyproofed yet :yes:
she managed to tip over the SIDS charity box and the coins went everywhere
:eek: ohhhh you must have been so embarrassed! LOL
After a week of Alexi waking up during the night, and being difficult to put to sleep, She slept the whole night!! we finally had a stress - free night!! Whoohoo! :smiliedance:
05-11-2006, 08:19
mum21 - yeah im fine now :D
BubbaNoogie
05-11-2006, 09:03
Amaris is 7 months old today! It is going so quickly.
Still no sleeping through the night, although the last 2 nights she has slept for a 6 hour stretch!
No solids yet either, we did try her a few times, but she was not interested. Going to try again today:fingerscrossed:
No crawling here, just alot of face planting. She prefers to terrorise us with her walker:laughing: .
Priya- Welcome back. I hope Ria is feeling better.
Mandy- Glad you and Emma are better. I saw a pic of you and Em on an old thread, she is gorgeous!
jmacg- wow Gaia is a clever girl!
Welcome to the new ladies.
Hope everyone is well and has had a good weekend.
Take care.
Brooke
Hello Dianna and Philippa- Welcome to the april thread.
Jmacg- Gaia is a clever girl. Isn't she?
Marismum- Ria is much better now.
How did you go with the solids?
I have tried Ria on farex but she didn't like it at all. Sandy bought a jar of banana custard. I know the book says that you should not introduce sweeter taste to babies and should start with plain rice cereal but thats it. She actually also doesn't eat the custard,she sucks it like milk. I think she is a bit like amaris.
Mandy- I would love to see the photo Marismum mentioned.
Mum21- I would love to see your wedding photos too.
Any news from Kat- I haven't read her post since i came back. I wish she is fine.
I feel at home after coming here. It was too hectic back there in India with relatives pouring to see Ria or we going to meet them on multiple train and car trips. I didn't have time for internet at all.
So if i have missed some action, please let me know.
Love.
Marismum- Just wanted to add that i loved your new avatar. Amaris is a gorgeous baby.
06-11-2006, 12:31
Hey Priya!
Welcome back! I'm still here, but lurking alot more now! :O
How was your trip? :) I hope you had a good time, did I read somewhere that everyone was trying to feed Ria? How did you go with that?!
Philippa and Dianna - Welcome!!! Its great to have more ladies in the group!
Oliver is teething and has been a huge grump the past few days.
Hubby and I are thinking about moving, I hate my house, its so tiny and there are lots of things I hate about it. But there is one thing I love, and that is that it is close to my great friend and her bub! So we cant move to far away! LOL Its really hard trying to find stuff in our price range though!
Ive been cleaning heaps and getting the garden done so that if anything comes up we can put our place straight on the market!
Having people for dinner tonight, so better do some more tidying!!!
06-11-2006, 12:39
good to hear from you mischief :)
BubbaNoogie
06-11-2006, 15:57
YAY, Amaris is eating solids at last. I gave her some sweet potato and she gobbled it down. I already tried her on it 3 times about a week or so ago, but she wouldnt have a bar of it, gave it to her today and had no problems, she must have been ready! PHEW, I might be able to cut the 2 hourly breastfeeds down to 3 hourly soon:fingerscrossed: .
Priya-Thanks, I think she is gorgeous too:D
Kat- I hope Oliver gets over the grumps soon, have his teeth come through yet? Still no sign of any teeth with Amaris, not looking forward to it.
Hope everyone is having a good day.
Brooke
Hi Kat,
Nice to hear from you. How is health? Yay, everyone was forcing me to start her on solids so they can also experiment on her but i refused sternly and told them that she was not ready for solids. There were conflicts on other issues though like breastfeeding, not feeding Ria water, disposable nappies etc. But i handled them perfectly. :smiliedance: for me.
Marismum- Yay for solids. I am waiting for the day when Ria is ready for solids.
Bye for now.
BubbaNoogie
06-11-2006, 21:30
Priya- I have sent you a PM regarding solids.
07-11-2006, 07:57
No sign of teeth yet. I have a very dribbly bub though!
What is everyone doing for Melb cup day?
Priya - Health is better. My thyroid is correcting itself according to last tests, have to have a follow up in 3 months. Dr diagnosed me with PND though, and I am now on meds, but feel much better. Still have the odd down day, but they are few and far between. :D YAY for you. You did a great job with your rellys!!!! Congratulations!!!
What foods have you offered Ria?
angcaltam
07-11-2006, 09:06
Hey there,
Welcome Philippa and Dianna. We needed more April Mum's in here.
Kat - No plans for me today. Might take the kids to the park.
Priya - Glad to hear that you had a great time. And that you kept your relatives in line.:laughing:
Tamara is finally having her 6 month needles today at 3:45 pm. Not looking forward to it cause I have to take her without DH.:crying: She is almost 7 months old.:eek:
Caleb's 4th Birthday tomorrow. Not sure what to do. Was thinking about seeing what Aunty Shandi, Uncle Steve & Blake were doing for lunch and maybe taking him to the park for a picnic.:idea:
Anyway that's about it from me for now. Hope everyone is having a great day.
07-11-2006, 09:18
Sleep deprived this morning :sleeping:
Emma had me up a few times last night and she has her needles today... not looking forward to them :banghead:
FunkyMonkey
07-11-2006, 09:56
Tj is still trying his hardest to crawl but only seems to be able to get up on all fours then down again, hasn't figured out the moving of the hands thing...
Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to stop bub from escaping from under the covers at night? TJ wakes up and wriggles his way around the cot and ends up with limbs out of the cot and when that happens his lungs get a workout and I get a heartattack. Like this morning at 3:30. I'm not sure i want to put him in a Growbag as our house is a bit hot and no air-con, but this is happening every night and is the only reason he's not sleeping through and thus sleeping with me= no sleep for me. Thanks in advance.
Jaime.
angcaltam
07-11-2006, 11:30
Jaime - The only thing I could suggest would be a Growbag, or maybe make one yourself with thiner material. Sorry, I know, I'm not much help, but it was a thought.:idea: :laughing:
Mandy - Good luck with Emma's needles, Tamara has hers today also. Don't think she is going to be very happy for Grandma & Poppy tonight while we go to soccer. But oh, well. They can just give her lots of cuddles like they always do.:hugs: :laughing:
Hope everyone else is having a good day.
07-11-2006, 12:00
hi everyone - Jaidev is finally on the mend which is good. He's getting stronger too - if you hold his hands now he walks really well but it's kind of exagerrated like he's walking on the moon :D We've been exploring lots of new tastes - he really enjoyed mashed potato with ginger and garlic the other night!
I've finally gotten around to putting in an avatar pic so you can see what my little man looks like.
Hope everyone's having a good day and all the needles go okay,
07-11-2006, 12:08
JM - your ds is adroable
angcaltam
07-11-2006, 12:12
JM - He is so cute ! ! !:yes: :thumbsup: Why did you hide him from us for so long ? ? ?:confused: :rolleyes:
07-11-2006, 12:24
Thanks so much guys - I think he is adorable too but then I think probably every mum thinks that about their bub. It took me this long to post a pic because I thought it was much more complicated than it turned out to be.
Priya ~ There's some wedding pics here :D http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n191/bubhubmum21/ (http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n191/bubhubmum21/)
Glad to hear you handled your families well reguarding food
Kat ~ I hope those teeth come soon! I think we're teething over here too. Good luck finding a house. I hope you find one soon :D
Sorry to hear about the PND, I'm glad you're feeling better :hugs: how did your dinner go?
Brooke ~ Amarius is sooo cute!! I love your new av! Glad to hear she likes her food :)
Katherine ~ Good luck with the needles. Hope they go well.
Mandy ~ same as above LOL. Hope tonight is better for you two.
Jaime ~ Good to see you again :-D Looks like it won't be long till TJ is crawling :-D. regarding the blanket, I'm not sure. Alexi doesn't use one. I dress her warmly at night with the a/c on, then just turn it off when I go to bed. So i can't really help you there.
Mel ~ He is gorgeous! What a cute little man! I love his eyes!
Alicia - You are looking so beautiful in these wedding photos. Congratulations.
Kat- I have not tried Ria on a lot of solids. She actually tries to suck everything. Any ideas will be appreciated.
Good luck with the house. We are also on house hunt right now. We applied for Permanent residency in June but we didn't have got any response. They say that the processing of application can take more time. But our lease is expiring in Jan and we don't want to wait more.
Katherine and Mandy- How did you went with needles?Ria is also due for her shots but she has recovered from fever only few days before. Not looking forward to them.
Mel- Jaidev is so cute.
07-11-2006, 14:37
Well emma screamed her head off while having her immunisations today, she was already grumpy before she had them but now shes even worse.
Today is going to be one VERY long day
Thank you Priya! You made my day :D
Aww Mandy I'm sorry to hear your having such a yucky day. :hugs: to you and little Emma :(
07-11-2006, 16:41
Thank you Priya! You made my day :D
Aww Mandy I'm sorry to hear your having such a yucky day. :hugs: to you and little Emma :(
thanks hun
Don't have any news to share but just thought I would pop in and say hello!
Priya - Welcome back!
Hope everyone who had needles today is feeling better.
Joe
henrygirl
07-11-2006, 20:12
:wave: hi all how is every one did any one get a win on the melbourne cup today i didn't but then again i never win i go on the names not the odds not the best gambler.:laughing: hows every ones x-mas shopping and preperations going?i have a few more things to do but almost done. Holly has discovered big toes nopt just hers though she's had a go at mine yesterday :D but now it's hard to feed her as she keeps puttng her toes in her mouth. still not crawling but manages to get right up against the wall and door and peeks threw when i'm making dinner. any way betta go have a good week:ecomcity:
Just changed my avatar. It is a photo taken in India. I was searching for the perfect family photo but it could not be appreciated in such a small space.
Ria had her hair removed in a ceremony so she is bald in this photo.
Bye everyone. Love.
oh its beautiful Priya! Doesn't she look gorgeous!! :D You guys look fantastic!!
08-11-2006, 07:52
Just changed my avatar. It is a photo taken in India. I was searching for the perfect family photo but it could not be appreciated in such a small space.
Ria had her hair removed in a ceremony so she is bald in this photo.
Bye everyone. Love.
what a cute photo
hi all,
Thanks Mandy and Alicia.
~mia&ryan~
08-11-2006, 12:55
:wave: Hi everyone!!!
Wow you guys move so quickly, I had nearly 10pages to try and get through!!
Hi to the new April mummies, Hi to you Priya too! Love the new avatars too guys. Hope the bubs who were having needles went okay and had a good night last night.
Mia has been great, I have been crook though. WE got her walker last weekend, she loves it!! Looks sooo cute in it. She pulls herself up on everything now, just loves to be standing. She has been eating lots too. I have finally got her back onto homecooked food!!! For a while she would refuse to eat it. Now I am making her everything, except for her yoghurt. She looves her food. I love that she has started putting her arms out for me, its beautiful.
Ummmm, what else??? Christmas shopping!!! Finished most of it, and what I have yet to buy I at least have planned so that's good. Ordered Mia's bauble the other day, can't wait to get it.
Oh yeah, as of next monday I am back at work!!!!!:eek: Now that it is nearly here I am sooooo not looking forward to it. Its only 2 nights 4 - 9 but still. And the worst part mum21 I have to work tuesday nights:yes: :eek: so DF now has to tape the oc for me. Aaargh. I wish I was going to be a SAHM forever. I always thought that I would want to go back to work, but I don't. Oh well, DF said if I don't like it I can quit. Plus I guess I will enjoy the extra spending money LOL
Well better go the little miss needs me.
Bye all, em x
BubbaNoogie
08-11-2006, 13:41
Hey guys, hope everyone one is having a good day.
thanks for the comments on my av. I think Amaris is cute too:D ,of course!
Priya love your new av you look stunning and Ria is as gorgeous as ever!
Well gotta go, a certian little miss thinks she has had enough sleep (15mins) but I beg to differ!
bye for now
Brooke
Thanks Brooke. You have made my day.
Well i have a good news. I did a preg test two days before and there was a faint positive test line. So i thought that i should tell you all when i do a repeat. But my AF has not returned yet,am a week overdue and am having m/s so i think it is for sure.
The bad news is that i fell down the stairs with Ria today. She is fine but i am having bodyache. Hope #2 remains fine.:fingerscrossed:
Love.
porridge
08-11-2006, 14:25
Oh wow Priya!! congratulations! I hope all is well for you, Ria and bub #2!! That's so exciting!
Thought I'd pop in... Griff is sick and I'm feeling like cr@p! I've changed soo many nappies over the past couple of days... GROSS :barf:
I haven't even started christmas shopping... wow you guys are organised...
Oh Priya! :hugs: I hope you're alright. That must have been scary!
Congratulations!! :smiliedance: Ria is going to be an older sister! :smiliedance:
(what's m/s??)
Thanks Em.
I wish that Griff recovers soon.
Love.
08-11-2006, 15:08
Thanks Brooke. You have made my day.
Well i have a good news. I did a preg test two days before and there was a faint positive test line. So i thought that i should tell you all when i do a repeat. But my AF has not returned yet,am a week overdue and am having m/s so i think it is for sure.
The bad news is that i fell down the stairs with Ria today. She is fine but i am having bodyache. Hope #2 remains fine.:fingerscrossed:
Love.
Ooooo congrats
the 1st april mum to be pg again
Congrats Priya that is great news. Go see your Doctor if you are worried about the fall . I fell when I was pregnant with Gaia and she was fine but of course you worry more when you are pregnant. Ria will be a big sister , how exciting.
Gaia has her first tooth. She has been waking up at 5am and really hungry.A nyway put her finger in her mouth yesterday and she had a tooth, bottom right. They are really sharp aren't they.Must have been the teething affecting her sleeping.
Went out for Melbourne Cup yesterday with friends had a great time. Gaia loved the balloons hadn''t seen them before.
Hope you all having a good day,
love Jxx
FunkyMonkey
08-11-2006, 23:08
OMG Priya! Congratulations!!!!! I know it's early yet but when will you be due?? Mid August or early September?? I can't wait till we start trying for another, I don't want more than 2 yrs between my kids so we are talking about trying again in the new year, maybe, at the moment. Just gotta figure out how to afford another. LOL.
marismum: how on earth do you get you avatar to do that?? I have tried to figure it out but I am totally cluless.
jmacg: congrats to Gaia! toothie pegs already!! yippee!!
mum21: m/s = morning sickness. Did you have m/s with Ria, Priya? Hope your not suffering to much and that you can get plenty of sleep.
Night all! Himself is finally asleep so I'm off to read my book for a while. (I've been reading the same book for the last 3 months, I will finish it. Eventually.)
Jaime
Ah m/s = morning sickness I was wondering too. I had it all the way through will be interested to see next time. Wouldn't put me off though was so worth it having her.
09-11-2006, 08:21
CONGRATULATIONS PRIYA! :)
How exciting!!!! Cant wait to see your scan pics and things!
I love the photo of you and Ria too! Its very lovely! :D
Hi Everyone....Oliver had his shots yesterday, and he's teething, so I have had a very very grumpy bub last night and today! *yawn*
Jaime - with regards to stopping bub moving about the cot, check out this link http://www.safetsleep.com
I have a girlfriend who just bought one and swears by it. I'm thinking about investing in one myself.
Priya - Congratulations!!! I'm so excited for you, and a little tiny bit jealous.... would love to be pg again, but we are waiting until January to start trying. I hope the morning sickness goes soon, and that everything is fine after the fall. Take care!
Rohan is crying, so gotta go.
Love
L
BubbaNoogie
09-11-2006, 08:44
Jaime- I have no idea, lol. My hubby does it for me on Paint Shop Pro.
Congrats again Priya, hope your m/s isnt too bad and your back feels better.
We are thinking about ttc in the new year too!! There may be a whole lot of preggy "april babies" mummies come next year:D
Well gotta go , my poor hubby has been sick the last two days and I must go attend to him:p
Have a good day girls
Brooke
09-11-2006, 12:31
Hubby would like to try about May next year....so we might be joining you too. How scarey!
09-11-2006, 12:35
Oh and Dianna... My Race bet came a very poor 4th! :) Oh well! Better luck next year!!! LOL
Hi everyone.
Thanks.
Alicia- Thanks. Sorry, i missed your post previously. Thanks again.
Jaime- Thanks. My EDD is coming about to be 8th July. I had morning sickness with Ria throughout my pregnancy but if i eat something early on in the morning, then it is not so serious. I am feeling a little bit tired nowadays as i was in first trimester in Ria's case. I was having these symptoms even before my due date but i thought it may be due to exertion. I was sure that my AF was coming and we will plan next year for the pregnancy. But there is God above me who decides everyone's fate.
Thanks Lisa, Kat, Mandy, Brooke,Jmacg.
At first i was terrified to have such a small gap in kids but i am now preparing myself for this. Wish me good luck.
Love.
FunkyMonkey
09-11-2006, 16:06
I'm sure you do fine with two littlies. I hate to say it but :fingerscrossed: that your not having twins!:eek: My cousin fell pregnant with identical twins when her 1st was 4 months and ended up with 3 boys under 1yr old.
But thats not gunna happen so we'll just forget I said anything. :rolleyes:
:hugs: And if you ever do need a bit of a break I'm only just down the road a bit and would be happy to come over to let you have a rest. Just PM me and let me know.
09-11-2006, 16:26
Wow Priya!!!! That's so exciting - I'm a little jealous too, the last few weeks I've started to get really clucky again - we were planning to try when Jai is 1yr. What was the ceremony in which Ria hair was cut?
Mum21 I loved your pics - you look so beautiful in your wedding photo!!
Jai has slept a grand total of 1hr20mins today:eek: and has been quite whingey - whereas on Tuesday he slept almost 5 hrs all up during the day. So things are very up and down here and I never know how the day will go.
We got our delivery of cloth nappies and now his prescious bum is clothed in super soft bamboo:yes: .
I just can't believ our little bubbas are turning 7months - that sounds so old !
Hope everyone's having a good day, I'm hanging out for some sunshine,
Jaime- Thank you so much for the offer. You are such a darling.
Mel- Thanks. It is the mundan ceremony in which all the hair from head is removed because they are considered impure. Usually it is done when child is 1 and when weather is hot to give some relief to the child.
Bye.
09-11-2006, 20:31
priya - i think its fantastic that you are having another bubs... will u b back in aus for it ?
Hi Mandy,
I am here right now. Just went for a short holiday in India and came back.
Yes my inlaws and family will love to have the delivery in India but i know Sandy is not going to send me and Ria to India for it. Though my mother and MIL are going to be furious about it but i don't know. I will miss him and he cant go to India for long. He is already joining a new hospital next year.
Thanks for asking. You are so caring.:hugs:
Mum21 - You did look gorgeous on your wedding day! Congratulations, and all the best for a very long, happy marriage. Also, i noticed you had a playpen for Alexi, and i was wondering where you got it from? I've only found one cheap raw wooden one from Kmart, or a really expensive plastic thing from the local baby shop ... but yours looks more like what i would like.
In terms of trying again, i had a sudden realisation that if we do get pg in jan or Feb, then Rohan will only be 18 or 19 months old when the new bub arrives, and will then be 22 or 23 months old by the time new bub moves from basinette to the cot ... so will i need a 2nd cot, or will we be able to put Rohan into a bed at that age?? Katherine, as a mum of several, your advice would be appreciated!! I REALLY don't want to have to buy a 2nd cot! Priya, have you thought about this at all? Do you and Sandy have a plan?
Well, i'm just waiting for Rohan to wake up, and then we are going to go and check out the local toy library! I'm v. excited. Hopefully they have some cool stuff that will keep Rohan interested, and save me some $$ as well as storage space! (He's only 6.5 months old, and already has so many toys that it terrifies me when i multiply that by a few years!! :eek: )
Take care girls,
Love
Lx
FunkyMonkey
10-11-2006, 10:52
Lisa C: friends of mine are expecting #2 in April 07 there 2yr old has been sleeping in a double (the "spare" bed) since he was 18 months with no problems. He was an early walker and climber so i guess it depends on the child. (just like everything else. hahaha)
angcaltam
10-11-2006, 11:00
Lisa C - Both my boys were out of the cot by that age. We had to put Angus on a mattress on the floor when he was 12 months old because he was terrified of the cot for some reason. Plus he hadn't slept through the night for us by that age so we had to try something and it worked.:yelclap: As for Caleb I think we moved him to the trundle bed at about 15 or 16 months old. I hope that has helped some how.
Well, for about the 5th night running I've had almost no sleep. I don't know what is going on with Tamara. :devil6: She has been such a good bub up until now. She screams blue murder if I leave the room and there is nobody in there with her. We are having trouble getting her to go to sleep by herself. We use to be able to just wrap her, put her in her cot, wind up her mobile and walk out and she would go to sleep, but now forget it. There has been twice in the last week that she has gone to sleep by herself. And she has been sleeping through the night since she was a week old and now all of a sudden she isn't. I could understand if she was waking up for a reason like wanting a feed or something but she isn't. I just don't know what to do, the house looks like a bomb has hit it because she is giving me no time to do anything, and then when I get the time I don't have the energy. And to top things off AF hit in a big way yesterday. They have never been this heavy, ever.:gloomy: Oh, and on Tuesday when Tamara got her needles done they weighed her for me and she is 8.28 kg.
Now for something good. I went and finally had my check-up with the Dr about my Thyroid and Heart, and he has asked me to stop all meds for the next month then go and have bloods taken and then see him again. My heart rate is back to normal and my Thyroid is now just under active. But he is thinking that it could have been the tablets that I was taking (when I remembered to take them) that was making it just under. So in a months time we will see. :fingerscrossed: the Thyroid will be normal and I won't have to take any meds.
Well, I hope everyone is having a great day.
Had to let you all know Dusty has her photo in this weeks That's Life magazine. She's in the what's in a name & it's on the first page:party: