View Full Version : Boo Hoo
Tea Lady
25-09-2005, 07:32
We finally started CC last night and I wanted to know if people would mind telling me how long it was before they could see an improvement in the length / type of crying. I'm a bit worried about how I'll go tomorrow when my husband's at work, so I guess I'm hoping she'll be sleeping perfectly without a whimper by oh, say, tonight :rolleyes: . She took 1 hr 15 mins to go to sleep last night (I thought I was going to DIE) but 31 mins (not that I'm counting) this morning so if the trend continues she'll be asleep before she wakes up by tomorrow morning.
On the plus side she slept ALL NIGHT last night for the first time in ages so I guess it's worth persevering with, but I still feel like the world's meanest mum.
I need all the encouragement I can get! And any advice you can spare.
Lucy
With any new thing that they learn, it can take a while. I found that ds got the hang of it pretty quickly (about 2 weeks, started at 6 months) but we had the occasional setback.
I find it's easier in the day time cos I can go to the other end of the house, it's much harder listening to the crying in the night. It seems so much louder!
Hang in there, bub will probably appreciate being able to self settle soon and it will all seem much better. I'm sure you're a great mum. :)
rynosmum
25-09-2005, 19:00
Hi Lucy,
We (okay, more hubby with me whimpering in the kitchen) used controlled crying on my little one when he was under 3 months old. The first night, it took about 1/2 an hour, the second, about 20 minutes - by week 2, he was nodding off after about 5 minutes (although about once a fortnight it would revert back to 20 minutes). He started sleeping much better once he knew how to put himself back to sleep by himself. He's been sleeping through (6:30 - 6) since 4 months of age.
It worked for us though - at 15 months, after his evening routine he runs to his room and points at his bed saying 'dith ! dith !' (meaning 'this, this; except with a little lisp) - very cute.
I feel for you though, it is so hard for the mum. I explained it to my hubby that I was put on this earth to care and comfort my child - to listen to him cry was not something that I could easily do. As long as they are well fed, safe, well and with a clean nappy simply use your best judgement.
Good luck !
Don't feel like the world's meanest mum - a well rested mum makes for a happier baby in the long run.
I have used cc with different degrees of success with both of my girls. With both we saw a definite decrease in the length of crying on the second night, and less each night after that. By day 4 we well and truly had a handle on things.
The one piece of advice I would give is to remember that if you can be consistent it will happen quicker and the effects will last longer. I am living proof of this - wtih DD1 we were consistent and had no dramas. With DD2 for some reason I make excuses (teething, she has a cold, it's easy) and have found myself feeding her to sleep several times a night and having to do CC about 9 times so far. This time I SWEAR I am not going to get lazy and go back to feeding her - I need my sleep and she is happier when she is sleeping better too!
katesmum
25-09-2005, 20:00
Hi LuWa...
Well done for sticking with it so far..... I really agree with Draught about consistency.
My DD is 5.5 months old and we started CC a couple of weeks back. It took 2 nights of crying at about 4am and then miraculously she stopped waking from the 3rd night..... However, we have had some setbacks - all my fault I think.
Like Draught, a couple of nights I made excuses for her 'she might be hungry', maybe she is cold etc'. and what I found was, if she woke up once in the night and we didnt use the technique, she would continue waking every 45 minutes from about 4am unitl 6.30am when I would get her up - that is hellish....
So good luck and just try to stick with it - she will get the hang of it before you know it. I know its hard listening to the crying (during the day I go and hang out the washing!!) but I think it is worse to confuse them by changing techniques alot....
Tea Lady
26-09-2005, 07:08
Thanks for the replies everyone,
I felt a bit better last night - she fell asleep after only about 10 mins of crying but then woke in the night and I was sure she needed a feed, but common sense prevailed ( through my husband as usual) and he managed to resettle her. I'm just dreading her 2 sleeps today - I completely stuffed up her arvo sleep yesterday because DH wasn't home and I caved in and gave her a cuddle when in hindsight I think she was calming down - result = 1 confused and upset baby & 1 confused, frustrated and upset mum. It's wierd how we're biologically incapable of being objective about this isn't it?
Thanks for your support ladies - I've just got to keep thinking about how she and I both need our sleep.
Lucy
PS is it normal for bubs to seem spaced out when starting CC? I figure Jo has worn herself out but I don't like to see her not quite "herself" - it makes me wonder if this we're on the right track.
Horseymum
26-09-2005, 17:34
I know just how you feel and my sympathies are with you!!!! I just started CC with my 4 and half month old son and have found it to be both a blessing and heartbreaking. During the day he will cry for about 5 to 10 mins before going off to sleep, at night he goes to bed with minimal fuss but still wakes every 3 hours on his old feeding routine. It takes all of my resolve to not feed him back to sleep. I think the key is making sure you cover all basis so that it clears the doubt from your mind - for me this meant making sure he was getting plenty to eat during the day and that he was comfortable ie clean nappy, no wind pain etc. I still find it really hard though.
I am just waiting now for the nights to get better....
As far as the spacy thing goes, I think that when they start they are not really getting a heap of quality sleep especially when they are crying for long periods and I definetly think this effects them a bit. I like to try and make a big deal of him when he wakes up after a good sleep, show him how proud I am of him and that it is not all bad...makes me feel better anyway!
I think follow your heart and your instincts - if you need to comfort your baby or pick him up, I say do it... just don't give in unless it is absolutely needed (and sometimes it is even if it is only for your benefit). You are doing a great job and obviously love your baby very much - good luck : )
Karen
Tea Lady
27-09-2005, 11:38
Just thought I'd give an update to anyone who is interested because I'm SOOOOO HAPPY that Jo went to sleep without crying last night :) :) :) . DH and I had a candlelit dinner to celebrate! She's been heaps better today as well. I feel so blessed that things are improving (but I'm trying to remember not to get ahead of myself and think all my problems are solved!).
Thanks again for your support everyone.
Lucy
Horseymum
27-09-2005, 18:58
Yahooooo!!!!!! Thats great Lucy!
Well done! Enjoy (and keep up the romance too!)
DustyPeach
27-09-2005, 19:29
Congrats and well done :D . I remember the first time DD slept through the night. I woke to check on her and make sure she was ok because I had not herd anything the whole night. She was fine and now sleeps like a angel. CC works well if you can be strong and stick to it.
MIL told me that CC = Good parenting.