View Full Version : October Is Here!!! Come on Babies!!
ikis84
01-10-2006, 07:28 AM
Wow... the countdown to October has finally finished.... now we just need to count down the DAYS until we meet our bubba's!!!
:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:
HanCh
01-10-2006, 07:57 AM
OH MY GOD!!!! I cant believe October is here!! This is the month we will meet our babies :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
How exciting!!
I hope everyone is enjoying their long weekend (is it a long weekend in all states??)
I have nothing to report on here. Still feel the same.....just counting down the days until I see my OB on Weds. I might go to Woolies again today and see if that can get some contractions happening :yes:
HanCh
01-10-2006, 08:05 AM
I just had a look at the birth announcements and noticed that lil pumpkin asked her mum to leave half way through delivery. Is anyone else having extra support people besides hubby???? I am only having hubby, but I am starting to get a little worried that i will need someone else. I guess the midwives are there too......
Hullo October mums. Is it okay if I move in here? :laughing:
M~T~J~M
01-10-2006, 10:42 AM
:smiliedance: It's OCTOBER!!!! Finally! Oh, I just hope that my baby doesn't decide to stay in until November! :laughing:
Yesterday I was flat out having a bake off!! I cooked so many different meals to store in the freezer for while I am in hospy, it is now full! I couldn't squeeze more in even if I tried. I was so sore last night though from standing up most of the day. I got these terrible pulling pains in my groin area, and could hardly walk. Will make sure have more sitting down time from now on, lol.
The Grand Final didn't really worry me yesterday as there were no Victorian teams in it....It was a close one though, and I do feel for the swannies! Oh well, they got it last year didn't they?
Ali - No, we don't get a long weekend! I wish we did though, then DH could of had the kids tomorrow, lol!
Mia - Hi...I have been following the Sept thread for a little while. Bubs will arrive soon enough, and then by the time the first year is over, you will have forgotten what it is like to be pregnant, lol.
Today is such a gorgeous day here....Am about to take the kids for a walk to the park, then we are off to MIL house for lunch. I might actually get a little break while we are there, and let her do all the running around after the kids! Hope you all enjoy your day, and :fingerscrossed: there have been some mroe babies born over the weekend!!
beck75
01-10-2006, 10:54 AM
Ali I am just having my DH as well. There is noone else around here I would be comfortable having as my closest sister is in Adelaide. I think DH is feeling the pressure and just wants me to have an epidural as soon as I walk in the door - especially as it seems everytime I speak to someone who had a baby in the last couple of years they say it is definately the way to go!
We had a neighbourhood get together last night (chance to catch up with everyone on the street) which was nice but at the end I was in real pain in my pelvis and back. Unfortunately lasted all night so slept terribly and still have it this morning - no other symptoms so I guess it is just cramp - I hope I don't have to put up with this for the next 3 weeks!!
Well it is a beautiful day here in Melbourne - I am just organising myself breakfast and might then see how I go taking the dog for a short walk. Going to go out for dinner and a movie tonight as we will be running out of chances to do that soon!!
Good luck to all.
01-10-2006, 10:57 AM
YAY!!! FINALLY OCTOBER IS HERE :smiliedance: :smiliedance: WOOHOO!!!
As for the support people, when I had Summer I just had Karl there but I would like my mum there as well this time :yes:
di_matt
01-10-2006, 11:32 AM
Morning All,
Just managed to drag myself out of bed. Spent 4 hours yesterday getting dragged around the shops by my DD 14, who had birthday money to spend. Then we had neighbourhood kids here until 9.30pm. I was so tired and sore I didn't know which way was up.
We bought a new mattress yesterday...it's as hard as a rock but gee I slept like I've never slept in my life. 2 Toilet trips but didn't even open my eyes for them lol. It;s a higher mattress so I can kind of just slide out of bed now and wait for my feet to touch the ground. :laughing:
Well our month has finally arrived. Hossie visit tomorrow at 1pm so we'll see what they say. Been pretty comfy last few days so I'm not complaining.
Mia, welcome. Wondering if I shouldn't make myself known in November babies for the same reason lol.
Have a good day all
ourfirstbubba
01-10-2006, 11:33 AM
good morning girls!!!!!!!
Oh my god, October is here!!!! how exciting!
Welcome Mia!!!!
It is such a gorgeous day here in Newcastle! Hubby is washing the car then we are heading out for the day for a nice long drive..maybe that will bring the baby on!
4 more days until I reach my due date!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ali- I am having my hubby, my Mum and my MIL...I am very close to my Mum, but also very close to my hubbys Mum, so they can both be there......we will ring them to come when bub is close to coming out....but I am not sure how my Mum will go because she is a bit soft and I dont think she will be able to handle seeing me in pain.....she cries...:gloomy:
I wonder how Bec is going????? Its so exciting isn't it, all this anticipation for these bubbas???????
have a great day girls!
~Kimba~
01-10-2006, 12:28 PM
Afternoon everyone! Can you believe that October is finally here? Seems like not that long ago that I did my first +ve preg test, and that was in Jan! But then again, it also feels like I've been pregnant forever...
This morning I banned DH from asking me when this baby is going to come because it's not helping at all! :banghead:
Hi Mia & welcome! of course you can move in here. I've been posting in both threads (sept and oct) for ages! Just covering my bases, LOL
Ali - I'm having DH and also my Mum IF she makes it in time. She lives 4 hours drive away so I'm going to call her when I go into labour and then if she makes it in time, great. I thought it would help to have someone else there who's been through it before, especially if DH needs some support or someone to go and get heat packs/ icechips etc (or if he isn't handling it well! LOL)
Becca how are you doing today, still getting the pains/ contractions? hope it turns into real labour for you soon! As frustrating as pre-labour must be, I have to admit I wish I had something like that happening. Anything to make me feel like I'm getting there!
Beck I had the same last night - sore pelvis and back - and bad leg cramps. Just couldnt' get comfortable at all. And my SPD seems to be back with a venegeance so rolling over and getting out of bed or getting up to walk after sitting is painful. Wah wah wah.
Wonder how Becbabe is doing...? And who will be next? Me I hope! LOL
Gumby
01-10-2006, 02:15 PM
Afternoon ladies, we have made it to OCTOBER. How exciting.
I didnt want to have bubs in sept (no offence to sept bubs) but I was told I was having an October baby so October it is.
2nd day of the school holidays here and the girls have been great. I printed off some pics and things from the ABC kids website and they have been happily colouring in.
We are taking them out on there bikes once it cools down this arvo. I wont if Bec has had her bubby by now? I hope so, I hope both her and bub are healthy.
Not much to report here, bubs feel quiet low today and I can feel his head, head butting my pelvis but nothing else exciting happening here. I hope we have some new bubs soon...
R
Yay...October is finally here. :smiliedance: Hopefully this one is an October bubs and not a November one.
Ali, it's just dh and I in the birth suite. I wouldn't feel comfortable having mum there and I don't think she'd particularly want to be there either (and there is no way on this earth that I would have the IL's there). dh was great during dd's birth, hopefully he will be again.
Nothing new to really report here. Baby is still pretty active, but the movements feel more like squirms than kicks and punches. I start my weekly OB visits on Wednesday.
I went out this afternoon to buy (a cheap) digital set top box, so we could get ABC2 which has more kids programs on it (cheaper than getting foxtel). I set the stupid thing up when I got home and surprise, surprise it doesn't work. So I've sent dh back to the store to get another.
Eloise's b'day is continuing on into this week too. I've organised for her to have a party with her friends at the local indoor play centre on Tuesday. I decided to wait until this week, because schools go back tomorrow in Vic. which means that it's less likely to be as noisy and as crowded as it would have been during the hols.
I hope everyone has a great week...with some new little additions to announce :p
ikis84
01-10-2006, 04:26 PM
Hi Mia :wave: ... What was your due date? Hopefully bubs makes an appearance for you very, very soon... one way or another, it has to come out!
I will be having my DH and maybe my sister, however DH wants her to leave before the pushing stage as he wants it just us when we meet our bubba iykwim...
Sorry Kimba... I cannot let you have your baby before me... I take dibs on the labour vibes, Okay? :laughing: Although, I should really let Mia have them!
I have lost even more of my plug today... gosh it is so disgusting!! TMI: Brown and red blood mixed in globby snot looking stuff :barf: I have also been having really strong BH - I wouldn't call them painful, just uncomfortable and very tight! Having about 2-3 every hour :rolleyes: So hopefully in the next few days I get to say hello to this baby! I am not holding my breath though!!
Okay, must head off to church... hope you all have a lovely evening!!
~Kimba~
01-10-2006, 04:55 PM
Sorry Kimba... I cannot let you have your baby before me... I take dibs on the labour vibes, Okay? :laughing: Although, I should really let Mia have them!
LOL with your plug loss and BH it sounds like you're a lot closer to meeting your bub than I am! Good luck!
wannabemum
01-10-2006, 05:18 PM
Hi girls, just wanted to pop in and say congratulations and good luck for your up and coming labours!!!!!!!!! What an exciting time, take it easy and put your feet up if possible!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Briannabear
01-10-2006, 05:23 PM
Hi all!! :wave: And welcome Mia!
Kimba - Yes all pains still going. :banghead: Its really starting to frustrate me now. They have been severe for 3 days now. Hurry up bubby.... hurry up!
I think it was all too convenient for bub to come this weekend! Brianna was at her grandmothers, my house is spotless and Ive been very relaxed! :rolleyes:
Not long for you now Ikis! :fingerscrossed:
And thankyou Wannabemum!
Come on bubbies!!!!!!
Gumby
01-10-2006, 06:20 PM
Hi all. Went for a nice walk this arvo to see if it would get things started but it hasnt done a thing. Arewell, hopefully I should sleep better tonight anyway.
I cant imagine what you ladies that were due @ the end of sept are feeling. I would hate to pass over to the next month. Its not fair is it :(
But there is an end in sight and its going to be great.
I just made a yummy lasagne and wedges for dinner and I just need to make the salad. I cant wait. I AM STARVING.
Sorry no personals. Hope you all have a good night and labour vibes to those who want or need them :D
R
brideofjabba
01-10-2006, 06:25 PM
YAY for October!! Hopefully over the next week we will be having babies popping out everywhere!!!
I've had some nice strong BH today with some backpain. I've ordered Dh to help me with the baby eviction process for the next 2 1/2 weeks.;) lol He's been so tired lately and not helping in that department, kwim? lol
Um yeah, the due date my doc is working off was 22 Sept, so it'll be 10 days over :( and I'm scheduled for induction starting tomorrow night.
S'mores
01-10-2006, 09:59 PM
Hello mummies & all us mummies-in-waiting.
I have been AWOL for ages now but have tried to drop in as often as I can to see how everyone is doing. It is so exciting to have babies in our midst. I get flashes of reality, but for the most part I still can't picture having a little person to take care of. Anyone else still can't picture it?
One reason I haven't been on for ages is that I'm still at work, but it is my last week this week :smiliedance:. I am SO OVER IT! It is going to be a hellish busy week trying to get things all tied up before I leave but at least by friday it will all be over! I am so ready to get busy at home. We made the fatal mistake of wanting to repaint the baby's room - weekend job we thought - 3 weekends later and no end in sight!!!!! All the woodwork in our old little house needs to be scraped & sanded, plaster celings sanded.....it goes on. So we are not even at painting yet, still prepping the walls & timber :banghead:. I'm getting a little freaked as I'm now 37weeks so bub can come any day!!! The crib is in the kitchen and the whole house is COVERED in dust! I'm very jealous of all of you who are packing & repacking baby clothes & fiddling around with the nursery. AHHHH!!!! OK, end of freak out for tonight.
As you can see, this is the preoccupying thought of mine! Other than that, healthy & happy so can't complain.
Can't wait to be on here more often as I love to hear how you are all doing. Ciao. :wave:
oleander
01-10-2006, 11:23 PM
Hi girls:wave: It still hasnt sunk in that this baby is actually giong to come out. I cant believe its October. I mean, it seems to have taken ages to get here but dosent seem real yet.
As for my birth I am having my mum there, My MIL, or really my EX MIL wants to be there but I just want my own mum there.
Im so over this now. Ive actually started to get really angry and moody about being so uncomfortable all the time. Also, Im p!ssed off that my ex husband hasnt even bothered calling to see how Im going. I could have had the baby by now for all he knows. Im so angry.
Jeffy
01-10-2006, 11:54 PM
OK; so I couldn't sleep (again). I was up at 8 and in the garden half the day and I still can't sleep?! So; I was laying in bed and kept telling myself to eat the Chocolate Bavarian in the fridge - "Eat the bavarian, eat the Bavarian...". I just had a huge BBQ dinner so am not hungry. Anyway; I got up and have just polished off 1/2 a Sara Lee Bavarian. :o Feeling much happier (and fatter) now!
Paris*mum - I have decided that my baby is never coming out. That way I don't have to think about it! I have no idea what I'm in for and each day I cahnge my mind about being worried, scared or ecstatic. At least you have your mum and bub will have an awesome mum and Nan. Have some chocolate - it makes me feel better! :yes:
S'mores - welcome back, love. Can't believe you haven't finished up yet - and what's with the no whinging about pains and moods, etc?!
Mia - Good luck with your induction; I hope labour goes smoothly (and quickly) for you.
Brideofjabba - You're still keen ?!?! My god, woman!
Rian - My appetite has been absolutely massive and I had a hankering for lasagna the other night, so of course had to make one. So worth the effort!
Briannabear - I bought my bub a new outfit from Pumpkin Patch and have been trying to tempt him to come out so he can see it. I thought it worked yesterday as I had strong pains but it all stopped, so I can empathise. :mad:
Wannabemum - Thanks for the luck! I hope you'll be signing up to your own due date forum soon. Come back and let us know when you do!
maybe1more
02-10-2006, 12:11 AM
Hi all, i cant belive this is our due month!!!! I must stay im starting to get a little nervous:yes:
Im just having my df in the labour room, he was great last time. Ive got 24 days to go!!!
Iriks- Wow if your mucus plug has a slight pink to it then it looks like labour is on its way!!!!! The pregancy book i have "Up the duff" says that when you lose your mucus plug labour is usually only hours away. :fingerscrossed:
Ive been getting bad b+h`s and man that can get quite painful at times, i seem to be loseing my mucus plug bit by bit, some hopefully my bub will be born on time:)
This is so exciting, best of luck ladies, our beautiful babys arent far away!!!
ikis84
02-10-2006, 03:56 AM
Okay, well, If you look at the time of posting this (around 3:50am) and think - "what is this woman doing awake?" Then I will tell you....
I am in labour!! I was woken up with contractions about 2 hours ago. I tried to keep sleeping but that just wasn't happening :no: So now I am awake - I cleaned the kitchen and have muffins in the oven! My back is constantly throbbing and every now and then my belly goes rock hard and I am getting bad bad period like cramps all over my tummy. I am not bothering timing them yet though, I really don't think they are bad enough. Just bad enough that I can't sleep iykwim.
I will keep you all updated :thumbsup:
Wow Mia, you must be going stir crazy!! Any labour signs? If not, then you don't have too long to wait now! How exciting! Anna's induction story should give you a little bit of comfort (I know it made me more positive on the thought of induction). Hoping it goes well for you, hun!!
Becca - You poor thing.... This weekend really did sound like it would be very convenient to go into labour - gee, babies should be more considerate, lol!! Hopefully the pains eventuate into labour very soon!
Jeffy, I would have eaten the cheesecake too!! That's why I purposly don't have those foods in my house, otherwise I would be as big as one!! Mmmm... chocolate...
Paris*Mum - I am angry at your ex for you too!! What an ass!!
S'mores - I can't believe you have only just finished work! What a machine! Enjoy your nesting!!
Brideofjabba- My DH has happily been helping on the baby eviction front - If I had to order him I would be worried, lol!! I have actually been enjoying it, which I wouldn't have thought being so pregnant. Every time we make love now I think - it could be the last time for a few + weeks, so I am making the most of it!
Okay, I must go get the muffins from the oven and heat my wheat pack!
Ta ta!!
Briannabear
02-10-2006, 06:55 AM
Yay Ikis!! :smiliedance: Keep cleaning and walking!! Being active is the absolute best thing you can do, :yes:
Hope its not too drawn out for you.
SalTheGal
02-10-2006, 07:36 AM
Morning everyone!!!
I haven't been on since fri lunch time, and at a super quick glance it looks like I have HEAPS to catch up on!!:smiliedance:
Yay for oct, I have just made some toast and a cuppa and am going to sit back and catch up on all the news- I'll be back for personals later.
:wave: Sal
HanCh
02-10-2006, 07:53 AM
OH MY GOD IKIS!!! THAT IS SOOOO EXCITING!! It looks like our next October bubs is on the way!! :smiliedance:
Jeffy I think the devil in my head would have been saying "eat the bavarian, eat the bavarian" too Now that I think about it, I might have to go buy one....... :no:
Mia Good luck for your induction!! We could have 2 bubs born on the one day!!
Paris*mum I agree with Ikis....what an ass!!!! How hard is it to ring you to see what is going on with HIS baby
S'mores Cant believe you are still at work!! How many weeks will you have of before your due date?? I had 4, and that didnt seem like enough!!
Well, still nothing has changed here :banghead: THe only thing that is getting me through the days is knowing that my doc isnt going to take me past Friday. So this time next week i WILL be a new mum again.....
I hope everyone else is doing well. It is a beautiful public holiday here today so might take DD for a walk to the park to see if that can get things going naturally :fingerscrossed:
Gumby
02-10-2006, 08:25 AM
Jeffy- Only half the bavarian? I would have had the whole lot. BBQ or no BBQ..LOL
Dh calls me *JABA DAHUT* off star war because I near always dribble food and stuff all over myself. Its like feeding time at the zoo...lol "WATCH YOUR FINGERS"...
Yay Pam hopefully it is all over soon enough and you are holding your bubs soon....
ikis84
02-10-2006, 08:27 AM
Well, not much more happening on this front. Had regular contractions for a few hours and then they slowed down heaps - now I just have a dull ache in my lower back and feeling just period painy constantly. Just got back from a long walk with DH... then will do some cleaning, go out to the shops and come home for a nap. I figure if I plan things in the day then I won't get so hung up on when the next contraction will come, iykwim.
Might go make some breakfast... poached eggs... yum. I am suprised I am actually hungry! Must keep my energy up I guess.
BBL
di_matt
02-10-2006, 08:56 AM
Bugger me I hate it when the server goes down in here. Now I gotta start again...
Way to go Ikis. Sending you some labour and baby vibes *********)))))))))))))) :fingerscrossed: Hope these make it to you. Even the smallest pain can be helping so you may still be progressing without knowing it..
Good luck to you to Mia...hope the vibes find you and all goes well.
Well I have my hossie appointment today. DP is 'sick' as he wants to come too. He finally admitted last night that he has been moodier than a pregnant woman and is freaking out about the whole thing now it is so close. :D
Yay for me, was begining to think I was imagining the whole thing. He is stressing over whether or not he will be a good dad at his age and if bubs will be ok. His first little one was born 9 weeks early and only lived a few hours (24yrs ago), his son was 4 weeks early and did some time in hossie.
So I can understand his fears, but only positive thoughts on this end.
I did read somewhere that the male is the deciding factor in whether you are early or late. If that's true I should already have bubs LOL. My lot were all late so I'm not crossing fingers or anything just yet. :laughing: Then again as bub is a boy I guess he can arrive whenever he damn well pleases and the article would still be right :banghead: (bloody men lmao).
Anyway dribbled on enough this morning, hugs to all and hope today is a good day all round.
SalTheGal
02-10-2006, 09:34 AM
Wow, so much news to catch up on!!
We have had my Bro and SIL and their two kids for the weekend, so a busy time. My nephew is nearly three, and niece is 8mnths, plus they have another on the way- the kids are the most adorable children, but a very busy time ahead for them, and I am stressing bout one!!!!
During labour I am planning to have my DF and if anyone else- my SIL, which I broke the news of to my mum the other night (that I wouldn't be having here) and she was a pretty disappointed- oh well cest la vie, I need to have who makes me feel comfortable, not just to please others!!
MIA: Good luck for your induction tonight- you must be so excited to finally be meeting your bubby!!
IKIS: We will be thinking of you good luck!! I hope it all goes smoothly for you- and happens soon!! :fingerscrossed:
BECCA: SOunds like there is action at the station for you too, yay for octobder bubs arriving, good luck!!
SMORES: You poor thing to be still working, not to mention all the stuff you've got to do at home, make sure you find some down time- I made the mistake of overdoing it when I finished work and ended up with a migraine in hossie- TAKE IT EASY!!!!
LISA: I don't blame you for being annoyed at your EX- I am angry at him too for you, thats pretty inconsiderate, you just keep thinking bout the beautiful bub you are about to have, atleast he was good for something!!!
JEFFY: I am with brideofjabba, my DF wasn't into much bedroom action for most of my pregnancy (meanwhile my hormones were raging!!) he couldn't get past the idea of a "third" person being present- now he is getting back into it I am all for action in that department helping to move things along!!
(Oh and BTW- I am now craving bavarian at 9am in the morning!!)
FIRSTBUB: SOunds like things are moving along for you too- yay!!
WANNABEMUM: Thankyou so much for you well wishes, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy to know that there are other bubhubbers watching the progress of the oct bubs.
Well off to do some shopping with SIL this morning- we have just had a COTTON ON KIDS open in ballarat- has anyone else discovered them yet- I am addicted!!!!
Take care everyone, enjoy the sunshine, good luck with all the bubs!!
:hugs: Sal
AussieCanuck
02-10-2006, 10:23 AM
Hello All!
I am new to the forum, but have been reading your threads for months. Now that I am finally done working, I thought I would join in on the fun. You all sound so welcoming and supportive, it is a great resource for those of us who are new to the whole thing! We just moved here from Canada a year ago...and it's been a whirlwind ever since.
Our baby is due on October 16th, although I think it is making great efforts to come out early...lots of rib kicking, squirming and dancing on momma's bladder. Anyway, all the best to all of you and I want you to know your posts have been a great resource and support throughout the last few months.
suemp
02-10-2006, 10:32 AM
welcome aussie c to the forum and to australia
well ive just got back from (i know your gonna say :eek: ) camping up the creek. not comfy at all. was not ment to go but dop was ment to go with his natural father who he only met when he was 30 and they have only met acouple of times than his dad rang up the morning to go and cancelled. he was so devastated i could not leave him.
off to the nuero soon at the hospy so i guess if i see you di you will be with the hubby looking terrifyed. its cute wen you see how much they care...which reminds me paris mum your ex is a pompos ass!!!!
laying on the oh so comfy stretcher bed this morning it felt like bub was trying if not moving positions. i had legs and arms going every which way and it hurt.
i wonder how our c/section girls are going
i am only having dp in op room for delivery as they said thats all theres room for.
as for food i dont stop. choc bav was a craving for me earlier on in preg. now its just wat eva i see i eat :shame:
well better go shower i smell like fire , bait , and salt water
beck75
02-10-2006, 11:01 AM
Wow - everyone is so busy in the group it is hard to keep up!
I had another shocker of a night last night and I am really getting to the stage I have had enough! Have just had breaky as was lying in bed awakw feeling sorry for myself until about 10am! Just waiting for that mucus plug!!! Congrats Ikis - not long now!!
Well I haven't really been much of a nester but thinking about going down to big W to get some things to help sort out the pantry (I think it is more about being board than nesting).
Still haven't heard anything from Becbabe so I am hoping that is good news.
Welcome to all the newbies and those from September - I hope your time comes soon enough!
Claire R
02-10-2006, 11:29 AM
Good afternoon girls,
Not that time really has any meaning anymore does it...I was wide awake between 3.30 and 7 then went back for a very unsatisfying nap with the council picking today to mow the nature strip out the front for what seemed liked eternity. So have just had my second breakfast, or lunch, or something...it was pavlova anyway so probably doesn't qualify as a meal?!? lol...
Off to visit a friend later who has a 2 week old...she is not doing too well, still struggling with the BF, she and bub both not sleeping, her hubby is very frustrated as wants to get help in i.e. lactation consultant etc or let him help but she won't have a bar of it. Let's all make a vow now girls "I WILL NOT TRY AND BE A HERO. I WILL ASK FOR HELP" etc etc. let's repeat 10 times.
Well I am on the countdown 'til the 19th and feeling very uncomfortable but no real problems. Trying to do a few work things from home that I would dearly like to get finished and pop into the office every couple days for a brief meeting. Am I mad? Probably but I don't have a lot else to do and it will be worth it as once baby comes I know I will not have so much piling up on my desk for when I return.
It's interesting to hear a couple of you say their hubbies were a bit put off bedroom activities during the pregancy. All the baby books say this can happen but my group of friends had decided that they were all talking about the same one guy as none of ours seemed to find that an issue!! Anyway as someone said...off limits for everyone for a while once baby comes!!
suemp
02-10-2006, 11:42 AM
ps for those whose partners have gone off sex....wait till they become toddlers. you'll forget wat the horizontal tango is lol
kristin5
02-10-2006, 01:09 PM
Go Ikis!!! I'm thinking of you and hope all is going well.
I had my OB appointment today and finally got the news I've been waiting for. My BP was up more (Ok, that's not so good) but it means that I am being admitted to hospital this afternoon to be induced (I'm trying not to get too excited though, because apparently if delivery becomes really busy, then they take precedence over me). Anyway, hopefully I'll have my beautiful little bubba in my arms tomorrow :smiliedance: My DH will let you know how it all goes - so fingers crossed. Yippee!!!!!!!!!
Briannabear
02-10-2006, 01:15 PM
Yay Kristin! :smiliedance: Hope you will meet your bubba tonight! Same with you Mia!!
Welcome Aussiecunuck!
Just thought Id let you all know to pop your head in on the birth announcements because Becbabe's DP has just shared some exciting news! :yelclap: :D
~Kimba~
02-10-2006, 01:27 PM
Congratulations Becbabe and family on the arrival of baby Ella!
Have to say I feel a bit envious, LOL, since our EDD was the same...today is my 'official' EDD, but it seems like bub is no closer to arriving. Which means another day of the same, waiting and wondering and getting more bored and cranky and uncomfortable by the minute! My hips/ pelvis were aching so much last night/ this morning, had such a crappy sleep, I was really hoping it would turn into labour, but no...it seems I am doomed to be pregnant forever! :laughing:
The only thing I can occupy myself with is domesticity, and I am feeling very 'nesty' today so that's a good sign. But how annoying is it that every time you feel satisfied that your house is clean and lovely, another few days goes by, and you have to clean all over again! Why can't it just stay sparkling, for a week at least? Sigh. (At least when I was working 45 hours a week I had an excuse to just let it stay messy!). I can only imagine how much worse it's going to be when kids are involved, LOL.
Kristin - Hooray on being induced tonight!!! that's so exciting and must be such a relief for you after all you've been through with this pregnancy. All the best, hope it all goes smoothly, I will be thinking of you and look forward to hearing your news!
Pam - Yay for you on being in labour!! :smiliedance: Hope that it eventuates into you meeting your bub really soon. And same for you, Becca!
Claire - well yes, my DH is one of those who went off sex, especially in the last couple of months. My belly just makes things too awkward for both of us, and he has this phobia about hurting the baby (um, hello, you aren't THAT big, love!). But I could care less right now (apart from wanting to bring this baby on) :laughing: And I'm with you on the meals/ time thing. I just eat what I like when I like, and have lost all sense of structure! Hmm, might be time for a bowl of icecream...
Beck - I hear you on starting to feel over it! Up till a few days ago I was still loving being pregnant, but the last few days have seen me starting to get really fed up.
Sue - wow you're game going camping! I can't even get comfy in my own bed let alone on a camp stretcher. You're one tough woman! LOL
Welcome AussieCanuck! Hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well.
Sal - I bet you're relieved the visitors have gone now and you can have a bit of a rest!
Di - good luck with your appt today. My DH is the same - moodier than me right now! At least yours has admitted that he's freaking out, that's a good start.
Rian - LOL at feeding time at the zoo!
Ali - that's great that your doc won't take you past Friday - at least an end is in sight! Nobody has even mentioned induction dates to me yet so I hope they don't make me wait too long, since it looks like I'm definitely going to go over...
Everyone else, hope you're all feeling well, and for those of you who are due and/ or over it, sending lots of labour vibes to you all!
TyBean
02-10-2006, 03:50 PM
my goodness. the time is finally here!!!! the end of the nine months we have all been anxiously awaiting for is here!! Good luck and best wishes to everyone.... very shortly we will all be meeting our beauiful lil miracles for the very first time and our lil families will all grow!! the end of an amazing chapter and the beginning of another precious one!!
the lil man isn't due for another 16 days, but that doesn't mean he wants to play nice until then. False labours are lots of fun. But I'm hanging in there coz I am gona miss it all when he comes out, even the horrible sharp pain in the ribs where I swear he's broken them doin gymnastics like his uncles!... but what I'll miss most is his little hiccups. They are the most beautiful lil things in the world! and there isn't gona be anyone in there to kick back when I play the poking game!!
I'm gona hav my lovely hubbie there and my mum with me. Mum has had 7 kids but never seen one... and I always promised she could be there. And I know I'll need her there too, we are very close.... and the hubbie has told her that he wants and needs her there too. It is going to be an amazing experience to share with them both!!
The 'nesting' is annoying my hubbie. I don't think there is anything left in bubbies room that I haven't cleaned or washed! and its slowly progressing to the entire house. Although having all of the baby clothes on the line yesterday brought a smile to his face!! and he come up to me last night while I was in the middle of cooking a huge roast.... don't know y, just over the top cooking!!..... and he said that it had sunk in today... he was gona be a daddy and that he was so over the moon.... brought me to tears!!
So now we all just have the waiting game to play.... the relays from the bed to the toilet at wierd times every night, trouble sleeping, walking with balloons inbetween our legs continue, but not for long!!!!
Good luck everyone!! not that luck has anything to do with it.... best wishes to all the mummies and daddies to be..... and welome to the world to all the lil precious bubbies who are going to eventually find their way out!!!!
di_matt
02-10-2006, 04:08 PM
Hey all,
Sue : sorry I missed you. We got in in good time but had an intern who put the wind up us. She told me bub was head down (which we knew) but then she goes "I can't find a heartbeat" and walks out of the room. Poor DP just about died on the spot. The look on his face was inbearable. Then she came back in and announced bub must be breech and I would need a cs, before leaving again.
Finally she came back with another doctor who after pushing bub through my tum and onto the floor ( felt like it anyway) pronounced bub was head down, got the ultrasound machine and went there's the heartbeat. All is fine.
Professionals make me wonder, but anyway alls well that ends well.
BP down again only 90/60 this week, bub didn't get weighed or pee checked so I guess that was a bonus lol.
Hope all who are in or off to hossie have a good time :D , well a happy one anyway.
Catch up later on
ikis84
02-10-2006, 06:42 PM
Still here :wave:
Things are progressing... contractions are now 6-8 mins apart. They are fairly regular - I will have a few 6 mins apart, then a longer gap, then back to six minutes again. The contractions are intense, but I am coping well. I can't walk or talk during them, but still feel fine. About to go for another walk with DH and then probably get in the bath. I don't want to get in too early though, cause I have heard that it can slow labour down... what do you think? Is it still too early?
Who knows!!
I want you to put your guesses in for what time (or day :eek: ) this bubba will be born...
My guess is 5am tomorrow morning ( I am trying to prepare myself :laughing: :eek: )
ourfirstbubba
02-10-2006, 06:58 PM
Firstly, go Ikis- just read your post before posting mine! I am thinking about 3am this morning...6-8 mins apart is great...you go girl!!!!
Rian- I wanted bub to arrive on the 26th Sept as thats my hubbys bday......but no, still here!
Wannabemum thanks for your wishes xo
Briannabear my thoughts exactly- hurry up baby, hurry up baby....today has been the longest day!!!!!!! feels like we are just hanging around waiting...are we all feeling like that????
BrideofJabba a man who does not feel like it?? huh???
S'mores I agree, it feels very surreal. Take your last week at work easy and enjoy being at home
Lisa understandable that you are angry at your ex husband...what a s@&t!
Jeffy he he he , go the Bavarian! I have bene eating these Greek cakes that my Mum made me...they are shortbread with icing sugar sprinkled all over them..yum, can have 2 in one sitting!!!!!!
Ali Friday will be here before you know it!
Aussie Canuck- welcome!!!!
Sue you are a trooper going camping with your man
Beck75 I have had enough too, my EDD is days away...I just want the baby here now
Claire pavlova is a meal..it has eggs in it doesn't it???
Kristin good luck sweetie, you deserve it
Kimba I agree with the house thing..you get the house looking all lovely, thinking that you are going to be in the hospital the next day..then 3 days go by and you are cleaning again..ugh!!!!!!!:banghead:
Di_Matt what an insensitive doctor..fancy just walking out of the room after saying that..you poor thing..glad bub is okay
Well, I just want the baby here now! I have got period cramps at the moment and I have not felt like eating all day...just eating lots of fruit....I hope this means something as I am really ready and so is hubby...we just want to meet our bubba.....hope you all have a good night sleep and for those of us due in the next few days, fingers crossed we get some labour action soon!!!!!!!!
Wow what a busy couple of days.
:yelclap: Congratulations Becbabe and welcome little Ella. Off to read all about her after posting here.
Ikis - Seding you heaps of luck. It sounds great. I'm thinking that bubs will be born around 1am. Hopefully, it goes quickly and as painlessly as possible.
Di - That's shocking. Hopefully that intern isn't around when you're in labour. I bet your dp wanted to give her a piece of his mind.
Kristin - All the best of luck to you too. In no time at all you will be holding your little man.
Claire - I'm with ourfirstbubba... pavlova is a meal, it contains dairy and fruit. So calcium, protien and carbs are included :p . Makes me want to have some right now.
Becca - Hopefully your bubba decides to join you this week. It all sounds very promising.
Welcome Aussie Canuck.
S'mores - Congratulations on the last week of work. Good luck with the baby's room. Don't you just love those jobs that you think will be quick and easy and end up being huge?
Kimba - You must be next to go into labour. Sending plenty of labour vibes your way.
To everyone else - hope you are doing well.
I'm finally getting the feeling that this baby is going to arrive soon(ish). No real pre-labour signs yet, but my belly has dropped and I'm starting to get that uncomfortable feeling that I had with Eloise towards the end.
Better go. Dh has made dinner (he really is good to me) and it has just been served. Good luck to all of you in labour. I can't wait to read about all the new arrivals. :yelclap:
SalTheGal
02-10-2006, 07:16 PM
Good luck Kristin!!!! :fingerscrossed: :hugs:
Welcome Assiecanuck- don't be shy make sure you keep popping in and telling us how things are going, I think we are a bit of a noisy bunch!!!:wave:
Briannabear
02-10-2006, 07:26 PM
Ikis - Im predicting about 2:30 in the morning! Good luck! Sending you great quick labour vibes. Still try to keep as active as possible cause it will help to keep things moving for you.
di_matt
02-10-2006, 08:10 PM
Hiya Ikis, I'm gonna be a party pooper and say between 6 and 7 in the morning.......:yelclap: Only because hopefully you might get some sleep before then. You might need it. But good luck any way.
Gonna head off to bed as I think junior has picked up on my crumby feelings and is currently proving he is very much ok by trying his best to kick his way through my stomach. DP is finally looking more relaxed and thinks it's hillarious.
Night all
M~T~J~M
02-10-2006, 08:15 PM
Ikis - Good Luck!!! Hope it happens sooner than later for you!!! I say about 4.45am tomorrow morning!! :fingerscrossed: Hope all goes well!!
Kristen - I am so happy that they are finally going to help you get your baby out!! Hopefully you will feel a lot better once it all happens....I'm sure you will as having a newborn baby almost makes you forget about everything else in going on in the world!! Good luck, hope all goes well!
Aussiecanuck - Hi there. Welcome to October babies. Hope you have enjoyed your pregnancy....The countdown begins now until we get to meet our bubs!
Becbabe - Congratulations once again on the birth of little Ella! So exciting, can't wait to hear all about it!
Paris*mum - Men :banghead: One would think that if anything would make him call you, it would be the fact that you are carrying his child and just about to pop! Keep strong, and just try to put all of your energy into your new little girl when she arrives.
Di_Matt - It really makes me wonder sometimes how people can be so incompetent!! The Ob I had to see the other day was also, and it gave me the s???s!! There is no need for people to make us stress and worry at this stage in our pregnancies!
I have decided that I am not going to think about when my abby is going to arrive. Too much of the day can be consumed by it...you know, checking for loss of plug, wondering what that niggle was, etc! I am just trying to forget that I am even pregnant (which is soo hard with the aching back, the million trips to the toilet, etc, etc). I will drive myself insane otherwise!!
Oh, I just have to have a MIL vent.... Asked her yesterday if she was available Mon - Fri from midnight - 7.00am just incase anything was to happen (DH seems to think that this one will be a nightime baby!!) She says "oh, I suppose so....what's your mum doing?" I told her that my mum will be in the hospital with us (as she is our support person...and a brilliant one at that!). She then goes on to say that if it starts to happen during the wee hours to hold on as long as I can before I ring her. WTF??? I respond to this by saying "Well, if it means giving birth on my bathroom floor or calling you at 2.30am, I think I would rather call you!!" Umm, hello, I guess I should have booked a c-section just so I don't bother her to watch the kids??? So insensitive! I have decided that if I don't really need to call her, then I won't be. She can find out after the baby is born!! Mmm, that's better!
Well, to you all, hope things are good and progressing well. It's getting very exciting logging in each day to see if there are any new babies!!
Has anyone heard from LouLou's mum? Wonder how she and little Archie are doing.....
m_jelly
02-10-2006, 08:35 PM
You girls aren't fair! Yesterday you had me craving chocolate bavarian, and now pavlova?? Don't you know the shops are an hour away and I can't fit behind the steering wheel? Cruel!
I sent my little sister to the kitchen to bake a chocolate cake as consolation. Unfortunately, she cannot cook (she is 8 years old) and all that resulted was a weird black biscuit that tastes like anzac biscuits. Yes - I am still going to eat it. Maybe it will jolt baby into leaving the premises.
Babe shows no sign of movement. No plug, no cramps, not even BH! I haven't had any BH since the day I left work - apparently I could stress myself into them back then.
My mother, also known as my sole birth partner, has been invited to a party on the 7th and really wants to go but she can't unless babe has arrived. She wanders past, patting my tummy and saying "hurry up". I wish I could oblige, I really do, but babe is incredibly active and didn't even descend another fifth at my last checkup.
My ex has promised to come see baby while I am in hospy (3 hour drive for him), but told me tonight he will be bringing his father. That's all well and good, but his dad has terminal cancer and by now rather looks it. I want him to see his grandchild of course, I'm just not sure how I will handle being a brand new emotional and exhausted mum, seeing my ex for the first time since I left, and his dying father all at once.
Sounds like we've got lots of babies arriving, go Ikis!
Don't smack me, but I do find myself sitting here looking at all the due dates and comparing my own and the words NOT FAIR come into my head...Don't these babies know about waiting their turn?
suemp
02-10-2006, 08:51 PM
sorry guys feeling crapola so only have time to vent about me!!!! went to nuero appointment today which was 2 hours late. he made me explain epilepsy from start , fair enough, but kept asking how i feel during seizures which is just too hard to describe. i felt like an idiot cause i couldnt answer him. im like you know wat a seizure is your a nuero . so wen he found out im on medication once a day he said wat good is that you need it twice a day to do any good (so the last yr has been a waste) i had to have a blood/test to check the levels of med in my blood. he wants to see me in 2 weeks. before that i need to get an eeg at the hospy, go to pre admissions for the c/section and attend antenatal each week. i might as well camp there!!!!! also he said if they get proof of seizures they will cancel my driving licence for minimum 6 months. i said wat!!! i have put up with this condition for yrs as every doc misdiagnosed me now you tell me i cant drive.:no:
also he said have you had any preg prob. i said mainly my feet/ankles and hands swelling horrendous so i cant walk. he said do they check your urine. i said no not since i was 16 weeks. he just shook his head. now tonight my feet are killing me and i have a temp and am paranoid i have pre e.
dps dad ended up meeting up with us for a couple of hours today which was nice. as he was leaving dp gave me a cuddle and i got a drip on my arm. i thought he was sweating on me and went yuck. than i noticed he was crying. poor guy.
sorry as i said too tired for personals but a big congrats to bec babe and goodluck ikis. i say tomorrow afternoon 2 o clock.
beck75
02-10-2006, 09:20 PM
Just a quick one from me.
Congrats Becbabe - I will have to go over and see the announcement.
Founds an interesting name site if people are still having problems. We have decided on a name (I think) but still looking at different spellings etc:
http://www.babynamewizard.com/namevoyager/
Cleaned the pantry today - obviously has been a while as a lot of things were out of date!! Felt like my pelvis was going to drop out when at Big W - the place is not agreeing with me at the moment!
Anyway good luck to all who are getting close.
ourfirstbubba
02-10-2006, 09:59 PM
hi again girls
Sare- its weird when you can feel your belly has dropped...mine has definetely dropped in the last week......
Beck75- thanks for that site, will look at it...my hubby is still not sure on the girls name we have picked....I love it- Natalia, but he thinks it is too long with our long Italian surname..any thoughts on the name girls??? I love Natalia
As for cleaning the pantry, I did that the other day and it felt so good...felt bad chucking stuff out and I vow now to always check the pantry before going shopping!
Sue- sorry about your appt today, you must be frustrated, especially being told that you need to up your meds and also not being able to drive for 6 months ??
m_jelly- bless your little sister, that is so cute! As for your ex and his Dad, I can understand you feeling that way, but I guess its nice that his Dad wants to see the bub before he passes....
mumto2cheekyboys- your MIL sounds a little selfish..she should be excited to get the phone call, not put out because she is going to miss out on a few hours sleep....I am so grateful my MIL is a beautiful woman and I love her like my own Mum.....is there someone else you can call? maybe a friend??
We got a text not long ago from my brother in laws brother (my sisters husbands brother)...he and his fiancee had a baby boy tonight...she got to the hospital at 7.45pm and had the baby by 8.45pm......what a dream! she was a week overdue and was going to be induced tomorrow, so they are over the moon....
well, am watching the Biggest Loser, love that show...and The Apprentice is back on Sunday nights, but its on at 11.30pm.....love that show too.....
well, still feeling sore and crampy......I so want this baby here......
goodnight girls (again!)
ikis84
02-10-2006, 10:55 PM
Hi ladies and babies :wave:
Just typing this between contractions as a break from standing up/walking around. I skimmed over all your posts, but as you can understand, no personals from me atm!!
Thanks Sue, 2o'clock tomorrow arvo:thumbsdown: ! I think I will be dead by then if that's the case :rolleyes: . OMG the contractions are starting to hurt like a ... I don't know what... I don't swear so can't....... hang on, incoming.... holy moly... this is at least distracting me! I went for a walk and they started coming every 5mins, then I hopped in the bath when I got home. Bliss, pure bliss... until the contractions started coming every 2 mins! After about an hour I got out of the bath and contractions are now every 3 mins and lasting about 40 seconds.
Righteo... I don't think I will be able to post another update, but I will get DH to post when there is some news about our baby!!
:fingerscrossed: Hope y'all are well, and labour vibes to those who want them!!
Talk to you in a few days!!
2ndtimeMum
02-10-2006, 11:03 PM
Hi everyone, haven't been on since Friday and so much to read, congrats to Becbabe and go labour for everyone else, I am off to bed now as going in tomorrow to have my bubs!!!!! will update you when I get out at the weekend
Hugs to all
Teresa xx
Briannabear
03-10-2006, 07:01 AM
Don't smack me, but I do find myself sitting here looking at all the due dates and comparing my own and the words NOT FAIR come into my head...Don't these babies know about waiting their turn?
:laughing: Cant blame you for feeling that way!
To be honest Im feeling a little jealous of those who are able to carry full term (40wks). I hate having a deadline of when I have to go into labour by. I just soooo dont want another c/section. So thurs is my D-day. If I havent dilated at all by then there's nothing that he can do for me, :crying: and a c/section is likely to be booked. Hopefully all these on and off labour pains are actually doing something (besides driving me crazy!)
So wish me luck!!!!
Sue - sorry you're feeling crappy. :hugs:
Hope everyone else has a good day today.
(((((((((And sending Ikis good birth vibes!!! ))))))))))
Gumby
03-10-2006, 07:08 AM
Any News from IKIS yet? Hopefully she is baby gazing or having a sleep in. Will check later..
TC
Rian
brideofjabba
03-10-2006, 08:05 AM
YAY Ikis!!!! Hope to hear the news soon!
di_matt
03-10-2006, 08:24 AM
Morning All,
Well Sue, it appears the gold coast hossie made both our days hell......wonder if they get paid extra for that????? Hope today is a better one for you.
Mumto2cheekyboys, your mother in law sounds like my Ex mother in law. It was always too much of a drama for her to help out too. My mum always got the job. The only reason she helped with my last one was because I reckon she knew her son was off with someone else already and seeing as he wasn't able to be contacted mum came to hossie with me. Mum's love it, they hate to see you in pain but love the strength you find to do it. My ex MIL is so bad though she keeps asking if her and her new husband can be an extra set of grandparents????? How does this work??? She has no blood relation and neither does he, my kids only talk to her because I make them, my DP leaves when she rings & I get left doing the 'right' thing and trying to be nice. Gotta Love families......
Well pleased to say I had another brilliant night sleep. ( Shoud've bought a new mattress ages ago....got a slight headache this morning but I think that is still due to the looney at the hossie) Only got up twice to go pee and never even made it out to the lounge to watch tele, was too tired. If I can keep sleeping like this for the next 3 1/2 weeks I'll be happy.
Does anyone elses DP use "don't forget to ring me if something happens" as a parting phrase now??????? Told mine this morning I'd think about it :D , poor dear he didn't know what to say lol.
Have a great day
~Kimba~
03-10-2006, 09:51 AM
:smiliedance: Good luck Pam, hope your bubba has arrived by now, and good luck Mia and Kristin with your inductions today! :smiliedance:
LOL you're telling me!!! Mine should have been here by now, especially if you go by my LMP, I would have been due on 16 Sept! :laughing: From my scans I got given several due dates starting from 29 Sep, but the very last of those EDDs was yesterday - so I am now officially OVERDUE, and dare I say, OVER IT. Come on bubba, what are you waiting for??? I was in such a good mood last week and ready to meet you, now when you arrive you'll be meeting one cranky mumma LOL.
No other personals today as I'm in a filthy mood :mad: and don't want to share it around, heh. Hope everyone is doing well though, and hope to hear some more birth announcements soon!
Jeffy
03-10-2006, 11:47 AM
Good morning everyone. Isn't it funny that as soon as October rolled around, babies started popping out!? Well; yet another night on the couch. I went to bed at 2 and woke up 6 times to pee before finally getting up at 10. This sux. :banghead: I have a duplex kidney and I knew pregnancy would make the problem worse but this HURTS!
Had a BBQ at the MIL's house last night and one of her (60-odd year old male) guests made a remark about how women should not be allowed to do some sports. I asked him if he believed women should be allowed in the armed forces. He didn't think so, so I commented that I had been in the Army and was fitter and did a better job than most of the men. He didn't like that, so I sulked in the kitchen doing dishes the rest of the night. Why should some old guy get to tell me what I can and can't do? My DH stuck up for me - he has to as I am the gardener, handy man and housekeeper
Kimbaleo - You poor thing; I'm not due until Saturday and am in a filthy mood over it as well. I just know I will end up having to be induced.
di_matt - My DH says that all the time now but I must admit I keep asking him if he has remembered his mobile phone.
Briannabear - I would be freaking out knowing that I was having my baby in two days :eek: I might buy some castor oil if this goes on too long though....
Ikis - I am assuming you are probably in the hospital by now! Thanks for posting; I get so excited reading about people going into labour! Makes it all feel more real.
Ourfirstbubba - I forgot Biggest Loser was on :mad: Now I have to download it!
Suemp - Your neuro sounds like a jerk. They usually take your licence if you have been hospitalised for a seizure in the last 6 months. DH's little sister has epilepsy. The ambo's didn't take her to hospital the last time because they didn't think it serious enough (her work called them) to warrant it. She's only been twice, for her first two seizures which went over 10 minutes. And it always happens when she is staying with me - the doggies always wake me up to tell me! We still tease her about wetting herself the last time.....mean, I know :p I hope you are feeling OK today.
Well - time to head into Medicare to grab some of my money back. Then I plan to spend it at Starbucks on a Mocha Frappuccino and a Bran muffin from Muffin Break. Might even head in and check out Floriade. Man; it's getting hard to find things to do!
Gumby
03-10-2006, 12:05 PM
I just want to apologise first to all the ladies due before me, BUT I am in labour. I went into hospy this morning for some monitoring and they put me on the ctg and I am contraction every 5-6 minutes. Doc doesnt think it will be today but he said we will see bubby tomorrow or the next day. I really need to go for a walk or have some "hot sex" but I am in too much pain to do either. I will keep you all posted..
TC
Rian
Briannabear
03-10-2006, 12:31 PM
Yay Rian!!! :yelclap:
Claire R
03-10-2006, 01:09 PM
Go Rian Go!
I really wish all hospies provided internet access at each bed...don't you feel it is cruel not knowing what is going on with all our bubhub mates....it seems weird how we share every day and then disappear once the bub is born until you get home. Can't wait for more updates and birth stories!!
LOL on the DHs asking if baby will come each day....I think mine thinks because it is a booked c/s that it will happen then and not before. He is even going interstate for a night this week...aargh scary for me. Altho I must admit I also don't think my little boy will come out early...he has had so many good reasons to and he has stayed put this far. Hopefully I am not eating my words while DH is away!
m_jelly
03-10-2006, 01:13 PM
Lol @ Rian - was the hot sex an offer or just a suggestion from the doctor?
di_matt
03-10-2006, 01:27 PM
Good Luck Rian,
I have come to the conclusion sex just makes bub wanna stay where bub is lol. He's probably thinking 'if that's what's happening out there I don't want to go yet" lol.
Hope everyone else has had a good day. Went for final haircut ???? hopefully b4 bubs arrives. Decided after crummy hospital visit that I am going to see my doc this week and ask if I can have another scan to double check position and everything...not sure if they will do it or not but I figure I shouldn't have to stress either (and it's my money) lol.
Catch up soon
Yay Rian :smiliedance:
I too love logging on and reading about the labours and impending births. It's all very exciting. I have just got home from DD's party with her friends at the play centre and had to log on straight away to see if there had been any news.
Claire - I think that's a great idea that hospitals should have computers with internet access in each room.
Sue - Sorry to hear about the bad experience that you had with your neuro. I swear some doctors really need to do a course in empathy, because their lack of concern for their patients is beyond belief. I guess I am one of the lucky ones who has a great GP and an OBS that I love.
Becca - Hopefully things get rolling for you before Thursday so that you get you VBAC :fingerscrossed:
Kimba - I really thought it would be you next. Bubs get out and meet you mummy and daddy!!!
I'm getting a bit worried about how big this baby will be. I saw a friend on today after seeing her on Saturday and she said that I looked bigger now than I did on the weekend (I was wearing the same thing...I don't have many maternity clothes for warmer weather). I'll get my OBS to take a guess how big we're looking at tomorrow. He said 8.5 pounds and dd was 8lb 2oz, so pretty close (and he over estimated which was a plus).
Good luck to those in labour... and :fingerscrossed: for those who are close to it.
suemp
03-10-2006, 04:07 PM
good luck rian :fingerscrossed:
sorry ikis, i just know how long it can last for :thumbsdown: hope you holding bubba by now
had ob appointment. protein in urine is there but not high enough to warrant med or anything
jeffy: the nuero said if they can see i have any sort of seizures that med wont stop they can take my licence which gets reviewed after 6 months, which is crazy i only have ever had 1 grand mal seizure 8 yrs ago and wen i have partial seizures im still able to do wat ever im doing. i have the eeg tomorrow.
good luck brianna bear. hope thing progress for you.
brideofjabba
03-10-2006, 04:16 PM
Good luck Rian!!!!
As for getting asked from dh/dp about when the baby is coming...i tell dh everyday that i'm having the baby today. He says' thats what you say everyday!' and i say 'well one day i'll be right!!' lol
ourfirstbubba
03-10-2006, 04:55 PM
hello girls
Go Rian! I dreamt about her having the baby last night....weird huh???????
We not long came back from our OB and it was our last appointment..bub is fully engaged now!!!!!!! he said it can't go any further until its ready to come out!!!!!! So we have just come back from a very long walk, we are going out for Vietnamese tonight and then coming home for a bit of "fun" (IYKWIM?)
My hubby is convinced tonight is the night bub is coming!
Well, good vibes being sent to all of you....hopefully Ikis and Rian have had their babies now!
beck75
03-10-2006, 04:57 PM
Good luck Rian!!!!
As for getting asked from dh/dp about when the baby is coming...i tell dh everyday that i'm having the baby today. He says' thats what you say everyday!' and i say 'well one day i'll be right!!' lol
LOL - I told DH that I might have the baby today becuase I have done all the major things I wanted to do and am bored! He asked that I wait until at least the end of the week as he is on a training course this week - how selfish!! Seriously there is nothing happening here at the moment so I can't do much but sit back and wait!!
Good luck Rian and Ikis - 2 new bubs arriving soon!! As for everyone else - I hope there are still a few waiting until the end of the month when I think I am looking at. Although it is my mums birthday on Monday and she asked that I don't have the bubs on her birthday so that could happen!!
Talk soon
Mookie
03-10-2006, 05:30 PM
I have just posted our birth news on the Oct Birth thread, as our gorgeous little girl, Lily Ann, arrived a day early on Thu 28/9 :smiliedance: !!!! We got home from hospital today. Wont type more here as it's all on the other thread.
I havent had time to catch up on all the other goings on yet, but will over the next day or so.
Good luck Rian - let us know when you have some news.
I hope everyone else is feeling as well as can be expected are sleeping ok etc. (get as much sleep as you can now!!! ;)
di_matt
03-10-2006, 05:52 PM
Congratulations Ann
I would have had Lily for a girl I love that name, but as we know its a boy Lily wasn't an option anymore...lol
Hope everyone else is going ok
ikis84
03-10-2006, 09:41 PM
Hi bub hubbers! This is Pam's husband Dave...
Our beautiful baby girl arrived this morning as expected but unfortunately for Pam she arrived at 10.35am after some seriously painful contractions and minimal drugs. Mum and baby are fine and resting after about 14 hours in established labour!:eek:
I will let Pam fill you in on all the details but she has asked me just to let you know that they are both fine.
name: Olivia Kathleen
weight: 8pound 4 or 3.6 Kilos
Length: 51cm
head: 34cm
Dave
oleander
03-10-2006, 10:01 PM
Congratulations Pam!
Welcome Olivia!
oleander
03-10-2006, 10:02 PM
I read the posts backwards so:
Congratulations Ann!
Welcome Lily!
mumchristy23
03-10-2006, 11:32 PM
Wow... how exciting.... Lots of babies! :yelclap:
Firstly..... CONGRATULATIONS again to Ikis84, AnnP and Bec on the arrival of your little one's. Good luck (Probably congratulations too by now) to Rian.
And...... 2ndtimemum - You'd be holding your little bubba by now so congratulations to you and your partner!
Kimbaleo - I was thinking of you on the weekend. I thought you'd be in the hospital holding your baby. Musn't be too much longer... sending labour vibes to you.
Ourfirstbubba - I like the name Natalia. Congratulations to your brother inlaws brother and partner, sounds like she had a pretty good labour! Not long to go for you either by the sounds of it!
di-matt - LOL "dont forget to ring me if something happens" Loved your reply (I'll think about it). I think I was the one nagging DP more this time... was worried he would go out on a building site and he wouldnt hear his mobile. He did however say a few times to call him if any thing happened and I just looked at him and said, of course I will... like i'm going to be here by myself in pain, You can come home and listen to me whinge!
Claire R - Totally agree on the internet access at hospitals. Its very suspensful waiting to hear how everyone went!
Suemp - Good luck with your EEG tomorrow! Hope everything goes ok.
Beck75 - Hope the next couple of weeks goes fast for you and you meet your bubba soon. Nothing worse than been bored, makes the end of your pregnancy drag on.
Briannabear - Hope those annoying on/off pains turn into something more promising for you soon.
mumto2cheekyboys - Your MIL sounds very selfish. :fingerscrossed: you can find someone else and yes tell her AFTER the baby is born. Hopefully you will have bub really early in the morning and when you call her LATE the next day you can always say,well you did say not to bother you early in the morning :laughing:
Well I'm off to feed Jacob then off to bed. Sorry to those who I missed... will catch up with you next time.
Until then.... labour vibes to all those needing them and I hope everyone else is well and taking it easy!
Christy
Briannabear
04-10-2006, 06:36 AM
Congratulations AnnP!! :yelclap:
And congratulations to Pam and Dave!!! :smiliedance:
HanCh
04-10-2006, 06:53 AM
CONGRATULATIONS ANN AND PAM!!! THis is starting to get really exciting. I LOVE logging on and reading the baby news!!
Well I have my OB appointment at 8.30 to see when he is going to get this baby out. He has always said he isnt going to take me past my due date (which is Friday - eventhough my signature says the 10th I am due on the 6th) so in the next couple of days I will be a new mum again!!!! I just hope my cervix has opened and he can break my waters, I really dont want to have to go through another ceasar and because I have already had one he cant do anything to open my cervix if it hasnt opened by itself. Anyway, enough of my blabbing :ecomcity: I will get back on later and let you know how I go......
Oh, sorry about the ME post too....... :shame:
Briannabear
04-10-2006, 06:59 AM
Oh Ali, good luck at your ob appointment. :fingerscrossed: Im experiencing the same senario so I understand what you are going through completely. :yes: :hugs:
Let us know how you go.
HanCh
04-10-2006, 07:03 AM
Thanks Bec, I am actually starting to get really scared about what he is going to say...... I will def post when I get back home. He is only at his surgery until 12 today, then he does his rounds and ops, so I am hoping that he might even do it all today so it doesnt give me long to think and agonise over it all...... :fingerscrossed:
Enjoy your morning, and I hope to hear of some more baby news when I log back on :yes:
Gumby
04-10-2006, 07:31 AM
Morning ladies. I am still here and the contractions have died off :( so no baby for me today.
Kimba- I am thinking of you hun, you have been so patient this whole pregnancy and now you are just waiting. THERE IS AN END IN SITE. Not too long hunny. Lots of labour vibes to you :D
CONGRATS PAM AND ANN ON YOUR NEW ADDITIONS. JUST GORGEOUS. YAY.
Ok thats all from me. TAKE CARE
Rian
suemp
04-10-2006, 08:34 AM
congrats ikis. heah i wasnt too far off :) glad it all ended fine . labour pains suck.
ali and b/bear: sending you opening cervix vibes lol
just thought i would mention wen i have jnr my dp does not even know how to turn computer on so ill be a few days mia.
im at internet cafe waiting for shops to open so im on time schedule so i better make it just a quick one
bye tc
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Congratulations Ann and Pam on the safe arrival of your little girls:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
M~T~J~M
04-10-2006, 09:44 AM
A big congratulations to Pam and Dave on the arrival of baby Olivia.... Hope all is going well!!
brideofjabba
04-10-2006, 10:05 AM
Congrats Ikis!!!!!
Rian - sending you some labour vibes!!!!!!
My ds is sick so i am glad i haven't had bubs yet! I would feel awful to have to up and leave him to go to the hospital and then he wouldn't be able to come and visit until he was better. So yeah, next week is fine... lol
38 weeks tomorrow!!!!!!:eek:
beck75
04-10-2006, 10:15 AM
Congrats Sue and Pam - two more beautiful babies!
I have my OB appointment today so will see what he has to say (usually not a lot though).
Kimba - sending you through vibes now too - it must be your turn next!!
Rian - bad luck about the false start but hopefully things will get moving again soon.
~Kimba~
04-10-2006, 01:07 PM
WFT is going on with the Bub Hub? I posted in the Sept thread this morning, and then their server crashed or something, so I wasn't able to get back onto the site, till now (been trying on and off for hours). And now my post from this morning has disappeared? :banghead:
Congratulations Ann and Pam and your families on the arrival of your little ladies, and welcome Lily and Olivia! :smiliedance:
Congratulations Kristin and family on the arrival of your little man Ryley!
Oh, I feel so left behind LOL :laughing:
I don't feel quite as emotional, grumpy or teary today as I was yesterday...Not yet anyway! LOL. Maybe because I have another acupuncture appointment at 3pm, and I hope that it might get this bub's butt moving!!! I really thought he would have been here by now...I'm trying not to let it get to me!
Last night I was so sure it was going to be the night, after feeling so emotional and PMS'y all day, I got some stronger period pain about 11pm and was suddenly quite hungry after feeling nauseous all day. But I went to bed then woke up this morning with no further action, not even any 'false labour' contractions yet. Bah.
My life is starting to feel like Groundhog Day! Every day is the same for me: wake up, decide to sleep in a bit, catch up on email/ internet/ Bub Hub/ blogs, clean the house and find things to do, wait for DH to come home, try to pysch myself up thinking 'tonight is gonna be the night!': and then nothing.
My bags have been packed for weeks (and I've repacked them about 4 times already) just sitting by the door, mocking me. I keep getting myself 'ready' - shave legs, wash hair, ensure washing is all done, clean house again, get grocery supplies for DH and Mum for a few days - and I feel all prepared and excited, then nothing happens, and then I have to do it all over again, a few days later. It's getting old, fast!
But what can you do?? This kid clearly has a mind of his own already, and there's not much I can do about it! Welcome to motherhood, heh.
Rian - hope that you're all nice and dilated now and that the real thing happens for you soon!
Ali - good luck with your ob appt today!
Becca - hope you don't have too much longer to wait
Everyone else - lots of labour vibes to those of you who want them, and nice chillout vibes to those of you who don't yet!
I wonder how Lesley is doing - I know she moved house and wouldn't have internet connected for a while - I wonder if her bub has arrived too!
jessgray
04-10-2006, 02:03 PM
congrats to the bubhubbers who have new arrivals
:no: i am still waiting for #2 to come lol braxton hicks are getting really strong and i swear they feel like the real deal sometimes...but no sign of labor coming lol knowing i went 7 days over with ds1 i will probably go over again lol
Kimbaleo- i know how you feel with re-packing your labor bag and just playing the waiting game. i packed mine when i was preg with ds1 at 36 weeks and my bag sat there for 5 weeks lol this time i packed it at 37 weeks and it was only coz my midwife is convinced this bub wants to come early lol my bag is sitting there and DS keeps adding things like his toys and nappies to it lol he thinks its a bag for daycare lol
i am so over being preg lol i want this bub to come already lol
HanCh
04-10-2006, 02:25 PM
Just a quick post to let you all know that I am booked in for a ceasar tomorrow at 4. Have to be at the hospital tomorrow at 9.30 though for pre-op stuff. It is going to be a LONG day!
jessgray
04-10-2006, 02:42 PM
:fingerscrossed: hope all goes well for you ali3099
sending you lots of hugs and good luck vibes hope bubs comes along safely for you
Gumby
04-10-2006, 02:47 PM
Yay Ali- Thats great. Hope it all goes well for you :D
:hugs: Ali - I know that you wanted to avoid a c/s. On the plus side you get to meet your little baby tomorrow. Good luck to you.
Well I'm back from my OB appointment. I was expecting it to be more of the normal..."no problems see you next week", so I was a little surprised when he said that I have test +ive to strep b. I'm not too worried, because I know it's fairly common, it's just that I had planned on staying at home for as long as possible while I was in labour. For dd I was admitted less than 2hrs before I had her. My OB said that they will get me in earlier this time and administer the antibiotics. I didn't have any questions about it then, but now I have a few, do I have to have a drip? Will that prevent me from going in the bath/shower? Will I be able to give birth kneeling like I did with dd? I really do not want to try and give birth lying on a bed. If any of you know the answers to these qns, I'd be grateful. Should there be anything else I ask my OB about this when I see him next week?
Oh as well as that, Dr said that it's a decent sized baby (said that about dd too and she was 8lb2oz), but there was a lot of fluid around the baby which would account for my 'hugeness' (my word, not his :laughing: ) At least that made me feel better about being the size of a house.
Kimba - Has your dr told you when they will induce you if your baby decides to continue to wait? Hopefully he decides to make his grand arrival tonight.
Rian - Bad luck about the false labour. Hopefully it starts again for you soon and this time for real.
I hope everyone else is well.
Sare
Briannabear
04-10-2006, 02:51 PM
Just a quick post to let you all know that I am booked in for a ceasar tomorrow at 4. Have to be at the hospital tomorrow at 9.30 though for pre-op stuff. It is going to be a LONG day!
Sorry to hear you didnt get your vbac Ali. :( But how exciting... you'll be meeting your baby tomorrow! Yay!!!:yes:
jessgray
04-10-2006, 03:03 PM
sare- i was GBS + with ds1 and apart from having a drip during labor hooked up to my arm i didnt feel any different before or afterwards lol i dont know if its doen at every hospitial but my DS had a sign on his crib saying to monitor him for 1st 48 hours for signs of GBS. i am happy that this time round i am not GBS+ coz the lady who put the drip in my arm stuffed it up and it had to be re-done after my hand got all blood covered :thumbsdown:
Crazy Bananas
04-10-2006, 03:11 PM
I'm 26, 27 on the 7th October dd is 4 ds is 2 & ds2 is due on 24th October. Just joined this site. Hope to chat soon.:ecomcity:
di_matt
04-10-2006, 03:33 PM
Good luck Ali for tomorrow, as the others have said atleast you get to meet bubs tomorrow for definite.
Congrats Ikis, I have no idea what time I ended up betting on but atleast you have your little girl.:hugs:
Welcome crazy bananas. Your name suits our bubhub beautifully :laughing:
Well we've had a pretty good day. Took kids shopping and went to movies to see barnyard. Was good to just chill out and have a laugh.
Feeling strangely calm today lol, not in any pain but was up for 5 hours knitting with shocking BH last night. Guess I've hit that plateau(sp) while I wait. Bubs is busy hiccuping away at the moment...will miss them.
Decided I am definitely going to my doc tomorrow to demand another scan to make sure head is down and all is ok......the hospital people have put the wind up me enough to get another opinion.
I couldn't get onto net at all, let alone bub hub...might be something in the air lol.
Have a great arvo all
Claire R
04-10-2006, 04:16 PM
OK - I TOTALLY can't keep up with who has given birth, they are coming sooo quickly.
Any chance one of you techno smarties can start a thread that just has all our names and then our bubba's names and b'days beside it? Then we could each just copy it and add to it for each new arrival - like what we did with the guessing the sex one. I would do it but I don't even know how to use the smilies (someone can explain that to me too if you're totally bored!!)
I've just spent 1.5 hours on a teleconference for work. Don't really mind - as long as I don't have to move this gigantic pregnant body and actually go in to the office it's alright!!
kisses, Claire
Briannabear
04-10-2006, 05:37 PM
Hey all, just a quick post to say I hope you all have a good night! Wishing labour vibes on those who want them!
Ive decided to get accupuncture to maybe help bubby make an appearance. They think it might take a couple of goes so Im having my first treatment tomorrow arvo after my ob appointment.
Hopefully that gets things moving for me. :fingerscrossed: The lady I spoke to sounded very positive about it, which is good!
Oh, and welcome Crazy Bananas!!
~Kimba~
04-10-2006, 06:16 PM
Well my acupuncture was lovely this afternoon. If nothing else it's extremely relaxing: all the stress/ anxiety/ hormonal moodiness I was feeling over the last couple of days has evaporated. Maybe that's the whole point - you have to be relaxed to get things happening! He did a stronger treatment this time and gave me some chinese herbs to take too, so hopefully it will get some results :fingerscrossed:
Becca - yep they do say that you need a couple of treatments, but I'm told that the results can be really good - so I hope it works for you!
Claire - I'll do a birth list thread if you want, got nothing better to do while I wait for this bub to decide he's ready to meet us! :laughing:
Di_Matt - good luck getting a scan tomorrow! Hope bub is head down and all ok. I love the hiccuping too (although in the middle of the night it can be a bit distracting!)
Crazy bananas - welcome! Hope you enjoy being a part of this friendly little group.
Ali - sorry you miss out on your VBAC but how exciting to be booked in for your delivery tomorrow, by this time tomorrow you'll be holding your bub in your arms. Good luck, I hope it all goes really well for you!
Jess - know what you mean about being over it! :laughing:
Sare - not sure how it works where you are delivering, but I know that at the Birth Centre where I'm delivering they do still have mums delivering there who need antibiotics for group B strep (they tell them to come in a bit earlier when in labour so that they can administer it). This Birth Centre is big on natural delivery (including moving around, kneeling, birthing in the bath etc) so I can't imagine that they'd be doing that with mums who had drips in their arms - my point is I guess they must administer the antibiotics a different way? Maybe you could just call your ob and ask, to set your mind at rest...
Nobody has told me when they'll induce me if I go over, because I don't have an ob, and I'm not seeing my shared care GP any more - switched over to seeing the Birth Centre midwives at 36 weeks, and they haven't told me anything at all about induction! II never asked before now because they seemed so sure I'd deliver by my due date, but I did ask them to do an internal and S&S at my last visit (on Sat) and they said they wouldn't do that till next weekend, "if I hadn't delivered by then". But they still didn't mention induction, so I'm none the wiser... don't even know if I can still deliver in the Birth Centre if I do need to be induced. I'm just hoping this acupuncture does the trick! :fingerscrossed:
Sending labour vibes to those who need/ want them - and a good night's sleep to everyone!
Jeffy
04-10-2006, 07:36 PM
Hello all!
Well, I did absolutely stuff-all today. DH took the two sheltie-kids to have their day of beauty (summer haircuts). I will update my avatar with new pics - they look like lambs! We took the car in yesterday to have the wheels aligned and we have buckled one of our alloys (I ran over a kangaroo a couple of months back). It will cost $250 to replace. Thank goodness for the baby bonus! At least we were not hurt at the time. I don't even have a niggle that labour may start anytime soon. I've had plenty of Braxton Hicks, butt-pressure and painful period pain stuff but that's it. My original due date was today and I'm pretty darned sure bub won't be born by Saturday, which is my revised due date. He seems very comfy in there. The only reason I want to hurry him up is because DH started leave this week and only has 4 weeks off. Hurry up, bub! :mad:
Kimbaleo - If I have not delivered by 41 weeks (which I'm sure will be the case!), I have to go back to the hospital and arrange a day to be induced. My hospital tries not to let people go more than 10 days over. Also, thankyou for putting the new thread together.
Briannabear - I have decided I am going to try the dreaded castor oil :barf: on Saturday, myself. I couldn't get in anywhere for acupuncture - good luck with it and I hope it works for you.
Claire R - I always feel paranoid doing teleconferences. I always sit there wondering if there is food on my face or in my teeth - they make me nervous and I talk like a moron as well.
di_matt - I hope you get your scan; I would love another.
Crazy Bananas - Nice to meet you and welcome!
Sare - I wish mine was all fluid but I know it's not! Just think how much your tummy will deflate straight away!
Ali - GOOD LUCK! I hope all goes to plan and that you and bub come out of it happy and healthy.
Well; off to do some pampering and then to watch House.
beck75
04-10-2006, 10:02 PM
Hi Again
Had Ob appointment today which didn't tell me a lot except for the baby is growing well (not too well I hope)! I asked if there is any progress and he basically said the baby could come at any time from now on but would stick with the original due date at this time. He did say that he would not let me go over much if it came down to that which is good.
Kimbaleo - hope your accupuncture works this time! I have got in for an appointment but the earliest I could get is next Monday which is when I pick up my TENS machine so could work out well.
Jeffy - good luck on the castor oil - I don't think I could do it!! When I was doing pilates my instructor said spend as much time on the fit ball that you can - contracting and relaxing your pelvis - as this can also help to get things started. I think I might get mine out of the cupboard!! Other things I have heard are sex, a glass of wine and spicy food. Accupressure is also supposed to help - good luck! and if anything works you will have to let us know!!
Nothing else to report here. No signs that anything will be happening anytime soon. Might go shopping again tomorrow - I can't wait until I can actually buy some clothes to wear (god knows in what size though) - have any of our recent arrivals found they are dropping in size yet??
Anyway I am a bit tired so going to go to bed and start a Suduko until I doze off - doea anyone else hate bedtime? I know that I will be uncomfortable, awake for half the night, develop a sore back and have some freaky and often horrible dreams when I do sleep - days are so much better at the moment!!
SalTheGal
04-10-2006, 10:02 PM
what a busy bunch us october mums are!!! I can't keep up, I log off for 24hours and so much has happened!!
Thanks Kimba for setting up the arrivals thread- I would have no hope of keeping up with everyone otherwise- there are bubs popping out to say hello left right and centre!!!
So: Congrats Ikis on Olivia, Ann on Lily, Kristin on Ryley (so far sorry if i have missed anyone in the last little while)
Goodluck to: Becca for tomorrow, and Ali for tomorrow
Teresa is in there somewhere
Rian hope those labour pangs are starting back up for you- c'mon baby!!
Kimba: sending big labour vibes out to you too- your turn HAS to be coming!!
Welcome Crazybanana- it is a tad crazy here at the moment!!
Well I am not due till 20th, and definitely not expecting bub anytime soon- I think s/he is very comfy- is anyone else going to hang around with me?!?! The way these bubs are coming I feel like there won't be many of us left by then!!
Have finally got the 'cankles' happening here- went shopping with my mum in melb for the day (picked up my wedding dress- yay!!) and haven't been on my feet for that long for ages so am buggered tonight!!
And came home to have a massive irrational blue with DF tonight, so not happy!! He has been having massive mood swings the last few days (maybe pregnancy hormones rubbing off on him?) and I am having so much trouble keeping up with him- unfortunetely he tends to take his bad moods out on me- which really pi**e* me off so he heard it from me tonight- men huh?!?
Have app with doc tomorrow- I am sure it will be more of the usual: bp, fundal height (already 40cms at 37 wks so get out bubby!!), baby heart rate, and thats bout it! In and out 50bucks thankyou very much!!
Then I am coming home to veg on the couch with some chick flicks for the day, trying to have one day of abstaining from housework- I was up at 6 this morning to get stuff done before going shopping- I really need to get a grip!!
Well take care everyone, I will be on sooner next time to catch up on all the news, more babies I suspect.
Good luck to all those labouring, and enjoy your bubbies all new mums.
Enjoy the woes of being heavily pregnant the rest of us!!
HanCh
05-10-2006, 05:58 AM
Hi everyone!! Thank you sooooo much for all your good luck vibes (they actually brought a tear to my eye!!)
Sare I found out I was strp b positive a couple of weeks ago and posted in the pregnancy general chat section asking for advice (I think it got moved to the pregnancy health section though.....) THere was some good advice and a few good links posted so if you want to go searching for that it may help you.....
Crazy Bananas WELCOME!!!!
di_matt Hope your scan goes well and you see what you want to see. Oh, how was Barnyard? DD really wants to see it......
Briannabear Good luck with the acupuncture. I hope it does the trick for you :yes:
Kimbaleo Thinking of you. You must be so over the whole thing. :fingerscrossed: things start to happen soon
Jeffy I hope your bubs comes soon too so your DH cann spend some time with him/her before he goes back to work.....
beck75 I totally agree with you about hating bed time....SOOOOO uncomfortable!!!!!
salthemum2b Goodluck with the DH problems!!! I know we had a few 'issues' in the past few weeks too. I think they are starting to get worried and anxious about the impending birth too which I think contributed to a lot of our arguments, but then Im no psychologist either :o
Hi to everyone I have missed. I think I had better go and start doing some last minute things around the house before I go and meet my baby.
I hope everyone enjoys the next few days and hopefully when I log back on there will be some more baby news!!!!
Ciao xxxxx
Briannabear
05-10-2006, 06:33 AM
Hope your birth goes well today Ali!! :smiliedance: Look forward to hearing your news!
di_matt
05-10-2006, 08:10 AM
Morning All
Just got up and thought I'd jump on before I get ready for Doc.
Hang in there Sal, I'll still be here. This is number 4 and I haven't had one early yet. No good breaking the mould now!!!
Barnyard was excellent....cried twice....once sad, once happy. But then I cry easily these days :D
Good luck to everyone today.
Will post after Doc.....see if I get my way :banghead:
beck75
05-10-2006, 08:15 AM
Good luck Ali!
I had to get up because my back is aching but at least there is hockey on TV to watch. Going to get some breakky and lie on the couch for a while! Might pop in later to update on the news which seems to be pretty consistent in here.
Sal - I think I am going to be here for a while as well. My ob appointments are exactly the same but they are costing me $80 each! With all this money flying out the door the baby bonues doesn't seem like much of a bonus rather working to recoup some of what we have already spent!
Sorry to here of everyone with DH troubles. My DH has been great so I can't complain - I think he is jealous that I can stay in bed when he goes off to work though but at the moment I don't think he would really want to swap with me!
jessgray
05-10-2006, 09:36 AM
:wave: hi all i am still here :laughing:
i have a middie appt today at 12. i am so over the BH i get everyday :thumbsdown: i think it should either turn into real labor or stop completly.its no fun watching house when you are sore. lol
lucy72
05-10-2006, 09:37 AM
Good morning all, just a quickie while bub is sleeping...
Well at 0752 hours on 29 September, Jordan William arrived into the world by c-section! :smiliedance:
He was 10 pound 2 (4.6 kgs), 54 cms long and head circumference of 37.5cm. He had a few problems at birth and struggled to breathe, so was in the special care nursery for nearly 4 days. All okay now.
Just home from hospital yesterday afternoon so have not read any posts.
Can't wait to read up on all the news ahead, will do so in the next day or so when I am all sorted!!!! Will try to attach some photos!
Love
Lucy
jessgray
05-10-2006, 09:46 AM
welcome Jordan William to the world :)
congrats to lucy72 and family on the safe arrival :)
Gumby
05-10-2006, 09:49 AM
WELL DONE LUCY ON THE BIRTH OF JORDON WILLIAM. WHAT A NICE SIZE BUBBA. HOPE YOU ARE SETTLING IN OK AT HOME..
OH I WANT A BIG BUBBA NOW :yelclap:
Congratulations Lucy and welcome to Jordan. I'm glad to hear that he is okay and hopefully you are recovering from your c/s too. :smiliedance:
Ali - Good luck for today. Thanks for the reassurance about the GBS too.
Beck - I am so into doing Sudokus at the moment too. I do a few every night before bed and was awake at 3.30am this morning doing some more. For once it wasn't a pg-related wake up call, just the wind rattling all of our outdoor blinds, and of course I couldn't get back to sleep until after 5am (and dd was awake at 7.30am...I miss my sleep-ins).
Sal - I'll be here with you until the end of October. Even though my belly has dropped, there has been no other sign that he or she is going to come any time soon. My dh was moody when I was pg with dd too (in fact I would almost say that it was close to depression). It turns out that he was so stressed about a job at work and the responsibility of being the sole bread winner, while I stayed at home with kids, that he built himself into such a state that he wasn't sleeping and hardly ate. It was fine when dd was born. Speaking to a few friends, their husbands went through something similar.
Jess & Kimba - Thanks for the advice on strep b. I'm not really worried about it, but some of the stuff that you read on the net can put the fear of God in you, it always seems to focus on the worse case scenario.
Jeffy - Even though there is a lot of fluid in there, I can guarantee you that all the choccie that I have eaten has something to do with me being huge. I'm giving myself 6 weeks to get b/fing established and get into a sleep routine and then I am going back on my sureslim quick loss program. I want to be as close as possible to my pre-pregnancy weight by the time we have the baby baptised (which will probably be towards the end of Feb or early March). Oh and good luck with the castor oil. You are braver than me.
Becca - Good luck with the accupuncture today. :fingerscrossed: it gets things moving for you.
To everyone else - Look after yourself.
Sare
m_jelly
05-10-2006, 10:55 AM
Oh well, I had a big old post ready yesterday and then bubhub went down, so pretend it was really good and made all the full-termers laugh until their waters broke. :rolleyes:
My doc appt yesterday was odd. I'm due tomorrow according to my dates and ultrasound, but the strange woman wrote 39/40 under my gestation, said I have a couple weeks to go, and then declared me to have really low blood pressure and ordered me home to nap.
She's not my real doctor, just some gp the hospital mustered up to help with the middie workload I guess. The fact that she reeked of cigarette smoke does nothing to instil confidence.
So here I am, at home, waiting waiting waiting. Bubs has settled down for the wait too I think, so it can't be too far away. I fed her some chocolate with the promise of more if only she would hurry up and arrive. Dare I say it? I'm bored and lonely and she's not terribly interactive while in my tummy!
Lucy - omg. Wow. My mum has had a couple 10lb babies naturally, but they were numbers 7 & 8, and it really didn't look easy even then. I think you should get a parade just for carrying that load!
Good luck in the coming days for everyone seeking labour, and for those not seeking it - rest up and enjoy it!
jessgray
05-10-2006, 10:55 AM
sare - i know what you mean i read everything and anything on strep b when i was preg with ds1 lol and i was so sacred when i went into labor :laughing: and my mum kept saying "its ok u will just have a drip and u will be fine" but i didnt listen lol
~Kimba~
05-10-2006, 11:05 AM
Congratulations Lucy and family on the arrival of Jordan William, welcome little man!
I was thinking of you Lucy when I did the New Arrivals list yesterday and wondering how you and bub were doing! Wow 10lb - what a nice big bubba - he was Monster Kong after all! Geez you've got me worried now that my bub might be that big...and I'm not having a c-section (unless I have to in the end) :eek:
Good luck for today Ali!
Jeffy I love House too but what's with all the random re-runs? just get on with the new episodes, I say! Good luck with the castor oil. I'm leaving that till I've totally run out of options!
Beck I am so hearing you on dreading bedtime, I find myself staying up later and later each night because I know that I won't be comfortable when I go to bed anyway (and I usually LOVE being in bed). Then I have to get up in the morning because my hips are aching - I can't just lie in and enjoy it. I think that's probably the biggest reason I am getting so fed up - I want to be able to enjoy my bed again, even if it's only in short bursts once bub arrives!
Sal and Beck - sudoku - yep I've been obsessed with them this whole pregnancy, I usually do a couple every night while I'm watching TV, to get me sleepy for bed. I find it helps me relax too - must switch off the thinking/ worrying part of my brain or something LOL. I even dream that I'm doing Sudokus!
Still no labour signs for me :no: seems that all the acupuncture, wine, spicy food, sex, raspberry leaf tabs, evening primrose oil, licorice, acupressure etc in the world ain't shifting this baby...I even thought that I'd tempt fate by booking a plumber to come today (thinking for sure I'd go into labour if I had someone coming to the house!), but even that didn't work, LOL.
My last resort will be asking the middies for a S&S this Saturday (I'll be 41 weeks) and the dreaded castor oil. But I'm also trying to resign myself to probably having to be induced next week and possibly missing out on my Birth Centre/ water birth experience :(
di_matt
05-10-2006, 11:31 AM
Wow Lucy, they did say they thought he was gonna be a big boy :D glad everything worked out and you're now all home together.
Well I didn't get an extra scan. Got to Doc and mine was on holidays.....then the doc replacing him has also gone away ( so much can happen in 3 days lol) so I saw a differet one. He was very thorough and told me that bub is definitely head down but on an angle. He said that's why they had trouble working it out.....
Anyway bub is measuring 36 weeks not 37 according to him but all is well. Heartbeat was good. Apparently due to "extra body fat" the heartbeat is sometimes muffled..that's why they missed that too... I didn't think I was carrying THAT much extra weight:(
Anyway he reckons another scan would be a waste of time & money so I have to come home and relax.... Taking the kids shopping instead :p .
Catch you all later
brideofjabba
05-10-2006, 11:36 AM
Congrats Lucy on the birth of your nice big bub!!! I hope you have a quick recovery and everything goes well.
Claire R
05-10-2006, 11:38 AM
Thanks Kimba for the birth thread...sooo much easier to keep track!!
Congrats Lucy - bet you are soo glad you had a c/s with that size bubba - whoah - surprised he had trouble breathing etc...I thought it was usually small bubba's that did that - very glad to hear he is OK now though. You must have had a few worried hours so sorry to hear you had to go through that.
LOL Beck re: bedtime - DH and I refer to our bed as "The Torture Chamber" because that's how I feel when I look at it and think about having to get in and go thru another night.
Good luck Ali!
That said I did sleep through from 1 to 6 last night which is a record, but then I had to get up and drive DH to the airport!! He is interstate for work for one night and back late tomorrow....OMG I am so scared something will happen while he is away. I said I will go and give birth on his bosses desk if it happens while he is away just to teach him a lesson for sending DH interstate when his wife is 37 weeks preg!! Oh well I am actually kind of fatalistic about the whole thing, if it happens it happens - as long as the anaethetist is there with my epidural - that is one man I do not want to be without!!
My OB seems to be the dearest, I think it's about $80 but as we have hit the medicare safety net we only are out of pocket $8. Luckily she doesn't want to see you very often unless you want to come (or there are probs). I think I have only been 7 or 8 times the whole PG. Even now I am on 2 weekly and only have one last visit before the c/s.
2 weeks today until my baby comes!! CAN"T WAIT!
Briannabear
05-10-2006, 11:55 AM
Congratulations Lucy and family!! :smiliedance: What a big boy!!
Its so scary when they have the breathing troubles isnt it. Glad he's ok now.
My ob appointment went well today. He's not pressuring me for a caesar, which is what I was scared of! He will do another internal next week if nothing has happened before then. So Im keeping my fingers crossed about this accupuncture! :fingerscrossed: :yes:
Kimba - You poor thing. You must be sooooooooo over it! Must have made things too comfy for that little bubba in there! :laughing: My friend took caster oil to get things moving....... and boy did it get things going! Hope it does the same for you!
ourfirstbubba
05-10-2006, 11:58 AM
congratulations Lucy on the birth of your bubba Jordan William!!!!!
good luck Ali!
Well, my due date is today!!!!! But Kimba, like you, not much happening! So girls, keep sending your vibes to Kimba, but include me now too please!!!!!!
I agree with the bed thing, I try and stay up as late as possible on the couch, then when my hubby and I go to bed, its such a mission to get comfortable...and my hips are killing me too Kimba...
last night I woke at 4am and panicked as I usually can feel bub moving, but this morning bub was terribly quiet, so I nudged and nudged but nothing...has anyone else panicked like this??? So i got up and had a cold glass of water and a chocolate lollie and I felt a little nudge from bub..I was able to go back to sleep after that......
well, I have just put a small load of washing on..I seem to be doing something everyday "just in case"...the house has never looked better! but I am sick of the waiting, I just want to have this bubba!
Is anyone worried about what it will feel like when their waters break??? I guess for me, I am curious what it will be like...actually, I am getting nervous about the whole labour thing, its the not knowing that worries me.......
well I am going to have to log on more often, sorry there arent too many personals.....
enjoy your day girls, and Kimba, :fingerscrossed: for you and me that our bubs are here soon!
Briannabear
05-10-2006, 12:13 PM
Mary - (((((((((((((((Sending you big labour vibes too!!!)))))))))))))))
On the waters thing, only my hindwaters broke at home, so it was more like a constant trickle rather than a gush. But when they actually broke my waters in hospital there was like this 'pop' feeling then it just gushed out. It didnt stop gushing, and every time I moved it would gush more!:eek: My DH says it was about the only time during my whole labour and birth that sent him queesy! :laughing:
SalTheGal
05-10-2006, 12:18 PM
Congrats Lucy- and welcome to Jordan!!
Glad to hear he is all well now- sounds like you had a bit of a fright early on.
Had my App this morning- nothing to report, boring boring, though Doc is concerned bout my weight gain over the last few weeks- she thinks it is mostly fluid, and has sent me off for another blood test to keep an eye on pre eclampsia- I'm not concerned though, feeling fine!
Sare- thanks for the re assurance bout DF, it's nice to know someone else has gone through it and there is light at the end of the tunnel!!!
Ok so now sending labour vibes to Kimbaleo and ourfirstbubba- :fingerscrossed: to you both- c.mon babies, come out now!!!!
Watching some DVD's today- making it my mission to sit on the couch and veg all afternoon- even though I have a list of things running through my head that I want to be doing (cleaning out closet, brushing dog, weeding etc).
Sounds like I am lucky in the bed front- my DF and I have resorted to seperate beds for the last month or so, which I hate being apart from him, but it makes sleeping so much easier as I can spread out and position my trillion pillows strategically, I am coping ok with sleeping- but hips and pelvis are so sore in the mornings so not avoiding that.
Take care everyone, enjoy the rest of your day.
Claire R
05-10-2006, 12:47 PM
A friend told me about when her waters broke it was the weirdest thing - she said she was looking down at her belly and literally watching it "deflate". Lord!!
Ok Mary adding you to my vibing along with Kimba and anyone else who wants them... Just don't anyone send me any until DH is safely back in town - oh and we have tickets to see Dave Hughes tomorrow night so maybe not 'til after that either (fussy aren't I). Maybe I will laugh myself into labour!
jessgray
05-10-2006, 12:56 PM
hello all i am back from my appt with my middie
bubs has had a growth spurt and now is measuring 35cm. my BP is on the low side again which explains why i felt a bit dizzy getting into the lift on my way to the appt lol bubs is still engaged and ready to go. i dont have another appt till 16/10 lol if bubs isnt born before then :laughing:
i weighed myself and i now weigh 62.45kg so so far this pregnany i have put on 18.85kg lol with ds1 i put on 25.5kg
i so want bubs to come out then i wont have these darn BH pains to put up with :laughing:
jessgray
05-10-2006, 12:58 PM
salthemum2b- we sleep in seperate beds too. i sleep in the lounge room on the futon with ds1 lol and dp is in the bedroom lol. i dont mind :D i have a heater for cold nights and a tv for when i cant sleep hehehe
M~T~J~M
05-10-2006, 02:29 PM
Wow!!! So many posts in such a short time!! I had about 5 pages to get through!!
Lucy - A huge congrats to you and your Dh on the arrival of Jordan! Such a nice healthy size for a first bub. Good to hear that all is sorted with his breathing and thet you are now at home. Hope things are well.
Salthemum2b & Jessgray - I find too, that when I sleep in DS1's bottom bunk, I pretty much sleep straight through!! Although, I can't complain much about the last couple of nights as I have only been getting up minimal times, and am finding it quite easy to get back to sleep, thank god....I am waking up with that horrific hip pain though! Ouch!! I have had to introduce a few extra pillows into the bed too!!
ClaireR - How you desrcibed wht your friend said about her tummy after her waters broke....So true!! It is such the weirdest look, you can almost see the entire outline of bubs in there....well, I could anyway! Sort of like a balloon going down, lol!
Kimba - You still here??? I order you to have your baby now!! Hopefully, that will scare the little bubs out, lol!! I am dreading going over, but I guess bubs will arrive when good and ready. I know it must be getting frustrating now!
Sare - I was GBS + with DS2... I had the little thing in my arm where they administered the antibiotics, but I