View Full Version : Baby surname - and yours...
rainbow road
26-09-2011, 08:32
What surname have you or are you going to give your baby? Yours, your partners? Both?
I think I want the kids to have DPs surname as it's nicer (IMO) than mine, but I want to have the same as them! If we hyphenated it'd be too long, but would it be weird if hyphenated my surname to include hers?
Then she and the kids would just be A--------- but I'd have the A surname as well as my own.
I have a long name mum included her last name and dads plus hyphenated my first two names it goes something like this excuse the blank outs dont want it splattered all over lol ...... U***-L** H****-H***** The only issue i have with it is that when they want you to write your name on a form the line is never long enough. Its not weird just unsual :)
Loulabelle
26-09-2011, 09:19
We gave our DD my partners surname. I plan (and just haven't got round to) changing my surname by d poll. My partner and I had a Civil Union ceremony at the British Consulate in Sydney 4 years ago and I have been meaning to change my surname ever since. I really want all if us to have the same family name especially with bubba #2 coming in March. Hope that's helpful xx
sweetseven
26-09-2011, 09:26
Personally I think you should give the children both names, but you can simply choose to use one name for most things (school, centrelink, medicare, etc).
If the unexpected ever happens and you break up, you'll not be left feeling left out because the children only have your [then former] partners name.
rainbow road
26-09-2011, 09:27
Thank you for your comments!
DP and I aren't really keen to get married (heaps of reasons why, even though I'm a Brit and she's a Swede so we can legally do so in either country/consulate), does it seem weird to want to take her surname anyway?
I would love to have it, it's the Swedish variant of a fairly common surname and I think it's lovely. I know I can change it by deed poll anyway, but I wonder if her family would find it odd?
They love me, so I doubt it...but I do want us all to have the same last name, even if it's just a little part the same.
rainbow road
26-09-2011, 09:29
Other thing is, our favourite names sound terrible with my surname :laughing:
Hi there, our little people will have both our names. We will hyphenate my DP's surname then mine. We have decided to do this as our first names are very similar (infect they are pronounced the same, but spelt differently), so for everyone to have the same name would be way too confusing!
SassyMummy
27-09-2011, 18:12
You could always create your own surname.
Friends of my mother's are a gay couple, and after their civil ceremony, they changed their name (I think it's a combo of both surnames... so for Brown and Jones it might have been Brones or something... that's not what it was though). Any kids they have together will get that same surname.
I think that's a really sweet idea tbh... and I'd do it even as a straight person.
ontheway
30-09-2011, 17:09
We have hyphenate our surname by deed poll, much easier in our veiw.
alwaysinthekitchen
05-10-2011, 15:29
Hey there,
We have a little blue bundle arriving in Feb next year and both my partner and I have the same last name (she took my surname and changed her name by Deed before we started TTC). So when the little guy comes along we will all have the same surname.
Me and DP are having the same discussion at the moment. I like her surname better than mine as it is a bit more exotic :) but I also feel a bit weird having a baby and not having the same surname - though I also see it as a nice way to bond non bio mum and bubs. I thought about changing my name to DPs surname too but I'm not sure. Hyphening the two sounds band said aloud. Plus we wanted to give the baby two middle names and that would be waaaaay to much name for anyone!
Id like to know people find it when they change their name to DPs surname with DPs family? I wonder how DPs mum would react. She loves me like a daughter but even so...
Jessandmeltrappel
07-11-2011, 13:25
I'm changing my surname to my dp. I don't care what the family thinks. Were getting married. And it makes us feel more like a family. We cant wait to be " the trappels".
It's only $120 to change.
Plus means all our babies would be trappel automaticaly. And your right. Means non bio mum feels like she has some connection.
I say. Change ur name.
rainbow road
07-11-2011, 13:29
Yep, we've decided I'm going to change my name by deed poll to A-n-d-e-r-s-s-o-n and all our bubbas will have that last name too.
Gf and I are still figuring it out. We've got a while before baby :fingerscrossed: is born. We don't like the patriarchal nature of our inherited surnames, but not 100% sure about making one up either. Maybe if we think of a good one...
PS - sorry for all the thread necromancy - I'm new...
rainbow road
16-03-2012, 15:25
Welcome kite :)
Hers&Hers
17-03-2012, 16:25
we both dont want to change our last names, I thought of it when we married last year but nah, so kids have both names
DS has DH's surname. I use DH's surname too, but haven't legally had it changed yet. Sure, we got married three years ago. But having a marriage certificate doesn't change your name. You still have to legally change it through dpoll! (I didn't know that until after I was married *chuckle*).
I'm too lazy to change my name legally, and if I'm honest it's never caused me any problems. I've been through lots of official channels with my married name and no one has asked for official documentation that it was ever changed so yeah heh.
So any and all of our children will/have DHs surname, rather than mine. My maiden name is flipping ugly anyway if you ask me, and a lot of people get confused that a very celtic looking woman from a family of the same (pale skin, freckles, you get the idea) could have a Serbian surname. Don't ask, it takes a lot of explaining hahaha.
Buttoneska
17-03-2012, 17:31
We both changed our surnames and our kids will have the new one, do we all be the same.
No reason you can't hypernate yours or everyone's.
Sorry just realised this is same sex section, on my phone and it won't let me delete?
sandy_1902
17-03-2012, 18:15
At the moment each child has a different one lol
One has mine and one has Dh's
going to get them both hyphenated eventually as well as mine
My DS has my last name my DD has xDPs last name asked DS If he wanted to change his last name he flat out said no so I kept my last name same as his n
babystepswa
30-03-2012, 21:42
That's exactly what my wife and I did, she changed her surname to mine a year after we were married in Canada, so we now have one family name which our child will have as well.
imthemomma
03-06-2012, 22:05
My partner and I are both changing our surname to a new one so we didn't have to choose (neither of us particularly liked ours anyway). It's awkward to explain to friends and family who think it's a ridiculous idea, but much easier when it comes to our babies, when we finally get pregnant!