View Full Version : Single Mums who study

30-09-2006, 20:24
I was just wondering if there were any single mummys out there that study and if so how the heck did u find time to do it... did u do it FT or PT???? How did you manage to cope

Im looking at going back to do year 12 through adult re entry next year and I have no idea what im in for :laughing:

Cheekychops
30-09-2006, 20:26
good on you!!!! I imagine it will be a bit tough - but if you put your mind to it you will be fine.....is it one you can do externally??? Cause I reckon they are the best!!!

Cheekychops
30-09-2006, 20:26
oh and I would most definately make it PT

30-09-2006, 20:27
good on you!!!! I imagine it will be a bit tough - but if you put your mind to it you will be fine.....is it one you can do externally??? Cause I reckon they are the best!!!

Unfortunately I can't do it externally but I know I can do some night classes

Cheekychops
30-09-2006, 20:28
you may find day classes would be better - if you are going to put dd into care.... then after she's asleep at night you can study!

MissBrightside
30-09-2006, 20:44
and if you put your dd into childcare ring centrelink about JET. You can get really cheap childcare. $2 a day. Which is a huge help to single parents.

Amberlea
30-09-2006, 21:12
Hunt around different campuses when you are looking to do your course and make sure they will allow you to take a p/t place... I went to do my Degree in Child Protection last year only to be told that I wasn't elligible for a P/T place as I didnt have special needs - since when doesnt a single parent class as 'having special needs"?!!
Needless to say - I couldnt do my course.

(note: Jet childcare rebate only lasts for 12 weeks - it isnt an ongoing thing, and it also depends on how much your childcare centre charges per day as to how much your out of pocket expenses will be. You will, however, be entitled to the normal childcare rebate though for the entire time your bubs is in care - once again - the cost of the centre is what determines what you actually have to pay. Even with my Jet rebate - I was still paying $10 a day - now Im back up to $30.. so its all about the centres fees)

Lirael
30-09-2006, 21:22
i know of a few places that do a year twelve equivalent by correspondence. ill find the numbers tomorrow, and yeah its hard but im lucky both mine sleep during the day.

my jet childcare lasts the entire course duration and for the first six months i work. oh and it costs me $2.40 a day per child

SimplyMum
01-10-2006, 06:48
I'm a single Mummy, and I'm currently studying Accounting. I do it at Tafe, part-time night time. I didn't want to put my DS in day care for 3 days a week and night time was the time that was least going to impact DS as I go to tafe at 6 and he goes to sleep at 7- I didn't want to miss out on too much. My parents look after him for 3 nights a week.
When do I find time to study? Sometimes it can be pretty tough I must admit. I study when DS has his day naps, and at the moment he goes to daycare 1 day a week, so I use that day as my study day. I'm also looking at going back to work 2 days a week. When am I going to study when I go back to work? Well, I will study on lunch breaks and if and when I have an important exam/assi8gnment I will ask my Mum/Dad/Sister to mind DS for a few hours over the weekend so I can get some study done.
Looking back on it, my life seems pretty full- maybe it's a good thing I'm single- I wouldn'y have time for a partner!! I also play softball on the weekend.:D

01-10-2006, 06:57
thanks for all the input girls

kailensmum
16-10-2006, 13:05
I'm studying Justice Admin p/t at night cos i didn't want to miss out on all the daytime fun with grub. my oldies look after him and if i need extra time to do study/assignments (which i should be doing now!!!) then my mum takes him out for the day. but i generally do it when he's having his daytime sleep and on weekends when i can let him loose with my parents.

polony
29-10-2006, 16:53
Hey!
I am studying education full-time.
Yeah, it's full on but it is possible.
Day-care is a god-send as is JET! With them, I could not do it. I manage to do assignments when DD has a nap, late at night, and during breaks at uni. Sometimes I just don't have time to do an assignment (like when DD chucks a tantrum and whacks the keyboard) but mostly I try and organise myself to have time to do the assignments. Prac was hard but 3 weeks passed quickly enough.
I wish you all the luck and YOU CAN DO IT!

Veritas
29-10-2006, 17:44
Hey hun...

I am studying B. Bus PT but going to FT next semester... along with training to become a doula... but thankfully both are by correspondence...

I take every opportunity while bubs is sleeping to do uni work... which is both during the day and night...

My nan is taking her when I have my exams but other than that I work around Pip's routine...

Best of luck... doing something for yourself is very rewarding!

tictac
07-06-2007, 00:00
I am in awe of you girls. Good on you!

I will be starting a course next year and am a bit apprehensive. My mum will be helping with caring for my bb but I am expecting it to be quite a challenge, having to be very disciplined and not having a life esp cos I will be working part time as well.

Lirael
07-06-2007, 07:08
it is hard, but you will do it. I have a 2.5 year old and a 4.5 year old and i manage with no help form anyone, so it can be done. though i do distance ed and take my time lol