View Full Version : No pram?

VanessaJ
23-09-2005, 23:18
Anyone out there get by happily without a pram?

My driveway is long and steep (that's Tassie!). I reckon I won't be walking up it in the first few weeks - all walks will involve a little drive first, to get to some flattish ground. So, wouldn't it be easier to just use a sling / carrier, and not bother with a pram? (fold it, into the boot, out of the boot, unfold it, then all in reverse to get home).

I'd like to think once I'm recovered enough to tackle the driveway I will have walked enough on the flat carrying bub that I'll be able to carry bub up driveway. And continue to walk carrying bub for exercise - hopefully fitness grows as fast as bub . . . .

Then get a stroller (light) once bub is 6 months or so.

Am I fooling myself? Is it unrealistic to think we don't really need a pram?

drewid
24-09-2005, 06:25
I think you are on the right track! i wish i hadnt bothered buying a pram! i think a stroller and sling would do just fine...

Refresh
24-09-2005, 07:10
Yep, bub is 15 months now and we have used our pram maybe 5 times....He lived in the sling for the first 12 months - I found it sooooo much easier to get around and he preferred it too.

No, I dont think you are fooling yourself! :D

AM
24-09-2005, 07:32
I too have only used a pram rarely, we were given one, there is no way I would buy one, a sling did wonderfully, well, still does, and ds is 19 months old.

jembelina
24-09-2005, 07:35
Sorry guys, I disagree!! I felt really uncomfortable using the sling and bub didn't really like it either. I never found the pram to be a hassle at all - I love that you can hang your bag full of stuff on it and shove stuff underneath. Also, i found it much easier when feeding or changing bub for him to be in the pram while I got organised - imagine trying to get your boob out with bub balancing on your lap. Personally,I couldn't live without it. But, different things work for different people. You can always buy a pram after bub is born if you decide you do want one.

wattle
24-09-2005, 08:48
I've thought about getting a stroller now (ds is 8 months), but where would I put all my stuff? And what if ds wanted to have a sleep while I was out shopping? I think I'll be sticking with the pram for a while.

I think you get used to whatever you have. You could always start without a pram, and then if you find you want one get one later. I found the slings great for short trips and early on, but too heavy and awkward for a long trip or shopping.

JanetF
24-09-2005, 10:55
I think it's really worth looking around as long as possible to find a pram. I mostly used a sling with my son (he's still happy in it at 22 months) and checked out the designs of lots of prams before I bought one - on special ;) They are excellent for carrying groceries! There is nothing more convenient and portable than a breastfed baby in a sling! All you need to carry is nappies and off you go! Yippe :D

LucyE
24-09-2005, 12:42
Different things work for different people :) If you don't feel like you'd get use out of a pram, don't feel pressured into buying one. I would suggest you do your research on slings/carriers before buying one because some of them are literally a pain in the neck. I personally love my ring sling (from Carrying Away (www.carryingaway.com) and got a lot of use out of my BabyTrekker (http://www.cleverpants.com.au/shop/item.asp?itemid=9). The benefit of the sling is that you can breastfeed while bub is in it and you can keep walking.

They are excellent for carrying groceries! Hee hee! That's what happened on my first solo expedition with DS and the pram around 6wks! Things we learn - don't wake a sleeping baby and expect them to resettle on their own (eg. in the pram) in a busy shopping centre :)

Refresh
24-09-2005, 13:50
Yeah, I DEFINATELY second the recommendation to check out a few slings before you buy! Alot of the more "commercial" type ones are very uncomfortable. I also find my ring sling fantastic! The Mei Tai slings are great too.

Best of luck!! :D

Mumoffour
26-09-2005, 06:34
i had a ring sling thing that i bought from an op shop for 4 bucks for my bubba- its like a little hammock that you wear across your front. BEST purchase i made. also had the 400 buck u beaut stroller that didnt get used at all until he was about 8 months old. I would definatly use the sling and then buy a stroller later- the limo pram is parked in the garage and i use an umbrella stroller in the car for shopping. u know what they say about hindsight being 20/20, :rolleyes:

VanessaJ
26-09-2005, 20:40
Thanks for the feedback ! I guess for the cost of a pram I can afford to trial a few different slings (esp now that Ebay exists . . .)

I'm just a bit nervous that if I decide I want a pram after bub is born, I won't have the energy or brain power to make a sensible choice at that time. (Given I'm in 2nd trimester now, I have lots of energy and (I hope) some brain power . . .??)

Prams seems so ubiquitous (sp?), it's good to hear that there are people who have happily not needed one.

Merlion
26-09-2005, 21:16
I love my pram. I don't have a license and I use my pram all the time especially when I have to go shopping everything goes at the bottom and goes on the bus, train etc with no problems. Without a pram I wouldn't go walking and using a sling (I have a Baby Bjorn and only recently acquired a ring sling) would be to inconvenient. We have a stroller to which I use when out with hubbie.

zenifa
27-09-2005, 02:25
I had my DD six weeks ago and have used my pram for walks to the local shop and around the neighbourhood and for long trips to shopping centres.
I use the sling (www.babasling.com) for short trips such as grocery shopping, my baby clinic appts and visiting friends etc, as its convenient to have my hands free and having had a caesar I could only use the pram when someone was with me to lift it in/out of car etc. Also when bub is small and so portable the sling seems easier and quicker, but I guess as she gets older/heavier I will use the pram more. I got the sling as a gift and got the pram on sale for $100, so if you shop around you can have both and not be too much out of pocket. Good luck Z

27-09-2005, 08:48
Slings are great but I only used mine for around 4 months as bub was extra big :p didnt have the strength to lug the boy around LOL :D . So the pram really came in handy but your right about the ackwardness of a pram I've got two one whopper three wheeler (for long walks in the park) and one tiny little stroller for public transport (we only have one car!) the 3 wheeler is really hard to get in and out of the car but on the up side it is FAB(lots of room to put things, very smooth ride for bub and us) while the tiny one is compact and easy to get in car but doesnt provide the best for storage/comfort etc

Best of luck with finding what works for you :)