View Full Version : Who babysits for you midweek?
TinyStar
28-09-2006, 11:17
OK I'm stuck, I need ideas.
I normally arrange my life so that either DH or mayself can look after the kids. If caught in a bind I can occassionally turn to my mum for a hand.
I have a docs appointment that I really shouldn't take my kids too, I tried a few places but none would see me outside normal office hours.
So I asked my DH (no leave, newish job) mum (couldn't get appointment during school hols, mum is a teacher) dad (OS on business trip) neighbour who loves dd to bits (sorry no) friend who doesn't work (stressed out and pregnant, no) another friend (bad day no).
So who looks after your kids if you need midweek? Friends, family, agency babysitter,
Or are there a lot of you out there like me who have few options and just end up taking your kids everywhere even if you'd rather not.
28-09-2006, 11:30
I take them with me....... my sister has had them once but she has her hands full as it is with her new bub.
I have only got my cousin who has a nearly 3 year old and who is 21 weeks pregnant, and my SIL who works 3 days a week. My Mum has just started work full time. Bodhi goes to kindy 2 days a week so i try to get my appointments on those 2 days, that way i only have Nix to take with me.
Good luck with finding someone :thumbsup:
I dont have anyone here really... my mum and dad work full time, my sister has a newborn, my other sister works and is studing, but she has him sometimes. DH works full time too... but i try and book everything around daycare (mon & wed) if thats not possible, i take him with me...
EskimoMumma
28-09-2006, 11:42
If dire and i know i shouldnt take my chjildren, i try and arrange for friends to have them and of course i come back with food or something they need because i feel bad, but i am MORE than willing to return the favour.
If friends cannot, then i will get my brother out of work, pay him some money and get him to tag along and wait witht he kids in the waiting room.:o
If i get MIL to do it, i gotta drive 2.5-3hrs round trip for the kids to be watched.. thats tiring and expensive. (for ppl in melbourne, thats werribee to frankston)
If i cant get anybody, i just miss out :cool:
chloes_mum
28-09-2006, 11:44
I have friends from playgroup, another friend who works as a nanny through an agency (hehe i don't have to pay her though) My FSIL works part time or the local community centre runs a program a ouple of days a week called take a break where the kids can go for a couple of hours and it only costs $9. I am pretty well covered and never have a problem finding someone to watch her.
FourAngelKisses
28-09-2006, 12:00
My kids go everywhere with me, Dr's appointments, bank appointments, they came to counselling sessions when I was having those, pap smears, lol, the lot. Oh the joys of having no babysitter.
babylover111
28-09-2006, 12:10
You can drop them off with me :thumbsup:
Hubbie works, I work, my parents work and in-laws work. Jess is in daycare but yesterday when jess was sick and eventhough mum has wed off i took a day off as my grandparents are both pretty sick (grandpa is dying a slow painful death from cancer) and I had no friends who weren't working. normally mum looks after jess if im in a bind or she comes with me
Cheekychops
28-09-2006, 12:30
I usually do everything with the kids.......or not do it - which is not always healthy when it comes to stuff like chiro etc.......It's getting easier now with DS1 at school.
My kids go everywhere with me, Dr's appointments, bank appointments, they came to counselling sessions when I was having those, pap smears, lol, the lot. Oh the joys of having no babysitter.
I know the feeling. Every tried going to the dentist and having a restless toddler sit on top of you while you are having dental work done? She wouldn't stay in the pram and was scared they were hurting me.
FourAngelKisses
28-09-2006, 14:09
I know the feeling. Every tried going to the dentist and having a restless toddler sit on top of you while you are having dental work done? She wouldn't stay in the pram and was scared they were hurting me.
Can't say I've done that, but I have had to take a 17mth old and a 7yr old to my daughters orthodontic appointment and constantly tell them both to stop touching things and the 17mth old was throwing things. :gloomy:
A girl round the road had a baby two days after me and the theory was that we would help each other out, except now her mother has come to live there and she has gone back to work.
It doesn't matter at this stage because I can't leave bubby with anyone yet anyway (I'm not ready), but in the future its going to be difficult.
That said, if anyone round Liverpool way in NSW needs their bubba minded while they go to the dentist etc, pm me. I am home all day and I am a very nice lady :yes: and I would be happy to help out a fellow hubber.
Blessed Mum
28-09-2006, 14:33
I usually only like to leave my two with DH. Sometimes m-i-l or s-i-l offer to mind them or if I ask they don't mind. When we go to visit my parents (different town) they find all the excuses under the sun to mind them for a while, which I love but usually I don't like to leave them much. Now Ds is older its ok but with DD I'm still funny about it.
Luckily I have my mum to help me out, she only works part time!
well, i either take them with me or wait until dh is home- usually i only have 1 to take, as the other 2 are in school.... if they are not at home during SCHOOLHOLIDAYS...(do you think i am OVEr the holidays??????):laughing: :laughing:
our little treasures
28-09-2006, 16:18
The kids come or Dh's watches them or I just don't go!!! Simple.........
TinyStar
28-09-2006, 16:31
lol I had an ultrasound at 34 weeks, with my DD lying across my chest and she feel asleep.
I'm glad I'm not the only one out there who takes their kids to all places, you guys have made me feel much better
Surely the doc wont mind my two screaming the place down whilst she puts in an IUD :laughing:
If I dont go, it'll be 3 kids to find a baby sitter for next year...............:(
FourAngelKisses
28-09-2006, 16:48
Take their favourite toys from home to keep them busy. Works for me with Matthew 9 times out of 10.
TinyStar
28-09-2006, 16:50
Thanks Angel Kisses I'll try that one
FourAngelKisses
28-09-2006, 17:30
No worries :)