View Full Version : Huggies Nappies

channy
23-09-2005, 13:36
I know we had a thread awhile ago about the quality of huggies nappies but at that stage I had no complaints about them. Lately I have been finding that only after a couple of hours I go to change my 6mth old ds and his body suit is wet and sometimes it has soaked through all of his clothes. I thought at first maybe the size is too big and it is getting out the side but I moved back down th the infant size and still the same thing is happening. Has anyone else had this problem? I want to try Snugglers but they only come in a bulk pack so don't want to waste my money incase they are no good. I have never had a complaint with huggies up until now. Thanks.

Chantell
Malakai (22 March 2005)

23-09-2005, 13:39
Hi! I use Snugglers through the day & huggies at night! I havn't had any probs with either! Infact I would chose snugglers over all the other cheaper brand nappies! :D
Becky

LittleBoysRock
23-09-2005, 13:42
Hi Chantell,

I know Huggies are normally great but I have had the same prob and recently swapped to Snugglers. They are just as good I think. They seem to be thinner but hold everything they should just the same way. Bonus that they are heaps cheaper!

23-09-2005, 14:42
I used to swear by huggies, then decided to try Baby Love as they weren't as big as the Huggies Infant size. I had a bag of Huggies given to me recently so was using those again only to have the same issues as you. Give Baby Love a try, you can get small bags from Woolies I think.

RB

Kerry35
23-09-2005, 15:28
Like Becky, I use Snugglers during the day and Huggies at night.

I found that the Huggies nappy was leaking when I didnt pull out the edge of the nappy completely, either that, or I wasnt wrapping the front of the nappy across the front firmly enough. I have'nt had any problems really with Huggies once I
recified the above.

Have you thought about contacting the company that makes Huggies to complain about your experience. :rolleyes:

Just a thought. As you say, they're supposed to be the "best" on the market and should'nt be leaking as much as you say they do.

Good luck! :D

Proud Mum to DS4 & DD4 months

Kerry

DustyPeach
23-09-2005, 15:38
Personally I have always used Lullaby they come in bulk packs and are the nicest reasonably priced nappies I have found. I was given snugglers and huggies when she was smaller and found no real difference except with the price. Best value for dollar I say, where you can save and have the same result go for it. We also had the problem of DD wetting through the nappy at various times including night. She is a HUGE wetter (kind of makes me wince when I think of toilet training). When this happened we used it as an indicator that we needed to go to the next size up and that usually solved the problem. At night we put two disposables on her. She has a tendency to sleep for 12-14 hrs of a night and only has one nap during the day for a hour to hour and a half. Way too active for sleep during the day :eek: my big girl. Hope this helps.

wattle
23-09-2005, 16:04
Yes, I've been finding bub with a damp bum lately too, :eek: and he has had the crystals on his skin too - they must be leaking out of the nappy. It's not always when the nappy is really full either. :(

I might try another brand.

23-09-2005, 17:19
I have always used Huggies (day/night) but a couple of months ago DS started waking up from sleep (at night) all soaked, pj's and sleeping bag etc. Now I put two nappies on him at night and it doesnt leak through.....but really I should'nt need to put two on him they should make them better :mad:

dee dee
23-09-2005, 17:23
My dd has always been a bit wetter and leaker :mad: We have tried many nappies and have found huggies to be the worst offender even though they are the most expensive :confused: Since switching to baby love we have hardly had any "accidents"

jessica
23-09-2005, 19:45

Have heard alot of complaints about Huggies lately - this really annoys me because me they cost so much and are supposedly the best! We have also found alot of the absorbent crystals on bub's bum and she seems to be getting nappy rash more often - I'm going to email HUGGIES right now and complain - it's not good enough!! :mad:

razzle
23-09-2005, 20:21
I complained to Huggies a while back about the leaking issue and got a standardised reply and no offer of replacement. I was really annoyed. I've switched to Snugglers during the day (don't like BabyLove) and Huggies at night time with a Bebe insert in them. Haven't had a leak since. Eloise sleeps 12-14 hours through too.

drewid
24-09-2005, 05:31
Hmm I recommend Snugglers as well. I didn't like Babylove at all. And Huggies were great in the newborn size, but the larger sizes didn't do it for us.

Andrew is in Snugglers day and night and sleeps through for 12 hours at night without a hitch!

Ky
25-09-2005, 10:36
If you want to try snugglers and don't want to buy a bulk pack straight off ... try buying a small packet of woolworths/safeway homebrand nappies. They are very similar to snuggler and I switched to them a while back and have found them just as good if not better!

I too don't like huggies ... I bought some newborn ones before my dd was born thinking that I was getting the very best for her and then found that her clothes constantly felt damp! I very quickly switched to another brand (treasures, NZ brand) and didn't have the dampness problem anymore!

I have tried nearly every brand available in Australia as I couldn't get Treasures once I moved over here. I have come to the conclusion that the homebrand nappies are the best, followed by snugglers and aldi nappies in close second place. I use the homebrand ones for economic reasons as well as thier quality and will continue to do so until there is a significatnt change in them that I don't like (or my little man is finally toilet trained!).

talon
25-09-2005, 13:49
i contacted snugglers quite a while ago about getting a sample to try and unfortunately they don't make samples. i have tried them though and they seem to work ok.

i also contacted babylove for samples of there nappies and i received 1 x 2 pack newborn nappies, 1 x toddler nappy and there cruisers disposable change mats to try out. if you want to request a sample of babylove to try, email them at the address below and send your details to them explaining you are looking to change brands and want to try out some of there nappies etc etc...

babylovefeedback@appp.com.au

i have also received a sample of the Drynites Pullups (when they are a bit older) from the following:

http://www.drynites.com.au/help/request_sample.asp

I have found babylove to be ok also, a bit smaller then Huggies. At the moment I use toddler size in huggies but crawler in Babylove. I have found that you get those little crystals a lot more in the babylove nappies though.

H&B'sMum
25-09-2005, 13:54
This may be a silly thing to say but I had problems with Huggies when DS was really little. We worked out that his penis was facing towards the side of the nappy rather than down. That may help for all the sons but it still doesn't explain the problems with the daughters. I used to use Snugglers during the day and huggies at night was happy with it expecpt the money I was forking out each month, but have now changed to cloth all the time, no leaks at all and no having to fork out the money each month.

Snugglepot
26-09-2005, 11:13
Just because they were not mentioned, I have found the Coles Farmland nappies to be fantastic with DS. We also had the leaking problem to start and you do need to face the willie downwards! He grew out of leaking when he got to about 8 pound in weight. Not sure what the deal was but Huggies, Baby love and teddy bear nappies were all hopeless to begin with.

SMBT
26-09-2005, 12:43
I too have found that the new huggies are horrible. I was using Huggie consistently with my little girl (4 months) and by 2 months, she had the most awful nappy rash. I switched to Baby Love and Coles brand. Both are fantastic. They do need changing a bit more regularly because the nappy fills up more quickly but no more nappy rash.

I have only experienced crystals with Baby Love once a couple of nights ago, she was really really wet.

Also if anyone lives around Amcal pharmacies. They have been having great specials on Baby Love every week for the past 3 weeks. All sizes $10.99 compared to $15 something in the bigger supermarkets. :)