View Full Version : to the mums who chose electives

natasha
27-09-2006, 07:57 PM
Okay, im sick of people going on and on.....and on, about how stupid and awful we are for having elective c sections. Im sick of them ramming all their facts and statistics down our throats. So, here is a thread for us who have had electives , where we can come and share our wonderful experiences.:thumbsup:

I personally had my c section because i didnt want anything the size of a watermelon coming out of me 'that'way and stretching and tearing everything down there.

I loved my c section and would have another one in a heartbeat. It was the best thing in the world! I loved the feeling of them tugging around and pulling her out! I love that i can look down at my scar and remember her coming out of me and what a special time it was. I just love it!

I love that i looked good straight after i had her. Shallow yes, but i dont care, im being honest! There was no sweating and screaming and kinky frizzy hair, making my poor husband watch me go through labour!

Anyway, anyone else like to share their POSITIVE c section exprience?

annb
27-09-2006, 08:02 PM
yes yes me me...im pretty much the same as you sick of all the people saying how its MAJOR abdominal surgery, should only be done in an absolute emergency, how its just terrible that people should even consider having a c/s as its just not natures way....man it does my head in!!! i reckon its mad to consider pushing something out!!
i had a very good c/s and in 3mths am having another, yes I asked my obs the pros and cons and he gave me both sides to it, for me it wasnt a hard decision....i was driving in 3wks, up and walking around very easily the next day....i wasnt exhausted after 12hrs of labour and had a lovely meal out the night before, up at 6am, born at 8am..having a cuppa at 10am!!
no c/s are not for everyone but goddam at least let us choose what method we want without critisicing us!!

Lirael
27-09-2006, 08:13 PM
Thanks for starting this thread. :wave:after 2 VB s that were traumatising and horrible I have decided that a c sect is the way to go next preg. I am petrified to give birth again and am scared me/baby will die. Its very difficult when the hospital refuses to do it though so i will have to get private cover and fork out alot of money- but at least I get a say in it and to me I feel its safer than another VB.:yes:
I very much want another baby, possibly two more but there is no way I would have a VB again not even for a million dollars.

Thanks for sharing your postive experiences as some people (whether intentional or not) scare the C**P outta me with horror stories.:eek:

natasha
27-09-2006, 08:13 PM
Here Here Ann! Well done! Thanks for sharing!:thumbsup:
Cel..the public hospital i went to wern't going to give me a c section, but i lied and told them i had had a series of traumtic births in my family and i wont go through that myself. I was determined. I said that if u dont give me a c section here ill go somewhere else.

It may be worth giving this a go before you fork out money.

Vespera
27-09-2006, 08:22 PM
Thank you!!! We arent pregnant yet but are planning on an elective c section when we do and I am so sick of the negative responses. Its something I have researched to death and I'm still okay with it and so's DH and he is usually against surgery of any kind.

It seems all I hear is 'its MAJOR abdominal surgery' hmmm I get that its ME they are going to be cutting open!

I am genuinly sorry for the people who felt that they were 'forced' into a unwanted c/s but back off.

SamanthaJane
27-09-2006, 08:29 PM
I am not planning on a C/Section... but wait... don't kick me out yet! :o

I just wanted to say that i honestly couldn't give a sh!t how people have their babies... as long as they are in a safe environment and the baby comes out healthy that is ALL that matters!!!! I really don't see why it's anyone else's business anyway ???

Good on you for starting this thread Nasha !!! :thumbsup:

And good luck to all you girls with your up-coming c/sections :hugs:

Buddha Bubbas
27-09-2006, 09:57 PM
:o dont kick me out either... just yet..im going to be VERY careful with my wording.

i think its great that you girls had such wonderful experiences with a c/section. :yes: i had an elect c/s 4 1/2 months ago.

IMO its YOUR body, YOUR baby and certainly YOUR choice... for whatever reason.

i have been one of "Those" people who have said its major abdominal surgery. my reason for this is because 1) well it is and 2) for some people its not as simple as going in, cut me open, take baby out and im back on my feet in 2 hours, looking gorgeous and going home tomorrow. i dont agree with the statement " it should only be done in medical emergencys or its not natures way" to me thats a load of @#$%!

i have replied to many c/s questions and comments etc. i was, i guess naive as to what was actually going to or could happen. i had asked a few people how they went and only ONE said it was horrible and she hated it. the rest said, yeah it hurts a bit but you will be okay.

well i wasnt... i was in recovery for 4 hours then sent to acute care for the rest of my stay and had a blood transfusion. :gloomy:

i guess my point here is that IMO alot of people i have spoken to seem to take C/S with a grain of salt. as if its "the easy way out". i was one of those people. Every birth wether its a VB or a C/S is different for every single person.

im not against C/S, im not against anyone CHOOSING to have one for ANY reason wether medical or by personal choice. i just think awareness is important.

if you have done your research, choose to go ahead and 100% confident with your decision then thats all you need.

my intention here is to just give my story, not offend anyone and i hope i havent.

annb
27-09-2006, 10:13 PM
no offence taken here

borntobemummy
27-09-2006, 10:24 PM
I had an emergency C/S and hated every minute of it.. it truly traumatized me after 25 hours of labour and expectations of a water birth, it is something that I still shed a tear over if I think of it.
All I'm saying is; keep the positive stories coming, you are helping me see my experience in a new light. Even though I really want a VBAC next time and don't understand why anyone would choose to have a C/S... everyone is entitled to their own opinions.
Thanks for the encouragement:thumbsup:

tickle
28-09-2006, 05:47 AM
Sorry a mixture of personal thoughts and moderating here.:o
Firstly, thanks Natasha for starting this thread. I think it's really important for people having c/sections to have somewhere to come for positive support.
Secondly, just a reminder to everyone, this is a thread to share your positive caesarean stories.
Lastly, I just wanted to say that I think it is fantastic when someone has a positive birth experience, no matter how the baby was born. We each have different expectations and I think deep down we know what's right for us as individuals. Congratulations to you all.:hugs:

luckie_me
28-09-2006, 06:46 AM
I dont have a problem with c sections either but i honestly couldnt do it! I hate the thought of being cut open! Natural was best for me Good luck for those ladies with there up coming c sections, and enjoy ur bubs while the dont wriggle on ur lap while ur trying to post on bubhub haha
Megan

natasha
28-09-2006, 11:31 AM
I dont think you have offended anyone Buddha bubbas, certainly not me. I fully support people who want women knowing all the facts and then making an informed desicion.
This is just a thread were we can come and share our positve c section stories, to let others out there who are considering c sections know that it can be a wonderful experience.

I was a little scared of the thought of being cut open and the catheter!:eek:

But honestly, and i say it with my hand on my heart, I didnt feel a thing. And you have so much going on around you that I didn't even know they had put the catheter in and had started cutting!! I was just lying there chatting to DH!:laughing: I asked if they could tell me when they were gonna start and they were like 'um, we have been in for about 5 mins now'!! (all with smiles on their faces). I guess that musty happen a lot.

I remeber lying there on the table getting stitched up and smiling to myself, thinking 'wow, was that it, gosh, Im a mummy now'!!:o

Even when the Spinal block wore off which it did in about half an hour, I still wasn't in much pain at all, nothing worse than a little sore. Couldn't feel my catheter at all, and never did even when they took it out 20 hours later.

My spinal block was easy peasy, and im soooo scared of needles, but it just felt like someone had their thumb on my spine and was pressing down a bit.

I was up and about the next morning, very slowly ofcourse. Making laps of the ward with DD in ones of those little pushable cots. My milk came in fine on about day 3 I think.

So yeah, all in all, a wonderful experience.:thumbsup:

I also think having a planned c section rules out many of the risks invloved with emergency c sections. It seems most the people who have had bad experiences with c sections are women who wanted a Vbirth but were rushed in to have an emergency. They feel like everything was out of their control and they hadn't even thought about a c section.

I was completely in control over my c section, i asked them if i could have this that and the other and they fully complied. I was a calm and relaxed atmosphere the whole time.

LittleBoysRock
28-09-2006, 11:54 AM
Good on those Mums who choose c-sections! You have to do what is right for YOU and YOUR BABY!

Great thread! :yes:

2s'nuff
28-09-2006, 12:17 PM
Thanks for starting this thread. I think there are too many negative comments and bad experiences being aired, and mums-to-be also need to hear the good side of CS's.

For medical reasons we had planned a CS for DD. After speaking with my OB and doing some research I decided I'd rather go through the birth which resulted in a healthy child rather than attempt a VB and having to have a CS half way thorugh the process (my sister went thorugh it and took some time to recover form the CS).

In the end DD decided to come earlier than planned, but it was still a 'relaxing and organised' CS. I had no problems with the spinal being inserted or removed and was up showering myself and walking around in 12 hours with not much pain. I didn't have any problems with pain after going home either. So all-in-all the entire process went well.

We've decided on another CS this time around for several reasons. One of them being DH's work schedule and the possibility of the same problems happening this time.

belle05
28-09-2006, 01:25 PM
Great thread!!

DH & I are TTC and I will be having an elective c/s. We fully understand it's surgery and we know all of the risks and things involved.

I'm so excited to read some positive experiences, it's extremely encouraging. So thanks for sharing :kiss: & I look forward to reading more!

suemp
28-09-2006, 03:44 PM
after coming off another thread on this topic that was tending to get a bit nasty, this thread is refreshing. both my c/sections are for medical reasons, and while they werent a walk in the park, neither is labour. there are plenty of women who HAVE to have c/sections and if everytime they look in this section they are bombarded with negative talk i think it would be quite scarey. good on you natasha
ps the worst of my c/section: definatly catheter going in. this time im telling them to do it after spinal lol
the best: toss up between stopping a scarey horrible induction, or holding bubba boy

natasha
28-09-2006, 03:47 PM
ps the worst of my c/section: definatly catheter going in. this time im telling them to do it after spinal lol
the best: toss up between stopping a scarey horrible induction, or holding bubba boy

You mean you didnt get it put in after the spinal??????:eek: Why??

suemp
28-09-2006, 04:02 PM
it was an emergency c/section. they put it in while i was in the labour ward????i know better this time lol.

Nic71
28-09-2006, 04:10 PM
After a very traumatic vb with DD I have elected to have a c section this time. So it is fantastic to read all the positive comments on this thread! :thumbsup:

I know we all understand it is major surgery but I get really annoyed with the friends and family who accuse me of taking the "easy way out". :confused:

So thanks again ladies for making me feel good about my decision and I look forward to adding my positive experience on here later in the year.

Tannie
28-09-2006, 09:21 PM
I've had 2 fully elective c/s....within 12 months of each other :eek: No arguments here! As I've been in a posting frenzy tonight and now need to get to bed before my fingers fall off from RSI.....:laughing: I might check back in tomorrow and say a few things.........my first one was wonderful, 2nd one not as great but I still wouldn't have done it any other way.....both positive experiences.

Great thread!
T

Faeml
28-09-2006, 09:30 PM
I had a c-section, it was a very positive experience for me :thumbsup:

As I read somewhere on bubhub before, I honestly couldn't care less if another woman decided she wanted to birth her baby out her left nostril. Her body, her baby, her choice.

natasha
28-09-2006, 09:36 PM
I know we all understand it is major surgery but I get really annoyed with the friends and family who accuse me of taking the "easy way out". :confused:

Tell me about it!!:banghead: Like is it your business to say that to me? Um NO!
People who dont have anything nice to say should just shut up IMO.:p

SamanthaJane
28-09-2006, 09:41 PM
"the easy way out"... i never understood that either :confused:

When it comes to babies there IS NO easy way out... :eek:

oleander
28-09-2006, 10:30 PM
"the easy way out"... i never understood that either :confused:

When it comes to babies there IS NO easy way out... :eek:

If there was an easy way Id be the first in line. I dont see what is easy about having my abdomen cut open. Im having an elective caesarean and hate telling people because they judge me on my descision. Also, it p!sses me off when a MALE tries to tell me that labour and a vaginal birth isnt that bad or isnt that painful. The winning comment was from my EX husband. He told me that he has slept with 'heaps' of women (mmm...lovely) and could tell the ones who have had babies because their vagina's are 'loose'. He was obviously trying to torment me. Anyway, Im thinking maybe his penis is too small and I should have cut it off when I had the chance!!!

suemp
29-09-2006, 06:06 AM
ha ha lisa (paris mum) lmao
i am having c/section for medical reason (as i said) and i still get MEN!!!! (boys) telling me im doing the wrong thing. wtf would they know. one of these comments came from a guy who witnessed his ex deliver his son, have an epileptic fit during delivery which made ALL her muscles contract to the point where she squeezed him that hard. he went blue, was quickly pulled out resusitated and required ages in nicu. (as the stress of pushing brings on fits) . while it is not the medical reason im opting for c/section, i do have epilepsy :confused: :confused:

zenifa
29-09-2006, 07:04 AM
I also had a very postive elective c/s experience. In all honesty, I was terrified of having a VB, but the reasons for a c/s were purely medical and my OB didn't want to take the risk, as I would probably end up with a baby in distess and an emergency c/s anyway!! I felt much more calm and relaxed knowing how my baby would be born and preparing for it (so I have no -ve feelings, nor feel disappointed about having a c/s). I was still nervous that I might go into labour before my 39 week c/s, but I didn't, it was only BH. I hate needles so getting the drip and the spinal block was the worst part for me (I'd had hip surgery 18mths previously, so had a drip & epidural before), luckily catheter went it after that!!
The birth was very calm and happy, the staff were lovely to DH and I and it wall went smoothly!! I certainly didn't see it as the 'easy' way out, as getting up the next day was agony, and recovering from major abdominal surgery does take time, but I have no regrets!! I think women need to support each others birthing choices and not judge them for it!! BTW I am sick of having to justify why I had a c/s, yes it was for medical reasons, but why should that be anyones business. As Faeml said, its your body, your baby, your choice!!

PhAnToM
29-09-2006, 09:27 AM
ok.. typed up a post yesterday and as i went to send it, BH went down. So in brief: :laughing:

I have had 2 cesars.
The first one I was in shock and upset when i was 5 days over and told that after all my preps for a VB, I would have to go in for a cesar the next day.
I have no regrets about the cesar though.
The second one was a definite cesar for the same reason as the first. I was totally at peace with it, because I knew what to expect and the first experience was positive.
Well the second was even better than the first!

I'm baffled about how others take it so personally about a woman having a cesar. I don't see how anybody else's chosen method of delivery affects anyone not in the delivery room/operating theatre.
Yes it's major abdominal surgery, but i'm not asking anyone else to go under the knife with me. It's MY abdomen.:confused:

As for birth plans... I had a birth plan.. my plan was to give birth to 2 beautiful, healthy babies, without putting them at risk...
It all went to plan! :thumbsup:

I wonder if anything went wrong because I insisted on a "natural" delivery, if any of these people who attack people for having cesars would accept responsibility for it! Then we'd no doubt blame the obs and the midwives, maybe even the mother for not trusting a professional.:rolleyes:

I agree with what Samantha Jane said in an earlier post, everyone can deliver their baby the way they want to, as long as it's safe..

FourAngelKisses
29-09-2006, 09:43 AM
I didn't have a CS, but I did actually ask for one and was granted one, with my 3rd pregnancy. My first labour....I was in transition for 3hrs (!!!) and it was horrible, then I went and gave birth to an 11lb baby (I'm only a little person).

My second labour was only 3hrs, but it was the worst labout the midwives had ever seen. I pretty much had 1 single contraction that lasted 2hrs, I was having 1min long contractions with only 2-3 seconds break for the entire 2hrs. I ended up with severe PND after that birth....but there were other contributing factors.

Decided not to have any more kiddies after that, but nature had other plans and I fell pregnant again. Knowing I was having another boy who was going to be a biggy, I didn't want to take a chance with a natural birth, so I asked for a CS and after hearing why, they said yes.

I was all set to go, then about 6wks before I was due, I changed my mind. Simply because DH couldn't take 6wks off work (my family wouldn't even help me out if I was dying, so no good asking them to help for 6wks).
I had 2 kids at home who needed to be driven to school each day, I had all that usual housework stuff to do and I wouldn't be able to do any of it. So I told them I'd changed my mind.

Mel-Jane
29-09-2006, 11:36 AM
I had an emergency c/s after baby in distress. I think it is wonderful that people can choose to have healthy babies the way that they want to!

This is a great thread and i hope everyone has lovely birthing stories to tell. Good luck with all the upcoming elective c/s's.:yelclap:

SassyMummy
29-09-2006, 02:44 PM
While I probably come across as a c-sec hater most of the time because I HATED the fact that I had one... I think it's brilliant that you all got a c-sec and were really happy about it! (Whether you planned to have one, or emergency, it's great that you were happy with your c-sec regardless!). :thumbsup:

I really wish that I enjoyed my experience. In a way, I guess I enjoyed parts of it. I didn't HATE the actual procedure taking place, I just didn't like that I was having it (if that makes sense).

If anything I think having a c-sec opened up my eyes...I never thought it was an "easy" way out...but I always thought it was the "lazy/selfish" way to have a baby...but after having one myself, I realise that it's neither.

As for the cathetar...I got mine put in BEFORE my spinal as well! :eek: I thought that was just how it was done (and mine wasn't even an emergency...I actually came in at 6am to have it, but DD wasn't born until 10.55am...so I imagine there was PLENTY of time to get me ready and put it in AFTER the spinal!). :laughing:

Anyone who WANTS a c-sec...ask for it to be put in AFTER the spinal...seriously. :laughing:

Tannie
30-09-2006, 09:23 AM
Agreed! My first c/s they put the catheter in after the spinal.........no probs :thumbsup: The second time they did it before, on the ward.........absolutely AWFUL.....the discomfort and constant urge to pee was the worst thing. shocking - never again :thumbsdown:
T

SassyMummy
30-09-2006, 03:14 PM
I had a UTI (urinary tract infection) early on in my pregnancy. It's such an uncomfortable feeling - makes you feel kinda itchy INSIDE your vagina (not OUTSIDE, but INSIDE, if that makes sense), and makes you feel like you need to pee but can't.

When I had the cathetar inserted, it felt EXACTLY like when I had a UTI...it was REALLY awful.

I cried when I first discovered I was to have a c-sec, but I was pretty good the next day when I actually went in to have it done. I cried after the cathetar was inserted though...it kinda hurt and just felt bloody awful.:laughing: Oh, I'm such a sook.

Stretchmark Diva
30-09-2006, 09:47 PM
I've had 3 elective caesars, all wonderful experiences. :thumbsup: In fact it turned out that my DS would have died if I'd waited for him to come out naturally, as unbeknown to anyone the placenta had started to die, so it was lucky he came out when he did, via the sunroof!

Warning: mini-rant follows:

I do get annoyed at the" OB bashing" one sometimes comes across in the pro-VB threads, they love to point to high caesar rates in private hospitals, etc and blame "scalpel-happy" OBs who apparently just want to make sure they get to their golf game. :mad: That is such an unfair and totally incorrect stereotype! I have never met an OB who has time to play golf, for goodness sakes, they are on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, most of the time. Its as insulting as the stereotype of the elective caesar patient being some rich businesswoman who schedules her baby in between board meetings and has a fax set up in the operating theatre.

They forget that the statistics don't differentiate between "elective for a medical reason" caesars, and "purely elective because it is the mother's right to choose one" caesars. They also forget that women who want caesars are going to seek out a private OB to do so. So asking an OB about his or her "caesar rates" is not going to mean much is it?

Oops, time to get off my soap box.... :ecomcity:

Glad to see some other mums who are happy to have had a caesar :D

Alekay
30-09-2006, 10:01 PM
Well i had an elective c/s not for medical reasons and my experience was great and would not have had it any other way we are currently TTC#2 and i am going to have another c/s and will look forward to that.
I had my c/s in a public hospital and i just made sure i new wnat i wanted and spoke to the consultant about it not the midwives and the do was fine about it and happy to do it as that was my choice.

Tannie
01-10-2006, 09:04 AM
Stretchmark Diva.......agree with you 100%!!

I think what has been conveniently forgotten or not taken into account in the fanatical pro-VB circles, is that women today ARE aware they have choices and women today ARE going into their OBs 'empowered' (I hate that term but it's the only one which describes my point well) and saying 'this is what I want and I would like you to supply it'..........the high c/s rate (I don't think figures are at all accurate as I know of SO many women who say they had one for medical reasons cause they are too nervous to admit that they had one for no other reason that that is what they wanted :( ) in private hospitals IS I believe related to this fact.

If the first OB i saw hadn't been happy to do my el c/s - I would have just kept shopping around until I found one that would.........and I know of so many others who are the same. It's simply NOT the obs that are driving a lot of this "el c/s" trend at all IMO - it's women themselves and obs are thinking "as long as they are educated re the risks etc - then who am I to deny a paying client what they request, when it IS a safe and viable option?"

It's not that women choosing el c/s are cowering and insignificant little lost souls......more likely to be informed, strong and independent women who know what they want and are not afraid to ask for it :yelclap:

My first ob told me that about 1/3 his surgical week is spent in hospital doing "repair" work on women who've had VBs and have ongoing problems, 1/4 of his week in consulting rooms, then after that, doing c/s and deliveries.............the numbers of women who DO need "repair" work from VBs is to me, very much swept under the carpet and honest figures also not given to women. Every hospital that has gynae, is flat out booking women in for "repair" surgery.......wards all over the country are full of these cases and to deny that it occurs, is dishonest IMO. I think perhaps, it's because often these surgeries aren't required for some years or women put up with their problems for many years (due to embarassment often - which is so sad) before going to their doctor and admitting a problem is there OR in several cases I've dealt with personally - they come into hospital for something else, and in conversation with a nurse, or when you are showering them you notice a prolapse or you pick up that they are incontinent (of urine or faeces) and ask them quietly and with dignity about it...........I've then had a few women (only in their 50's & 60's - not only old women) pour their hearts out telling me of the distress it causes them, how long they've suffered etc etc etc and they are SO relieved when they find out that surgery can be done and they dont' have to put up with it..................I think actually it's a bit of a hidden epidemic :(

Anyway - I'm not saying that having a c/s stops the risk of pelvic floor damage - but what little study has been done in the area on el c/s I think it was a 30% less chance - which is a fair bit IMO. but also - the faecal incontinence etc is not at all related to c/s - can only be from VB and bad prolapses and all the other weird and wonderful "collapse" problems are mostly related to VB, not to mention the problems from tearing and episiotomies gone awry............

That's my little rant for the morning :laughing:
Bye,
T

natasha
01-10-2006, 10:34 AM
Fantastic post Tannie! I agree with every word!:thumbsup:

Leez
01-10-2006, 11:41 AM
I had an emergency c/s and if I was to ever have another baby (not likely but anyway..) I'd go elective c/s in a heartbeat. Yeah it wasn't great at the time due to the circumstances (DD was in distress) and I was freaking out but not because I was having a c/s, I just wanted her out of me asap and every minute counted.

My recovery was completely fine, everything was cool, and most importantly, DD and I got through it healthy and happy! As long as that happens, who cares the road you take to get there???

I must say I get p*ssed off too at the holier than thou standards attached to every single aspect of pregnancy and parenthood, it starts pre-conception and never stops! Elective C/S is one of the big ones but I say do what you need to do - many humans are walking around this planet right this minute who came into the world via elective c/s and they're doing just fine!!

jade21887
01-10-2006, 07:35 PM
Im going for a elective c section in December, after a emergency in August last year. I know half my post would have been said by someone else before me, but I need to say it too!!

Im so sick of being told Im taking the easy way out!! I totally disagree, with my daughter I had a 12 hour labour, contractions 2 mins apart, 1min long from the word go (was an induced labour), didnt take drugs till 11.5 hours. Then was rushed into theatre, bub ripped out, and then was stuck in hospital for days after in agonising pain etc. Meanwhile, those that did it the 'hard' way, were up and out of hospital the day after they had the baby.

I was set on a vbac this time round, because I figured it would be easier than another c section, but the drs arent agreeing to it, Im measuring too far ahead, so I just gave up and figure I can plan a positive c section experience, than plan for a vbac that may not happen.

I figure Im not going to tell the ones that are critical of it, that im having a c section, Ill just tell them after the baby's born, and then if they ask, Ill just say it was a c section, really none of their business anyway how bub entered the world!! Way too overrated in my eyes! Its one day of their life.

Stretchmark Diva
01-10-2006, 09:15 PM
Tannie :yes: :hugs: :D

I am not a Dr (nor do I play one on TV) but I have many medicos in my family, including a gynae. They spend their lives fixing up prolapses, etc. So I was pretty well informed on the risks of caesars AND the risks of VB. :eek:

Nice to meet some kindred spirits!

suemp
02-10-2006, 10:12 AM
i watched a show once on pay tv called berman and berman which is two female doc. one a sex therapist the other a gyno and the subject of the day was c/sections. they ended the story by saying if they ever had another baby theyd have it by....? the sex therapist said vb but the gyno who has had already children by successful vb said after seeing so many patients with disasterous reults of vb she'd have a c/section purely for elective reasons so as tannie said it does happen its just not shoved in your face. a friend of mine needed vaginal op after a vb and it has resulted in her having a colostomy bag for life...now thats pleasant. im not pro c/section or pro vb. i just get sick of only hearing the one side all the time.

zenifa
02-10-2006, 11:26 AM
For those interested, a couple of months back I read Susan Johnson's (Sydney journo & author) memoir called 'A Better Woman' in my library's bookclub. Susan discusses her experience, where she had two VBs and had a very serious 3rd degree tear each time, ending up with an anal fistula and then a temporary colostomy bag. There can be some terrible trauma to that area after VB, so for me that is another bonus of having a c/s.

RTCsMum
03-10-2006, 11:45 AM
I ended up with an emergency ceasar under a general due to complications and pre-eclamsia with the birth of my first daughter. Even though it was all a bit of a drama at the time and I ended up in Intensive care for a number of hours I was happy with my recovery and was not disappointed on missing out on the VB.

For our second I did not even hesitate to book in for an EC and had the most wonderful birthing experience. There was so much joy and talking and laughing in the theatre between my husband and the doctors and nurses that we are looking forward to doing it all again in March for the birth of our third.

kaybee
03-10-2006, 12:21 PM
Hi I'm new and this is my first post! I only found this thread this morning, and wanted to say thanks to Natasha for starting it up! We are planning to start TTC in Dec/Jan and as I like to be organised, I've starting researching options etc, and have pretty much decided on an elective c-section, for the following reasons: I don't like the uncertainty of a natrual birth, the thought of going natural and then having an emergency c-section terrifys me, I like the idea of knowing exactly when the baby will arrive and being able to plan for it, especially as my family are not in Sydney, so would love for my Mum to be here for the brith. I'm a little worried about having to justify this decision to everyone and the negativity around elective c-sections is really bad!
I also, have a question about needles, I have a major phobia of them as in I have had couple of panic attacks in hospital and at the dentist when I had needles (with a dentist once perscribing Valium as my previous attack was so bad!) so am petrified, although realise that part of having a baby is having needles, no matter how you give birth. Is the spinal tap really painful? The "major surgery" part doesn't bother me at all, and everyone I know who has had one has had a great recovery.
Anyway, that's my little 2 cents worth, and goodluck to everyone who is having an elective c-section!

natasha
03-10-2006, 12:56 PM
Hi Kaybee and welcome to bubhub!

I have the exact same phobia of needles! My main fear was the drip they had to put in my hand! I was petrified! The nurse did actually miss my vein a couple of times because i was a little dehydrated because you arent allowed to eat or drink 8 hours before the op. That was the worst bit for me. I cried while she put it in, but i think it was all just a build up of emotion of everything.

So when the time came for my spinal, i honestly didn't feel a thing, i was just so glad the drip was in and it was over. The spinal just felt like someone was pushing their thumb onto the bottom of my spine for about a minute! I honestly couldnt feel the needles at all.

Reach round and put your thumb(not just the tip, the whole last inch of your thumb)(the flat of your thumb) about 2/3 way down your back and press, not as hard as you can, but not just really lightly. That is exactly what it was like for me. It honestly just felt like a bit of pressure, and then before you know it, it was done.

Im such a panzy with needles but the spinal really didnt bother me.:thumbsup:

Ps, we all know about having to try and justify having an elective. Its disgraceful that we have to do it. The negative attitudes are just getting boring now don't you think. We shoudn't be told that we are taking 'the easy was you' especially by fellow MOTHERS who should know better and know that it doesnt matter how your child comes out of you. The joy of motherhood shouldn't be tainted because we chose to have electives. And the women that judge should be ashamed of themselves.

suemp
03-10-2006, 03:52 PM
kaybee: no the spinal did not hurt me any more than say a blood test. quick ***** was all. and as you are bending over theres no chance of seeing the needle. dont wanna sound negative but i read you'd like your mum at the birth but a lot of op rooms are only big enough to allow for one partner.

kaybee
04-10-2006, 10:16 AM
Thanks for your answers on the spinal tap sue and natasha, although I wouldn't say blood tests are easy for me! Sue - I didn't mean that I would want my mum in the theatre as i guessed they would only let hubby in, it's just that I would like her to be at the hospital for support and I know that she would be so excited about her first grandchild that she would want to be there too.

~MinkeyMoo~
04-10-2006, 02:10 PM
I had an elective c/s with DD1 and it was a positive experience, easy recovery and no complications for me or DD. I had a vbac with DD2 and am very glad that I PERSONALLY did that as FOR ME it was a far superiour experience.

I got sick of feeling the need to justify my c/s and lack of labour (or even a braxton hicks for that matter) I think most of us go into c/s or vb with an informed decision which is the important thing.

Good Luck with your babies births........whatever the method :hugs:

Karrina
14-10-2006, 10:03 PM
http://www.or-live.com/hartfordhospital/1352/

Thought you may all be interested in seeing a c-section performed! I have had a c-section and am tossing up VBAC vs c-section. ANyhow I found it informative and some of the viewer questions interesting...like how many c-sections can someone have?:thumbsup:

susiemal
15-10-2006, 12:24 AM
I had an emergency caesar and did not feel cheated by this. It was the best thing to do. For my next bub I will have an elective caesar. I suppose that I am lucky that the hospital will likely agree to this as I have already had one.
I doubt if any woman makes the decision to have a caesar lightly.

jocr
15-10-2006, 08:35 AM
My husband and I were advised at 38 weeks to have a c-section as the doctor was 95% sure if I went into labour it would end up in an emergency situation. He also said that if I was his wife he wouldn't let me go into labour because of this. Basically big baby, small me. Our beautiful girl was born within 10 minutes of being in surgery, scoring 9 out of 10. I had a couple of minor set backs due to blood loss, however
am pleased that our doctor was honest and not prepared to take risks.

angcaltam
15-10-2006, 03:35 PM
I had an emergency c-section with DS2 after a 48 hour labour.:banghead: He was 11 pound 2 1/2 ounces so wasn't coming out any other way.:eek: My recovery was so terrible, it took me so long to get over it and I felt like I had failed. It took me longer to bond with DS2 then it did with DS1, he was a natural just under 8 hours of labour and not even a graze.:smiliedance:

Then 2 days after my due date I was told my the Dr that I wouldn't be able to have the VBAC that I so badly wanted.:crying: So 2 days later I was in and had my DD. I must say, I really didn't want another c-section because of my previous recovery but it was heaps better. The only problem is I'm still having trouble bonding with DD and she was 6 Months old yesterday. I just don't know what is wrong with me. I feel like such a bad mum, has anyone else felt like this ? ? ?

Oh, and I'm sick of hearing that c-sections are the easy way out. Thats a load of Bu!!-$h!t. I've had both and I say natural is the easy way out if you can. I just wish people would stop judging especially if they have never been through it.

Ok, that's all from me. Thanks for the little vent.

WizzFizz
16-10-2006, 02:11 PM
I agree that it isn't the 'easy way out'. Its major abdominal surgery with a long recovery period!

I ended up having an emergency c/s with DD, 12 months ago. I was induced, spent 2 days in labour, enjoyed all the pain relief there was on offer, got to 9cms then my DD turned posterior so my ob came in and put me into theatre. DD was born a healthy 9lb 3oz. My c/s experience was very draining and exhausting, especially since it came after I had laboured for so long.

In about 4 weeks time I am due to have my second baby, this time by 'elective' c/s as he is weighing in on the 95th percentile, and being so close to my last birth, I dont want to go through all that labour again and end up having a c/s anyway.

I am hoping that this time my c/s experience will be great! I'm really looking forward to it, and hopefully my recovery will be alot better than last time.

Its great to read other positive c/s stories too - this thread is great!

*Theluvbub*
16-10-2006, 03:49 PM
Great thread!!! Finally.....somewhere where i can come and talk about my exp (elective cs with no med reason) without getting the negativity (from other forum members) that surrounds cs!

I had a cs for my first and plan on having elective for my next....Great to read some more pos stories.....I would love to have a dollar for every negative natural chilbirth exp that i have heard.....Id be damn rich!

bubbabilly
17-10-2006, 12:02 PM
I think this thread is a great support for those who may have had a bad experience having a caesar.

My bub, now 10 months, was an elective C baby. I chose to have the C because I am just 150cm tall and was told my bub had a 'big head'. The choice for me was quite easy. My obstetrician gave me the choice although was trying to steer me towards having a natural birth, believing that it would be problem free. A family friend (a retired Gynaecologist/Obstetrician himself) told me over the phone when I was 4 months pregnant that I would have a C section due to the size of my pelvis. Another friend (a nurse and former midwife of 10 years) told me that if she ever had a baby she would have a C section without hesitation. My decision was made easy by these 2 professionals giving me their personal opinions based on experience rather than what their professional guidelines instructed them to do.
I had my c-section - a surreal experience for me - and had absolutely no complications. My obstetrician is known by many in the health profession as 'the fastest baby-remover in the north'. very clean and problem free. However, at my follow-up visit he told me that I had made the right decision as during the operation my placenta would not separate from my uterus and if I had given birth naturally I would have ended up in emergency surgery anyway from excessive bleeding (haemorraging).

My story has a happy ending but I do know people who have had bad experiences. I think age is also a factor when it comes to healing after a C-section, it seems the younger you are the quicker you recover as it took me a while before I could drive, etc. I agree with Buddha bubbas in saying that being informed is the most important thing and the experience is different for every woman. I harboured a sense of guilt because I felt that I had taken away the experience of childbirth away from my partner. But at the end of the day, I have a beautiful healthy, baby boy and that's all that's important. :)

Zan
17-10-2006, 02:24 PM
Thank you to everyone who has posted their positive c/s stories and esp for the info on the spinal.
I am planning a 3rd natural homebirth but as they say you never know what may happen so it was great to read some positive stories as my two friends who have recently had c/s both hated them and as it is a real fear/phobia of mine it's great to read positive stories.

Does anyone who has had a c/s suffer from claustrophobia?? Think one of my biggest fears is that I hate to lie on my back (tend to have an asthma attack if I lie flat on my back) and the thought of being unable to move, lying on my back with a screen up makes me start to hyperventiliate a bit. I think I could get over my hospital fear and fear of analgesia but would love some reassurance on the above.
I don't guess anyone can help me on my other c/s fear which is how will I manage school runs/groups/activities for my other 2 children, lol!!

Hoping all goes well in the pg so I can get the birth I want but I do like to be prepared.
Zan

MrsMiggins
17-10-2006, 02:39 PM
Does anyone who has had a c/s suffer from claustrophobia?? Think one of my biggest fears is that I hate to lie on my back (tend to have an asthma attack if I lie flat on my back) and the thought of being unable to move, lying on my back with a screen up makes me start to hyperventiliate a bit. I think I could get over my hospital fear and fear of analgesia but would love some reassurance on the above.
I don't guess anyone can help me on my other c/s fear which is how will I manage school runs/groups/activities for my other 2 children, lol!!

:yes: Me!!

I am terminally claustrophobic!! It's awful!! For years I couldn't even put my head under the sheets!

I too was very concerned about this - especially the not being able to move bit, as I have also suffered from anxiety attacks & could totally see myself losing the plot in the OR!

I did start to get a bit breathless when we went in & the spinal started to take effect, but I know that was just me freaking out about thinking I would freak out!

TBH once I got a grip on myself, there was so much happening all around me, and I was so excited about finally getting to see my little girl, that I forgot all about it, and it really wasn't scary at all. The screen they put up in front of you is not that bad (I was worried about this too) as (I found anyway) you can see so much either side of you (including DH!) that I didn't notice the screen all that much. Plus, I asked one of the attending middies to give me a blow-by-blow of everything that was happening and made it well known beforehand that I would uncomfortable if the Drs etc were talking as though I weren't there.

My experience therefore was quite positive all things considered! All the staff were joking around light-heartedly with me ("Just jump over onto the operating table will you?" - after having my spinal! :D) which made the whole experience much easier to deal with.

Zan
17-10-2006, 02:52 PM
:yes: Me!!

I am terminally claustrophobic!! It's awful!! For years I couldn't even put my head under the sheets!

I too was very concerned about this - especially the not being able to move bit, as I have also suffered from anxiety attacks & could totally see myself losing the plot in the OR!

I did start to get a bit breathless when we went in & the spinal started to take effect, but I know that was just me freaking out about thinking I would freak out!

TBH once I got a grip on myself, there was so much happening all around me, and I was so excited about finally getting to see my little girl, that I forgot all about it, and it really wasn't scary at all. The screen they put up in front of you is not that bad (I was worried about this too) as (I found anyway) you can see so much either side of you (including DH!) that I didn't notice the screen all that much. Plus, I asked one of the attending middies to give me a blow-by-blow of everything that was happening and made it well known beforehand that I would uncomfortable if the Drs etc were talking as though I weren't there.

My experience therefore was quite positive all things considered! All the staff were joking around light-heartedly with me ("Just jump over onto the operating table will you?" - after having my spinal! :D) which made the whole experience much easier to deal with.

Thank you so much, think I'll keep a copy of your post just in case. Am hoping that it's not something I ever have to go through but just in case (I do like to get myself in a state over every possible scenario, lol!).
I do agree with the mind over matter thing as I know it's mostly in my head as if I tried to visualise it now (where it's not even a likelihood, lol) I could cause myself to go into a full on panic attack.
I guess it's also over fairly quickly so it's just about distracting yourself for that time and thinking about meeting baby.
I guess if you were totally paniced they'd give you something?? (said by the person who is terrified of any kind of drug and was too scared to even try gas and air, lol!)

Zan

natasha
17-10-2006, 03:08 PM
Hey ladies! Keep the positive c section stories coming! They are so refreshing to read!:yes: :yelclap:

Zan, I am really claustophobic. Im okay if i know its a situation i can get myself out of quickly, like phone boxes, cars etc. But obv with a c section you can't just jump off the table when you feel a bit panicky.:D I must say though, once i was on the table, the thought didn't cross my mind. So much is going on around you like the other girls said, that all you can think about is the fact that you are going to be holding your baby in about 5 minutes!!!!

Don't stress about it, tell the docs of your fears and concerns, and if the worst happens, they can always drop the curtain down ( I think they only put it up because they dont want you seeing all the gory details). Get them to say they will drop the curtain the minute you start to get panicky. You can have someone with you aswel to take your mind of it. I was sooo worried about my DH fainting as he hates hospitals and blood and stuff like that, so that was another thing that took my mind of it.

I honestly wouldn't stress about it though, trust me, from someone who has been there, you will be fine.:hugs:

niesl_bug
17-10-2006, 06:33 PM
Hey ladies
So wonderful to read your CS experiences! We are currently TTC and I am undecided, but leaning towards CS. My sister had 3 elective CS as did a number of my friends with nothing but praise!
I try and speak to as many women as I can about this and the general feeling I get is that those who have emergency CS when they had the hearts on VB seemed to have problems.
Those who had elective CS seemed to have no problems.
I am not reeling off any statistics or anything, but this is what I have gathered just from talking to people.
I am terrified of having VB - especially as I am quite a small build and DH is quite large (particularly his head!).

Kristy1979
17-10-2006, 09:43 PM
YAY !! Keep those positive stories coming. :yelclap:

I wish this thread was around when i was expecting DS2, i couldnt decide which way to give birth, and what other people say to you really does get you thinking all sorts of things..
But im happy to report that i did have an elective CS for DS2 after an emergency one for DS1.

It was the best experience ever, i was happy excited awake and not stressed at all. I even lifted my head up and they droped the curtain so i could see him being delivered. I was out of recovery in half and hour and then was with my little man from then on. I got to have him on my chest whilst they went to work down there. it was beautiful. I was up walking around that evening and had a quick recovery going home after 2 nights.
I'm happy to share photo's if there are any ladies out there that really want to know what to expect.

Ive also suffered from being slightly claustophobic. I have what i can only explain as an anxiety attack if i can not control my surrondings.
I cant go on trains buses etc and even small spaces really freak me out.
I didnt however even feel anxious when i had my spinal, everything was happening and i didnt have time to get my self all worked up about it.
The doctors and nurses were all so supportive and talk to you contantly if that what you want so it was ok.
Its funny though, i wont even go up the Q1 tower here on the Goldy because i wouldnt be able to hack the lift ride up.:laughing:

BEST WISHES TO ALL THOSE MUMMAS EXPECTING, Do what your heart tells you, and be content with that decision.

KRISTY:o

Minke
17-10-2006, 11:24 PM
GREAT THREAD! I am not an elective c/s, but fully support positive c/section stories, so that if your natural birth goes awry, you don't freak out like i did...

My first was a text book v/b, no problems...

DS was a different story. At my 36 week check up the doctor did a size scan and said he was already measuring 9lb... and did i want to change my birth plan to an elective c/s. As i had already had a v/b, figured i would give it a go, but had it written (the doctor wanted it there) on my birth plan "big baby - opt out early" Anyway, got to fully dilated in 3 hours, then it all stopped, his head wouldn't come down (he never engaged) so my doctor gave me an hour to push. An hour later i begged her for another 1/2 hour, then when that was up, burst into tears, and cried all the way into theatre... BECAUSE EVERYTHING I HAD READ ABOUT C/SECTIONS SCARED THE **** OUT OF ME!!!! Theatre nurses had to try and calm me down to put my spinal in... and then...

.....i fell asleep on the table :laughing:

I did end up having to have blood transfusions, but on the whole, it really wasn't bad. Bad was seeing the lump on my DS head where he didn't fit into my pelvis... Bad thinking how much damage my 9lb 14oz boy would have done (although when i commented the next day to my doctor that it was probably necessary... she told me there was no way he was coming out the other way :eek: )

My point (i will get to it) is one of my close friends, 5 years ago went through labour, fully dilated, nothing happening and left too long and her baby died. Died for no other reason then he was distressed, left it too late, by the time they had opened her up, he was gone.

Knowing this story (and seeing what my friend went through after), you would think that i would have been jumping up and down for a c/section, but no, i was so terrified i wanted to keep pushing...

Keep the stories coming... Doesn't matter how they come out, so long as they are healthy, who really cares? And if everyones story gives women the confidence, whether elective or emergency, :thumbsup: to you all

Also loved people commenting that i must be sooo disappointed that i had a c/s... WTF? :mad: No, i have heard enough horror stories to appreciate the healthy baby that i have thanks.

candyn
18-10-2006, 02:16 PM
Oh this great guys, i am at crossroads with this little bubba, he is tranverse and doesn't seem to want to move!!
I had 2 great Vaginal Births. So when told if bubba does not move i may have to consider a cesarean i was little dissappointed, although my Ob has told me to wait till atleast 36/37 weeks to make a decision. But he did pretty much state that if baby is not head down by 38 weeks well it's a cesar.

I have researched Through midwives, physios and other professionals, that he is right that if bub is not head down at 36 weeks it is very unlikely for him to move.

There are many reasons for baby stay in the transverse position:
Cord may be to short,
Placenta may be in the wrong position
Uterus is too weak and not contracting baby into place.

It has nothing to do with the baby, there is usually a complication, this is where there is an enormous amount of misunderstandings happening.

I also have the confidence that my Ob very rarely performs cesars, (midwives have told me this) so for me it is a huge relief that he is not knife happy.

I have done my research and i am not prepared to undergo an emergency C section, I will not put my baby in danger (or myself)

So hence if baby is still transverse at 38 weeks then it's cesar for me, i too have received negative feedback on another thread!!
My obs is acting on behalf of mine and the baby's interest.
I would rather an elective C section than an emergency C section.

The midwife told me that she has seen horrible things happen from manually turning the baby!!!
One baby died from cord prolapse all because the mum wanted a natural birth, I am sorry but i can not live with that for the rest of my life!!
Even my Obs said that because the uterus is not contracting even if we move him (with all the risks involved) he will move back because there is nothing holding his position.

What i am tired of hearing is hold on till the end he might turn, well he might and might not!! Only 10% of babies turn in labor that is a pretty small percentage!!! So why risk it!!
I have also been told you can still give birth, how???????? The baby is lying side ways!!!!!!!

So it looks like i might be having an Elective C Section ( I hate that terminology as for me it is not an elective C section)

All i can say is that we should all be supported in whatever way we birth our babies!

monsterfeet
19-10-2006, 01:28 PM
I know that this thread is for positive c/s stories, and I hope nobody minds that I don’t fit into that category. I think it’s fantastic that all your stories are available for someone like me to read.

I have had two very different, but wonderful v/b, and am due in less than 4 weeks. Despite the fact that I am planning another v/b, and have no reason to think that won’t happen, the only thing that has worried me about my second, and now this birth, is the idea that I may need to have a c/s.

I have worried about how I might feel about what I perceived would be ‘not actually giving birth’, about my connection and bond with the baby, about cheating my husband out of a ‘special birth experience’ and about how family members etc. might make judgements.

I have been so encouraged (and, quite frankly enlightened) by your stories. I think it’s tragic that any woman can be made to feel inferior in any way because she was able to successfully give birth – no matter how the baby actually arrived.

Why should women who are informed and knowledgeable about birth choices be frowned upon? What better way to go into ANY type of birth is there?

I really appreciate being able to read these positive stories – from women who chose to have c/s, and from women who ‘had’ to have them. It is obvious that the most important thing is being able to celebrate a successful birth with your beautiful child, and women like ME need to focus on that. I shouldn’t have such a fear of something that is such a great and positive experience for so many women.

I think that a valid point has been made here by others: women who have their hearts set on a v/b, and/or who have preconceived ideas about c/s (just like me) can be devastated if this option becomes unavailable to them.

Birth is an amazing, incredible, rewarding experience – no matter how it happens, and I think all women could benefit from knowing that. By sharing your stories, I think each one of you is helping other women, and I think you’re Champions! :yelclap:

Thank you! :)

theycallmemum
19-10-2006, 04:43 PM
If you tell them how traumatised you were and you are terrified of giving birth they will give you a c/s. I've had 2 c/s after a very traumatic vaginal birth, all in public hospitals.

bambikins
19-10-2006, 05:01 PM
Yay:smiliedance: I'm having my elective c-sect in 10 days time and I am so excited about it as I have been mentally preparing myself for the whole 9 months and I get to have my DH and mum with me in theatre.

I think that the healing of the mind/body after a caesar has a lot to do with the cirumstance of the caesar. From a lot of the women I have been talking to have said that having a frantic kind of an emergency caesar where they were not prepared for it, played havoc with their healing and felt betrayed by their bodies (not all women of course). Whereas women who had made their choice for a caesar or who had to have one, were armed with the knowledge about the procedure and had trained their minds and bodies for the event.........just as women who want the natural drug free birth would do. So in saying all that, I am prepared and I have all the knowledge I need for now.......all I have to worry about now is the next 21 years of raising this beautiful being.

Shajbm
19-10-2006, 05:40 PM
I'm glad to have found this thread. I had an emergency c/s with DS and now with this pregnancy will be having an elective c/s and I too feel more empowered than I did with my first.

Worm'sMum
20-10-2006, 11:42 AM
Great thread guys...i too hate how everyone seems to assume that us ladies who have had or are having ceasars are 'ill informed' and need to be shown statistics etc.:banghead: We are smart women who know what is best for OURSELVES and OUR babies.

DD was an emergency ceasar - 43 hrs after my waters broke!! But 16 hours of 'official' labour, my contractions went from 10 mins apart back to half an hour etc. so I was put on the drip and contractions were on top of each other!! The doc then said I would have have an epidural...cos the constant pain would be too much for my body and just exhaust me too much...I cried cos epidural scared the **** outta me and it wasn't part of my 'birth plan'! :laughing: Everything was fine but i never dilated past 4cm! The midwife was great but I could tell she was getting anxious with the doc who kept wanting to wait a bit longer...anyway my DD was born at 9.35pm that night after plenty of tears of happiness...I got a little anxious while i was in there but everyone was great and kept me talking etc. The only downside for me was my complete exhaustion, I hardly had to time to get excited about DD till the next morning. My recovery was great though, I was up showering myself at 8am the next morning and laying in bed playing with DD and bonding wonderfully. I was driving 1 week after - just didn't do anything stupid like lifting etc. So I'm opting for elective this time...I don't want the exhaustion and uncertainty I had last time, and I don't want the fear of it happening all over again or of anything happening to my baby or scar rupture etc.

And really do people care whether you travel by plane or car? No, as long as you get there safely. So why should they care about how your born into this world!!???

Good luck to all you lovely ladies waiting! And well done to all of you with positive stories!!!

natasha
20-10-2006, 12:51 PM
Loving all your stories! Good luck Bambikins!!!!:thumbsup:

Monsterfeet, I know exactly what you mean about people's reactions. People saying 'you wont bond with your baby if you have a c section! and you havent really given birth, you took the easy way out!'

WTF!

Like how is it any of there business?!! I just tell them all where to go. Fact is, I had a baby, doesn't make a blind bit of difference how i had her.:rolleyes:
I just tell them all to keep there mouths shut as it was MY body so MY choice. That goes for husbands aswel.;) Though he was very relived I chose a c section. He had no desire to see me squeeze something that size out of me and end up stretched and torn.:p

alicesmum
20-10-2006, 01:12 PM
Monsterfeet, I know exactly what you mean about people's reactions. People saying 'you wont bond with your baby if you have a c section! and you havent really given birth, you took the easy way out!'

WTF!

I am enjoying this thread and also finding it very enlightening.

What I'm wondering natasha is, do people really truly actually explicitly say these things??? you hear lotsa c/s mummas saying they get these comments and hate them etc. i have never heard someone make such comments. i can't believe anyone would be so stoopid and rude as to say such things.:confused: is it really true? who says it? do you have any specific examples??

He had no desire to see me squeeze something that size out of me and end up stretched and torn.:p

fair enough, though i reckon he woulda loved you and still been as attracted to you afterwards either way! it all goes back to normal after a while!

kelli79 - same thing happened to a cose friend of mine. i changed my whole tune when it came to c/s. as i luckily have had two successful vbs, it would be easy to be one-sided, but i now know what can happen and am wholly supportive of c/s being performed when there are *any doubts* about the baby's safety!!!!

Foxy
20-10-2006, 01:15 PM
I have just seen this thread and wanted to say yippeee!!!

I am so sick of people feeling that they can pass judgement on others because they have found some American "study" that backs up their argument. I feel sad, that if a non-member was searching the net and came across such negative threads they might not realise that there are supportive people here.

I had an emergency c/s with DS, and am choosing to have an elective c/s with this baby. I don't consider it the same as having a boob job, but hey, I wouldn't complain if they do a bit of a tummy tuck while they are there this time!

It's so great to see a thread full of supportive people, no matter what method of birth we choose. :)

natasha
20-10-2006, 01:25 PM
Yup alicesmum, people definately say these things. My mum for one told me I had taken the easy way out and I was too posh to push.:rolleyes: She told me I had not given birth, I had just had her taken out of me, that's not birthing a child so I can't say I have 'given birth'. My friends mother gave a huge lecture about how amazing and wonderful our bodies are and how i didn't have faith in my body to do what it was designed to do.
Um, i know i could have squeezed anna out of me, I just CHOSE not to.!!!
People have said they feel sorry for me that i will never get to feel how amazing and empowering it is to give birth. People on bubhub have said that. I won't mention names because you aren't allowed and I'd rather not.

I have had so many people on bubhub say so many harsh and cruel things about women who chose to have elective c sections. Trust me, go back and read through the other c section threads. You will see what I mean.;)

People say it's chickening out, its not natural, it's failing your child, its selfish, its picking and choosing which parts of motherhood you want to endure(which apparently is a bad thing).:confused:

I have heard it all. And frankly I'm sick of it. If you dont have anything nice to say, keep your mouth shut. That is what i now tell my mother and anyone else who cares to enlighten me as to why I am less of a mother.:banghead:

Foxy
20-10-2006, 01:29 PM
What I'm wondering natasha is, do people really truly actually explicitly say these things??? you hear lotsa c/s mummas saying they get these comments and hate them etc. i have never heard someone make such comments. i can't believe anyone would be so stoopid and rude as to say such things.:confused: is it really true? who says it? do you have any specific examples??

Hi alicesmum,

I know you asked Natasha, but I couldn't resist telling you this little gem from my MIL on finding out we are going elective c/s with this bub.

"Oh well, at least you won't have to go through all that pain" - umm hello, abdominal surgery. :confused:

"I guess it's the modern way" - oh yeah, I'm making this decision to be hip. :rolleyes:

It's only small, but it does seem to cut deep, not because I feel guilt, I am 100% happy with my decision, I think it's more that we don't like our parenting choices and decisions to be questioned by others, especially when we haven't asked for an opinion IYKWIM.

suemp
20-10-2006, 01:34 PM
i agree natasha that alot of people have things to say re c/sections. alot of negativity on this forum...just look at 2 of the other threads atm. 1 we are putting our babies at risk of being injured and increassing their rate of death !!!!:confused:
alot i get off people who i tell that i had a c/section and am having another go errrk id never have that. im like excuse me like i had a choice, and its not like i go erkkk you pushed wat out of your wat???!!!
and as for bonding im not a big believer in that one. you get told you dont bond as well if you dont deliver vb, if you dont b/f...etc...i believe bonding comes from loving and raising children. my best mate is adopted so was never vb or b/f by his "mother" but they still bonded. love at first sight

shorty_851
20-10-2006, 01:36 PM
Thank goodness for this thread

DP and i have decided that we are going to be having a c section when i finally fall pg.

His reason is becasue he likes everything how it is iykwim and doesn want it to be broken.

my reason is becuase i think i will be to little as im a very petite girl.

Chicco25
20-10-2006, 02:16 PM
This is the best thread that has come out!!! :yelclap:

Personally It just p****s me off that people can be soooo judgemental on something that has never happened to them :mad:

With both my pregnancies I had C/S both elective but only after finding out at 38 weeks with my daughter that my Pelvis was shaped like a funnel - wider at the top smaller at the bottom, and could be a 50/50 chance that I could have her vaginally

After my OB explained the risks in both scenarios I opted without any hesitation for the C/S. And with my son a vaginal was not even a consideration.

I like my "Bits" just the way they are and I have NEVER EVER regretted not having my children 'Naturally'.

I personally cant understand how you would enjoy squeezing something the size of a watermelon out of something the size of baseball, and in saying that I congratulate the women who wouldn't do it any other way.

So, everyone who has or is considering a C/S - Good on ya! :thumbsup:

Anita

alicesmum
20-10-2006, 09:09 PM
nathasha and foxy - i am gobsmacked that people would actually say such things, especially someone who loves you and especially to your face (online forums can be more impersonal, so sometimes easier to be critical or opinionated - still :thumbsdown: ).

I am just absolutely amazed that people feel they have the right to have and express a personal opinion about your birthing decision. :eek:

I like my "Bits" just the way they are and I have NEVER EVER regretted not having my children 'Naturally'.

I personally cant understand how you would enjoy squeezing something the size of a watermelon out of something the size of baseball, and in saying that I congratulate the women who wouldn't do it any other way.

So, everyone who has or is considering a C/S - Good on ya!

Anita

just so you know though, your 'bits' do go back to the way they once were. :laughing:

i know it's not possible to understand something you haven't experience (i won't understand what's it's like to want or experience an elective c/s), but please do try and accept that for some women, like myself, it really was the most amazing and empowering experience of life to have a drug-free vb. we're not just making it up to try to annoy the c/s mummas (well, me anyway ) ! but i wonder if i should apologise for that fact?? it's tricky ya know coz if i say this to my c/s friends, i always censor myself at some point because I think that they're thinking i'm criticising them inadvertently, but i'm not! so, do i say nothing at all if we're discussing our experiences of birth????? i dunno. what do you think?

btw - i am convinced the "empowering" effect of natural birth is simply due to the excessive amounts of endorphins and oxytocin the brain releases when you go through all that pain and physical exertion. when you boil it down, that's really all it is. no epiphanies, no revelations, no moving time and space, just brain chemistry doing it's thing! :rolleyes:

Ethereal
20-10-2006, 09:28 PM
Where were you ladies a year ago or so?

Thankyou for starting such a personally supportive thread.
C-section mums need some appropriate understanding too. :thumbsup:

Talou
20-10-2006, 10:50 PM
I also chose to have a c/s when I was pregnant with my dd. Im only 150cm tall and id heard so many horror stories of women my size labouring for 20-30 hours only to be told in the end that there is no-way they can deliver naturally. I told my dr. that there is no way i want to go thru that and i didnt want to put my bubba in any stress or danger, so she sent me for a pelvimetry and an ultrasound at 35 weeks to determine size of baby, and advised me a c/s at 38 weeks was the way to go. It def. was the right decision for me as my dd was 10lb 1oz and was no way she wouldve been born naturally. But unlike so many others on here, I actually had family, friends and even strangers, tell me I SHOULD have a c/s.

bella rose
23-10-2006, 12:55 PM
Hi!!

Thanks for this post, we're currently pregnant with our first baby & I will be asking my Ob for a C/S and if she says no I will go to another Ob! We have studied it all and know the risks involved in all kinds of birthing methods and still believe a C/S is the best for the 3 of us!

I love reading all the positive stories as it helps prepare me, especially mentally, for the process and the recovery!! And makes me excited about it!!

CHARLIEandNOAH
24-10-2006, 08:13 AM
Just wanted to share my POSITIVE caesarian experience. When Charlie's due date came and went, I was still expecting to go into natural labour. Two weeks overdue, I went into the hospital to be induced. Ob did an internal, said baby was high up. Had an ultrasound a few days earlier, which showed that he was in the right position. Was told that the Ob would not be happy to induce me that morn, I could either have a c-sect or come back in the following monday. I was not sick of being pregnant, but felt an overwhelming calmness that I was ready to GIVE BIRTH via c-section. I told the Ob that I WILL do whatever is best for the baby and me - straight then and there .. she told me that my partner and I were very mature for making that decision, as she said that many women want to experience a contraction / labour .....
Preparations were made for surgery .. I even got to see my mum and sister before going in (as they were at the hospital either way) .. Going into theatre I was very relaxed and knew that I could solely concentrate on experiencing the birth of our baby .. The Ob told me that my DP looked more nervous than me! They were so professional, that although my c-section was not planned, I had the best experience ever - with about 5 professionals and my dear partner overseeing and welcoming our dear son. It truly was surreal. DP got to sit there, hold my hand throughout the whole birth and cut the cord. Many beautiful photos were taken. There has never been one single hesitation about the birth and I did not feel like I was cheated of anything. I am his Mum, I carried him for more than nine months, I did give birth to him and he entered safely into this world!
I am due with my second baby April 2007 and seriously considering another c-section. But again, I will do whatever is best for the baby and myself ..

PS - Although he was in the correct position, when he was born the Ob said he was "high as a kite" .. At a ultrasound with my second pregnancy I was told that I have an incredibly long cervix and the baby is high up already. Has anybody else had this experience?? I am possibly thinking this is to why Charlie's head never engaged into my pelvis and it may be the same this time around ..

Thankyou for listening to my BIRTH story, I hope that you have enjoyed it almost as much as I have relived the most magicial day in my life .. xx

bekkyboo
24-10-2006, 08:18 AM
I loved my C/Section.

jase thought it was rather amusing that i giggled all through them pulling me left right and center. and when you give bith to a 9lb baby - you are rather happy that you didnt have to "push" it out!

My scar healed wonderfully - looks like a fold in the skin. I was unassisted walking within 8, I was discharged within 72, pain free within 2 weeks!

I loved my C/S, but would like to try the other way next time...

PrincessT
01-11-2006, 01:33 PM
I so agree with this topic - I had an elective c/s for various reasons and I wouldnt have it any other way.

Firstly, I have major spinal drama. My Spinal specialist advised c/s and it was fine by me. Secondly, my aunt died in childbirth, another reason I didnt want a long drawn out labour. Thirdly after being in a horrific accident (when I got the spinal problems) I discovered I didnt really 'do' long drawn out pain very well.

I also agree what has been said here preiously. OB's hardly have the time to go around playing golf and therefore prefer c/s to fit in with their 'schedule'. My OB when not on duty is leacturing at university or overseas or plain trying to spend time with is own family.

I personally dont care how a woman has her baby - at home, at a private hospital, in a car or in a bloody paddock. What annoys me is they think they have the right to tell you what YOU should be doing. My choice, my child, my body is so damn right.

c/s bashing is at the utmost worst when people tell you that you are 'interrupting nature' and people have been having vb since the dawn of time. Well in that case, people who have emergency c/s are also interrupting nature even if it is life threatening - as are people who have IVF... they are also interferring with the 'course of nature ' but no people dont take that into account do they? That seems to be ok.

cind_75
03-11-2006, 09:38 AM
i have had to have c-sections without a choice (not meant to give birth naturally and not ashamed either) and personally i like the fact that i am all natural still....down there.
although i have had 4 c-sections, i have recovered quickly and want to go through this again.
yes i think its important to be aware of what can go wrong though honestly reading half these c-section stories in other threads, i have had nightmares!!!!! especially the placenta one!!!
i have decided that i dont want to read what can go wrong as it scares me.
woman arent stupid and we all know its surgery.

becca74
03-11-2006, 06:03 PM
I have avoided this thread, but I wont anymore, because :eek: shock horror, my 1st c/section was a postive experience for me!!

And heck, to those who think I'm anti-c/sec, I hope you can see from this post that I'm not......

This was with my 1st son, who was posterior, and the Ob only allowed me 2 hours and 45 mins to try and get him out, after I'd fully dilated.

The lights were dimmed, except for the area they were operating on, and they put on a cd of romantic music which was specifically designed for births via c/sec....they had no idle chat, I was still the 'birthing mother' and was respected as such. They gently told me about everything that was happening, and my son was pulled from my body to the sounds of "Perfect Moment" by Martine McCutcheon. He yelled in protest straight away :laughing:

He was quickly cleaned and wrapped and placed straight back into my arms. All I could say over and over was 'precious....precious....precious....'

We cooed for a while, and then my husband took him into the recovery room to wait for me, and took off his shirt and had skin to skin cuddles for 20 minutes, whilst I was sutured.

I was wheeled into recovery and he was handed straight to me....I asked the recovery nurse "can I feed him yet"....."he's your baby, you can feed him when ever you want" she replied....

From the word go he was a boob-a-holic! like he was a pro.

He never left my side from that point onward, he was wheeled down to the maternity ward in my arms on the trolley bed, and we co-slept from that day forward till he was 12 months old......

I wont mention the recovery bit.....pretty typical for a c/sec, but the actual experience of the operation was a positive one.

I just wish my 2nd c/sec had been as good......:rolleyes:

If anyone wants/needs to look at ideas about planning a positive caesarean experience, there is a wealth of ideas here: http://www.birthrites.org/caesarean.html

No matter which exit is the one for your baby, every baby deserves a sacred entrance into the world, and I think this was achieved beautifully during my 1st c/sec experience :thumbsup:

finalcountdown!
05-12-2006, 09:33 PM
hi all...thanks for this thread..im currently having my second baby with only 4 weeks to go.. i am still considering elective c section..but havent brought it up with my ob yet. I guess im worried he ll just fob me off and say no.
I had a vb with my first child...approx 18 hours..and only a second degree tear afterwards..but i was not sutured properly..and in result had problems down below for months. Nothing down there has ever been the same since!!

I really would like to preserve what condition it is down there and am almost positive i will tear again..i ended up with pn depression and had a really negative birth experience altogether.

But....i just feel sooo silly ...and that people are going to disaprove..or that i have to justify myself to my ob>>>?>:no: :no: :no:

Tubbychook
13-12-2006, 09:20 AM
I have just found this thread and think that its great. I was in labour for 24 hours with my little man before having to have an emergnecy c/s. Although i would have loved to be able to have a natural birth my biggest concern was to have my baby out alive. I sort of knew by the time i had been in labour for nearly 20hours that he wasnt coming naturally i just had a feeling. As it was there was no way that my body was going to allow my little man to come out that way even though he was only a little 6lb14oz baby he was too big for me to push out and he got stuck which not only endangered his life but also my own. I had a great c/s and as a result of my boy being stuck the way he was i can only have c/s now.

I had a great recovery after his birth i was wanting to get up and move about that night but they wouldnt let me I really wanted to hold my son. He was in special care on oxygen as he had stopped breathing and had to be resucated (sp?) at birth DH was the only one to nurse him all i got was a quick touch before they took him away I fianlly got to nurse him at about 9.30pm he was born at 2.20pm.

I found the worst thing about the c/s was taking the dressing off as they didnt shave me properly and it stuck to the hairs down there and killed when it came time to pull the dressing off ouch yet i kept getting in trouble for not wanting pain medication in hospital because i wasnt in any pain unless someone made me laugh. I am looking forward to having my next baby (hopefully next year) and i know that next time i will get to nurse my baby straight away besides my bits down there are all still nice and "new".

We dont all have a choice how our baby comes out just as long as they come out alive. I dont know who it was but one famous comedian siad that he was born via c/s he looked at it as using the window to get out rather then the front door like everyone else.

petal80
14-12-2006, 02:00 PM

I just want to say wow this thread is GREAT!!

I had an emergency c/s with bub 1 and am currently pregnant with #2

at this stage its un-clear weather I'll need to have another c/s but Ive been concidering an e/c for a while now -

my first c/s exp was a possitive one.
just nice to have some support from a great bunch of women. I havent completly ruled out a VBAC as yet but am 80% sure I'll c/s it this time - have spoken to my OB and at this stage he said that either birth is a possibility.

thankyou again for all your wonderful stories!

twitch
16-12-2006, 07:34 PM
I was just wondering why ppl would think that another woman having a c/s is a bad thing? I just don't understand why they would think that... I know this is my first and maybe I'm missing something, but does it really matter if the baby's born by c/s if mum and bubs are healthy? This might sound naive but I have been thinking about it heaps and I just can't understand why someone else would say that you shouldn't have a c/s. Can someone please explain to me why it matters how bubs comes out? I'm not being rude or anything, I just seriously don't see a down side to an elective c/s :o

Faeml
16-12-2006, 07:43 PM
Everyone feels different about it. I feel the way you do, my C/S was a 100% positive experience for me.

But just as we feel like that and can't understand why some women are obsessed with needing a "Vaginal Birth Story", there are many out there who can't for the life of them understand why someone would willingly undertake major surgery under a local anesthetic and miss out on what they feel is an extremely important bonding experience.

They can't help they way they feel about it anymore than we can.

I think the idea of what is an 'acceptable risk' comes into it as well. In my circumstances I considered the risks of a c/s to be acceptable and in the best interests of me and my baby. In the same situation another woman may feel they are unacceptable and choose to birth her baby in a different way.

twitch
16-12-2006, 07:52 PM
Thanks Wendy. I see what you're saying. I would have a c/s if it was best for me and bubs or a vaginal delivery if that's what was best for me and bubs. I think it's great hearing the positive c/s stories, my ob has said that's probably what I'll have, so we'll see what happens.

bekkyboo
07-01-2007, 01:19 PM
I had booked in for a C/S with G as i have SVT and my dr was unsure how my heart would cope, so J and I were given the option. We took it in the view that it was a safer procaution for our situation.

I went into spontaous labour at 37+5 and G's heart rate skyrocketed after my watersbroke, so surgury was a must.

I had great dr's all round. The anethitst (sp?) was awesome and kind, my stand in Ob was a young Asain doc, who was very profession and gave me what every dr has commented on and called "the cleanest inision" they have ever seen. I had nurses that took pictures, and allowed G and J too stay with me for the best part of my stitch up.

Only problem was in recovery - with a communication with those nurses and ward nurses and J and G didnt come back and i had to wait to see them.

I was up and surprisingly mobile within 8hrs of surgury. Out of hospital within 72hr, painfree well within 2 weeks.

I loved my C/S and even tho i will push for a VBAC next time round - I am greatful for my experiences...

harvey123
22-01-2007, 01:03 PM
Nice to know others feel the same way. I ended up having a c/s as our dd just didn't want to come out and at 6 days over due someone could have asked to chop off one of my legs and I would have agreed if it meant I didn't have to preg anymore. But I am so sick of people being so judgemental about c/s'. If you want one, have one. As long as you and your bub are safe and well, who cares. People should focus on giving you advice about what to do with a newborn not about the birth.

spoon
31-01-2007, 04:08 PM
Oh, thanks so much guys for this thread!!! I am still very very scared maybe becasue i have a lot of questions but becasue of you guys i am starting to rethink my options.

I am expecting twins this year, and i do not want to have an emergency c-section. It is the lack of control that is scaring me to death right now.

I have had two v births, both of which i do not feel i had too much control over anyway. Especially my last one...

So with the twins i am thinking that i have no hope at all to have any control over the situation if i go v birth.

Now thanks to you guys i am seriously thinking about c-section for my babies. I think my babies will be better off this way.

My goodness i am SO scared.

sarahs
27-02-2007, 06:34 PM
What a great thread!!!

I had an emergency caesar with DS1 after enduring an horrendous labour with the most evil midwife on earth - there was no other explanation for her, she was just PURE EVIL! It amazes me that someone so revolting could actually work in that profession.

My emergency c/s was WONDERFUL!!! The anaethetist (a woman who had both her kids by c/s) talked me through it and was stroking my hair throughout the op - at first I thought it was DH but it was actually the anaethetist. Her offsider took photos - I have the most beautiful photos of him being born (perhaps a bit graphic, but beautiful) and photos of the first moments of his life. I complained I was cold (it might have just been a reaction to the anaesthetic) but they pumped warm air under my blankets. It was absolutely fantastic - and I in no way felt I had problems bonding with DS - I had been bonding with him for 9 months beforehand. I got to hold him as soon as he was born and the only time he left my sight was to be weighed in the recovery room and DH took him out to have that done.

2nd time around I was leaning towards a c/s partly because of my horrendous labour experience. Discussed the risks with my OB - confirmed that if I booked a c/s I could get the same anaethetist (I was more interested in having her than my OB lol). ANd asked that I didn't get the evil midwife... The risk of uterine rupture with VBAC put me off that route- I'd had a miscarriage between my boys and I felt the risk of losing the baby was too great even at 0.5%. The actual op seemed a little clinical - but again the team were wonderful and I had no problems bonding - and again I have beautiful photos taken by the hospital team. I recovered quicker second time around - left hospital after 3 nights - I would've left after 2 but my OB wasn't on over the weekends.

Again, great to have a thread where it's ok to admit you have had c/s and enjoyed them and not be made to feel that you are a) stupid for not holding the same beliefs as others and that you couldn't have possibly researched it properly to make that choice or b) you are a failure as a woman for not having a drug free vaginal birth.

niesl_bug
28-02-2007, 09:50 AM
Thank you for this thread!

I am planning an elective c-section for my own reasons I don't feel I have to justify to anyone.

So, thank you ladies for sharing your positive experiences :thumbsup:

Nozzy
28-02-2007, 11:50 AM
I also LUUURVED having a c-section! I'm not very keen on PAIN and I thought 'lemme see, I'm living in the 21st century, where's that needle??? Bring it ON!". Mine wasn't elective but after 23 hours of water being broken and no contractions they told me a c section was the way to go, but they told me as if it were BAD news! Secretly I was not looking forward to giving birth and there seems to be a stigma attached in Australia to mothers who have c-sections and bottlefeed!

harvey123
28-02-2007, 02:55 PM
i have to agree. i didn't choose a c/s but have to say in hind sight i'm kind of glad. it is really nice to be able to say that you had a c/s and you are happy about it. i don't know about any one else but i get sick of having to explain why i had a c/s. as soon as you mention c/s the next question is was it an emergency and then you get that look of pity or judgement.

susiehomemaker
28-02-2007, 11:42 PM
I had an emergency ceasar. Wasnt keen on the whole idea at the time. Esp as the labour was progressing quite nicely and I wasnt in too much pain. But my Mum had a really traumatic birth with me & she told me not to argue and that at least my sex life wouldnt grind to a halt for 2 years (lmao- she is so straight and to the point! A bit tmi thanks Mum....) and that I should elect for a ceasar next time too. Not looking forward to the decision I will have to make. The dr said I was too small for bub last time while I was in labour, but after said that I would have been fine as DD was smaller than we expected so now I really dont know what to do- I dont want to end up how my Mum did with me. But I dont want the next bub wheeled upstairs while I am wheeled off to recovery either. Was anyone here allowed to have their bub in recovery with them? Anyway- thanks for starting a lovely positive ceasar thread!

harvey123
01-03-2007, 02:20 PM
i was allowed my bub in a humicrib next to me in recovery next to me. she was ony not with me while i was being stitched up and she never left my husband, i was interested if anyone was allowed to see their c/s? whether they could lower the curtain to see the bub coming out? i know it's gross but i thought it might make it seem not quite so surreal. i found it a bit odd that our dd just suddenly appeared.

Faeml
01-03-2007, 04:04 PM
Sarah was in recovery with us. Either DH or I were with her the entire time, she was never alone with any of the staff.

I could have had the curtain lowered if I'd wanted it... but I didn't.

vixi3
01-03-2007, 10:10 PM
Hi All, this is my first post, I love all the positive stories about c/sections. I have had 2 VB and a c/section 16weeks ago. (Am very lucky to have a DD, a DS and a beautiful baby girl). I was terrified of having a c/section after all the stories I had heard and read etc, but it really was the most fantastic experience.
The spinal didnot hurt one bit and within minutes I had my precious baby. The recovery was a bit sore, but I took my painkillers and mobilised as much as I could.
All three of my births were amazing experiences and I just wanted to give some reassurance to any other mums to be who are worrying.
Just try and relax and go with the flow. Do what feels right for you and enjoy the experience.

yoji123
02-03-2007, 03:10 PM
would like to know usually which week does obs allow elective c/s to be performed?

natasha
02-03-2007, 03:34 PM
would like to know usually which week does obs allow elective c/s to be performed?
From what I remeber, I think I went in 4 days before my due date. I think its usually the week your due isnt it?:detective:

WitchHazel
02-03-2007, 03:38 PM
When I was told I may need an elective c/s (elective meaning non-emergency) for placenta privea, I was told two weeks before due date.

niesl_bug
02-03-2007, 04:10 PM
I am due 10 Aug, booked in 7 Aug for my c/s. I could have done it 31 July but wanted to leave bub in there for a bit longer!
I think it's generally 1 - 2 weeks before you're due date.

Melly_Belly
03-03-2007, 09:26 PM

Well I have enjoyed reading through the positive stories on c/s. I always thought that I would have a VB if everything in my pregnancy went well, but was VERY open to having a cesarean section if my doctor advised (I am a firm believer they don't just recommend you have one for no reason!!) and/or DH decided to go that way once the pregnancy progressed.

I think the main reason (which I think was mentioned earlier) people have negative experiences in chldbirth is when they are not mentally prepared for/aware of what is coming - Note: the only negative c/s stories I hear are from woman who had planned a VB and ended up having an emergency c/s. AND we don't hear negative VB stories from women who planned a c/s and wished they had gone that way??? I do hear horror VB stories from women who did plan them though - and I don't like hearing them!!!

I found out we are having twins (due August) and must admit that I was not disappointed when the doctor told me he would only deliver by c/s (for me it was a decision that didn't have to be made :thumbsup: and DH & I trusted him enough to be happy with that).

I work in the Health department and have spoken to many colleagues about it (mostly nurses/doctors) and not many are suggesting going any differently or berating me for our choice - the only ones that seem to have a strong opinion on it not being a good option are people that don't have a medical background - so I think their is something to be said for that!! I am lucky though as I haven't come across really anyone who has tried to talk me out of it or made me feel bad for my decision. Mind you I am very comfortable with the choice of having an elective c/s and it doesn't bother me what people think anyway :cool: .

Not that I am saying it is the choice for all, I just think that how you deliver your baby is up to you and your doctor based on your circumstances and I believe the best outcome is had by those that are prepared and aware of what decision they are making. I feel for those woman who aren't prepared for events that can occur in emergent situations and end up having bad experiences...

I have read ALOT of literature on the subject (both for work and privately) and their is definately a lot of research and experience out there that supports all forms of childbirth for all all manner of situations. I think the 'natural birth' advocates make some good points, but I think they can tend to get a bit overzealous about putting pressure on woman to do things a certain way as a blanket rule, and as we know EVERY circumstance is different. I do note, however, that most midwives are not about advocating one way or another (as sometimes portrayed) and are really there to support the mother and ensure a healthy baby is born!!:smiliedance:

So I guess all the advice I have (without having even given birth any which way yet!!) is that the decision is a personal one you need to make along your journey to parenthood and one that you need to be comfortable with - and in saying that just be aware of all eventualities and at least a little bit prepared for things to not go as planned - but stay positive.

Good luck all and look forward to some more comments on this and positive comments and support for all those of us that are choosing that path...and those that end up on this path for whatever reason.

Good luck with YOUR choice!!

(This is a bit long and not even a good c/s story!! sorry :ecomcity: )

Terrible2+1cutie
03-03-2007, 09:39 PM
I had a emergency cesarean with DS1 after a 24 hour labour and being fully dialated they said his head was too big to come out, he was 9lbs 13 oz. With DS2 I opted for a elective cesarean cause i didnt want to go through a similar ordeal as the first time, lucky i did cause DS2 was 10lbs 4 oz.

niesl_bug
03-03-2007, 09:50 PM
Mel - you should join us in the Due In August thread :thumbsup:

The strongest opinions on VB I have received so far have been from men :eek: I have in no uncertain terms told them to f*&k off and come back to me when they are in a position have a baby !!!

Eeyore
06-03-2007, 08:18 PM
It is so nice to read about positive c/s experiences. I had an emergency c/s for DD 16months ago and was terrified mostly about the epidural or spinal. I have to say it was a strange experience after being in labour to have bub not come "naturally". However, I will always two things that I read during my pregnancy.
1) Downstairs will stay honeymoon fresh (courtesy of Up The Duff :laughing:)
2) Birth is just one part of having a baby - you've spent nine months growing a beautiful, precious little person and birthing them is a relatively small part in the scheme of things.

niesl_bug
07-03-2007, 12:26 PM
However, I will always two things that I read during my pregnancy.
1) Downstairs will stay honeymoon fresh (courtesy of Up The Duff :laughing:)
2) Birth is just one part of having a baby - you've spent nine months growing a beautiful, precious little person and birthing them is a relatively small part in the scheme of things.

Thank you Eeyore - I will remember these ... and I love my Up The Duff book :thumbsup:

natasha
27-04-2007, 10:33 AM
Up the Duff is a fantastic book!! It made me howl with laughter so many times when I was preggers!!The tears would literally run down my face!!!

harvey123
27-04-2007, 07:00 PM
i had an unplanned c/s...was any one else surprised by how little the whole thing really hurt? i always get those sympathetic looks when i say i had a c/s....i found it pretty pain free and now wonder if with any other births i wouldn't just have an elective c/s..

Minke
27-04-2007, 07:33 PM
i had an unplanned c/s...was any one else surprised by how little the whole thing really hurt? i always get those sympathetic looks when i say i had a c/s....i found it pretty pain free and now wonder if with any other births i wouldn't just have an elective c/s..

Yeah, I was the same - thought it would be way worse! Although, my sister had two electives and said they were both very different - one she recovered very quickly, the other... was not as easy (POSITIVE THREAD!!! :p ). I think the same thing - that if i went back i'd probably go the c/s

caitcam
27-04-2007, 08:55 PM
:yes: I had an elective c/s with my DS after having a 3rd degree tear with DD. And it was a great experience. I really enjoyed meeting my DS and was very emotional because I wasnt exhausted. IF i ever had another bub, it would be by C/s and I would have no concerns about. The only problem i had was that 6 days after c/s I got a terrible cold and the coughing was not fun!! But at least you can hold your tummy and support your wound, unlike the awful tear I had with DD that caused many long lasting complications!
But as many have already said, you just want your baby to have a safe arrival, and I acknowledge that I have not had an emergency C/s under stressful circumstances. I instead had a lovely relaxed C/S with wonderful and excited theatre staff.

juzzy
27-04-2007, 10:26 PM
Up the Duff is a fantastic book!! It made me howl with laughter so many times when I was preggers!!The tears would literally run down my face!!!

oooohhhh i love that book too, have you read the next one, kidwrangling? thats alright too

My c section was unplanned as well, and yeah i was surprised.... I went thru 8 hours of labour with DD before having my c section so the difference between the two is amazing! I am so glad, at the end of the day, that i had my c section! My next bubba will definatly be an elective! No way a watermelon is going to try and squeeze through my bits ever again!

Mikenzees mum
27-04-2007, 11:29 PM
I loved it i was up in the NICU 12 hours later in a and then i was walking around in ther 16 hours post csection and had no problems at all i will never consider having a baby naturaly i was so happy with the c section i knew my baby was not in disstress and i was relaxed and pain free oh and i didnt have saw girl bits either

Mumma2Jack
15-05-2007, 03:12 PM
I had an emergancy c.section 2 years ago.
I had 10 hours of Labour,was indused and had the most painful back labour pains in the world.
Turned out i wasent dilating and bubs was distressed.so off i went for my C.section.

To be honset,i wasent scared at all.
During my pregnancy i took the attidude that how ever it happens it will happen.
This time around i may be trying a vbac.But still not sure.I will know in 2 weeks which way it will go.
Its a great thread here to read all your positive storys.I think it helps some mummys feel as though its not a bad evil thing to have to have.

I had no probs after my c.section.i think i was so thrilled over my Ds that i wouldnt have noticed anything..

Good luck to you all.I hope you all get the births you are after and thanks to you all for sharing your storys.:hugs:

natasha
15-05-2007, 03:21 PM
Thanks for sharing yours too Mumma2jack...:hugs:

That's exactly why I started this thread......so we can all support eachother and tell of our wonderful c section experiences, a positive place to come and share.:hugs:

ImSethsMum
15-05-2007, 07:46 PM
I just wanted to say thanks for all the positive stories. Im not pregnant but am having a c/section type cut & surgery in 2-3 weeks (date not decided yet) and I have heard all the horror stories about c/section recoveries. My surgeon has told me my recovery will be the same as if id had a c/section so Ive been trying to find a positive side IYKWIM.

My son was a natural delivery turned horror story/birth trauma and I wish at the time Id had a c/section. This surgery is to fix a few things, most of which were cause by his difficult birth 2 yrs ago.

Thanks,
Kelly

lindseyv
31-05-2007, 08:45 PM
Hi all, I am 22 and elected to have my daughter with a cesarian. I had so many people telling me it was the easy way out and that I was a sook. Yes, i was petrified of having a natural birth and still am. I was scared of having complications during the birth, the pain and stretching + tearing. I had a wonderful obstretrician who didn't judge me and helped me through the times when i was confused and upset about my decision. I had an epidural (fantastic), was glued on the outside and stitched on the inside. This was also great and i found it very easy to deal with as i didn't need to worry about not getting anything wet or going back to get stitchers out. The operation itself only took about 15 minutes. And I was back in my room within 2 hours of arriving at the hospital. My daughter had no problems with coming out 12 days prior to her EDD. She was a healthy 7pounds 6 ounces. I had my op on Monday and came home on the Friday. It did take me 3 days to get out of bed without getting light headed, but by that night i was walking around like normal. I did have after pains about 3 hours after the op and that is something i did not expect! That hurt like hell - I wont lie about that, but as soon as i got the drugs into me, i was fine. Within about 3 weeks of the op, i was back to my normal self and was able to do everything.

I wouldn't have a baby any other way!!!!! And to those critics - it's far from an easy way out! To me it's just a safer option for both mum and bub! Why not take the safe option, if its available????

natasha
04-06-2007, 10:51 AM
Wow we'v had over 4600 views on this thread! Just imagine how many women your stories have helped.....Thanks so much for sharing.:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

summerlump
08-06-2007, 12:12 PM
I think the main reason (which I think was mentioned earlier) people have negative experiences in chldbirth is when they are not mentally prepared for/aware of what is coming - Note: the only negative c/s stories I hear are from woman who had planned a VB and ended up having an emergency c/s. AND we don't hear negative VB stories from women who planned a c/s and wished they had gone that way??? I do hear horror VB stories from women who did plan them though - and I don't like hearing them!!!

:ecomcity: )

This is what I'm beginning to realise. I cried for about half an hour when I found out I might need a c-section for bubs who is breeched. At least I've had time to prepare myself for it now. If they had told me that at labour I think it would have been very traumatic. Healing after surgery/illness has a lot to do with your mental attitude.

Stretchmark Diva
09-06-2007, 11:49 AM
I have a theory that there is a strong link between people's expectations ( eg "I'm going to have a drug free natural birth! I won't need any interventions because I only eat organic food and do daily yoga") and PND if the reality doesn't match up.

In some ways the "Anti-Caesar" lobby does women a disservice, unintentionally, because there is a lot of emphasis placed on the idea that we can control the pregancy/childbirth/newborn process if we "trust our bodies" or "are educated about the childbirth process." And "don't trust the medical profession if they say something you don't want to hear."

Of course, this isn't true. There is plenty we can't control. We are only half of the relationship; the baby doesn't read the self-help manuals, and sometimes complications occur that no-one could predict.

And as Melly_Belly said - perhaps some people aren't prepared for all the outcomes. They think they are prepared for a straightforward natural vaginal delivery, but do no research into ceasars, inductions, pain relief and episiotomy.

Wonder if there has been any research done on PND and expectations of pregnancy/childbirth?

icugal
09-06-2007, 12:21 PM
All through my pregnancy I wanted to have an elective caesar and not a single doctor would even consider it. They often disregarded me with the whole "You DON'T want a caesar... you don't know what you are saying.." speech.

Without sounding like I'm big-noting myself here... I consider myself to be VERY well informed on the entire surgical procedure, risks, complications etc of caesareans. I am a nurse and have witnessed both vaginal and caesarean births as a part of my job... I have looked after caesar mums so I also have an idea of what they go through post-operatively. I KNEW what I would be getting myself into if I had a caesar, and yet no-one would listen to me.

Instead I was made me go through 15 hours of induced labour which resulted in an emergency caesar anyway because my son became wedged in the birth canal. Because of the head injury he sustained as a result of being squished from the powerful contractions (I had Syntocinon infused at full strength for nearly the entire labour), my son spent his first two days in Special Care. If they had just given me the caesar that I wanted in the first place... we could have avoided that whole scenario.

I think the midwives/doctors were a bit suprised by my reaction when they first told me I was going in for a caesar... I think they were expecting me to get upset... but instead I yelled out "WooHoo !!!" with a huge smile on my face... I was so excited !!!

I absolutely LOVED my caesar and the whole process was everything I thought it would be... infact if anything, it was BETTER than I expected (I obviously thought it would be worse than it was). If I have another baby... I will be definately having another caesar.. and this time, I WILL NOT be taking no for an answer...

icugal
09-06-2007, 12:26 PM
I ha