View Full Version : Buying Clothes - What size was your newborn
To all you mums, just wondering how big your baby was when born and what size clothes he or she was wearing.
I know the recommendations are 0000 or 000 but my mum swears that they are too small. She says that I was in a 00 or 0 and I was only 7lb 4oz.
Have the sizes changed, and what did you buy your newborn?
Your HELP would be appreciated
Sarah
My baby was 8lb 3oz (3.7kg) and was in 0000 for about 2-3 weeks before she moved onto the 000 sizes which lasted her a few months. (up to about 5 months old)
She is now just under 8kg and is in 00 clothes so I think putting a newborn in 00 or 0 would be way too big for them!! :p
Obviously some clothes sizes vary but the above was the general sizing for me if you get what I mean..... :D
26-09-2006, 20:07
Umm I dont think your newbron will fit a 0!!! Maybe your mums memory has faded a little or possibly sizes have changed lol!!!
My son was 6lb 15oz so just off 7lb and he was in 00000 for a couple of weeks then was in 0000, then 000 by the time he was 3-4 months old and he was a good doer too.
So you are very unlikely to need 00 - 0 till bubs is a few months old.
I could be wrong and some bubs may fit 00-0 as new borns but none that I know of have!!
26-09-2006, 20:08
Hi! 00 & 0 will be HUGE!!!!! Yes the sizes have changes a lot!
Both my kiddies were in 0000. Connor was 8lb 4oz & Ella was 6lb 14oz. The 0000's were a bit baggy on Ella, but she soon grew into them.
Defiantely dont go bigger than 000 :)
FourAngelKisses
26-09-2006, 20:09
My first was 11lb.......he was in 000's for about 2-3 weeks (so yeah, your baby will definately need 000's, lol).
My second was 8lb 3oz and in 000's for about 4mths. She probably needed a few 0000's, but I couldn't be bothered buying them as it was summer and she was only in singlets and nappies.
My third was 10lb 2oz and in 000's for about a month.
HTH
my kids were 9pound 9 and 8 pound 7 i only ever bought 000 yes the were bigger bubs but why buy 0000 or smaller when they may not fit into them at all or for very long. if need be u can always get a few smaller sizes after the baby is born and you know for sure. oh and different brands have slightly different sizes too especially big w/ target/ best and less.
DS was 4.0kgs and was in 000's when he left the hospital. I just got the basics (jumpsuits, singlets, shirts) in size 000 & 00 and the plan was to go shopping when I knew what colour to buy - we got LOTS of clothes as gifts though so didn't need to buy too much at all. Happy shopping!
jembelina
26-09-2006, 20:13
My ds was born 8lb3oz and started out in size 000. I guess he probably could have fitted into 0000 for a week or so at the most, but I didn't buy any. He grew really fast and was in a 00 by 2 months and an 0 by 4/5 months, then stayed in that size for ages. Different brands do vary in size, but not a huge amount. My advice would be to buy most of your newborn stuff in size 000, and maybe have a couple of 0000 outfits. You can always have bigger sizes too, at least they will be grown into. Just leavet he tags on and keep your receipts!!
I bought a few things in a 0000, then about twice as much in 000's for when my bubs were born.
DS was 7lb 6oz and he never fit 00000's at all, but DD was 7lb 15oz and she wore the few 00000 size clothes we were given for about the first month...DD was 300g heavier than DS and they were both 50cm long at birth...no idea why she fit them but he didn't.
My DD is wearing 0's now, she's 10mths old, she's quite long for her age tho, DS didn't fit into 0's til around his first b'day.
My mum always said that 0000's would not fit a newborn, but the sizes have definatly changed, some of the things my mum had from when we were bubs were 00 or 0's and they fit my DD in the first 6mths.
Have fun shopping :)
Look at the labels on the clothes, they usually have a weight/age recommendation....just be aware that bonds stuff seems to be on the smaller side and some other brand are very generous sizing.
We were expecting an early delivery b/c of pregnancy complications but the little 'princess' decided to stay until 10days overdue, was born 9lb 2oz
and FILLED 0000 and 2 weeks later nothing fit. I think it may be wise to buy a couple 0000 clothes but mainly 000. I had some 00000 that were never worn and some 0000 that were never worn or only worn a couple of times.
oh, something else...don't bother buying singlets smaller than 000's. They fit fine even when everything else thats 000 is still too big.
26-09-2006, 20:22
id suggest getting a few 0000's and ALOT of 000's my dd was only in 0000's for around 2 weeks
FourAngelKisses
26-09-2006, 20:23
True....I always buy singlets 1-2 sizes bigger so that they can actually be tucked in. They seem to go up around their belly buttons if I don't.
DS was born 9 pound and half an ounce he was in 0000 for a few weeks, 000 for ages! He is nearly 6 & a half months and still fits a few 000 clothes, his 00 are a little bit baggy. Definately get bigger singlets, they are ribbed so they will stretch out as bubs grows into it. I also found the wondersuits were a small size, if he was wearing 000 he was in 00 wondersuits comfortably, but he is very long so that could be why. Goodluck and congrats!!
He was 8lbs 4oz at birth and wore 0000 for a month or so. He's grown out of pretty much all his 0000 growsuits now (5 weeks) but still wearing "NB" rompers and pants and things. The growsuits are too short now and, for those that have them, the feet are way too small.
He is a quick grower, though. He's grown 8cm in length since birth :eek:
DS is only just fitting into 000 now, and he's 3 months! He was in 00000 for about 2-3 weeks. I reckon it all depends though, on the brand of the clothes... some are so much bigger than others!
26-09-2006, 21:08
I bought 0000's for ds1 (7lb7), ds2(6lb6) and dd2(7lb10) and they were in them for a while but dd1 (5lb) was in 00000's because she was so tiny.
katelynsmum03
26-09-2006, 21:18
Hello, I am in the same boat at the moment. I bought all 0000 in my last pregnancy and to my surprise baby came out only 4pound. So needless to say I needed 00000 and she was in those for a good 2-3 months.
I am currently 30 weeks and keep thinking if I buy 0000 will I have the same problem again or if I buy 00000 will they be too small. I have bought bits and pieces of both. Bonds sizes are the smaller brand on the market. Basically though the growsuits stretch really well so even a 0000 one of those would last an average size baby a while. And just remember you will be showered with gifts once bubs is born and you will want to go out and buy specially for the baby you have waited so long to meet.
Good Luck
red crayon
26-09-2006, 22:53
this is such a tough one. i remember being pregnant and wandering around baby target wondering which sizes to buy. i got lots of 000s and 00s and my ds was born a wee thing at 2.6 kilos so he was in 0000s for a while. i reckon get a couple of 0000s but more 000s. they don't stay tiny for too long.
My son was 7lb 4oz and was in 0000. After about 4 or 5 weeks he was out of 0000 onsies, but still fitting the 2 pieces, he's now 10 weeks and can still get away with the 0000 two pieces, sometimes.. but he can also fit 000s now. :)
Ana Gram
26-09-2006, 23:00
DD was in 00000 for at least the first month but only in separates as she was long. They are only in the really small sizes for a short time, so don't go nuts. Focus on buying more 000 and upward since you are having a summer baby.
SassyMummy
26-09-2006, 23:06
DD was born at 10lbs 4oz, (close to 5kg) and even SHE fit in size 0000 for a small time (admittedly, only about 2 weeks...lol). 000 were with us for quite some time. She wasn't in 00 until around Christmas time...when she was 4-5months old. She's always been a bigger-than-average bub too (by about a size).
000 was the smallest baby size around when our parents where having babies (or so I've been told by numerous people who had babies 20 or more years ago). I'm guessing that a size 00 was the size for "regular" newborns...and that 000 was probably on-par with todays 0000 (which is hardly worn by most babies, so often a waste of money).
If I were you, I'd get 1 or 2 0000 outfits, and stock up on 000. If you get 00, you'll probably find your bub won't wear them because the season/weather will change before he/she will get a chance. That's what happened with our DD (people bought clothes too big...and she never wore them at all).
I'd also recommend pants/shorts & tops, or all-in-one suits. If you have a girl, skirts and dresses just don't fit right on babies who can't sit up alone (they usually ride up, and just look not-too-great). I've found that only NOW, my 14-month-old DD looks good in skirts and dresses...and that's only because she's walking around so they "hang/sit" properly.
26-09-2006, 23:07
Zach was too small for clothes at birth, he grew into 000000 at 6 weeks when he was 4lbs.
Bella was 5lb12 at birth and was in 00000 for about a month before growing into 0000
Savannah was 7lb 5 and she was in 0000 for about a month before 000.. couldnt believe it, shes now 3 months tomorrow and almost in a 0 wondersuit but in 00 tops and 000 pants
bilbymum
26-09-2006, 23:08
Good thread topic, i am about to meet my newborn in a few weeks, so this is on my mind too. I got the same advice as all the people who posted here (buy heaps of 000 and very little 0000) and if you end up with a smaller bub who needs 00000, well then go adn buy the basics.
If taking back stuff with receipts, do it sooner than later, i have been stuck with stuff (unwanted.unsuitable stuff) that because it was 2005 stock, the stores won't refund/exchange -nada zip. (I have a MIL who was buying stuff long before i got pregnant - and of course, it's all newborn for the wrong season now!!!!)
i found buying maternity clothing just as hard to predict, bought tent clothes early on, was small until 6 months, when all that maternity stuff that i now need that size, is wrong cos we are in a different season! bang head. Now i am trying to work out nursing clothes and face the same - will my waist evah come back, what will my breasts be doing after birth size wise etc etc - all this clothes buying seems like a lottery to me.
i see other mums buying AHEAD, like they have a tiny baby, they are buying from the 0's for when their child is that size, like buying the winter clearance stuff in summer, for next winter. I wish i felt that confident to even KNOW what size my unborn child will be by next winter!!! so i am prolly letting lots of bargains go, but i am not confident enuff to know wot size to get.
DS was 7 pounds 10 oz and 55 cms. He was in 0000 until a couple of weeks ago and wore Pumpkin Patch size NB for the last time last week.
I bought a couple of 00000's but he never wore them. His little knees were bent when I put it on him, so funny!, my long baby.
Don't go crazy on the singlets. I counted bubbys singlets the other day and he had 26 of them. I bought some and then every man and his dog gave us some.
He has worn about 4 of them (2 have cute sayings and one is blue and one is aqua, that matched his outfit) but not for about 3 weeks now, I put the all in one bodysuit things that have the snaps at the crotch under his clothes now instead.
Totally agree about the singlets - for some reason, my MIL is obsessed with buying them for me. Well, for the baby, anyway.
I too prefer the bonds singlet suits (the ones with the clicky snaps at the crotch). I HATE how singlets just ride up and bunch under clothing.
EJ was 7lb 1 and in 0000 when born - She's in 0 now and she's 10 months. Agree about the singlets also - EJ had about 20+ she was given of which she only wore about 4 of the coloured ones - I had packets of them left :eek:
Kayteigh
27-09-2006, 06:27
My boys were:
Zach - 10"3/4616 - size 00 at birth
Dylan - 9"13/4450 - size 000 at birth
Travis - 8"3/3700 - size 00000 at birth
Travis is the smallest baby I have had so far. At 19 months Travis's clothes range in size from 00-2 depending on the brand of clothing.
Katie
michelle21
27-09-2006, 06:34
Hi my bub was 8lb 12oz and was in 0000 for about 3 weeks then went to 000. He is 3 mths old now and still fits into alot of his 000 but I mainly dress him in 00 now even though it is a tiny bit big.
If I was buying clothes again I would just get the essentials in 0000 and get alot of 000 stuff. Hope that helps :)
Totally agree about the singlets - for some reason, my MIL is obsessed with buying them for me. Well, for the baby, anyway.
I too prefer the bonds singlet suits (the ones with the clicky snaps at the crotch). I HATE how singlets just ride up and bunch under clothing.
Yup! I prefer the singlet suits too (although I don't have any)
I didn't purchase ANY singlets for cobes, I was given 16-thousand of them. :p
my DD was just under 4 kilos when born and wore 000 for about 8 weeks then into 00 it all depends on the brand of clothing as well.
27-09-2006, 07:23
Ozzy was born 9lb 9oz and we used size 000 for him.
FunkyMonkey
27-09-2006, 12:07
My DS was 3720grms (54cm long) at birth and was in 0000 for about a month.
000 till about 3 months and still in 00 at 5 months. He has some 0 & 1 stuff but its HUGE on him.
If your really unsure just get some of the cheaper stuff from BigW or Kmart for around home untill your sure bubs has gone to the next size.
Also with clothes for yourself, try the lovable yummy mummy nursing camis. they look like a singlet but has clips for easy boobie release. one thing i also do is wear a cami a size too big under a light shirt so you can keep your tummy covered while out and about. But this may be a bit too much clothing for summer. Streachy tops are the go too.
stellarella
27-09-2006, 12:13
my bub was 8'14 and was in 000, with wondersuits he was in 00 by 3 weeks old. i would skip 0000 completely and limit the 000 because they grow so quickly and its better to have slightly too big than too small.
misskittyfantastico
27-09-2006, 12:17
DD was 7lb6oz and wore 0000 bonds wondersuits for about 6 weeks:)
WeloveHarriet
27-09-2006, 13:06
Harriet was 6lb 6oz and wore 00000 as well as premature clothing. She is now 14mths old and only just in 0s.
my son was 7lb 8oz and he was in 0000 for around 2 weeks and then went into 000's the 0000 would have been ok for longer but he was a very long baby. good luck!!!
DS was 8p 11oz. He was in 0000 for about three weeks.
My mum convinced me not to buy anything in that size, but when he was born the 000s were all huge, so she had to run out and get me some things.
Have fun with your shopping!:smiliedance:
jessgray
27-09-2006, 13:23
my ds1 was 8 pound 15 at birth and he was a size 000 for about 3 weeks. after he came home. he came home at 12 days old.
mythreelittlemonkeys
27-09-2006, 16:35
Matilda was a hefty 9lb 5oz (4200g) though she did drop to 3200 in 24 hours...she wore 0000 and UK newborn for first 3-4 weeks then went into 000 Bonds grosuits and stayed in 0-1 month UK clothes...she started wearing 000 in clothes about 6 weeks...and is still wearing some stuff which says for up to 10lbs - she never fills anything out - just lengthways grows out of...She is now pretty much in 000 (at nearly 15 weeks) and has moved up to 00 in grosuits.
Every brand is different does not seem to be a standard?!? maybe your mum dressed u in Bonds as they really small!!
I would hangfire buying too much stuff anyway as people give you so much newborn!! and they never wear it all!
Better to wait see what baby is and go out and buy 000/00 as they need it...much more fun!!
*Country Bumpkin*
27-09-2006, 16:51
DD was 8p 8oz (3kg 875g)
Bonds Wondersuits- 000(DONT buy anything smaller than 000 in bonds unless you have a premmy or a VERY tiny bub)
Best 'n' Less- 0000
Target- Jumpsuits- 0000-000 , Outfits: 0000
Big W- 0000
Other stores 0000
I brought mainly 000 as people said ohhh dont buy anything smaller than 000.. Hmm yeah well poor DD didnt have any outfits that fitted her!! Lucky I brought the bonds wonderduits!! She is only just starting to git into 000 now at 5 weeks and they still swim on her:yes:
Thank you all, I think I will just buy a couple of 0000 items but mostly 000's.
Thank you again for all your imput
Sarah
~mia&ryan~
03-10-2006, 14:50
Mia was in 000 from the hospital, perfect fit.:D She wasnt in 000 for any longer than 2 1/2 months cos she just kept getting longer. We only bought 1x 0000 jumpsuit cos I figured she would grow into 000 or if she was little I could send DF out for more Now she is in 00 and 0's depending on brand.
jess never wore 0000's as she was 8pounds 4 oz. She probably could have fitted into them for about a week but I put her straight into 000 and she wore them for about 5 months but 00's when she turned 5 months in bonds wondersuits as they are made very small. My friends little girl was 6pounds 11oz and she wore 0000's for about 2 months.
chezbear
03-10-2006, 15:46
hey sassi i say just becarefull as different brands have different sizing i've found bonds to have a very acurate size but my boy was 9.4 and was in 000 to 00 depending on brand but i took an outfit in sizes 00000 to 000 just incase thank god i did lol you can never tell how big bubs will be so just pack for the unexpected if you happen to have a small baby then you have clothes for when he/she grows up other wise you could have a big baby and then have colthes to hand over to friends that baby has not wore and you would not be attached to them.
ds is nearly 3 weeks and he's in 0000's. hes too long for the all in ones though and he only just fits into the 000 bonds.