View Full Version : Excited and Petrified at the same time!
Michelle_N
26-09-2006, 10:57 AM
Not sure if anyone else is in the same boat but I am so damn excited about being pregnant and having another baby yet I am extremely petrified at the same time.
I just remember how hard it was having a newborn and the sleepless nights and all that and wondering how DS is going to cope as I wont be able to spend all my time with him, etc, etc, etc.
But then I think how great it will be for him to have a brother or sister....
Excited AND petrified....maybe I should call it Excitrified or Petrifcited?
AHHHHHHH!!!!:banghead:
Or am I just being hormonal? I certainly know that everything is making my teary!
So how is everyone else coping with the changes?
Michelle
bubbles28
26-09-2006, 11:16 AM
Not sure if anyone else is in the same boat but I am so damn excited about being pregnant and having another baby yet I am extremely petrified at the same time.
I just remember how hard it was having a newborn and the sleepless nights and all that and wondering how DS is going to cope as I wont be able to spend all my time with him, etc, etc, etc.
But then I think how great it will be for him to have a brother or sister....
Excited AND petrified....maybe I should call it Excitrified or Petrifcited?
AHHHHHHH!!!!:banghead:
Or am I just being hormonal? I certainly know that everything is making my teary!
So how is everyone else coping with the changes?
Michelle
I'M FEELING THE EXACT SAME WAY AS YOU.
I WONDER HOW AM I GOING TO COPE WITH THE SLEEP DEPRIVATION WHEN I HAVE TO LOOK AFTER A TODDLER TOO
Kayte
26-09-2006, 11:20 AM
Im soooo excited !!!!!!!!!! So nervous at the same time !! I just want to jump up and down all the time !!! haha:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
If it's any consolation, I feel exactly the same way!!!!
How will I chase my toddler all day when I will be so tired? I remember when DS was little, I used to sleep during the day when he did. Not this time!!!!
I think we will cope because we have to, and it will only be hard for such a short time. :)
Michelle_N
26-09-2006, 12:14 PM
I think we will cope because we have to, and it will only be hard for such a short time. :)
I think you are right Foxy. I suppose millions of women have done it before us and they have coped ok :)
I even remember the last month of being pregnant when I was a massive whale lying on the couch, desperately hanging out to go into labour and reading books and watching tv. We certainly aint going to be able to do that now eh! :laughing:
Youre right it will be hard for a short time....I just love my DS so much I dont want him to be jealous or upset or anything. Well at least I have a good 8-9 months to really worry and get myself worked up into a massive stress ball about it :)
Nice to know others have the same worries/happinesses as well and its not just me being a worrywart.
Kayte - I am with you with the jumping around....trying to do it on the inside at work and hope noone notices me on Bub Hub and noone notices my secret little smile!
Michelle
WeloveHarriet
26-09-2006, 01:32 PM
Michelle, your gap between babies is almost identical to mine. I haven't started to worry yet. We are really lucky that Harriet has been a dream baby - we keep laughing and telling each other that this new baby will be a bu@#er :eek: Fingers crossed that we all have babies kind to their mummies :fingerscrossed:
twitch
26-09-2006, 05:01 PM
This will be my first, so my "petrexcited" or "excitefied" is more along the lines of will I be a good mum, will we have enough money, will we fight over how to raise our kids?... all that stuff. I keep telling DH he's going to make a great dad, but am yet to hear him tell me I'll be a good mum, so being all emotional I am thinking that he thinks I'm going to be ****, therefore everyone else must think that too. It's so dumb I know, I just wish he'd say something nice!
Anyway, I am looking forward to hearing how all you ladies go with a toddler as well, as we want our first 2 close together.
OopsieDaisy
27-09-2006, 08:53 AM
I hear you all!!!!
Michelle_N
27-09-2006, 09:15 AM
It's so dumb I know, I just wish he'd say something nice!
Thats the thing about men....they can be so thick sometimes!!
But I know what you mean...,I still have to prod my DP to tell me that I am being a good mum as I do worry about it sometimes (have you guys gathered by now that I worry a lot?!).
But it would be nice for them so say it without you having to ask the question. Sort of like they thought of it all on their own as thats what they think instead of them reacting to a question you have asked.
Mind you when I do ask DP if I am a good mum he gives me this most incredulous look like I have asked him the dumbest thing in the world and says 'Of course you are a good mum'.
So I reckon your DH thinks you will be such a good mum that there is no need to say it.
Maybe you should just say something to him? You know that they do need prodding sometimes. Men! Cant live with em and cant shoot em! :laughing:
Michelle
twitch
27-09-2006, 09:19 AM
Thanks Michelle :D I have had the question on the tip of my tongue, but like you said, I want him to say it on his own, not be prodded. I know if I do ask him, he'll give me that same look your DH does and say "Yeah, of course". I dunno, pity you can't shoot 'em!
Michelle_N
27-09-2006, 09:48 AM
LOL Twitch! Yes indeed!! :laughing:
Bexta
03-10-2006, 05:34 PM
I'm excited... but really scared the baby will have a problem. I was the same way with DD, could only relax once she was born & was healthy.
I don't have the problem of chasing after a toddler like most of you & I admire you all. I'm just a bit upset that I'll have to go back to work straight away, when I got to stay home with DD until she went to pre-school (& even then it was only part-time). Damn house re-payments!!! Life was far simpler renting... I'm just worried I'll miss all the good stuff & my Mum & MIL will have all the fun!!!:(
OopsieDaisy
03-10-2006, 06:01 PM
I worry that too Bexta....
twitch
04-10-2006, 01:11 PM
Me too. I only work part time, but it's money that helps out and we'll have to do some serious budgeting when I stop work. DH doesn't want me to go back to work but I don't think I'll have much choice. I hear ya on the house repayments....:thumbsdown:
babyella
05-10-2006, 09:22 AM
we are due early may and i have an 8 month old:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: talk about panic!!!!!!!!!!!
i don't think i've ever been this nervous!!!
i had to have a c/s with DD#1 because she was breech and i could hardly move for the next 6 weeks, i'm really hoping this doesn't happen again!!
jess
marlie
05-10-2006, 09:34 AM
:wave: Welcome babyella - and congrats on your surprise! I am sure you'll cope fine and your bubba's will be the best of friends :yes:
What date are you due?
babyella
06-10-2006, 11:54 AM
hi Marlie...thanks for the vote of confidence:p
i don't know my excact DD i have my first scan at 2pm today can't wait!!!!!!!!!!
i'm pretty sure it's early may...i really hope so because that's when we concieved DD#1 :fingerscrossed:
i'll post this arvo and let you know how it went:)
OopsieDaisy
06-10-2006, 12:55 PM
Welcome Baby Ella!!!!
I am hoping for a vbac this time too :thumbsup:
babyella
06-10-2006, 09:22 PM
well i went for the scan this arvo and what was a day i was really looking forward to quickly turned into 'one of those days':gloomy: the lady that did my scan was so rude she didn't even tell me my EDD:no: and she was clearly annoyed that i brought ella along with me, i actually had to ask her to turn the monitor around so i could see my new bubby for the first time!!!! mabey it's just the pregnancy hormones......
however i did find out that i am 7wks and 5 days along from that i think i am due 20th of may :smiliedance: but i'll have to wait till i see my doc to be sure....
Kristy-will this be your first natural birth??
jess
OopsieDaisy
07-10-2006, 08:00 AM
Oh Jess what a rude cow! Sorry she treated you like this! I payed the extra and had my u/s at the private hospital and the lady was wonderful, i had my two girls, my sister and her bubba in the room! She was great, will be having my next u/s there. I know in the past at the public they got gripey at me too for having my little girl there when preg with Bella.
No I had Olivia naturally and Bella was an emergency.
WeloveHarriet
07-10-2006, 09:22 AM
Wow Jess how rude! When we went for our scan a week ago we took Harriet with us and the Tech was lovely - she was chatting away to Harriet as she gabbled to us. Hopefully you won't get her next time.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.