View Full Version : Charli Rose Garrett.....

cassi*girl
25-09-2006, 21:45
Hi.
I thought I would try and get down the story of Charli's entry into the world before I forget all the little details........
A bit of background first - my DS (3) was born with vacuum assistance so I labored, but not to the point of pushing him out. His heart rate dropped dramatically so within a push or two he was out.

This time I expected things to be very different and that is certainly how they were.

*** Warning this could contain parts that are TMI and will most certainly show how much of a sook and woos I was and how PATHETIC some of my comments while in labor were!!!!! LOL I think it is funny now though ***

My blood pressure had been up for about a week & a half so it was decided that I would go into hospital on Wednesday (20th Sept) and have my waters broken. Then I had a couple of hours to see if things progressed by themselves and if not they would start the drip to bring things on (can't remember what it is called).
Well at 9.15am my waters were broken. We then paced the hallways and hospital corridors (with me in my nighty...very attractive look - NOT!!!) and walked up & down stairs.
By 9.50 I decided we should go back to the room as the pains were getting pretty bad and close. It was when the midwife checked me at 10am and told me I was in labor that it finally sunk in that there was LOTS of pain ahead!
The contractions came pretty thick and hard from 10am onwards. I really had to focus on breathing through them.
The midwife suggested trying the gas. I told her I hated vomiting and had heard that it can make you sick. She said why not give it a go and see. So I did.....and I gagged and gagged and threw the thing on the floor telling her basically that was sh*t....lol.
She then suggested a bath. That may relax me and help things. I said the thought of laboring in water didn't appeal to me but she said again why not give it a go. She went to see if the bath was being used and came back to tell me that we were too late it was being used. I told her I needed to poo so she said well the bath would be no good anyway....looks like we are going to have a baby.
She then suggested Pethadine to which I said yeah anything to stop the pain!!!! So off she went to get it.
WOW then did I get a doozy of a contraction!!! I said to DH to press the button as things had changed and I needed to PUSH! Oh no...this is going to hurt!
The midwife came back and said she knew as soon as she left to get the drugs things would take off.......then asked if I wanted her to see how dilated I was. AH YEAH or I might just push this baby out regardless. The urge was so strong I can't describe it.
Sure enough I was set to go. So off into push mode we went. OMG the burning sensation is not one I want to ever experience again. It was like the worst chinese burn in the most sensitive place. OUCH!
I was well and truly asking to go home by now and repeating that I can't do this you will have to get the baby out!! Really pathetic...lol.
After a short while they checked bubs heart rate and I could hear the most dreaded sound - bubs heartbeat was really erratic and really slow. It happened with DS and I knew it wasn't good.
Off they went to get the Dr called in. They came back to tell me that Dr would be here in 20 minutes to which I replied "I WILL BE DEAD IN 20 MINUTES". :p
It turns out that they actually said 4 minutes - DH told me later!!!!
When the Dr showed up she mentioned forceps and that was all I needed to hear to push like a woman possessed. Ever since I saw the forceps at the classes I had decided that NO ONE would use those things on my baby. They look ******** and just not something I wished to torture my unborn baby with, end of story.
She said we need to get bubs out and fairly quickly. OK........
So I pushed and pushed and yelled a bit more about dying and pain and can't do it and being pathetic etc. They were all being really encouraging and telling me how good I was doing which helped heaps. It felt like the babies head would come out 1cm and then when I stopped pushing would go back in 10cm. apparently this wasn't the case!!!
Anyway after some full on pushing they told me bubs head was out. Phew....I knew that already though as the burning had stopped - temporarily. Then on the next push out came the rest of my gorgeous baby girl.
She was purple and limp and my DH thought she was dead. It was a very tense few minutes while they worked on her and it seemed to take forever to get her to make a noise, but when she did we both shed tears of joy - then found out she was in fact a girl!!!!! YEAH....:smiliedance:
It turns out that she had the cord around her neck loosely, but it was also around her body so that was pulling against her with each contraction/push and that is why they think her heart rate dropped so dramatically.

So that is my long story of the birth of my angel Charli Rose. She is just adorable and is so placid. I hope that she stays just as she is and is calm and relaxed throughout her life.
I can see why people would have more than one baby if they had a baby like Charli. DS was just so different.

Charli Rose Garrett born Sept 20, 2006 at 12.16pm (DH and I had tried to guess what time she would be born and I said 12.15 - he told me I was dreaming!!!! lol) weighing 3245gm (7lb 2oz), 48cm long, head circumference 32cm.
Total labor 2 hours 19 minutes.
No tears or cuts or stitches :smiliedance:
She is now feeding 3 hourly during the day and 4 hourly over night. I have bottle fed from the start and have no regrets. I have had a period of about 36 hours of real discomfort from being engorged, but nothing really unbearable. I just used cabbage leaves, frozen face washers and lots of panadine!!

Thanks for reading if you have made it this far. ;)

25-09-2006, 21:49
congrats and welcome to the world

mum2charli
25-09-2006, 21:51
What a great story! Thank you for sharing, I did make it through all the way, you write very well!

By the way you have great taste in girl's names :p

~Congratulations~

Funkychicken
25-09-2006, 21:57
Huge congratulations on the arrival of your bubba girl! :yelclap: Thanks for sharing Charli's birth story with us.

Crazy Monkey
25-09-2006, 22:02
Congratulations and thanks for sharing...
Welcome little Charli...

Melo
25-09-2006, 22:02
Congratulations!

You did a fantastic job :D!

Welcome to the world Charli!!

MrsTwith3
25-09-2006, 22:03
Congratulations and Welcome to the world Charli

25-09-2006, 22:15
Well you were most certainly not pathetic in your efforts in labour, well done and welcome to the world little Charli!!!

Valosgirls
25-09-2006, 22:38
What a FABULOUS birth story!! Certainly nothing pathetic about that at all - it was just perfect and you did a great job:thumbsup:

CONGRATULATIONS!!

ikis84
26-09-2006, 09:13
I agree.. NOTHING pathetic about that effort at all!! Congratulations!! :smiliedance:

26-09-2006, 10:51
Nothing pathetic at all about your story! Well done & congratulations on the birth of your gorgeous girl!

What a beautiful name btw! ;) :D

cassi*girl
26-09-2006, 12:34
Thank you all for your congrats and telling me I was not pathetic...lol. I guess it is just funny the things that come out when you are in that *zone* as I like to call it! Certainly gave DH & I a few laughs afterwards.

WOW Shazbutt I didn't realise your DD's name.....it is GORGEOUS!!! :D :laughing: :p

~Kimba~
26-09-2006, 12:58
Great birth story! I agree with everyone else, nothing pathetic there, you did really well. In fact I really like your honesty in telling us all the stuff you were saying and thinking at the time, I'm sure that most labouring women say and do all the same things, but many of them don't remember or admit it afterwards! :laughing:

Congratulations again on the birth of Charli Rose!

Lisa&Davey
27-09-2006, 15:50
Great work!!! No tears or stitches plus a healthy baby, what a fantastic outcome.:smiliedance:

Welcome Charli Rose!! (Beautiful name BTW)

SalTheGal
28-09-2006, 11:45
Congrats, and well done on the birth of Charli, sounds like you did a great job!!

28-09-2006, 11:53
congrats!

Wondermum
29-09-2006, 13:57
:yelclap: Congratulations and welcome Charli :smiliedance: