View Full Version : HELP NEEDED for First time mummy now even more confused about cloth nappies!

AVR
25-09-2006, 21:11
Ok... after doing a poll on what kind of disposable nappies I should be socking up on for first bub due next year in March a whopping quater of the voters said "GO CLOTH!"

After reading what they said and discovering the added environmental benefits of cloth I am noww 100% behind Modern cloth nappies however.......

I have been reading through post after post after post and i am now even more confused :eek:

What do I need to get is basically the q. PUL, what does that mean? Do I need covers? What kind of covers are best? And... what is the best way of helping baby stay dry at night? :confused:

I have looked around and from what most say "Green Nappies" seem to be the prefered brand, however am I right?:ecomcity:

:laughing: Sorry sooooooooooo many questions but hey... I am a novice soon to be mummy looking for some professional bub hubber mummy help!

AVR
25-09-2006, 21:29
Also, how may should I buy? :thumbsup:

gremily
25-09-2006, 21:30
I've used http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/index.php since dd2 was 10 mths, so can't give you the newborn baby test results on them! However, they have been just about the best thing I have ever spent my money on!

They are a fitted nappy, one size fits all, which I've found to be an added benefit. Some fitted nappies are sized, meaning you will have to buy the next size once bub grows.
Look for a nappy in either hemp or bamboo. I have hemp atm, with bamboo arriving any day now. They are both extremely absorbant, with bamboo more than hemp.

Pul means Polyurethane Laminate. The BB's pul covers are wonderful. They don't cut in to bubs legs and don't seem to get really wet, unlike a lot of others.

Wool covers are wonderul for night time. Once lanolized (very easy process, takes a few mins) they don't need to be washed for ages, unless they get dirty or pooped on! DD2 can go all night without having to be changed, and in the morning the cover isn't even wet.

Most fitted nappies have 'inserts' or 'boosters' to use during the day and more can be added for night time. As I said above, DD2 goes all night without a change, and the nappy is barely wet through with the extra boosters in.

Congratulations, and welcome to the world of cloth. Once you get the hang of all the lingo it all becomes quite addictive! Modern cloth can be a bit daunting to begin with, but it's really alot easier than you think:thumbsup:

I should also add (now that i've seen your next post!) that BB's have different packages - trial, standard, etc. You could start off with just a few, see how you like it, etc. I have 12 hemp bb's, but I have 4 more bb bamboo on the way. I wash every 2nd day. However a newborn would need more, especially with all that lovely newborn poop!!

AVR
25-09-2006, 21:37
:yelclap: Thankyou!!!

I am on the site now....the packages look great!

Maybe I should buy half / half of each brand? :idea:

So with the inserts the bamboo insert is more absorbant than the hemp! Excellent, just starting to learn lol.:smiliedance:

gremily
25-09-2006, 21:39
OMG, I have a brain like a sieve! I post, then I remember something else!

Hemp and bamboo can take awhile to dry, sometimes a day. It's best to line dry, but if needs be the dryer can be used. I usually hang them on the line, then when they're just about dry I'll put them in the dryer. It makes them beautifully soft.

Washing nappies - Unlike the days of old where you used to put the nappies in a bucket with napisan to soak, then wash them with napisan again:rolleyes: it's alot easier now. You'll need a bucket with some bicarb soda sprinkled in the bottom. Chuck your wet nappies in. Once you need to wash, chuck them in the washing machine with 1/2 the amount of washing detergent you'd usually use, then hot wash them. That's it!

I never had one, but alot of mum's recommended the 'Little Squirt'. It attaches to your toilet so you can spray off the poo. Once bubs start eating their poos become formed (iykwim) and just roll of the liner, but newborn poo has a rather runny consistancy!!! If i'd known about the little squirts earlier I probably would have got one.

gremily
25-09-2006, 21:43
Caithi - 1/2 and 1/2 would be a great idea. The bamboo are, from what I'm told, excellent for night (being more absorbant).
When I got mine the bamboo weren't available, otherwise I would have gone 1/2 and 1/2.
BB also have a layby system, which I used. Made paying for them alot easier. Even though in the long run they are soooo much cheaper than sposies, it was a huge outlay for us at the time.

AVR
25-09-2006, 22:09
THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU!!:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

I feel more confident now with all of these options on that site! You are the best!

25-09-2006, 22:46
baby beehinds are GREAT :D thats what i use on my girls mostly :D

im not to keen on GKs

:S

25-09-2006, 23:16
Ok here are some websites for you to start at that will have better explainations etc :

www.ozclothnappies.org
www.modernclothnappies.org
www.nappycino.com

Then you can have a look at these WAHMS sites :

www.greennappies.com
www.fruitsalad.com
www.bubblebubs.com
www.cherubskiss.com ( gotta be quick when these come in stock though everyone wants them ! )

There are also sites like the following that showcase many varieties :

www.theweewuns.com.au
www.ozebaby.com.au
www.babysoftlandings.com.au

Remember what may suit one baby may not suit another your best bet is to get one or two of the popular types & try them out see what works for you & bubs.
We use Greens, Swaddlebees, Eenies & BabyBloomers. I also have some CherubsKiss which are beautiful. But as i said remember every bub is different !

Good luck welcome to the world of modern cloth :smiliedance:

AVR
26-09-2006, 01:34
IMG! I WANT ONE OF EACH AT www.cherubskiss.com (http://www.cherubskiss.com/) lol :smiliedance:

Does this send anyone broke? :laughing: J/K!

26-09-2006, 02:05
Oh no what have i done !!!!!
Another one to fend off when they come into stock !!!!!! :p
They are lovely arent they !

Seriously there are some great nappies out there its just trial & error & yes it can send you broke !!!!!!!!!!!!
I kept saying to my DP that once we had enough for our DS to be in them full time that was it !!!
*cough* oooooops :o
I keep buying & he keeps dreading it when i say " baby do you love me " *bats eyelids * He now just asks how many i bought & how much i spent :laughing:
Seriously though they pay for themselves after a few months so i figure a new nappy or two every now & then is ok ;)

Crazyfamily
26-09-2006, 05:08
Good to see you getting some answers here. thinking about a newborn and what I know now compared to before I am thinking normal flat nappies would be fine on a little one. The reason...they wake so much and poo so much (sometimes) that you will be able to change often. Just put a good cover like babybeehinds or bummis over it and it should last until next feed.

OM
26-09-2006, 06:46
Good to see you getting some answers here. thinking about a newborn and what I know now compared to before I am thinking normal flat nappies would be fine on a little one. The reason...they wake so much and poo so much (sometimes) that you will be able to change often. Just put a good cover like babybeehinds or bummis over it and it should last until next feed.

I tried using flat nappies on Ozzy as a newborn (before 8 weeks) and I really struggled with them, no matter what folds I did they still were overly bulky and he didn't look very comfortable in them at all. That is my experience of using flats on a newborn.;)

AVR
26-09-2006, 07:38
I tried using flat nappies on Ozzy as a newborn (before 8 weeks) and I really struggled with them, no matter what folds I did they still were overly bulky and he didn't look very comfortable in them at all. That is my experience of using flats on a newborn.;)

So flats are like the ones we had when we were babies and "moderns" are the all in ones?( hey hey I know a term lol ):D lol

OM
26-09-2006, 07:48
So flats are like the ones we had when we were babies and "moderns" are the all in ones?( hey hey I know a term lol ):D lol

Check out this site for terminology too;)

http://www.allaboutnappies.com/understanding.php

Modern cloth as far as I am aware can still be flats (ie hemp, bamboo flats etc) someone please correct me if I am wrong about that.

So as far as I know modern cloth can be a variety of cloth nappies

Flats
AIO's
Fitted's
Pockets etc etc etc.

AVR
26-09-2006, 07:48
Oh no what have i done !!!!!
Another one to fend off when they come into stock !!!!!!
They are lovely arent they !

Seriously there are some great nappies out there its just trial & error & yes it can send you broke !!!!!!!!!!!!
I kept saying to my DP that once we had enough for our DS to be in them full time that was it !!!
*cough* oooooops
I keep buying & he keeps dreading it when i say " baby do you love me " *bats eyelids * He now just asks how many i bought & how much i spent
Seriously though they pay for themselves after a few months so i figure a new nappy or two every now & then is ok

:laughing: Well, you are safe until March - dont kow what I am having, but..... its all on once I find out :D

I just cant believe how beautiful a nappy could be. They are very talented.:yes:

stellarella
26-09-2006, 07:50
This will onfuse you even more, as we all swear by different nappies but I use eenee's

www.eenee.com.au (http://www.eenee.com.au)

IMO they are the easiest and cheapest :D

OM
26-09-2006, 07:52
IMO they are the easiest and cheapest :D

I love my Eenee's but they have really gone up in price.:mad: You can now buy a say Baby Beehind for the same price it's silly!:(

sopolicha
26-09-2006, 08:06
I used the BB hemp on a newbie. She was 7 pound something and I found her cloth bum gave me a little bit more to hang onto. I stuck with the BB until I got the hang of the cloth thing, then (as my credit card can verify) I ventured out into the world of pretty cloth nappies.

I have a lot of different styles but I always keep coming back to the BB. I bought one of the BB Bamboo when it first came out and of course I went back for more when the coloured ones came out. IMO the coloured bamboos are much softer and thicker and they dry a lot quicker.

I don't think you can go wrong with Davina's (BB owner) stuff. She is very helpful and reliable. As they say on eBay A++++++++++++++++++

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:07
Ok, so from what I am getting is for a newborn its best to get say 24 ( is this t little / too much? )NEWBORN sized nappies and then go up to a "One Size fits all"? Say 24?

At what are is a baby no-longer considered a newborn?

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:11
I don't think you can go wrong with Davina's (BB owner) stuff. She is very helpful and reliable. As they say on eBay A++++++++++++++++++

I just tried to find her on ebay but only found someone selleing a pre-loved one. Does she have an online ebay shop?
:cool:

OM
26-09-2006, 08:12
Ok, so from what I am getting is for a newborn its best to get say 24 ( is this t little / too much? )NEWBORN sized nappies and then go up to a "One Size fits all"? Say 24?

At what are is a baby no-longer considered a newborn?

No you will be able to use the 'one size fits all' on a newborn it will just be a little bit bulky;)

So I would get 24 OSFA nappies (it that's the style you want) and not bother buying 24 newborn nappies.

OM
26-09-2006, 08:13
I just tried to find her on ebay but only found someone selleing a pre-loved one.

Is that you Sopolicha?

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:18
No you will be able to use the 'one size fits all' on a newborn it will just be a little bit bulky;)

So I would get 24 OSFA nappies (it that's the style you want) and not bother buying 24 newborn nappies.

Excellent - ok I am doing it now!:thumbsup:

OM
26-09-2006, 08:36
Excellent - ok I am doing it now!:thumbsup:

Which ones did you decide on?

~Chick79~
26-09-2006, 08:39
Hi Caithi!

I laybyed the fulltime pack from Baby Beehinds as I use them one my two boys fulltime (my eldest DS was in sposies because I didn't know about modern cloth til I fell pregnant again and found bubhub!).

Anyway once we got home from hospital I immediately started using BBH bamboo nappies on my new born. Yes it was a little bit bulky when compared to a sposie but his bum wasn't elevated in the air (iykwim) so it didn't bother him at all (as he didn't feel like he was on an angle) and like someone else said it gave me something to actually hold (my bub was premmie and very tiny!).

It is addictive! I just start with the BB first to get used to it and now Iam starting to venture out into other nappies!

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:43
Baby Beehanid Bamboo ones. In the pack you get 6 PUL's and 2 wool covers plus 24 nappies, 6 bamboo boosters, 2 packs of Microfleece Nappy Liners and no postage costs.:thumbsup:

It only works out to be $25 per nappy combo. Its just such a difference between $40 a pop when you buy huggies. It is an expensive out lay but I think Ill def save money ( but spend it at that cherubs site :laughing: ).:shame:

sopolicha
26-09-2006, 08:47
Is that you Sopolicha?

:o

I wouldn't bother with newborn size. I thought the BB wasn't too bulky on a little baby. Have you checked out the BB website?

I reckon with 24 on a newbie you might find that you will need to wash everyday especially if your baby is bf and poos nearly all the time.

Once I started with cloth and got confident with it I never looked back. Like everyone else, I wish I knew about it earlier.

My eBay reference was meant to be a joke.

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:49
It is addictive! I just start with the BB first to get used to it and now Iam starting to venture out into other nappies!

It is... Cherubs Kiss is going to be the death of my credit card :laughing:

Is there a day that they usually release a new nappy / more stock or do you just check on a daily basis.. everything in the limited edition section is sold out :cool:

sopolicha
26-09-2006, 08:50
Baby Beehanid Bamboo ones. In the pack you get 6 PUL's and 2 wool covers plus 24 nappies, 6 bamboo boosters, 2 packs of Microfleece Nappy Liners and no postage costs.:thumbsup:

It only works out to be $25 per nappy combo. Its just such a difference between $40 a pop when you buy huggies. It is an expensive out lay but I think Ill def save money ( but spend it at that cherubs site :laughing: ).:shame:

Sounds like a good deal to me. You have the added advantage and savings if you go on to have more kids.

This only my opinion but, I would have a box of Huggies on hand, just in case. You might get really tired and a bit busy when you first come home. Last thing you might want to do is wash nappies.

OM
26-09-2006, 08:51
Is there a day that they usually release a new nappy / more stock or do you just check on a daily basis.. everything in the limited edition section is sold out :cool:

Apparently if you join the mailing list you will be informed when they restock;)

AVR
26-09-2006, 08:53
Once I started with cloth and got confident with it I never looked back. Like everyone else, I wish I knew about it earlier.

Yeah, well its def a confidence thing. I am still a little worried that I am making more work for myself but I am sure that is not the case - they are so popular and I doubt that this many mums would sign up for a bigger work load. :fingerscrossed:

sopolicha
26-09-2006, 08:58
The sad part is that I actually like washing the nappies and seeing them hang on the line. Obviously I don't get out much.

AVR
26-09-2006, 09:03
This only my opinion but, I would have a box of Huggies on hand, just in case. You might get really tired and a bit busy when you first come home. Last thing you might want to do is wash nappies.

Ok, will do. :thumbsup: This is the kind of help I need, I really dont have many people around me with baby experience.Thanks:yelclap:

AVR
26-09-2006, 09:06
The sad part is that I actually like washing the nappies and seeing them hang on the line. Obviously I don't get out much.

You see I am the op. I get happy when the laundry basket and line is empty! :yelclap:

However .......... if anyone else loves washing etc etc etc you are most welcome to come vist on a daily basis and do what you love to do ! :D :laughing:

OM
26-09-2006, 09:07
Ok, will do. :thumbsup: This is the kind of help I need, I really dont have many people around me with baby experience.Thanks:yelclap:

If you do get a box of disposables get infant size not newborn;) Or bub will outgrow the nappies perhaps even before you use them. That way if you get infant size you may use the pack/box and not waste your money.

Besides newborn size is only to 4kg and alot of babies are born bigger than 4kg;)

AVR
26-09-2006, 09:09
Excellent, will do.:yelclap:

Also with fushable liners.... can you use these in the BB's too just so its easier to get rid of poo?

OM
26-09-2006, 09:15
Excellent, will do.:yelclap:

Also with fushable liners.... can you use these in the BB's too just so its easier to get rid of poo?

You can do. Or if you buy fleece liners you will find that you should be able to just get the poo to roll off of these liners. And then you can just wash the liners too.

Another good thing for getting poo off the nappies is 'The Little Squirt' it's like a hose that connects to your toilet and all you do is hose the poo off! I would go insane without one. ;)

sopolicha
26-09-2006, 09:32
However .......... if anyone else loves washing etc etc etc you are most welcome to come vist on a daily basis and do what you love to do ! :D :laughing:

I would love to help out, but sadly I live in Brissie.

I use mainly the disposable liners, then you can just put the poo and liner in the toilet.

If you breastfeed, it is much easier poo wise and you can sort of scrape it into the toilet and then wash the nappy and the sun will do the rest. The fun starts when your starts eating solids.

AVR
26-09-2006, 09:36
I would love to help out, but sadly I live in Brissie.

THATS IT! I am moving to sunny Brissie!! :laughing:

ikis84
26-09-2006, 09:59
lol... me too!!

:smiliedance: It's so exciting to see another new cloth mumma!! Although, it's just another person to hyena all the nice nappies!

I have some BB Bamboo and Hemp, and a few greens to try out (I will buy more when I work out what I like) also bought a few 2nd hand newborn sized nappies, and a pack of flats for days when the weather is bad for washing or there are extra nappy changes etc...

I didn't have to buy any disposables as I got about 4 packs at my baby shower (even though everyone knew that I was going to use cloth, they didn't believe me!!) and also, a friend of mine has a new bub who grew out of his nappies so quick. Last time I checked I had 3 x pks newborn huggies, 4x pack Crawlers!

You could always have a nappy party for your baby shower!! I think babybeehinds have demonstrators (not sure about other brands though).. good way to spread the word!

26-09-2006, 10:29

Oh yes how i love it :D

This is a great thread shows off mums & bubs with their proud nappies !!!
Just added a few myself !
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=39225

Caithi - Im in Sydney & your more than welcome to join & meets !!!!!
Im often showing off nappies at them hehehe !
Ive converted a few :smiliedance: :laughing:

As O's mum said join mailing lists ! This way you get advised of new nappies & when WAHM's are restocking :thumbsup:

OM
26-09-2006, 10:35
You could always have a nappy party for your baby shower!! I think babybeehinds have demonstrators (not sure about other brands though).. good way to spread the word!

Nurture Nappies online store has demonstrations too. With them you can check out a range of different brand nappies and accesories.;)

AVR
26-09-2006, 12:15
Oh yes how i love it

This is a great thread shows off mums & bubs with their proud nappies !!!
Just added a few myself !
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=39225

Caithi - Im in Sydney & your more than welcome to join & meets !!!!!
Im often showing off nappies at them hehehe !
Ive converted a few

As O's mum said join mailing lists ! This way you get advised of new nappies & when WAHM's are restocking

The pics are soooooooo cute:yelclap: Getting cluckier lol

What are "meets?" :detective: Sound interesting :D

All joined up now to their mailing list........

I can just imagine the e-mails going out to all of the mummies ....

everyone ruhing into the on-line shop like you see at GB's for their stocktake sale lol:laughing:

26-09-2006, 12:32
YAY another convert :yelclap:

AVR
26-09-2006, 12:47
:idea: So I have decided to go with the Bamboo Baby Beehinds with the bamboo inserts etc but I have just noticed a couple of threads about the bulkiness of some cloth nappies.

In comparison are these trim fit or should I get half of these (fornight time, long days etc) and half of another brand?:detective:

LucyE
26-09-2006, 15:11
PUL, what does that mean? Do I need covers? What kind of covers are best? And... what is the best way of helping baby stay dry at night?

I think your original questions have been answered by these cloth nuts :laughing: I'll just add my personal opinion because I can't help myself :o

I noticed that you've already ordered a bulk pack of BB's. I would actually recommend changing it (I'm sure Davina won't mind, she's super helpful and just wants people to use cloth, not necessarily hers) and as a PP has said, get one or two of a couple of different brands to see how they fit on your bub before stocking up on any one particular style/brand. The problem is that all babies are different so what may suit some, may not suit yours. Any that you find don't suit, you can always sell second hand to recoup some money and put towards the brand that does work best for you (the quality brands have excellent resale value and I"ve even seen Green's sell for almost brand new cost!). To add to the popular brands already mentioned (Green's, BB's, Cherub's Kiss), I would also suggest some Tots Bots snappi-ables, Erica's and Sandra's Stuffables.

Re sizing - I'm personally not a fan of one size fits all nappies because I feel that they compromise on fit in the smaller and larger end of the spectrum and the newborn, explosive poo stage is when you really need a good fit. I'm also not a fan of a bulky bottom so like to have sized nappies to keep everything nice and trim and well fitting under clothes that are 'cut for disposables'. Even if you go with sized nappies, you don't necessarily end up spending more because most medium sizes will last the bulk of the nappy-ing life of the child (babies are usually really chubby and then slim down when they start crawling etc so you'll get a lot of use out of that size). In saying that, I have seen BB's on a newborn and it fits well without too much bulk. They just didn't suit DS. I also wouldn't bother with too many 'newborn' sized nappies. They are cute but babies tend to grow quickly so you'll get more use out of 'smalls'.

Re disposables - I'm also someone who doesn't believe in buying a back up pack for just in case. You're most likely to end up with some as gifts and honestly, if you have enough cloth nappies, you're not really going to want disposables (but that's just my personal bias because we had serious leak issues with Huggies that just caused more washing than a regular load of nappies). The best advice is to teach DH to put a load of nappies on from the outset LOL - it's not hard: tip bucket into machine, add detergent, turn on and walk away.

Liners - the best ones are microfleece because they are nice and soft, provide a stay dry feel and makes poo disposale much easier. You don't need to buy anything fancy (avoid outrageous ebay auctions), just buy a metre from Lincraft and cut to size. No hemming required. For flushable liners, we have some Eenees but I am not a fan of these for everyday use. I only use them when we are away and don't have access to the LIttle Squirt. They are pretty big so I normally cut them in half to use. I find that they can get a bit scrunched up, and have a papery feel which isn't very nice. Also, some people have found that they can disintergrate if the nappy is too wet and it becomes a real mess to clean up. The only other flushable brand I know of is a NZ one called Cotton something or other... I don't understand the point of the other disposable liners (like J&Js) because they don't give the stay dry feel and you still have to dump the poo into the toilet before throwing the liner in the bin - too much work IMO.

Styles - the main styles of flats, prefolds, fitted, pockets and all in ones (AIOs) are what you have to choose from. I prefer to use fitteds in the early days while bub is still doing the explosive breastfed poos because with a cover, it has a double barrier of protection against leaks. A good quality fitted will rarely leak and I really like wool covers because of their breathability. PUL covers are also handy to have because they dry quickly and are very trim.

Then once the poo frequency drops, I like the convenience of a pocket style nappy. The advantages of a pocket is that you can adjust the 'stuffing' to suit your particular needs (eg. at home something really trim; overnight - extra stuffing). When prestuffed, they are very simple for other care givers to use and they are also one of the trimest options available which means they are likely to fit under clothes designed for disposable nappies. They also dry very quickly because you can unfold all the stuffing when hanging on the line. There are also pocket nappies which still require a cover.

AIOs are handy to have in your stash but I find the drying time to be a bit of a pain. Because you have so many layers sewn intogether, you risk it not washing out throughly with some designs. Of all the AIOs I've seen, I only like the HoneyBoys because the fleece outer allows for breathability and better washing and it's also easy to boost for extra absorbancy if needed.

Flats - it is always handy to have a pack of flat terries on hand. They are versatile in that you can use them for other things like spew cloths etc and as a back up nappy when you need something really fast drying. Another inexpensive option while you are building up your stash is to have some prefolds. They are trimmer than flats but still dry quickly and can always be used as a booster later on.

Hmmm, this has turned into a huge post :eek: I started it earlier today and have just kept adding to it as I've walked past LOL I hope it's easy enough to understand and helps :)

stellarella
26-09-2006, 15:35
I love my Eenee's but they have really gone up in price.:mad: You can now buy a say Baby Beehind for the same price it's silly!:(

I cant say I have ever tried a BB but dont you need one whole nappy for one wear??

I mean with an eenee you only need about 4 covers in total and you just refill them with a flat cloth.

Perhaps I should check out these bb's.

OM
26-09-2006, 15:41
I mean with an eenee you only need about 4 covers in total and you just refill them with a flat cloth.

Yep that is true that you only need to change the cover but with a breastfed newborn poo you have to sit there and hope to god that they don't poo on the cover too which was nearly every time.

I find them good for older bubs but not before 6 months.;)

26-09-2006, 15:45
I hope I don't confuse you even more with my opinion
I like the natural fitteds with a wool cover. I like BabyBeehinds bamboo (not so much the hemp), BabyEco, Baby Greens. I also like the side snapping nappies - the front snapping slips on my 10 mth old. I also find velcro is frustrating. I want more bamboo nappies - very soft.
With my next baby I plan to use BabyEco prefolds and then one sized fitteds. I think wool is amazing and so lovely over a fitted.

stellarella
26-09-2006, 15:54
Yep that is true that you only need to change the cover but with a breastfed newborn poo you have to sit there and hope to god that they don't poo on the cover too which was nearly every time.

I find them good for older bubs but not before 6 months.;)

Yeah DS does poo a bit, I just have a few extra waterproof pouch things that I can snap fasten in, so ive only got 4 covers ($25) on rotation plus 2/3 extra pouches (at $8.00 each) and I only wash every 3rd day. I have 24 flat cloth nappies which are dirt cheap.

I do remember the very early days though, there was so much poo:eek:

He has taken to only pooing 3 times a day now LOL:D

26-09-2006, 16:01
I noticed that you've already ordered a bulk pack of BB's. I would actually recommend changing it (I'm sure Davina won't mind, she's super helpful and just wants people to use cloth, not necessarily hers) and as a PP has said, get one or two of a couple of different brands to see how they fit on your bub before stocking up on any one particular style/brand. The problem is that all babies are different so what may suit some, may not suit yours. Any that you find don't suit, you can always sell second hand to recoup some money and put towards the brand that does work best for you (the quality brands have excellent resale value and I"ve even seen Green's sell for almost brand new cost!). To add to the popular brands already mentioned (Green's, BB's, Cherub's Kiss), I would also suggest some Tots Bots snappi-ables, Erica's and Sandra's Stuffables.

I don't have much to say (the clothie freaks are doing a wonderful job ;) ) but i totally agree with this statement! :yes: I have atleast 6 or 7 different brands and kinds of nappies. It also makes it fun to discover different types and see what works best for you. and the fact that your stash looks very colourful and wide ranged :o

AVR
26-09-2006, 17:50
Yes........ I feel like an expert now lol - its been fantastic! :thumbsup:

Maybe Ill get the starter packs for Green's, BB's, Cherub's Kiss, Tots Bots snappi-ables, Erica's and Sandra's Stuffables in mediums trims pref and some AIO's and a couple in one size fits all. There would be 12 in total and then I could add from that! :smiliedance:

Will def do the microfleece idea for extras as the packs come with those morcrofibre thingys too!

Eenees flushable liners are also on the list. :D

OMG! Didnt realise that there were so many choices!!

THANKS GUYS!!! :hugs:

26-09-2006, 18:18
Your gonna hate me but i doubt you will be able to get your hands on Sandras cause she has closed indefinately :crying:
Typical because i never got any & i kept saying i would !!! Serves me right :rolleyes:

I have to say even though the idea of the Eenies are great etc im also starting to get annoyed with them & im going to relinquish them to the grandparents as back ups ! Yep its great that i only need to throw in a flat nappy but seriously Boof being a serious wetter he wees through them in like an hour especially now he is drinking water like there is no tomorrow !!!! Its driving me nuts changing him that often !

O's mum wanna do a deal :p

Mummy-2-2
26-09-2006, 18:54
try
www.ozebaby.com.au and
www.buyena.com

they have heaps and heaps of different styles and things to buy to help you out.

My kids are both in cloth (but my beautiful girl is toilet training now) and we have all sorts of different nappies, eenies, baby beehinds, bits for bots, tinkletots,natures cradle, pico pockets but mostly homemade fleece pockets.
(Hubby is gonna be really unimressed when I put a hot pink embroidered unicorn or a lavender embroiered fairy on his sons bum tho cos my girl wont wear them anymore!!)

There are HEAPS of nappy making mums out there who make fantastic nappies, but arent as well known as some of the others.

I have just quickly read through and agree with the fleece liners being a better choice... my kids wear their fleece pockets or have fleece liners in their baby beehinds and you can pretty much take the nappy off and put your hand in there and itll be dry. REALLY helps with the nappy rash. Most disposable liners that you buy in the shops, arent biodegradable, so you may as well use sposies if you use those. If there is the starts of nappy rash, raw silk liners work wonders and mean you have to put chemical creams on bubs bum.

When you wash, use half the amount of liquid/powder you normally would, or it affects absorbancy and dont use fabric softener.

Um what else?

Thatll do:thumbsup:

AVR
26-09-2006, 19:05
With the fleece pockets / have fleece liners do you buy them sep or do thay come already in them?

I just had a look and I couldnt see them on the Baby Behinds site.

So basically a nappy is made out of...
from baby outwards....

Fleece liner for AIOs and fleece pockets for Pocket Nannies
Microfiber insert
Bamboo Insert or insert already in AIO
Bamboo Nappy
PUL or Wool cover

Silk insert closest to baby if they have a rash.

Is this right? :yelclap:

Mummy-2-2
26-09-2006, 19:16
um yeah kind of.

A lot of nappies when you buy them alreadyhave the fleece inner. If they dont, then you can just buy anti pill micro fleece from lincraft/spotlight whatever and chop it up to make your own liners (as someone else suggested) and yes, chuck it on top of whatever "padding" you have in your nappy, do the nappy up, and put on a cover (whether it be PUL, fleece or wool)

I dont know what pocket nannies are sorry, but fleece pockets are just a pocket nappy, made of fleece. They can do that because having either two layers of fleece, or thick layer of fleece on the outside doesnt let the wee through, so you dont even need a cover, but if you only have one layer and it is right up close to bubs wee, it gets pushed through the fleece, keeping bum dry.

does that make sense?

oh and if they have a rash, you just need the silk liner, not the silk one on top of the fleece one iykwim?

LucyE
26-09-2006, 20:26
Okay, basically a decent nappy combination will have a:

waterproof/water resistant outer layer
absorbant body/inner part
liner of sorts

In a fitted and flat/prefold nappy, the waterproof/resistant layer will be the cover which can be fleece, PUL or wool. The absorbant body can be made from all sorts of materials (or combination of materials) but most commonly will be cotton, microfibre, hemp or bamboo (with bamboo being the most absorbant and therefore trimest). And then the liner is most commonly a seperate piece of fleece which will also provide the stay dry feel. You can use disposable liners but as already mentioned, it is debatable if they are more convenient.

In a pocket style nappy, the waterproof layer and the fleece liner are 'inbuilt' (ie sewn together to make a pocket). That means all you have to do is to add any sort of absorbant material as the 'stuffing'. The advantages are that you can customise the stuffing to suit your bub and usually you can have them as 'fold outs' so that it cuts drying time. You can stuff with anything you like and my preference is to use microfibre and bamboo or hemp.

In an AIO, all three of the nappy components are sewn together which means that you only have one item to put onto bub so it's just like a disposable. The problem with this is, as already mentioned, that it's more difficult to get clean if there are too many absorbant layers and drying time is a real hassle. You could possibly also have issues/difficulties with boosting it for extra absorbancy because if it already has an inner fleece liner, and you wish to add more absorbant layers, you may not be able to successfully add another fleece liner on top because it may not allow moisture to pass through easily.

AVR
26-09-2006, 20:34
Ecellent! Thanks for that. Im just on-line now doing my final selections - perfect timing! :yelclap:

Will def concentrate on Fitted and Pocket Nappies then! Thankyou:hugs:

Im sure that this thread is FRUSTRATING to all of you cloth pros out there but I am sure I will lokk back in a couple of months time and just shrink into my chair, red faced for asking such silly questions lol :laughing:

AVR
26-09-2006, 20:34
Excellent! Thanks for that. Im just on-line now doing my final selections - perfect timing! :yelclap:

Will def concentrate on Fitted and Pocket Nappies then! Thankyou:hugs:

Im sure that this thread is FRUSTRATING to all of you cloth pros out there but I am sure I will lokk back in a couple of months time and just shrink into my chair, red faced for asking such silly questions lol :laughing:

~Chick79~
26-09-2006, 20:45
I am sure noone will think that!!!!

Just to throw yet another website at you - check out www.greenbums.com.au these appear to be cheap - but I would only buy 1 or 2 to try first as I haven't had that many reviews on them yet!

LucyE
26-09-2006, 20:47
Oh, and don't forget about cloth wipes too LOL I used cheapie terry face washers (in one dedicated colour) for DS but am very tempted by some of the loverly WAHM wipes available atm :)

In the early days I would make up a chammomile tea solution to wet them with but then progressed to plain ole water (and maybe a squidge of Vegesorb if it was a messy poo). When going out, I would wet a wipe and put it in a Glad Ziplock bag for easy access. Then when I needed wet wipes less frequently, I would just pack dry ones and wet them as needed from a water bottle.

As for asking silly questions, don't worry about it. We've all done it as some point when entering this strange world of modern cloth with all its jargon :p Anyway, any excuse for us cloth nuts to talk about our favourite nappies :D

gremily
26-09-2006, 20:50
Sounds like you've got the hang of it all over night Caithi!! Let us know how you go:thumbsup:

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:07
Ooooooooh Greenbums is cheap! I will give them a go too! :yelclap:

I just love the names lol

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:09
I have ordered a Pack of Cloth Wipes (5 wipes per pack) from BB. Maybe I should have multiplied that by 10 lol.:detective:

gremily
26-09-2006, 21:34
Me thinks you've become addicted Caithi:D

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:39
Me thinks so too - spent the day thinking about the Cherubs kiss nappy that has the roses on it lol - would it be wrong to put a boy in one?:detective: lol JK

26-09-2006, 21:40
Good luck getting a Cherubs Kiss nappy :( :banghead: *crosses arms and pouts*

mytwolilprinces
26-09-2006, 21:41

I've been hanging around this thread all day and I just ordered a trial pack of of the baby beehinds. I've never eally thought of using cloth before, to be honest, I didn't even know that "modern cloth" existed! Wow - you guys have opened up a whole knew world to me. With 2 boys still in nappies I am looking for a cheaper and more enviro friendly option. Also, my little one gets really BAD nappy rash from most disposables - do you think this will help?

Anyway, thanks again girls, you've inspired me to trial some anyway :)

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:44
Good luck getting a Cherubs Kiss nappy :( :banghead: *crosses arms and pouts*

Why do they tempt us so? lol

I am going to check the site every day lol! I am determined to get that rose one and the bee one! :laughing:

They dont even have any on ebay!:crying: lol

gremily
26-09-2006, 21:45
mytwolilprinces - DD2 has NEVER had a nappy rash. Since birth she has had lots of nappy free time (there's nothing like fresh air to keep away a nappy rash). With the BB's I've found the microfleece liners are amazing. Even though the nappy might be saturated, she and the liner feel totally dry:thumbsup:

I should add that we have no carpet, only tiles and lino, so if she ever pees it's easy to clean up. This morning though I took her nappy off in the loungeroom, went into the kitchen. She crawled out smelling like poo. She must have poo'd standing up, sat in it, then got one leg in it. Thank god she hadn't played with it! But stuff like that doesn't worry me too much, although if we had carpet it would be a different story!

veve
26-09-2006, 21:51
Good luck getting a Cherubs Kiss nappy :banghead: *crosses arms and pouts*

hmm any brissie mums??? want to find out more about cherubs kiss??

I know that Lesley will be at the Natural Parenting Expo happening this weekend :) :yelclap: shhhh!!!! lol

Jen

EDITED TO ADD - the expo is the 7th and 8th of OCT .. at the ekka grounds :D

26-09-2006, 21:51
Why do they tempt us so? lol

I am going to check the site every day lol! I am determined to get that rose one and the bee one! :laughing:

They dont even have any on ebay!:crying: lol

Okay well you keep checking because i've given up! oh and when they are available and you see a duck one, let me know!!! :laughing: ;)

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:54
OMG :eek: My white carpet woud be crying lol :laughing:

My nephews 1 1/5 yo, 3 yo & 4 yo all do nudie time all the time lol. They get here strip off and run nude the entire time they are here. even answer the door in the nude if I am too slow! :laughing: They all love it.

AVR
26-09-2006, 21:56
hmm any brissie mums??? want to find out more about cherubs kiss??

I know that Lesley will be at the Natural Parenting Expo happening this weekend :) :yelclap: shhhh!!!! lol

Jen
Ooooooh - too far away for me :gloomy:

27-09-2006, 00:22
Cathi - As i said if you come to one of the NSW meet ups ( check the NSW section down the bottom we have one coming up in October ) im more than happy to bring you some to show off but i only have Raphaels from Cherubs Kiss shall try to grab a HoneyBoy someday but it will be awhile because ive been restricted because last month i spent $200 :o & im not meant to be buying anymore until im actually pg ..... Ooooops :o :laughing:

Mummy-2-2
27-09-2006, 10:29
mytwolilprinces - DD2 has NEVER had a nappy rash. Since birth she has had lots of nappy free time (there's nothing like fresh air to keep away a nappy rash).

My daughter never had nappy rash either, until she got rotovirus, and then the rash came, I tried everything I could think of (natural and chemical) until 5 or 6 weeks later it was still getting worse, so I took her to the doctor, she got put on steroid cream and antifungal cream, antibiotics, still didnt work so more antibiotics etc, till it went away about 4 months later.
She had so many blisters that she couldnt even sit down, poor thing, they were horrible.

Sometimes there is just nothing you can do. That whole four months she was nappy free unless we were going out so much so that she is toilet training now.

I would thoroughly recommend doing whatever it takes to not get a rash, but like I say, sometimes there is nothing you can do. :confused:

AVR
28-09-2006, 07:47
I am officially on the waiting list for Cherubs Kiss Nappies whoooooooooo hoooooo :smiliedance:

I know that everyone is most probably on it too :D but now I know that at least Ill have some by March!:thumbsup:

28-09-2006, 09:28
Its great that you are so organised - well done!

gremily
28-09-2006, 13:51
My daughter never had nappy rash either, until she got rotovirus, and then the rash came, I tried everything I could think of (natural and chemical) until 5 or 6 weeks later it was still getting worse, so I took her to the doctor, she got put on steroid cream and antifungal cream, antibiotics, still didnt work so more antibiotics etc, till it went away about 4 months later.
She had so many blisters that she couldnt even sit down, poor thing, they were horrible.

Sometimes there is just nothing you can do. That whole four months she was nappy free unless we were going out so much so that she is toilet training now.

I would thoroughly recommend doing whatever it takes to not get a rash, but like I say, sometimes there is nothing you can do. :confused:

Wow, that's sounds terrible, I really feel for you and your DD. But, I guess the positive side to it is she's almost toilet trained:thumbsup:

Billy
23-11-2006, 22:16
:yelclap: Thanx for such a helpful first-timer clothie thread!!! :thumbsup: :yelclap: :D

mum2charli
23-11-2006, 22:31
Thanks for bringing that back out Billy! I am off to read the entire thread!!! :thumbsup:

AVR
23-11-2006, 22:34
These cloth mammas are the best!:thumbsup: It sorted me out completely - now I am paying off some baby beehinds - whoooooooooooooo hoooooooooooo and will be getting my hands on some cherubs kiss nappies if it kills me lol:fingerscrossed: :laughing:

mum2charli
23-11-2006, 22:36
I want some Cherub's kiss :yes: I am waiting on my Punk GK funtime and then I have to wait until after christmas to buy some more......hmmm maybe I should order some now and then by the time I can actually afford them......Do you know if you have to pay as you order (I assume you would) and can you only order 1 or does it have to be a bundle to pre-order

so many questions :rolleyes:

gremily
24-11-2006, 06:06
I'm glad you like the thread guys:thumbsup: . It's the one thread I refer to when noobies what more info, are confused or have no idea where to start. It might be a long read but it's definetly worth it.

Mum2Charli - I haven't dealt with the Cherub's Kiss stuff so I can't help you with that side of it, sorry.

Caithi - how long until you get your BB's?

Billy
24-11-2006, 07:00
:( I cannot get the cherubs kiss website to work!! :crying:

I think someone's telling me I will spend too much there... lol :rolleyes: :laughing: