View Full Version : Routine for 18 - 24 months old

lil monkey
25-09-2006, 20:50

Just wondering what routines you have for babies aged 18 - 24 months?
I am still trying to establish a routine so curious as to what everyone else does!

Ethan's mummy
25-09-2006, 22:28
Hi lilmonkey,

My son will be 18 months old next week. His routine can change at times, usually only sleep times as if he wakes really early he's generally asleep earlier during the day, but most of time it is as follows:

Wakes usually around 6.30am (well that's what it's been for the last week!)

Usually wait a bit for brekky, let him wake up a bit, he'll let me know when he wants it, usually between 7 - 7:15

Play and watch cartoons at the same time!! Or cuddles with me whilst watching cartoons.

I usually make toast for my brekky at around 8.30, so i make him a piece too. Or lately he's wanted rice cakes instead!

If he gets hungry in between he'll go to the kitchen and let me know.

In between all of this we are playing, if i don't need to go out anywhere.

Lunch is around 11:00 - 11:30 - depending on how cranky and tired he is! Which is either sandwich, baked beans, spaghetti or fish fingers and if really hungry a bit of custard and a cup of baby juice (as he hates milk out of a cup!)

After lunch he'll go down for a sleep. Usually sleeps for an hour. If really really tired maybe an hour and a half!

Estimate around 12:30 - 1pm wakes up. Usually has cuddles with me while he wakes up. Sometimes he may want to nibble on a biccy, or piece of fruit.

Around 2pm - Afternoon tea which is a yoghurt

5:30 - 6:00 - Once again depending on his mood dinner.

This follows by a shower with dad, more playing and a book.

7:20 - Bottle, then after bottle brush teeth, change bum and off to bed. Usually asleep by 8pm.

In between all of this we are playing either inside or out, depending on weather or if need to go anywhere when dad gets home we do!

Sorry if i've rambled a bit, but hope this helps you a bit. Even though i'm a bit all over the place!!!

Kasey

MissBrightside
25-09-2006, 22:40
My 22 month old son has pretty much the same routine as Kasey's bubs, give or take a couple of hours.

red crayon
26-09-2006, 00:06
my son is 20 months and our day generally goes like this:

6am - wakes...sometimes we get lucky and he wakes at 6.30am

breakfast/milk/get dressed/watch telly while mummy and daddy get dressed

8.30am - he is usually busting to get outside. go out and play/go shopping/do something to get rid of the energy

around 10.00am - snack time. fruit/dried fruit/cheese and juice

around 11.00 or maybe later - lunch time and milk

12noon - maybe later 12.30pm - nap time. he usually sleeps between 2-2 1/2 hours

2.00/2.30pm - wakes from sleep. have a cuddle and drink of juice

3pm - out to play

4.30 or maybe later - come back inside. small snack so he'll last til dinner

6pm - dinner followed by a bath/little bit of play/cuddles/book

7.00-7.30pm - time for bed

26-09-2006, 00:31
Well this was our normal routine until lately when he hasnt been sleeping much but im confident it will go back to something the same .... Either that or im deluded by my own lack of sleep :rolleyes:

7am : Wakes but plays happily in his cot till around 8am while i get organised for the day.

8am : Brekky is a bowl of weetbix or muesli depending on his mood. Followed by a slice of toast if he wants it around 8.30am.

9am : Watches Raggs show & if im lucky all the way through so i can get a few things done otherwise he "helps" me.

10am : Morning tea if he wants it which could be fruit/dried fruit/biccie/muesli bar. Then its play time which we either do some drawing with crayons, play with blocks , run around outside in the courtyard till lunch.

12pm : Lunch is a vegemite sandwich ive tried other things but he throws a tanty if i even get something different out !!! He watches me like a hawk & dances when he sees the vegemite jar lol ! He also gets about 100mls of toddler formula because he refuses to drink cows milk & also doesnt eat much so he at least gets something !

1pm : Snooze time ! This last anywhere from 1.5hrs to 2.5hrs depending on his mood but 2hrs is pretty standard.

3pm : Wake up read a book in his room then come downstairs for a snack something different to morning tea then go for a walk to the mail box.

4pm : Sometimes he again helps me with doing a few things like getting the washing inside etc otherwise depending on whether he is in the mood he may watch 20mins of a video or we put one of his music c.d's on & have a dance !

5pm : I start getting his dinner organised & he eats around 5.30pm sometimes 6pm.

6.30pm : Bottle time then bath.

7pm : Bedtime with cuddles & kisses from mama & daddy.

He obviously drinks water whenever he wants it throughout the day but its not a strict routine either in that somedays he is pulling my hand saying " num yums " for his lunch at 11am so goes for a nap anywhere from 12pm or sometimes he wakes at 6am so everything varies again we just go with what makes him happy.
Now that its summer we are clearing our back courtyard ( renovating so its a bit messy ! ) which i will set up an outdoor blackboard i bought & his clam shell with some sand. This will give him something else to do now as he really loves being outdoors its just a shame we havent got a backyard for him to run in, so he loves the BH meets where he can run around with other kids at playgrounds.

rynosmum
26-09-2006, 06:29
My DS has had the same routine for as long as I can remember. The one difference is his sleep. Even now he wants two sleeps a day :eek: so it goes:

5:30/6:00 - Wake up and have a bottle of milk

6:30 - Breakfast (porridge/cereal and fruit), get dressed, playtime.

9:00/9:30 - Snack then Bottle then Sleep:sleeping:

11:30 - Wake up then lunch (Sandwich and more fruit) then play

2:30 - Snack then bottle then MORE sleep:sleeping:

4:00 - Wake-up and run around like crazy boy, help in the garden, play

6:00 - Dinner (eg: noodles/pasta and vegetables)

6:30 - Bath, Bottle, brush teeth then bed by 7.

When he's at daycare for 3 days a week he only has one sleep - he's still okay but does miss his second sleep:D

jamb
26-09-2006, 06:59
hi :wave:

here's our day

5/5.30 awake and raring to go
trucks, trains etc

breakfast about 7am or when he yum yums me

we head outside (weather permitting) play in the rockpools for an hour

snack about 11am

bed about 11.30am, usually till 1.30-2pm

cuddles till he wakes up properly

snack 2.30pm

play in sandpit or go for walk

snack 4pm

watches new mcdonald farm that i have recorded

bath in sun on verandah bout 4.30pm (unless its not warm enough)

dinner 5.30pm

dad home, play

bath if hasnt had one earlier 6.30

bottle and bed between 7.15- 7.45pm

He snacks all day rather than lunch as such. He has soooo much energy that i have to run him round, find this works in my favour for long day sleeps too

Briannabear
26-09-2006, 07:04
This is Briannas usual day:

7am - Up out of bed

Brekkie - (usually cereal and toast or a piece of fruit)

Playtime

8-8:30 - Shower with me

Either playtime or Out and about (shopping etc)

Morning tea (fruit/ yoghurt/ custard/ cheese - something different each day)

Playtime (usually will watch hi5 or wiggles)

11:30-12 Lunch - sandwich, glass of milk, fruit (or baby food jar - fed by herself)

Naptime (usually between 12 and 1pm, and it is generally at least 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours)

Afternoon tea - same as morning tea

Playtime (usually outdoor play time)

Dinner (usually sometime between 4:30 and 5pm)

Play

6:30pm - Shower and bedtime (we usually read 2 stories in bed with her as well)

MissSparkle
26-09-2006, 08:43
My DS is nearly 20month and his routine is-

7:30-8:30am- Wake up and have breakfast.

9am- Watch DOra the Explorer

10am- Morning tea then play outside (weather permitting-otherwise craft)

12pm- Lunch

12:30pm- Nap

3pm- Wake from nap and have afternoon tea

Play until 5pm sometimes go for a walk to the park.

5:30-6pm- Dinner

6:45pm- Bath then Milk

7:30-8pm- Bed

~Chick79~
26-09-2006, 08:58
My DS1 days goes something like this.....

6:30 wakes - but is happy to play in his cot and talk to his animals on his walls til 7-7:30

8am Brekkie (normally 2 weetbix with sliced banana)

9am Bottle

10:30am Morning Sleep

12noon Lunch (vegies and yoghurt)

2:30 Afternoon sleep

On waking his has a bath

6pm Dinner

7pm Bottle

8pm Clean teeth, change into nighttime nappy and then time to say goodnight to the animals on the wall and bed.

This routine seems to work well for us. :yelclap:

26-09-2006, 10:28
Hayley is almost 2:

Get up (anywhere between 8:30 and 10:00)
have breakfast
play (go for a walk or whatever sometimes)
morning tea (usually 2 hours after breakfast)
play some more
lunch (2 hours after morning tea)
nap time (usually for 2 hours)
play (for about half an hour)
afternoon tea
play some more
dinner (around 6pm)
play (for a about an hour)
then bath (I don't bath her every night)
pyjamas
then we read a book or two
bedtime (8pm)

I have a routine in place but if it gets stuffed up a little it doesn't matter. Hayley sleeps through most nights. :yes:

jessgray
26-09-2006, 10:49
my ds is 17 months and he has a flexible routine.
he generally wakes up between 5:30am &6:30am lol then has breakky.
then he plays. (he also has to watch sunrise and raggs lol)
*if its a daycare day he is off to daycare by 8:30am
sometimes he has a nap at about 10:30am (like now he is asleep :D)
then when he wakes up he has a snack
at 12 he has lunch
then he plays
then he has a snack
then he plays lol
he watches new macdonalds farm at 3:30pm
and plays
sometimes he has a nap in the afternoon
*daycare days he comes home at 4 or 4:30pm and has a nap
then he has dinner
watches the simpsons
has a bath
and then he has a bottle and ussually by 8pm he is asleep for the night :D

i didnt set his routine up he did lol its very easy to predict when he will do things so i work around it.

natasha
26-09-2006, 11:49
DD is 20 months and she kind of has a routine. It goes a little like this....

8.30-9am Wakes up and plays for about 15 mins, then shouts to get up.

Breakfast whenever she gets up. Usually cheerios or weetbix and toast. (with cup of milk)

Then we will play with all her toys for about an hour.

I will then try and do some washing while she watches HI5 at 10am.:rolleyes: (with another cup of milk)

If she still looks hungry she will have a box of sulatanas or a piece of fruit.

She goes back down for a nap round 11-11.30 and will sleep till about 1ish.

Up and dressed round 1pm:p , then we will go outside for a walk or play in the garden downstairs. Usually have sandwhiches while we are down there and a drink of water.

Back upstairs to grab a few snacks and the pram and then we head off shopping round 2.30pm.

Back in round 3.30pm just in time for the wiggles!
DD will watch that while i get the shopping unloaded and try and get a bit of tidying done.

4pm we sit on the floor and colour and play for about an hour.

5ish I have to start dinner so she entertains herself, usualy pottering round my feet pulling things out of cupboards.

6ish daddy comes home and we eat dinner. All DD will eat is fish with no batter and chips so she has that with water.

6.45 bathtime and brush teeth.

7pm bedtime (goes with bottle of water).

cobysmummy
26-09-2006, 12:08
coby is just over 18 months and our day goes like this;

8.30-9.00 wake up, breakfast (cereal or toast) with milk or juice

9-10 playtime, watching the wiggles at the same time

10.00 morning tea; saltanas, fruit and biscuits

11.30 lunch; sandwich or 2 minute noodles or salad

12-3 nap

3.30 playtime outside with daddy when he gets home

5.30/6ish dinner, bath

6.30 quiet play, the wiggles in the background, books

9.30 bed time

thats about it...

jembelina
26-09-2006, 12:47
This is how our day goes.....ds is 19 months.....

5.30/6am wake up - in bed with us for cuddles

up and breaky
play
anytime b/w 7 and 8am - shower with me
play/ 'helping' with housework
watches 'Raggs' most days
outside to play or out if we have stuff to do
he will tell me when he is hungry, snacks all morning - this child never stops eating!!

10.30/11am books and cuddles with mum
11am/12pm sleep - anywhere from 1.5 to 3 hrs(love those days!!)

lunch
play/out and about/housework/outside
once again snacking all arvo long!
3.30pm - playschool goes on and I put my feet up!!

5.30/6pm - dinner
top and tail wash & moisturise
pj's & teeth
books with mummy and daddy
7pm - bed...........aaaahhhhhhhhh:D

Foxy
26-09-2006, 13:50
My DS is 19 months and this is our routine (which I do stick to!)

We are up between 6.30 and 7.00am

Breakfast straight away - usually cup of milk, 2 pieces toast with vegemite and 3 tablespoons of yoghurt.

Then I have my breakfast, then shower, DH leaves for work

Dress DS for morning's activity, prepare any food for outing if needed (even if just morning tea), quick house tidy and out the door by 9.00am to either gym, playgroup, swimming lessson, shopping, etc

Home by 11.00am - DS has lunch, usually sandwich, fruit, water

DS in bed around 11.45ish until 2.30 - 3.00pm

I work from home (and sometimes in office), so during DS sleep time I am supposed to be working but am usually on bubhub (:o ). I also do a bit of housework during this time, I find if I do a bit each day, nothing ever builds up.

DH usually comes home around 3pm, so he takes over DS and I can work upstairs or sometimes I go into the office. I can take DS with me if needed and he plays there.

DH will play with DS outside, or they will go for a walk to the park etc. DS not really interested in afternoon tea, but will eat a small box of sultanas.

Dinner at 5ish - chicken, bolognaise, fish are current favourites.

Bath at 6.15

Quiet time and reading until 7.15

Cup of milk and in bed by 7.30

red crayon
26-09-2006, 15:55
it's interesting reading all of this. we all pretty much have the same sort of day.

wake up/breakfast
play
mid morning snack
play
lunch and midday nap
mid arvo snack
play
dinner/bath/bed

ThomasMum
26-09-2006, 16:34
Our Thomas is 19 months old

Wakes-up around 7am; earlier on weekend (of course lol)

Play with daddy helping dad getting ready for work, picking the tie etc lol
Breakfast
Then morning walk (not far just to the garage downstairs to say daddy goodbye) or pottering around the garden for a wee bit

Around 9am if we are not going out we ussualy watching TV (he loves the movie "Cars"), does some painting at the balcony, colouring etc

12pm lunch and ussualy his dad is also home for lunch (his main office is only 5 mins from home) then going downstair for a quick walk

More activities, reading book, etc, plus afro snack in between

At around 4-5pm depends how hot it is or the weather, we go to the park down the road for half an hour

530pm daddy's home, the boys are having bath whilst I'm cooking dinner

6pm-7pm dinner time and reading time

715pm watching Baby Einstein (because its always winds him down) before bed

730pm bed time :yelclap: :smiliedance: lol

Ps. I go to work 2 days/week Thu & Fri- Thomas goes to childcare