View Full Version : Park Meet
New Mum Mel
25-09-2006, 20:08
Hey there girls,
Im thinking of organising a meet at a park somewhere in the east south east side of melbourne. However as I only have a 6 month old parks are not something I am really clued up on so if you have any great suggestions as to where we could hold this they would be most appreciated. The main thing is the park has to be easy access by Public Transport, for those of you who need it.
At this stage I am thinking of holding the meet on one of the following dates:
Monday 9th October
Tuesday 10th October or
Thursday 12th October.
Look forward to hearing all your thoughts.
Love Mel
There is a really great park in Bayswater on Mountain Hwy (i think) near the station. It's one of the best parks out that way.
New Mum Mel
25-09-2006, 20:33
There is a really great park in Bayswater on Mountain Hwy (i think) near the station. It's one of the best parks out that way.
Thanks heaps :)for that do you know if it has a good playground???
25-09-2006, 20:35
oh yes!! The train park stellaj_79 ? Thats an awesome park i can walk there!! :D I'm easy, so anyday will be fine with me! :D
Funkychicken
25-09-2006, 21:44
I'll keep a watch on this one-it's too far away for me to commit yet but I would love another park meet.
Mamaduke
25-09-2006, 23:20
Love the 'train park'!!!!
Here's a map...Bayswater Park (http://www.whereis.com/whereis/confirmedMap.do?nref=getPlaceMap)
25-09-2006, 23:43
I'd love to come :)
different direction but theres a park in narre warren right near fountain gate shopping centre on the narre-cranbourne rd which is BRILLIANT, the boys call it the rocket park, great for all ages, picnic tables, bbq.. etc
just another idea :D
greatmum
26-09-2006, 06:42
narree warren is closer to me so would be in charmzy can you get there by public transport?
26-09-2006, 11:10
Bayswater is good for me, mondays are out for me.
26-09-2006, 11:22
can get there by public transport, I know the narre warren - cranbourne bus stops there, not sure what other ones. I would probably be able to pick you up if that helped tho :)
greatmum
26-09-2006, 17:56
hey charmaine that would be great if you could pick me up i am in endeavour hills do you know where that is?
well I'm happy to come along if we are free on the day/time that is decided. Either park is fine, the Bayswater one is like a big playground rather than a park with trees/ open space IYKWIM, haven't been to the other one that has been suggested.
Funkychicken
26-09-2006, 23:27
The rocket park (my kid's call it this too) is the Ray Bastian reserve. great park for little ones-it's got a rubber based ground under the entire playground. The Narre Warren train station is not far. The only downside is it doesn't have lovely grass area's or much in the way of trees-more bench seats under shade sails. The upside is it is only 10 mins from me! :D
There is also Wilson Botanic Park in Berwick-it has a great playground and beautiful lawn areas as well as walking tracks etc...
For a little off the track there is Crystal Brook Park at Cardinia Resovoir (Wellington Rd, Narre Warren East)-this is fantastic, well away from roads, great playground, bike paths that you can see all the way down and lots of kangaroos feeding too!
Just a few to muse over..........................:)
26-09-2006, 23:50
yep I know endeavour hills :D so thats easy :)
Maybe we should do a poll on the location lol
Mamaduke
26-09-2006, 23:52
For a little off the track there is Crystal Brook Park at Cardinia Resovoir (Wellington Rd, Narre Warren East)-this is fantastic, well away from roads, great playground, bike paths that you can see all the way down and lots of kangaroos feeding too!
Thanks for that one Sal...we're looking for somewhere to go on Sunday with the fam for a picnic - this one sounds pretty good! :thumbsup:
(sorry for the hijack...as you were!)
Funkychicken
27-09-2006, 09:53
Thanks for that one Sal...we're looking for somewhere to go on Sunday with the fam for a picnic - this one sounds pretty good! :thumbsup:
(sorry for the hijack...as you were!)
No worries! This is a favourite of ours!
Ohhhhh no more polls and disscusion or it never ends up happening- someone decide (but not me :o )
Funkychicken
27-09-2006, 22:58
Ohhhhh no more polls and disscusion or it never ends up happening- someone decide (but not me :o )
:laughing: Ok, who started this thread??? Hmmm...come on, own up who was it?:laughing: (If I go back to check I will have to type this again!). I say, go with whatever the OP suggested. There will be more meets and more parks to play in, so it's all yours OP!
Funkychicken
27-09-2006, 23:00
So I just went back and it seems that it is a joint venture between the Meet suggester and the location suggester. So New Mum Mel and Stellaj_79, it's your call............................:D :D :D
27-09-2006, 23:37
lol fair enough, just waiting to see where it is... and confirmation of when? :)
New Mum Mel
28-09-2006, 10:25
Hey there Girls,
Sorry it has taken me a while to get back I recon the Park in Bayswater sounds fantastic and even better cause those needing PT can get there. Or the Botanic Gardens in Berwick also sounds good. So can someone just fill me in on what the park facilities are like. I get that they both have cool playgrounds but what about shaded sit and picninc areas???? Can someone who knows the parks fill me in on that side???? I think i will end up picking the one with a nice sit and picninc area.
As for day well At this stage it is either Monday or Thursday so we need a few more votes to bump it one way or the other. Both days work for me. Grrrrr this is hard.
Thanks for all the help and giving me some extra info.
Love Mel
Mondays are good for me...
Just let me know which park you ladies decide on and we should be there (if its monday..)
New Mum Mel
28-09-2006, 12:03
Ok well thank you all for your replies,
I am really looking forward to this meet. Looks like we have a day. Monday the 9th of October. I think if we meet at say 12.30pm. How does that suit.
Does Anyone know anything about the Botanic Park in Berwick and Bayswater Park picninc facilities and shade???
Love Mel
Just a note on that time... most of us with slightly older bubs will be heading off for a nap time by 12:30 - 1pm... could it be earlier?
Usually our meets start at around 10:30am and we have lunch all together..
what do others think?
New Mum Mel
28-09-2006, 12:16
Hmmm ok well that doesn't really work for me cause that is when Abi is sleeping. I normally get her up at 12 for lunch.
Oh well If it suits everyone I guess I could change her day around.
Funkychicken
28-09-2006, 12:20
I tell you what, with the way we adapt to suit so many age groups, we should be running this country! :D Actually no, then there wouldn't be ANY time for Bubhub.:p
Wilson Botanic Park- great park, free entry, great playground, and lots of shady, grassy spots.
Hope that helps you with your decision making!
28-09-2006, 15:18
Hi guys I can't make it on Mondays, I will have to wait for the next meet. Hopefully oneday I will meet you all. :)
GiGi's Mummy
28-09-2006, 16:26
Hey all,
Count me in. Where ever, when ever and what ever time, i will work it in to make it.
Here is a site i found on Wilson Botanic Park: http://www.casey.vic.gov.au/wilsonbotanicpark/
I live in narre Warren so would personaly love anywhere near here or Berwick but am totally flexible!!
Look forward to meeting you all soon x
Ok Ok, lets go to Berwick whatever its called park on Monday, starting about 10.30. Is there an easy to find meeting spot Sal? Next time Bayswater, different day, OK? I'm getting bossy now:D
28-09-2006, 20:07
Sounds great, I'll be there!
New Mum Mel
28-09-2006, 22:10
Hey there 10.30 doesn;t work for me at all thats right at the start of a sleep time. I dont leave the house till then but would be more that happy to compromise at say 11-11.30am. That is the earliest I can get there especially as berwick is about half an hour from me.
So so far we have
Date: Monday 9th October
Where: Berwick Botanical Park
Time: 11-11.30 Meet
Will let you all know a meeting place.
Thanks for understanding.
Funkychicken
28-09-2006, 23:41
Mel, that sounds fine. don't stress about exact times. The meets I have been to have a dribble effect! Some arrive early and other's arive later Kind of tag-teaming :D . I can offer advice on a suitable meeting spot if you like.
There is a long driveway off the highway. The parking is at the top. To the left is the entrance to the park and just past the lake is a path that curves up to the left and then veers right. At the top is the playground with quite a few grassy spots, so maybe if the bubhubber's with ribbons keep them visible and pick a spot closest to the playground, I'm sure everyone will find each other.
Hope that was clear and I haven't confused anyone.:o
New Mum Mel
29-09-2006, 16:59
Hey Sal,
Thanks for all that and thanks for the advice on where to meet. I think that sounds great too. Looking forward to meeting you and all the other bubhubbers.
Have a look at the link below for a map.
http://www.casey.vic.gov.au/wilsonbotanicpark/article.asp?Item=4836
Love Mel
GiGi's Mummy
29-09-2006, 20:13
Hey Funky Chicken & New Mum Mel
Looking forward to meeting you both and anyone else coming then. I will be there with bells on from 11am. i am also convincing one of my girlfriends who has recently joined bubhub to come along if she is free also.
can't wait.
Kyles x
Funkychicken
29-09-2006, 22:29
Looking forward to meeting you all also and seeing those I have already met again! I'm still a bit surprised that there is going to be a meet so close to home for me! :yelclap: My good fortune as well as a couple of other's whose locations are close.
New Mum Mel
30-09-2006, 21:47
Hey Kyles, so glad to hear you will be joining us at our next meet. Im really looking forward to meeting you and your kids.
Sal the location is a great spot for you distance wise but I think that has more to do with a great suggestion on your part than luck. Look forward to meeting you and the kids there.
Love Mel
I'll be there! Will there be other big kids this time as school holidays are over? Looking forward to it:thumbsup:
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 22:56
My biggies will be at school. It is a great playground so I'm sure your big boy Connor will enjoy himself. :)
Right now I'm GOING to bed-I have procrastinated for over an hour and a half now and had a shower, played on ebay, ate some (more) chocolate and made a new thread, but that's it-I'm off! :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping:
ummm, youre still here Sal and you posted that about half an hour ago:D
I didn't realise Ella was a school girl.
Funkychicken
01-10-2006, 09:07
ummm, youre still here Sal and you posted that about half an hour ago:D
I didn't realise Ella was a school girl.
The last thing I thought as I turned the computer off was, I wonder who is thinking, she's still here!
Yep, Ella is a big preppy. She turns six in about 4 weeks.:eek:
01-10-2006, 10:30
We will have alex and zach there they are just about to turn 4 and 5! :) So some other 'big but not big enough for school' kids lol
I'll be there! Will there be other big kids this time as school holidays are over? Looking forward to it:thumbsup:
we will be there Mel and Connor and Samuel had a great time last meet !
Well Samuel certainly though Connor was pretty fantastic !!
Mamaduke
01-10-2006, 21:07
I just want to hijack for a second and thank Funkychicken for recommending Crystal Brook Park...we went there today for a BBQ lunch and it was fantastic!!
The boys had an absolutely wonderful time running around, Jesse took off with Grandpa for a nature walk and came back so excited and full of the tales of the bush and Lukey had a ball kicking the footy around and running till he just couldn't run anymore!
So thanks again...we will definately go back...tell you what though, on a beautiful Sunday afternoon that place sure does pack them in!!!
great, he loved playing (bossing) Samuel around! I'm a doofus i thought it was tomorow and i came on to right the directions down- der! Would have been sitting there on my lonesome :laughing:
Funkychicken
02-10-2006, 10:40
I just want to hijack for a second and thank Funkychicken for recommending Crystal Brook Park...we went there today for a BBQ lunch and it was fantastic!!
The boys had an absolutely wonderful time running around, Jesse took off with Grandpa for a nature walk and came back so excited and full of the tales of the bush and Lukey had a ball kicking the footy around and running till he just couldn't run anymore!
So thanks again...we will definately go back...tell you what though, on a beautiful Sunday afternoon that place sure does pack them in!!!
Glad you had a good time Mamaduke! Our children love the walks through the bush too. It does get busy on a lovely sunday arvo though.
Our children go to school about 5 mins away from it so we often drive through on our way home-in the winter that is about the time the kangaroos come down to graze.
Their new school site (nearly ready to move the school there) is actually on the same road as the entrance, so the views of the park are visible from the school.
New Mum Mel
02-10-2006, 15:12
Hey there Girls,
I am so excited about this meet:smiliedance:. Looks like it is going to be great and I cant wait to meet you all there.
Love Mel
greatmum
02-10-2006, 16:14
can i get a lift off someone i would really like to come please
New Mum Mel
02-10-2006, 16:50
hey there sarah,
I would be able to pick you and aiden up and take you home.
Love Mel
greatmum
02-10-2006, 17:21
oh mel that would be great hun thanks i am really looking forward to seeing you and abi again and meeting everyone else
RedPanda
03-10-2006, 13:07
I'll be there. I love Wilson Botanic!:)
New Mum Mel
04-10-2006, 15:11
Hey there girls,
I know you are all going to hate this. But unfortunatly due to unforseen circumstances Abi and I wont be able to make it on monday. I am really sad that this has happened and hope you can all forgive me cause pulling out of things is not something I do.
A year ago my husband was diagnosed with cancer and has since been undergoing treatment to rid him of this terrible disease. He has just recently finished Chemo and we thought that would be the end of all our hospital visits. Sadly this was not the case as on Saturday he developed an infection in his leg (where he had surgery 4months ago to remove the tumor) this meant a very speedy trip into Peter Macallum Cancer Centre in the middle of the night to start the process of antibiotics treatment. Thankfully since then his temp is starting to stabalise again and he is feeling much stronger however still suffering massive amounts of pain in his leg. The down side is that he will have to be on 24 hour IV anitbiotics for at least another 2 weeks to help clear the bug away. This means that every day we will have to make a trip to Glen Waverley (the nursing service doesn't come as far as our place) to have him hooked up to the drugs. So to cut a long story short (well not really) I will be driving him off to his med appointments while you are all meeting.
I really wish I could be there with you all to share in the fun day, it sounds like it is going to be grreat. But I do hope to be able to attend the next meet, hopefully by then our lives will have returned to some form of normal.
Thank you for being so understanding.
Love Mel
GiGi's Mummy
04-10-2006, 19:20
Hey all,
I will be there and one of my close friends will be joining us with her 4 1/2 mnth old.
My DSS actually live in Cairns with his mum so wont be there, just me and Georgia.
see you all there around 11am.
Can't wait to meet everyone face to face as this will be my very first bubhub meet :smiliedance:
Oh Mel i am so sorry that you have had this hiccup with your DH and that we wont see you at the meet, but of course we all completely understand.
My thoughts are with you at this time
greatmum
04-10-2006, 20:05
hey charmzy
are you going on monday? if you are are you taking alex? i dont want my son to be the eldest
Geez Mel, don't go apologising for not coming (although its sad you can't) your husband is much more important than us old slappers anyday. I hope he gets better soon, take care of him and yourself.
i'll be bringing Connor, he's 5.
Funkychicken
04-10-2006, 21:19
Mel, there is no need for apologies. I wish your husband the very best for success with his treatment. There will be many more meets, I'm sure. We'll catch you at the next one.:thumbsup:
05-10-2006, 10:55
Oh Mel I hope that everything is ok with your husband, I'll be thinking of you both.
GiGi's Mummy
06-10-2006, 11:39
Hello Ladies,
firstly, mel i am sorry to hear you DH is not well. All our love to you and your family :hugs:
I just thought i should let evreyone know that the forcasted weather for Monday is not looking good
Monday Shower or two clearing. Min 9 Max 17
What is everyones thoughts if this stays this way??
I am still happy to catch up but maybe a coffee or something nearby, rather than braving the weather?
Let us know your thoughts all.
Hope everyone has a great weekend ahead.
See you all soon
I think we should just go to the park unless it is a storm or something- if it really looks like bad weather then we can always pack up and find somewhere to go i guess. Perhaps there is a shelter of some sort at the park?
greatmum
07-10-2006, 07:20
hello everyone i wont be going to the park my son has just got over being sick i dont want him to get sick again from the bad weather i hope you all have a great day take care
Sorry Guys we cant make it tommorrow :(
Hope to see you all at the next meet though !
oh, Tracey, too bad. Who is going still-seems to be alot of ppl not coming?
GiGi's Mummy
08-10-2006, 19:20
Hey all,
I am still eager to go but for me it will all boil down to the weather tomorrow morning for if i will make it or not. I know this would usually sound like a lame excuse, but i am not ready to take my 8 week old out into rather cold weather with any high winds or if looking like it might rain.
Fingers cossed we will have a nice sunny day and if that is the case, i will see you all there. If not, my apologies.
Looking forward to meeting you all!!!
I guess i won't go either then as its quite a hike for us and it doesn't seem that anyone is definately going. I'll check back later to make sure though :yes:
RedPanda
08-10-2006, 22:15
Hmm, seems like it's kind of fizzled. I was half-hearted, so will probably give it a miss. I've been ill and have just got a new nephew, so will be going to meet him!
Its a lovely day and Connor just asked about the picnic so I decided that I'm going to go to the park anyway, if its just us thats Ok because i sounds lovely. Perhaps I'll see someone though?
09-10-2006, 11:04
sorry I've given it a miss because the weather doesnt look too great here, cloudy and cold!!
09-10-2006, 13:01
hope it hasnt rained there for those that went! It has a bit here!
G'day pikers:D I had a great meet with Sal/Funkychicken and someone from another forum! It was lovely, beautiful weather and place we even did a big walk. Thanks Sal!
Sounds lovely Mel.. i would have loved to be there, and Samuel would have too... next time :thumbsup:
09-10-2006, 14:17
so glad the weather held out for you, the suns just come out properly here!
09-10-2006, 16:32
Oh sounds like you had fun!! Maybe next time we can make it. (as long as it is not on a monday) :D
ahhh, never mind. I was good though, i make a point of never putting something off because of the weather because well, you know Melbourne.
Sal is having computer problems BTW.
ahhh, never mind. I was good though, i make a point of never putting something off because of the weather because well, you know Melbourne.
Sal is having computer problems BTW.
Yes i never let the weather put me off... we would have been there but DH had the day off at short notice so we had a family day :D
Thanks for letting us know about Sal.. i was wondering where she was...
RedPanda
09-10-2006, 21:31
I'm sorry that I piked! The weather turned out ok after all. But on the bright side, my house is sparkling and I cooked a roast dinner!!
Looking forward to seeing all you Melbourne ladies at the dinner meet!
Funkychicken
10-10-2006, 14:29
Yay-I'm back on the air!!!:smiliedance: The 'puter is all fixed and running super-fast too!
Thanks for a lovely day at the park, mel. It was great to catch up and good to have a good old natter about nappies! Ella thinks Connor is pretty cool, even if he didn't want ot play scarecrow tiggy!;)
By the way, I am wrong about the expo being this weekend, as you've probably already worked out:o .
justrace
10-10-2006, 14:41
Oh I just read this thread, I would have loved to come along. Shall have to keept my eyes out for the next one. Glad to hear you have a good time.