View Full Version : breastfeeding advocacy

meme
24-09-2006, 11:49
any breastfeeding advocates on the hub?
do you do anything to support the implimentation of the WHO code in Australia? or to lobby local government?

just want to chat about the inadequacies of the MAIF aggreement?

what do you do to promote and protect breastfeeding in your communities?

love to chat.

this thread is to celebrate breastfeeding for people who feel passionate about it:yelclap:

Funkychicken
24-09-2006, 16:09
Greta idea Meme! I guess outside of bubhub I don't do a lot of promoting. The majority of my frineds and mum's within our community already breastfeed and share the same views on it as I do. I do have one friend who has been successfully BF her 4 month old from birth after a really unsuccessful experience 9 years ago with her first. I didn't know her then so am not 100 % sure of what happened. This time around for her, it has been completely her decision, based on being exposed to us other BF mum's. A classic 'learn from examples' situation.
I am at the moment thinking seriously about training as a LC but I am yet to take the first step towards finding out more. I guess it's a case of finding the time.
So for now, all I do is BF in public if bub needs to be fed-I find this can be such a great inspiration-I know I love to see other mums BF when they are out and about-it's inspiring even to me and I am on my third time around!:D

meme
25-09-2006, 14:03
hiya funky chicken, glad you could join me:wave:

ah, no other passionate lactavists?:laughing:

oh well.

i too breastfeed in public and think that by doing so i am *changing the world* well hoping that i can help normalise the sight of someone breastfeeding...

training as an LC would be great.:thumbsup:

i discovered the maif agreement and who code through this loverly internet world and since then i have been quite shocked at the amount of who code breaches that i see around me.
i am also shocked that australia, while being a signotory of the who code, hasn't done anything much about implementing it .
it makes so much sense to support breastfeeding on a marketing level rather than beating up on mums who can't breastfeed, when society isn't supportive enough in the first place.

i have heard that countries that have implemented the who code into law have much better breastfeeding rates, so it seems to make a difference.
the maif agrrement really does nothing, so i have started to record who code breaches and send to apmaif so that hopefully when it is reveiwed our pollies will give more thought to implementing the who code.

i think that so many mums here do a great job of supprting each other with breastfeeding :yelclap: it is great to see.

25-09-2006, 14:06
So what exactly is the 'Who code'?:confused:

meme
25-09-2006, 14:19
the WHO code is the world health organisations international code of the marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes it was adopted by the World Health Assembly in 1981 as a "minimum requirement" to protect infant health .
read about it more here (http://www.ibfan.org/english/resource/who/fullcode.html)
hope that helps.:)

25-09-2006, 14:28
Hmmm very interesting. ;)

25-09-2006, 14:36
I'm a bf advocate to everyone who knows me. I tell people I know in real life ie, friends, relatives etc all the benefits etc, but apparently ff is just so much easier & gives them the opportunity to go out & get drunk :ecomcity: :banghead: [text deleted]

I make a point of bf MJ whenever, where-ever she wants it. Should have seen the looks on my neices & nephews faces (aged 7-17) on the weekend when they realised i was bf MJ at the dinner table :laughing:

25-09-2006, 14:38
what do you do to promote and protect breastfeeding in your communities?

What would you suggest to do to begin with?

Areca
25-09-2006, 15:44
I breastfeed in public all the time and I'm usually pretty good at letting people know I breastfeed in conversations too (I'll just drop it in the conversation casually). When I was pg I had a friend who so casually told me she bf her first until she was 15 months (her DD self weaned) and I was a bit surprised cause she was 'normal' and not a hippy (yes I've changed my views since then) so I try to just normalise it myself.
My best friend (no kids) originally thought it was gross to bf a baby past 6 months but now she says that she's going to bf for as long as possible when she has kids. I'm the only person she knows that has bf for this long (10 months tomorrow and no plans to stop) and I think just by seeing me do it has normalised bf'ing for her!

25-09-2006, 15:52
I am not pushy about it but I consider myself an advocate for breastfeeding. I certainly encourage it. I am open about it and I am excited when people close to me feed. I don't do anything really proactive. I was rapt to get some advocacy tees for my baby though. I also feel free to breastfeed whereever my baby is hungry. I think that is important. I think it is important that mums feel comfortable to do so. I have had friends say they stopped feeding because they are 'modest' Ummm so am I! It isn't about modesty its about feeding your bub.
So I would like to be more passionate about it without upsetting others.

WeThree
25-09-2006, 15:52
I'm a bf advocate to everyone who knows me. I tell them of all the benefits etc

Same here :yes: They get annoyed with me I think, but I dont care :laughing:

blueeyes
25-09-2006, 16:17
Am not an incredibly vocal advocate but will let those around me know all about it. Questions are answered honestly (normal trait of mine anyway), and more surprisingly, the men around me are more receptive and appreciative of BF than alot of women I know. :eek: They are more willing to ask and tell me their own stories and dont even question my desire to continue bf as long as I can or as long as the babe wants to.
I always bf in public although at restaurants I tend to be more discreet but other than that, its out and proud.
I am asked for advice which is both strange and flattering at the same time, and let others know of my own experience. I also point them in the direction of the ABA and their products or lend my resources out to others so that they can be better informed. I never thought about bf before having my babe but am now very much in support of bf and find a instinctual response of disgust when women choose not to feed or even try before they have had their baby, knowing women out there who have had shocking bf experiences and stick with it as they are aware of giving thier babes the best start in life.

meme
25-09-2006, 18:50
so I try to just normalise it myself.
i think that is a great way to encourage a breastfeeding friendly society.

I would like to be more passionate about it without upsetting others.

i agree. it is an emotive issue. the way i see breastfeeding advocacy it is a societal (if that's a word:o ) issue, not a personal judgement of any mother. it is a difficult distinction to get across sometimes.

i like the idea of the advocacy tee. i have one for my bub from ABA, it is the 'mum's milk for me' shirt.

i would love the one that says 'mothersucker':laughing:

25-09-2006, 18:56
I have 2 advocacy tees. One has a cow on it and it says Mummy's milk not from any old cow. The other is care instructions and says feed whn required (demand feed)

Goosie22
25-09-2006, 19:54
No surprise here, yes I'm a Breastfeeding Advocate ""luscious lactator;) ".

IMO being an advocate is about supporting women and their rights to success. I view Breastfeeding as a feminist right of passage much like birth. Breastfeeding has to be one of the most godess like functions our bodies can attain, like birth again.

To give life with ones body and passions what could be better than that.

My favourite Lactavist saying is "I make MILK whats your supper power"

draught
25-09-2006, 20:42
I guess I am like others here - I try to lead by example, offer advice and information, talk about things like lactation consultants, the ABA, and the benefits of feeding etc. I have fed in all sorts of public places from airports and planes to benches at zoos, and will continue to do so with my new baby hopefully. I talk openly with people I speak to about prolonged breastfeeding and the benefits of it (and that includes my male boss who agreed wholeheartedly as his youngest son was fed until he was over 2). I always remember a colleague, when I was pregnant with DD1, who was happy to tell me that she was still feeding her 3 year old, and she normalised it for me so I went in expecting to be able to feed for at least a year. I would hope to pass on the same inspiration to others in the same way.

(and of course I get to moderate the bf section of this forum which gives me a good opportunity to share knowledge etc!)

Funkychicken
25-09-2006, 21:41
I fed on a park bench in a zoo too, Theresa!!! My DD over five years ago now-she was 1 week old and I had a mother walk by and say,"What a lovely place to sit and feed your baby". It was such a simple comment but also really powerful.
The LC who helped me out in the hospital when my DS#1 was a day old mentioned casually that she was a bit late as her 3yo DD had wanted an 'extra' drink before mummy went to work. That was one of the most powerful things I could have heard and in an instant I knew I would never feed my babies any other way and that I could and would feed them as long as possible. :yelclap:

PS-Wow Theresa, I can't believe your baby is nearly ready to arrive!!:eek:

misskittyfantastico
25-09-2006, 21:44
I am becoming more and more vocal about Breastfeeding....I have become a total lactivist:thumbsup:

bec79
26-09-2006, 00:07
Like most of the other lactivists here, I try to 'promote' breastfeeding to as many people as possible.
It saddens me when I hear stories about new mums who want to breastfeed, but give up, for a vast aray of reasons. By offering support and advice to those around me, I feel like I'm making some difference to the cause. (As small as it may be).

meme
04-10-2006, 22:22
something that i do as part of my lactivism is to monitor the advertising of breastmilk substitutes in my community. i only live in a small town, at first i didn't think i was going to seee any unethical marketing at all.

the maif agreement is a voluntary thing that asks manufacturers of infant formula to be mindful of how they market their product. most companies do agree to be part of it. however i found advertising that breached the maif agreement and apmaif the body that monitors this stuff agrees it's a breach, but that company hasn't come on board and decidedto be part of the maif agreement so nothing can be done. the horrible thing is , nothing can be done anyway, as it's all just voluntary and has no real power. :mad:

so these big companies will keep on churning out advertisements that undermine breastfeeding so that they can make money at the detriment of our babies health.

rant over:cool:

Funkychicken
04-10-2006, 22:38
something that i do as part of my lactivism is to monitor the advertising of breastmilk substitutes in my community. i only live in a small town, at first i didn't think i was going to seee any unethical marketing at all.

the maif agreement is a voluntary thing that asks manufacturers of infant formula to be mindful of how they market their product. most companies do agree to be part of it. however i found advertising that breached the maif agreement and apmaif the body that monitors this stuff agrees it's a breach, but that company hasn't come on board and decidedto be part of the maif agreement so nothing can be done. the horrible thing is , nothing can be done anyway, as it's all just voluntary and has no real power. :mad:

so these big companies will keep on churning out advertisements that undermine breastfeeding so that they can make money at the detriment of our babies health.

rant over:cool:
:yelclap: for you Meme. We boycott a particular company and many people have siad "Why? You can't change anything" or "Who cares, I love milo too much" but we care. knowing in my heart that I am doing the right thing by those who suffer at the hands of these 'giants' is enough reason for me to stick to my guns. *Anyway, milo is just too sickly anyway!*
Sorry, off topic, but I felt it should follow your post. :)

meme
05-10-2006, 10:06
thanks for the support fc:wave: . not everyone understands the importance of ethical marketing either. it's tricky to explain to people who aren't aware of all the issues with human milk. i often encounter blank stares when i mention my concerns, yet once upon a time cigarettes were blatantly advertised and gradually community awareness and values are changing to the point where there are much stricter controls on the marketing of cigarettes.
i often wonder about the few people who were originally concerned about the health impacts and financial impacts of cigarettes who started campaiganing for change and think about the huge industry they were up against and how far they have come....
change does happen from our small actions:smiliedance: .

06-10-2006, 23:54
I've just stumbled across this thread.

I was rapt to get some advocacy tees for my baby though.

Where can I get baby b/f t-shirts from?

The LC who helped me out in the hospital when my DS#1 was a day old mentioned casually that she was a bit late as her 3yo DD had wanted an 'extra' drink before mummy went to work. That was one of the most powerful things I could have heard and in an instant I knew I would never feed my babies any other way and that I could and would feed them as long as possible.

That is so beautiful :)

I don't really do anything proactvie. I didn't actaully realise that I COULD o something :o
I love breastfeeding. I'm bf my 3 month old, and I breastfed my first till she was 12 months. This time I would like to breastfeed 2 years + hopefully.
I feel angry when mothers choose not to try to breastfeeding.
I fell really sad when they have tried, but fell they can't do it :(
As a PP said, I get really excited when others I know breastfeed!

Great thread... can someone tell me now to get these t-shirts?
xx tx

07-10-2006, 00:04
I've just stumbled across this thread.

Where can I get baby b/f t-shirts from?

Great thread... can someone tell me now to get these t-shirts?
xx tx

I got my bubs at https://store.finnstarz.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=22&osCsid=c455733a022394bcfc7660060e67d4d6 They also have ones for mum!

Goosie22
07-10-2006, 00:09
Here are some I've purchased from.

Mothers milk marketing board (http://www.lactivist.co.uk/bftransfers.shtml)

Finnstarz (http://www.finnstarz.com.au/)

Baby milk action (http://www.babymilkaction.org/shop/tshirts.html)

our little treasures
20-10-2006, 12:23
I have just stumbled across this thread as well! I advocate b/f every chance that I get and I don't care what others think..... I have b/f anywhere and everywhere (except my mil table while having tea).. Only because I know they are all anti b/f.. I will not go into a breast feeding room unless my dd needs the toilet, as I don't see FF mums having to be shunned away in shame!!

I couldn't care less what people think or say,I know that I am giving my ds and gave my dd the best milk available!@!
I am aware of the WHO but I haven't got involved with that. I wear my ABA Tshirt to the gym, shopping everywhere...

My SIL had breast fed both hers but she had a lot of problems and I was angry because I wanted to be there and show her but she lives an hr and a half away. Unfortunately she didn't get much help at all.. Even though she had a midwife that came out to help (we are indigenous) it still didn't help!!

I get very frustrated when people don't try....
Oh and I loooonnngg for the day someone tells me to go to another room while I am feeding my bubs, I will give them what for... I have been waiting for 2 and a half years for that day!!
Anyway tell me what we need to do and I will do it!!

Lila
20-10-2006, 12:33
hi girls,
well i am a full pro breastfeeding mum- unfortunately couldnīt do it myself. i tried hard- but after a few weeks i was always at the end.... (no milk..because of...would be too long of a thing- to tell you the whole story :o ...)

anyway....

when i fed, i fed everywhere, whenever, i didnīt care less. this is such a natural thing, why should i hide???
i love it, when i see bf mums sitting in a cafe- shoppingcentre ect.. and just enjoying the moment with their bubby.
shame on this people thinking we/ they should hide- whats that????

good luck guys!!!

meme
22-10-2006, 22:54
i am so glad that people are still stumbling across this thread:yelclap:

everyone is welcome on board. i am sure there are heaps of mums who have breastfed until 12mths, or longer that see the importance in breastfeeding and i am sure there are mums who have breastfed for 12 days or less who also see the importance on promoting and supporting breastfeedign in our communities.
i even hope that their are dads, granpa's and uncles who have never breastfed who will champion the breastfeeding cause for our babies and the health of our communities:smiliedance:

the_queen
22-10-2006, 23:07
Why haven't I seen this thread before! I am just now stumbling across it, too.
My DS has 2 advocacy t-shirts, one is like Kymmy's it's the "I love my mummy's milk, not just milk from any old cow" and my daughter thinks that is hilarious, whenever he wears it she is always pointing it out to people and telling them what it says. The other t-shirt says "Cloth on bum, breastmilk in tum, i sleep with mum" that's his "advocate for everything" t-shirt LOL

Also, I talk about BFing all the time to my daughter. We talk about what made us have to stop our own BFing relationship, and we talk about how normal BFing is and how babies deserve breastmilk, etc etc. She breastfeeds her dolls and teddies now :yelclap:

My sister is 40 weeks pregnant today and we've talked a lot about breastfeeding. She knows that I am fully supportive of her and will help her in any way I can. She can call me at any time, day or night, to come and help her. I told her that she can have some of my milk for her baby if needs be.

And I've just moved but I went to a few ABA meetings before moving, and am planning on joining up down here in my new home-town. I really want to do the counselling course, and ultimately I'd really like to be an LC. :D

meme
23-10-2006, 14:09
I really want to do the counselling course, and ultimately I'd really like to be an LC.

what a fabulous goal to have. i too would like to one day look at training to be an LC and have a professional side to my passion!:thumbsup:

MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
23-10-2006, 16:18
I to try to normalise bfing by feeding and and everywhere - bf in a posh DOubleBay cafe the other day with a group of old friends from school who have never even been around someone their age who has a baby (I'm 25) or bfed. One was telling me that formula has something bmilk doesn't - vitamin D - I pointed out to her that 10-15mins of sunlight a day will make up for this, but how to make up for the hundreds of things bm has that formula doesn't? She also suggested that formula should be free (no idea why???) and I said that formula is only there as a substitute for those who for one reason or another are unable to bfeed so their babies won't starve (much as you would give insulin to a diabetic if their body can't produce any, if that makes sense), otherwise bm is the best and natural alternative. It got her thinking, especially when I told her I'm an aba member and planning to feed for the recommended 2 yrs. I'm known as being very boring/normal so to heasr this from me showed her it's not that extreme to do extended nursing. (although I think it shouldn't really be called "extended" till after they are 2, as this is meant to be the norm)

So..basically I advocate bfing by being vocal about why I bf

Funkychicken
23-10-2006, 19:16
I was coming in here to tell you all how great it was to see so many BF mum's at the expo here in Melbourne-it had me smiling one of those dreamy smiles most of the day! Then I have just read your two posts (The Queen and Meme) and thought I'd add that I spoke with the ABA at the expo about this very thing. I, too, would love to train as a LC. I think the LC who helped me so much when my DS#1 was born has been my inspiration on this subject for so long and having been a part of Bub Hub for a year now I amazed by how many people struggle with BF. If I could be in a position to physically help these mum's and bubs along with their breastfeeding then I would feel like I was contributing in a much bigger way.:thumbsup:

FinnsMama
27-10-2006, 20:01
i too would like to one day look at training to be an LC and have a professional side to my passion!:thumbsup:

Yeah, me too!

27-10-2006, 20:33
Oh, Sal and Queenie, you guys would make wonderful LC's!! Queen, your sister has probably had her baby by now- congrats on becoming an aunty!! I know you'll be a wonderful support to her in those early days when many of us grapple with bf.

I just wanted to say that the longer I breastfeed, the more excited about it I get. And I'm pretty excited now, and it's only been 5 1/2 months! I've got a long way to go yet, but I love the journey that is breastfeeding, I love the closeness, the bond, the beautiful moments... I'm starting to get violently angry when I see stupid Karicare bears in magazines and weepy when I see a baby being fed in the park. I think that makes me passionate about breastfeeding!

I'm getting my girl one of those fab t-shirts! :D :yes: