View Full Version : please mum can i have some more?!
jembelina
21-09-2005, 10:17
I know, I know, they are all different... but it always makes me feel better to know what other bubs are doing! Just curious about how much solids other bubs are eating? DS is 7 months old and started solids about 2 months ago. At the moment he will eat - baby porridge with 3/4 - whole piece of fruit mixed through; another whole piece of fruit + couple of heaped teaspoons yoghurt; mixed vegies - full bowl/few tablespoons (I've never actually measured it, but quite a lot!). This is in addition to 4-5 breastfeeds. The last couple of days he has seemed hungrier and I'm not sure wether to give him more at each meal or introduce morn/arvo tea?? Also, not sure what to give for morn/arvo tea?... What are others doing?? Also, does anyone know about making custard for bub? Do I just make it the same, maybe with a bit less sugar?
Hey :)
My bub is 7mths tomorrow and has 3 solid meals a day - 3 tblsp each
brekky - rice cereal mixed with pureed banana and pears
lunch - pureed avocado and apple
dinner - pureed mixed vegies
He also has 4 breastfeeds a day, at 6,10,2 and 6.
My bub is a bit of a guts too, eats everything I give him. But I am sitting with the 3tblsp for now and when I introduce some meat next month he will have a bit more to eat then!
I'm not worried about morning or afternoon tea yet, I find he's not really awake enough to fit in all the breast feeds, solids feeds, playing etc etc! I guess when I do it might be yoghurt, cheese, finger food type things.
I have a recipe for custard:
2/3 cup milk
pinch cinnamon
1 egg yolk
2 teaspoons white sugar
1 teaspoon cornflour
Bring milk and cinnamon to boil in saucepan, remove from heat.
Whisk yolk, sugar and cornflour in small bowl til combined.
Pour milk mixture over yolk mixture and whisk continuously until combined.
Return mixture to saucepan, stir over low heat until boils and thickens.
Remov from heat, cover surface of custard with plastic wrap. Cool to room temperature.
This recipe makes 3/4 cup total cooking time approx 15 minutes
(this came from Womens Weekly Babies and Toddlers cookbook!)
Max is now 8 months and is having
breakfast - 3 cubes + 1 teaspoon farax (& water)
lunch - 3 cubes + 1 teaspoon farax (& water)
dinner - 3 cubes + 1 teaspoon farax (& water)
I make the cubes (in the ice cube trays) from a mixture of cooked fruit and vegies. Todays were apple/pear/banana and beetroot/couscous/avocado/pumpkin cubes.
Dh nearly has a fit when I get the vegie ones out! I think the beetroot colour is scaring him. Ds loves it though.
If he still seems hungry I will feed him yoghurt - I make plain unsweetened and add fresh banana or kiwi. (Ds LOVES kiwi fruit)
He is also on 4 bottles per day, sometimes 5.
All of this is flexible depending on his hunger, our schedule, the weather and anything else. :rolleyes:
Thanks Nicole! Just made the custard- yummo! Think I'll buy the book