View Full Version : Bubs Ear Infection-need Advice!!

AimeeB
23-09-2006, 20:41
:thumbsdown: HI GUYS I NEED SOME ADVICE.AVALON,11 MONTHS HAS A RECURRING EAR INFECTION IN HER RIGHT EAR.SHE IS ON HER 5TH LOT OF ANTIBIOTICS COS EVERYTIME THEY FINISH A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER SHE GETS A REALLY HIGH TEMP(HAD HER AT CASUALTY 2 WEEKS AGO,IT WAS 41.5,VERY SCARY!!)SHE IS BOOKED IN TO SPECIALIST BUT ONLY 2 IN OUR AREA(WOLLONGONG)AND 1 IS ON HOLS,THE OTHER I CAN ONLY GET IN END OF OCTOBER.POOR THING SHE IS SO UNHAPPY AND HAS GONE FROM BEING THE BEST BABY(I HAVE 3)TO BEING GRUMPY AND SAD ALL THE TIME.BEEN TO 4 DIFFERENT DOCS AND FINALLY BROKE DOWN AT LAST ONE AS I JUST FEEL SO SORRY FOR HER.THIS DOC WAS GREAT BUT SAYS THE TEMPS ARE FROM THE INFECTION IN THE EAR AND SHE WILL PROB BE ON ANTIBIOTICS TILL I CAN SEE SPECIALIST.SHE SAID SHE THINKS SHE WILL NEED A GROMMET IN IT AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF ANY OTHER MUMS HAVE BEEN THROUGH THIS WITH THEIR BUB'S AS I FEEL LIKE I CAN'T DO ANYTHING TO HELP HER:crying: I JUST WANT MY HAPPY,BOUNCY BABY GIRL BACK:p (SHE IS THAT SAD EVEN MY 4 YEAR OLD SON ASKED ME THE OTHER DAY "WHY DOESN'T AVALON LIKE US ANYMORE MUMMY?")SORRY FOR BABBLING BUT NEED TO TALK ABOUT IT-HUBBY JUST SAYS SHE'LL BE RIGHT!

*Chels*
23-09-2006, 20:43
Heya
I dont have any advice sorry,but I know how u feel.
My 11 month old has an ear infection and is on his 3rd lot of antibiotics!!
He too has been sooooo grumpy.All he wants is for me to cuddle him!
Im worried about him having to have grommets too.
I hope your bub gets better soon:hugs:

AimeeB
23-09-2006, 20:49
THANKS I HOPE YOUR LITTLE ONE IS FEELING BETTER SOON TO.THEY ARE SO CLINGY AREN'T THEY.AVVY EITHER JUST WANTS TO LAY WITH HER HEAD ON MY LAP OR BE CARRIED AROUND.HARD WHEN YOU HAVE TO OTHER KIDS!I JUST KEEP TELLING MYSELF THIS TIME SHE WILL GET BETTER:o

AimeeB
23-09-2006, 20:50
Thanks I Hope Your Little One Is Feeling Better Soon To.they Are So Clingy Aren't They.avvy Either Just Wants To Lay With Her Head On My Lap Or Be Carried Around.hard When You Have 2 Other Kids!i Just Keep Telling Myself This Time She Will Get Better:)

DQ
23-09-2006, 20:51
My youngest was hospitalised a few months ago for a bad ear infection. His left ear drum actually ruptured. Having said that though, if your DD keeps getting infections, chances are her ear drums are slightly narrower than normal (like my DS). If this is the case, it will most likely keep happening until the grommets are put in.

My DS will be getting grommets too, but not until he is a little older. We have to do the antibiotic thing constantly as well.

My doc said (although it sounds horrible) it is actually better for the ear drum to rupture because then it drains all the gunk out.

It is terrible when you feel so helpless for them though. The best you can do is keep up with the antibiotics and panadol until you get an answer from the specialist!

Good luck :fingerscrossed:

angcaltam
23-09-2006, 20:58
Hey there,

My DS2 has had ear infection after ear infection. He had them all the time until he was about 2 1/2 years old, and all they done was kept putting him on antibiotics, plus kept sending him for hearing tests cause it was effecting his hearing. He had been really good up until last week when what do you know, another ear infection along with a throat infection.:banghead: :banghead:

But at least this time he could tell us what was hurting.:yes:

I hope she gets better really soon.:fingerscrossed:

AimeeB
23-09-2006, 21:03
:wave: Thanks guys I feel better already knowing we aren't the only ones!I knew we weren't but until your child goes through this people don't realise how stressful it can be!The doc said her eartube was narrowing so hopefully specialist will agree to grommets(not sure cos of age but she will have turned 1 by the time we see him so:fingerscrossed:

angelickaren
24-09-2006, 09:25
hi ladies i have to say my 11 yr has had 8 sets of gromments he had his first set at 11 mts old due to being on anitbotics(sp) since 4 weeks old on and off and he has had T tubes as well which are surpose to say in for 3 yrs but when he put in a ear putty one came. my sons ear drum has ruptured many times and yes they always said to me it need to do that as it had to get fluid out and also it was to do with the scar tissue as well so yeah its not fun at all i hope your little one gets better soon :hugs:

skyejax
24-09-2006, 12:11
:thumbsdown: HI GUYS I NEED SOME ADVICE.AVALON,11 MONTHS HAS A RECURRING EAR INFECTION IN HER RIGHT EAR.SHE IS ON HER 5TH LOT OF ANTIBIOTICS COS EVERYTIME THEY FINISH A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER SHE GETS A REALLY HIGH TEMP(HAD HER AT CASUALTY 2 WEEKS AGO,IT WAS 41.5,VERY SCARY!!)SHE IS BOOKED IN TO SPECIALIST BUT ONLY 2 IN OUR AREA(WOLLONGONG)AND 1 IS ON HOLS,THE OTHER I CAN ONLY GET IN END OF OCTOBER.POOR THING SHE IS SO UNHAPPY AND HAS GONE FROM BEING THE BEST BABY(I HAVE 3)TO BEING GRUMPY AND SAD ALL THE TIME.BEEN TO 4 DIFFERENT DOCS AND FINALLY BROKE DOWN AT LAST ONE AS I JUST FEEL SO SORRY FOR HER.THIS DOC WAS GREAT BUT SAYS THE TEMPS ARE FROM THE INFECTION IN THE EAR AND SHE WILL PROB BE ON ANTIBIOTICS TILL I CAN SEE SPECIALIST.SHE SAID SHE THINKS SHE WILL NEED A GROMMET IN IT AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF ANY OTHER MUMS HAVE BEEN THROUGH THIS WITH THEIR BUB'S AS I FEEL LIKE I CAN'T DO ANYTHING TO HELP HER:crying: I JUST WANT MY HAPPY,BOUNCY BABY GIRL BACK:p (SHE IS THAT SAD EVEN MY 4 YEAR OLD SON ASKED ME THE OTHER DAY "WHY DOESN'T AVALON LIKE US ANYMORE MUMMY?")SORRY FOR BABBLING BUT NEED TO TALK ABOUT IT-HUBBY JUST SAYS SHE'LL BE RIGHT!
dd was the same from around 6mths. i had to keep getting her hearing tested every 3-6mths also cause it took 12wks to get in to c specialist and then another 12 mths on wait list for op. (i dont hav private health insurance) all i can say is hang in there till something is done, u will b suprisedhow quick the child u once new comes back. dd was almost 2 when she finally got grommits and was only speaking single words, behaviour was shocking and she wasn't sleeping. within a week of op she was sleeping better and behaviour was alot better. within a mth she was speaking more words and saying sentances.
good luck i hope a solution to bubs problem comes around quick.
mary

jessgray
24-09-2006, 16:10
my ds has a ear infection in his left ear. he has antibiotics and i am a bit worried about a side effect: it says it can make your skin sensitive to sunlight.:confused: i dont know if it means burns easily or what there isnt much info on the info sheet about it lol
he is having trouble sleeping and has a fever so i am waiting for him to wake up so we can go get more panadol :(
he has been asleep for nearly 3 hours first nap for today :)
he is already on the waiting list too see the ENT clinci for grommets in his left ear.

AimeeB
24-09-2006, 18:16
:wave: I found Avvy slept heaps to when she had the temp but the doctor said that it was because the temperature makes them lethargic.I guess she wasn't really getting a good sleep in at night(rolling around etc) so I figured let her sleep in the day to catch up-routine all out anyway!Back to docs tommorrow to see if needs antibiotics longer.thanks for all your great messages,I feel heaps better!and she seems to be ok on the antibiotics so....we don't have private health insurance either but my girlfriend just paid to have her son's done and once they got the gap back they were only out of pocket about $300.00 as it's only a short day procedure and what you usually are paying for is the stay in hospital(I hope this is true!!).If it is it's well worth the money I think to get it done faster-some things just can't wait. I am also finding that putting a couple of pillows under the top of the mattress to elevate it a bit has helped to-not sure why??

AimeeB
27-10-2006, 23:42
Hi just an update on Avalon!We finally saw the specialist yesterday and he tested her hearing the left is perfect(the prob was never in that ear)BUT she has no hearing at ALL in the right due to the infections.She has to take an antibacterial medication for 4 weeks and then go back in 8 weeks if nothing has changed he will try grommets but said he hopes there is no permanent damage:crying: She seems to be ok and at least she is coping with it now,she hasn't had any high temps for about 3 weeks now:yelclap: which means the actual acute infection has cleared,just not the chronic prob.Anyway he said her speech and development might be somewhat delayed and also walking might be a prob due to balance but guess what-she walked by herself about 4 hours after we left the surgery and has walked around all day today:smiliedance: so I have no doubts she'll be ok,just have to wait and :fingerscrossed: for a good outcome!

mama
12-11-2006, 23:42
My son kept getting tonsilitis, then went from happy boy to a child possessed. I was losing my mind, as I didn't know what was wrong. At my demands saw ear specialist, he told me my son had glue ear and my options were antibiotics or grommets. Naturally I opted for antibiotics first, researched entire internet on grommets and ear infections:ecomcity: . I found some people use demazin or sudafed or take them off dairy. Antibiotics were great until the minute he'd finnish the course, then he'd be in pain again. Because the tubes in the ears are so small in children, they easily get blocked. The mucas from milk can help aggrivate/cause the problem. Many doctors won't tell you about this as it's unproven. My son can eat cheese and youghurt, but no longer has milk drinks or has it on his cereal. I have replaced this with soy milk. My lovely english teacher swore this worked for her daughter, while her other two had grommets. Grommets were a last resort, I needed to know I had tried evrything. In appx 4wks I saw a massive improvement in his speech, behaviour and interaction with other children. Hearing tests showed his hearing went back to normal although it wasn't too bad prior but was affected. You have nothing to lose, soy is high in calcium and if it doesn't work get the grommets. It was the best decision I made:smiliedance:. GOOD LUCK and would luv to hear how it all turns out.

AimeeB
13-11-2006, 18:06
:wave: Thanks mama.Avalon only has soy as my other kids suffered eczema so as soon as I sytopped BF I put her on only soy products,she wil have a piece of cheese etc but not milk to drink or anything.Soy helps with heaps of things!She has been really good since I started an antibacterial medication that I have to give her for 4 weeks straight.(antibiotics didn't work for us either:no: )I found last week there was a lot of muck coming out her ears and nose so hopefully this has been clearing it out.She has learnt to walk:yelclap: which is great as they said it would affect her balance etc and she might take longer,but no she's off and away!I was told though by my specialist that the demazin helps with the initial prob but can actually lead to glue ear as it dries verything in the ear canal and it goes hard?not sure as I only used it once.Thanks for the advice but she is doing really well and hopefully won't need any surgery!