View Full Version : Who works while pg?
wannabemum
23-09-2006, 13:23
Hi ladies :wave: ,
I am ttc this coming month :fingerscrossed: ! I want (and lets be honest will need to) work during my pregnancy. I would love to know how women get on working whilst pg, with or without morning sickness? Have any of you had to quit because of m/s?
My mum and nanna both had bad doses of m/s when they were pg, so I am scared I will follow suit and therefore not be able to work, putting alot of pressure on my dp to support us..... :thumbsdown:
Any advice would be lovely? :thumbsup:
hi Holly, I didn't have any m/s, just extreme tiredness (almost to the point of dropping off at my desk!!) during the first trimester and last few weeks at work. I had to leave work early a couple of times early on because of this. I worked up to two weeks before bub was due and it was fine. I finished work 2 days earlier than planned because I just could not take any more stress and couldn't concentrate. I had a very busy contracts/legal job so needed to be focused and I was, but not right at the end when I knew I was close to finishing work. I also hadto make very detailed notes and spent the last 3 months of my job handing over to a new person which was hard in itself apart from trying to do my job.
My MIL had extreme m/s with both sons and had to finish work because of it. My mum wasn't working but I think she was mainly fine (she craved chiko rolls - yuk!)
Just take it as it comes, it's a time to be enjoyed not stressed or worried about money. You might be very different to your mum and nanna, my :fingerscrossed: for you!!
I find ginger to be very useful for any nausea/tummy upset so you can try ginger in all its forms if you do end up with m/s.
Well I'm stilll TTC too but my best friend swears by....
Dry biscuits by the bed (so she can eat before she gets up)
Anti nausea wrist bands (they activate a acupucture point in your wrist, people use them for sea sickness)
Best of luck with your TTC :)
23-09-2006, 14:52
Anti nausea wrist bands (they activate a acupucture point in your wrist, people use them for sea sickness)
I swear by these bands. I have used them both pregnancies. The first pg I had all day nausea (no throwing up) this time I would feel fine then all of a sudden :barf: :barf: and the bands really helped both times take the edge off of the icky feeling.;)
wannabemum
23-09-2006, 14:58
Thanks ladies for your advice! Those bands sound like a good idea :thumbsup: , can these just be bought at a chemist?
Yes I am a big fan of the ginger, I work with a pg girl (she had 1 day of m/s and that was it, bi*** :laughing: ), and so we have been having juices with heaps of ginger most days for her sake (so she will drink them)!
You can get them at luggage shops like where the travel stuff is or on ebay :)
westerner
23-09-2006, 19:05
i worked as a chef for the first half of my preg and then managing a restaurant and finished work 2 weeks before i gave birth...
i had m/s and felt nausous every day till about twelvish and only actually through up every 3-4 days before work... ginger beer and as someone else said eating some water crackers before i got out of bed really helped...
i was working around every food imaginable( which wasnt always the best but i coped ) and doing 12-14 hour days... and i still managed to continue work..
good luck to you...
I only had a low grade nausea all the time, but it didn't stop me working. I was OK as long as I didn't let myself get too hungry, or force myself to eat too much.
I knew some women with more probs than me, but they were still able to work (even if they couldn't keep the pg a secret because they'd have to throw up at work :D).
It's great that you are getting some info, but try not to worry about it until you KNOW that it's a problem.
I am currently working while pregnant and have worked through each of my two previous pregnancies, including a 6 week work trip overseas during my first pregnancy. I don't sufffer bad morning sickness but have worked with colleagues who have - and they have held down their jobs etc. I think you need to wait and see how it affects you and see how you cope - sometimes it is just a case of making sure that you have a bag of healthy snacks to keep you going, other times you need a place for a lunchtime nap (under a desk is always a classy option:laughing: )
Good luck TTC
Mamaduke
23-09-2006, 21:16
I had ridiculously unpleasant m/s whilst I was pregnant with both the boys but with Jesse I kept working. I tried everything and the wrist bands did absolutely nothing for me - I was so angry & disappointed I tried to get a refund from the chemist because they didn't do what they were supposed to do...no prizes for guessing I got zero refund!!
Anyway, my best cure for morning sickness was not to fight it...after trying the dry biscuits etc I resorted to getting up, heading straight to the toilet and getting it over and done with - otherwise I was feeling sick all day and eating before I got up, wristbands, concoctions were all just delaying the inevitable.
I threw up every day from February 13th to September 9th...Jesse was born on the 11th September!
ourfirstbubba
23-09-2006, 21:32
I had really bad m/s which lasted until I was about 14 weeks pg...working as a primary school teacher didnt help, especially when kindies vomit or have pooed their pants....but I got through it and worked until I was about 34 weeks pregnant.....I could not have imagined being home the whole time, I would have gone mad.....but have so loved being at home these last few weeks!
I got through by taking ginger tablets, drinking dry ginger ale and lots of dry biscuits....hopefully you will be fine and you wont get m/s
I have had shocking all day sickness this pregnancy and am still working. From weeks 5-16 I was being sick around 8 times a day, then dropped to 5 times a day, once a day and at nearly 29 weeks I am only sick once a week YIPEE :)
Working was really tough in the begining and I didn't find a thing to help, not even the anti-nausea drugs the Dr gave me, but I stuggled through because I had to. Most days I just got home from work and went straight to bed. The thing I found toughest was trying to hide it from my work collegues, in the end I told them before the 12 week mark and I did find that not having to make excuses to leave early when it was quiet or why I wasn't up for a lunch out relieved some pressure.
:fingerscrossed: you don't have to worry about all this.
Mamaduke
23-09-2006, 22:01
Another thing I forgot to mention...the different smells of food wafting through the workplace at lunchtime from the kitchen...:barf:
My trigger was bread toasting - couldn't stand the smell of it and I'd head to the toilets as soon as someone started the toaster...couldn't walk into a Subway either but that's another story!
Reidymac
23-09-2006, 22:07
Like some of the other ladies I had all day M/S for the full duration of both my pregnancies. It was exhausting but I worked up until the month before their births (and then fell in a heap). You just do what you can to get buy and rest in the evening and on weekends.
I was on sickness medication and using ginger, sea sickness wrist bands etc, still throwing up every hour, had a handbag/backpack with a bucket in it for ease of vomiting on busses, trains, while walking and at work. I also had zip lock bags in every pocket and was forever scoping each room I went into so that I knew where the rubbish bins, sinks, exits were (in case of vomiting emergency).:laughing: After all of this I still managed to keep my 2nd pregnancy a secret till the 4.5 month mark:laughing:. I can't wait to do it all again!!
Good luck!! hope it all goes well for you.
I worked up till 38 weeks whilst pregnant with DD. I had m/s most of the pregnancy, had a few weeks where i felt normal. I also had 3 hours of travelling each day to and from work which didn't help the nausea.
My DP would make me fresh juices with ginger each morning or i bought on the way to work if he didn't, and the other thing that helped a little bit was eating my brekky very slowly. If i scoffed it down i would no doubt :barf: it all up.
Hi Holly!
I thought the exact same things as you before I fell pregnant! You hear all these terrible stories about morning sickness and tiredness that it's no wonder we worry! I didn't know how I'd cope with work as we aren't in a financial position where I can stop work just yet.
I agree with xkwzit that you shouldn't worry until it becomes a problem because as it turns out i haven't had a single sign of morning sickness with only mild tiredness and I'm 10 weeks. :fingerscrossed: it stays that way.
All the best in the coming month:p
wannabemum
24-09-2006, 16:50
Thanks so much girls for all your advice, I know i need to stop worrying. its just I am afraid I am going to have morning sickness all the way through like me mum and nanna had and therefore will have to quit work and leave dp to work ALOT to pay our loan.....
Anyways I wont know until I happens, and either way I cant wait to have a bubba so will have to risk it, thanks once again xxxxx
SamanthaJane
24-09-2006, 17:06
I had a bit of morning sickness... i didn't spew, but i felt sick in the tummy IYKWIM?
I worked in a gift shop... and we had a HEAP of soaps come in for mother's day... and i had to stack them on the shelves... OMG i felt like i was going to chuck... it was so gross... the different smells of them... so horrid :barf:
I also had to constantly have something with me (i opted for tiny teddies...) to munch on, because it made my tummy feel more settled...
My sister used the pregnancy and breastfeeding blackmores tablets, and they stopped her morning sickness :thumbsup:
CJandMum
24-09-2006, 17:55
I am working as a full time RN while pregnant. While my m/s is now a distant memory but I found it quite difficult in the beginning. My m/s ended at nearly 16 weeks and was a gradual decrease in nausea and vomiting. I would have good mornings and terrible evenings. The more tired I got, the worse I felt. My co-workers all understood if I had to lay down for a few minutes or disappear into the bathroom for a while. It makes it much more easier when everyone is in the know about your pregnancy. To help ease the sickness, the only thing that worked for me was ice blocks or vitamin B6 tablets. Didn't take away the nausea but helped me to at least eat a small dinner. Good luck ttc :wave:
Hi wannabemum, I had awful m/s. It all started right on 6 weeks and I :barf: almost all day every day until about 16 weeks and then I just felt terribly nauseous until about 24 weeks :thumbsdown: . Then I had about 6 weeks of feeling wonderful and then it all returned again for the last trimester - not fun! Anyway, I took sick leave for about 3 months and my work was wonderful about it. I think you'll find that your work will probably be very understanding as long as you're honest from the start. Best of luck TTC and enjoy!!
bella'sbub
25-09-2006, 08:07
i worked as a chef for the first half of my preg
good luck to you...
Me too!~ I had two jobs cooking and had to leave one where I made cakes and desserts becuase of morning sickness. I'm sure you will be fine just tell yourself that you will not get much morning sickness and if it does happen don't try to pretend that you don't fell like a good:barf:
jade21887
25-09-2006, 19:16
I had to cut back severely when I was pregnant with my first. I went on unpaid leave when I was about 6 weeks pregnant and came back for a day here and there after I was about 30 weeks. I had fairly severe morning sickness, but just remember that it can happen to anyone, so just be prepared, just in case you have to stop.
yep, i had some bad morning sickness, i think you need to learn to manage it yourself, coz everyone is different. people were telling me so many different things, and nothing worked, so i did my own thing.
As soon as hubby got up early morning, he'd make me some toast and a cup of tea, and come wake me up to eat it at 6am. that way.. befor my body could even think about feeling sick, i already had some goodness in me, and slowly got a lil more energy every day. the sickness wore off by 3 months, but ITS AWFUL being sick for that first 2 months.
and the work thing... im still working P/T, on my feet all arvo, and im 37 weeks. i think the longer you keep active, the better you recover. Just do the hours you feel that you can.
but all i can say is THANK GOD I FINISH WORK NEXT WEEK!! :yelclap:
goodluck
miksandjacksmum
30-09-2006, 08:13
I had severe morning sickness with my first, but still managed to work up until the day before I was due (wasn't planned) I was three weeks early.
In the beginning when I couldn't keep anything down I had two weeks off work (was hospitalised) but was then put on medication that controlled the vomitting. I have an office job and found I managed to work from about 9 to 3 okay. Anything longer than this made me too tired, and sicker. I was in bed by 7pm every night, but it suited me cause sleeping was my only relief from the constant nausea.
If I was to do it again, I would cut back to working three days (mon, wed, fri). It is so good when you are at work knowing you have the next day off.
Hope this helps. Good luck.