View Full Version : Expectant mums in Wollongong
GraceUnhearing
22-09-2006, 20:05
hi guys
just wondering if there are any expetant mums in wollongong?
im due to have my first baby in december and would love to chat to any others.
Kellie
:wave: Hi i'm in Shellharbour but not far from Wollongong!I've been looking for mums in my area too.I am due with #4 in March 2007.:thumbsup:
shellymumof2
26-09-2006, 14:13
hello girls
My name is michelle and I am expecting number 3 in May 2007.
I already have 2 boys aged 5 and nearly 3.
Welcome to Bubhub.
Hope to talk some more. Sorry kellie but I am a little confused as to your due date???
Sorry almost forgot to mention I am from Albion Park Rail.
Have a good day girls
Hi Kellie, Welcome to Bubhub!
Im not expecting, but I am from Wollongong as well, so I thought I would pop in and say hi!.
Between us DH and I have 4 children (his, hers and ours, lol) looking forward to seeing you around here more!
illawarramumof2boys
26-09-2006, 20:52
hi everyone:wave:
and congrats on your pregnancies. just letting you know i'm a gong girl too but not an expecting one. 2 are enough for me lol.:yes:
just want to give a special personal congrats to you michelle.:hugs: hope to talk to you all soon and best of luck kylie
Hi Kellie:wave:
Just wondering if you see a private doctor or going through Wollongong hospital?I am doing the midwifery group practice which is great but not sure if they do it with 1st time mum's.It's so easy as I can drive to Shellharbour hospital for clinic and don't have to find parking in Wollongong:banghead: I had the same midwife with last bub and it's great as you have the same one from beginning till your at home aftercare!They also deliver the bub's.Chat soon:) Aimee
GraceUnhearing
01-10-2006, 15:50
there are a few from wollongong area here :)
opps i meant im due in december
stupid pregnant brain hehehe
im doing everything through wollongong hospital.
AimeeB: i know what you mean about finding a park i was late last time i had to go there cause i drove around for 1/2 trying to find a dam car park!
they offered a midwife program but then said it was booked out until the end of decemeber so it was kinda pointless :( how old are you other kids?
shellymumof2 i work in shellarbour , im in Dapto so not to far.
indigoin0z
01-10-2006, 15:56
hello gals,
im not in wollongong,
but i used to be & had both my sons there...
& i agree the parking sucked, always had to put my instinctual radar on high-alert....;)
Hi all, :wave:
I am not expecting but would like to chat with local mums. AimeeB, that really sux that you couldn't get into the midwife program. I had my dd with them and I can't say enough good things about it. I am still in contact with my midwives and they are like family now! Perhaps it's full because it is so popular, which is good, but then they need to expand it, especially since they won't let them start a separate one at Shellharbour. :confused:
I've just signed up tonight. I was actually searching the web for Mothers groups in the area but this is even better. My baby is due Australia Day (26th of Jan), I live in Wollongong and am keen to swap stories and pick your brains for helpful information (this is my 1st baby). Does anyone know if there is a local Australian Breastfeeding Association Group??
Chat soon,
:wave: Hi again everyone!Sorry freyasmama i did get into the midwife program I've had all the kids with them but this is the second with the group practice.I love them all and my mum is a midwife and used to work at Wollongong so I know them all and they're all lovely and it's soooo convenient.They also have a morning tea in the study room for mums who've had their bubs so they can ctach up.It's in the clinic at Wollongong Hosp.
My_Fallen_Angel:My kids are Zane 4 (5 in December),Airlie turned 3 -2 weeks ago and Avalon will be 1(already)next week.Bub #4due on 22/03/07 but had my check up yesterday and measuring a week in front.This could be good or just mean there's another big baby in there.Zane weighed nearly 11lbs(5 kgs) so hopefully it will be smaller like the girls were,both 8lb 120z(4kgs) and just be a week ahead(wishful thinking!!):laughing:
GraceUnhearing
04-10-2006, 21:59
hi freyasmum it was me that couldnt get into the midwife program.
they really do need to expand it.
wow AimeeB he was a big boy.
my aunty had a baby girl today and shes just over 9 pound!
i only want a little one thanks
hehe
i had my check up last week and bubs right on track, not bigger or smaller than last time whihc is good.
welcome HonEB everyone is great here on bubhub and are always willing to help
shellymumof2
05-10-2006, 13:46
last few days for me have been very draining. I have been feeling very nauseous and very tired. Hard to get too much rest with a 5 year old and a nearly 3 year old at home.
Fallenangel- I work in shellharbour too. Well at the square actually. We have probably bumped into each other sometime I am sure.
Aimee- My babies were pretty big too- Eldest was 9lb 07oz and youngest was 8lb 05 oz. Both were c-section.
I am going through an OB (Dr Davis) as this baby will be a planned c/s due to my history.
Welcome to HonEB and freyasmum.
Have a good day girls and hope you are all well.
michelle
Hey Aimee B, my mum is a midwife at Wollongong Hospital as well! :yes: Small world :)
How long ago did she leave there? My godmother is a midwife there too, and I would probably know your mum, and you probably know mine!
Welcome to bubhub HoneyEB, you will love it here, are you in Wollongong itself? Or further north or south? :)
Sorry AimeeB, my bad and I can't even claim preggie brain!
Welcome HonEB, I signed up not long ago myself and I think you are gonna love it. The Australian Breastfeeding Association are fantastic and have been a great help to me. They have breastfeeding education classes as well as regular meetings that you can go to before your bub comes. I received membership as a gift before my DD was born and it was one of the best gifts we got! I got this off their website: http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au (http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/)
Wollongong Our classes are held on the first Saturday in February, May, September, and November in Wollongong.
They run from 1 until 4:30pm, and are information-packed with everything the soon-to-be parents need to know to successfully breastfeed their baby.
For more details or to receive an application form please contact Sharon (shaznwaz@bigpond.net.au) or phone 4236 1042.
Hope you find that useful. :)
Hi all this is my first time on here.
I am also from wollongong and my first baby is now 11 weeks old. Good to see so many people on here from wollongong. Chat to you soon:smiliedance:
my2girls
22-10-2006, 19:25
hi guys i have been out of the loop for a while so many new people i am not sure where all of the old ones have gone congrats michelle:yelclap: i hope all is well anyway my name is amanda i have two beautiful girls and love nothing more than a good chat so i look forward to chatting with everybody soon:wave:
Hi guys..
Where is everyone no talked in here for ages...
I would ove to meet up with so new mums in wollongong i have a 3month old and don't know many other mums around here..
Hope to talk to you soon
Hey Aimee B, my mum is a midwife at Wollongong Hospital as well! :yes: Small world :)
How long ago did she leave there? My godmother is a midwife there too, and I would probably know your mum, and you probably know mine
Hey coops,sorry only just saw your post,mum left there about 12 months ago,now she works for CHAIN (a community group for young mum's/kids that need help etc)she does the classes and clinic there so she still goes to the Hospital for work she's just not delivering at the moment,I prob know your mum and godmother!PM their names if you like but I've had all my 3 and soon to be 4 there so know most of them!:)
anna's mum
31-10-2006, 12:07
Hi guys!
I am in Wollongong & have a 4yo & ttc #2. I will definitely be joining the midwife program as I had a shocking first birth at Wollongong Hospital. I heard that you should call them as soon as you find out you are pregnant so they can pencil you in on the list :thumbsup:
Good luck Aimee :)
newmum2jellybean
14-01-2007, 12:05
I am a wollongong local and due with baby #1 at end of August 07. Have been reading through the forums today to find out recommendations for obs, hospitals etc in the local area. As the first among my friends to be pregnant, up to date recommenations are few and far between. Few problems with private health insurance as it seems we miss completing the 12 month waiting period for obstetrics to be covered by a week and so looks like won't be able to give birth at figtree as hoped as costs won't be covered (bugger). So now need advice re: wollongong hospital. What is the midwife program mentioned elsewhere on this thread? i haven't heard about that before so any details would be great. I'm also looking at doulas - has anyone had or heard stories about these? the feedback i have read has been pretty positive but i cannot find anyone in Illawarra who is a doula. Details on options re: private ob delivering at public hospital would also be a help. As you can see i'm feeling a little overwhelmed and out of my depth with all of this at the moment so I'm glad to have stumbled upon this thread and to be talking with all of you - any guidance would be most appreciated.
Renae
Hi Renae, welcome :) I am going to send you a private message with some information, k? :)
newmum2jellybean
14-01-2007, 12:14
that would be great. Thanks heaps!
mum2peanut
14-01-2007, 21:28
I didn't realize that there were so many Wollongong Mums on here, how exciting! I have a bubby girl, she's nearly 7 months.
My sis went thru the Midwife Prog and loved it. Iwent thru Dr Greening at Figtree, he was fantastic, had a pretty traumatic birth in the end. (he will deliver at W.Gong Hosp)
Looking forward to chatting with you.
newmum2jellybean
15-01-2007, 11:53
Hi again everyone - have had some good news this morning. Apparently my health fund will give me 14 days grace so if bubs comes up to 2 weeks early we will still be covered privately - we are so relieved. My GP has recommended Dr Coleman/Dr Davis or Dr Walton. Dr Coleman/Dr Davis are booked out for August 2007 so that leaves Dr Walton or someone else - anyone have any experience with Dr Walton or have some experience with one of the other local Obs that they can PM me about?
Hope everyone is having a good day.
Talk soon,
Renae
GraceUnhearing
15-01-2007, 22:19
Iwent thru Dr Greening at Figtree, he was fantastic, had a pretty traumatic birth in the end. (he will deliver at W.Gong Hosp)
dr greening ended up delivering my little man as he got stuck and went into distress. and had some complications, and he had to use forceps :(
He was really nice.
that was all at wollongong hospital
mum2peanut
16-01-2007, 09:11
Your brth some similar to mine, Mackenzie got tangled in the umbilical cord and her heart rate dropped, I had to try pushing, then vacuum, then forcepts, then I had an emerg-caesar. :eek: All that work only to be cut open.:no:
He's is nice, got a funny sense of humour too. But when there were no jokes during labour, I knew there were problems.
newmum2jellybean
18-01-2007, 07:19
Thanks for your posts re Obs. It has helped tremendously. Have called Dr Greening but he is out of office until 29 Jan 2007 so will have to wait and find out if he is available. I can't believe how quickly the Obs get booked up!
it still hasn't really sunk in yet that in August we will have a new baby in our life - apart from the quesy feeling most days and the tightish clothes it still seems a little surreal. I think we're at about 8 weeks and 4 days or something - am hanging to have our first ultrasound so that we can hear the heart beat - not sure when that will actually be though. My GP mentioned a NT test at 13 weeks - i'll have to ask him more about that when i see him next. Hope you guys are well, how are all the bub hub babies going this week?
Renae
mum2peanut
18-01-2007, 20:10
Renae- was there no one in the surgery, no receptionist? Maybe keep trying beofre the 29th cause surely the receptionists will come in at some point.
Mackenzie is going great, took her to see Raggs at West today, she smiled and laughed the whole time. She has also learnt to give kisses. Whe you say 'kisses' to her she puts her open mouth on your cheeks, nice and slobbery.
What an exciting time for you, the first ultrasounds just makes it all so real!
GraceUnhearing
20-01-2007, 19:42
Your brth some similar to mine, Mackenzie got tangled in the umbilical cord and her heart rate dropped, I had to try pushing, then vacuum, then forcepts, then I had an emerg-caesar. :eek: All that work only to be cut open.:no:
He's is nice, got a funny sense of humour too. But when there were no jokes during labour, I knew there were problems.
yep Rylan had the cord around his neck very tight, poor little guy.
had a nice sore head for a few weeks as well.
he still has a small mark under his eye from the forceps as it cut him a bit there, but apart from that hes great.
yeah he was joking afterwards (whilst stitching me up) but he was just reassuring me during the delivery.
if i could afford private i think i'd go to him next time (if theres a next time hehe)
mum2peanut
20-01-2007, 20:34
This Wollongong thread is very quiet, we need to get chatting more girlies.
My_fallen_angel- he is lovely, I think it helps that he has a young bub too. Easier to relate to than someone older I think. Poor Rylen gettng cut. Mackenzie was pretty messed up from the forcepts too but within a day all the damage was gone.
Went for a lovely walk along the beach yesterday arvo from Golf Club, to Diggies and back, then went for coffee at the Golf Club, have you guys been there? It's quite nice and the lounges are super comfy after a long hot walk.
shellymumof2
22-01-2007, 06:59
I havent been on here for a while as I have been sooooo busy with everything.
My name is Michelle and I have 2 boys aged 3 and 5 and am expecting number 3 in May. My EDD is May 30 but as I will have a c/s it will be a bit earlier.
I live in Albion Park Rail.
My pregnancy is just flying by so far which is good in one way but I still have so much to buy.
My OB is Dr Davis. He is good and very nice. Had him with my youngest and had a pleasant experience.
I wasnt aware that OBs could get booked out. Glad I got in on time.
OMG the weather is too hot and luckily we have a pool.
Hope everyone is well.
Michelle
mum2peanut
22-01-2007, 07:33
Michelle :wave: I bet you're very glad you have a pool. I've heard Dr Davis is lovely.
Wow three kids by May and you're the same age as me, I'm lagging behind. Are you finding out what you're having? You're due on my birthday!
Hop all you other preg Illawarrians are surviving this heat and hope that you have either pools or AC.
mum2peanut
25-01-2007, 09:07
Don't know if any of you are interested but a Wollongong meet is being organised, go to the Illawarra section and there's a thread about meeting at Zoom.
newmum2jellybean
29-01-2007, 09:48
Hi again everyone!
Well at 10 weeks of pregnancy i have called all Obs in Wollongong including Dr Greening, Dr Davis/Dr Coleman, Dr Walton and Dr McCosker and have been informed that they are all booked for August when i am due and so they won't accept the referral. SO have no idea what the next step is - any one have any ideas?
Renae
mum2peanut
29-01-2007, 14:55
Oh no Renae- that sux. I guess you could try to get into the midwife program that runs out of w.gong hosp. Were the obs able to put you on a waiting list, if not keep ringing, someone might drop out or change their mind about an obs. Goodluck, i don't know what else you could do.
newmum2jellybean
29-01-2007, 17:32
yeah i was a little suprised how early they get booked up. the midwife program sounds good Mia - can you tell me a bit about it? and also do you have contact details by any chance????
How is Mackenzie this week?
Renae
mum2peanut
29-01-2007, 18:31
Renae I will PM you.
Mackenzie is good thanks, she got two teeth on Thursday without too much drama and said mama during her babbling. :yelclap:
If you don't work on a Tues you should come to the Wollongong meet at Zoom next week.
missie_mack
29-01-2007, 21:58
Hi again everyone!
Well at 10 weeks of pregnancy i have called all Obs in Wollongong including Dr Greening, Dr Davis/Dr Coleman, Dr Walton and Dr McCosker and have been informed that they are all booked for August when i am due and so they won't accept the referral. SO have no idea what the next step is - any one have any ideas?
Renae
Yep I found myself in the same boat when I was expecting my son. Its a real pain. If you go through Wollongong Hospital you can see the OB Davis/Coleman as public patients if you request them at 20 or so weeks. My myself I did the shared care thing with my GP. Great in theory but I will never deal with them again.... I think theres a private practice midwife program thats suppose to be pretty good but really hard to get into. It depends on whether you expect any complications and the style of birth you want I guess.
Good luck and congrats on your pregnancy
missie_mack
29-01-2007, 22:06
Oh I forgot to mention. I went private in the public hospital not all they promised really. My health fund paid the gap from public to private in Wollongong. Given my time again I think I wouldve gone to Figtree and paid the difference myself. I ended up in a private room with a toilet that didnt work and I had a emergency c section!! They made me walk up to corridore to use the bathroom!! Its a long story and if you want a mix of experiences feel free to PM me. I had Dr Greening as my OB and he is wonderful. I think Walton picks up his leftovers these days as Dr Walton would be ancient. He was around when my mum was having me!! Mc Cosker specialises in more gyno that ob. I met Dr Coleman when I was going through and he was very nice I liked him.
Def going through Greening next time- everyone involved in my surgery deserves every dollar they earnt.
mum2peanut
29-01-2007, 22:49
missie_mack - that's terrible. Figtree hosp was fantastic, no probs there, as I already mentioned Greening is wonderful, I love that he's all for drugs and pain free births. How old are you? What is the current Dr Walton or his father? That's scary isn't it. McCosker is supposed to be one of the cheaper ones. My DH taught Coleman's kids, and my friend's DH teacher Davis' and Greening's kids. Such a small world.
GraceUnhearing
06-02-2007, 12:04
dr walton delivered me.
i'll be 25 in july hehehe
yeah so he'd be getting on a bit now i think