View Full Version : So I'm the first
Hello to all the mum's from the Hunter Valley!!!
H&B'sMum
09-11-2004, 14:07
Hi Nikk_B,
I'm Karena mother to Harry 7 months. I live in Newcastle. How long have you lived in Singo? Look forward to talking to you more.
I'm mum to Jacelyn.
I've lived In Singo off and on for 22 years this month so most of my life. We moved here from Newcastle when I was 2. I still have family there.
Been in Newcastle long? I like Newcastle to visit. I must be a country girl at heart I couldn't handle the pace when I lived in Newcastle.
H&B'sMum
14-11-2004, 20:52
HI Nikki,
I've lived in Newcastle 8 years now and am still getting use to it. I moved up here from Sydney and sometimes I hate it. Like when I want to go shopping, I'm use to huge big shopping centres and Kotara and Charlestown just ain't bigger enough for me. Anyway I'm making more and more friends up here so that helps. I was very isolated when I first moved up here, but making my own friends, not just my husbands friends, has helped. It's good to talk to someone from this neck of the woods. How are you enjoying the site?????
Talk more later.
I'm absolutely loving the site. If there's something I want to know I just jump on line when Jac's asleep.
How's Harry. How old is he?
I know what you mean about the shopping centres. We have tiny centres her in singo. I get to Newcastle and think this is more like it! then i get to sydney and go oh my goodness. i'm like a kid in a candy shop. i still prefer to do the wander around the rocks and darling harbour. the last time we were there we took my stepson to Powerhouse musuem. he loved it. he lived in sydney for the last few years and he's never gone there. i'm not even sure if he's been to taronga park zoo when he was old enough to remember. that's a must although blackbutt reserve is beautiful. it's gorgeous to have a picnic there and wonder around the new enclosures. I was there a few weeks ago after not going for almost 10 years. the new setup if fantastic. 1 of the cages the birds could actually land on your shoulder or you could almost touch the koalas. I can't wait to take Jac. she loves to watch birds like her dad.
H&B'sMum
23-11-2004, 16:45
Hi Nikki,
Harry is 8 months next Monday. He's doing well, just learning how to crawl at the moment. HE can bring one knee under him but hten has no idea what to do then so he just flops back onto his tummy. He gets really frustrated cause he can't go after the cat or reach toys he wants (after I put them there to encourage him to crawl).
We are having Christmas at Blackbutt Reserve. We thought it would be great place for Harry and my niece to roll around and crawl in, have a BBQ and see the animals. We love Aust animals in the house especially wombats. love 'em, love 'em, love 'em. Harry's room is Aust animals. Have them on his cot, on the wall even a mobile of Aust animals. I didn't want Pooh bear or Disney. I believe it's important for Aust kids to learn about their animals first not jungle or African.
Well that's me off my soap box.......
Hope you are going well and your little one giving you lots of laughs.
Talk to you soon
Hi Harrysmum
I like the idea of having xmas at Blackbutt. My family was supposed to have a bbq there Sunday just gone but someone in their wisdom decided we would go to Hawks Nest. It's a beautiful place but it was decided by people who have never had children and don't know what it's like to transport children. We are lucky because Jacelyn loves being in the car and is so great about travelling long distances but my Uncle and Aunty had a baby girl about a month ago. I remember what that was like.
Anyway, Jacelyn is trying to crawl already. She goes backwards or around in circles, it's very funny to watch. I just think she gets sick of the sight of me all day and is anxious to get away from me (only joking).
She also said her first word on Tuesday. I almost cried when she said mum. She is definitely going to be a chatter box. Unfortunately she has inherited that from both her parents. We are going to be in big trouble once she starts talking properly.
I had to laugh tonight, Jacelyn is a fan of eating whatever we are eating so tonight she ate baked vegies and half a rissole. There wasn't much left of it. She was filthy but loved every minute of chomping of that rissole. Then we were trying to hide our ice cream but that didn't work so we had to share a little bit. Thanks to Grandma she is eating aot of foods she shouldn't be.
I had my first bad week with Jacelyn last week (lucky aren't I). She had gastro so we spent the week cuddled up on the lounge to try and make her feel a little bit more relaxed and not so upset. I didn't think she would ever feel better or that I would never be able to do something without her ever again.
I love being with her but you'll agree you need some mummy time. Besides I don't want her to be te type of child who always has to be with her mother. My little sister was like that and now my mum can't even go the toilet without my sister wanted to go too and she's 18 now.
I'd better get going to bed it's very late. Talk to you soon
H&B'sMum
06-12-2004, 17:06
Hi Nikki,
Well we have just come back from Christmas no 1 in Canberra. It was good for all the family to catch up and for everyone to see the kids and how much they have grown.
I agree we defiantly need "our time". I try to relaxe when Harry goes to bed in the afternoon, even if I have a million things to do, that's why I try to get everything done in the mornings.
I know Hawks Nest a lovely spot hope you had a great time.
Well that's it from me for now. I have a very wiggly Harry on my lap and am typing one handed. Will post more when have the other hand free.
Bye for now.
cleighsa
09-12-2004, 08:21
hi guys
im leighsa and mum to little girl elliot. i live i newcastle too and i love it. used to live in maitland but been in newy bout 2 years, i just love being close to the beach.
cant wait for ist chritmas with my little girl. she is little over 4 months now and just amazing. lots of smiles, gigles, and rolling!!
hope to keep chatin with u guys
leighsa
cleighsa
09-12-2004, 08:22
hi guys
im leighsa and mum to little girl elliot. i live i newcastle too and i love it. used to live in maitland but been in newy bout 2 years, i just love being close to the beach.
cant wait for ist chritmas with my little girl. she is little over 4 months now and just amazing. lots of smiles, giggles, and rolling!!
hope to keep chatin with u guys
leighsa
cleighsa
09-12-2004, 08:23
oops did it twice
cant tell im new to this!!!
H&B'sMum
10-12-2004, 16:13
Hi Leighsa,
Welcome to our discussion. Whereabouts in Newcastle are you? If you don't mind asking. I'm in Warabrook. I'm going Christmas mad too, it has so much more meaning now I have Harry. I always love Christmas but this year I feel it's more special, even my DH is getting into the spirit.
Look forward to chatting with you more.
Hi Harrysmum and cleighsa!
Hawks Nest was fun. I don't think Jacelyn was too sure of the beach though. It was great to see the family. My new baby cousin has so much hair, I couldn't believe it.
I'm on my way to Maitland for the week tomorrow afternoon so I thought I'd better have a look at bubhubs. Christmas shopping and school presentations await. I can't wait, it's been a couple of years now where we have pulled an all night chatathon. I miss those. We are having a mothers meeting on Wednesday at Greenhills. I love that we can go there and get almost anything we need. I hate shopping in Singo. There is nothing here.
Cleighsa where were you in Maitland? I know my way around Maitland and Newcastle fairly well and I know people all over.
2 weeks til Christmas. I am getting so excited. I never thought i'd have kids of my own and now I'm about to celebrate my first christmas as a mum. I can't wait til Mothers Day. I get to be waited on hand and foot instead of the other way around.
Last year for mothers day (4 days off my due date) i cooked a feast for over 20 people to celebrate mothers day. I've never had much money and i know my mum appreciates a day of rest more than any gift. Well, I'd better go. I think my other half is waiting for me to go to bed.
I'll talk to you when I get back.
My grandmother is Warabrook. Nicer than Mayfield where is lived before.
cleighsa
12-12-2004, 07:05
hey
im in redhead, right across from beach. we are renting and now we have bub are looking for a bigger place. i love it here sooooo much but with all her stuff over taking we need a bit more room, so in the new year lookin to move. hopefully we can still find a place close to beach within our price range.
i lived in Lorn, maitland. mum and dad still there so always in the area. i have an aunty in singo but dont get there very often. but i do know what u mean about the shops there. my local is charlestown square now, so thats alot different. but have been avoiding it at the moment - just a madhouse up there!!
talk soon
leighsa
H&B'sMum
15-12-2004, 13:21
Whatever you do girls do not go to Kotara Westfield at the moment. We went there this morning and it is a mad house. I can imagine it will only get worse as Christmas is next Saturday. I don't even want to think what it will be like next Friday ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I spent 6 hours shopping at Greenhills yesterday and it wasn't too bad but I hate shopping. Had a great week though. Redhead is nice I have a friend who comes from there and had a baby girl early in October. WHat a week. I love friends who like to kidnap jac for a few hours. I spent my second night away from Jac last night, I missed her terribly but it was fun to get away and be able to have a couple of drinks. Almost finished my shopping for xmas now. Only a couple to get. Going back to maitland shopping on Saturday, I'm not looking forward to it. I know the closer it gets to xmas the crazier it gets.
did you have santa photos done? i got jac's done yesterday and they are going to be great. she always smiles but she wanted to have a conversation with santa rather than get her photo taken. it was good. all the other mums were patient and so was santa and the photographer. I can't wait to get them back next week.
H&B'sMum
17-12-2004, 15:53
I am now offically finished my Christmas shopping yeah!!!!!!!!!!!
We had our Santa photos taken a few weeks ago and finally we found someone who Harry doesn't like. We managed to get a photo just before he cried and it turned out ok, but not great. I was excepting worst so I was pretty happy with what I got. I have worked out what it is though with Santa. Harry loves faces, he loves poking them, looking at them, studying them but with Santa he can't. When Harry is on Santa's knee he looks up and only sees white, which he doesn't like. Harry is fine when Santa is looking straight at him or Harry is in the pram but when he's on the knee, does not like it.
Oh well at least we have a story about his first Santa photo.
Good luck Nikki with the shopping on Saturday.
°o.O߀llðh'§ mümO.o°
31-12-2004, 12:47
:p Hi everyone,my name's Amanda & i'm from Pelican.
I have lived in Newy all my life ( oops,aprt from 2yrs in sydney as an adult!)
I have a 2.5 yr old named Bellah.
Hope you al had a great chrissy & Have a great new year!
~Amanda~
H&B'sMum
01-01-2005, 21:16
Hi Amanda,
Welcome to the Hunter Valley thread. Hope you had a great Christmas. What an interesting username you have?
I'm Karena, mother to Harry 9 months. My Dh of 7 years, myself and Harry live at Warabrook.
Nikki and Leighsa, hope you guys survived Christmas okay. We didn't end up going to Blackbutt as the weather was to yucky so we ended up having it here. Harry had a great time opening his presents, but he had to have a sleep half way through and continue when he woke up, he was very spoilt.
Look forward to chatting with you all soon.
LuvMyKids
03-01-2005, 14:28
I have just been told about this web site and thought I would check it out.
I live in Newcastle (Lambton) and am mum to Connor (3 years) and Ella (10 months).
I am returning to work next week from 11 months maternity leave and am not looking forward to it at all. Ella is just so little still. She starts daycare tomorrow with her big brother.
I have just come to the realisation that I may be better staying at home due to child care fees. But will see how everything goes.
Hope everyone had a great Xmas.
H&B'sMum
03-01-2005, 16:27
Hi Felicity,
Welcome to bub hub. I'm Karena, mother to Harry 9 months. I'm in excactly the same position as you. I'm back at work next week too, also after 11 months off. I'm really nervous about going back and don't want to go. Luckly I'm only going back 3 days, Harry will be in care 2 days and my DH will be having 1 day off work so Harry will be at home with him. Which day care will Connor and Ella be at? Harry's going to 2 centres for a month then starting at the new centre being built at Mayfield now. I'm ok about leaving him, well I'm okay now but next week may be a different matter hehehe. But it's the working part and juggling everything that I'm nervous about. I just hope I can cope with trying to be everything to everyone.
If Ella is 10 months then she is close to Harry, Harry DOB was 29/03/04.
I hope you enjoy the site and happy posting. :)
I'm glad to hear everyone survived xmas. Welcome to the new members. I'm glad there are more of us in the Hunter. I'm spreading the word to all the mothers I know and telling them to share the news of the wonderful site here.
I had a ball for xmas. Jac, my DH and I were very busy. We ended up having to have split xmas into 3 instead of 2 though. My mum got sick with glandular fever and wasn't well enough to leave the house. Thank goodness she's past being constagious though Jac was missing her terribly. Santa was very good to us this year. I was glad the weather was rainy because it wasn't a 40+ degree day. I hate the heat and so does Jac. Our xmas was so great because Jacelyn started crawling at 5 pm xmas eve. After rocking for what seems like eternity there was no false starts she just kept on going. So I'm running around after her like crazy. Poor Jo (my baby rainbow lorrikeet I got for Xmas of DH) can't run around on the floor while she's awake and Jac throws a tantrum, because we won't let her hold Jo.
How was everyone's New Year? We had a party at our place. Jac just saw the new year in. She was tired though. She was in bed by 12.30am. We partied until 4am. I love that Jacelyn sleeps until lunchtime. Of course I had to wake up with a cold New years eve.
I'm so excited, my mum is adopting 2 border collie dogs. Jacelyn is so excited to see them. She gave them a big hug. It was very cute, a kodak moment I think.
cleighsa
04-01-2005, 07:14
hey everyone hope u all enjoyed the festive season.
our first xmas with bub was great. so much fun having a little one to share it with (even though she didnt know what was going on). lots of pressents and way too much food!!
new year was good too, although little elliot wanted to see the new year in and we didnt want her to. we stayed out at a friends house and it took me almost 3 hrs to get her to sleep for good! it was just too loud and every time id put her down someone would laugh loudly or slam the door - very very frustrating. :mad:
but was a good night all the same.
talk soon
leighsa
LuvMyKids
04-01-2005, 10:36
I have just dropped off Ella at daycare for her first day. My husband and I stayed for a little while but she was doing fine. Hi to Karena, sounds like you're in the same position as me. Ella's DOB is 11/3/04. She has started at Elder Street Childcare Centre in Lambton. My son Connor has already been going there for 2 years so at least I know the girls who are looking after Ella. It is a fantastic childcare centre. They had 5 babies start today (Ella is the youngest). I'll probably phone them at about 1pm to see if they manage to get her down OK for her arvo sleep. Karena, which centres is Harry starting at?
Talk to you soon
H&B'sMum
04-01-2005, 15:19
Glad to hear we all had a great Christmas, New year. We all slept through the new year, just to tired to bother staying up.
Felicity, I work in a child care centre as an Early Childhood Teacher so Harry will be in my centre 1 day a week for a month, he is also going to House @ Pooh Corner for the other day and then the new centre Riverview, that is being build next to the fire station at Mayfield in February. I hope Ella went okay today, I'm sure she was fine.
°o.O߀llðh'§ mümO.o°
10-01-2005, 14:06
Thanks for the welcome!
Our xmas & new years were great-but very glad that they are over!
(can u believe they have easters eggs & buns out alreagy!!aarggh!)
How are all your kiddies doing at daycare?good i hope with no problems.
Bellah started her 1st day last tuesday-YAY! I think we all need the break!
Its just a pity we can only afford 1 day a week as our fees are so expensive but so far i love the cnter!! so i cant really complain can i???
On her 1st day we had lots & lots of paintings! they were soo cute!!!
take care & bye 4 now,Amanda
I wish daycare were an option for me, especially in the last couple of weeks. Although I still enjoy an active social life and I'm lucky to have great friends who love it when I take Jac out with us. For example, last year 1 Wednesday a month I would go to a trivia night and leave Jac with my best friend. I'm in trouble when I don't leave her. Tonight I took Jac along to a local trivia night at the local bowling club. Jac loved being out and everyone loved having her there. She gets lots of love. Next week we're in Maitland for trivia and everyone has been trying to talk me into taking her. An old friend has joined the trivia circle and he adores having her there.
Anyway, I shouldn't complain about not getting time to my self. The local darts competition is about to start in 3 weeks and I get a couple of hours to myself to play darts. Thank god for my mum!!!
Jac has just started a spitting phase. Several times a day I get covered in whatever she's eating. Have any of you had this problem? If so what can I do to try to stop her. I've tried walking away from her and leaving her in high chair but that doesn't seem to work.
courtney
19-01-2005, 12:16
hi everyone
im not quite a mum yet ( due on 8th of feb) but i am also from newcastle.
i have been living in raymond terrace for the last 8 months and before that in cardiff but i am originally from sydney.. i read through previous posts and totally agree with the tiny sized shopping centres in newcastle!
hope to talk ,
courtney
cleighsa
19-01-2005, 16:56
:) hey there welcome!!
r u feeling ok, sick of urself yet? dont worry not long now. what hospital r u going to? i had my bub a belmont in july, midwives were very nice!
congrats and good luck with bub!!!
hope to chat more
leighsa
°o.O߀llðh'§ mümO.o°
19-01-2005, 22:18
Hi Courtney
WOW! not long now!
How excited u must be!!
Good luck with it all, you'll do fine!
~Amanda~ :p
H&B'sMum
23-01-2005, 14:23
Well I'm back at work now and Harry is at day care and so far it's been alllllllllllllllllllright. I wouldn't say I love it but I wouldn't say I hate it. The only thing I like is getting paid. The hardest is leaving Harry of course. The other hard thing is that I'm struggling to fit everything in, like, spending time with Harry and DH as well as cooking dinner, cleaning and then having "down time" for me. Today I spent the whole morning cleaning, not what I want to do on my weekends, so DH and I are thinking about getting a cleaning lady. Does anyone else have one or knows of one? How much they charge and what they do? I'm just interested in.
Hi Courtney did you get my pm? I had Harry at JHH but then tranfered over to NIB (now NPH) and it was worth it, if only for the food and my own bathroom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
How is everyone else going?
Well I think that's it from us. Bye for now.
LuvMyKids
05-02-2005, 10:21
This is the first time I've had a chance to get near the computer since I started back at work. I've been back 4 weeks now. I work Monday-Wednesday which isn't bad. I've never worked parttime before, but the 3 days go pretty quickly. Connor and Ella are doing well at daycare. I've still got a severe case of mother guilt though.
Karena, I know what you mean with having no time to do anything. I've just adapted to having everything partially done (like a kind of clean house, rushed grocery shopping etc etc). I think it will just take me a little while to adjust to fit everything in. I don't know of a cleaning lady, but you can order your groceries through Homeshop.com.au (Woolworths) and they deliver it right into your kitchen. When I was working fulltime, I used this. It was great. Then I had more time for DH and Connor.
Is anyone out there interested in getting together with the kids at a park or something every now and again. My mothers group has all moved away and I need a social life outside the house. Does anyone know of any playgroups in the area (I'm in Lambton).
Hope everyone is enjoying the beautiful weather.
Must go now as Connor has found me on the computer and is trying to help me type.
Bye for now
Felicity
cleighsa
07-02-2005, 17:38
hi felicity
im leighsa and i have a 6mth old girl. i dont work (well not much anyway) so id be keen to get out of the house and meet up. im sure bubs would love it too she just loves getting out and exploring new places and things!
i dont know of any playgroups, never been to one myself.
talk soon
leighsa
Hello, everybody. It feels like forever since I managed to get to the computer
Good luck to Courtney. I hope everything goes well.
I don't know of any playgroups. Most of them in Singleton are by invitation only and are mostly religious. I have nothing against religion but I'd like Jac's playgroup to be about playing with other kids not praying and religion.
Jac is being a nightmare at the moment. She has decided not to sleep during the night but we are finally starting to get some routine back.
I hope everyone is well and content. I know I am. I found out a couple of weeks ago that I'm pregnant again. We are so pleased. Most of my family are in shock but this is almost exactly the spacing we wanted between our children. Yet again I'm hoping for a boy but everyone is telling me I'm having a girl and well I was definitely wrong last time (although Jacelyn can be quite a tomboy sometimes).
My name is Kylie, I live in Highfields. It is great to actually talk to people from Newcastle! I have a 9 year old boy Jack and a 4 month old girl Lily (yes from the same marriage, just that I get asked all the time!!!!) I love being a mum, after so long I had forgotten what it is like, time consuming for a start, but I could just look at Lily for hours and babies change so much each day. I look forward to getting to know everyone. Where has the past year gone by the way? :)
H&B'sMum
20-02-2005, 16:19
Welcome Kylie,
Hi everyone, it's been ages since I've posted. I have been so busy at work and I'm also trying to spend as much time as I can with Harry and DH seeing I'm not at home as much now.
Harry is leaving his day care centres this week and starts at his new one next week. He has been going through some separation anxiety at the moment but I expected it and am dealing with it. My Dh has a harder time with it than I do. Harry has slowly been getting use to the centres and now he's leaving. But I'm gald that he will only be in one centre for this week onwards, and I know he can settle and have a great day.
Last week was my birthday and I had a great day (even if I did have to work!!!!!!!!) I got totally spoilt by my DH and Harry. Got dinner cooked for me, washing up done and the baby fed and bathed for me. YEAH.
Hope everyone else is going great and not long to go now Courtney. Good luck.
Talk to you all soon.
vickster
26-02-2005, 13:50
My name is Vicki and I live in Belmont. I have a 5mo girl Charlotte. I've only just discovered this website too and I think it's fantastic! So much information and friendliness! I'm mostly stuck at home without a car, so having new people to talk to is great! :)
How has everyone gone with finding daycare placements? There doesn't seem to be too many centres that take 0-2yo around the Belmont area.
How did Courtney go with her new bub? Talk to you soon :) !!
A big welcome to Kylie and Vicki. I hope you enjoy bubhub as much as I do. I'm telling all my friends about it.
Happy Birthday to Karena. I'm horrible with birthdays so much so I forget my partners on Thursday. I remembered on Friday. I felt terrible. Oh well must be baby brain. I keep forgetting important things since I found out I was pregnant a few weeks ago. I completely missed the day Jac was 9 months old and we've been celebrating with my mum every 3 months. I took her out for the day and hopefully made up for it on Friday.
Hopefully I'll have a friend joining from East Maitland soon. I haven't had the chance to talk to her and find out if she recieved my e-mail. It would be nice to have someone closer to home.
Well I'd better go. BF has just bought me down a hot choc and a couple of bscuits. Isn't he sweet. Talk soon.
H&B'sMum
28-02-2005, 16:31
Hi all and welcome Vicki,
I've been so busy hardly had time to go online lately. I went on last week to check emails and found 17 waiting for me Yeeeeeeek.
Well Harry starts at his new centre this week. I'm a bit sad that he won't be at my centre anymore but I know it's the best thing for him. He is also starting to wean himself. He's only breastfeeding morning and night now. We have began weaning him onto cows milk, starting with 1/2 and 1/2 and he's going really well with it. Later in the week I'll increase the cow's milk but so far now reactions.
Has anyone else heard from Courtney and how she went?
Well I think that's it from me. Hope everyone else has a good week and I'll try to get on more often.
we all must be busy lately. it's been a while since i've managed to get on and there's only one reply after mine. Oh well. I hope everyone is well. My morning sickness has finally appeared to go away which was a great relief, I can eat again. I had a scan on Thursday and my due date is the 15 September.
Jacelyn is still on formula and quite happy to be so. Her first tooth finally broke the gum yesterday so she has her appetite back. I was started to get worried. I'd practically had to make her eat for the last month. When I spke to someone about this I was told to just get her to eat what she wants, so she has lived on wedges and chocolate custard and yogurt.
Not much else is happening except trying to save the furniture from Jacelyn where she is walking around it and chewing on it all day.
vickster
09-03-2005, 12:50
Hi Karena,
I've been thinking about this for a while, but, did you do your child care qualifications at Belmont Tafe?
Otherwise, hi to everyone, hope all is well with your families!! Gotta go now, bubby just woke up!
Talk to you soon,
Vicki
My name is Danielle and my husband and I are expecting our first child on 22 May. I stumbled across BubHub today and have had a great time reading and sharing in everyones experiences.
After spending 11 years in Sydney, I moved back to Maitland 12 months ago. Reading all of the comments on shopping made me smile. While by no means a shopaholic, I do miss the variety, not to mention the good coffee!
I look forward to getting to know all of you.
Dan
My husband and I are pregnant with babe #3, due in August, and have 2 sons aged 12 and 9 years. I think we're in for a rude shock!
We have lived in the Maitland area for the past 14 years. Originally I'm a Newcastle girl(Lambton) and was NEVER living west of Hexham! Famous last words, eh?
I used to tell the people I worked with(in Charlestown) that I lived in the country, cos I drove past cows on the way to work. DH had to set me straight on that one!
Anyhow, now I wouldn't live anywhere else, everything is so handy- Maitland, Newcastle and Sydney.
Jacqui
We've just sold our house (hopefully exchange contracts today) and are moving to Lambton (a block away from the pool and park). We are looking forward to it even though we are going to miss our place which backs on to the wetlands so we have great views. Not looking forward to packing after 16 years in this house :eek: . Wish us luck!
We moved from Melbourne (although Cathy had spent her teenage years in Newcastle) and it took me quite a long time to settle here. Now I love it as it is big enough to have virtually everything we want, but small enough that it is still friendly. I was talking to somebody from Scone who was getting used to how big it is after moving from Murrurundi. I guess Maitland has more of a sense of community than Newcastle too. It's all relative.
See you
Graeme
HubbaBubba
24-03-2005, 14:13
I am a ring in to Newcastle and am the proud Mum of my (almost) 7mth old princess.
I have just found this site and have been spending some time reading thru all of the posts on this thread and was encouraged by the number of people in the area.
I have spent a bit of time on the Essential Baby web site and also in the Huggies Parents Exchange but have yet to find a forum where we can just get on and chat etc.
My little darling has recently cut her 2 bottom teeth (within days of each other) but we have been lucky in that she didn't go off her food or get any nasty rashes (yet) or anything like that. She is not crawling yet but is trying her darndest - I have come to the conclusion that the clenching of my butt cheeks as she lifts hers into the air is not helping her...lmao!
I don't know very many people in the area altho I was very lucky to have met a girl thru the EB site and we have become very good friends. One other Mum mentioned somewhere in the posts that her life had improved once she was able to make some friends of her own rather than having just her husbands friends...well, I surely understand exactly what you meant by that. It makes such a difference.
Anyways, so that is basically what I am doing hovering around here...looking for other mums that are at about the same stage of life as we are and who are looking for the same thing.
Also wanted to say g'day to Graeme, it is not often that I have seen a Dad on these sites... I think it's great.
A (very) little bit about me: I am 27yo and we live near Belmont. I have 2 dogs and a cat (my other kids) and as I mentioned a baby girl. Like most of you no doubt, I don't get a lot of time to indulge in many of my interests these days which sounds sad but even sader is the fact that I didn't really have that many to start with... Reading crime novels, watching crime TV, horse riding, entertaining (and being entertained) and spending quality time with friends and family. Anyways, I look fwd to chatting with some/one or all of you in the near future.
Hope to talk soon.
Tanya.
H&B'sMum
24-03-2005, 21:10
Welcome Graeme, Jac and Tanya,
I hope you really enjoy it here on bub hub. I'm Karena mother to nearly (on Tuesday) 1 Harry. My DH, Harry and I live in Warabrook.
We getting quite a group on here which is great. I don't know if you have seen the other thread but we are trying to get a walking group together so keep an eye on that thread.
Graeme, it is wonderful that you have joined us. I love getting a males point of view on parenting and children's issues. I think you offer a very different persecptive (sp???) on things.
To everyone else, hope you are all fine and your bubs are keeping you laughing. Harry is great and at the moment I'm getting very excited about his birthday on Tuesday. We are having a party for him with his naming ceremony as well in a couple of weeks. So I'll let you all know how that goes.
xxxxxxxkissesxxxxxxxx and ((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))) to all the mums/dads and bubs from Harry.
Thanks for the welcome. It does sometimes feel a bit strange being a dad, but I haven't felt unwelcome ever.
I guess I feel that while there are of course differences between the experiences of mums and dads, we share a heck of a lot of experiences as parents.
Time for bed
Graeme
PS Happy birthday to Harry :)
leroysmummy
03-04-2005, 10:26
Hi Newcastle Mums, Dads & Bubs!
My name is Natasha, I have a gorgeous 10 month old called Leroy. He's just so much fun! We laugh a lot at each other! I've lived in Newcaslte for only a year and am still feeling a little isolated. So calling anyone who'd like to meet up for a coffee or something in the New Lambton area... I don't drive so I can't venture too far... Look forward to hearing from you all!
HubbaBubba
03-04-2005, 11:05
Hi Tash,
It's a shame that you don't drive. It must make it difficult for you with a baby and all. I would just die if I couldn't get out and about on occasion.
Where did you move to Newcaslte from? What was the reason for your move? I moved up from Sydney about 2.5yrs ago when I moved in with my DF. I know what you mean about feeling isolated... The biggest thing I miss (probably the only thing) is my "girly network"...you know, the group of friends that you have that you can just rock up to their place in your "round the house clothes" just because for a cuppa or something, or even just being able to ring and gasbag without stressing about toll calls etc.
I have found it additionally difficult being a SAHM as even the people I do know here are mostly at work and have their own families so between them both have little time to just kick back.
Anyways, if you're interested in chatting some more, I look fwd to future posts...btw I am near Belmont (so not all that far from New Lambton).
leroysmummy
03-04-2005, 17:07
Hi Tanya,
Thanks for your message. Yer it does make it a little difficult with Leroy not driving, (me, not him!!) but you make do, you know? I have every other person saying to me "If only your had you licence..." Yer, yer whatever. So over it. Just never got around to it, my aim to is to be well on the way by the time bubby no. 2 comes along. We do get out a lot though and do lots of walks around here. If anyone's interested in joining us, let me know! We moved (my hubby Mathew and I) from Crows Nest in Sydney when I was 7 months pregnant. We just decided that we'd rather raise our family here, there was nothing tying us to yucky old Sydney, just jobs. He got a transfer, and I'm a SAHM and loving it! I do get quite alot of pressure from close family (what is it with that?! :confused: ) about doing some work to take the financial pressure off a bit, but we're coping (just!). How old is your 'little princess' now? Must be close in age to Leroy, he was born 24/5/04. What is her name?
Better go get dinner started!
Hope to hear soon,
Welcome Tash (and everyone else)
Hope you enjoy Newcastle as much as we do (although it took me a few years to really settle). I think it wasn't until we had a good circle of friends that I got into Newcastle. It is pretty hard starting out.
My Mum was a SAHM who never drove. I don't think she regrets it. Must admit I suspect we weren't such a car oriented society when my brother and I were little (early 60s).
I hesitate to suggest it, but where I work there is a program (Home-Start) which links volunteers with families who visit once a month. It's low key and all the volunteers are parents themselves. The volunteers can come around for a coffee, take you shopping, play with the kids, whatever. If you want details you can find them at http://www.newcastle.edu.au/centre/fac/programs/homestart.html
I'm not involved directly in Home-Start so don't really know heaps about it, but it does sound quite good. What I like about it is that it helps develop links. Some of you might even be interested in becoming a volunteer too!
Anyway, hope you settle in quickly, make a good network of friends and enjoy Newcastle and Leroy.
Graeme
Hi Tash (and any other interested coffee goers)
Even though I grew up in the Maitland area, having been in Sydney for 12-13 years meant that I lost touch with alot of my friends from school. My husband and I have been back in Maitland now for just on 18months, and I must admit, that it has not been as easy as I thought it would be to reconnect myself and re-develop a circle of friends for myself (My husband works with a great group of people who have taken him in under their wing). My main problem is that I have been working for myself from home, consulting to a company in Sydney, and while it has helped to pay the bills and keep me occupied, it has not helped in terms of enabling me to meet and make new friends with local people.
I am 33 weeks pregnant with our first child and so the projects I have been working on are starting to reach completion. With more time on my hands, I am going a little insane with my own company!! My obstetrician is down at Lambton Heights, and so if you and Leroy are keen, it would be no problem for me to swing by New Lambton for a coffee next time I am down that way.
Have a great day.
Dan
leroysmummy
04-04-2005, 10:57
Hi Dan & Graeme (and every one else)
Thanks so much for your messages, and making me feel so welcome. Thanks for the link Graeme, I'll look into that. And Dan that'd be lovely. Let me know when you're down next and I'll make sure I can be there. There is a great coffee shop on Regent St, New Lambton called Chaddies and they have a lovely outdoor area if it's not raining. Anyone else interested?
Wow 33 weeks, I remember that time well. Waiting, waiting. I moved from Syd about that time and it was lovely having time off (my first in a long time) I got absolutely huge after that (Leroy was 9lb 7) and I'd get up everyday and count another stretch mark or two on my belly!! ARRGGHH! But it's so worth it. Do you know if you're having a boy or girl? I didn't find out, and I was sure I was having a girl, and got a big shock (but lovely!) when the first thing I saw of him was the crown jewels! I had a caesar and that was the first look I got of him from that angle! Now he's "My Boy Leroy" I just love him to bits. :p
Hope every one is having a lovely (wet) day
Jimmyjones
05-04-2005, 12:38
Just browsing through the chat rooms, trying to find some coffee goers and here you are guys. I have a 5 week old and aren't going insane yet but would love to catch up with mums, dads and expected mothers. Count me in for any coffee dates and yep that coffee shop is great in New Lambton!!!!!
Hope to hear
KT :D
LuvMyKids
05-04-2005, 14:15
I would love to meet up with anyone. I live in Lambton so am really close. Let us know if anything is organised.
I have the day off work today as my daughter is sick (cold sores they think so she isn't allowed to go to daycare). Just noticed that the walking group is meeting today so hope to meet a few of you there..........the weather looks good so far.
Hope to hear from anyone interested in meeting up soon.
Hope everyone is well and enjoying the cooler weather.
Felicity
mum to Connor (3) and Ella (12 months)
leroysmummy
06-04-2005, 10:44
Hi Felicity & KT (and any other New Lambton coffee goers!)
Let me know what day you can do it. What days do you work Felicity? Maybe one day next week. Any day but Wednesday or Friday for me. Actually KT, I go to Mayfield every Wed arvo for an appointment, maybe one time we can meet up before my appointment? (usually 4.30) Any decent coffee shops there? What about that one Michelles' with the green sign on Maitland Rd?? Anyway we'll still go to Chaddies cause it's great!!
Gotta go, little fella's waking up. Hear soon I hope.
H&B'sMum
06-04-2005, 11:17
I'd love to meet up as well. I work Wed-Fri. so Mon or Tues are good for me. Mayfield or Lambton is fine with me.
LuvMyKids
06-04-2005, 11:50
I work Mon/Tues & Fri arvo - so any other time is fine. New Lambton or Mayfield is OK with me.
Lets try and organise something in the next few weeks.
I'm just organising the kids to go for a bike ride in at the foreshore. Connor goes on his bike and Ella on the seat on the back of my bike. Looks a bit cloudy but it seems warm enough. The bikes are in the car and Connor is calling me to go. Better go before he finds me on the computer otherwise I'll never get him out the door.
Bye for now
Felicity
mum to Connor (3) and Ella (12 months).
kirikasmum
06-04-2005, 12:08
My name is Romana, mum to a 6mth old girl Kirika. I found out about the site of Nikki. I live in East Maitland but i have only been here since Christmas when we moved from Newcastle.
Got to go Kirika has just woken and typing with her on my lap is getting hard.
Catch you all later.
Romana
Jimmyjones
06-04-2005, 12:43
Any day is good for me so I can work into either days as I have just started maternity leave. So Chaddies it is!!
Tash there are two Michelle's in Mayfield but either is fine :) , I have only been to the one of the corner near the Woolies but I would love to catch up, let me know when is good for you.
CU all later little Miss is waking up
KT
leroysmummy
06-04-2005, 14:28
This is getting complicated now! What about next Tuesday (12th April) at Chaddies in New Lambton (Regent St, next to library, opposite New Lambton Public School) What time is good for everyone? Around 11.30? In between morning and afternoon sleeps?? Then next time we'll do maybe a Thursday to count in the Tuesday workers? Sound ok? I can book for us so we can get a table outside, otherwise it can get a bit squashy inside with all the prams. Who'll be there?
See you all then. Looking forward to it.
Jimmyjones
06-04-2005, 15:07
Bugger just booked a physio appt for Abi at that time at the John Hunter, so I could only do earlier or later on that particular day.
KT and baby Abi(5wks)
LuvMyKids
06-04-2005, 15:46
Can't do the Tuesday meeting at Chaddies due to work but let us know when you plan on meeting on a Thursday and I'll meet everyone then.
We all had a great day bike riding in at the foreshore. Then we stopped off at Bar Beach on the way home for a play in the sand. It's turned into a beautiful day.
Connor's just fallen asleep on the floor (watching the Wiggles)...........he'll probably be up until at least 10pm tonight now.
Bye for now.
Felicity
mum to Connor (3) and Ella (12 months)
H&B'sMum
06-04-2005, 22:01
I hope no one minds but I have started two new threads in this section. One for meeting up with each other and new thread to take over this one. I found this thread was getting a bit long and thought it time to start a new one.
Hope no one minds.