View Full Version : have you noticed?

lucyp
20-09-2005, 08:36
Thought this might be a bit of a laugh.. but since becoming pregnant and having a baby - a lot of things that I didn't notice or think about before - are now noticable....some good - some not! eg.

Have you noticed:

1. that since having a pram - that many people in shopping centres etc are
inconisderate and STOP dead infront of you so that you have to pull up short or swerve off to the side?

2. that buses and public transport don't really cater for prams / parents - what do poeple without cars do?

3. you find yourself smiling at random mothers with children in supermarkets etc either admiring sweet baby or sympathising with them over their screaming toddler

4. that shoes that fit before you were pregnant - no longer are quite as comfortable as they used to be ( maybe thats just me :)

Feel free to add more as you think of them :)

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 08:41
So true!! (although I havent had the shoes thing - my best friend does though!!)
The other thing that I find myself noticing is the amount of pregnant women! They seem to be everywhere! :p

ThomasMum
20-09-2005, 08:45
Good one lucyp!

Every time I saw a heavily pregnant woman who looks so tired and fed up I just want to hug her and say, its OK soon the lil kicker/s will be here and you are going to love every minutes of your life!

mum2ryan
20-09-2005, 08:49
I agree with everything you've both mentioned. I find shopping centres the worst place to go. People seem to think that just because you have a pram you can move around them, and every shop wants to search through your nappy bag to see if you've stolen something... drives me crazy!

Have you noticed that the mother and pram spots are usually taken up by people who don't even have baby seats in their car?

Leonie :rolleyes:

ThomasMum
20-09-2005, 08:53
and every shop wants to search through your nappy bag to see if you've stolen something... drives me crazy!

Have you noticed that the mother and pram spots are usually taken up by people who don't even have baby seats in their car?

Yep Leonie those both are so true.
Btw, you know what I did when the shop assistants ask me abt my nappy bags? I ask them to open it themself if they dont trust me! Why should I. I'm waaay too busy looking after lil Thomas :)

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 09:02

Oh my gosh! That ticks me off so bad. :mad: I went to the shops the other day and needed to be in and out in a hurry (DD teething :rolleyes: ) and I couldnt get a park at all. There are only a couple of parents parking spots and 2 of them were taken up with tradie utes. (quite obviously no car seats or prams etc). Its just inconsiderate.

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 09:04
Having to open the nappy bag annoys me too. As mums we've usually always got no hands free to bend down and open a bag for them. I just say now - "You can open it I have my hands full". They just say "oh its ok"!

jlrjyeboah
20-09-2005, 09:23
I do the same thing, if they want to look inside soooo badly, they should do it themselves, and why do they have those detector things if we are going to have to open our bags anyway.

Public transport is shocking. When we first moved to Melbourne, we were staying in a tiny apartment in the city while looking for something more permanent, so I decided to take the kids to the zoo for the day. What a drama. I caught the tram from near the Womens Hospital to go up the zoo, and it was one of the horrible old ones, with the steps that are about 2 feet high. Well my youngest was only 8months at the time so needless to say he was in a buggy, the tram driver just sat there and looked and if as if to say, "would you hurry up and get on". Finally a lovely young man got out and helped me on. Public transport is a disgrace and badly needs to be updated.

our little treasures
20-09-2005, 09:34
I agree except I was one of those people who cursed prams always hitting you etc, now i'm one of them. public transport in country wont let prams on im told. my sil had 2 under 13mnths and the driver told her she couldnt bring the pram on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i actually have a go and people without prams in those parking spots :mad:

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 09:37
i actually have a go and people without prams in those parking spots :mad:

Good on you!!

mum2ryan
20-09-2005, 09:42
Coming out of a large department store the other day, I had an employee start to open my nappy bag, she didn't even ask... wow,didn't she cop it. Legally they are not allowed to touch your bag, which is why they ask you to open it up. I know she was just doing her job, but I am capable of opening my own bag in my own time if they really want to see wipes, nappies half chewed rusks and all my other goodies....

I run two retail franchises and have learnt how to treat my customers compared to how i've been treated by other traders. If your staff are doing the right thing (ie. their job) and serving customers, there is no need for sometimes humiliating and time wasting bag checks.

Leonie :)

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 09:47
Wow. I cant believe they just started looking through your bag without your consent. Thats terrible.
I tell them they can look through mine themselves for the simple fact that they never do - they cant.
I would have ripped it through her for that.

drewid
20-09-2005, 09:48
OMG, i totally agree with the shopping centre one!

EVERY time i go the shops i suffer from some sort of rage - inconsiderate people stopping dead in front, people heading towards you that WON'T move out of the way even though I CAN'T move anywhere else.

And stupid shop aisles where prams don't fit, poles in the middle of the end of an aisle stacked around with boxes making it so hard to manouevre around.

I have found especially at our local Big W that if i leave the shops without buying anything, the door person always asks to check the basket in the bottom of the pram. BUT if i buy something at the registers it NEVER gets checked.

So...I just make sure whenever I go in that I buy something. Even if its just a tin of baby food or a pkt of dummies or something. Saves all that hassle. ESPECIALLY when you have to lift up the pram seat to access the bottom of the pram and bubs is asleep! GRR that makes me mad!

Another thing that ticks me off is paths - the access to the main road side of our local Westfields has a few entry points from the pathway along the road. BUT it is a gutter step UP to the entry. So you have to somehow try to get a pram up OVER the gutter to get in! Now WHY can't they put in a little rampy bit? GRRR

lucyp
20-09-2005, 09:58
Seems I've opened a can of worms!! I have not been asked to check nappy bag as yet - but did have one stupid door woman at Target want to check the actual pram itself - wehere DS was sleeping . I had a rug over top of pram to block out shopping centre distractions - but she was insistent on looking under it - DS awoke of course ...grrr................

Have you also noticed that as your bub gets older - you manage to fit a heap more stuff into their sleep periods than you used to?? Amazing what you can cram into a 40minute period:)

Briannabear
20-09-2005, 10:02
So true.............

jembelina
20-09-2005, 10:02
Can't shopping centres get it together and have a mother's room around every corner?? Whenever i need one NOW (poo running down his leg or vomit in my hair) it is always miles away!

Harmony83
20-09-2005, 10:14
Hmmm Okay I have noticed that
1. No matter how happy bubs is and you think its safe to go shopping, they turn into a little monster!
2. You need a license to drive a pram in shopping centres, especially with all the manouvring around ignorant people.
3. What used to be a 10 minute in and out now takes about 30 - 40 minutes.
4. The only car park that is ever available, is almost impossible to get a baby out, as the ninkempoop that parked next to you is right next to the line!!
5. That whenever you are about to leave the house, you will get peed on, chucked on, poopy nappied, or all of the above!
6. I also give sympathetic looks to mummys struggling with a cranky bubby or toddler.
7. I get lots of 'see this is why young people shouldn't have baby' looks when my bub decides to turn into his little monster self.
8. And finally, shopping aisles have shrunk, my pram wouldn't fit through the checkout, so I had to reverse all the way out, with a full line up of people!! (they weren't impressed!) I love the new Self serve check out at Big W!! Hardly any line and they are huge!! Plus they don't check your bags!!

mum2ryan
20-09-2005, 10:15
I know what you mean, there will be one mothers room upstairs, usually at the top of an escalator you can't go up. When you finally find a lift the queue to use it is so long with people who are capable of walking an extra 10 metres to the excalator (but don't). By the time you get to the mothers room... you want to go home!
:rolleyes:

20-09-2005, 11:13
I can relate to everything thats been mentioned here! Now I just tend to put my head down and plough through the crowds, seems to work :p

I hate the looks you get when kids are screaming. MJ rarely has a bad day but when she does and I already feel like crap i get so annoyed at the glares of "can't you shut your baby up." Sometimes nothing will settle her and as has been said, the parents rooms are soo far away.

In regards to the no parents with prams parking, I was dumfounded the other day. I was looking for a spot & found one just as a middle aged woman with NO KIDS took it :mad: When i nicely said "I have a baby in the car and these spots are for parents with prams" her response was "when i had my twins we didn't have these spots so i'm going to take advantage of them now" :eek: I tried to be nice, didn't work for long - sleep deprivation will do that. People really need to be slapped sometimes.

BTW her twins were in there 20's

RB

Ky
20-09-2005, 11:56
I agree that so many people are just ignorant (or arrogant, can't decided which!).

One thing I really liked about some of the supermarkets in New Zealand is that they had spots for pregnant mothers too! At the time I was looking after my sister's 2 kids, my own daughter and pregnant with my son while my sister went away for 3 ½ weeks to a wedding in London. I really appreciated being able to get the kids out of the car straight onto a footpath (they were 5yo, 3yo and 15mths) making it safer to deal with the 3 of them!

Personally, I have avoided the mothers with prams most of the time as I have only 2 kids and have always been fit enough to get my pram out etc and walk a bit more of a distance! I think that they are a great idea for someone with a small baby, multiple children and those who are really struggling.

Have you noticed that the aisles which you really need to go down ie. baby clothes, everyday items, nappies etc often have a dirty great big column in the middle of them without enough room on either side to get through with a pram??? I have found that Kmart and Go-lo seem to be the worst offenders with this one!

OK, so a lot of the prams have a wider wheelbase today than in recent years, but it really is annoying when the wheelchair checkout is the only one you can get through and it is closed! I have tried talking to the stores and supermarkets in my area, but for some reason they are unwilling to help parents out by keeping it open!

OK, whinge over ... chat to you later!

peterpan
20-09-2005, 15:32
Hi Girl's
I'm hearing you all................
DS is constipation so i went to shop's to get
some prune juice went to park in mother's with pram's
and there was to work ute's there I was so
p***** off that I got my pen and paper and wrote
them a very nice note and stickey taped it to there window
with my name and number on it and i'm hopeing they ring me
Happy shopping girl's

Angela,
David (DH)
Peter (17 weeks)

jembelina
20-09-2005, 17:43
Have you ever noticed that you can't actually get out out of a supermarket without buying something?? When bub was just a couple of weeks old I was grocery shopping with hubby and DS needed to be fed smack in the middle of shopping (as they do!). So, I needed to get out with the pram to feed him which meant I had to ask them to open an aisle for me to get out, which they begrudgingly(sp?) and slowly did and then had the audacity to ask to check my bag/pram!! I just stormed off with my screaming bundle of joy :D

wattle
20-09-2005, 20:38
And what's with the shopping isles that you can't fit a pram through? Even worse are the ones you think you can fit through but then get stuck halfway..aaaaaaaaaagh. (and by then there's usually people behind you too!)

BTW I saw a grandpa trying to take a 3 wheeler pram up the escalators this morning... :eek: could have ended in disaster!