View Full Version : how do you keep busy???
tyler's mum
20-09-2006, 08:00
i was wondering what stay at home mum do to keep busy:confused: dont get me wrong i know its a full time job looking after bub,, but she is starting to go of and play on her own now in the toy room or her room,,
there is only so much house work you can do,, i have started to take bub on walks in the morning on her bike or in the pram,, but most of the day when she is playing i end up setting down watching tv:rolleyes:
i need some idea on what i can do,, while we are home and she is of on her own,, i love playing games with tyler playing with her toys and stuff, but she is a very independent little girl and even when u play with her she would much rather you watch what she is doin,,
i made a post a few weeks ago,, asking on advice what i could do as i really dont have any hobbies,, but didnt get much replies
please help:D
i do scrapbooking, that keeps me busy alot of the time and i like to take jake to playgroups and swimming
Ruby Slippers
20-09-2006, 08:42
Well both my girls are at school grades 1/ 4 and i'm 5 months pregnant ,
so after the house work is done i rest or i go for a walk , and i love to paint ,
i know what you mean when my girls were at home in the day time i would find myself not knowing what to do as they would go there own way and play ,
and some days the house work would be all done so i would find something to clean , i hope you find something great to do with your time,
sorry i could not help :D
tyler's mum
20-09-2006, 08:48
i love scrapbooking but at the moment i have 3 scrap books for tyler and they are up to date so i dont think she needs anymore:rolleyes:
I have a walking buddy so we drive to the beach and do a walk and I dont get home til lunchtime.
Im usually out and about with friends most of the time.
I also like going to the library coz Riley can have a play and I get some books out-I LOVE reading,what a geek LOL
Also I take Riley to playcafes-he loves them!!
jembelina
20-09-2006, 12:29
I ususally end up spring cleaning something lol! Ds plays really well by himself alot of the time, but he also has a sixth sense about me doing anything even remotely for me!! Even if I sit down to make a phone call or two/pay bills he is trying to climb up to the table. What about gardening? I often get outside and just potter around in the garden, while ds runs around or talks to the flowers! Not all that much help am I? Sorry, I don't really have any hobbies either!
TTannyaa
27-09-2006, 22:20
We've got a park right across the road from us and the girls love it. We go for lots of walks, we've also got a duck pond really close with a great playground. As for me time, I usually take a book outside and lie in the hammock if the weather is nice otherwise baking or there's always something around the house that needs to be done. Getting out in the garden, catching up with friends, playgroup. Chloe has just started kindy........... I could go on all day.
mummykate
13-10-2006, 11:09
Hi, I would suggest that you get out and about as much as you can. Take your little one to story times at the library, join a playgroup, get the Melbournes Child Magazine (or the equivalent in your state) and check out the calender. There can be lots of free things on that are fun to got to. Go though your street directory and make a list of parks, beaches, places that you have never been to and would like to try. If you have a friend that is willing to come along, rope them in for some fun! Some states have MOPS (Mothers of Pre-Schoolers) run by church groups which are great and don't cost much. I think it very easy to feel isolated as a mum so I would encourage you to research what is available and get out there. It is not necessary to spend all day every day cleaning house and will only drive you crazy if you try. Enjoy the precious time you have-kids grow up quick!
ahhhhhh have more kids that will keep you busy..lol i have 3 and there is always house work to be done:thumbsdown: but when me and ej are at home alone, we walk everyday, playgroup,and im a shocker for getting in the garden and leaving the housework till later...i have trouble keeping this boy inside..lol, i watch dr phill, get on the comp and the days gone, i have found since being home again after so long the week flys past..oh and i love to cook, and having latte at the kids cafe is great, meeting with mates and i love the fact that when i want to lay down and cuddle time i can take it, enjoy it all while you can as they will be teenagers before you know it, im sure you will find what ya looking for there are some good ideas from the mummys for you:thumbsup: ..jo
FourAngelKisses
21-10-2006, 13:47
Housework..........with three kids there's always a mountain of dishes and washing, hundreds of toys that need to be put away, bits of scrap paper that has to be tossed, beds to be made from scratch each day because they can't sleep neatly (lol), meals to be cooked, bums to be changed, baths to be done etc.
I tend to do all of the above and chat on here at the same time. I get 1hr a day to myself after they have all gone to bed. Besides that, always stuff to be done. Never time for walks etc. :(
jade21887
29-10-2006, 14:48
I try to keep up with the housework. I usually study as well, but Im waiting to see whether my application for uni was accepted!! Will have to wait till like February/March to start studying again! Feels like ages.
I find to keep myself motivated with the cleaning, I have a roster that I do each week, and then have a list of extra jobs that need doing, if I have the time.
i went through a scrapbooking phase a while ago but you eventually run out of things to do if its all up 2 date so i went to the markets and there was a great jelly candles store, i made lots of cool candels as you can can give them as gifts and they make your home smell great even not lit.... also another fav hobbie of mine is lead lighting, i have made some for the bathroom, kitchen and daughters room, spot light will sell the lead lighting paint and stencils. :)
jade21887
29-10-2006, 15:53
Must say I also use my time to make things for bday/xmas etc. Xmas this year, Im making biscuits/puddings for everyone. I use my time to do things from scratch, so in a way im saving us more money cause I have the time to do this. I alter all of my daughters clothes, make some of her clothes, I cook from scratch, try to do a fortnightly cook up for most of our meals.
29-10-2006, 15:59
house work!!!
dd is usually enough to keep me busy!!
tommygirl
30-10-2006, 12:49
me, too! housework!! :D but i usually spend my time cleaning our wardrobes, trying out new dishes to cook and reading books...i love reading books.:smiliedance:
I enjoy doing craft - I have to admit that housework is not invited to my party! No only kidding!
I enjoying cross-stitch, sewing, knitting and the list goes on and on!
My DH is in the Army so is always away so I have to keep myself busy and I enjoy completing a project.
Check out my blog 9link in sig) of what I get up to. I am currently busy making things for the local christmas market.
Oh, And Love spending time with my DD. After being in ChildCare industry myself for 11 years I do not want to go back to work and look after someone elses when I can be at home with mine! We go to the park, library, swimming lessons etc. We have something on 3 mornings a week and the other two are spent at home or for a walk to the park etc.
jackjudesmum
06-12-2006, 11:23
hahahahaha
I love seeing these types of posts.
I have two boys under three within 13 months of one another. I have NO FREE TIME during the day.
We go to the park, to the beach, to playgroup, play in the back yard, generally do activities, have movie afternoons... I dont know what free time is but I would love some :)
I do not work. But I find doing things with my boys, keeping the house clean, and cooking to put food in everyones mouths keeps me very very busy.
Free time. hahahahaha
DeborahT
12-12-2006, 09:06
The kids keep me busy and housekeeping, I'd love to get back into sewing and embroidary but there isn't enough time in the day, also LOVE love love reading
Every morning i go on a mission to get all housework, lunches, dinner, errands organised.
Then its either off to the library, beach, park with the kids.
Any spare time i hav i try to exercise or im on the net...luv bubhub. But I am usually quite busy making things like juice bottle spaceships and toilet roll binnoculars with my kids. I used to be a teacher so i have a lot of my resources out for the kids to use eg. puzzles, craft bookcase, stories on tape.
I do puppet shows, yoga with my four yr old, lots of painting and heaps of cooking. We hav chickens that we play with and a little vege garden.
I'm pretty organised, but thats how i like to be.
stilldreaming
20-12-2006, 09:51
With ds I never had any free time as he always wanted me with him and to play with him etc. Dd is the complete opposite and will play quite happily by herself and her big brother. I don't quite know what to do with myself!!
During the week we are pretty busy though with 2 playgroups, junglegym and kindy dance. But now that everything is on holidays we go for walks, go to feed the ducks most days. If they are happily playing I clean the house and sit with them but read a book or mag. I have to watch them all the time anyway as they are only 2 and 7 months...but I just do something in the same room as them.
FourAngelKisses
20-12-2006, 15:24
Speaking of keeping busy.......I've had 2 people in 2 days look at my belly and say "oh you'll be busy". No **** sherlock!! I'm busy enough with 3, 4 wont make an ounce of difference.
I did a couple of correspondence courses, they were good to keep my mind active and a good way to advance skills without sending the kids off to daycare while they are young.