View Full Version : Calling all Blue Mtns Mums!!

04-05-2011, 18:37
Hi there everyone,

Ive done a similar thread in the past but it must of been way out of date to be gone!! :) So i thought i would renew it again. So hows the mountains mums going? We never did organise our meetup as suggested. :no: Maybe we can start again. :yes::) Well i look forward in seeing all you mtns mummas on here. :D

eviestar
04-05-2011, 18:53
Hi jaydensmum, Good to see some other mountains mum's on here:).
I live in between Katoomba and Leura and have a 6 year old daughter that goes to Leura public.

05-05-2011, 01:00
Hi jaydensmum, Good to see some other mountains mum's on here:).
I live in between Katoomba and Leura and have a 6 year old daughter that goes to Leura public.

Hi there! :wave: I live in North Katoomba and have a 6 yr old boy that goes to North Katoomba Public. Wow we live so close!! :) I also have two daughters aged 4.5yrs and 2.5yrs. In my last thread ages ago there was a lot more mtns mums not sure if they are still on here, hopefully they are! :yes:

catbiscuit
05-05-2011, 01:10
Hello!

Yep, I'm about. :)

My son is now 19 months old and I had a daughter at Katoomba hospital eight days ago.

Hope you're all well!

05-05-2011, 12:05
Hello!

Yep, I'm about. :)

My son is now 19 months old and I had a daughter at Katoomba hospital eight days ago.

Hope you're all well!

Hi Catbiscuit, i remember chatting with you ages ago.:) Congrats on your new arrival, she looks adorable!! :D How you going hun?

06-05-2011, 13:25
How you ladies going today?? How lovely that the sun has been out for a few days, compared to the constant rain we've had. :) Hopefully it lasts longer than a couple of days. :yes:
Well i hope you are going well, and chat with you soon.

Naomi xx

eviestar
06-05-2011, 13:29
It is lovely isn't it. Nice to be able to hang washing out for a change.:)

06-05-2011, 13:36
It is lovely isn't it. Nice to be able to hang washing out for a change.:)

Yeah definetly, im sure i wasted a lot of money on my drier last week when it rained for the whole wk. :yes:

Shananaaah
15-05-2011, 16:04
Hi jaydensmum, eviestar and catbiscuit :wave:

We're currently in Emu Plains, but have a block of land we are building on next year in Hazelbrook. We're very excited to be coming up the mountain - DH was raised in Glenbrook but I am from Melbourne originally. We've lived in this house at the bottom of the hill for about 8.5 years and now it's fit to burst!

We're looking forward to building a beautiful mountains cottage and changing our lifestyle quite a lot.

The kids will be going to Hazelbrook PS - DS starts in 2013 and DD goes in 2014.

Tell me: have you always lived up there, and what is the BEST thing about living in the mountains?

wizabef
16-05-2011, 15:32
Just thought I'd say hi. We live in Wentworth Falls and in two weeks will have a 4.5yo and a 3yo living with us full time (we are foster carers) :) Looking forward to the challenge and also looking forward to getting to know some Mum's in the area.

16-05-2011, 17:20
Hi there Wizabef and shanan!! :wave:

Shanan - to answer your questions. Ive currently lived up in katoomba for 2.5yrs. I was actually born in katoomba hospital and then moved around with my family. I moved back to blackheath when my son was first born and lived there for two years before heading back to syd. So in total ive lived in the mtns 6.5yrs in my whole life. :D The best thing would have to be the views and quiet lifestyle. :)

So hows everyone going? Did everyone survive the freezing weather last week. Boy was it cold, i couldnt believe how cold it got too! :yes: Thank goodness for the wood fire heater, lol.

catbiscuit
16-05-2011, 19:45
Hello!

Shananaaah, congratulations on buying your block of land - I'm in Hazelbrook. :) I've lived up here for just over two years now... my partner grew up here but spent ten years living in Melbourne, I spent ten years there too, but grew up in Perth. For me, it's clean air, space to garden and the opportunity to save for a deposit on our own place that I'm enjoying most living here.

wizabef, hello - how exciting! :wave:

:wave: eviestar!

jaydensmum - I actually made it outside into the sun today, I think that my body is in shock. :laughing: We've got the fire lit again tonight, mind. With two kids in cloth nappies, I'm being a bit shameless about using the clothes dryer at the moment.

Apologies for being fairly sporadic with posts here.. having a newborn again is a bit of an adjustment and I haven't been getting near the computer too often - I read along on my phone though.

Hope that you're all well!

wizabef
17-05-2011, 09:36
Shananaaah - I've lived up here pretty much my whole life (spent around 2 years in Syd, and a year in Tassie) and I love the fresh air. I also like the cold - I don't cope well in heat, so I have been loving the cold weather lately (apart from the fact that I am trying to get stuff done before we have two kids, including painting) and it is harder in the cold!)

Catbiscuit - which brand of cloth nappies do you use? The 3 year old we are getting is still in nappies and I would prefer to use cloth :)

18-05-2011, 19:08

Wb Catbiscuit, i can totally understand with you having a new lil one and the juggling act, it takes time to get your routine all sorted. :)

Well i had my tonsillectomy yesterday so feeling a bit tired and sore.:yes: My throat feels like razor blades, but hopefully it wont last long. So much better knowing they are out and long gone!! :D

Well hope you lovely ladies are doing well, and chat with you soon. :wave:

Shananaaah
18-05-2011, 21:00
Hi everyone! Good to hear you all love the mountains so much - I'm really looking forward to getting up there!

Jaydensmum, how are you feeling? Is it true you get to eat all the ice cream you want??!!! :smiliedance:

So tell me ladies - how cold has it REALLY been up there? If we've had ice on the windscreen at Emu Plains for the last 3 days, I can only imagine what it's been like up there!

And I'd love some advice on the Best and Worst of what's up there - for example, I believe there is now an ALDI at Katoomba. Is that true? Do you find you have to come into Penrith much? Is there loads of kids activities etc? Are you happy with the schools or daycare etc your kids go to?

I'd love your experience! Hope you are all very well and keeping warm :hugs:.

eviestar
19-05-2011, 19:44
Hi everyone:wave:, How yucky is this smoke.

catbiscuit, Congrats on the little one. I'm the same, I always have a look on my phone but find it a pain posting on it and wait till I get a chance on the computer.

Jaydensmum, :hugs::hugs: Hope you have a quick recovery.

Shananaaah, I have lived up here most of my life, was born in Sydney, grew up in Blackheath and have lived in Katoomba/Leura for about 6 years.
I do like it up here, wish there was a bit more to do on a rainy day, but I find the drive to to Sydney or Penrith pretty easy if I want to get out of here.
There is an ALDI in Katoomba now and also a Woolies in Leura.
I do love that it's a very close community.

wizabef, what an amazing thing you are doing. Hope it is a smooth transition for you all.

20-05-2011, 17:19
Hi ladies! :wave:

Shana - yep theres an aldi's at katoomba now and woolies at leura. They are also developing woolies and big w at katoomba.
I hardly ever go into penrith or big city areas, katoomba caters for the basics. I suppose if you really need something more specific you would have to travel. I have been more than happy with both the preschool and school up here for my kids. They are very caring people and focus a lot of time on the kids development. :) It was very cold last week with days hitting below the minuses. But this week it has been lovely, with sunfilled days everyday!! :smiliedance:

Well yesterday my recovery got worse. I ended up having fevers of the high 30's and my face, throat and neck all swelled up decreasing my talking abilities and breathing. So i had to be put on steroids and antibiotics to reduce swelling and infection. Thank god it worked and i feel much better today. Im still pretty sore and eating food is like fire going down but its slowly getting there. :yes:

Well i hope you all have a lovely weekend and chat with you all soon. :hugs:

jjeanh87
08-06-2011, 11:16
Hi =) I live in the blue mountains in Katoomba! I also run Calmbirth classes, childbirth education & doula support in the area! Lovely to meet you all =) If you want to know more about me jump on my website! www.holisticfamilysupport.com.au

Hope your all enjoying this windy cold wintery day =) wouldnt be the mountains without the weather i guess!

Xo Jacquie

CaitlinArai22
03-08-2011, 12:32
there are probably few people that remember me on the hub anymore, i used to spend a lot of time on here. I am back online and living in the lower mountains, really need a play group or something for my 2 yr old, we are bored and lonely. Any recommendations, please let me know, xox

jjeanh87
04-08-2011, 07:41
The ones i love and go to with my 1.5 year old and 3 year old are the ABA ones at lawson and katoomba (every thursday fortnight) and homebirth group every first thursday and littlies homeschool group on friday fortnights =)

08-09-2011, 18:55
Hi girls :wave: Welcome Caitlin and Jjean to the group. :D

Unfortuantely during those big winds back in july i had a tree come through my house in katoomba. So im now living in a rental property with the kids until the house gets fixed. Its been a horrible last two months but hopefully things start settling down now. Well hope all is going well with everyone and just thought id pop in and say hi and that im still around. :D

2sofar
19-09-2011, 14:01
Hi guys, i live in Penrith but would like to meet some new mums as we are trying for our third bub atm. Do you guys have a regular catch up group going?

Lahri
18-10-2011, 21:53
Hi all, I am about to move back up to the Blue Mountains so looking forward to meeting some new mums and their little ones. I originally moved to the mountains from England almost 5 years ago but both our little girls were born in Canberra. I can't say I am looking forward to coming back up and I know I am really going to miss it here.

I hope to get to know some of you and would really appreciate some ideas on good play groups being as I didn't have the girls last time round. Our oldest daughter turned 3 in July and our youngest will turn 2 in January. My husband is going to be working really long hours so not looking forward to it.

I am not sure if there is a regular catch up going 2sofar but I would be keen to start one up. I am used to it in Canberra so anything I can keep as a routine for the girls and get them some new friends would be great.

Jenna

awhite
24-12-2011, 02:56
Hello All,

I am new to the bubhub site but thought I would join as I will soon be moving to the Blue Mountains from Sydney early Jan 2012 due to Hubby landing a job in Lithgow.

I have a 3 year old boy and another baby due in Feb ..and so as you can imagine..its all very exciting and scary at the same time with so much happening at once.

We have always lived in Sydney, but have loved visiting the mountains whenever we can...we are looking at areas such as Leura, Katoomba, Wentworth Falls for renting.

I know it is going to be a complete change of lifestyle for us and my biggest fear is feeling isolated, bored or lonely...and so I would love any advice or information you can share when it comes to childcare, playgroups etc in the area.

Thanks so much ladies

Anna ; )

fiveforsilver
27-12-2011, 20:25
Hi Anna, (and others!)
I just stumbled across this forum and am in a really similar position to you - we've just bought a house in Katoomba and will be moving up from Sydney next December. It's going to be a big jolt so I'm pretty keen to make connections too! Obviously I'm a year out though, but noticing that your post was so recent, I thought I had to reply :)
Emma

jjeanh87
27-12-2011, 23:12
Hi im Jacquie =) i have lived in the mountains all of my life and have always liked it, now that i have 3 children of my own i can say i LOVE living here! the community is just beautiful that i am involved in, i regulary go to the local ABA, HOMESCHOOL, NATURAL PARENTING AND ALSO HOMEBIRTH PLAYGROUPS UP HERE and highly recommend them to anyone wanting a friendly & positive group to hang out with! please do feel free to email me for more details =) enjoy your move! jacquie@holisticfamilysupport.com.au:wave:

jjeanh87
27-12-2011, 23:13
my website is www.holisticfamilysupport.com.au if my services can help you in anyway =) oh & my children are all little boys aged nearly 4, just 2 & 3 months old =):)

proud-mum
27-12-2011, 23:41
I'm living at the bottom of the Mountains now, and just subscribing to say hello & that I'd love to meet up for a playdate if one is being organised!

Sent from my iPhone, using Tapatalk

awhite
28-12-2011, 14:32
Hi Emma, ( Everyone)
Yes, big jolt indeed...but one that I am looking forward ; )
Congratulations on your new home purchase what a fantastic project to embark on for the new year..lots to look forward to...and I look forward to making a new friend once you settle in ; )

Jacquie, that makes me feel so much better knowing how happy you have been living in the mountains and the activities and facilities available for Mum/Kids...thanks so much for sharing your details...I will be sure to connect once we are settled in ; )

Proud Mum - playdate sounds great once we are settled in, it would be wonderful to get enough mum/kids involved to make it a regular thing too? how old are your little ones?

proud-mum
28-12-2011, 15:55
Hello awhite :wave: yes it would be great to have a regular Mummies meet up! And my little boy is 13 months old :) I'd love to see him make some little friends in the area!

Sent from my iPhone, using Tapatalk

wizabef
29-12-2011, 07:11
Hi Everyone :-)
I'm a mountains girl but still settling in to being a Mum! We have two foster kids (5 and 3) who have been living with us for almost 7 months now. Would love to meet up with other Mums in the area if a meeting is planned :-).

Jacquie - might have to pick your brains about home school at some stage (still fighting for my daughter to not have to go to school at all next year but if she has too I'll then be arguing for home school :-))

awhite
30-01-2012, 00:19
Hello All,

We have now officially made the move and have settled in a lovely home in Leura. Still early days yet with lots of unpacking to do and still trying to find our groove and prepare for baby No 2's arrival ...but I would love to soon meet up with other mums who are keen for their little ones to make some new friends in the area. : )

Lahri
19-02-2012, 07:36
;);):hugs::hugs::celebrate::no::(:confused::goodvi bes::eek::laughing::hair::cheerleader1: (sorry my daughter wanted these on the post ;) )

Sorry all it has been a while since I last posted in here. We moved up to Katoomba and stayed at Lilianfels for about 8 weeks, we finally moved into our house on the 10th Jan and my parents arrived for 3 weeks just after that. They have now returned home and we are settling back into our normal routine.

I attend quite a few playgroups now and my eldest daughter has just started pre-school (at her request) one day a week. I am always keen to meet up and meet other mums in the area, I am not so keen about being up here but trying hard to find my 'mountain feet' again. It has been a while since we last lived up here.

We are living in Wentworth Falls, which I love, but miss Canberra.

Awhite hope the last few days of your pregnancy is going well, perhaps by now you have had your little one and enjoying those newborn cuddles again.

Let me know when you feel up to getting out and we can try to arrange something. The same applies to anyone else who fancies meeting up, I went to a great play group on Thursday in Wentworth Falls as well, the best one I have found up here so far, let me know if anyone wants details.

Jacquie it would be good to meet up with you at some point, let me know when you are free.

Emma it will be good to meet you when you finally move up at the end of this year, let us know if you pop up beforehand.

wizabef likewise if you want to meet up let me know, hope the fostering is going well.

Speak soon.

Jenna

jjeanh87
20-02-2012, 07:36
Hi Jenna, lovely to hear you are up here!

Id love to meet up have you thought about coming along to story time at katoomba library on wed mornings? or the australian breastfeeding association or the homebirth group meetings on thursdays up here or the homeschool group on mondays for little ones under 5? we go to all of those if you wanted to come along anytime =) =)
my email is jacquei@micahandco.com.au

Enjoy this sunny weather!

Xo Jacquie

jjeanh87
20-02-2012, 07:37
Im happy for you all to email me direct would love to meet you sometime!! =)

wizabef
21-02-2012, 08:49
Hi Jenna,

Nice to hear you are up here :-).

It would be great to meet up sometime, and I would love the info for the play group you went to :-).

Lahri
11-03-2012, 08:30
I already go to story time on Wed mornings at Katoomba library so probably already see some of you there. I will be there again this week with my two daughters. Will have to try to find some of you there.

The play group I go to on a Thursday is at Wentworth Falls Anglican Church, it is from 10-12 in their hall. They ask for a dollar contribution per child and provide sandwiches and fruit for the children at lunch time (well 11.30) and morning tea for the parents/carers. They ask for people to help out with morning tea (adults) and art activities etc but not compulsary. Lovely group of mums and a variety of toys for the kids to play with. Mainly aimed at the younger ones but my 3.5 year old still seems to enjoy it. I think the street of the church is Armstrong street.

Hope to see some of you soon.