View Full Version : *spinoff* If you are a personal trainer, or you use a personal trainer...

zephani
16-04-2011, 23:06
What would you suggest as a home workout for an overweight woman trying to loose weight?

I have been exercising and trying to eat better since November. Since then I have lost 15kgs :smiliedance: but I definitely need to lose more :yes:

Currently I am walking between 10 - 20km a week, attend aquarobics twice a week and aiming for a calorie intake of 1200 calories a day (which I have only blown once this week). This all sounds good :yes: right? But somehow I've put on 1.4kgs this week :eek: I just don't understand! How did I end up putting on weight with all this work :hair:? I really want to continue loosing weight before we start ttc #2 (which :fingerscrossed: :babydust1: will be a quick process!)

Unfortunately it is POURING raining and forecasts suggest that it will stay that way for days and days. My other issue that I have a 2 year old who I try to fit exercise around plus I'm not in a position to afford a gym. So what can I do for exercise at home either working around DD or when she is in bed?

I know that there are exercises, stretches, weight training etc that can be done at home. And I'm looking for suggestions of a program or something?

TIA

decambla
16-04-2011, 23:10
Congratulations on your weight loss, what a terrific effort.

Could you recent gain possibly be fluid?

I am currently taking duromine to help lose weight I rapidly put on (19kgs in 22 months) and couldn't take off no matter what I did. My first week I lost 4kgs, but today I have put back on 1.2kgs. AF is due Monday so I assuming it's fluid.

Mrs Nietzsche
16-04-2011, 23:12
If you've put on weight on that regime I'd say either constipation or fluid.

BabelFish
16-04-2011, 23:22
Or I'd say you're not eating enough. Calorie restriction makes your body think it's starving and therefore makes it store fat.

Is 1200 a day considered normal for weight loss or is it quite extreme?

delirium
16-04-2011, 23:23
Buy yourself a skipping rope. Great cardio for wet weather, you can do it in front of the TV. If you have the money invest in some dumb bells and do squats while raising the dumb bells over your head then bringing them down... hard to explain. Doing 3 reps of 12, you'll find it gets your heart rate up, plus tones.

Is it that time of the month? I always find I put on a kilo or 2 at that time. You may be carrying fluid, may sure you drink lots of water, your body holds the water when you are dehydrated.

Finally, change up your exercise and calorie intake. Sometimes your body gets used to the same cardio and daily intake. So swim one day and consume 1200 cals, the next run, and consume 1400 etc. You'll find your body doesn't store the fat as much as it's unsure what consumption you will have the next day if that makes sense.

iMischa
16-04-2011, 23:35
if you have stairs ;) id be going up and down up and down up and down, time yourself and try to beat that time every go!

decambla
16-04-2011, 23:36
I thought 1000-1200 was appropriate consumption for weight loss. Maybe I'm mistaken?

Or I'd say you're not eating enough. Calorie restriction makes your body think it's starving and therefore makes it store fat.

Is 1200 a day considered normal for weight loss or is it quite extreme?

delirium
16-04-2011, 23:40
Under 1200 (particularly if there's lots of exercise) will lead to the body storing fat as it's in starvation mode.

zephani
17-04-2011, 00:03

I don't feel like I am starving. In fact I feel like I am eating all the time. Below is a copy of one of my days out of calorie king and except for the Red Rock chips I ate really well (and I burned the chips off with exercise). The numbers at the end of each food are for calories and kilojoules, in that order.

Breakfast
1 tub (175g) of Yoplait: Yoghurt: Forme, No Fat, Banana & Creamy Honey 74 306
60 g of Fruit, fresh: Melon, Watermelon, raw, edible portion 18 76
60 g of Fruit, fresh: Melon, Rockmelon, raw, edible portion 17 72
Meal Total 109 454

Lunch
1 can (220g) of SPC: Canned: Spaghetti, Rich Tomato, Average All Sizes 174 726
1 serving (20g) of Coles: Cheese: Coles, Shredded, Mozzarella, Lite 49 206
1 two slices (74g) of Coles: Bread: Coles, Sliced Loaf, Soy Linseed 201 839
Meal Total 424 1771

Dinner
150 g of McCain: Vegetables, frozen: Mixes, Carrot, Cauliflower, Broccoli & Beans 35 146
50 g of Vegetables, cooked: Potato, Mashed, w. milk & butter 53 222
1 Serve of Symply Meatloaf 224 936
Meal Total 312 1303

Snacks
60 g of Fruit, fresh: Melon, Watermelon, raw, edible portion 18 76
60 g of Fruit, fresh: Melon, Rockmelon, raw, edible portion 17 72
1 small bunch, 20 medium size, 120g (118g) of Fruit, fresh: Grapes, Green, average all types, raw, edible portion 80 335
1 large, 210g with skin, 18cm/7" (135g) of Fruit, fresh: Banana, raw, edible portion 122 510
1 small, 150g (106g) of Fruit, fresh: Orange, average all types, raw, edible portion 45 186
1 packet (100g) of Red Rock Deli Chip Company: Potato Chips: Sea Salt 488 2040
Meal Total 770 3219

Day Total 1614 6748

Exercise
72 mins Walking 5 kph -391 -1638
Exercise Total -391 -1638

Calories

You have used 1222 out of your net daily budget of 1200 calories and have -22 calories remaining. 24% of the calories are from fat, 17% from protein, 60% from carbs and 0% from alcohol.

Buy yourself a skipping rope. Great cardio for wet weather, you can do it in front of the TV.

Is it that time of the month? I always find I put on a kilo or 2 at that time. You may be carrying fluid, may sure you drink lots of water, your body holds the water when you are dehydrated.

I've heard that skipping is great cardio. Thanks for the tip. It's not that time of the month. It is nearly ovulation time though, does that make a difference?

Thanks for the info ladies. Keep it coming.

zephani
17-04-2011, 00:40
Bump

Hopefully this time it'll appear in new posts :-)

zephani
17-04-2011, 18:19
Another shameless bump.

BigRedV
17-04-2011, 18:36
It could also mean you are toning up and gaining muscle. You should also always take your measurements as if you plateau on the scales, you can see if you are still losing weight with measurements.

If you have consistently been losing weight since November, I would say it is a plateau. They are inevitable.

TripleTime
17-04-2011, 18:43
Remember muscle weighs more than fat. So while you've gained a bit, it could be muscle, especially if your toning.

Cheerilee
17-04-2011, 18:52
I also thought that that amount of calories was low.

If you have put on muscle not just lost fat then your body needs more calories to work. It also depends on the amount of exercise you are doing.

Another thing you could try is to up your protein intake, for some people that makes a difference. By the way I don't mean to cut out carbs by that at all. Just increase protein in your diet as it is now.

Have a look at this one as it takes into account the amount of exercise you are doing as well as your weight and height :)

http://calculators.hpathy.com/calories-need.asp

MissSteph
17-04-2011, 19:09
Hi OP,

1200 calories is good for weightloss.

Your lunch isn't the best meal for weightloss. Baked beans would be better than spaghetti, but personally I would do something like canned Tuna or salmon, or grilled chicken breast (size of your palm) with salads (no dressing, or very very minimal ie a teaspoon). For breakfast I would have a bowl of oats. Keeps you fuller for longer and just a great breakfast all around especially as you are exercising.

As for exercise, I do YouTube work outs. I love the "8 minute abs" workout. There's also 8 minute arms, legs etc.

HTH

confusd
17-04-2011, 19:09
skipping is HARD! :laughing: I was like Pfft... skipping thats easy.. i lasted about 2 min :eek: my goal was to get to 10min :)

I did personal training and we used to do a lot of kick boxing. Do step ups on your couch or anything you have available. Punch the air with weights in your hands. Run on the spot and lift your knees as high as you can.
We used to have to run/ ride the bike for a 2min as fast as we could then jump off and do a plank for 30sec-1min as "resting time" and repeat 10 times.
When your watching tv do crunches or start jumps or push ups during the ads.
My DD used to do it with me :laughing:

My sister has some billy boot camp(?? i think) dvd's. You could do them when you get the time at home in your lounge room.
The goal is to get your heart rate up. Remember to warm up and stretch!

I cant help you with the diet stuff. I KNOW how to do it all and how to eat the right things but i have 0 will power to do so. ( i crave sugar :p ) I lost over 15kg doing exercise but not changing anything in my diet. I try not to think about how much i could of lost if i had just stuck to the Healthy eating.

Hope some of that helps.

quitecontrary
17-04-2011, 20:23
Zeph - there are all sort of dvds etc out there, plus those youtube 8 minute exercises sound great.
I would reckon that your gain is hormonal. My weight often fluctuates upwards, I usually call it a glitch! But often by a kg before AF.
I thought you had treadmill?? I know you have some stairs in your home!
Oh yeah, and skipping is deadly! I got a rope a while a back and used it a few times and boy oh boy is that exhausting!

tiggerfields
17-04-2011, 20:30
I use a TRX at home - love it love it LOVE IT. Can use while kids are up and about, in pretty much any room. I use mine over the loungeroom door. Cannot recommend it highly enough - gets your heartrate right up there and really builds muscle.

http://www.trxtraining.com/

meme
17-04-2011, 21:23
I would add some weight training into you r routine. Simple like squats, and lunges for legs (can be done with handweights too or just without, lots of variations on how to do them. so far I've done split squats, which are lunges repetitively done on one side for a certain amount of times and then the other leg, lunges where you step them up the hallway and then back again, squats with a medicine ball between outstretched hands, jump squats where you squat and then jump, regular squats, bench squats) and some arm exercises for biceps and triceps. Tricep dips can be done using a chair or bench fairly easily, and I use little dumbells for bicep curls. Also if you are strong enough push ups. And some crunches for abs. I personally like fitballs too, and the idea of strengthening the core.
I do variations of this stuff with and without a personal trainer, weight training stuff first usually as apparently you use the energy from the food you have eaten before stored fat, and then cardio after to try to shift the stored fat( although I can get puffed with the weight training too, so I feel it's quite cardio for me too).

I would up the protein too. I try to have some sort of protein with every meal. I really like adding some LSA to my cereal in the morning.

Muscle ups the metabolism, I think - so building your bodies muscle will help burn more fat even when you are sitting still.

I am no expert at all, and it sounds like you are doing fantastic anyway, this could just be a blip where you need a bit of a change to your routine.

iMischa
17-04-2011, 22:01
when i skip i knock myself out with a booby to the head. OR my gut which has 2 c section scars hiding under there, feels like its going to rip open! eeep.

do u have any exercise equip at home?

i'm desperate for a treadmill! then i can be fit and still continue to be a hermit!!

zephani
17-04-2011, 22:51
Your lunch isn't the best meal for weightloss. Baked beans would be better than spaghetti, but personally I would do something like canned Tuna or salmon, or grilled chicken breast (size of your palm) with salads (no dressing, or very very minimal ie a teaspoon). For breakfast I would have a bowl of oats. Keeps you fuller for longer and just a great breakfast all around especially as you are exercising.

As for exercise, I do YouTube work outs. I love the "8 minute abs" workout. There's also 8 minute arms, legs etc.

HTH

My lunch example was only one day. Usually I would have tuna or lean ham on cruskits with a side salad or fruit and youghurt. For breakfast it is usually fruit and yoghurt or Uncle Toby's Plus Essentials for Women and skim milk.

I need to look into some of those 8 minute workouts.

I thought you had treadmill?? I know you have some stairs in your home!

Oh yeah, and skipping is deadly! I got a rope a while a back and used it a few times and boy oh boy is that exhausting!

I do have a treadmill and I use it often. One of the things I've been wondering is if I need to change or up the exercise to increase weightloss. Walking and treadmill is the same time of exercise. Maybe I should do the weights or kickboxing video workout on the days that are raining?

do u have any exercise equip at home?

I have a treadmill, which I mentioned above and we have a wii fit but I need to buy another workout game or something as I am getting bored with the one that I have.

Btw Mish I need to tell you that your posts often have me LOL IRL :laughing:

BigRedV
17-04-2011, 22:55
Walk on an incline on the treadmill or jog for 30 seconds, rest, jog but increase speed by 0.5km after each 30 second rest.

bumMum
17-04-2011, 23:16
Under 1200 (particularly if there's lots of exercise) will lead to the body storing fat as it's in starvation mode.
is that actually true? because people always say that, but i starved at the beginning of this pregnancy. actually i vomitted anything i ate for about 4 months. most calories i would have kept down in a day was probably 50-100. and I lost heaps of weight.

DanceInTheRain
17-04-2011, 23:35
I would have a bigger breakfast. Just over 100 cals is not enough for brekkie. I'd have a filling, nutritious brekkie of approx 300 cals. Mid morning snack 100-200 cals. Lunch 300 cals. Afternoon snack 100-200cals. Dinner 300 cals. If still hungry late at night and you haven't overdone it during the day, have a small protein based snack.

Make all your meals as nutritious as possible using whole foods, fruits, vegetables, spices and herbs. Limit saturated (animal) fat by limiting meat and dairy intake. When you do have these things go for lean cuts of meat, natural yoghurts, low fat milk etc. Limit processed/refined/high salt foods. Try to eat every 2.5-3 hours. Do a range of cardio and weight training, mix it up and keep your body on it's toes. I'd be surprised if you don't lose weight adhering to this type of routine. Good luck!

Daydream Believer
18-04-2011, 01:51
Hey! My hubby specialized in workouts using your own bodyweight for resistance, I'll discuss it with him and get back to you. His favourite thin to torture me with is lunges. Walk the length of your biggest room, dropping your back knee as close to the ground as your can. You will feel the burn!!
Also, get a ball and put it between a wall and your back and do squats that way, you can go further down because you can kind of push against the ball on the way back up. (Best with a Swiss ball... I don't know if any other kind of ball would be strong or soft enough). Skipping is great, also, google burpees. They are horrific! And so very good for weight loss. If you're bored of sit ups/crunches, try holding yourself in a pushup position (on your elbows though, as in, put your entire forearm on the ground with your arm bent at the elbow) and hold it for 30 seconds and work up from there. I dare you not to get sore abs from that! :)
Good on you! That's a lot of weight to lose on your own!
I'm using myfitnesspal and it gives me 1850cals a day, with a goal of losing 1.5pounds a week, and if I go below 1200cals it tells me I'm in starvation mode, but so far I've lost 4.1kgs in 2 weeks and I find that even 1100cals a day is a lot of food. :)
Keep it up!!!

tootiredtosleep
18-04-2011, 09:59
I like Wii Active, it has some boxing which is great for stress release & I don't mind Wii Sports Resort table tennis & sword fighting, again a great stress release.

I've also been doing the biggest loser Dvds and I have found them to be great. They have a bit of everything in them, including boxing and some pyramid training which has bought tears to my eyes.

I have about 11kgs to lose and I am aiming to lose about 3kgs a month. I've cut out all sugar and I feel so much better already.