View Full Version : What is your baby's sleep time comforter?

16-09-2006, 06:44
Hey guys,

Just wondering what does your baby take to bed with him or her....if anything?

Mine has a Playgro Chewy Links Cat. Its so cute he cuddles it to sleep after he has finished sucking on it! LOL :p

When he wakes in the middle of the night you will hear him talking to it, and shaking it....the soft part of the toy also has a rattle in it. When I put him in bed he reaches for it, and if not in his reach, I have to move it over so he can grab it.

Yesterday I went to Target and bought another one, JUST IN CASE it ever gets lost! HEAVEN FORBID! :eek:

So...what does your bub have?

jasminesmum
16-09-2006, 07:32
My dd has face washers. She started off just liking the tags, now she loves the whole washer. She usually has about 3 or 4 in her cot so she can find them in the night.
Shes pretty fussy though and will only have the washers from Best and Less cause they have soft tags.:laughing: I've had to stock up on them so now we have heaps.

16-09-2006, 08:31
usually its nothing but on the rare occassion it will be her blanket

Karizma
16-09-2006, 08:34
My DS#1 has a blanket that I have sewn back together twice now. His favorite thing in the world :yes: Now he also sleeps with his ferbie the in thing at the moment and his blanky

Jem
16-09-2006, 08:34
bottle.... nothing but bottle :D

rainbowbaby
16-09-2006, 08:35
BIBS MILLIONS OF BIBS!!!!!!

My dd has had a thing for bibs since she was very small, she is quite specific about them too, they have to be the terry towelling ones, you get them at Woolies with the velcro back, we have what seems like millions of them, I found them everywhere in my handbags, my car, my sports bag, bed etc. We have always called them bibbys and she cannot go to sleep without a whole armful load.

Getting a little bit worried about how I am going to wean her off them and definitely not going to introduce it with the next one!:D

EskimoMumma
16-09-2006, 08:37
DD needs her teddy/lamb, whatever soft plush toy is available(so far) and her blanket snuggled up. Even while nursing her to sleep or giving her a bottle in the cot she needs those :rolleyes:

16-09-2006, 08:53
MJs bedtime comforter is me :D

zacks mum
16-09-2006, 09:08
My little man uses a cloth nappy, We call it his nap nap, he just loves it, Wont go to sleep without one..

Miaow
16-09-2006, 09:11
MJs bedtime comforter is me :D

EJs is me also at pres LOL though Im trying to get her back into her cot during the night but so far that will last all of 2 hours...

KaM
16-09-2006, 09:30
Matilda's is me as well . .well my booby to be exact. . if you move it away from her the mouth starts going on a hiunt for it .. sometimes she doesnt care and just starts trying to suck in the side and not the nipple.. its so funny

16-09-2006, 10:07
DD1 - has a cabbage patch doll.

DS2 - has a bear.

DD2 - has her dummy.

16-09-2006, 10:26
DD aged 14 months comforter is her blanket, she gets SO happy when u pull it up over her and she rubs her legs against it and feels it in her hand lol problem is she usually chooses to sleep on top of it cuddling it so we have to put another blanket on her during the night!

DS isn't a baby, hes almost 4 but he sleeps with 'blue blankie' and always rubs the silky bit between his fingers (blue blankie comes EVERYwhere with us...yesterday at the doctors he amazed me when he actually chose to leave blankie in the CAR!!!)

DSS aged almost 5 doesnt NEED his comforter (he can sleep without it easily) but he too has a blanket with a silk edging that he just likes on top of time and then his doona on top of that

faery
16-09-2006, 10:49
me....or rather my boobie!

MissSparkle
16-09-2006, 13:41
DS likes to hold his sipper cup......with about 1cm of water in it......he also likes to have matchbox car in the cot as well!!

Percy
16-09-2006, 14:08
DS isn't overly attached to anything, but i do put him to bed everynight with the same blanket. Its so soft and fluffy.

Mischief................. great idea about buying another one. Might just do that incase he is more attached than i thought!

joe
16-09-2006, 14:13
Nothing for us...it never even occured to me to give him something :o

Worm'sMum
16-09-2006, 14:20
Worm has 2 dummies and her teddy bear called 'bucket'. She puts her arm around bucket and alternates the dummies in her mouth and hand until she falls asleep!!

BabyJoy
16-09-2006, 15:10
I chose "Blanket" because my daughter loves her blanket with the puppy head sewn on it, but she prefers to cuddle into a pink singlet I gave her... it's an old Bonds one that I wore right through pregnancy, so it smells like me. I tried it out with her when she was really restless about a month ago and it's worked wonders with getting her to sleep! Even after I've washed it. So I suppose it's similar to a blanket.

angcaltam
16-09-2006, 15:28
DD's is just her blankets in the cot. Doesn't matter which one as long as she can cuddle it. Trying to get her to take her special little blanket with a teddies head on it but no luck so far.

As for DS1 and DS2 it is each other. They will not go to bed without the other. Drives me nuts if 1 of them is sick.:yes: :banghead:

LittleBoysRock
16-09-2006, 15:30
DS has a teddy who is affectionatley named 'Stinky'....he is VERY well loved and gets taken everywhere!

Mamaduke
16-09-2006, 15:33
Lukey's not really a baby anymore but he makes sure that every night "Bankie" & "Money" are with him..."Bankie" is his lambskin he's had since he was born and "Money" is his little stuffed Peter Rabbit.
Funny how both his dearly loved sleeping pals have financial names!!!
We were once over 1/2 an hour away from home (on our way to Barwon Heads for the weekend) when we realised we'd left "Bankie" at home...a quick u-turn and straight home to pick it up!!!

16-09-2006, 16:58
Hayley has a dummy and one of those blankets with the teddy head on it (though I'm pretty sure she prefers the dummy alot better)

16-09-2006, 17:51
Sometimes he will take a toy to chew on.

mumtok&z
16-09-2006, 18:10
DS1 goes to bed with a 60cm Dorothy the Dinosaur stuffed toy. It looks quite funny cause he is only in a toddler bed and dorothy takes up more room than him!
DS2 goes to sleep with a dummy.

Pixie
16-09-2006, 18:15
Me I am the comforter :D

mz sv6
16-09-2006, 18:16
My dd has face washers. She started off just liking the tags, now she loves the whole washer. She usually has about 3 or 4 in her cot so she can find them in the night.
Shes pretty fussy though and will only have the washers from Best and Less cause they have soft tags.:laughing: I've had to stock up on them so now we have heaps.

my DS is the same he loves to sleep with a face washer on the side of his face and he also likes the ones from best and less

jessgray
16-09-2006, 18:51
DS1 has a bottle and a dummy and a cookie monster and me at bedtime lol
cookie monster gets tucked in next to ds1 and he hugs me and drinks a bottle till he falls asleep :)

lovemybub
16-09-2006, 19:03
DD likes to have her dummy, but also me. If she wakes up during the night, she reaches out her hands until she finds my face, then plays with my lips while she goes back to sleep. Very sweet, but sometimes it hurts a bit because she doesn't always let me clip her nails when they need it :eek:

mythreelittlemonkeys
16-09-2006, 20:26
tillie has 2...well 3 if you count the dummy that goes in and she spitsout within 5 minutes...tillies little friends that she needs are lamb donut(a steiff lamb with skirts) and oggie (a little green blankie with frog head) she has had these tucked under each arm since she came out of hospital pretty much...and she wont go down at night without them unless she with/on me...and she not anymore...
http://static.flickr.com/84/244460441_a84534e4fa_o.jpg
http://static.flickr.com/58/203760252_3ce1f44679_o.jpg

cobysmummy
16-09-2006, 20:51
cobys is satin boxer shorts!! :laughing:

whether they are his or his daddys!! he puts them under his chin and tilts his head!! he walks around the house with him when he gets tired... they are letf everywhere... dont know what ppl would think coz dps boxers are strewn all throughout the house!!! :rolleyes:

and then he needs his pillow also... the other day i washed his pillow case.. i alternate 2 different patterns which he doesnt mind... but he saw me hang one on the line and chucked a mental!! :D i had to show him his pillow was indeed ok!!

angcaltam
16-09-2006, 20:52
tillie has 2...well 3 if you count the dummy that goes in and she spitsout within 5 minutes...tillies little friends that she needs are lamb donut(a steiff lamb with skirts) and oggie (a little green blankie with frog head) she has had these tucked under each arm since she came out of hospital pretty much...and she wont go down at night without them unless she with/on me...and she not anymore...
http://static.flickr.com/84/244460441_a84534e4fa_o.jpg
http://static.flickr.com/58/203760252_3ce1f44679_o.jpg

They are such cute photo's. You will have lots of trouble keeping the boys away from her when she gets older.:yes: :yes: :laughing: :laughing:

mythreelittlemonkeys
16-09-2006, 21:01
My DH already told her no boyfriends til 21 otherwise he'll march her to a nunnery! :D yeh I always think she cutie but you never know whether mothers love is blind :D !!

our little treasures
16-09-2006, 21:19
I am dd's and ds's comforter although ds helps out too so I suppose both of us are!! I hope we always are even when we have all four..

QTB
17-09-2006, 12:10
Brayden has a small soft dog (Remy) and his dummy....wont go to bed without either! eeek

MrsMiggins
17-09-2006, 12:16
~sigh!~ It's me!

DD won't go to sleep without having a cuddle! The only exception is when she falls asleep in the car.

I have tried & tried & tried to introduce comfort items - all to no avail!:rolleyes:

2 Cherubs
17-09-2006, 13:11
James just likes to have his dummy and his musical mobile on....(doesnt stress if the mobile doesnt go on but is my little comforter for him) lol

Duchessa
17-09-2006, 13:37
My girls have a whole menagerie of animals they pass between their cots. They also like to have a dummy in their hand :confused: and they absolutely will not go to sleep unless they have it and one for their mouth as well.

JenNT
17-09-2006, 18:13
Jaime has a bear her daddy gave her when she was born, she's 7 now and Bronte is still going strong,Ben has a puppy called Smarky and Lucas has a leapfrog brand Tad the frog that plays music.He also loves his fisher price aquarium.

lukaelmo
17-09-2006, 18:24
Luka has a blankie, it's a muslin cloth... I love that he loves it, it breaks my heart.

17-09-2006, 20:02
DD1 had a little pink Avon 'My First Teddy', but that soon died (or rather, i swapped him for another one before he totally died, so i can keep him as a memento for her).

DD2 has a 'Kutie the Kat' Baby Ty beanie baby thingo, and loves it! He is so grotty now though, even after being washed every couple of weeks. I bought 2 of them, but she only loves the original. :rolleyes:

*My Lil Blondie*
17-09-2006, 20:30
ds likes to hold my hand when he goes to sleep ( i know, awwww so cute)
which i absolutely love but lately he has been waking at night and only going back to sleep when i hold his little chubby hand. so ive introduced a blue satin trimmed blankie with one of those teddy heads, ive also sprayed it with some of my BabyDoll perfume that i wear and so far we've had 2 nights without waking for a hand hold :thumbsup:

blessedmummy
17-09-2006, 20:33
my youngest dd uses a dummy still:o....only at night though, she uses it to settle herself and go to sleep, i have tried to wean her off it, but to no avial..alwell,, soon i spose!

bigglet
17-09-2006, 21:20
Hi Mischief! :wave:

Emily has the same cat toy your little one has!! We call him Simba after our own ginger cat - she loves to chew on the chew rings or suck on his tail and his white belly is not really white anymore - more of a grey color :p
She "talks" to him as well.... just babbles to him! It's so cute!!

Her dummy is also her best friend - she gazes at it adoringly as well. :D

vanillabean
17-09-2006, 21:54
My DD (19 months) has a little white lamb that is so cute. She calls it lambie and constantly kisses and cuddles it and everyone else has to do the same.

ETsMum
18-09-2006, 19:29
DS has a bib or face washer to chew/suck/drool on....

natasha
18-09-2006, 21:15
DD has always slept with one dummy in her mouth and one in her hand.

19-09-2006, 09:37
There are so many different conforters!

Oliver reaches for his now, now we just need to remember to take it if we ever go away!!!!!!!

Rockett
19-09-2006, 12:45
DD has a dummy which she calls "mumma" (all her dummies are called mumma lol) and also likes to pull the collar of her sleeping bag or whatever she is wearing,up under her dummy,so the fabric is resting on her chin/side of cheek.Very cute!

FunkyMonkey
19-09-2006, 13:04
Tarquin has a dummy but doesn't always want it for night time sleeps. If he falls asleep on the boobie he refuses it.(So i guess I'm a comforter too!!) But for daytime sleeps he usually wants his dummy. He also has a elephant (for the no dummy times) named Winks, he sucks on his trunk and cuddles him to his chest.
He also alternates between wanting the NUK ones and the TommyTippee ones. Will throw quite the wobbly if you get it wrong.:laughing:

Roxy
19-09-2006, 21:28
A teddy head blanket.....he loves them so much that I went and stocked up on them.

We now have about 8 of them. :laughing: :o

SuperWoman
19-09-2006, 21:47
My DS loves to hold his dummy. He doesn't use it anymore for sleep but he only settles if he is holding onto it!! Too cute!!:D

20-09-2006, 12:49
DS has a teddy but doesn't usually notice or mind if it's been left back in the lounge room or is in the post heading this way after being left at the grandparent's house... Thankfully!