View Full Version : BF when flying?

priya
15-09-2006, 08:13

So we are going to India on 1 Oct. I have got my tickets in hand and was wondering about BF. There is one stop in between[ Singapore]. The first flight is of 8 hours 30 min and the second is of 6hours with a stay in between of 11 hours at Singapore.

I was just reading an article from a magazine and it mentioned that mik supply can reduce when you fly on the plane. So you take some formula sachets with you. The problem is that Ria is exclusively BF since birth and secondly she has also refused taking EBM in bottle when she was two months. In fact she never liked the bottle. She loves her mum's booby.:D

I have also read that you should BF when the plane is taking off or landing. This reduces the pressure on baby's ears. That's fine.

I am thinking of buying a breast feeding top so that i can feed her discreetly when she likes to because she feeds every two- three hours.

I seem so confused reading all this so i should stop now. But i will highly appreciate any input from all the experienced ladies out there. It is my first flight with Ria so i don't want to look stupid.

What should i do/ don't do ?????

Thanks heaps.

Priya

Cheekychops
15-09-2006, 08:19
Breast feed - Breast feed - and Breast feed!!! That's what she will want especially in a new situation and yes it is good for her ears to be sucking on take off and set downs..... plenty of people breast feed on planes - you will not look silly at all!!! One of the tops you were talking about to breast feed discreetly whenever she wants sounds like a great idea!!!

Hope you have a fantastic trip!!!!

tickle
15-09-2006, 08:25
Unless you've had problems with low supply in the past I think you should be ok. We flew to Europe with my 9 month old DS and he was constantly feeding. It was the easiest way to get him to sleep and for take off and landing. I hadn't heard about reduced supply when flying before.
Good luck and have a great trip!:D

SilverStarfish
15-09-2006, 08:26
I don't know about the flying bit, but I bought some breastfeeding tops and the are BRILLIANT!! :thumbsup: I reckon they'd be great for travelling with a bubba.

Have a great trip!

nikkiiandriley
15-09-2006, 08:39
hi priya,
I went to Adelaide last week on a plane with my 16 week old. They normally block out the seat next to you to give you more room. I did take a bottle just incase but i breast feed her fine on the flight. it's the decend that you need to worry about with the ears. so I had her dummy at the ready. but she slept most of the way. I think it was the hum of the engines.
have fun..

lukaelmo
15-09-2006, 08:58
I BFed the dude on the plane, it was all good :D.

smidgebump
15-09-2006, 08:59
Hi Priya

I flew to Perth a couple of weeks ago with my then 8 week old DS - did the feed on takeoff thing both ways and he was brilliant! He fed too early on way over so didn't feed on landing, but descent is slower than ascent so didn't seem to get ear problems.

He slept like a dream both ways - think the drone of plane engines helped.

Just a tip - if you let the airline know you've got an infant you can request a bassinet - the seat right at the front against the bulkhead. There's a fold-down bassinet that you can put bubby in which means your arms get a rest!

Enjoy your trip - how exciting!!!!!!! India much more exotic than Perth :wave:

priya
15-09-2006, 10:36
hi,

Thanks for the reassurance girls.

Thanks for the tip,smudgebump.

Priya.

Manxie
15-09-2006, 11:07

I breastfed DD at 8months on the flight to Europe and didnt have any problems at all.

For take off and landing make sure you dont put bubs on too early as you may find that bubs has finished feeding and you havent gone anywhere. Get someone to tell you when the cabin crew have strapped themselves into their seats and then attach bubs.

Changi airport has got an airside hotel which you can book online in I think six hour slots http://www.airport-hotel.com.sg/. They have also got a swimming pool and showers which you can pay to use which are a good way to freshen up and give bubs some exercise in between flights.

Definately request the bassinette its a god send. It also means that you are usually sat next to other bubbas.

Good luck:D

becca74
15-09-2006, 11:42
I've been flying on many occasions whilst breastfeeding during the past 7 years of my breastfeeding career, and I have never heard such rubbish that your milk supply diminishes - who told you that?! Maybe the magazine article was being sponsered by some formula company! I have made both short haul and long haul flights (I lived in the UK for 10 years, so made trips round Europe, to the US, to the middle east, and to Oz), and have never had any trouble at all. In fact it's the bfed babes which have it easiest when taking off/landing - as others have said, it helps to stop their ears popping.

You have nothing to worry about :thumbsup: !

Merlion
15-09-2006, 12:50
Just note of advise make sure you book a basinette in advance and its not as important to feed bubba at landing than at takeoff (my uncle is flight steward, and one of my other uncles is pilot and their families used to fly all the time). With Jess all the times I have flown we have used either bottle or breast and dummy at takeoff (as long as she's sucking thats what stops the pressure build up) and bottle or b/f exclusively while landing.

priya
15-09-2006, 15:22

Becca74- It also seemed rubbish to me so i thought that i should seek some advice here.

Manxie- I have stayed in the transit hotel on previous two occasions. It is really good. I have asked for the basinette.

Thanks allycat.

Love.

Africamum
15-09-2006, 23:43
priya,

My DS is the same age is the same age as your bubby. We flew WA to Tas when he was only 5 weeks and over to Africa at 10 weeks. To start with I was very worried about B/F on the plane. However now we are seasoned hands at it. I normally have trouble keeping Ryan awake during takeoff to feed him anything, I know the pressure should affect his ears but we haven't had any problems yet.

I am still not comfortable breastfeeding in public so I normally sit in the window seat with my husband next to me. That way I get a little privacy, normally they try and move anyone sitting next to you so you have some space.
Not all planes have bassinets - you may encounter this if you fly internally in India. I have recently done a 4 hour trip from Tanzania to South Africa holding the baby.

When packing for flying I take at least 4 outfits I normally take the 1 piece outfits (I have ran out of clothes on one flight with DS experiencing a blowout :eek: and have learned from this experience).

Also changing a nappy in the plane toilet is an art - my advice sucker you partner into doing it:laughing: and dont wear bear feet if you have to do it.

Following the recent incident in England I am not sure if any of the rules have changed regarding carrying liquids on the plane (made up formula or EBM) you may want to check with the airline prior to departure.

PS how did you go with the baby's passport! It took me 5 attempts to get suitable photo with Ryan looking at the camera with his eyes open and mouth shut :rolleyes:

Enjoy your trip

priya
16-09-2006, 16:27

Thanks africamum. Singapore airlines have bassinet[ the flight to Singapore] but i am not so sure about the Air India one. In the Air India website it is mentioned that some planes have bassinet.

P.S.- The passport thing. My husband took a lot of photos of Ria for the passport and only one photo was selected from them because she was crying in all other photos.

Love.