View Full Version : Depressed at turning 30..?

Happy2be3
22-03-2011, 09:10
ok, so i'm 30 today.. And have been feeling quite depressed about it. Anyone else feel this way when you turned 30?

poppyseed
22-03-2011, 09:18
Im 2yrs off being 30, but I got depressed last yr at 27 for some reason! I think it hit me that I was closer to 30 or something like that.

Happy bday, I really hope u can enjoy ur day and look at the brighter side of being 30 (then u can give me the tips lol) have a good one ;)

cindye
22-03-2011, 09:19
Yeah, I felt a bit down when I turned 30, but I got over it pretty quickly. I decided that once i turned 30 my age would go down by a year for each birthday. And then I decided to embrace it and had a great night out with good friends, lots to drink, wearing a cute outfit.
Now I'm only a few years away from the next big one, and it's more a case of I just can't believe I'm that old! But planning a big celebration just in case it is true after all...
Happy Birthday!

RoarsomeMum
22-03-2011, 09:22
:smiliedance:happybirthday:bigwelcome:happybirthda y

30 is not what they pumped it as for the previous century.. (for HEAPS of reasons, new lifespans, sexual revaluation and others that I can't think of at 9am!)

I was sad because it marked the slow decline of my already failing fertility.. (but am moving past it day by day)

KyD
22-03-2011, 09:24
:celebrate::celebrate::celebrate:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

I'm 30 Today too!!!!

So far it is a tad sad, my DD is recovering from adverse reactions form her 12 months vax, my DH went to work, and i barely got a "Happy B'day" out of him, although i did get my pressie last week, but some enthusiasm would have been nice!! Going to take DD out later as i have taken the day off work to do stuff with her! Might go buy myself something nice! Headed out with firends for arvo tea and then a little family tea at my local pub with DH and DD.
Very quiet and understated which is a tad depressing, but at 26 weeks pregnant there isn't tooo much super exciting stuff to be done. Although i might lash out and had a small glass of wine later.....

Depressed isn't how i would describe how i feel about the milestone. I am in a pretty happy place generally, just a tad sad it isn't being made a big deal by anyone at all!

faroutbrusselsprout
22-03-2011, 09:25
Like you wouldn't believe. I cried and cried and felt like the last 10 years hadn't amounted to anything. I went and got long blonde hair extensions to try and reclaim my lost youth!
They lasted 5 months and Im back to short mummy hair.
I'm not a young mum anymore and I miss that, but I'm starting to embrace that I'm still looking pretty good for a mum of three!
I'm going back to study next year and am going to make sure the next ten years are fabulous!

Maybelline
22-03-2011, 09:30
First of all Happy Birthday!!!!
I just turned 31..when I hit 30 I felt a bit sad my 20's had gone..but also excited... your 30's is a wonderful time in life...You are not so hung up on the little things ...you almost feel free from all the silly stuff of your 20's...embrace it ..enjoy it and hell your not 40 ...yet!!!! lol

Girl X
22-03-2011, 09:43
:celebrate: Happy 30th to you both!! :celebrate:

I was massively unimpressed about turning 30, and had quite a lot of soul-searching angsty moments about it. I hadn't had DD then, and for me it was a terrifying marker of the fact that I really must think about having children soon! :)

On the actual day I had a big party, and realised that nothing much had changed. I'm now 32 and quite happy to be in my 30's. I think the anticipation was worse than the event!

Hope you can celebrate and enjoy your birthdays. :hugs:

myfirstbub
22-03-2011, 12:38
Are you serious? Your turning 30 not dying! My 30th was awesome, I had a girls weekend away and went skydiving. Embrace it, its just a number it really doesnt matter, honestly I feel better now at 31 than at 26. Life just keeps going, with or without you time is going to pass so you may as well just go with it and dont try to control things you cant change.

Happy 30th!

LoCo
22-03-2011, 12:44
ok, so i'm 30 today.. And have been feeling quite depressed about it. Anyone else feel this way when you turned 30?

Happy Birthday!!!

I was nervous turning 30 but .............
Can I just say turning 30 is awesome you ll see I just love my 30's. Everything just finally adds up in your 30's......Enjoy :))

Happy2be3
23-03-2011, 08:29
Are you serious? Your turning 30 not dying! My 30th was awesome, I had a girls weekend away and went skydiving. Embrace it, its just a number it really doesnt matter, honestly I feel better now at 31 than at 26. Life just keeps going, with or without you time is going to pass so you may as well just go with it and dont try to control things you cant change.

Happy 30th!
Thanks for your reply.. Is it not possible for me to come on here and express how i feel without someone saying 'are you serious? You're not dying!' ... People go on about all sorts of menial things on this forum, other women stress about things that wouldn't stress me.. I dont go say to them 'you're not dying!' Everyone is different..

Stampy
23-03-2011, 08:40
Nope, didn't bother me at all. I probably feel the best I ever have - in the sense that I'm more happy/comfortable with myself than I ever have been.

*hugs* I hope you find that too :)

Happy2be3
23-03-2011, 11:47
Thanks everyone for birthday wishes :-) for me it's not the fact i'm turning 30.. 30 is just a number and i've never been one to make a fuss over getting older but 30 does kind of feel old to me(sorry if i offend any of you).. For me its more the fact that i always said i'd have no kids..either none or 2 by the time i was 30. Personally that was something i wanted to achieve. I know that life doesn't work out how we planned but that doesn't mean we cant feel a little bummed every now and again... That and like a previous poster said, 30 is meant to be some sort of mile stone..

Threadkiller
24-03-2011, 23:56
Yeah, I felt a bit down when I turned 30, but I got over it pretty quickly. I decided that once i turned 30 my age would go down by a year for each birthday. And then I decided to embrace it and had a great night out with good friends, lots to drink, wearing a cute outfit.

Thats exactly what I do :)

Happy Belated Birthday :celebrate: :D

Jensha
25-03-2011, 01:21
:hugs: hope you had a good one :hugs:
:happybirthday: 30 is the new 20 :-D hope you feel better about it now

Belle79
25-03-2011, 14:45
I don't see why turning 30 is different to turning any other age. I turned 30 in 2009, and I made up my mind that this is going to be the best decade of my life so far. I choose to be happy regardless of my chronological age. I find it sad that so many people seem to think their happiness has to decline just because of their age. I think there's a right time and right place for everything, why worry about something you cannot change?