View Full Version : Business ideas for a hair and beauty salon for mums
shinebrite
15-09-2005, 14:55
Hi Im not a mum yet
Im a hairdresser and Beauty thearapist wanting to start a home business but not just yet.
$$$ for setting up is a issue. I want to aim my business at mums who dont feel they can take there children to salons or simply cant afford salon prices, everything is legitimate Im qualified in both trades and Ive only been doing it for 5years so it will be very modern Im also an award winning hair stylist.
Im siuated in canberra but would like some ideas on how to promote my business JUST to mums I dont want too many weirdos if you know what i mean...
peterpan
15-09-2005, 15:27
Hi what a great idea please come to Brisbane........... :)
I like the name Mum's and Bub's.....
Last week I went to get my hair cut and I was trying to time it so my 3mth
old son was asleep but it did'nt work out that way I must be getting old
the music in there was up so loud it would wake the dead!!!!
Oh please tell me I'm not old I sound like my mum oh no :rolleyes:
I hope it all goes well for you good luck
Angela and David
baby Peter 3mths
love the idea :)
you could promote your flyers in the local hospital, mum's how have just had babies definatley need some pampering, I hate going to the hair dressers now, i've got 2 a 4yrold and a 10 weeks old bub..
Moving to batemans bay before xmas going that way ??? :D
shinebrite
15-09-2005, 15:47
Yeah brissy sounds nice and batemans...silly ol canberra NO BEACH! yeah thats the idea with like beign able to bring your kids let them sleep you get pampered. hospitals is a great idea. I goto batemans heaps so maybe when Im there Ill pop you a line... :D and peterpan...your not old just musically challenged... he eh it totally does my head in loud music thogh DH is a drummer!!!!!!
lisa&boys
15-09-2005, 16:59
how amusing. I am in midst of starting my own business from homebut offering massage services to mums at a affordable rate.
I have approached a few doctor centres around my area and left some business cards. I have added my link with some websites and started my own website which gets some coverage aswell.
Word of mouth is a big thing too. What about at your local childrens school / kinder / maternal child health centre?.... thats my next step.
if I think of anything else will drop you a line.
All the best though!!
If you lived in Melbourne I would book you in for sure!!
hugs
jembelina
15-09-2005, 18:01
GREAT idea...... My sister lives in Canberra with her 3 under 5 and I know she would just love something like that!! Maybe you could find out about putting something up on a notice board at local child health centres. Also, school newsletters will often advertise local businesses very cheaply/free. If i think of anything else, I'll post again.
this is an excellent idea!
we have a hair salon in Townsville near the Mater Hospital that promotes itself as a child-friendly hair salon.
i have seen the ad on tv quite a few times now and inside it they have a play area for the kids sort of like a big play pen with toys and stuff inside to keep them entertained and safe while the mums get there hair cut.
good luck with it!
Sounds like a great idea to me. Having a small play area for toddlers would be great as well, soft relaxing music, I would really love too. I must be square but I really hate that thumping loud music that a lot of salons play, it just goes through my head. It would also be nice to have a child friendly hairdresser to cut toddlers hair. The last time I got dd1's hair cut the hairdresser was just revolting. So sour and intolerant. Never went back again.
I would advertise your business on all the parenting sites like this one. I am not sure what the fees are but have your business listed on the bub hub main page and there are other sites you could list your business on as well. How about the parenting papers that are around like Brisbane's Child. Even in the local free newspaper could be a good ways to advertise.
To attract mums only, I would give your business a name something like Mums and Bubs Hair Care. Sorry not too good with the catchy names this morning :p
Good luck and I wish you were in Brisbane too.
Hi - Easterlily is correct, any genuine service for pregnancy or parenting is listed free of charge on the main Bub Hub site.
I haven't got a page for hairdressing at the moment, but I think I should start one because I know there are a couple in Sydney already.
Just email me when you are ready to start and we'll give you a free listing on Bub Hub - go to http://www.bubhub.com.au/listings.shtml to see all the details that I need for your listing.
Good luck with the business!
Hilary
16-09-2005, 14:53
Hi! I'm a hairdesser too!! I do hair at home just for my family & friends (most of whom have kids) which works great for me coz i can work around "sleep times". I think you should choose a name that makes it obvious what your business if for like... mums & bubs (that was great one i thought). And put a note on your ad saying "Especially for mums with small children". That way the rest of the public know what to expect. Hospitals, local paper, letter box drop, day care centres, local playgroups are all places ypu could advertise!
Good luck!!
Becky
Mogaroos
17-03-2006, 12:20
Great idea, I have just started a mobile hairdressing service for children only, I love it, its fun rowdy and the kids have a great time, I only specialise in childrens haircuts but get so many mums and dads asking me to look after them too, so i think you will do well. Will you visit homes or open your home? Im considering subleasing with another hairdresser so I can have my own space, my question to everyone is.........would you prefer to have your kids hair cut at home, childcare or a fun friendly shop they can go to? I would really appreciate reading what others think.
The advertising ideas were a great help.
Thanks. Good luck.
Mogaroos where about do you operate??
Mogaroos
17-03-2006, 12:44
I'm based in Brisbane, so i service anywhere within approx a 30 minute drive from the city, I try and book 3 or more children in at one visit, as I set up a mini salon for the kids (its so cute)
Mogaroos
I do beauty therapy on the Gold Coast and I have just recently handed my leaflets into the child care centres and the staff there were really happy to display them and hand them out to the mums so im hoping that works!
I spoke to some schools and they were just starting easter hols so suggested I call back after easter.
Good Luck! Hope your business goes well!
Leanne:thumbsup:
Ange&Seth
13-04-2006, 19:13
I think this is a fantastic idea!!! You should make BIG money off this one. The name suggested in the first few posts is great too 'Mums and bubs'
Go for it!! Any chance of coming to Wagga aswell :D
Leah, what an awesome idea! I dont think you have told me about this! Id definatly prefer a place thats abit more children friendly... as I am also not a mum yet- but soon! and know I definatly couldnt go back to the usual salon I go to!
A suggestion though... Move to the Gold Coast. :D
I also think its a great idea and want to encourage you to Go for it!!
My hairdresser (in Sunnybank Hills, Brisbane), has set up her salon from home and she has a fantastic massage chair at the basin, which is very nice and pampering (& free!!) and she's very child friendly - lots of space for prams, or little one's crawling/playing. Also there is no loud music!! If any southside Brissie mums want her details, then PM me.
Miss_WingBat
12-05-2006, 20:51
Hi There,
For the last two years I've had a qualified hairdresser (and close family friend) come around to our house and cut all our hair. Using their familiar objects like their highchair etc to stablise them helped out, and then when I was waiting for my cut/colour/streaks etc the kids could play in their own environment. I found the whole experience very relaxing and the kids loved getting their hair cut.
I found going to a salon or a home-salon was stressful because the entire time you would be stressing out about what your kids were getting into... DISASTER!
Hope this helps.
mysonroger
12-05-2006, 22:09
Hi what a great idea please come to Brisbane........... :)
I like the name Mum's and Bub's.....
Last week I went to get my hair cut and I was trying to time it so my 3mth
old son was asleep but it did'nt work out that way I must be getting old
the music in there was up so loud it would wake the dead!!!!
Oh please tell me I'm not old I sound like my mum oh no :rolleyes:
I hope it all goes well for you good luck
Angela and David
baby Peter 3mths
have you tried mummas and bubbas in wilston. its great, they have qualified child care worker, toys, small toilet especially for toddlers, cot and sleeping area at no extra charge and the prices are still normal. they provide a huge range of beauty and hair treatments. it really is the bees knees and just what you're looking for (maybe) because they deal with putting baby to sleep while you relaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxx:sleeping:
the children's area is very clean and beautifully laid out and the child care worker is a true professional. i couldn't fault anything about this salon.
Jewelbar
12-02-2007, 09:32
I am looking for a baby friendly salon now... my hair is down to my undies and I need it cut, at least to my bra line, and layers put in front.
I know there is a yummy mummy's salon or something like that around, but not sure where...
Anyone know where to go? There arent enough of these services around!
Jewelbar
12-02-2007, 09:34
We used to get our hair down at a friends place, who had a salon under her house. It was quite good, and she wasnt expensive at all.
Goodluck!
Jade.
As this thread is almost 2 years old I'll close it.