View Full Version : plezzzz help!!!! MOVING TO BRISBANE

marina
14-09-2006, 12:16
Hi All My Name Is Marina, Im In Need Of Help My Family Is Moving To Brisbane I Have A 10,6,18mth And 10week Baby...i Would Like To Know What Suburbs Are Good And Freindly With Lots Of Familys Around,school And Chilcare Centres...i Will Be Renting At First My Buget Is 500-800 A Week...i Have A Car So Traveliing Is Not A Problem...my Hubby Will Be In The Valley So I Need To Be About 20 Mins Out....i Have Never Been To Brisbane,,,can U Plezzzzz Give Me Some Advice....thank You Marina:)

Rell
14-09-2006, 12:26
Hi and welcome to Brisbane and Bub Hub
I moved to Redbank Plains (west ) 2 1/2 years ago from Sydney. I love it out here, very family friendly and the houses are very affordable. Its abot 30min drive (longer in Peak hour) to the city so it might be further out then you want.
Good luck I hope you find somewhere you like

14-09-2006, 12:30
i Will Be Renting At First My Buget Is 500-800 A Week...

With a renting budget of that a week you could afford to live in the valley itself!;)

stellarella
14-09-2006, 12:36
Hi, I live in Teneriffe which is very close to New Farm and The Valley. New Farm is great. Gorgeous park on the river with an amazing kids playground. Schools and Playgroups etc in New Farm and a Coles central to everything so you dont need to travel far to do the groceries. Public transport is close too, bus or city cat. You would have the option of living in a nice house or there are lots of beautiful apartments too depending on if you want a yard for the kids.

Just an option for when your looking around anyway....

mum23girls
14-09-2006, 12:54
I would suggest just out of the city a bit....around Aslpley/Albany creek area or if you go a little bit more out, come to North Lakes/Mango Hill. Zip down the highway and you are in the city.

And yes, with a budget like that, you can afford to rent two houses!!!

marina
14-09-2006, 13:10
well thank you...hvae you heard of clevland and raby bay....

14-09-2006, 13:13
well thank you...hvae you heard of clevland and raby bay....

They are a fair way out! But very nice;)

marina
14-09-2006, 13:16
They are a fair way out! But very nice;)
ok what are we talking 30 mins or more....

marina
14-09-2006, 13:18
Hi and welcome to Brisbane and Bub Hub
I moved to Redbank Plains (west ) 2 1/2 years ago from Sydney. I love it out here, very family friendly and the houses are very affordable. Its abot 30min drive (longer in Peak hour) to the city so it might be further out then you want.
Good luck I hope you find somewhere you like thank you for info...where in sydney did you live...i have heard i am going to love brisbane....can't wait...:smiliedance:

14-09-2006, 13:24
ok what are we talking 30 mins or more....

Yeah around that by car. If your DH is working in the valley though that is a long way by the train each day (at least an hour). Parking in the valley costs an arm and a leg.

Whispers
14-09-2006, 13:29
bulimba is great place with lots of schools and child care centres not far from city ether i dont live there but friends of mine do with your budget you could afford to live there it is a upper class sort of suburb some people are a bit snobby there but alot of people living there are famiilies living in this area and it is a quiet place close to shops parks and library and schools there is also a city cat that will take you across the river straight to the city

stellarella
14-09-2006, 13:35
You can get some very nice suburbs close to the city, its not like sydey here where you need to be far out for some peace and quiet. As I said I live about 5/10 mins from the city and its pretty quiet around here.

stellarella
14-09-2006, 13:37
bulimba is great place with lots of schools and child care centres not far from city ether i dont live there but friends of mine do with your budget you could afford to live there it is a upper class sort of suburb some people are a bit snobby there but alot of people living there are famiilies living in this area and it is a quiet place close to shops parks and library and schools there is also a city cat that will take you across the river straight to the city

Yeah bulimba is very similar to new farm, its lovely, only thing is you have to drive the long way the river to get to the valley as there is only one brid\ge close by, but even then its not as far as cleveland etc. I dont even class cleveland as brisbane its so far out LOL.

IamHero
14-09-2006, 13:38
I felt homesick reading this I moved from Brisbane 18mths ago to Perth & I can't wait to move back.

Brissie is a great place esp the weather. I lived In bulimba & Hawthorne which are suberbs side by side. You should get a nice house with a pool for the kind of money you are willing to pay. Morningside is the next surberb to bulimba also nice but it depends which part & some of it is very noisy because of airplanes there is also Balmoral. There is a great strip of shops & cafes in Bulimba inc. woolies, post office, etc & the public school there is one fo the best there are also a few good childcare centres & lovely parks & you can get the ferry to the city & be there is 15 mins, by car it's about the same maybe 20/30 mins in peak traffic. I will definately be returning to that area when I go back.

I'M REALLY FEELING HOMESICK NOW.

nikkiiandriley
14-09-2006, 13:58
Hi Marina,:wave:
Well I have a 13, 12, 9 and 16week old. We live at Wynnum/ Manly which is at the mouth of the river, This area is a bit like Manly in Sydney with lots of reasturants and parks all along the eslanade, just no surf.
My 13yr old boy goes to state high at south bank 3 stops from the valley by train. Train would take about 30mins. Not in peak hour travelling by car would take about 15 20 mins by car. There is a main rd that basically takes you straight to the valley. If you are used to Sydney traffic the run wouldn't be bad.
Any way before moving here we did look at Raby bay but the houses we needed were just a little to much.
But we do love it by the bay. We are on a hill, walk straight down to the water and look out over 4 islands, It's beautiful.
The price range that you have would get you a lovely house with lots of bedrooms and good position.
We are sending our boys to the Manly state school which is very nice, and a not big.. There are lots of colleges near by as well...
If you would like any more info on the area I would be happy to help.

dragonflyblu
14-09-2006, 14:42
HI, we moved up from Sydney (Glebe/Annandale) and are living in Teneriffe. It is nice here its quiet and on the river. But I drive out to another suburb about 10 mins drive to do our groceries because frankly the fruit and veg is really expensive and the supermarket is more like those small express supermarkets. I really miss Harris Farms:( with all those cheap veges and nice cheeses. In the long term I think we would look at moving to Paddington. It has lots of trees, not far from the valley and has some lovely houses. Look at www.ourbrisbane.com for suburb profiles. I am not sure where you live in Sydney, but Brisbane is quite suburban so you get big houses really close to the city like 5-10 mins out, with a pool! I am sooo homesick. Good luck with the move.

14-09-2006, 14:44
In the long term I think we would look at moving to Paddington. It has lots of trees, not far from the valley and has some lovely houses.

I used to live at Paddington and loved it there. Definately a nice area and quite trendy too;)

Gribel
14-09-2006, 17:34

I live in Nundah, about 15 min from the City by Bus and Train, also 10min walking distance to Toombul shopping Centre and 5min away from Chermside Shopping centre by Car (10 - 15 min by bus).
I live across the Nundah State School (public) - which has a good reputation and next to the Corpus Christie Girls College (private).
Also, there are a few daycare centres, also with good reputation.

We are renting a 5 bedroom house at the moment for $365 a week, it's prime Location - no neighbours (only the school) and 2 parks with kids playgrounds on either side of us and another huger park about 10 min walking distance.

Oh, we're also about 15 min away from the airport (by car) . I also have the Child Health Care Clinic across from us and the Hall here Ds get's his Immunisations.
The Library is about 3 min walk from here, too. They are building a neat little shopping centre down on the main corner (Sandgate Rd/Buckland Rd) with a band new Woolies in it and the Village seems to be more alive now, too.
I love it here cause i'm out of the city yet really close, and you have the feel of the ity around cause of all the shops here

rainbowbaby
14-09-2006, 17:43
:wave: Hi There

You should love Brisbane, I am also living at teneriffe but come from Hawthorne and going back to Bulimba in three months when our house is finally finished being built grrrr. You should be fine finding a place around Bulimba/Morningside etc for your budget, I just wanted to wish you luck, there are heaps of parks I find everywhere around our little city and it doesn't take long to get most places. Good luck:fingerscrossed:

mum_I'm_hungry
14-09-2006, 21:32
Marina, some of my fave 'family' suburbs in Brisbane would be Auchenflower, Toowong, Paddington, Rosalie, Bardon, Red Hill, Graceville, Corinda, Chelmer, Sherwood, Taringa and Indooroopilly. I'm living in Graceville at the moment and am loving it -- there are good schools, childcare, both Coles and Woolies close by, a cute movie theatre, a nice restaurant and lots of cheap ones too, river walks, a big playground on the river and more. It's probably about 20 minutes drive to the Valley if you duck through the back way along Ipswich Road/the Storey bridge.

JenNT
14-09-2006, 22:26
gaaaaaaaaaawd REALLY HOMESICK now :banghead:

I agree with all the above, I have lived in Bulimba and in the northern suburbs. Windsor, Wilston, Grange is 5 mins from city and very nice too.
Good luck with the move.
jen

faery
15-09-2006, 17:52
hiya
we're in redhill. it's great. walking distance to the city, and paddington, short drive to anywhere else. if you can afford to live close to where your hubby works, live there. the traffic here is MISERABLE IMO worse than sydney (and that is saying alot) and i have found that many many people on these roads can't drive (or ar wheeling about the city in huge 4 wheel drives and they think they are the only ones on the road!) so if you can avoid the traffic, do.

i love paddington/redhill area. lots of yummy cafes and organic food and there seems to be lots of kids and great parks around. we are still exploring.