View Full Version : When did you get 1st Ultrasound?
Just wondering when most people get their 1st ultrasound done.
I'm 9 weeks and will be seeing my GP at 10 weeks. My GP didn't mention anything about it at my last 2 visits. Do you have to ask for 1?
I won't be seeing the midwives clinic til I'm 13 weeks. I don't know if i can wait that long just to be told that something went wrong weeks ago.
I'd just like to see with my own eyes that everything is ok as I'm starting to worry a bit because I don't have any morning sickness!
This is my first pregnancy and i'm totally clueless :confused:
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! :)
*~alegna~*
14-09-2006, 09:36
i got my 1st U/S at 9wks only becuase I went to Emergency Dept at the hospital due to bleeding.
The next one was the originally scheduled one for 12 wks Nuchal Scan.
I was a Scan hog though. LOL...Had one at 18 then 27 weeks :cool: :D
normally if you know your dates already they will only do a 18-20 week scan. the doc will write you a refferal a few weeks before then to book in. and hey count yourself as one of the lucky ones that doesnt get sick :yes:
FourAngelKisses
14-09-2006, 10:32
I had my first done at 20wks for my first and 3rd pregnancies. With my second I had one at 10wks as I didn't know when I had my last period. I wont be having one with this pregnancy until 20wks either.
mum2charli
14-09-2006, 10:37
Hey Kimee,
I had my first at 11 weeks.
I also didnt have ANY morning sickness and thought that something might be wrong, but i ended up having the perfect pregnancy and then gave birth to a perfect, healthy 8lbs 15oz baby girl, so dont worry yourself about the morning sickness, some people are just REALLY lucky and get to miss out on that part! Good luck i hope everything goes well for you, you are in for an exciting ride!!
I had my first one done at 6 weeks only because I had had a period and they just wanted to check it was not eptoptic (not sure of spelling):D , but my OB throws the u/s on my belly every time I go!
Thanks heaps for all your replies :D
WOW! You guys are fantastic I never thought I'd get responses so early!
Well let me tell you what a relief it is to see that it's normal to have to wait a bit longer for an ultrasound. I guess i'm a tad impatient with a bit of paranoia thrown in too!!! :p
I do feel lucky that I'm not sick yet but a part of me wants to experience everything that comes with being pregnant. Crazy I know!!
Being a first timer I'm so happy to know this is a place I can ask questions from others who are going through or who have gone through this exciting experience!
I look forward to getting to know you all! Thanks again!
BlakeNatsMum
14-09-2006, 11:36
God I wish this morning sickness would leave me for a while! It would be great to have a break from the feeling of wanting to :barf: . I would love to get some stuff done that i haven't been able to as yet, because i have to sit down to settle my stomach!..
I am hoping to have an ultrasound soon, I have my first appointment on the 19th of Sept, and I hoping that they will give me a referral for an ultrasound, just so that I can see bub/ bubs in there to see how many I have and whether it / they are okay! I spose it just gives you peace of mind if you see the baby in there, and the heart beat and such! It helps the paranoia! hehehe... Today I am feeling really :sleeping: !
stellarella
14-09-2006, 11:38
I had one a 9wks to date the pregnancy then one at 20wks. As far as I know you only really need the 20wk one unless there are concerns. I would recommend limiting them if possible as there are questions to the safety of them. Not much research has been done. So IMO the fewer the better.
Hi Stellarella and Jen13!
Stellarells, I didn't know that the safety of ultrasounds was unsure! Thats really interesting, now i don't feel like banging down the hospital door and demanding one anymore:p Better to be safe hey! I love your avatar photo btw!
I totally know what you mean about peace of mind Jen13! I reckon it'll be such a weight off when we both get one done! Good luck for your next appointment! Twins run in my family so I'd like to check that too!
Have a good arvo :thumbsup:
I have a form here from the GP that I can use if I want, but I have a history of miscarriage as well as PCOS with long cycles which makes dating difficult (although this time I am 99.9% sure of my dates!)
I'm waiting til I see my OB next week and probably discuss having one at 12 weeks.
But I think if we can hear a heartbeat soon I won't bother as I am that sick with m/s that I reckon the kid is hanging on with all limbs ROFL
Hi Mousey and welcome :wave:
I had an u/s at 7 weeks to date the pregnancy (I have a 40+day cycle so he wanted to be sure of the EDD).
I will be having another (an NT) at 12 weeks because of the associated risks with my age.
And a third at 18 weeks. This one is usually the general one you get.
I don't have morning sickness either so it didn't feel real at all. I was soooo relieved when I saw the little heartbeat - and all was confirmed :D
TickledPink
14-09-2006, 13:30
i had one at 6 weeks to confirm my edd as i have 35 day cycles and just wanted to be sure about the dates.
i am having another on tuesday (nt test) and then i will have another on at about 20 weeks to determine the sex of the baby.
squiglet
14-09-2006, 13:48
I think it's diferent for each ob or hospital?
I had my first apointment with the Ob/gyn at about 7 weeks and had a scan then.
The receptionist did say that he likes to see the everyone early in their pregancys.
I also had one a 5 1/2 weeks because I was spotting.
FourAngelKisses
14-09-2006, 16:49
I'm seeing a GP rather than an OB and our hospital can't do US's so I'm having to have mine done at a private place. Not sure if that makes a difference or not.
ButterflyMama
14-09-2006, 16:58
I got my first ultrasound done at 6weeks and 6 days. My next one is at 13 weeks. :yes:
JuniorMinime
15-09-2006, 10:31
I had my first u/s at about 4 weeks and then one at 5weeks and then another one at 6weeks, only becuase I have had a bad history. My next one is at 10 weeks so I can't wait to see how big and beautiful it is.
I asked my ob about u/s and he said that they are fine and that studies have been done and nothing dangerous came back. I trust my ob big time.
I have had all day m/s with this one so to him that's a good sign and he's really happy with the way things are going as well.
I don't want t 12 weeks scan cause I had a bad experience with it with my angel. But becasue I am seeing my ob at 10wks I don't think I will be seeing him or having another scan until about 18-20wks. But we shall see.
Mikeswifey
15-09-2006, 10:37
I had my 1st two for this baby at 6 and 7 weeks due to bleeding.
But my doc asked me if I want a scan at 12 weeks for down syndrome and I said definitly.
So I am having one in about nearly 4 weeks time. I cant wait to see bub again.
my NT scan is booked in for Oct 17, in my 12th week
Hi girls I first posted a while ago about desperately wanting to get an earlier scan because I didn't want to be told weeks later that something went wrong.
As it turned out my intuition was correct and I started spotting Friday (nearly 11 wks). Only then did I have an ultrasound to be told that my little one had died 4 weeks ago (7 weeks) but my body continued to carry him/her. I then had to have a D & C the next day which was yesterday.
Please if you sense that something is wrong get an ultrsound done. If your doctor doesn't agree go and find one who will! I wouldn't wish what I've gone through upon anyone.
When my body has healed I can't wait to try again and join you all in the pregnancy forum again.
All the best luv Kimee
SammiJane
30-09-2006, 11:01
I have my first u/s at 12 weeks, having the nuchal scan done, a little under a week and a half away!! Looking forward to seeing bub for the first time, sometimes i just dont feel pregnant.
With my other two, i only had the one done at 20weeks. Alot of the stuff they do now we didnt have back then.
I'm seeing a GP not a Ob.
Sam xx
ME: 34
DH: 40:kiss:
DS: 12
DS: 10
#3 EDD 25/04/07
:hugs: Ooh Kimee, I am so terribly sorry to hear of your dreadful news!
Huge :hugs: to you and DH, and I pray that you get pregnant again quickly.
Im sorry
Another angel to watch over us
Jodie