View Full Version : Meet for coffee/chat inner southside
Just wondering if there are any ladies who would like to meet up on the southside, but not too far south - within about 10 ks of the city.
hey :)
would love to - have two weeks school hols.... then three weeks work... and then I am free to be a mummy :)
can meet pretty much anywhere on southside.... even IN the city if needed :)
Jen
Would love to catch up I also live inner southside
Hi Adair, Jen and Zarbz
I live in Stretton on the southside, but have my own transport, so I am keen to meet up with other southside mums, as I don't know very many!! Just let me know a day, time and place and we (DD & I) will be there. Look forward to meeting you all soon :) Z
Sounds like a great idea :D just let me know when and where :D
Count me in to I'm Dying to get out of the house and meet people but there just doesn't seem to be anyway to meet people!!!! I'm at Carina Heights and have my own transport!! so lets organise a day Ladies????
Tuesday or Wednesday mornings suit me best, as i work on the other days. Maybe Garden City would be the most central looking at everyone's location. We could meet in the library, or at a coffee shop.
What does everyone think?
Nickster
16-09-2005, 11:33
I'd like to come along too, if you'll have me. Life as a SAHM is very insular sometimes! :)
Garden city is a great idea (easy to access by car and public transport).
Tues or Weds mornings are both good for me - not too early though (not before 9.30am) and we can meet at one of the cafes, so if anyone wants coffee/cake etc they have the option.
Does anyone have a preference for a cafe ? there are quite a few, ones near the library/cinema are good like Spoon, Tanyas etc.
Anyone got a day/date in mind for our first catch up?
Looking forward to this Z :)
That sounds great, I'm the same prefer after 9:30am!!!! looks like a Tuesday or Wednesday would work in great for everyone????? I'm not all that familier wit the coffee shops at garden city so when u pick one can someone give me a rough idea where it is????
I would love to come if that is alright. Garden City sounds good and Tuesdays and Wednesday also suit me. I live at Ormeau so anytime after 9:30am would be great.
Looking forward to hearing further.
How does Wed 29th Sept at 10.00am suit everyone? (after school holidays is best for me). I don't often have coffee at Garden City, but I think Spoon might have a bit more room for strollers than some other places. I am happy to go somewhere else if anyone has other ideas.
On Weds 29 Sept, I have my 6 week check up with OB at sunnybank at 10.30, but I am happy to come and meet up after that - will you guys still be there around 11 am or 11.30?
Otherwise I can definately come to the next one (My weds are usually free, except that one!!). Let me know what you all decide. Z
Does Tues 28th Sept suit better Zenifa? Does this suit everyone else?
I have just noticed the dates proposed for the coffee morning. Tuesday is actually the 27th Sept and Wednesday the 28th. I am available on Tuesday.
Thanks Mannl. I have been up with my DD for the last 2 nights with croup, so am very tired. I'm not surprised I don't know what day it is!
So does Tues 27 Sept at 10.00am suit everyone?
Nickster
18-09-2005, 09:57
Tues 28th suits me fine. Are we meeting at Spoon? Is that in the piazza area near the cinemas?
I'm looking forward to meeting everyone. Is anyone else going to the picnic on Sunday 25th too?
Nickster
18-09-2005, 09:57
Oh, bugger, I meant Tues 27th. Where did my brain go?
Sorry everyone, all the sleep deprivation is getting to my brain - my appt is on the weds the last week of Sept, whatever the date is, so Tues 27th Sept at 10 am at spoon is definately good for me!! They do very nice coffee and cake there and adair is right, there's plenty of pram space too!! There is also lots of undercover parking nearby. Nickster is right, its in the piazza area near the cinemas. So do we find each other by just looking for the other mums with bubs? Sorry, that sounds silly I know, but I've never done this before !
Planning to go to the picnic on the Sunday, but it all depends on how DH feels and how much sleep/rest we get the night before. Its hard with DH working, weekends fly by so quickly, so we'll see.
I have not met this way before, but I should be there early ie at 10am, so I will put a pink and white striped bunny rug over the hood of my stroller. Hopefully it will make it easy to find the right group of ladies!
So who's in able to come?
Adair
Mannl
Zenifa
Nickster
Anyone else able to make it?
angelbears
18-09-2005, 17:24
Hi Guys
I would love to come as well if thats OK with everyone.
If so I will see you all at 10am on the Tuesday. :)
I can't wait.
:D Is it Tuesday the 27th of September? at 10am? I would Love to come could someone tell me whats nearby the coffee shop? I don't know Garden City terribly well??????
I never done this b4 so how do we know who's who???? you prob already covered this but my memory is really bad at the moment lack of sleep and to much to do!!!!!!!!!
thanks all can't wait!!!!!!
Nickster
19-09-2005, 13:43
so far, so good, I will see you all there. I'll be the one approaching any group of women with a pram and asking "are you the bubhub ladies?" - motherhood teaches you to have no pride!
hopefully we'll all have gotten some sleep by then!
see you ladies later! :)
Zarby
I will get there early (ie 10am) and I will have a pink and white striped bunny rug over the hood of my stroller to help everyone find the right group. I hope this will help.
Adair,
Thanks alot for that sorry bout asking u again I just noticed you already wrote that msg. The brain doesn't work as well as it used to !!!! Thanks heaps see you all nxt Tuesday!!!!!
Could somone pls give me a rough idea where the coffee shop is I'm not all that familiar with Garden City???? Thank you????
I'd love to meet up with you all at Spoon (hopefully I'll find it) on Tuesday 27th Sept at 10am, hope that's ok.
It'll be Rebeccca my 23 month old and myself Angie.
Looking forward to meeting you all. ;)
Spoon is near the cinemas, towards the Logan Rd end of that group of cafes. I don't know how else to describe it, but if someone else can give a better description, please do.
Thanx 4 that Im sure I'll find it c u all Tuesday!!!!
lani_ezara
21-09-2005, 22:47
Hallo Everyone,
Would you mind if I came along too? I would love to meet other mums on the southside... I have just been reading the thread and it sounds like a great idea, would be really good to meet up and chat :)
Hi everyone, unfortunately I am now unable to attend on Tuesday. I was really looking forward to meeting up with other mums. I hope you all have a great time and if you decide to have another coffee morning would someone PLEASE let me know.
Hi to all the Brissie mums
Just a quick post to see who is coming tomorrow.
I unfortunately couldn't make yesterday's picnic at New Farm, but am feeling better today and so is Romilly, so we are definately going to be at Spoon Garden City tomorrow from 10am!!
Sorry to hear you can't make it Mannl, we will definately let you know when the next meet up is!!
So am I going to be having coffee on my own tomorrow?? Hope not!!
See you there!! Z :)
I will be there with my 23 month old dughter Rebeccca. We've been looking forward to it all week, it'll be my first meeting with new folks since moving here from Scotland!
Looking forward to meeting you all.
Hugs Angie & Rebecca
ps I may be late as I'm not the best with directions so I may get lost! I've got my map so fingers crossed!
Dear All
I'll be there at 10ish. See you then.
angelbears
26-09-2005, 17:46
We are looking forward to it as well so will definately be there.
Can't wait to meet everybody see you all tomorrow
Nickster
27-09-2005, 07:46
See you all there today at 10am - look forward to meeting you! :)
A big thank you to the mums who came for coffee/chat today at Spoon (Nadine, Zarbz, Adair and Nickster). It was great to meet you and your bubs, hope we can catch up again soon. For those who couldn't make it, lets hope we see you next time. Romilly and I are off for a nap now. Bye Z :)
I'm sorry I didn't catch up with you all today, I did go to Spoon at 10.15 but it was in James Street near Fortitute Valley, when I eventually asked the waitress if the area was known as Garden City and she said no I was really annoyed with myself - I got directions and drove across to Garden City, got there at 11.40 and the waitress there said there was a group of mums sitting at the table at the front but they had just left - was that you???
I really hope to meet with you all, so if there's anything else planned for the future please let me know and I'll make sure I get the exact address!!!!
Hugs, Angie & Rebecca
Nickster
27-09-2005, 15:00
It was lovely to meet all the mums today - we'll have to do it again sometime soon, and there's plenty more room for those who couldn't make it!
angelbears
27-09-2005, 15:18
Had a lovely time as well can't wait to do it again, was great to see so many turn up.
Lets do it again soon. :)
Hopefully my little one wont be such a handful next time :o
It was great to meet everyone this morning. I'd like to do it again too. Maybe in a week or two. Was everyone happy with the location? There certainly was lots of space, and my cake was delicious, but I'm happy to try somewhere else.
Angelbears, I thought Santeal was pretty good. It's so boring for them to sit for so long. My little one normally doesn't behave so well!
angelbears
27-09-2005, 16:48
I am more than happy to do it agin in a week or two and the place was lovely great coffee. Next time I will try the cake. :p
If anyone else is keen would be nice to meet up at a Park somewhere one time have a picnic
Is anybody going to the Crazy Critters get together at Forest Lake on Saturday??? We are going to go would be great if anyone else could come along as well.
Adair, thanks for that I thought she was being a rat but like you said very boring for little ones. :o
It was wonderful to meet you all today! I'd love to catch up again soon so keep me posted when u plan the nxt 1!!!!
Its great to get out of the house and meet people!!!!!
Zahlia is fast aseelp I think she had to big of a day very grumpy and tired this arvo but shes sleepinf peacefully now!!!
Talk to u all very soon!!!!!!!
Nickster
27-09-2005, 19:50
Hi "southside girls" hee hee,
I would love to go to a park next time, but is it possible to have a park that serves great coffee too? :confused:
Once again, lovely to meet you all, and such gorgeous babies/children -
Angelbears, Santeal was a treasure, believe me I've seen a lot worse!!
Hi to the other southside mums
Yeah I am happy to meet again, lets say in two weeks?
Location wise, well I'm happy to meet at a park (especially if there is a cafe nearby so we can get takeaway coffee /cake!!) or another cafe on the southside - suggestions anyone? Is Tues a good day for you all? Does 10am still suit?
Angie - sorry to hear that we missed you, hope to see you and Rebecca next time.
Angelbears, I thought Santeal was gorgeous and like Nickster I've seen a lot worse. I also agree its a long time to sit still and be quiet at that age, so well done to her.
See you all again soon Z :)
Shall we make it Tuesday 11 October at 10am? I don't know many parks that aren't close to the city/river, so can someone suggest one on the southside?
...or Wed 12th if that suits people better. (I hope I have my dates right this time)
Tuesday 11th Oct is better for me, but if Weds 12th Oct suits everyone else, I will try my best to get there.
Parks - the only ones I can think of are close to the city - like Southbank, Roma Street Parkland (cafe there called Melange has nice coffee and food!!), Mt Cootha, Botanical Gardens, park in Bulima (on Oxford Street), but I'm drawing a blank further south (I better come up with something closer to home before Romilly starts walking.. LOL!).
Does anyone know of any good parks on the southside for us to meet? Z :)
angelbears
29-09-2005, 11:55
Hi everybody
I am happy to go wherever. Southbank is fine if you want to meet there. I find driving to the train station then training in the easiest way to get there. But happy to do what suits everyone else. :)
Either Tuesday or Wednesday are fine with us free both days. :D
I have heard of a place that is simular to Crazy Critters, there is one in Springwood and Browns Plains apparently not sure how good they are though, so that is another thought.
hi
i am new to this chat thing (and to the parenting/stay at home thing, with an 11 wk old). i live in west end and i would love to meet some other moms in inner city/southside.
i was reading your thread - are you still meeting on 11/12 oct? if so, where and when and is there room for one more?
if you are still looking for a park to meet in, orleigh park at west end (starts at the west end city cat terminal) is lovely and has good play equip for those with toddlers.
ingrid
angelbears
06-10-2005, 12:42
Hi Girls :D
Just wondering if we are still going to meet up next week. We would love to catch up again. Either the Tuesday or the Wednesday suit us as early as we can in the morning before it gets to hot before everybody is ratty and hot.
I have no preference on a place to meet happy with what everyone else wants to do. ;)
Hope to hear from you all soon.
angelbears
06-10-2005, 12:46
Hi Ingrid
Look forward to meeting you and your little one. Would be great if you could jion in with us. :)
Now all we have to do is get orgainsed and find a place time date etc to meet up.
Hope to see you next week
Hi to the all the southside mums
Ingrid, you are more than welcome to join us, as Nadine said, we just need to confirm a day/time and place for next week?
Tuesday next week is my preference if we're meeting later in the morning, but could do Wednesday if we make it early 9/9.30ish.
I'm happy to meet at a cafe or a playground on the southside.
Let me know what you all want to do.
Hope to see you all soon Z :)
Nickster
06-10-2005, 16:15
Hi Zenifa and gals,
If this weather continues, maybe we should meet somewhere with airconditioning? Or go to a pool - maybe not for Romilly, though! Tues AM suits me best too.....how's everyone else?
Nickster
I agree, somewhere cool with air con suits me, a pool is fine too, but yeah Romilly might just watch or have a nap :) Did you have anywhere in mind Nickster? Z
angelbears
06-10-2005, 16:58
Tuesday is fine for us as well. I think aircon is such a great idea. Dont mind if we go to the pool either but happy with whatever is decided.
Tues suits me. I prefer air conditioning to the pool. Otherwise I'll be chasing my little one and won't get a chance to chat. Garden City seemed pretty central - maybe somewhere inside would be cooler. How about the Shingle Inn? Do you think there is enough stroller space there? If someone would prefer somewhere else, that's ok with me. I'm happy to meet at 9 - 9.30 when it's cooler, if that suits all of you.
Nickster
06-10-2005, 20:03
I like the Shingle Inn, but it's pretty confined - not a lot of stroller space! I'm such a pain, aren't I - I can't suggest anywhere better! Maybe we can all just go to spoon again! Then see how we feel - put our collective brain cells together so to speak and decide where to go next time?
I'm happy to go to Spoon again - so we're meeting there this tues morning? We can always meet there and go inside to the aircon if it gets too stifling at Spoon. Nickster is right though, most of the cafes inside have limited pram space. I may be a bit on the late side, but will definately be there!! See you all then Z :)
Nickster
07-10-2005, 06:09
So we are all meeting at Spoon again, right? If so, I will definitely be there - look forward to seeing you all again and the lovely little ones! About 9.30am - is that right?
Hello everyone
Who's still able to make it tomorrow at 9.30am at Spoon at Garden City (Upper Mt Gravatt)?
I'll be there!! See you then Z:)
Hi Adair, Zenifer & Angelbears -
Lovely to meet you and your little one's this morning. Aidan had a very nice morning out and the coffee/cake deal was a bonus! Looking forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks, if the plans stay the same - 9.30 at Adair's house on Wed 26th Oct if i have it right. I'll keep an eye out for any changes.
Ingrid
cluck cluck
08-11-2005, 22:17
HI LADIES
MY NAME IS CLAIRE AND I LIVE IN MOUNT GRAVATT EAST. I HAVE A 6 MONTH OLD BABY GIRL CALLED SAMARA.
IM LOOKING TO MEET SOME NEW PEOPLE AND HAVE A COFFEE AND A CHAT AS BEING AT HOME (AS MUCH AS I LOVE MY BABY GIRL ) CAN GET A BIT "ROUTINE"
I SEE FROM THIS THREAD THAT YOU HAVE BEEN MEETING UP AT VARIOUS SPOTS SUCH AS SPOON OR SOMEONES HOUSE, CAN SOMEONE GET BACK TO ME AND LET ME KNOW WHEN AND WHERE YOU ARE NEXT MEETING? ID REALLY APPRECIATE THE COMPANY!
SAMARA AND I LOOK FORWARD TO MEETING YOU
PRIVATE EMAIL odiam@bigpond.net.au :o :o