View Full Version : Paid parental leave question
nicolier
18-03-2011, 15:18
Just a quick question regarding paid parental leave from the government- how long does it take for the payments to start?
I'm due in July and planning out our budget now- but I'm wondering if our bub was born on the 8th (let's just say) would my payments begin that week or the week after- I have heard that some people had to wait a month before the payments started.
poppyseed
18-03-2011, 15:31
Yea I've heard the same with people waiting a while.
I'd budgeted to have it start on the 9th march, but I haven't even handed in the paper work yet because apparently they won't even look at it until bub's birth is registered (I called centrelink and that's what I was told)
I'm planning on sending in the paperwork on Monday, so bubs birth has some time to register.
Theres alot to fill out :(
AND most of the time u can't predict when bubs decides to make an appearance so it's hard to predict when to nominate a start date! I recommend saving as much money as u can so that u can go a little while without the payments :)
nicolier
18-03-2011, 16:23
Thanks for your reply. Yeah it all seems so confusing- my work hasnt had to have an employee with paid parental leave yet so they are just as clueless about it all.
I was going to lodge my claim in a few weeks so it's all ready. I'm hoping that because it's after 1st July and employers will be paying the payments (government will pay them) that they may be a bit faster with organizing it and making payments.
I'm already budgeting for a month of no work with finishing at 36 weeks, I don't know if I would be able to survive months more while waiting for the paid parental leave....
poppyseed
24-03-2011, 09:34
I thght I'd let u know, I went and handed in my ppl paperwork yesterday at centrelink. And although I was told on the phone that bubs birth needs to registered first, I was told by the lady at the counter that they won't need the birth certificate, apparently they'll just go off the proof of birth filled out on the very back pg (was filled out by the head midwife whilst I was in hospital)!
I hope she's right because then it will get processed quicker BUT bloody hell if I knew that then I wld've handed it all in MUCH sooner, arrrr! Now I remember why I hate centrelink so much!
So I just thght I'd let u know so that u can get it in quickly once u've had bub and hopefully not have to worry about money for awhile :)
CocktailBubba
24-03-2011, 09:54
I had DD on 25 Feb and DP went and handed my forms in at Medicare on 2 March. We got our new Medicare cards the next week and I just got a call from a lady from CL yesterday to confirm my PPL details and I should have my first payment tomorrow :)
It actually says on the PPL forms that u get from the hospital that u just need to have registered the babies birth and u may need to provide proof not necessarily a birth certificate so DP just took the reciept from the money order for the BC but he wasn't even asked.
You can also fill out the application for the PPL on the CL website if you are registered. If you're not I'd recommend you get that set up with CL as the form is super long and you neec heaps of info so it would have been a pain in the butt for me to do that all once bub was out- you can do this online 3 months before your EDD. When u get the actual forms you'll just need to fill out the basics again and it tells u to skip most of it :)
Also they say it can take upto 21 working days to process the application.
ZumbaMumma
24-03-2011, 17:58
Just wondering...if it takes that long for payments to start, do they pay you the amount that you would have been paid had they started on time? So if your baby was born in July and they didn't start paying until August, would the payment in August include July's payments as well, or does it just extend the amount of time you receive the payments?
poppyseed
24-03-2011, 18:44
Good question, I'm not sure on the answer! If noone has written back to it, I'll try and remember to let u know when mine finally gets done (mine will b nearly 2 months past birth)
Actually I do think I remember a question in the paperwork asking if u want to b paid from the birth or claim date, I went with claim date!
nicolier
24-03-2011, 20:42
Thanks so much for all that info, so I I lodge the form soon hopefully it won't be too much of a delay when bub is born. I'd be interested to see how everyone gets on with it so keep me posted :)
Familyassist told me it takes about 4 weeks after they have received everything
So, do a preclaim online, once bb is born, submit the document promptly.
kazandsteve
17-04-2011, 00:32
hi al
iam just wondering
whats the difference between the parental leave money u get and the baby bonus
how come u have chosen the parental leave
if you dont mind me asking?
i was thinking of just sticking with the baby bonus
kaz
poppyseed
17-04-2011, 06:41
Hi kaz, the difference is the ppl is $570 a wk for 18 wks (but it is taxed) and the bb is $5000 divided over 13 fortnights. So if u work it out u actually get more with the ppl. CORRECT IF IM WRONG PEOPLE :)
With the ppl u have to have worked at least 1 day in the last 10mths out of 13mths to qualify. Otherwise u get the bb instead.
Hope that helps, sorry if my figure are slightly off, I did this research a fair while ago now lol ;)
Please also note that both are means tested, but the PPL is means tested on the primary carers income only, whereas BB is means tested on family income. It may make a difference to people. Made the choice for me!
Also as an aside I filled my application out online and despite saying I was happy for my employer to pay it(want it to start after July after my employer's paid leave ends), the letter I got back said that the FAO would pay it.
Feathers
18-04-2011, 14:36
I sent the paperwork back just over 3 weeks ago, and have been told this morning after calling Centrelink to expect the first payment in another 2-3 weeks.
mariansm
19-04-2011, 15:23
Hi all, my name's Marian and I work at Centrelink in a team answering questions posted in online forums, and through social media.
When you lodge your claim, you can nominate what date you would like your Parental Leave Pay to start. This date can be the day your child is born or adopted, or a later date. The start date will not be the first date your payment occurs. To receive the full 18 weeks of Parental Leave Pay, your nominated start date for Parental Leave Pay needs to be within 34 weeks of the birth or adoption of your child.
You can lodge a claim up to 3 months before your due date by using online services here; http://familyassist.gov.au/online-services/ (http://familyassist.gov.au/online-services/)
A Newborn Child (proof of birth) form will be given to you at the hospital or by the midwife. You will need to lodge this completed form along with any supporting documents before the Family Assistance Office can finalise your claim. If the form is not lodged within 28 days of the birth, your Parental Leave Pay cannot start until you have done so.
Ameristralian, if the claim is finalised after your proposed start-date and all your details are confirmed, the relevant payment will be back-dated.
Kaz, the Paid Parental Leave scheme is a new entitlement for working parents of children born or adopted on or after 1 January 2011. Eligible working parents can get 18 weeks of government funded Parental Leave Pay at the rate of the National Minimum Wage, currently $570 a week, before tax.
Your Parental Leave Pay will be provided by your employer if you:
have a child born or adopted on or after 1 July 2011,
have worked for your employer for 12 months or more prior to the expected date of birth or adoption, and
expect to receive at least eight weeks of Parental Leave Pay.
Parental Leave Pay and Baby Bonus cannot be paid for the same child. If you meet the eligibility criteria for both payments, you can choose which payment is the best financial decision for your family. Baby Bonus is a $5,294 amount paid per eligible child in 13 equal fortnightly instalments (rate effective from 20 March 2011). Baby Bonus is not taxable.
If you choose to receive Parental Leave Pay, you and/or your partner will not be eligible for Family Tax Benefit Part B and the dependent spouse, child housekeeper and housekeeper tax offsets during the 18 week Paid Parental Leave period.
There is a factsheet here; http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/publications/fpr058.htm (http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/publications/fpr058.htm)
There is a handy calculator on the Centrelink website here; http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/individuals/ppl_working_parents_estimator.htm (http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/individuals/ppl_working_parents_estimator.htm) If you put in your details it will let you know which payment is best for your family.
If you want more information you can have your questions answered during our live and interactive Paid Parental Leave scheme webcast on Friday 6th May at 11am (AEST). You can hear about other parent's experiences and gain insights from panel members including Catriona Rowntree, (tv personality and new mum), Judy Radich, (Consultant, Early Childhood Australia) and Centrelink's Hank Jongen, (General Manager).
You'll need to register to participate on the day, which you can do here; http://tinyurl.com/4xl8n4m (http://tinyurl.com/4xl8n4m) Questions can be submitted online during the webcast or sent earlier to webchat@centrelink.gov.au (webchat@centrelink.gov.au) Questions in video format must be less than 5MB and either mov, wmv or mp4 format. Registrations close Thursday May 5th.
For more info about the Paid Parental Leave scheme visit the Family Assistance website here; http://tinyurl.com/4yloc5f (http://tinyurl.com/4yloc5f) Or give them a ring on 13 6150.
I hope that answers everyone's questions, all the best.
One question that hasn't been answered is if you want payments to start when the baby is born, rather than the claim date, do you get backpay when you get your first payment (which might be say when the baby is 4 weeks old)? I want to return to work 19 weeks after the baby is born, so I want to start my paid parental leave immediately so that I can get the full 18 weeks. I don't mind if there's a slight delay in the first payment, I assume that will happen (and I've got time to plan for it) ... but I want to make sure I can return to work after bubs is 18 weeks old and still get 18 weeks of payments.
cairnsmummy
27-04-2011, 20:14
I applied online before bub's birth and nominated a start date of last thurs. I then just dropped in the form from the hospital a week after DD was born. I rang Centrelink 2 weeks ago to find out what was going on and they said processing takes 21 days from them receiving the form from the hospy but there may be a slight delay due to floods claims. I was told if it wasn't paid by your nominated start date then they would backpay it. Luckily, mine started on time!
cairnsmummy
27-04-2011, 20:22
Whoops, forgot to put dates in! Bub's was born 17/3, form was handed in 24/3 and nominated start date was 21/4...so 4 weeks from form being handed in!
What did you need to submit besides the birth certificate?
I got a letter but it did not state what supporting document are needed.
poppyseed
28-04-2011, 10:41
What did you need to submit besides the birth certificate?
I got a letter but it did not state what supporting document are needed.
My centrelink only needed the hospital stamp and info on the back of ppl papers :)
mylittlefamily
01-05-2011, 20:16
Does anyone know if you will receive the full PPL amount per week if you are only working part time (permanent) and dont earn that much a week?
Havent had to deal with Centrelink since was a teenager, forgot how frustrating it is and hard to work out!! :hair:
poppyseed
01-05-2011, 20:26
Yep u shld get the full amount everyone else gets :) as long as ur eligable for ppl u'll get the $570p/w, that's what my research has shown, and it is actually paid fortnightly.
missie_mack
01-05-2011, 20:38
Yep u shld get the full amount everyone else gets :) as long as ur eligable for ppl u'll get the $570p/w, that's what my research has shown, and it is actually paid fortnightly.
Less tax ;)
the difference is the ppl is $570 a wk for 18 wks (but it is taxed) and the bb is $5000 divided over 13 fortnights. So if u work it out u actually get more with the ppl. CORRECT IF IM WRONG PEOPLE :)
Not for everyone. It depends on how much money you are entitled to via family tax benefit B. For some people Baby Bonus+ FTB A+ FTB B= More than the $10k or so of PPL, remembering that those who claim PPL cannot also claim FTB B.
Thanks for your reply. Yeah it all seems so confusing- my work hasnt had to have an employee with paid parental leave yet so they are just as clueless about it all.
I was going to lodge my claim in a few weeks so it's all ready. I'm hoping that because it's after 1st July and employers will be paying the payments (government will pay them) that they may be a bit faster with organizing it and making payments.
I'm already budgeting for a month of no work with finishing at 36 weeks, I don't know if I would be able to survive months more while waiting for the paid parental leave....
Just curious... Why would you have to budget? Does your work not pay you maternity Leave? Just asking in case you are not aware you can get paid from your work AND have the government paid parental leave. The only requirement is you must be on leave from your work whilst receiving it, which means you can be on PAID leave from work. Just thought I'd mention as a lot of people aren't aware :) oh and some people were asking if they take a while do they backpay you from date requested to pay from- yes they do
poppyseed
09-05-2011, 08:35
Just curious... Why would you have to budget? Does your work not pay you maternity Leave? Just asking in case you are not aware you can get paid from your work AND have the government paid parental leave. The only requirement is you must be on leave from your work whilst receiving it, which means you can be on PAID leave from work. Just thought I'd mention as a lot of people aren't aware :) oh and some people were asking if they take a while do they backpay you from date requested to pay from- yes they do
Unfortunately not all work places pay their employees maternity leave :( I didn't because I work for a non for profit organization and it's not put into our funding :( I had to use all my holiday pay.
nicolier
09-05-2011, 19:46
I cant get a pay rise from $21 a hour and I'm fully qualified and been doing it for over 6 years, so theres no way they will pay me maternity leave. The beauty of working in child care! Haha
Just a quick question regarding paid parental leave from the government- how long does it take for the payments to start?
I'm due in July and planning out our budget now- but I'm wondering if our bub was born on the 8th (let's just say) would my payments begin that week or the week after- I have heard that some people had to wait a month before the payments started.
My EDD was 22nd April and I lodged the PPL preclaim online a month before that. Payment should be processed in 4 weeks after baby's born (Once you submit the document that you have had your baby) and payment could start as what you have indicated on the form (From the date you left work to begin your maternity leave). But all has to wait until you have had your baby for documentery proof so, if you submit the documentary proof one week after baby's born then they would process everything in 4 weeks' time and then pay you from the date you want started. (That's how it should be).
I started my maternity leave on 8th April and didn't have my baby until 5th May. For about 3 weeks, I was sitting at home with no pay and just waiting for him to arrive. I am going to Medicare sometime this week to submit the stuff required for the baby and as I have nominated my PPL start date on 22nd April, they should be paying me the $570/wk from then but start paying after they have processed it (Backdate everything to 22nd April).
Just wondering...if it takes that long for payments to start, do they pay you the amount that you would have been paid had they started on time? So if your baby was born in July and they didn't start paying until August, would the payment in August include July's payments as well, or does it just extend the amount of time you receive the payments?
Hey Ameristralian,
the payment should start calculating from the date you want it to start, which you have indicated on the PPL form but only start receiving in August, obviously after they have processed it.
spideysmummy
10-05-2011, 07:54
Just thought I'd pop in and mention that it only took about 2 weeks for my claim to be processed.
Bub was born Tues 12/4, I posted the forms the next week. And I just received my first payment (including back pay as I requested start date 12/4) last week :-D
Was a pretty easy process. I did it all online and then just filled in and sent off the form once bub arrived.
Feathers
12-05-2011, 13:33
I went on Mat Leave end of January, put in my claim mid February, bub was born 25th March, sent in my paperwork 27th March and got my first payment yesterday 11th May, so 6 weeks and 5 days after DD was born.
According to Centrelink PPL claims vary greatly, and they couldnt give me an eta AT ALL, so Id recommend doing some savings now if you can, incase youre in my shoes and waiting and waiting and waiting.