View Full Version : Do you ever grieve... even a little bit.. for your baby getting older?

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 10:55
I know this is a weird question and I'm sorry if I haven''t phrased it right. What I mean is, do you get saddened as your baby grows, that he/she is getting older and further out of the baby stage? Please don't attack me, I am feeling awful about it. Ds2 (Ollie) is almost 3 months and while I am LOVING the smiles and the interaction and his personality as it's emerging- I can't help but be a little devestated that the baby stage is flying by so quickly already. Perhaps because I KNOW he will be my last- while he wasn't planned at all and I never intended to ahve bub number 4- this time my tubes are well and truly tied, I know there will be no more babies. I adore that we have so much cuddle time now, I carry him around in the sling for hours, he sleeps in my arms. When we are alone we can just sit quietly and snuggle:goodvibes: I suppose because I do have 3 older children I am very well aware that this stage is short and precious and while I obviously love all my children and none more than the others, it does change as they get older- their dependence lesens somewhat, the cuddles are not as frequent. I know that when they get to 2ish we will have tantrums and screaming and I will ha:(ve days of loving but not overly "liking them,"... iynwim.:o. I am so not ready for that yet!! Even on the rough days with Ollie I still just adore him... I'm still in the post birth high period and I'm dreading that to end.

I don't remember this with bubs number 1 or two- with bub number 1 I couldn't wait for her to outgrow the sleepless nights etc and bub number 2 we had bonding issues because of his screaming, reflux etc. This time it's just so awesome, I'm, loving every minute of baby hood.:goodvibes:

So does anybody know what I mean??? Am I the only one? because I'm feeling pretty awful about it.:(

dillydAlly
11-03-2011, 10:59
You are not alone...... :no:

We ALL feel like that! I am watching my beautiful DD who is 16 months grow and I can hardly remember her as a newborn.. It seems like such a long time ago....

I often have moments where I wish I could stop time :rolleyes: But they ALL grow up!

Benji
11-03-2011, 10:59
I guess I'm sort of going through similar - my only child starts school next term. He will be in school until he's ready to go to uni/get a job. I'm SO deeply sad about it. Sad that my innocent, pure little boy is growing up and I hope that he doesn't turn into a horrible adult like so many are. He's just the sweetest thing.

I'm glad you're enjoying it. Get as many cuddles in as you can :goodvibes:

Annabella
11-03-2011, 11:00
I feel it all the time, I feel very sad how fast my littlest one is growing. Like you, I don't remember feeling it with my older 2, I think maybe it's because my husband wants this to be our last too. I try to pull myself up on it, remembering how lovely they are at 3 &4 (I love that age), but it still saddens me.

OJandMe
11-03-2011, 11:04
Yep. Absolutely.

My little man is 8months old, also my last baby. And the last couple of weeks I've been really sad that he's going to grow so fast.

Even DH was getting a little sentimental last night when he was playing with him after bath.

"Last time I'll have a little man this small. Last time I'll have a little baby to cuddle till we have grandkids."

I know I'm definitely 'finished' in having kids.. I don't want another pregnancy or birth... but I will miss having babies around.

Especially coz Lysander is just such an awesome baby.

So you're not alone.

TheUndomesticGoddess
11-03-2011, 11:06
I completely understand what you are saying!

I feel the same. I miss the quiet placid little bubby I had just 2 and abit months ago! He is nearly 6 mths old and he is nothing like he was couple mths ago. I miss the laying in my arms without struggling to sit up! I miss bringing him into my bed in the mornings and having a quiet feed and nuggles and falling asleep together. I have watched my son progress soooo much in his 5th month, it's amazing watching him....BUT I do sorta grieve for the early days...I can understand parents wanting more children...newborns are amazing!

jellybeanicecream
11-03-2011, 11:09
Absolutely feel the same way. My husband can't wait for Eli to be old enough to kick a footy around the back garden, and while I look forward to that too, part of me will always miss holding him in my arms and his toothy little smiles. It's a bittersweet thing, this amazing love we have for our babies.

*babygirl*
11-03-2011, 11:11
I am just about to have my second but I feel this way about DD everyday. She is my best friend and I adore her company but as she is getting bigger and smarter EVERYDAY it makes her new skills in every aspect of her life so very bitter sweet. And I'm already sad about how quickly the next baby will grow lol :( it is such a precious time that goes so quickly!

Pulp Fiction
11-03-2011, 11:15
Ba ha ha. I was reallly bad for doing this when DS was little. When he was 3 months old I was like 'I don't want him to grow up. Why can't he stay 3 months old forever? 3 months is perfect.'

Then when he was 6 months old I thought 'I don't want him to grow up. Why can't he stay 6 months old forever? 6 months in perfect'

I'm still doing that now and he is nearly 2!

So its actually worked out well in a way. Because the way I am going, one day I will be like 'I don't want him to grow up. Why can't he stay 30 forever? 30 is perfect.' :laughing:

kar
11-03-2011, 11:21
F had reflux, screamed all the time and didn't sleep in daylight hours so I certainly didn't grieve over the loss of small infanthood. It does make me sad now that he is getting so big. BUT I also just adore watching him become his own person, and that that person is such a precious soul :goodvibes:
It does make me sad that I effectively missed his little babyhood in a blur of sleep deprivation and misery. A is a much easier baby and I am loving it. and loving that i'm enjoying her.

London
11-03-2011, 11:22
Know exactly what you mean. I doubt that feeling will ever stop, because they wont stop growing! The joys of being a mum hey.

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 11:22
*sob, sniff* :hugs: Thank you so much for your posts- I was crying by the end so it was all blurry:laughing: I am SO relieved to know I am not alone- I really thought I was being such an awful Mum for not JUST appreciating how he is now, insteadfing of mournign that he is getting older.

VirgoMum I was nodding at your post!! That's EXACTLY what I'm talking about!!! While you love every new little thing they can do, you do miss the things that you USED to do and those months of the little baby laying peacefully in your arms do go by so quick.:(

Benji I know what you are saying also, you are right- we do go through nsimilar emotions as our kids go off to school etc- my eldest is off to high school in 3 years and my 2nd is off to school next year. (Don't even get me started on that one, lol I'll cry for a week!)

I suppose I am being hard on myself because 7-8 months ago it looed like my baby wasn't even going to live. I am so aware of what a blessing he is and I don't feel I have the right to mourn ANYTHING. I should be simply celebrating that he is here!!!! But it is hard to fight the feelings of sadness as it rushes by so quickly and I am so relieved and appreciative that these feelings are fairly normal.:hugs:

singa06
11-03-2011, 11:26
To tell you the truth, no. I am not really a 'clucky, cute newborn' type of person. I am really looking forward to having another child, but am not looking forward to those first few weeks (the newborn stage!)
I feel weird for thinking that. Maybe because I had the blues for the first 6 weeks with DS.

I have LOVED watching him develop and become his own little person, loved every minute of it, but I don't miss or grieve it.

anewme
11-03-2011, 11:36
It is so hard to let them grow up. I hold on to every loving cuddle and snuggle as i can get. As much as I want my bed back I can't image sleeping with out my 2 yr old ds. Having a dd is grade 12 who will leave me to go off to uni next year makes my 2 year old cuddles so much extra special.

Bibs
11-03-2011, 11:42
I know what you mean. I look at DD's photos and videos often and really miss those days. But I think I miss her more now, if that makes sense, as she's away five days a week 6 hours per day at school.

I miss having my little girl with me although some days she can drive me crazy too. I just want to pause this time for a long time when her mum and dad are the most important people in her life, cause I know in a few years we won't be :(

DeeLee
11-03-2011, 11:48
DD is nearly 10 months and although I love watching her develop and grow I know I'll also miss her being a baby.

Funny thing is my Nan always says they grow so quick, enjoy them while they are babies. My DH would say to me, I can't wait till she grows and can interact with me. Now he says "I see what your Nan meant now" :)

Stiflers Mom
11-03-2011, 12:01
I've said the same thing now at every 'stage'...and she is only four months! Last baby here too :(

millsmum
11-03-2011, 12:24
I also get upset with the thought of never feeling those little movements that comes with being pregnant, we have 3 children with number 3 only 5 weeks old and i feel sad about never going to be pregnant again, giving birth and having a newborn again. I would give birth every day if i could.

Eco Goddess
11-03-2011, 13:00
I am definitely feeling this! My lil man is turning 1 in just over a week and it is hitting me hard. I love this stage, he is so full of personality and we can do so much more together (as a whole family) but I held a newborn baby a week ago at work and nearly cried...I struggled to remember DS as a little, snuggly, helpless bundle of squishiness! I think this is why some people have such big families!!

MamaC
11-03-2011, 13:49
I feel the same way! :hugs:
DD2 has always been a mummy's girl and really clingy, but now she is exploring more and more independence and I miss all the cuddles! I miss carrying her around all day! Of course I revel in her curiosity and her newfound confidence, but I do miss her clingy-ness as well :o

As for newborns....OMG! I miss the snuffle noises they make :goodvibes: I just heard my 2 week old nephew snuffling over the phone and I had the biggest hormonal surge! :laughing:

Californication
11-03-2011, 14:01
I feel that way too. DS is 18 months now, and it just seems that it's going WAY too fast. I love watching him grow and develop, but it doesn't seem like 18 months ago that I first held him in my arms. I just want it to slow down a bit!

I look at the photos from when he was a baby and it just seems so unreal. I mean I used to be able to hold him in one arm! Now if I hold him like that there are arms and legs everywhere :laughing:

Before I know it he will be off to kindy, then school, then Uni/work and I'm sure even then I will be saying it's gone too fast.

Mrs Awesome
11-03-2011, 14:04
This is why my mum became a foster mother.....so she could have a baby in the house petty much all the time. Then, when they get bigger, they are usually adopted or move onto a permanent family.

My mum had a minimum of 1, maximum of 3 babies in our house from the time that I was 12, until she was diagnosed with breast cancer last year and had to stop fostering (18 years total). She actually misses the middle of the night wake up etc!!!

I get so sad when I look at how grown up my DS is now. :(

One of THOSE mums!
11-03-2011, 14:08
On one hand I grieve my 'baby' (who mind you is now 16 mo) is not a baby anymore, but on the other I celebrate how he is growing, learning and changing everyday.

It's all part of the emotions of being a mum.

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 16:07
To tell you the truth, no. I am not really a 'clucky, cute newborn' type of person. I am really looking forward to having another child, but am not looking forward to those first few weeks (the newborn stage!)
I feel weird for thinking that. Maybe because I had the blues for the first 6 weeks with DS.

I have LOVED watching him develop and become his own little person, loved every minute of it, but I don't miss or grieve it.

I don't think you are weird at all. As I and others have said, we didn't feel this way with our first children and particularly with the 2nd in my case, who was a scremaming colicky baby I LOATHED those first few weeks- as kar said it's a shame looking back on it that what should have been a wonderful time was plain awful for both of us. Even before Oliver was born I really wasn't looking forward to the newborn stage- however he is a lovely baby and I know now just how quickly it goes!

millsmum I know how you feel also. When I was pregnant I was so ok with never being pregnant again- my pregnancy was so stressful and awful- yet now it's over I also grieve never going through the JOYFUL parts of it all again. The thought of never having a newborn again.:(

EcoGoddess I cry looking at newborns now and Ollie isn't even 3 months old!! Lol. Can't believe the difference already.:no:

TeenyT
11-03-2011, 16:21
I was just discussing this with a friend yesterday! Definitely. Everytime DS2 reached a milestone, it was a bittersweet moment because I knew it was the last time I would see him whatever it was he was doing for the first time. Does that make sense? :laughing: It would just be a given from then on IYKWIM. Like, he would never get his FIRST tooth again, he would never take FIRST steps again, just more of the same.
I think it feels like this for me as we've decided not to plan to have anymore kids so I know I wont be experiencing those wonderful things about babies again. At least not my own so I know exactly what you mean. :yes:

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 17:04
:laughing::laughing: mamaC and Californication.

MrsAwesome I would be sooooooo tempted to foster babies, have always wanted to but I fostered kittens once and was a bit completely devestated when I had to give them up.:o I wanted to keep them all!!!!!!!!! I don't think my husband would say yes either but gosh I would love to.

Thanks Teeny- I am glad to know I am not alone in feeling this way. Obviously worse for those of us who are well and truly done and dusted in the baby making department.:(

Lemonhead
11-03-2011, 17:07
No way.

The older they are the closer they are to leaving home :laughing: I can't wait hahahahha. Then DP and I are off on a round Australia holiday whoooohooo and can you imagine all the fantastic parties we can throw!?

Im such a mean mummy :p

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 17:14
:laughing::laughing: Maybe i need to take a leaf out of your book- start saving for a holiday!!!!!!!

krystallxx
11-03-2011, 17:16
No chance .. My boys get better with age :) I don't miss the baby stage at all!

Lemonhead
11-03-2011, 17:16
:laughing::laughing: Maybe i need to take a leaf out of your book- start saving for a holiday!!!!!!!

I guess if I sat and thought about it then yeah I would get really upset but I think about when they are older and all the wonderful things I will get to share with them as teens/adults...school balls, graduation, jobs, having kids, getting married, buying a house, Christmases and Easters etc etc...that really excites me.

I do love them as bubbies, but I really cant wait to have grown up kids too.

singa06
11-03-2011, 17:20
No chance .. My boys get better with age :) I don't miss the baby stage at all!

I agree with my little man! :D

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 17:21
Very true and a beautiful way to look at it SausageFest.:yes::hugs:

I can't wait til they grow up...and have babies:laughing:

scout02
11-03-2011, 18:33
I know this is a weird question and I'm sorry if I haven''t phrased it right. What I mean is, do you get saddened as your baby grows, that he/she is getting older and further out of the baby stage? Please don't attack me, I am feeling awful about it. Ds2 (Ollie) is almost 3 months and while I am LOVING the smiles and the interaction and his personality as it's emerging- I can't help but be a little devestated that the baby stage is flying by so quickly already. Perhaps because I KNOW he will be my last- while he wasn't planned at all and I never intended to ahve bub number 4- this time my tubes are well and truly tied, I know there will be no more babies. I adore that we have so much cuddle time now, I carry him around in the sling for hours, he sleeps in my arms. When we are alone we can just sit quietly and snuggle:goodvibes: I suppose because I do have 3 older children I am very well aware that this stage is short and precious and while I obviously love all my children and none more than the others, it does change as they get older- their dependence lesens somewhat, the cuddles are not as frequent. I know that when they get to 2ish we will have tantrums and screaming and I will ha:(ve days of loving but not overly "liking them,"... iynwim.:o. I am so not ready for that yet!! Even on the rough days with Ollie I still just adore him... I'm still in the post birth high period and I'm dreading that to end.

I don't remember this with bubs number 1 or two- with bub number 1 I couldn't wait for her to outgrow the sleepless nights etc and bub number 2 we had bonding issues because of his screaming, reflux etc. This time it's just so awesome, I'm, loving every minute of baby hood.:goodvibes:

So does anybody know what I mean??? Am I the only one? because I'm feeling pretty awful about it.:(

This could be almost my story too... I have just had my 4th and there will be no more (tubes tied). My other 3 are older, 7 years difference from the youngest. I'm a bit sad but determined to make the most and relax and enjoy every minute

Surprise bub
11-03-2011, 18:34
M 4 C - you are not weird.....I feel exactly the same......while Ethan was by no means a planned baby, he is very much loved. I feel sad every day and cant bring myself to getting rid off the stuff he no longer needs ie: clothes..........

while im more than happy that he is out of that newbor no sleep period, i realise every day that this wil be the last chance ever that ill experience the baby stage....there are time My 4 cubs that i just sit on the lounge with Ethan and snuggle......:smiliedance::smiliedance:

I think that we just have to stop being so hard on ourseleves and accept that its okay and totally natural to be feeling this way.:wave:

heeeeerekittykitty
11-03-2011, 19:05
OMG your so not alone. Your so not weird. I cant explain in words how much I related to your feelings and your post.

My son is almost 14 months and I grieve daily for the last precious precious most wonderful year of my life that has just flown...... :( I am having another baby in 3 weeks exactly , am about to experience that amazing feeling all over again , yet its not the same. I grieve my son growing up so quick. Once I have this baby, I know I will then grieve them growing up so quick.

On the other hand ,sure , not one day doesnt go past that I dont melt at some new milestone my son has reached or some new thing he has done. I just cant believe the pure joy I can get from watching him grow up every day. But as I enjoy this time , there is no denying it will always be bittersweet for me because one day passed is another day behind me in hes precious little life that Ill never get back. Sorry to be so depressing , and you think your weird !!!?

My husband stated the other day infront of a group of people that he doesnt think "we" will go for a third. Was news to me !! I almost bawled when I said to him in a trembling voice how devastated I will be if this is my last baby and last pregnancy. Lol , that was an awkward moment for everyone else in the room ! I think that regardless of how many children you may have , that feeling for some mums just doesnt every go away. As we cherish every new moment and look forward to each new moment we are also saddened at the ones passed.

I dont think your weird at all :no:

And as for what you said about still being on that baby high etc, people always said to me very knowingly "oh you'll see , you wont feel like this in a few months" . Wrong wrong wrong. My DS is a terrible sleeper. He wakes all night for feeds still. Resettling. Cuddles. You name it. And you know what, I still love it. Every minute of it. I hang for hes bedtime every arvo lol, yet an hour after hes bedtime , I sit here looking forward to him waking for hes bottle or a cuddle so I can enjoy that moment on the couch of darkness, just me and him, while I feed him back to sleep or rock him. You may never get off this baby high, because as you said, you now KNOW from experience that this time flies and they become so much less dependant. So much more irritating :laughing:.

You sound like a lovely mum. Enjoy your last precious newborn. Mourning it doesnt mean that we dont have SO much to look forward to. First days of high school , graduations, bdays, weddings, them having their own babys ..... :cloud9:

Uniquey
11-03-2011, 19:14
MyfourCubs, :yes: yes, yes I do!

I don't know why you would think anyone would attack you for feeling this way hon:(, but then it is Bubhub :p.

I am feeling this way now and.wait.for.it, my baby is only a mere 4 months old and I feel this way. I think it's because I am trying to resign myself to the fact that this may be my last baby and time truly, truly does FLY BY! Life is so, so, short and I just want the world to stop some days so I can savour this magical moment in time when you smell that baby scent, smell that baby breath, have the baby cuddles, smiles, milestones etc, etc.

So yeah, I hear what you're saying and I feel your pain!:hugs:

Jensha
11-03-2011, 19:17
i feel the same. Dd is my only and she is 3yrs and 9mths old. I miss the baby stage so much and she will be 4 soon and i really just dont know where the time has gone and i want it to slow down because before i know it she will be at school and ill hardly see her. She was such an easy baby and i miss baby dd lol. I like all stages but theres nothing like the moments when your sitting there feeding them and she looked at me so content and id just spend hours just holding her and looking at her and letting her little hands grip my fingers and watching her big brown eyes looking around taking it all in. Now i hardly ever get cuddles i have to play the 'im stuck on u game and i cant let go' lol.

heeeeerekittykitty
11-03-2011, 19:22
Four Cubs, I just opened up all my photos on the computer after posting to you and I am now sitting here crying at the precious little baby pictures and videos of DS :crying: I need to get a grip :laughing: .....

On the other hand its made me even more excited :smiliedance: ( if that was possible) to meet my new little darling in a few weeks. :celebrate: .

FearlessLeader
11-03-2011, 19:38
singa i feel the same as you. I just don't get into newborns i find them hard work and boring :o and my DS was a relatively easy baby. I'm kind of dreading having another because i'd rather not go through the newborn phase again. I will mourn when he gets to school age, i think.

Myztiks#1Fan
11-03-2011, 19:47
Yes i am and yes i do grieve daily for all i missed because of other things that were happening when he was a baby.

What i do feel proud about though is that he is growing up into such a lovely little boy who i hope turns ot to be one very decent man

Sent from my GT-I9000T

11-03-2011, 21:15
You are not alone, many of us feel this way. My youngest is almost 2 and I still call him my baby, infact I think the same about my eldest two as well and they are 6 and almost 4. I am single now so won't be having anymore kids (well not unless I meet someone later on) and it is sad, but I am lucky I have 3 beautiful kids and greatful I get to stay home and raise them (btw not saying working mums don't raise their kids). Babies aren't going to stay babies forever, they're gonna grow up, the best you can do is try and spend as much time with them as you can, give lots of love and cuddles etc and take heaps of photos.

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 21:25
I am just crying, crying, crying here, lol. I am loving your beautiful posts, I love that so many of you understand exactly how I feel!!!

OMG your so not alone. Your so not weird. I cant explain in words how much I related to your feelings and your post.

And as for what you said about still being on that baby high etc, people always said to me very knowingly "oh you'll see , you wont feel like this in a few months" . Wrong wrong wrong. My DS is a terrible sleeper. He wakes all night for feeds still. Resettling. Cuddles. You name it. And you know what, I still love it. Every minute of it. I hang for hes bedtime every arvo lol, yet an hour after hes bedtime , I sit here looking forward to him waking for hes bottle or a cuddle so I can enjoy that moment on the couch of darkness, just me and him, while I feed him back to sleep or rock him. You may never get off this baby high, because as you said, you now KNOW from experience that this time flies and they become so much less dependant. So much more irritating :laughing:.

Kitty I am the same at the moment- people ask "does he sleep well," ummm... no, he still wakes 3-4hrly through the night:laughing: ummm he rarely sleeps through the day but he doesn't scream all day long liuke my ds1, he just wants to be held and snuggled and I LOVE holding him, although he is getting heavier and my back hurts! I do worryt hat my husband feels on the complete outter because I am so attached to Ollie- I rarely put him down, I sleep with him in my arms- needless to say we have not, um, dtd yet- would be a bit hard with Ollie inbetween us all the time:o in that way perhaps I should look forward to when I have less Ollie time and more me and dh time- but at present I can't help how much I crave my little baby.

I am jealous of your new little baby, lol- can't wait for squishy newborn pics!!!!!!!!!!! YAY!!!!:smiliedance:

M 4 C - you are not weird.....I feel exactly the same......while Ethan was by no means a planned baby, he is very much loved. I feel sad every day and cant bring myself to getting rid off the stuff he no longer needs ie: clothes..........

while im more than happy that he is out of that newbor no sleep period, i realise every day that this wil be the last chance ever that ill experience the baby stage....there are time My 4 cubs that i just sit on the lounge with Ethan and snuggle......:smiliedance::smiliedance:

I think that we just have to stop being so hard on ourseleves and accept that its okay and totally natural to be feeling this way.:wave:

Suprise Bub thanks so much for your post, I am SO happy you are enjoying Ethan so much! (FYI everyone Suprise Bub & I shared a hospital room as our bubs were born on the same day!:p) I am EXACTLY the same with his clothes!! I ahve a big sad pile of clothes the 0000's and some tiny 000's he no longer fits and I can't bring myself to put them away. Tonight I squished him into a 0000 suit I found, I thought woo-hoo it still fits but then noticed the tops of the sleeves were halfway to his elbows!:laughing:

Thankyou everyone who has contributed to this thread, i really did think I would be attacked by somebody, I don't know for not appreciating enough what I have? I know how lucky I am and how blessed and I do look forward to when he can play with toys and go to the park and watching him meet all his milestones- but the squishy baby stuff, the cuddles and the baby smell (I keep smelling his head I am addicted to it!!!!) is what I will miss the most.

MyFourCubs
11-03-2011, 21:28
You've got me looking at the photos now Kitty, lol!!!This is a pic of my Oliver taken a few days ago- 11 weeks:goodvibes:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/Mythree3cubs

BabelFish
11-03-2011, 21:31
Every day. In fact I obviously go on about it too much because my eldest who is just over 2.5 occasionally says to me solemnly 'I'm growing up way too fast, Mummy'

And I'm still on baby high and my boy is 14 months now.

It's the bittersweet reality of motherhood - and some days it's harder than others.

Mrs Nietzsche
11-03-2011, 21:37
They'll never love you more than they do now. I guess that's why it's so sad. And you don't want them to either.. you want them to grow up and have their own lives. My life feels abundant with babies but it's not forever. Carpe diem.

Annabella
11-03-2011, 21:45
Every day. In fact I obviously go on about it too much because my eldest who is just over 2.5 occasionally says to me solemnly 'I'm growing up way too fast, Mummy'

Haha, this made me think of my girls who are 6 & 8, I say to them all the time, since they were about 1 & 3, that I am going to put a brick on top of their heads because they are growing too fast and I don't want them to grow up. So now they say, "Mum I think we need to get those bricks for our heads to stop us growing up too fast". They also say to DS (13 mths) that they are going to get a brick on his head to stop him growing too. Its so beautiful watching them, they feel the same as me, sad that he is growing up so fast :(

sunshinebub
11-03-2011, 21:56
Oh sweetie, I totally understand what you are saying...I feel like this alot. My kids are 10, 8 and 6..we tried unsuccessfully to have a 4th baby, we had 6 miscarriages and have given up...we love our little family:hugs::smiliedance:

But it doesn't stop me from yearning for those baby years that I know I will never have again. Just the little things like the little drip of milk at the corner of my babys mouth when I was breastfeeding and the feeling of calm and peace while doing this..

I miss my baby falling asleep on my chest and just staying there......

I miss giving my baby oil massages....on their sweet baby skin..

I love and miss the feeling of holding my newborn for the first time, of those first few days in the hospital..

I miss that first newborn smell..and the fluffy hair on their skin when they were just born.

I miss taking my baby to the nurse for milestone checks and popping them on the scales to be weighed..and being so happy when they have gained weight!

I know (now) I'll never have these experiences again and I am slowly coming to terms with it...I try to think that it was a stage in their lives and we are excitedly moving on to the next stage and all the fabulousness! that comes with it.

Sorry, rambling now:D

heeeeerekittykitty
12-03-2011, 08:33
Dammit I can't see your picture My 4 cubs
:-(

Lol i think my hubby feels like yours and I'm sure its about to get worse !!! Those night time cuddles are priceless . And good on you for making the most of every single minute with what's to be your last bub .

I'll be sure to send you some newborn pics , your posts have made me so excited I'm
About to experience this all again :-)

Love kitty xo

MyFourCubs
12-03-2011, 11:57
Ok Miss Kitty this better work:D(It's resized to the hoo-ha to fit the forum restrictions!)

Oliver 11 weeks (http://forum.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=3166&pictureid=15065)

Not a squishy newborn anymore:( but SO beautiful:Cloud9Blue:

Can't wait for your pics Miss Kitty!!!!!!!!:goodvibes:

Myztik
12-03-2011, 12:07
Sara he just get's cuter every time I see a pic of him :cloud9: so gorgeous.

I completely understand how you feel. Ash will be 1 in just over 2 wks and I am so sad about it :( Everyone keeps asking what I am doing for him birthday and honestly I dont want to celebrate it. I know that sounds so selfish but I dont want my baby to grow up yet! He's most likely my last too which I think makes it harder.

MyFourCubs
12-03-2011, 12:13
Thanks so much Myztik:goodvibes: and big:hugs::hugs: to you I know exactly how you feel! I realised my dd2 will be 5 next year (my 3rd child, my tiny 4lb13 little girl- gulp!) and when I said this my eldest dd says and Ollie will be ONE WHOLE YEAR OLD!!:hissy: I don't want to think about that yet but I know how fast it will go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Please feel free to share other piccies everyone:goodvibes:

Surprise bub
12-03-2011, 19:19
MFC- at least we both now that one Ethan and Olivers first birthday we will both be feeling the same way...lol.......while t will be a happy occasion.....it wil also be a sad one too...no more baby, but hey im sure when they both say mummy we wil melt all over again...........

I;m stil on the new baby high, and am not ready to let go of it yet........my partner says that i need to let other people step up and help me...but i just cant...i am however slowly steeping back and letting him take some charge of ethan......boy has that been hard....but i dont want him to feel that hes no longer neded.............

im sure we will make peace with letting go...it just might take a while.....:wave:

MyFourCubs
13-03-2011, 09:13
Thanks SB, I totally hear you!! I think my DH feels a bit left out also because Ollie is usually attached to me. I don't like giving him up I want to hang on to the baby moments as much as I can!!!!

I just keep telling myself how darn cute he is going to be as a toddler!:yes: Lol.

:hugs::hugs: to you and to everyone else for their beautiful contributions to this thread:goodvibes:

RoarsomeMum
13-03-2011, 09:19
I think its perfectly natural.. Her babyhood flew by before I even had time to really realise I was her Mum!!!!! and now her toddlerhood is jumping out the window as the preschooler within emerges.. It is so horribly fast.. (my childhood seemed to last Fooooooooooooooooooooooooooreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer!! !!! and yet here she is, past her 3rd birthday and It's like a runaway freight train.. I am the passenger screaming PLEASE SLOW DOWN!!!!!!!!

Makes me weepy just thinking about it..

~CupCakes~
23-03-2011, 09:23
Yes! Our 'baby' is 3 tomorrow :no: we've never had a 'baby' be 3 as they all have close age gaps... i am so sad about it! i thought we'd have another bub by now or at least be pregnant!!!!!!!

Dont get me wrong i love watching my kids grow and learn new things but since i dont feel our family is complete its going WAY to fast for my liking...... although DD2 will tell anyone she can im mummy and daddy's bub :laughing:

loveshack
23-03-2011, 11:10
Yes,I do,I feel very sad sometimes,especially when I look at old home videos.I tell my DH that if only we could freeze them at this age,it would be so great,just to be able to hold onto the way they are now,especially the innocence.I just don't want them to grow :hissy:

my-fab5
23-03-2011, 12:26
So nice to know I am not the only one who thinks like this. I think my way of dealing with it is to refuse to believe DS2 is my last....... even though he probably is.;) I think if I truly believed he was my last I would be a mess. I love having little ones around and grandchildren are a long way off for me.

E&bump
23-03-2011, 13:39
I feel like this and my little one is only 3 weeks old! I had a cry the day we brought her home from hospital that she would never be so tiny again and I didn't want her to grow up. :( I just can't imagine her any bigger and I don't want to!

ComeBackKid
23-03-2011, 14:42
Yep... I want my newborn DS back. He will be 5 in june. While I am so proud of how he has grown up and love him just the way he is. I sometimes wish i could just go back and have my baby back.