View Full Version : How did you meet your new DP/DH with kids??
Theboys&me
01-03-2011, 15:00
I am wondering how you met your new DP/DH when you already had kids. I want to believe that one day... in the future I might have a second chance at happiness within a relationship. I am just scared that I won't meet someone as I have 2 kids and a person wouldn't want to take that on.
So please tell me... how did it happen for you? :)
siansmum
01-03-2011, 17:23
My husband and I met at Speed Dating! He was in an older age group than me, so he wasn't actually one of the guys I chatted with for 7 minutes, but at the break time, he approached me. At the time he didn't tell me he had two children, but he rang me the night after and told me about the girls. We had dinner the following night and were engaged 10 weeks later!!!
We've been married for nearly 6 years and have two beautiful children of our own - a daughter who is nearly 5 and a baby boy who will be 5 months on Saturday.
Hang in there and never give up hope! Good luck!
Theboys&me
01-03-2011, 17:41
Hey thanks for your reply :)
I would love to hear more stories of single mum's meeting their new partners :yes:
motheroffour
01-03-2011, 22:14
I met my dp through a family friend, it turned out we'd known each other for years, he was fun and good with the kids but we had just broken up from long term relationships and only lasted 1.5 years but 3 years later he called me and about a month later I was pregnant. we never stopped thinking about each other and that time apart helped us to be together now even though we have trouble as my kids are now teenagers it can be tough.
OneMore4Me
02-03-2011, 08:04
online :) I had 2 kids we met once with no kids for a coffee, then he came to the park (didnt actually meet the kids but was there chatting to me), then we had a night out together no kids, then he met the kids the time after...(probly about 2 weeks after we met?)
TurnedBatty
02-03-2011, 09:21
Online too :) He came up one night for coffee and now we are married. Took a while to weed out all the idiots on there though!
DP was my next door neighbour who my friends and I referred to as "hot neighbour". What we didn't realise was that he liked me too :D It took us about a year for both of us to realise that the feeling was mutual and since that night we haven't spent a single day apart (2 years ago).
He loves DS as if he were his own child. In fact, my poor DP was awake all night with a fever and is looking after DS today who is also sick so I can go to work (I stayed home for the last few days with DS). He truly is my dream man. We never argue, we have similar interests and we just adore being with each other!
It takes a wonderful person to take on someone with a child with such class and love.
AppelsAndOranjes
02-03-2011, 09:55
I'm interested in these stories too!
I can't speak for myself but a friend of mine has 3 kids - 7, 4 and 2 and she has met the most amazing man through family friends. They have been together around 18months now. They are both still young (she is 28 and he 31) but he has taken to her kids in such a beautiful way. Even better is they are engaged to be married and she just found out she is pregnant. He of course is over the moon to be having a child with her to add to the family.
RunningWithScissors
02-03-2011, 10:33
We met at a club :) I was enjoying a child free weekend! He asked for my number, I used my line "My number comes with 2 kids" he was ok with that, I was stunned considering he was only 24! (Yep he is a few years younger than me ;) ) Met for coffee minus the kids, then we chatted every night after the kids went to bed via phone or msn and saw each other when the kids were at their fathers. They met him about 6 months later, he came over after dinner and played lego with them, they all got along so he started coming by every few nights.. 4 years later we are happily married :)
Theboys&me
02-03-2011, 21:56
Oh I love hearing these stories!
What do you mean by meeting your partner 'online' ??? Like a dating website?
I met my DH on the RSVP dating website. It was my first time on a dating website and he was the second person I met...think I was pretty lucky. We talked on the phone and email a couple of times and then he finally took me out...3 years later we are happily married with our own DS and full custody of his 2 children.
It has been an extremely rocky time due to his ex but I am so grateful I met him.
If you do go on a dating website just be really cautious. The first guy I met turned out to be quite aggressive and hard to get rid of!!
Good luck with your search.
AppelsAndOranjes
08-03-2011, 15:20
Are those sites free to join?
I'm interested in just meeting some new people to hang out with.I'm not really interested in a new relationship just yet, but some new company would be nice every now and then.
PrincessMJ
08-03-2011, 16:56
i am so inspired by reading these stories.
i am a single mum who is going to have 2 kids by the end of the year. i always love hearing stories where guys can accept someones children. it is such a big thing to do and only a certain kind of man can do that.
i hope i one day meet an amazing man who can accept me as a packaged deal.
PrincessMJ
08-03-2011, 16:59
most dating sites are free to join, however some you have to pay to contact another member. but us being females, we are lucky we dont really have to pay, the guys usually pay and contact you :)
there are a few free sites out there, not sure if i can say the names so edit mods if i cant, but oasis and plentyoffish are free RSVP is free to join but you have to pay to contact others (but like i said above, guys normally do that) i quite like oasis, ive made 2 lifelong male friends from the site. which IMO is sometimes better than a shor tterm relationship. however i am still looking for my prince .
Oh, this thread has given me hope!! I have been single for 2 years now and I am ready to meet someone. I have tried dating sites but I seem to attract the weirdos and sleezes!!
I am a hopeless romantic and truly hope that there is someone out there for the kids and me. *sigh* Come out, come out, wherever you are!
PrincessMJ
08-03-2011, 17:22
Dont give up mere. i was knocked up by an oasis guy!! what a toad he was. our princes are out there :p
im prgnant and ive been asked out on 2 dates. haha bit weird.
motheroffour
08-03-2011, 17:43
during the 3or 4 years DP and I were apart I was on RSVP, I met some nice people but also got heaps of sleazes like old men or married men but also no one could compare to my DP and I always thought of him :rolleyes: so I was very happy when he contacted me ( not through a dating sight) after an old man we kinda met through hit on me( he was also my mothers ex):confused::barf:
AppelsAndOranjes
08-03-2011, 19:24
Ok sounds like a bit of caution and maybe meeting in a public place is a good idea first.
I tend to believe you will find someone when you are not actually expecting or wanting to, as opposed to actively searching for Mr Right. Thats just me though :) Hopefully more people can add to this thread :)
Theboys&me
08-03-2011, 19:52
Oh it is so lovely reading these stories :)
I am not after anyone yet... my life is all about my boys. But I would like to think that one day I could find someone :p
tigerchick
08-03-2011, 20:08
I meet my DP though a friend we have been together for 3yrs now he has been great on taking me and my two kids on he is 16yrs older than me I would love to have a child with him but he dose not want any of his owe, don't give up there will be someone out there for you.
emmiejayne
12-04-2011, 23:07
Rsvp
getmesomeapppples
12-04-2011, 23:11
i met DF at wait for it.. the night club!!... of all places!, i was out with friends having my first night out on the town when DS was 4mths & met him - needless to say i havent looked back & we got engaged on the weekend!! :)
I met my ex on a dating site and I bet he is still active as he was while we were together and he also was when he was with his next live in partner. He used to pretend he was single and somehow had loads of spare time to see me and I had no idea til well after we moved in together that he had been living with his partner and child while dating me. Be very careful with net dating as he was just one of liars I met on there, he was just the most convincing one.
Met my DH on plentyoffish after my brother found his love there (now married and expecting first baby). Best to chat online and via phone for a while, in both cases we talked for a couple of months before meeting in person.
My BFF met her DH at the pub, he is 8yrs younger and she has two kids.
Some guys like the maturity, independence and strength of yummy mummies ;)
SweetSerenity
20-04-2011, 08:35
I met my DF through RSVP :)
We have been together for 3 years in August and about to have our second child together :kiss:
We didn't ever correspond though on RSVP. The day I joined, he contacted me with his phone number, I sent him a text with mine and then he called and we spoke for over an hour.
Next day we met up on my lunch break at work as he is a courier driver and my work place was in a suburb that he delivered to and the rest just naturally progressed :goodvibes:
Couldn't be happier :D
suchislife
20-04-2011, 09:11
I met mine on myspace.. :) was going through a tough divorce didnt have many friends and spent alot of time on there.. We were just friendly never anything else he would just listen to my problems etc..I was in qld he was in vic. One day i had to go to vic to visit my cousin and we met up down there, as friends...but it led to something more:) After a few months of back and forth he quit his job and moved to qld to be with us.
It was very romantic but as it is reality nothing is perfect. He found it tough once he moved in with us, adjusting to the ready made family and we had alot of ups and downs. But now its five years later and he loves those kids like his own, and is a much better father than their real one.
Theboys&me
20-04-2011, 11:47
:goodvibes: So many happy stories :) Thanks for sharing!
LoveWatermelon
20-05-2011, 16:22
DP and i actually dated in high school and now 12 odd years later we are back together, and the fact that i now have 3 little tag alongs didnt phase him at all
This isnt exactly one of the most romantic story but here goes anyway!
I was 28, heading to my local pub for my usual weekly night out. DH who was 41 was meeting old high school friends at same pub for a catch up. Both of us were at a point in life where we had given up finding anyone (yes at 28 I'd given up on finding a nice guy cos the one's I would meet were jerks!). Anyway a lot of alcohol, (here comes the very unromantic bit!) and some boob flashing from me mixed in with a bit of girl pashing (by me and my friend) and some flirting of course. Me being ever so forward as i am when drunk resulted in me passing on my number to his friend.
So with the alcohol I consumed I didnt remember much of our initial 'meeting' but when i walked into his house nearly a week later to find smiling pictures of children plastering his walls I thought.....oh dear are these his?
They werent young children.....they were teenagers! For a 28 year old to find a man with a nearly 17 year old, 15 yr old and 13 yr old.....it was a bit of a shock! But once i discovered he was open to more children (which i definitely want my own) then it was no problem. Its been challenging as being a step parent can be, but i have been shown already how great of a father he is so I know when we have our children he will be a fantastic father!
Some great stories.
I meet DP at a mutual friends 40th birthday when DD was 5. And he is the best thing that happened to me and my daughter. He is such a good dad, we are baking another DD from scratch. (As opposed to the one I prepared earlier :p )
I did do a bit of internet dating prior to that, and have to admit I shared some lovely meals with some lovely, genuine men. Just no fireworks.
My Mum and her DP met online, and are perfect together.
I first met my DP about 8 years ago. We were both only about 16-17 at the time. I met him through my boyfriend at the time, but I instantly liked him :o I didnt know what happened to him after that until last year I found him on FB and started chatting to him. I was already single by then and liked chatting to him but never thought he was flirting until one night I joked about blowing of the dating site and just hooking up together lol He ended up coming around after kids went to bed on NYE and we had our first kiss at midnight...Then had drunken sex lol Never looked back even though its only been a few month Im completely in love with him and he loves the kids to bits :hugs:
jess_live_die
20-05-2011, 23:35
i was best mates with my df for 18 years dated in school for ages then just stayed great mates and just got feelings ova the years finelly acted on them now his mine lol and were getting married
Milktini
02-06-2011, 16:12
DP and I have known each other since highschool, so A good 10 years, I'm not sure why we never dated during school, there was always an attraction between us, I left highschool in year 11 and we saw each other regularly after he graduated, but still we never got anywhere apart from some harmless flirting. I met FOB and had 2 beautiful children with him, and DP also went off to have a son of his own, we had both been in serious relationships for the past 3 years, my relationship broke down with FOB and we got chatting on Msn again, he was still with his ex at the time, and it was nothing more then talking, even though I wished it was more. A few months later his relationship ended and we didn't talk for a while, he wasn't in a really good place, started drinking alot and got depressed. Eventually we started speaking again and we decided to go on a date, that was 7 months ago and we haven't looked back, we live in our own house together, talking about having another baby, life is pure bliss :goodvibes:
DP is always bringing up why he never asked me out in highschool, and that he wishes he wasn't so shy. I let him think that I never noticed him in highschool, but really I had the biggest crush on him :o
Theboys&me
14-06-2011, 18:35
Thanks for all of your replies :) I am also wondering how you felt about them meeting your kids and how it went?
brizbabe71
19-06-2011, 22:30
Met Dp through work-he'd been through a very messy separtion 6 months before my marriage disolved, 4 years ago-he was the FT dad to 2 girls and I had my Miss 7 mostly ft also.
We've been through some really rough times including family court to get his oldest daughter returned from when BM took off with her last year. After 18 months together we bought a house but went back to living in separate houses within a year due to BMs antics. We spend as much time together as we can and we both have now have 50/50 of the girls (his and mine) so we have a whole week child free,
My Ex Dh met his fiance (due to be married in 4 weeks-woo hoo) through me / our married life as a long time family friend. I adore her as does our Miss 11.
The 3 girls are tight and consider each other "special sisters", and I feel lucky in having met someone so "easily" although it has been a long hard road to travel with his baggage.
brizbabe71
19-06-2011, 22:36
As for meeting his kids and he mine-we met up at his place one weekend just after they had their 3rd and 6th birthdays and took over a little pressie of colouring books and pencils. All 3 kids hit it off straight away-his kids had been though an emotional roller coaster with their mother just walking out and flitting in and out of their lifes unexpectantly and not surprisingly they were very clingy.
They are still quite like that-but we spend every weekend Fri-Sun together when we have the kids and take family holidays together-they know why we don't all live together anymore and understand.
they are good kids but they're not my own and social outings cab a bit stressful because I don't always think their social skills and manners etc are appropriate but i've had to let that go to a certain extent and now DP is starting to step up to the plate more in cracking down on stuff like that
I havnt read all the posts on this thread yet (going to after i post this).I met alot of idiots after i became single with my 3 kids,thought id never find a guy who would accept my kids,i tried older guys,younger guys,guys with kids,and guys without kids.I was having no luck until one day i met an amazing looking guy at my best friends (his step-mum) was standing there talking (and drooling) when he told me he was 16 "holy hell i thought" i was 27 with 3 kids he is way too young.We clicked so well but i couldnt get past his age.Fast forward 2yrs and he then turned up on my doorstep he said he was 18 and legal now and he wanted to be with me and be a dad to my kids that he had been in love with me from the moment he saw me.We are still together now,he is a great step-dad well dad really because the kids dad dont see them,he treats me like a princess and we are now expecting a bub ourselves.Love turns up on your doorstep sometimes literally when you least expect it.
Oh, this thread has given me hope!! I have been single for 2 years now and I am ready to meet someone. I have tried dating sites but I seem to attract the weirdos and sleezes!!
I am a hopeless romantic and truly hope that there is someone out there for the kids and me. *sigh* Come out, come out, wherever you are!
There is a guy out there for you i hope you have found him.I was single 2.5yrs with 3 kids and dated lots of losers until i finally found the man of my dreams,i thought it would never happen but thank goodness it did.
I knew my DP in highschool, though we were only acquaintances really. Many years later me and best friend went to a club and she spotted a guy we used to go to high school with. He mentioned that some other people from school were there too so we went to go talk to them all. I liked DP's bracelet so I took it off him and wore it. About 5 of us went back to the place me and my best friend were sharing and had more drinks. I fell asleep on the couch.
Next day I got at txt from him (no idea when I gave him my number) saying he needed his bracelet back cos I was still wearing it and he didnt want to wake me. Came over to get it....we flirted...he left. Became f-buddies for about a month then both mentioned we wanted more. I told him that I already had DS and I dont want anymore children, so if being a dad was something he wanted we should go no further. He said he never really thought about kids and wasnt fussed. We started dating and (almost) 6years later, after practically raising DS with me, he is certain he never wants kids :laughing:
Lovemyfam
18-10-2011, 10:43
I had 4 kids when we met
We both play world of warcraft and had a mutual friend on facebook, I commented on the friends page, he commented back we went back and forth and he added me as a friend. We then didnt even talk for a few weeks, I was having a rough time and posted a status and he messaged me if I was ok, we struck up a friendship and quickly fell in love yes over the net and Vent (its a thing you talk to each other through computer like skype with no camera) I decided a few months later I wanted ot be with him and he wanted ot be with me so I flew over to Australia from US and stayed 3 months, he came home with me, met the kids (he had been talking to them on vent ) we got married and just had our first baby together.
He always wanted kids so now he has 5 :hyper: he has been the best dad ever, its funny to think that he is 27 has 5 kids and one is almost 16 lol
Emerald Dream
29-10-2011, 21:36
Lovemffam! I haven't figured out how to quote on the iPhone yet l. But I met my dp from wow too. Raided together for over a year and then finally decided to catch up one time. Hit it off really quickly and he's just moved interstate to be with me. we still play wow together too :)
I met my dp on a dating site :)
Lovemyfam
30-10-2011, 05:48
Lovemffam! I haven't figured out how to quote on the iPhone yet l. But I met my dp from wow too. Raided together for over a year and then finally decided to catch up one time. Hit it off really quickly and he's just moved interstate to be with me. we still play wow together too :)
We still play too, I think that we have such a great relationship because we were friends first, talked on Vent daily and since we were friends that just played wow we shared everything and were not trying to find anyone and not trying to impress each other. I love Wow been playing for a few years have 5 lvl 85s lol I am an addict.
How long have you guys been together?
Emerald Dream
30-10-2011, 08:28
We still play too, I think that we have such a great relationship because we were friends first, talked on Vent daily and since we were friends that just played wow we shared everything and were not trying to find anyone and not trying to impress each other. I love Wow been playing for a few years have 5 lvl 85s lol I am an addict.
How long have you guys been together?
Yeah same here. I've been playing since wow came out (on and off) and he has when wrath came out. Hehe yeah it can be addicting at times! I only have 2 85's and only really play one of them for raids
Emerald Dream
30-10-2011, 08:29
Forgot to add we've only been together for a few months lol
Lovemyfam
30-10-2011, 08:59
Yeah same here. I've been playing since wow came out (on and off) and he has when wrath came out. Hehe yeah it can be addicting at times! I only have 2 85's and only really play one of them for raids
I started playing a few months before wrath hubby stared in burning crusade. I mainly play my druid but also enjoying my shaman
lizzyplus4
30-10-2011, 09:06
ha, it's not as embarrassing to say on match.com now :p
we we're both on there, not taking it seriously(we were each other's first and only person we met) and now we've been together 7 years and married for almost 5...
we only introduced our kids into the mix when we knew we'd still be friends regardless of romantic status, we didn't act like a couple in front of kids til they'd known each other for a while......
Emerald Dream
30-10-2011, 15:32
I started playing a few months before wrath hubby stared in burning crusade. I mainly play my druid but also enjoying my shaman
Heh my main is my druid, I've been playing her since the burning crusade but I've just started playing my mage again and it's a nice change. DP play's a death knight as his main since he started playing. He tanks and I've always healed his sorry *** :P.
Emerald Dream
30-10-2011, 15:35
ha, it's not as embarrassing to say on match.com now :p
True that :laughing:, but hey we will always have something in common :D.
Stiflers Mom
30-10-2011, 15:45
RSVP. A guy I would never pick in real life. He is wonderful, also has kids of his own and we get on better than I could have imagined.
Lovemyfam
30-10-2011, 15:55
Heh my main is my druid, I've been playing her since the burning crusade but I've just started playing my mage again and it's a nice change. DP play's a death knight as his main since he started playing. He tanks and I've always healed his sorry *** :P.
I could never get into the DK, I was actually considering finishing my mage he is sitting in outlands parked at lvl 63 frost mage. I heard they made a lot of changes with them but have not tried them maybe when I get settled Ill pick him up again. What server are you on?
Emerald Dream
30-10-2011, 16:04
I could never get into the DK, I was actually considering finishing my mage he is sitting in outlands parked at lvl 63 frost mage. I heard they made a lot of changes with them but have not tried them maybe when I get settled Ill pick him up again. What server are you on?
We recently server changed to Nagrand but used to be on Saurfang. What about you?
Lovemyfam
30-10-2011, 16:11
Aman Thul and have toons on Gilneas
Rofl, I love how this is twisting into a WoW thread.
FYI, DP just deleted WoW from his computer....I cant do it haha Alllllll that time downloading patches, just to delete it. Not happening. Gonna put it onto a harddrive hahaha
(Horde FTW)
Lovemyfam
30-10-2011, 16:16
Rofl, I love how this is twisting into a WoW thread.
FYI, DP just deleted WoW from his computer....I cant do it haha Alllllll that time downloading patches, just to delete it. Not happening. Gonna put it onto a harddrive hahaha
(Horde FTW)
Horde FTW I agree but have been playing Alliance lately but miss my horde side
I share care for ds. i had a child free weekend and a friend of a friend invited me to her birthday bbq and drinks. i went cos i thought i need to meet new people for friends since i had just moved back here.
Dp was a friend of the party host.
We actually got chatting after he mentioned being a full time single dad. just talking bout our experiences with single parenting cos we had it in common.
He went home.cos of kids in bed and i went on to the nightclub but couldnt stop thinking bout him and added on facey.
We inboxed non stop for a few days til he gave me his number and started texting instead.
Now we are almost at one month official but its bout six weeks since we met and i cant remember being happier in my life.
The kids are all amazing and everyone gets along well.
We are taking things as slowly as we can cos theres a lot of issues afound his two cos they are older and stuff. but i am happy to do whatever works and put all the kids first :)
babalooba
13-03-2012, 08:56
I met a guy online from the US, talked for a couple of months and then went over to visit him. While I was there he was at work on the weekends so his friend would come over and take me out places. He was the nicest most genuine guy I had ever met, especially after ex DP. I found out on the last day that the guy I went to see actually had a girlfriend upstate. I came home and never talked to him again but continued to talk to the friend. That friend is now my DH. We spent 18 months apart with me going back and forth every 3 or so months for a 2 week visit. Got married on my last visit and then he moved over here to be with my son and I. We now have a 8 mo baby together and another on the way. Totally a true story :yes:
Lovemyfam
13-03-2012, 09:01
I share care for ds. i had a child free weekend and a friend of a friend invited me to her birthday bbq and drinks. i went cos i thought i need to meet new people for friends since i had just moved back here.
Dp was a friend of the party host.
We actually got chatting after he mentioned being a full time single dad. just talking bout our experiences with single parenting cos we had it in common.
He went home.cos of kids in bed and i went on to the nightclub but couldnt stop thinking bout him and added on facey.
We inboxed non stop for a few days til he gave me his number and started texting instead.
Now we are almost at one month official but its bout six weeks since we met and i cant remember being happier in my life.
The kids are all amazing and everyone gets along well.
We are taking things as slowly as we can cos theres a lot of issues afound his two cos they are older and stuff. but i am happy to do whatever works and put all the kids first :)
Great story
Lovemyfam
13-03-2012, 09:03
I met a guy online from the US, talked for a couple of months and then went over to visit him. While I was there he was at work on the weekends so his friend would come over and take me out places. He was the nicest most genuine guy I had ever met, especially after ex DP. I found out on the last day that the guy I went to see actually had a girlfriend upstate. I came home and never talked to him again but continued to talk to the friend. That friend is now my DH. We spent 18 months apart with me going back and forth every 3 or so months for a 2 week visit. Got married on my last visit and then he moved over here to be with my son and I. We now have a 8 mo baby together and another on the way. Totally a true story :yes:
Woot another Aussie/American couple I have another friend who brought he husband over here when we were living in the US she and I use to always joke about imports being the best lol glad you found out about the other guy what an arsehat
Great story
Did u mean that honestly or a hint of sarcasm? I didn't quite catch the tone sorry
Lovemyfam
13-03-2012, 21:26
Did u mean that honestly or a hint of sarcasm? I didn't quite catch the tone sorry
I was serious no sarcasm
Ok no probs thank you :-) it was such a brief answer so i wasnt sure of ur tone lol. aside from having my son its been the best story of ny life so far. i told my sons father last night out of courtesy and the only thing he said was thats fine.. Not a very elaborate response but oh well if hes not going to carry on or anything its a really good thing :-)
14-03-2012, 14:03
I met my partner (though we haven't been together very long) through a mutual friend. He knew I had kids before we got together. I too didn't think any man would want to take on me and three kids but this one doesn't mind. :)