View Full Version : Nappy Bags..Help!!
What The....
HI everyone, as a very confused expectant father i'm hoping some of you ladies can shed some light on things. The wonderful world of Nappy Bags...I was staggered at how much these things cost.
Can someone give me and the boss some hints as to what exactly we should be looking for in a Nappy Bag?? I thought it was just a backpack that you used to chuck nappies in, but clearly not...
What features should we be looking for? and what are the better brands that you've come across??
Many Thanks
mumofyaz
11-09-2006, 22:33
I'm a self confessed bag lady and did the rounds of every website selling baby bags. In the end, I purchased a $30 satchel from a normal bag store that wasn't specifically for baby gear. They're a bit of a rip off if you ask me and your needs change frequently over time, so you're better off buying a cheap large satchel that will fit over the handles of your pram or in the basket underneath for now. By a seperate change mat from kmart or target and one of those nifty new avent bottle packs if you'll be doing bottles any time soon. The bag will get smaller as you need less nappies and less clothes and mum will want to regain her 'self' and not be so mumsy with a big, fat, spewed on, chewed, nappy bag and try to condense to travel lighter, faster and more discreetly. Everyone is different though, but the commonality is that things change with your needs and babies needs so investing in a $200+ nappy bag with all the bells and whistles is a waste of money. Spend it on a massage. That's what she'll really need.
PS. Same goes for prams...don't go too big or too heavy. The big flash 3 wheelers that everyone gets (including me) for their first, often don't fit into smaller shops and through the average check out. V frustrating and adds to the 'I'm not me anymore' feeling when you can't even get through a normal check out aisle.
lovemybub
11-09-2006, 22:37
Personally, we've just got one of those environmentally friendly bags with everything thrown in. Even if you're not using cloth nappies, having one or two in the 'nappy bag' make for a great improvised changing surface (even if you happen to find a change table in a public toilet or something, it's likely to just be hard plastic :eek: I don't know about you but I was never that keen on putting my bub on that!)
Then we just have a couple of disposables, some nappy cream and some wipes. Oh, and another handy hint. Those scented plastic bags for nappies are a good idea for when you're out and about. Sometimes there's nowhere to put your dirty nappy, and the scented bags help stop the smell from wafting out!
The other thing you are likely to find handy is a change of clothes (for bub). Sometimes there's just no containing the mess...
But you certainly don't need to buy anything expensive or fancy. Just remember the bigger the bag, the futher away the item you're looking for will be :p . It becomes like a woman's handbag!
If you are after something a little more stylish, then I'm not much use, but there's sure to be someone along soon who will be.
All the best for the big event :)
Chickadee
11-09-2006, 22:42
Something that you can carry comfortably, so for me a backpack style with wide well-padded straps was ideal. There is no point going too large, it will just get too heavy to carry. Mine was smaller than the book bag I used for university - about the size of a change mat folded into quarters. :) The only 'musts' for me was for the bag to have 2 outside pockets to keep a few things handy and easily accessible - excellent for your keys, wallet, mobile, as well as bub's dummy and a few wipes. Easily reached compartments on the inside would be nearly as good.
The other thing you are likely to find handy is a change of clothes (for bub). Sometimes there's just no containing the mess...
:laughing: I have a spare in the car for me too.. you never know when you're going to get peed on!
I have a Ryco nappy bag from Target. It's a big satchel bag, hangs over the pram, the back of it is a fold out change mat which is OH SO HANDY! (and it he kicks off me, as he does, it results in him hitting his head on the bag, not the wall) it also have a compartment for bottles, but I keep my own drinking bottle in there as I'm not bottle feeding.
Another handy tip for the bag - those samples of Bepanthen that you get given by the ton... keep those in there! :D
I have also purchased a handbag with many compartments, I keep 2 nappies in it, a dispoable change mat (huggies brand $4 for a pack of 4.. I reuse them until they're poopy) and a glad bag of wipes. H-A-N-D-Y for times I'm not taking the pram (so I don't have to lug the whole bag in) or when I'm just ducking out for a walk. You never know when the poo blow-out will strike!
mumofyaz
11-09-2006, 22:59
I had to have a big bag with about 4 or 5 changes of clothes for a couple of hour trip. I had a baby with severe reflux. This was my point about everyone being different...and you don't know what you're going to get. You may be lucky and have a wonderful baby that only requires a change of clothes and a few nappies which could be stashed around a decent sized handbag. If you really want to purchase a 'baby bag' check out Shop Girl and any large David Jones store...they have a pretty good range of funky bags, or GR8Xpectations (?). If you've got loads of cash to spare, Oroton do a nice bag. Google baby bags and have fun browsing. Whatever you decide, the only important thing is pockets to stash the cream, scented nappy bags (essential at home and away I say), thermometer (for the early nervous days), change mat and socks (shopping centres are cold no matter where you live). Now my babe is a year old, I can get away with a nappy or two shoved in my handbag. Cream is a thing of the past and I shove a scented bag inside each nappy so I don't have to cart the whole pack. A pocket sized wipes (Sticky Fingers are good value, a good size and smell yummy) is all I need for clean up.
Interested to hear what you end up choosing...
I just bought the Ryco bag from Target that had the change mat folded up inside with a couple of other bits and purchased the bottle holder separately to store jars of food in when we were travelling. I got them when Target had 20% off (which they do about every 6 weeks) and they had heaps of pockets etc for all the nifty things and my stuff as well. All up for both bits I paid $35 and was a bit sad when I was able to downsize to a small backpack as she got older.
12-09-2006, 00:39
I just brought a back pack nappy bag from big w the brand is baby gear it has lots of handy little pockets for keys,mobile nappies dummies bottles etc.I paid about 35-40 for mine i wouldnt pay any more than that it was a good price and well worth it.I have 2 kids and it fits all the neccesities in it and has lasted a while have had it for over 9 months and its stil going good.
I had a cheap a** baby bag which I got for a friend as a baby present but landed up not giving her and kept it for myself. It was huge and bulky and I hated it so I went out and bought a Baby Gear bag from BigW which the straps broke and I returned and got my money and just the day it broke I went to Toys'r'us and saw one of the brand new Kapoochi backpacks http://www.kapoochi.net/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=KB-1&Product_Code=31842&Category_Code=010 which were normally $149 brand new and I had gone shopping with my best friend the day before and she bought hers for $90 from Myers and Toy'r'us were having 50% baby bags that week and I only paid $75. I love it. It's big enough to fit both disposal nappies (6-8) and cloth nappies (5), baby wipes, it comes with a change mat, outside insulated pockets to fit 4 baby bottes, place for keys, mobile, i can fit 2 changes of clothes in the bag, it has little net pockets to fit bibs, creams, etc.... in it. I love it.
It's retired right this moment as now Jessica only needs a bottle of water, snacks, maybe milk bottle with a satchet of powder for emergency, bib and a couple of nappies and baby wipes. I bought a cheap backpack for this. The Kapoochi is 1 1/2 years old and still going strong. It needs a good wash though.
Bubble*Crazy
12-09-2006, 01:58
PS. Same goes for prams...don't go too big or too heavy. The big flash 3 wheelers that everyone gets (including me) for their first, often don't fit into smaller shops and through the average check out. V frustrating and adds to the 'I'm not me anymore' feeling when you can't even get through a normal check out aisle.
Slightly off-topic though, I bought a cheaper but still fairly decent pram, but I can't hang my nappy bag off it as the bag is too heavy & tips the pram up ... just something to keep in mind too. Test their strength! It also frustrates me that my pram is too wide for conventional shopping check-outs, even though most stores like Target, Woolies etc have a pram check-out, but it's sometimes just a matter of opening them though! No point having them, when no one is manning them :banghead: .... sorry hijacking your thread for a rant ...
I too have a Ryco bag from Target, but it sounds like the downsized 'model' to mumtobug & seekrit, and does the job just as well. But I also have a smaller bag again, for when we're quickly ducking out, but need the bag with us. My handbag is also big enough to shove a nappy and travel pack of wipes in too.
The Huggies change mats are great for the public toilet changeroom use.
I'm onto my 2nd gr8X nappy bag (Great Expectations) - the first one I got didn't have backstraps...silly me :o
I find I NEED the option of backpack style OR over teh shoulder.......I also have vomity bubs so need to carry a couple of changes of clothes + food for the older one......it does depend though what sort of person you are.......a "bag carrier" or not? I have always been a bag carrier - I have a friend who never did and with bubs we are exactly the same! I would never leave the house without drinks and food for both of them (even a short trip to the shops - who knows if the car might break down and I'd hate to be caught out!?!?!!!), 2 nappies each (mine seem to love to do the BIG poo of the day as we drive down the road!!) plus somewhere hygenic to actually change them.
Now I have a Deluxe Baby Traveller and couldn't be happier with it. As I have 2 bubs I bought an extra bottle carrier and also a food carrier which I can clip on it as well if need be........I nearly got the backpack duo - it looked great & if I went again I might get that one instead! LOL ...this brand is reasonably priced and has everything I need and isn't IMO too big and bulky.
http://www.greatexpectations.com.au/index.shtml
Hope this helps a little.
T
bubs_and_us
12-09-2006, 11:17
i have a CATINI brand nappy bag, which was reduced from $90 to $30! :smiliedance: bargain! there is no way that i would pay any more than $30 for a nappy bag though:no: . this is the second bag we've had (the first one was a cheapie and died after 4 months :banghead: )... this one came with a wet bag (for all the unexpected mess), change mat and numerous compartments. the material is also very easy to clean - just wipe it! i love it, although its a bit big (but great for long outings) :thumbsup:
Thanks for all the suggestions. We ended up buying a CATINI bag reduced from $79 to $19. Have to be happy with that I think. Has a little change mat included, as well as several compartments for bottles, creams etc.