View Full Version : Love being told that..

Guest1234
18-02-2011, 22:48
..I have no @ss. :rolleyes:

Well..Der..my pants dont fit me, so they sag, of course I'm going to look like I have no @ss!

..but drinking coke just to keep weight on is just not cool.

:freakingout:

I hate my weight fluctuations. I hate the way people look me up and down and ask me if I'm losing weight, and why coz I don't need to. Well yeah, I am losing weight, but I don't want to lose weight. I don't want to be skin and bones. Yes I am eating, all the time, full fat foods, full cream foods.

Then if I complain, I get 'what's the big deal? Heaps of people would kill to be skinny. Make the most of it.'
I just want to LOOK healthy while still being healthy! Without being judged for eating well when 'you don't need to diet, your already skinny enough' I'm not gonna gorge myself with junk just coz I can. Gross. Why can't I just eat a healthy diet without the assumption that I'm dieting? Why can't a skinny person eat healthy?

Aaaahhhh just my little rant/rave/hissy. :crying:

Sent from my HTC Desire using Bubhub

London
18-02-2011, 23:12
I know exactly how you feel. Im half Italian so my family isnt the thinnest. I dropped 24kgs when I was sick and not eating properly. Now im down to 54kgs and everyone around me is telling me to eat more cos Im too thin. I eat everything I want but some ppl still insist that im trying to lose weight. My bones are poking out, why would I try to lose more??

Anyway, Im rambling, sorry. I know how you feel and yeah its frustrating.

bumMum
18-02-2011, 23:21
Hmmm yeah it is really annoying how people feel comfortable commenting on someone elses weight! Its not okay. When will people learn! my weight has changed so much over the past few years and no matter what nobody is ever happy with me! At one point I was very small with no boobs or anything at about 18? Weighed about 50
kg and many of my friends assumed and said behind my back I was anorexic! Gained weight after I had ds (breastfeeding made me fat! Go figure!) and my entire family was on my back about being about 8 kg over weight. My grandma (who is an evil bish) wouldn't even let me eat dessert at family dinners! Then with this pregnancy I dropped a lot of weight and was a bit gaunt for a short time then now I'm quite thin except my belly and my nanna is saying I'm "starving" the baby bla bla. Basically people seem to think its some of their business when its not. I think all you can do is either say something catty back or let it roll off you

Geniene
18-02-2011, 23:26
Haha yeah I get that as well...even when pregnant with DS2...I mean seriously! Do you think I want to starve my baby? Some people are very silly!!

I tend to hit a bottom weight which I am at now and stay there...then I put a little bit on and then summer comes and off it goes again...

I don't care what people say anymore. I eat healthy and I actually eat a lot so it's out of my control...

Guest1234
19-02-2011, 00:09
I found when I was a teen it was easier to be this weight, no one batted a eye at it. After dd1 I was around 64kg (i was 59kg pre preg after being on the implanon) but then with my second pregnancy I was down to 58ish kg after birth! All through my pregnancy, particularly 3rd trimester I was asked frequently if I was eating enough, if I was starving myself etc, when I was eating constantly!

I don't weigh myself, but at a guess I'm between 55kg and 59kg, coz I can comfortably fit into the size 7 shorts I used to wear before my first pregnancy.

But because I'm now a mum, people assume that I must he starving myself, or trying to diet too much or something, like they expect me to be on the heavy side coz I'm a mum now.
I think I would be more comfortable with my weight if every one else would stop making stupid assumptions or comments.

Df said to the person who made a comment about my lack of @ss today that its a sexy @ss :D I guess its easy coz he knows its my body that is doing this, not me, and I have no control over it.

Clearly I got my dads genes, not my mums. I just wonder why its so unacceptable for a mother to be naturally thin?

share a book
19-02-2011, 00:18
I've recently gone up to a size 10 (yep 7.5 years is all it took) and finally people have stopped with the comments!!!

I don't envy you. Been there, gone through it, totally SUCKS BALLS to hear the comments and it's like we have/had no reason to complain because other people have it so much tougher when they are trying to lose weight. Ok, so I don't know what it's like to try and lost weight and not be able to, but I do know what it's like to try and gain and not be able to no matter how many disgusting protein shakes you are given and how many supplements you are put on and no matter which diet you follow.

I hate how people make out like people in our situations have no right to talk about our struggles too, that's what really gets me, but you know what? If we don't talk about it, who will???

Guest1234
19-02-2011, 00:28
I've recently gone up to a size 10 (yep 7.5 years is all it took) and finally people have stopped with the comments!!!

I don't envy you. Been there, gone through it, totally SUCKS BALLS to hear the comments and it's like we have/had no reason to complain because other people have it so much tougher when they are trying to lose weight. Ok, so I don't know what it's like to try and lost weight and not be able to, but I do know what it's like to try and gain and not be able to no matter how many disgusting protein shakes you are given and how many supplements you are put on and no matter which diet you follow.

I hate how people make out like people in our situations have no right to talk about our struggles too, that's what really gets me, but you know what? If we don't talk about it, who will???
Exactly :yes: I mean look at this particular forum, only 3 posts in I think 6 months? Struggling to gain weight is just as much a problem as weight loss, but its clearly not socially recognised.

And another thing that df tells me all the time, its easier to lose weight because there is something you can actually physically do to burn off the fat, but putting on weight is entirely different because you can't exactly DO anything to gain weight, apart from eating junk and putting your health at risk by doing so, but even if I did that, I wouldn't put on much weight any way.
Its just crazy!

share a book
19-02-2011, 00:32
Exactly, in fact I think what's helped me gain weight is the fact that recently I've been drinking a lot of beer which isn't exactly the greatest thing for a person. Well, I haven't been drinking excessively, but people have been coming over with alcohol or giving me money to buy alcohol to share with them or they have been staying here and eating our food in exchange for bringing the alcohol. Not exactly the most fantastic way to gain weight, but what else is there? You go looking for this kind of thing and come up with dozens of weight loss sites or phone number, not much at all for weight gain, and nothing healthy whereas staying that size is also incredibly unhealthy.

MothersMilk
19-02-2011, 06:44
I completely understand. I've always been small, it's just the way my body is, and i've always that the comments. I have even been followed into the toilets at work to see if i was vomiting because i must have an eating disorder to eat heaps and not gain weight.
The only time it really stopped was after my second child because despite only weighing 50kg i had big boobs and a bit of pot belly so i think the more womanly shape made me look less skinny. My boobs have started going down now so we'll see if the comments return.
It is so unfair that people seem to think is okay to go on about someone being 'too skinny' yet would never dream of commenting on someone being overweight.
I had more to say but have to go - i do get it though :hugs::hugs::hugs:

TurnedBatty
19-02-2011, 07:11
I am not overly skinny, but I get the worry. No one understands why I am worried about weightloss, the weight is still dropping off me after ds was born 7 months ago. Yes I breastfeed, but I get worried it wont stop! Of course all my family says "Oh shutup, you are lucky. I never lost weight breastfeeding." Yes, thats lovely, but I am losing too fast!

lulu 2
19-02-2011, 07:41
I remember the day I looked in the mirror at my fav bum hugging trousers to find I had no bum anymore, I cried. I was only recently saying to a friend that people look at you way worse if your too thin than if your overweight , it felt that way to me anyway.

RunningWithScissors
19-02-2011, 08:56
I used to have this problem.. Until about 2 years ago. I was down to about 44/45kg and a doc wanted me to see the eating disorder clinic! I have never and will never diet, I dont have it in me, I love my food... Especially the bad stuff haha!
It used to poop me that everyone would assume I was annorexic or starving myself. My grandmother was the biggest accuser.. Until I lived with her for a few years, then shed tell me to stop eating because of the sheer amount I was able to put away.
Ive managed to put on a few kgs in the last few years.. I blame marriage haha! Im sitting around 56/57kgs and I feel fat :(
It doesnt help that everyone now comments about how much weight Ive put on .
I admit looking longingly at my 6-8 clothes but then remembering the accusations, I dont know whether I miss them or not!!

Weight should never be open to public opinion regardless of size

Boobycino
19-02-2011, 09:05
I'm not even slim - but I lost 21 kilos in the last bit over a year - my SIL (who has been steadily gaining weight since getting into a comfortable relationship - but of course you don't comment!) went on and on about how I'm so skinny and have I had my thyroid checked - telling me I look boney....

.... I HAVE a mirror. I'm not even boney. I'm still 65kilos and 165cms. I'm comfortably healthy.

Anyhow. Im just dissmissing her comments as being jealousy.

mishh
19-02-2011, 09:07
I don't know from personal experience, but my mum is 50 and currently has gall stones. She has always been quite slim but ATM weights about 48kg (she's 5'2").
EVERYONE says stuff to her about eating and tries to buy her maccas and stuff. She literally cannot eat fatty foods because it flares up her gall stones and she gets severe reflux and brings up copious amounts of bile. So like any smart person she has been eating healthily in small amounts frequently, but just can't put on the weight.
I feel so bad for her because I see how people look at her but she can't help it!! She's really self conscious now and its affecting her social life :(

It's not fair. I completely agree that being underweight is just as difficult a problem to fix as being overweight and it's a shame it's not recognised properly for correct treatment.

:hugs: to all you ladies!!

MermaidSister
05-03-2011, 18:46
It's funny how people's attitudes towards slimmness changes post-childbirth...I've just started saying "PREGNANCY DOESN'T MAKE YOU FAT, JUNK DOES!!"...in response to all the "But you don't even look like you've had kids, you're so skinny!" comments.

On the contrary to this thread though, I actually do eat a fair bit of cr@p these days, but i used to be a health and fitness fanatic and was called anorexic many times, so I understand the feeling. I'm not even super slim (around 58kg at 171cm, healthy!)

London
05-03-2011, 19:04
Next time someone tells you that you have no a$$, do the Carl Baron thing, and just fart then ask then where they think that came from :D

MothersMilk
05-03-2011, 19:42
mystics - i actually had someone say i couldn't have had a baby a few months ago as i was 'too skinny' i think bub was 6 months or so) - what does that even mean? Plenty of skinny people have babies.
So weird :confused:

Dragon Fly
05-03-2011, 19:50
I have no bum, I'm not skinny skinny but i've never had a bum, if I gain weight it's in my stomach and hips, my bum remains flat, so I feel your pain :)

finallyready
05-03-2011, 20:00
I'm over trying to gain more weight. I feel like all I ever do is eat and nothing seems to put on the Kgs... I was 59kg pre-pre (but 174cm tall), peaked at 74kg and now 12mths later I'm struggling to stay above 54kg. I've seen a dietitian who says that I'm eating a healthy, balanced diet but need to eat more often. I'm not allowed to go to the gym (membership has been wasted for the past 3mths) and it's killing me as I used to go about 3 times a week, even up until 38wks preg.

I've even set 2 alarms on my phone to make me stop what I'm doing when at work and eat something. People used to laugh at me until they realised that it's actually quite serious!

I couldn't even join the Get Healthy campaign that my workplace is competing in as everyone else is trying to lose weight and there's nothing in the scoring or judging for people like me...

I have 1 pair of pants in my wardrobe that fit around the waist (but are baggy at the bum and crotch) and the new jeans I bought about 4 mths ago when my old ones got too big are now too big too! I can't afford to keep buying clothes!

Protein shakes - I have them when I remember and have found one that tastes really nice (and mixes properly).

Pity party over...

missjess86
05-03-2011, 21:17
Ahh i totally understand! Im 6ft (183cm) and quite skinny, about 60kgs. And because im so tall i look lanky and everyones always saying "oh your so skinny do you eat?" Um thank you, yes im aware of that grrr!!!

I would never go up to a large person and say "oh your so fat you should stop eating!!" so why would someone come up to me and say oh your so skinny do you eat?

stupid rude people!!!! I eat soooooo much!! and after every meal i have a sustagen drink to give me more calories! Im doomed to be skinny! :(

Actually now that iv had a baby a few months ago im skinny and have cellulite!! need to tone up without loosing weight?