View Full Version : Summer Bubs 2010/2011

herewego
17-02-2011, 12:02
Hi there ladies. I know a lot of us chat on FB but I thought there may still be some people who want to keep up the bubhub chit chat as well. Now we can talk about spew, poo, and sleep instead of heartburn, sore backs, and swollen ankles lol.

silvers
17-02-2011, 13:35
Hi herewego and all else :wave:, first I need to know how to change my ticker I think it is a little out of date!
Talking of poo I brought some cheaper nappies on sale. Never again We have had 3 poo explosions in 3 days. 2 have been while we are out and ive worm it too :eek: . Not keen on packing a spair set of clothes for me as well lol.
Hope all are well x

herewego
17-02-2011, 13:38
I bought some babylove nappies as they were recommended, but I have had a lot of explosions (it even came out his sleeve the other day!). I like the coles gumnut nappies the best.

smileygirl
17-02-2011, 13:38
:wave::wave:

hi

i have been slack at staying in touch on here...but am about.

Zoe is nearly 5 months old now! has started solids (she loves them) and is still a booby baby.

Sleep is hit and miss...i normally get 6 hours though...

how is everyone else going?

dragongal77
17-02-2011, 15:20
Isabella is 13 weeks today and getter cuter and cuter each day ( in my opinion anyway) sleep is good at night although still has two feeds but goes straight back to sleep. Does anyone else find it hard to get a burp out at night? Still need to work on self-settling and daytime sleep though :)
Smiley- how exciting that Zoe has started solids, I can't wait! Messy but going to be so cute.
Herewego & silvers- I'm trying all different nappies, huggies has been wiped out. Babylove we have no problem with but have bought some pampers cruisers cos they were on special found them to be ok too. Haven't had a poo explosion since we got rid of huggies.
Hi to everyone else... Got to get used to everyones nicknames again, started to type your real names :)

herewego
17-02-2011, 19:44
Dragon - I find Lucas doesn't need as much burping at night. Maybe they don't take in as much air when they're half asleep.

Lucas has developed a nasty looking rash on his bottom so I showed the child health nurse and we worked out it's a contact dermatitis caused by his nappies. I switched to babylove on the weekend so I'll be saying bye-bye to them!

jai9
17-02-2011, 21:21

Dragon. I usually dont get any burps out at night. Lucas mostly just falls asleep straight when he's finished feeding.

Herewego. That's not good. Hope it clears up soon.

I must be the only one that likes huggies. They seem to work for us.

Lucas has not been feeding well the last few days. He only wants 5 mins at a time and wants to feed every 2 to 2 1/2 hours instead of every 3. It's quite frustrating trying to get him to drink. I'm worried he's going to get dehydrated in the heat.

herewego
17-02-2011, 21:45
Jai - Lucas did a similar thing recently and I rang the ABA. I was told that in this hot weather they often just want the fore milk to quench their thirst.

Waiting for my dad to come over so I can do some grocery shopping and put petrol in my car!

dragongal77
17-02-2011, 22:08
Herewego & jai- that's ok then about night burps was abit worried about her going straight back to sleep without burping especially with her reflux but can't really get a burp out of her and she sleeps ok so that's the main thing.

silvers
18-02-2011, 07:37
Morning, Well we went back to only one feed last night :smiliedance:
Jai Im going back to Huggies Ive tried a few others on special and have had trouble. Its funny how the must fit bubs bottoms differently.
Dragon I did read somewhere as bub is more relaxed at night they don't get so much air while drinking.
Herewego not good re rash if it doesn't clear up I have some tips re eczema creams ect as ds7 gets it
Well another rainy day here:( so I think we may have a home day and relax a little

peanut22
18-02-2011, 08:17
Hi:wave: thanks for setting this up Herewego

Ted is 12 weeks today, hard to believe but on the other hand life Before Bub seems so long ago that I can barely recall what it was like.

We are going well, Ted had his Paediatrician follow up on Mon and was pronounced 'healthy and normal':D He sleeps very well at night, regularly from 8.30pm to around 5.30/6am but just when I'd come to expect that he's wanted a 3.30/4.30 feed the last two nights, just to keep me on my toes. I'm hoping it's just a passing phase, maybe 12 week growth spurt.

Feeding is probably my biggest challenge, taking 45mins every 3 hours during the day. Am hoping he will improve at self settling as I am walking a track into the floor doing laps to get him down.

I quite like Pampers cos they aren't as bulky but not as easy to find...

herewego
18-02-2011, 13:03
Peanut - that's great to be told that your baby is healthy and normal. Of course I'm sure you already knew that :) (and extremely cute :p). Isn't the 3 month mark a real turning point? That's what everyone said to us when Lucas a newborn, but it is amazing the difference. As Ted gets stronger I'm sure he'll start to get quicker at feeding. I found Lucas suddenly became a lot better at self settling at 3 months. He still grizzles when I put him down, but it is just a 'getting off to sleep' grizzle.

Ooh - that's him waking. I shall return...

dragongal77
18-02-2011, 14:58
I'm jealous of those who have babies that self-settle:( Isabella is 13 weeks, or 3 months today and show absolutely no signs of wanting to self- settle. I rock, rock and pace the floor to get her to sleep and most of the time it's only for 10-15 mins arrghhh! And still can hardly ever put her down! I suppose I shouldn't complain too much cos I'm getting my night sleep which is most important. Still has two feeds but goes back to sleep straight away. I do think she is getting more adorable each day with her smiles and chats. Like peanut said, can hardly remember what life was like before bubs arrived but wouldn't have it any other way. Oh one thing I do miss is having time for DH :)

herewego
18-02-2011, 15:15
Dragon - when are you going back to Tresillian? Hopefully they can get you in soon. At least Isabella goes back to sleep easily at night. It certainly makes the days more bearable if they sleep at night!

Silvers - send us some of your rain! Having said that, I think we are expecting some showers over the weekend, but it will probably be humid. We've had pretty revolting weather here this week - especially the humid 39 degree day we had on Wednesday :no:

AFM - Lucas is 14 weeks today and is such a smiley, happy little chappy. He was sitting on my lap grinning at the lady next to me at mother's group yesterday, and he lies on his mat and smiles at his little friends :p He's really starting to 'coo' and especially likes blowing raspberries. He's settled into his 7pm bedtime and is getting better at only waking once for a feed (it depends how well he feeds at 6.30pm). His day sleeps are coming along - he usually gets 3 in, but it can be hard to get him to go longer than 45-60 minutes. Every couple of days he will do a 2 hour stint. I guess it's a bit of a 'catch-up' sleep. I'm going to try and start doing some swimming lessons next week. They have these mums and bubs classes where you take the baby in the water for 30 minutes, get out, feed them etc and then put them in their prams and some volunteers (older ladies) watch them and push them around in their prams while the mums do a water aerobics class. Sounds great to me! One of the girls in my mothers group has been and she says it's excellent.

Also, I contacted babylove and they were 'shocked' to hear of Lucas's reaction to their nappies and have asked for me to send a clean nappy (not a dirty one?? lol) so they can carry out investigations on it. They responded really quickly - I guess they don't want to get a bad name!

jai9
18-02-2011, 20:48
Peanut. That's great Ted is healthy. I am longing for more sleep at night. But can't complain too much as Lucas usually goes from 7.30 till 2.30. Def looking forward to the 2,30 feed extending. Lucas is 9 weeks now.

Herewego. Lucas did the same at mothers group yesterday. Everyone was commenting how good he was. But then he was really difficult to go down last night. Didn't fall asleep till 9!

Dragon. I agree they get more adorable each day

Lucas just had a screaming fit in the car on the way back from the shops. Felt so bad ad he was due for a feed. At least he had a good feed when we got home

dragongal77
18-02-2011, 23:49
Herewego- tresillian are going to ring me next week for a phone interview and will probably tell me then when we go but I'm hoping when the time comes I won't need to go? That's great that Lucas is a happy chappy :) isabella has always been miss grumble bum. I mean she smiles and chats heaps now I think it's the lack of daytime sleep that makes her grumpy, which the nurse said once she gets down pat she should improve.
Jai- the screaming fits in the car are the worst! I absolutely dread them. We've had quite a few of them.
Peanut- I hear you on the self-settling :(

silvers
19-02-2011, 08:49
morning,
Hope everyone got a good nights rest,
I shouldnt of said anything about the 1 feed as last night he went to sleep a 720 woke 11 , 330 stayed awake untill 430:hair: then awake again for day at 6. I am meant to be going out this am so I put him on his play mat and went down stairs for a minute and hes asleep. Now if I wanted to get him to have a sleep I would of been pacing the lounge for 1/2 hour. I just cant bare to wake him even though Ill prob miss my apt.
Herewe go hope get a refund on the nappy's.
Dragon I think it would be lack of day sleep making her grumpy. Arrom is a shocker when I cant get him down. When he is like that I pop him in the pram and go for a walk. He used to hate the pram but last 2 weeks he loves it.
Sorry to who I have missed my brain isn't working to well at present x

dragongal77
19-02-2011, 11:03
Silvers that's what the nurse at the day care cottage said too. That once she gets the daytime sleep she will be a happy one. But how to get the daytime sleep going? Really can't wait to go to tresillian. I'm sure most of it is behaviour now. Maybe it's me? Really don't know...

herewego
21-02-2011, 12:02
Urgh! Lucas had a shocking day yesterday with his sleeps and I have a feeling today is going to be the same.... He always goes to sleep eventually during the day, even if it takes him 15-20 minutes or so, but yesterday morning he was in his bed crying for an hour with me trying to settle him and eventually I gave up and got him up. Of course when I gave him his next feed he was so tired he fell asleep during it. He is only sleeping for 45 minutes at the moment so he wakes up tired and then has another hour or so until his next feed, so then I have to put him down to sleep after that feed. I think he has decided he likes being fed to sleep because it has happened a couple of times in the past couple of days (not intentional) but it is a habit I really don't want him to get into. He is sleeping well at night and I have had to wake him the past couple of mornings. This morning I got him up at 7.15, fed him, and then put him down again at 8am because he was yawning and I could see he was tired. He has now been in his bed for over an hour and is still awake! He is grizzling a little bit but is otherwise content there so I'm just leaving him. I don't know why he's suddenly refusing to sleep!!!

silvers
21-02-2011, 14:24
May be its the age Herewego as My little man is not sleeping prop either. He has decided to take about 20- 30mins to feed and while he is doing this he is having a little power nap and thinking that is enough sleep.
He is getting so tied but he is so stubborn he want give in to go back to sleep. Night time has became harder now as no matter how tied he is he want go to sleep until its dark and as it doesn't get dark here until about 9 its a late night for him.
I think the whole school run has mucked his sleeping up as it is right on the times he had his sleeps!

peanut22
21-02-2011, 16:56
Hi :D

Herewego, sorry you've hut a rough patch. I hope Lucas has slept better for you today.

Silvers, how old is Arron now? It's so hard when they get overtired and refuse to sleep :-(

Jai, I hear you on crying in the car! This morning Ted screamed all the way to our baby massage class, it was awful. I tried singing like a crazy woman but nothing would calm him. It's so hard because he really needed a sleep but I had to put him in the car.

Dragon, hope Tressilian call you very soon

AFM so long since Trd has had a long daytime nap. I don't know if it's cos he's older and or if it's just a stage. Am hoping he will revert to fewer feeds and longer sleeps soon!

herewego
21-02-2011, 22:58
Peanut - how's the baby massage class going? I saw some of the photos on FB. Are all 4 of you BH girls? I couldn't quite figure out who everyone was.

Silvers - have you got some good block out curtains in Arrom's room? I really think they make a difference. I noticed that Lucas would wake earlier when he was sleeping in our room because the morning sun would come through our curtains whereas his room faces another direction and doesn't get light early. I often have to wake him in the morning now.

AFM - Lucas refused to sleep again this morning! He was in his cot for 2 hours, and he was mainly fairly content for that time, but would grizzle whenever I left the room. That's what made me think he was just playing me for a fool ;) I took him to a mums and bubs swimming class this morning and that got him sleeping!! It was great! We had 30 minutes in the pool with the baby, then got out, fed them, changed them etc, and then had a 45 min aqua aerobics class. There are older ladies who volunteer to watch them and they were all there pushing the prams and looking after them if they were upset. They were right by the pool so if they were really upset you could just get out and tend to them. Lucas only slept for about 30 minutes after his session, but when we got home he slept for 2 hours :smiliedance: He was so tired this evening that I had to put him down at 6.30 because there was no way he was going to last until 7. I enjoyed a big glass of wine after that :D

peanut22
22-02-2011, 10:50
Herewego - the massage is great! The insrtructor is a singing teacher and sings a different song with each technique. Ted just loves it and sleeps very well afterwards. I am going to do it before bed to help settle him. There's 3 BHers in the class plus my friend wh organized it and one mum from my mothers group. Smiley couldn't make it yesterday but in the pics you can see me in second from the left, with lissyloo (Mel) on my right.

The swimming lesson and aerobics sounds fabulous!!! I would live that, what a great idea. I am looking firward yo starting aqua play with Ted at six months. Bonus that Lucas crashed out afterwards too!

jai9
23-02-2011, 20:23
Herewego. My Lucas has been doing something similar only sleeping for 20 to 30 mins and then it's over an hour till the next feed. It's so frustrating as it makes it so hard to get anything done at home. However if I take him out it's a different story. He can sleep for hours in his pram. Today he has had 3 30 min sleeps and it's 5.30 now.

Slivers. Fitting in a school run with a new baby must be hard.

Peanut. The baby massage sounds great. I've been meaning to find out about doing a course here.

Gotta go Lucas is crying. He had only been down for 10 mins

herewego
24-02-2011, 13:09
Lucas must have taken pity on me because yesterday morning he had a 1.5 hour sleep, then a 45 min midday sleep, followed by a 2 hour afternoon sleep :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance: I am finding now that when he is really tired (especially at 6.30pm) he really fights the (.)(.) even though he's hungry. Last night he only drank for about 5 minutes on each side and then was getting really distressed because he was hungry and tired but refused to drink. I decided to try some EBM from a bottle and he was happy to take that. Once he'd relaxed and had a bit of milk in him I tried the boob again and he was happy :confused: I must have filled him up reeeeaaal good because he went to bed at 7.30 and didn't wake for a feed until 5.15 this morning! I woke up first and was willing him to wake up and empty my boobs!! Better yet, he went back to sleep after that feed until 7am. I think today's going to be a good day :D :D

herewego
24-02-2011, 13:10
PS I hope it doesn't sound like I'm bragging....he's just been a really painful sleeper for most of this week and it feels like we've had a breakthrough....

smileygirl
24-02-2011, 14:49
herewego...not bragging, celebrating!! and so you should as that is an awesome sleep!!

zoe's sleep is still hit and miss...but seems to be improving. i have to work around the school run but am getting to a stage she regularly sleeps 11.30 - 2.30. if i get that sleep in...i have a great arvo and a god night. if that sleep fails then the evening hard work lol

i am so busy atm i rarely have time to sit down and post...i try to distract myself with other peoples stuff as my life too busy to think about!! Uni starts again next week...no idea how i am going to fit that in too but i really want to get off to a good start!!

silvers
24-02-2011, 20:21
Good evening

Herewego what a great sleep Im soo jealous :yes: Id brag celebrate and do a :smiliedance: if Arrom would do that

smiley I admire you doing fitting in UNI into your day I struggle to brush my hair some days it feels like.

Jai I relate to not getting anything done around the house some days and Arrom to will sleep for hours in the pram if I keep moving it.

Peanut Baby massage sounds great I wish they had something like that here.
Dragon how are you going ?

AFM I done an injury at netball with my hip (forgot Im not 20 any more:() and that makes life a little uncomfortable with stairs in our house. Arrom still isn't keen on sleeping through the night I think he likes the boob too much but he is just so adorable and and starting to get such a little personality.He rolled from front to back today and scared him self but hasn't done it again. Ok best get to bed as Ill be called in a couple of hours.

dragongal77
24-02-2011, 22:57
Silvers thanks for asking we are pretty much in the same boat as you. No self- settling and still a couple of night feeds. DH said to me why don't I try getting her back to sleep without feeding her- didn't work! She definately wanted her feed. You sound like you are in the same routine as us- a non- existent one :) but I have to admit she is getting more adorable each day and I'm looking forward to every milestone.
Herewego- I'm jealous too :) Lucas sounds like a real happy chappy! But yeah, brag away! Why not? I'd brag too if and when Isabella gets there :)
Smiley- hi, have missed you just wOndered today why you haven't posted for a while. You are definately doing well fitting in a school run, uni and a baby. I'm trying to juggle and baby and quick ducks to the loo :)
Jai- I'm not getting much done either but eh it's not going anywhere anyway. Isabella can do what Lucas does too and can only be done for 5-10 mins before she starts crying.
Peanut- the crying in the car is the worst! The massage class sounds great! And that's awesome you got to meet some BHers.
AFM- had a phone interview with tresillian today. We are going in to weeks yay! We are going to work on self-settling in a cot. No feeding to sleep and feeding every 4 hrs instead of 2-3 hrs. I hope we are going to be successful! I'm excited but scared :( not sure if I'm doing the right thing by going? Now I've just gotta work out how I'm going to get her up there cos it's a 3 hr drive and she absolutely hates the car. Still has these non-stop screaming episodes.

smileygirl
25-02-2011, 04:25
thanks guys...i really hope i manage uni as i am excited and looking forward to making my brain work again!

dragon - it's hard when bubs don't like the car. i hope tresillian works..i did sleep school with Elliott when he was about 6 months old and it really helped.

Silvers - Arrom will get there in his own time. Right now just take caare of yourself as a top priority! netball?? wow, you braver then me!

jai - i wish Zoe would sleep out and about!! Will he sleep in the pram at home?

herewego - tha swimming sounds awesome!! what a great idea...i bet the oldies love it too!

i am having the **** night tonight lol i think this feed number 4...sigh@!

jai9
26-02-2011, 12:03
herewego - hope lucas has been continuning on with the great sleeping. My lucas seems to have gone backwards and we have been up twice the last 2 nights. Am wondering whether I should be trying to cut out his 2-3am feed my giving him some water instead in the hope to encourage him not to wake up them, but not sure.

dragon - how is the 4 hourly feeding going? has it made a difference. I have been wondering when to move lucas from 3 hourly to 4 hourly feeds, but figured seeing as he is still waking in the night that he mustn't be ready for it yet.

silvers - lucas too rolled from his front to his back on monday, but hasn't done it since. I was so excited I rang everyone in my family and told them. how is arom going with sleeping at night?

smiley - wow, I don't know how you manage uni, and 2 kids, that's amazing. I often put Lucas to sleep in his pram at home, means I only have to have one airconditioner on during the day instead of 2 - it has been so hot here.

hope everyone is good. Was so excited yesterday Lucas slept for an hour yesterday afternoon and I finally managed to make our birth thank you cards. has anyone used zazzle before? it's the first time I've used it and they have some lovely designs on there. HOpefully they don't take too long to arrive. Also, have ordered another pram (baby jogger city mini) as I wanted something lighter to get in and out the car and also to take away in july and spoke to the company last nght and it should be here in a week or so. We have a wedding to go to today. DH's parents are babysitting, I hope it goes ok as Lucas has been quite hard to get down at night the last 2 weeks and he hasn't been taking a bottle very well. he will only take about 30ml of ebm which is not nearly enough. am going to drive so I can always feed him when we get home if needed.

dragongal77
26-02-2011, 15:17
Jai- what 4 hourly feeds? We have always been on 2-3 hourly ones. Once we get to tresillian we are going to work on 4 hourly ones :) I can only hope...
Sounds like Lucas is hard to get down like Isabella. Hope you have a great time at the wedding and Lucas is good for his grandparents.
AFM- reversed roles today. Daddy stayed hone with bubby while mummy went to work. Was abit worried but it went pretty good. Will probably do it once a week. Gives me a chance to breathe, have a normal meal and a coffee. Good to do what humans do again :) although did miss my little one.

peanut22
27-02-2011, 10:19
Dragon - that's great about Tresillian. Can't wait to hear how you go. 4 hourly feeds sounds like complete bliss to me, we are still on 2-3 hours as well. Have to say, I'm over it and the prospect of stopping bfing at six months is getting more appealing:( And you must let me know what they recommend to move on from the pacing to sleep. I spent most of my day feeding and pacing...

Jai - I've used Zazzle for address labels, love them! I was going to use them for our thank you cards but a kind graphic designer friend did them for us as a gift:D

Smiley - I don't know how you do it! What are you studying?

Herewego - that's totally worth celebrating!

Silvers - I wish Ted would sleep in his pram, he hates it! If by some miracle I put him in it asleep when we are out he will wake when we get home, without fail. I have visions of leaving him in the pram, never happens :rolleyes:

smileygirl
27-02-2011, 10:40
I'm studying primary education....this term studying from home as i am not ready to leave Zoe with anyone (and the fussy lil monster won't eat for anyone else). I'll prob do 1 on campus subject next semester and another online one.

then back into it properly in 2012....eeekkkk

don't praise me too much, i start next week and it may all fall apart lol

peanut22
27-02-2011, 11:48
Smiley - full credit for even trying with a baby and little boy!

Lissy Loo
27-02-2011, 13:27

Good idea herewego, i still hang around on BH as there are still girls in the Jan/Feb/Mar thread due to have their bubs but most of my chatting is on FB now.

Liam is 5 weeks and it has been pretty hard i will admit but we will get there.

I need to read back on all your updates although i probably know where most of you are at anyway :laughing:

Good timing Liam, i can here him crying now

dragongal77
27-02-2011, 13:49
Peanut will definately give you an update after we go tresillian. Can't wait now counting down the days cos Isabella has had a few crappy days. When it just seems like it's getting better it gets worse again! Hopefully we can get the sleep issue sorted. The screaming in the car has started up again too so now I don't feel like going anywhere because it's such a challenge getting from A to B :(
Lissy- hi! The beginning is definately a challenge, I can't even say first few weeks cos we are 14 weeks now and still struggling at times, certainly not as smooth sailing as we thought it would be.
Smiley- I totally hear you not feeling ready to leave bubs in anyone elses care. Don't know if I'll ever be ready :) goodluck with your studies.
Hi to everyone else

herewego
28-02-2011, 18:38
Peanut - Lucas hated being in his pram as well until I switched it from the bassinet to the seat and now he loves it. If his neck strength isn't good enough you can just keep the seat tilted back so he is still reclined.

Smileygirl - wow on going back to uni. Are you planning on waiting until Zoe starts school before you start teaching? If so, that gives you enough time to study part time in the beginning.

Lissy loo - it's amazing how we think we're all prepared and then the baby comes along and we find out naive we were lol. It does get easier, especially when they start to respond to toys and playmats around 7-8 weeks.

I took Lucas up to meet some of my MIL's friends today and he was so good considering it's so hot. I have been feeding him all the time lately as he only wants short feeds so I want to keep him hydrated.

EKMum
11-03-2011, 23:42
Hi everyone, I just found this thread so I will have to catch up with where everyone is.

Herewego - thanks for starting the thread - I just sent a message via FB about the same sort of thing.
Glad you liked the mums and bubs swimming I tried to get into the class at subi today but it is booked out until the 25th!
Yay for good sleeping hope it continues. Corey sometimes has a good arvo sleep but other times he only has an hour. Corey fights feeding when he is tired too, so I just give in and put him to sleep!! He still doesnt self settle though!
I was going to ask you when did you change lucas over to the chair in the pram? I think COrey is ready to change over but he doesn't always hold his head up by himself.

Smileygirl - wow doing uni - you go girl!! Was it you that had some medical issues? How is it all going?

Jai - I was getting up twice night - now its 3 or 4 times - I am a zombie at the moment!! It must be the age? Someone said to me they have a growth spurt around 12 weeks. Wow Lucas rolled - how clever! I don't think Corey is anywhere near doing that! Also haven't used Zazzle - will have to check it out. I got my thankyou cards through Babycards.com.au How did the wedding go?

Dragongirl - How did dad go? I know what you mean about being human - I just feel like a feeding machine at the moment! Corey doesn't self settle either so don't worry! Good luck with Tresilian! I'm sure it will be worth it

Silvers - Corey doesnt sleep through either! How clever that you little one has rolled over and I agree with their little personalities shining through they are just so gorgeous.

Hello to PEanut and anyone else I've missed - will try to catch up with everyone soon.

AFM - we are doing ok - as I said above still getting up quite a bit during the night but I'm coping with the lack of sleep better than the first few weeks!!! Also Corey has got more into a routine of feed play sleep - although still no self settling and sometimes the routine is only a 2 hour block! I guess we will get there eventually.
I have a question - how do you all manage with outings - I find that an outing often messes up his sleeping and it takes a couple of days to get back into the routine as he tends not to sleep as much if we are out and then gets over tired etc.

jai9
12-03-2011, 20:56
Ekmum. We have had a few nights of getting up 3 times and he's been really difficult to resettle too. Was thinking it must be a growth spurt too. the wedding was fab. Was great to have a night out

Lucas is going through a bad sleeping phase at theoment. Won't sleep longer than 40ins during the day. It's hard to get anything done. Have been trying to resettle but its not working at the moment. Not very good at letting him cry tOo long.

herewego
12-03-2011, 22:38
Jai - Lucas has also been doing 45-60 minute stints during the day lately. Every now and then he pulls out a 2 hour sleep but the trouble is you never know when it's going to be! A girl from mothers group did a day stay at Ngala because her son wasn't sleeping well during the day. It turns out he wasn't able to resettle because he was hungry. The nurse told her it's common for mother's supply to drop around the 4 month mark because the baby is not as interested in feeding due to being distracted. I had suspected that my supply may have dropped because Lucas has been fussy for the past few weeks and I have been having to give him a bottle. Anyway, I upped my water intake (I knew I hadn't been drinking enough) and also started to eat a lot more during the day as I noticed I've lost weight and need to keep my weight up. I also rang a lactation consultant and she said just demand feed (often) and that I should notice a difference within 48 hours. I must say, I really did notice a difference in my supply, and Lucas is feeding a lot better. I was also able to resettle him when he woke after an hour today, and that normally isn't possible.

I'm not sure who's still reading this thread. I'm not sure if it's really taken off!

AFM - I've had a pretty crap week! I developed a cold over the weekend, so it was at it's worst on Monday when DH went away. Lucas also had his vaccinations last Friday and he was a bit off colour until around Wednesday. He had a bit of diarrhoa, and the CHN thought he just looked a bit unlike his usual self. So there was me with a cold and Lucas feeling off - it was a bundle of laughs in our house! It's also a wonder week, just to throw something extra into the mix. We seem to be over the worst now, although Lucas is quite clingy at the moment and seems to be a little more 'precious' than usual. He's crying a lot more when I put him down on his playmat, and basically just wants to be cuddled all the time. I'm guessing it's a combination of him feeling a bit off colour, and some developmental changes. He seems to be changing every day. He has developed this sort of shouting/grunting noise that he seems to like at the moment, but I can't say it's my favourite sound :laughing: There is also LOTS of dribble and hands in the mouth. Also, he rolled over twice today. I knew it was imminent because he has been rolling onto his side a lot lately. So it was into a grow bag for him tonight. I think I can kiss my stinky, thread bare wrap me up goodbye. Anyway, despite the hard work he's a bundle of fun and I love him more and more every day :p

EKMum
13-03-2011, 00:17
Herewego - I only just found the thread - so I hope it keeps going!! I have enjoyed catching up with where everyone is at at the moment.
Sorry to hear you and Lucas have been unwell - hopefully you all get back on track soon. It seems all of our bubs are a bit unsettled at the moment.

Jai - glad to hear the wedding went well. Corey has also been sleeping short sleeps during the day although he did sleep for 2 hours this arvo. Have you been able to get Lucas to self settle? Corey wont yet and DH said tonight that I'm spoiling him :( I don't like to let him cry for very long either. I'm hoping as he grows he will learn to self settle.:fingerscrossed:

Hi to everyone else - I hope you all keep sharing so we can keep the thread alive!

AFM - I'm hoping Corey sleeps better tonight - I know he is waking because he is hungry but he only feeds for a short time and then falls asleep and I can't get him to drink any more. Hopefully it is only a stage he is going through.

jai9
13-03-2011, 01:30
Sounds like we are all having a difficult time of late

Herewego. Am def going to try the water. Have been thinking of going to do a day stay at ngala to see if that helps. Hope your cold has cleared up and that Lucas is netter. Wow, how exciting rolling. The wrap me ups do get gross after a while as even with waging I can't get the grit out the arms as Lucas sucks on his hands so much

Ekmum. Lucas can go to sleep by himself sometimes during the daywith the help of his dumm Is that self settling? But he cannot go from one sleep cycle to the next during the day without help. I hope Corey has a good night for you. We seem to get our best feeds during the night at the moment.

EKMum
13-03-2011, 13:01
Woohoo Corey slept from about 8.30pm until 2am and then until 6am. Thank goodness - the 2 hourly wake ups were wearing me down!

peanut22
14-03-2011, 13:04
Hi everyone! Public hol in Melb, lovely and sunny, off for lunch with DH soon:smiliedance:

EK, glad you had a better sleep, and hope last night was good too.

Jai, great that you enjoyed the wedding. I haven't done anything like that yet because I don't express. We are going to have my mum come on a Sat night after Ted is in bed so we can go out locally. Once Ted is down he never wakes but I'll still be nervous because I don't have any EBM. I am thinking of trying to express after the early morning feed to give me some more freedom, I don't even feel I can leave Ted with DH while I go to the local shops in case he cries and DH shoves formula at him when he just needs a nap. Sorry Lucas isn't sleeping well day or night! I'm struggling with the day sleeps but at least Ted does a long stint at night.

Herewego, that's really interesting about supply dropping off. Ted goes about 9 hours without a feed overnight and I hope my supply is not affected by that. That's great Lucas is feeding better. How often are you feeding now? Were you expressing when Lucas was more fussy? I am surprised that supply would drop in that case but I think you're right about needing to eat and drink enough. I lost weight in the early days but since then my appetite has gone mad and I have been eating so much that I think I have gained a bit. Yay on Lucas rolling!

jai9
14-03-2011, 15:12
Ekmum. That's a great sleep. Hope last night was good too. We didn't do too badly last might he woke at 10.45 then 3.30 amd up at 6.15.

Peanut. Does ted always take both sides? If not express from the other side after the morning feed. I don't express much now as Lucas doesn't take a bottle well. But he will drink some if really hungry. It def gives u some freedom.

jai9
14-03-2011, 15:16
I am crap at resettling during the day sleeps. I am just not good at hearing him cry. I know he will stop if I pick him up. But have been trying the patting and rocking in the cotwhich doesn't seem to work

EKMum
14-03-2011, 16:39
Peanut - wow Ted sleeps well at night - I can only dream of sleeps like that. I haven't expressed at all yet - but might try it soon. I dont think Corey will take to a bottle very well but we will give it a go.

Jai - I always miss trying to resettle Corey he usually sleeps for an hour which I figure is not too bad since at the beginning he would only sleep for 20 mins. He will sometimes sleep for 2 -3 hours in the afternoon which is good. I did manage to resettle him this morning as I was trying to get some sleep too so I was in the same room as him.

Hi Herewego and everyone else!

AFM - Corey woke up twice last night and was up early this morning - I think it was because we went out yesterday afternoon and he didnt have much of a sleep and then went to sleep early. I feel bad when we go out and his sleep patterns get out of wack but at the same time I go nuts if I stay home all day everyday!!!
We changed our pram yesterday to the seat and Corey seems to like it much better which is good because I was starting to get tired of carrying him when I go to the shops and trying to push the pram at the same time. I think he just likes looking around now!!

peanut22
14-03-2011, 19:01
Jai - he does always take both sides but the ,owning feed might only be 5 or so mins on the second side so I couldntry expressing from there. We get outbanlot but it would be nice to be able to go for a haircut or anything alone.

EK - I switched to thecstroller for the same reasons, it's sooo much better! Haven't had to do a push and carry since:D

Herewego - Ted developed an aversion to his play gym for about a week, he finally seems over it thankfully. I was so lost without that source of entertainment.

herewego
15-03-2011, 00:08
Ooh, good to see some action on this thread :D

Sorry but I think I'll have to come back tomorrow for personals. I've been getting stressed out about Lucas's feeding but my Dad is coming over tomorrow night and he's bringing his prescription pad with him so I can get started on the motilium. DH should be home on Wednesday night and I told him I can't wait until he gets home so he can take over the arsenic hours! Lucas has been hard work this week and the past 2 nights he has woken up crying at unusual times. I just had to give him a feed to resettle him as nothing else worked, but he has never needed extra top ups during the night outside of his 1 feed between 2 and 4am :confused:

herewego
15-03-2011, 10:16
Peanut - I hope you enjoyed the long weekend. Weekends and public hols mean nothing to me at the moment because dh's work isn't based around them, and I'm not working around them either at the moment.

Ekmum - I hope Corey slept well for you again last night.

Jai - I haven't had a lot of success resettling Lucas either, although it did happen once the other day....

Well there's nothing like a good night's sleep to recharge the battery :-) Lucas took a while to go down last night and I had to feed him on and off from 6 until 7.30. I think that must have really filled him up because he didn't wake until just before 5 and I think that's because I checked whether he was still alive! I gave him a quick feed and he's asleep again. I've enjoyed a cup of tea and a read of the paper in the morning sun :-) I actually didn't want to go back to sleep at 5.30 because I was enjoying the peace and quiet and time to myself too much!! I'm going to head to best and less today for some winter jumpsuits and pj's for Lucas. I don't know what sizes to get him though. He's already in 00's and is 7.5kgs at 4 months. I noticed his bonds 00 jumpsuits say they are up to 8kgs and they are already snug on him (they are a smaller fit than other brands though). Surely he can't be ready for 0's already!!!??? He'll be in size 1 by 6 months at this rate! Can anyone tell me when their rate of growth starts to slow down?

herewego
15-03-2011, 10:19
PS my little boy makes me laugh :-) All he wants to do is blow raspberries, especially when he's having a feed. It's so funny when I'm feeding him during the night and he starts blowing them. I could hear him lying in his cot practicing them as well the other night.

silvers
15-03-2011, 11:20
Good Morning or is it afternoon as Ive been up so long :rolleyes:
Ive just read all the post and now Im about to write do you think I can remember who wrote what:confused: Im sure its lack of sleep so sorry but Ill just chat with out names.
Long weekends are great at the moment as Im normally a shift worker its nice to be home with the family. Herewe go Im glad you have worked out what the go is with the feeding that would be a relief. Jai peanut and Uk mum hi I hope your little ones are sleeping when they should.
We just had our weigh in 7.22kg. The CHN reckons he is snacking often as he has learnt that if he has huge drinks he vomits more which is true hence why all the night feeds. Last night it was insane bed 630 woke feed 9 woke 12 feed woke with peenarmi 100 awake untill 4:( sleep until 430 then fell asleep on my chest 5 untill 6. No blooming wonder Im talking jibberish so I think I managed 4 hrs max.
Day sleeps are even less existent but thank goodness he is happy and smiling (I think thats all that keept him alive between 1 am and 4am lol) we havnt rolled again yet but is starting to giggle and only gets grumpy about 5 pm when he is ready for bed for the day but I hold him out until 630 or Id get no sleep Im sure.
Oh he is starting to pull himself along the floor now which is so cute . I do read thread daily but dont get to post much so keep chatting xx

silvers
15-03-2011, 11:22
Im such a twit after I posted that I seen I could see what everyone wrote before me Sorry

herewego
15-03-2011, 11:49
Ooh sounds like arron needs to give mummy a break!

EKMum
15-03-2011, 15:23
Herewego - :smiliedance:woohoo for sleeping through - well done Lucas. I hope you get his feeding sorted out soon. It must be great when DH gets home to give you some time out, although it sounds like you had a lovely morning!
Wow Lucas is doing some great growing!!! I was thinking today I will have to get Corey to wear more of his 000 clothes as he will probably grow out of them all soon!

Isn't it great now that they are developing little personalities - Corey cracks me up too - he will often be feeding and then he will just start smiling while he is still trying to suck! The other day we were coming back from an outing when he started getting really upset in the carseat so we stopped as I thought he was hungry - I got him out of the seat and sat in the front to give him a feed and he just laid there smiling at me!!! He's a cheeky monkey!

Silvers - Oh my you had a tough night. I feel for you. Once or twice a week Corey wakes up every two hours, but he usually goes back to sleep straight after a feed. There has only be a couple of occassions where he stayed awake for hours. Sleep deprivation is the worst. Good to hear that he is happy during the day - the smiles make the sleep deprivation worth it!!!

AFM - Corey has slept better the last 2 nights - only waking once during the night. Although I think I am my own worst enemy as last night I stayed awake after his feed and couldn't get back to sleep!!! Sometimes I think too much!

EKMum
17-03-2011, 16:05
Hello everyone - where are you all????

Hope you are all doing well.

I had my first mothers group yesterday. It was pretty good. About 12 mums and bubs, with quite a big mix of people although everyone seems quite nice. It will be interesting to get to know everyone. I was glad that I wasn't the only 'older' mum!

I'm trying to get Corey into more of a night time routine - it went well last night mainly because he was so tired from not much sleep during the day! I also got him to kind of self settle himself to sleep this morning - with a little bit of intervention from me (giving him a pat and letting him know I was still there). He also went to sleep in the pram at the shops today (which he usually won't do!) I think changing to the chair was a good thing!!!

jai9
17-03-2011, 17:10
Having the week from hell at the moment

Ekmum. Bedtime routine is great. Ours worked really well until a couple of weeks ago. Lucas would go down at 7 and sleep till 1-3. But last few weeks he's been waking up at 10.30-12.

Herewego. Yay for grsT sleeping. Hope it continues. How is theedication going? Is it making a difference yet?

Silvers. Your night sounded like ours last night. Up at 10.30. 2, 2.304.45 till 6.45. Hope they have been better.

GotTo 3am last night and had had enough and started crying saying to dh I was a bad mummy as Lucas wouldn't sleep. Think I was way overtired. Feel better on the light of day. It's amazing how things r so much worse in the middle of the might

peanut22
17-03-2011, 19:37
Jai - so sorry you are having a horror week. That sounds like an exhausting night. I really hope this is a quickly passing phase! You are so right about everything seeming so much worse in the middle of the night.

Herewego - I hope the motillium helps with the feeding issues. What dose are you taking?

EK - the bedtime routine works well for us in settling Ted more easily. I hope your mothers group turns out well, i'm still getting to know mine but it is a good group so far.

Silvers - the night feeds sound really tough, no wonder you feel sleep deprived.

AFM Ted had his vaccinations today, has been very grizzly so gave him some children's panadol and hope he'll sleep well.

herewego
17-03-2011, 22:19
Peanut - I hope Ted is feeling okay. I found Lucas had a bit of diarrhoa after his 4 month needles, and one of the babies from my mothers group had his needles today and he was filling his nappies all afternoon. His poor mum ran out of nappies as he just kept going!

EKMum - I'm glad you enjoyed your first mothers group. I've been lucky to have a lovely group and we have now formed a playgroup. All but 1 out of 15 of us have continued with it and everyone gets on really well. I hope Corey's good night time habits stick!

Jai - things always seem so much worse in the middle of the night. Did you say you were thinking of doing a day stay at Ngala? A couple of people I know who have done it said it was really helpful, and that they picked up some good pieces of advice.

Silvers - I hope Arrom gives you a good nights sleep soon :fingerscrossed:

AFM - I decided not to take the motillium just yet. My dad looked into it and said it's really recommended as something to take once you've already investigated other possible causes of low/decreasing supply. Funnily enough the lactation consultant returned my phone call (from last week) and said it could be a couple of things, such as posture or attachment. I have been adjusting my posture when he seems to be getting frustrated and I think it makes a difference. She also said I could go in for a consultation so they can watch me feed and suggest anything. I don't think I'll need to though as it seems to have got a lot better in the past few days with the demand feeding and drinking lots of water. I've also been eating more so hopefully that's helping too.

Anyway, the little terror is refusing to go to sleep so I'd better go tend to him.

silvers
18-03-2011, 13:16
jai sorry to hear our weeks been very trying I had a big cry awhile ago saying to DH I to was a bad mum as I couldn't get Arrom to sleep and his reply was he loves you so much he doesn't want to leave you to sleep. It's hard in the middle of the night it def feels a lot harder (HUGS) hope it gets a little easier.
Ek glad the mothers group is good Bed time is the best routine we have and the only time Arrom will self settle.
Peanut hope Ted is ok with his immunizations
Here we go glad the feeding is getting better what a relief for you both
AFM I want bore you with our terrible sleeping but its still terrible lol but we are getting giggles now which is sweet and a funny push along the floor crawl but he cant move his arms to go too its very funny looking. Ok lord Arrom is crying after his 5 min nap so best be off

EKMum
18-03-2011, 14:34
Jai - Oh I feel for you - I have had many nights like that with Corey. It is amazing our perception of things in the middle of the night can be so warped, then the next day you realise how things aren't so bad! Just know we all have had (and will have) nights like that - and you are a fabulous Mummy!!!

Herewego - Good to hear that the feeding is starting to get better. I think increasing your food and water will definitely help. I read on a website that breastfeeding mums need 2000kj extra per day which is quite a lot!

Peanut - immunisations are horrible aren't they! I went on my own for Corey's first lot - it was awful - Im bringing DH to the next lot :D

Silvers - I hear you with the sleeping!! Although my little man has been fairly good the last couple of days (touch wood). You're lucky to have Arrom self settle at night - I still haven't had much luck!!

Hello to everyone else! (if there are any others:))

AFM - Well our bedtime routine has continued - but he still won't self settle as I said. Last night he took over an hour to get to sleep. He just seems to fight going to sleep - it seems worse now that he is more aware of his surroundings - he seems to be looking around at everything! Although I can't complain too much as he has been sleeping well once he is asleep. He had a good afternoon sleep yesterday - nearly three hours:D

I'm a bit worried about Corey's weight - I weighed him at mothers group and he is only 5.4kg - which is quite low on the weight graph (about 30%) and it means he has only put on 600g in 4 weeks. I'm going to check with the nurse on Wednesday at mother's group. How much are they supposed to put on per week???

herewego
18-03-2011, 15:48
Ekmum - I think it's something like 100g a week? Don't quote me on that though. When Lucas has trouble getting to sleep at night I find it is because he is overtired and now that he sleeps with his arms free he pulls his hands up to his face and constantly pulls his dummy out. I have to shove a Teddy under each arm in order to keep his hands away from his face. Either that or I just swaddle 1 arm and let him have the other arm free. I still stick his toy comforter in that arm so he cuddles that and nuzzles his dummy filled mouth into it.

We're off to the caravan and camping show now! Looking for things for our big camping trip in June. DH drove out to forrestfield this morning to pick up our camper trailer but they have not quite built 1 part of it how he had ordered it so he came home empty handed :-( At least the guy said he'll deliver it to us when it's ready.

silvers
19-03-2011, 11:52
Ekmum how I got Arrom to self settle was by twirling a bright colored dog thing above the cot and while he was watching it he fell a sleep. It took 1/2 hour first time and decreased in time each night. Now I swing his mobile dont turn it on as the noise hypes him up and he goes of on his own. But that doesn't stop him waking 2 hrs later:no:.
Herewgo Camping is such fun where are you guys headed for your big trip?
Dragon how are things going for you guys now?
Smily hows uni going?
Jai hope you are getting some sleep
Hi to all others
I went to pilates this am and didn't realize what a bad posture I had

herewego
19-03-2011, 22:39
Silvers - we are travelling around the Kimberley and then down the WA coast back to Perth. We'll be away for about 6 weeks. DH bought/ordered quite a few $$ worth of stuff yesterday, but I didn't complain as I want a thermomix and am having a demo next weekend so he won't be able to argue after he bought all these things he wants :D

I think Lucas has a bit of an upset tummy. He seems to have a bit of diarrhoa and seems to be crying in pain when he's feeding (although he cries during most feeds now - I have no idea why. Frustration at having to work for his meal??) As soon as I stop feeding him he's happy and smiley but when I put him in the position to feed he starts crying. Once he realises the milk is right there he often calms down. He's also slept a lot today - a lot more than usual. I've given him baby panadol so hopefully his tummy is all better tomorrow :(

jai9
20-03-2011, 15:19
Herewego. Hope Lucas gets better soon. When r you going to start him on solids? Could the fussy feeding be that he is ready for more than just milk?

Ekmum. Any luck with the self settling yet? Lucas has slowed down on his weight gain too. I think it is Normal as they get older.

Silvers. I just found out there is a mums and buns pilates near me so am going to book in for the next course.

jai9
20-03-2011, 15:23
Hello to everyone

I had a phone consul with a sleep consultant last night. So have lots of new things to try. Bit hard today as Sunday and are busy out and about. Went to brekkie bit Lucas didn't sleep much in his pram and off to some markets this afternoon. Will let u know how it goes.

EKMum
20-03-2011, 23:01
Jai - I look forward to hearing how you go with the sleep suggestions - what did they say? It's good to know that Lucas is similar to Corey - how much does he weigh? I'm going to weigh Corey again on Wednesday, I have been trying to feed him up this week although he just doesn't feed for very long, but I figure that if he was hungry he would keep feeding - and he isn't upset at all so he must be OK.

Herewego - How is Lucas - I hope he is feeling better.
Your trip sounds interesting - I don't know if I would be game to go camping with a baby though, although I'm not really a camper! The kimberly is just gorgeous - I used to live in the pilbara - there are some amazing places to see! I would recommend stopping at Karijini if you are going the inland road up to the Kimberly.

Silvers - that's an interesting way to self settle!! I am hoping with his routine he eventually just uses the cues and is able to go to sleep. The last two nights we have had a feed then bath, then I put him in his sleeping bag and he has put his thumb in his mouth (he wont take a dummy) and starts to go to sleep. I'm hoping that eventually I can just put him down once he is in his sleeping bag.:fingerscrossed:

Hi May, Peanut and Smiley how are you all? Hi to anyone else.

AFM - not much to report! As I said we are making a bit of progress on the evening sleeping routine.
I went to a hens lunch today and then visited the local school fete, then DH and I went for pizza, so a big day and Corey was really good. I hope he sleeps ok tonight - he only had a few short naps today.

Hope you all have a great week!!!

herewego
21-03-2011, 00:08
Jai - can't wait to hear how the sleep goes. Did you go to the upmarkets? I love them, but didn't feel like braving them today with Lucas. DH and I ended up going to the chilli festival in Freo. It was okay, but I don't see why there was a $15 entry fee when it was basically just food vans inside! You pay to go inside and buy food!?

EKMum - we are taking the inland road up, and are planning to stop at Karijini on the way. We are going with some friends who also have a son who's turning 1 this week, so we won't be the only ones with a young one. They've just bought a Prado with built in DVD players for whoever's in the back seat, so I think we may have to dump Lucas on them when he's getting bored in our car :laughing: I discovered that our neighbours did almost exactly the same trip as us a couple of years ago so we're going to have to get them over and pick their brains. We're planning to travel through the Kimberley and do the Gibbs River Road and Bungle Bungles. Then we'll travel back along the north coast of WA across to the coral coast and head back to Perth from there. We'll be away for about 6 weeks in total. Hopefully the camper trailer makes camping a little more comfortable. I don't mind camping. DH is really into so he knows exactly what we need. I wouldn't have a clue what to take!

AFM - I was feeling a bit over it today. Not because Lucas was playing up or anything, but it just seems like DH comes home from work and then makes time to do all the things he wants but never has time for us to do things together. He went away for the night with his friends last night, but that meant that he spent Friday night up in the shed getting stuff ready, as well as all yesterday morning. When I asked if he could watch Lucas out in the shed (he was in his bumbo) so that I could take the dogs out he had him for a while and then said it was too difficult. I told him when he got back today that I'm sick of feeling like I'm doing this alone, and that if looking after Lucas isn't convenient for him then the responsibility all falls back on me. I'm the one that ends up walking the dogs, entertaining Lucas in the afternoons, bathing him, and putting him to bed. I also told him when he came home last week that I would appreciate it if he could try to get up a little earlier as I always end up getting Lucas up, feeding him, playing with him for an hour or so and then putting him back down for his first sleep, and DH wouldn't even have got up yet. I think he had realised this already because he said he knew where I was coming from and that the rest of the roster would be spent doing whatever I wanted. Hopefully he's got the message now :(

On a lighter note - the guy's coming to lay our pavers tomorrow so it's bye bye to the dust bowl out the back!! I will now be able to pat the dogs without ending up with black hands from all the dirt they spend their days laying in :smiliedance:

EKMum
21-03-2011, 12:27
Herewego - sounds like a fabulous trip!!! I think I will have to learn to like camping - I just find it hard to go without a shower!
Sorry to hear you had a rough day. I think sometimes our DHs don't realise how tiring and draining being a mum can be! Luckily my DH is pretty good - although in the first couple of weeks after Corey was born, he was in the shed and I had had enough so I went out to him in tears and told him that he was needed inside! Ever since then he always checks with me before he goes off to do things outside. Although I think I was suffering from raging hormones when that happened!

AFM - well I am excited :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:- this morning I was trying to settle Corey and decided to try put him in his bassinette to see if he would self settle. He made a few noises - a few protest moans and then went to sleep!! Woohoo!! Hopefully it is not a one off, but I guess every little bit counts toward the self settling goal!

EKMum
21-03-2011, 12:29
Oh and I felt like a bad mummy this morning as Corey woke up with a mossie bite on his cheek:( I'm going out today to buy a net to go over his bassinette. I hope it heals quickly.

jai9
21-03-2011, 15:04
Herewego - the upmarket was great. I bought heaps for Lucas. Last time I went I was still utd so didn't know what sex we were having. It was not as busy as last time which was nice. I took my sister and it was her first time there, she loved them and bought loads for her little girl, they have the most gorgeous girls clothing and so reasonably priced. DH came with me and just sat under a tree with Lucas and read the paper, I think he enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon as if we'd been at home I would have been asking him to do things. I hear you on the DH helping out front, it does feel like we're doing all the hard yards sometimes. Glad to hear that he has realised and is going to help more this week.

EKmum - yay, sounds like the self settling is coming along. Its hard isn't it. no matter what I try I cannot get Lucas to sleep longer than 45 minutes in the day unless we are out and he is being pushed around in his pram. Lucas weighs 5.8 kg now. i saw a mossie on lucas yesterday at uwa, but managed to swat it before it bit him. it's hard though as there are so many around.

silvers - i hope you are having some better nights with Arom.

The sleep consultant was good. she talked about trying to get him to have longer naps, trying to resettle him for 20 mins, then if that doesn't work, get him up for 20 mins and then try and get him to go back to sleep. he has just done that for the first time. i still haven't managed to resettle him into the next sleep cycle. she also said that after he goes down at 7 try not to feed him till 12 and then not until 4, try and resettle him in the meantime if he wakes. she said as his age he should be going at least 4 hours between feeds at night with one longer stretch. that has been going well, but it means I am up a bit if he wakes earlier resettling him with the dummy. but nights are definitely getting better.

we're going to Ngala on thursday so hopefully that will help.

dragongal77
21-03-2011, 18:31
Jai- goodluck with ngala, hope they are able to help you. You know of my experience with sleep school although they have helped me adjust their methods to work for us.
Herewego- hopefully your DH has gotten the message! We've had a few of them where ive just lost my patience with DH cos he didn't help enough. Now whenever he comes home from work he takes Isabella and spends time playing and talking to her. We also have one day where he stays home and looks after her. He is much more confident with her now. At the beginning I felt like it was all my responsibility too and kept saying to him that no wonder putting fathers name on the birth certificate was optional because they are useless, I think I finally got through to him :)
EKmum- don't feel bad you can't stay up all night squashing mozzies :) yay for corey self settling hopefully he keeps it up.
AFM- Isabella had 4 month immunizations today. Didn't really cry but was grizzly when we got home. Been abit whingy all day so have been cuddling & rocking her. I'm hoping she doesn't revert back to needing rocking to sleep but feel bad about the needles and wanting to comfort her. She has been sleeping heaps all day ( cuddled to sleep though) I think the needles have knocked her around. She did 4 hours this morning and is now 2 hours into her 2nd sleep. Should I be worried?
Hello to everyone else still reading this thread.

EKMum
21-03-2011, 19:32
Hi Dragongal! - I hope Isabella is feeling better soon. Have you tried giving her some panadol? I hated taking Corey to his first immunisations, so I'm not looking forward to the next lot although he didn't seem to have any side effects - however I did rush out and get panadol and a thermometer just in case:)

Jai - I have been wanting to go to the Upmarket everytime it has been on, but something else seems to be on - yesterday was my friends hen's day so I missed out again!
Corey usually only sleeps - 45mins - 1 hour during the day and when I'm lucky will have a 2hr+ sleep in the afternoon. He generally has four sleeps through out the day though.
Good to hear the sleep ideas are starting to work. Was the sleep consultant from ngala? Are you staying over at ngala?

Oh no - Corey is awake already (only put him down 10mins ago) so better go!

herewego
21-03-2011, 22:05
Dragongal - I noticed that the 4 month vaccinations knocked Lucas around a lot more than the 2 month ones. A few of the girls at mothers group noticed that with their babies as well, so just be prepared for a few grizzly unsettled days and possibly a bit of diarrhoa. I found that baby panadol worked well, especially in the evenings.

Jai - hopefully you can get Lucas past the 1 hour mark! I love the upmarkets. The first time I went there were the most beautiful clothes at the Junior Upmarket, but as I didn't know the sex I couldn't buy any clothes. The 2nd time I went there didn't seem to be as much in the junior market. My SIL went yesterday and said it wasn't super crazy - there might have been less exhibitors at this one. I'll have to try and make it to the next one. Bringing DH along as a babysitter sounds like a plan. Not sure what DH would think about that though....

EKMum - self-settling has got to start somewhere, so yay for Corey :smiliedance:

Anyway, I'm off to book club now. Lucas has been 'enjoying' 5.40am wake ups lately, so I think I'll be falling asleep during dinner! I think he may be getting a bit cold so I've put him in warmer clothing tonight and got some thicker blankets out. It's hard because it's still warm when he goes to bed, so I think I'll add the thicker blanket after I feed him during the night. Hopefully the result will be a 7am rise :fingerscrossed:

EKMum
21-03-2011, 23:23
Back again!

Herewego - I hope Lucas doesn't get too sick for you! I have been so unsure about what to dress Corey in at night - I have been putting him in a wondersuit and I have started using a sleeping bag 0.5tog. Tonight I was worried the wondersuit would be too hot, but I think it is more comfortable to sleep in for him. What do you put Lucas in to sleep?

Jai and May - What are you dressing your bubs in to sleep at the moment?

I can't believe we are still having 34-35 degree days - I'm usually a summer girl but it would be nice to have a few cooler days and some rain!

AFM -Well after my last post - Corey had a really grumpy afternoon/evening - he had a short sleep at 6pm and woke up half an hour later. Then was grumpy again. So we had to skip the bath tonight which I was reluctant to do, but he was so tired. Hopefully he sleeps well tonight.

jai9
24-03-2011, 16:35
Ekmum. I dressed Lucas in long sleeved all in one for a couple of nights. But then it seemed warm again so last night was back to a short sleeved one. He is still in a wrap me up.

At ngala. They managed to get Lucas back to sleep but it took 35 mins and he cried for about 25 of that. He sounded like a cat being strangled. It was hard. But he then slept foe another 40 mins.

May11
27-03-2011, 00:38
Hello ladies!

I thought that no one was posting on this thread because I haven't been getting daily updates.....THEN I remembered that I have changed email addresses since I last posted....duh! All sorted now.

Hope you are all okay....will have a proper read tomorrow and get back to you all.

Desperately need some sleep at the moment.....Macey is all over the shop with her sleeping!

herewego
27-03-2011, 09:40
I've decided that 6.30 in the morning is probably my best chance to write on here uninterrupted lol

Jai - I hope you've had some success with lucas's sleep. I'm finding age helps - as Lucas gets older he is getting so much easier to settle, to the point where I can pretty much give him his dummy and 'fluffy' and leave him be. I may need to reinsert the dummy a few times and occassionally need to pat his bottom, but it certainly does get easier. I also find I am stretching out his awake time where possible, and that helps him sleep if he's really tired (he doesn't get so overtired anymore). He seems to be able to cope with being up for longer these days.

Sorry girls, I forgot to read back and can't remember what everyone has said recently. Lucas has been going really well, although I am convinced he is teething - I am just waiting for some proof! On Friday night he woke crying at around midnight which he never does. Usually he doesn't wake except for a feed around 3am. I fed him, but that didn't seem to be the problem. He would drift off to sleep but then wake crying, like he was in pain. I gave him some bonjella and he seemed to like that. He fell asleep in my arms but woke again after about 10 minutes still sounding like he was in pain. I decided to give him panadol and that did the trick. He fell asleep snuggled up in my arms with his dummy and then we didn't hear from Jim again his feed around 6am (then back to bed for a sleep in until 8.15 - we both needed it!). Then last night he woke at midnight again, and just needed a bit of bum patting and he was right. After a couple if tines of doing this he was right and didn't wake until 6 for a feed. Does anyone know if this is a developmental thing or a sign they are ready for solids? I've started giving him a bit of rice cereal and he's really getting the hang of it. He loves drinking water from his little cup too, although I think I need to get one of those hard plastic bibs that catches all the bits!

Anyway, Lucas has gone back to sleep and so should I!

dragongal77
27-03-2011, 23:00
Herewego- was just wondering today where you were as I hadn't seen you post on FB for awhile. Glad to hear Lucas is doing well except for the maybe teething? Hope a few teeth pop up soon. Is Lucas able to hold the cup to drink himself yet?
May- hi how have you been? Love that photo of macey with her teeth :)
Jai- how is ngala? Are you still there? Is it helping with settling Lucas?
EKmum- hope Corey is sleeping well for you.
AFM- Isabella had a really grumpy week following her vaccinations. Been very clingy, hopefully it's not going to be for a long period of time as don't want to holding & rocking all the time again! Hope everyone else is well

May11
28-03-2011, 12:56
OMG OMG OMG.....Macey just put her self to sleep for the first time since she was about 8 weeks! I am so happy! I have been putting her in her cot awake in the hope she might put herself to sleep.....she rolls around and plays for a while and then cries, I pick her up, shhhh her, pat her bum and then she goes to sleep in my arms. But today she just went to sleep! Yahooooo! I was hoping it would work one day!

Dragon - we are well thanks. I dont seem to get much time to post anymore (either her or on FB). Macey is good - cutting more teeth I think, but generally a pretty happy bub. How is Isabella going?

Herewego - Hi lovie! I would be trying Lucas on solids by the sounds of it (in the evening). This might be why (one of a thousand reasons though!!!) he is starting to wake earlier. It could also be teeth.....I found Macey started waking twice in the weeks leading up to the teeth. But hay....it is all a guessing game unfortunately. You can only try a few different things and see whats happens!

Jai - how did Ngala go?

Ekmum - How is little Corey going....looking forward to seeing the boys next week!

PS - Everything is going well for 'Kat'...she is 10 weeks this Wednesday and is off bedrest and back at work. Bub is doing well!

EKMum
28-03-2011, 15:26
Herewego - Just when things settle something else pops up to change everything - like teething!!! Sounds like Lucas sleeps well in general though - can't wait for Corey to get to that stage!

May - so good to hear from you - thought you had found better things to do ;). Definitely look forward to seeing you all next week. I'm glad Corey isnt the only one who won't self settle!!
Oh and that's wonderful news about Kat - hope things continue to go well for her.

Jai - Wow that was a long time to resettle Lucas - how did they do it? I have given up on resettling!!

Dragongal - hope Isabella is feeling better and not so clingy.

Hi to anyone else reading the thread!

AFM - we had a terrible weekend - Corey wouldnt sleep much during the day and then Saturday night we had family here for a BBQ and he decided he would rather be up partying instead of sleeping! Then of course he was overtired and took ages to get to sleep and woke every 2 hours (and at one stage 1 hr!). On sunday we stayed home to try and get him back in to his routine but again didn't want to sleep much. Needless to say by 7pm last night I was about to lose the plot! He finally went to sleep about 8pm and luckily slept until 4am - so I got a good block of sleep.
As I said above - he still wont self settle during the day, but he doesn't take as long to settle which is one good thing I guess.

On Friday we went to Mums and Bubs swimming - he seemed to like it, however while all the other babies went to sleep after their swim - Corey refused!! Hopefully next time he is a bit more used to the new environment and will sleep after his swim.

herewego
28-03-2011, 22:50
May - I hope this is the beginning of Macey always putting herself to sleep! We can only dream :) I never got round to messaging Kat - I must do that. I'm glad to hear she's off bedrest - you can fill us in on the details on Tuesday!

EKMum - the first time I took Lucas to mums and bubs swimming he slept for about half an hour afterwards, but then for about 2 hours when we got home. The next time he didn't sleep at all, but again slept for about 2 hours when he got home. Where did you do it? I've been to SJOG Murdoch.

It's hard when they just refuse to sleep. I have actually found that taking them out when they're in that sort of 'mood' (as much as you may dread it) is good because a) it tires them out even more, and b) other people who are often a bit more relaxed hold them and often get them to sleep. I find that Lucas sleeps better the more I take him out, even though it means he may miss a sleep or go longer between sleeps.

Dragongal - Lucas was really clingy for a week or so after his 4 month needles. How is Isabella's sleep going? Have you been able to adapt anything you learnt from your stay?

Jai - any luck with the resettling?

AFM - DH has been home and I just haven't had time to get on here lately. I was asking a friend yesterday whether her son's sleep habits changed around the 4 month mark and she said 'ah, you're going through the 4 month sleep regression stage....' Apparantly it's really common for them to go through about a week of unsettled sleep at this stage. He slept through until 4.30 last night so hopefully we only copped 2 nights of it!

Anyway, DH is waiting to put a movie on so I'd better go. Oh! I ordered a thermomix today!!! Can't wait to get it :smiliedance:

jai9
29-03-2011, 16:06
Hi everyone. Just a quick post from me. We are on hols at the moment.

Herewego. Yay on the thermomix.

May. Yay on the self settling.

Ekmum. The swimming sounds hood. We r going on Monday

Dragon. Hi

We r going ok with resettling. Not taking as long as at ngala. About 20 mins which is hood and only about 5 mins of crying. We just did a day stay. Our night sleeiping is do bad though. Last night. 1,2,4,5 and 6. Fed ad 2 and 4. Resettled other times. Just don't know what to do. And he has been waking at 10 for a feed. Ever since we tried the dreamfeed 4 weeks ago night sleeping has been crap. Surely this can't still be from that. I feel so guilty about it like I have brought this on myself for trying to make Lucas take a feed he didn't want and complete stuffing up his sleeping.

jai9
29-03-2011, 16:09
On a brighter note. I started my post in the middle of the night. Lucas had his first trip up the beach today. And he seemed to like it when dh put him in the water.

EKMum
29-03-2011, 19:26
Herewego - There always seems to be a stage babies go through - I don't think it ever ends!! I will look forward to hearing about your thermomix creations!!
We went swimming at SJOG subi - Corey didnt even sleep much after swimming - he fell straight to sleep in the car which is good as he has started to dislike the car at the moment.

Jai - sorry to hear the sleeping is not going too good. I know Corey has two or three nights like you are having every week or two - hang in there, and Im sure it wasnt just from the dream feeding.
Are you going to SJOG subi swimming? It is so hard to get into at the moment. I am on the waitlist for the next two weeks!
Good to hear that Lucas likes the water - are you still at Rottnest?

AFM - Corey has decided that he will only sleep for half an hour at a time during the day which I am not enjoying as he isn't overly happy when he is awake either - I think I have cabin fever at the moment - so will have to get out more this week. Where did the big afternoon naps go?? AAAGGH!! Hopefully it is just a ''stage''!! '
I'm not sure but I think he may be teething as he has started dribbling a lot and often chomps on my finger or his own hand. It may explain the lack of sleeping, but I can't feel any lumps or anything so who knows! At least he has slept ok at night the last couple of nights (after our bad weekend)

May11
03-04-2011, 13:05

Well my little cherub was six months on Friday.....I can't believe it! It really has gone so quick. We celebrated in style by taking her for her injections....poor little love. I have promised her I wont take her for her 12 month needles on her birthday....I will leave it a few days! She was a trooper and hardly even cried....but has been a pain in the bee-hind since!!!! Luckily it is the weekend and DH is home to help.

Hope you are all well and looking forward to catching up with a few of you on Tuesday!

EKMum
04-04-2011, 12:00
Hello everyone - it has been very quiet on this thread!

May - I hope Macey is feeling better now!! Aren't weekends great with hubby home - I got a good sleep in on Saturday:).

AFM - not much happening here. Still trying to get Corey to self settle but I'm not sure that I am getting any closer to winning the battle. He is also waking up twice during the night. The week before last he slept right through twice, but hasnt done it since - the big tease!

herewego
06-04-2011, 09:42
It looks like it's just the 4 of us on here at the moment! It was great catching up yesterday. I think Lucas (and I) need a day at home today as it's been go go go lately!

I think I finally broke lucas's 1.45am waking habit as it didn't happen last night, only a midnight cry. I don't know if he's dreaming or what because he seems to suddenly cry out in his sleep and then he's fast asleep again. He's been a bit easier to settle today and yesterday so hopefully this 'sleep regression' is over.

I guess I'll do all my washing today while the weather's still good :D Can't wait for the cooler weather!

EKMum
07-04-2011, 11:40
Herewego - good to hear Lucas's sleeping is back on track! Yes it seems it is mainly just the four of us on here.

It was great catching up with everyone the other day!

AFM - well yesterday I was able to get Corey to self settle for a day sleep, and the other sleeps he hasn't taken much to settle. He also put himself to sleep last night and Tuesday night. Although Tuesday night he was so tired he fell asleep while I was putting his pyjamas on!! So we are getting very excited about this new sleeping pattern - hopefully it stays around for a while although i wont hold my breath!

Enjoy the rain and cooler weather!!!

EKMum
07-04-2011, 23:17
Herewego - I have been trying out your idea of the link rings on the car seat and so far it has worked well - thanks for the idea!!! The real test will be if it keeps him entertained all the way to York tomorrow night.

herewego
08-04-2011, 00:08
Good to hear EKmum! We are going camping tomorrow (not sure where yet - dh is still deciding) so hopefully Lucas is well behaved. I doubt we'll go far - maybe around Wellington dam. It will give us a chance to see what we need for our big trip.

Urgh... I should be packing but I can't be bothered. I'll do it in the morning...

May11
10-04-2011, 23:43
EKmum - how did the wedding go? Was Corey a good boy for you?

Herewego - how was camping? Got some tips for your up coming adventure?

We had a busy weekend - my brother's 40th and then a family picnic with the in-laws. Macey was great - considering she hasn't been well the last few days. She has had high temps again....doc thinks it is just a virus (again) and they will get 8 to 10 a year, especially when their are older children in the house......but I am thinking it might be teeth. The doctors tell you that it is medically impossible for them to have a temp just through getting teeth - but too many people tell you that their kids had temps while teething???? Anyway she is fine today - and we can see a front top tooth just about to pop through.

EKMum
11-04-2011, 10:17
Herewego - how was your camping trip? It was lovely weather for it!

May - great to hear you had a good weekend. The CHN said the same thing about teething last week at mothers group - but as you said so many people say it happens! Thanks for your post of FB - I think I was getting worried about nothing - although he is very unsettled again this morning - just had a huge crying session which is very unlike him, but he is happily playing on his playgym mat now.
The wedding was lovely and Corey did very well. We took him to the church and then went back to the place we were staying before the reception. I managed to get him to go to sleep at about 6.30pm (which is a bit early for him) and he stayed asleep until 2.30am so there were no worries with him. We were only a few minutes away so I wasn't too concerned as I knew I could get back to the house quite quickly if needed. Although we did tell my niece that if she couldnt get through to us on our phones, to call the cops and ask them to come and get us:laughing:

Better go - the grizzles have started again:)

EKMum
11-04-2011, 19:02
OMG - Corey has been such a grizzly bub today - I'm nearly at my wits end. I manage to find something to distract him but that only lasts a few minutes before he starts grizzling again. Making things worse DH wont be home until 6pm which is late for him.
Sorry just had to let out my frustrations.

herewego
12-04-2011, 08:11
EKMum - where was the wedding? I'm sure you told me but I can't remember. I'm glad Corey slept well, even if he was a grizzly baby yesterday. I think yesterday must have been 'grizzly baby' day, as Lucas did not sleep at all, except for 2x30 minute car rides.

May - how is Macey's temp now? The poor little thing seems prone to getting fevers. It's funny - Lucas had a temp of around 38 degrees the other night and I had a look at the panadol leaflet on my fridge and it said fever is definitely not a symptom of teething. It's funny how mothers swear it is and the doctors and drug companies swear it isn't. Lucas's temp went down - I think he might have just been hot and a little dehydrated or sunburnt.

Well I think yesterday can go on the record as being my worst day :( To start with, I couldn't eat all day because I am going into hospital for a colonoscopy this morning (joy....) and then Lucas refused to sleep all day. I wanted to stay home and get all the washing etc done from our camping trip but DH wanted me to go with him while he installed a light up at his parents' house (who are on holiday), I changed my mind that many times but ended up going with him, only to be stuck with mr grumpy pants who just cried/yawned/smiled the whole time. He couldn't decide what he wanted. I had a splitting headache and was in a foul mood and I just kept wishing I'd stayed home so I could at least be getting stuff done. As a result the house is still a mess and there is loads of washing to do. Today's going to be a write off as well after my anaesthetic. Oh well I'd better go get dressed and head off. I've been up since 4.30 but figured I'd be getting my drug induced sleep later this morning so I'll catch up on some :sleeping: then :laughing:

PS the camping trip was great and the camper trailer works a treat. It was freezing though! Lucas spent the first night sleeping with us (soft touches that we are) but the 2nd night we had him in 2 wonder suits and his winter sleeping bag plus lots of blankets and he slept a treat.

EKMum
13-04-2011, 10:37
Herewego - I hope everything went well yesterday for you and that you have recovered. Sounds like you had a bad Monday - even worse than mine!!
Where did you go camping? The worst part about holidays is the washing when you get home!

The wedding was in York. We stayed in some cottages there which was nice.

Hello May and Jai :wave:how are you and your gorgeous bubs?

AFM- well we had a good day yesterday thank goodness, although my back was really sore from carrying Corey around all day on monday.
Corey has been doing lots of new things lately - reaching out and grabbing things that he wants, almost rolling over and he doesnt like laying down much now that he is a big boy:D oh and putting everything in his mouth!

May11
13-04-2011, 21:09
Ekmum - glad to hear everything (mainly Corey :)) went well with the wedding. I liked your comment about if not being able to contact you, call the police!!! LOL - that would be my instructions as well!! How is Corey today.....I see you have had a few rough days. He is a clever boy reaching and trying to roll. I think (just my opinion) that their personalities change when they start to realise they can do things....they seem to get a little grumpy!! I think they are a little frustrated and want to do more.

Herewego - how are you lovie? I hope you are feeling okay after your procedure. It sounds like your camping trip was a success. I can picture Lucas all bundled up in his wonder suits and sleeping baby - snug as a bug! :D

Jai - hi there! Hope you and Lucas are well.:wave:

AFM - well Macey is all better! Yay! She had a slightly raised temp Saturday night and has been fine since. I really don't know what to think about this teething thing.....I know supposedly it is not possible for it to cause temps.....but does that mean all those mums are wrong? Or maybe if as my doc said, babies get 8-10 viruses a year, then it is just a coincidence when it happens at the same time as teeth? I think Macey is going to be one of those who's first response to anything is to get a temp....I will just have to learn not to panic :eek: (not sure that is possible!).

She was a little angle today and slept for 30 mins this morning and then had 2 hours between 12 and 2. Gone down tonight with ease....although a bit grumpy around 5.30!

herewego
13-04-2011, 23:51
Thanks girls - I'm feeling okay. I'm just glad it's all over! I told the doctor that depriving a breast feeding mother of food all day is absolute torture. That's the part I dread the most (I have them every couple of years). The procedure is okay - it's the lead up that's the worst.

May - I am still blaming teething for Lucas's behaviour :laughing: I really think it might be happening though! Is it possible for molars to come through first? This morning when I put him down for his sleep he would scream out intermittently with this awful pained cry/scream. It was more than just a protest cry. It didn't seem to help when I held him, but as soon as I rubbed some bonjella on his gums he relaxed and went to sleep. His gums feel lumpy and I think I can feel a rough patch up the back where his molars would come through. The poor little thing did it again this afternoon and just refused to go to sleep, even after bonjella and panadol, but he eventually fell asleep on the boob as he was so tired. DH said when I left to run some errands he woke and pretty much cried non-stop until he put him in the ergo. When he's up and about though he's as happy as larry. Who know's what's going on in that little head of his :confused:

It's DH and my 4th wedding anniversary today. DH said to me tonight that he hopes I haven't got him anything because he hasn't got me anything. Good to see the romance is still alive :laughing: We're going to go and have breakfast at Little Creatures (I only recently found out they're doing breakfast now). Then I've got mothers group and I've made some yummy chocolate cherry bites since it's my turn to bring afternoon tea. They taste exactly like cherry ripes :Drool_2: (I had to eat the 'broken' ones :D)

jai9
15-04-2011, 00:01
Hi everyone. Ive found it so hard to get on lately. It was great to catch up last week.

Herewego. Glad to hear the procedure went well. Happy anniversary

Ekmum. Glad the wedding went well.

May. Glad to hear macey is getting better. Who knows with teething. I wonder if Lucas is as he drools heaps and is still really unsettled.

Things are still very hit and miss with us. We had a couple of good nights where I wad only up twice and Lucas went straight back to sleep and several of him being really unsettled at his 4am feed and not going back to sleep for over an hour.

herewego
15-04-2011, 00:14
Jai - I know you didn't have a lot of success with ngala. If lucas's sleep issues are still causing you trouble, have you thought about getting a private sleep specialist to come to your house? My chn said she used to do that, so there are obviously people like that out there. They might be able to look at things such as his room - bedding, lighting, temperature, distractions etc. Just a thought....

EKMum
17-04-2011, 12:00
Hello ladies - hope you are all having a lovely weekend and enjoying the rain today!

Jai - sorry to hear things are still up and down with you. Herewego's suggestion of a private consultant might be a good idea. Also I was telling my CHN that Corey has been waking every 2 to 3 hours at night and she suggested that now he is almost four months try giving him some rice cereal at night to keep his tummy a bit fuller - so it might be worth a try.

Herewego - hope lucas is feeling better. It's very frustrating when you don't know what is wrong with them isnt it!
Hope you had a wonderful anniversary!!

May - so glad Macey is better! I know how hard it is to not panic! I hope the good sleeping has continued!
As for the teething thing - well sometimes I think Mums' know best ;)

AFM - We had a couple of bad days this week with Corey just not himself. To make things worse I also got AF - so both of us were a little grumpy on Thursday! He has also been waking up a lot during the night - he sleeps for a good 5 or 6 hours when he first goes to sleep but then wakes up every 2 hours ( or 3 if we are having a good night) after that. As I said to Jai - the CHN said he looks like he is very active and is obviously using up all of the milk quite quickly - she suggested giving him some cereal but I wasnt going to start solids until about 5 months - he is not yet 4 months. Might give it a try in a week or so if it continues. We had a better night last night so I will see how he goes. Although I can't complain too much because he goes straight back to sleep once he has been fed.

dragongal77
17-04-2011, 17:28
Hi everyone :(
I was reading this thread and then BH decided to change the format and I couldn't find the IVF section :( I was sure I had looked everywhere and then one day I just found it under fertility assistance ( which I'm sure I looked at before) anyway I am here now :)
Jai- did you ever give us an update on ngala because if you did I missed it sorry :) hope Lucas is sleeping better for you though. You know of my ex
EKmum- I've recently started Isabella on solids, she is 5 months on Monday. But you know so many people asked me if I had given her any at 3 months, I thought it was way too soon! I was scared starting when I did but she loves it and can't get enough! So Corey still waking 2-3 hourly for feeds huh? But it's pretty good that he goes straight back to sleep. Bummer on AF coming back I think I've been lucky, bubby is 22 weeks and still no AF for me yay!
Herewego- happy anniversary! Hope Lucas is sleeping better for you. I've been blaming teething everytime Isabella is unsettled but so far no teeth have popped up yet!
May- how is little macey? Any more teeth yet?

dragongal77
17-04-2011, 17:35
Accidentally submitted even though I hadn't finished arghhh! I was saying to jai you know my experience with sleep school wasn't great, whatever we learnt went out the window after the 4 month vaccinations anyway...
May- can't believe macey is 6 months! Hasn't time flown!
AFM- Isabella is 5 months on tomorrow! Really starting to develop a personality! I'm really starting to enjoy her now. She's sleePing really well at night waking for one feed, sometimes 2 but goes straight back to sleep. Things sure are easier when you get some sleep. I'm really looking forward to the next few months when she reaches different milestones. Love being a mummy and love her so so much...

EKMum
22-04-2011, 12:15
Hi there everyone, it's very quiet in here!

Dragongal - nice to hear from you. It's so lovely when their little personalities develop isnt it -and I agree getting more sleep makes life easier.

Herewego - how are you going with your mastitis - did you manage to ward it off? I hope so as I have heard it can be really awful. Hopefully you are feeling better and out enjoying the sunshine!!

May - I bet you are enjoying the school holidays - no school runs, getting up and making lunches etc. Enjoy the next 2 weeks with both your little girls!!

Jai - how's the sleeping going? I can totally relate to you at the moment as Corey's sleeping is gone backwards in the last two weeks.

AFM - Starting on a positive note - Corey just self settled himself to sleep for the first time in AGES - WOOHOO!!!!! Hopefully he stays asleep for a while.

While that is great - our night times have been AWFUL!! He has taken to waking up every two hours. Some nights, like last night are not too bad as he usuallly has a good first block - 5 - 6 hours but then every 2 after that. The other night he went to bed at 7pm woke at 10pm, 12.30am, 2.30am 4.30 and then up at 7am. I have tried to get him to settle back to sleep, I have ignored him, but in the end the only thing that resettles him is to feed him. I think I have complained to you all about this before but I really thought it was just a stage but it seems to be going on for a long time. I am seriously considering trying to give him some solids next week to see if that helps.

Sorry for my grumbles!

I hope you all have a wonderful Easter with your families!!:flowerz:

herewego
22-04-2011, 22:50
EKMum - I know, it has been quiet in here. I just don't seem to have time to scratch myself lately. The house is a mess, even though I constantly seem to be tidying up, and I have just been so tired this week. When DH gets home next week I think we are going to have to have a big clean up as I just don't seem to get a chance when I'm here on my own.

You might find that giving Corey a bit of rice cereal helps with his sleep. I think you are meant to wait until 17 weeks but Corey must be close to that by now.

Dragongal - that is great that Isabella is sleeping so well at night. You are finally able to get a good night's sleep yourself :smiliedance: I can't believe how quickly Lucas is growing. He will be 6 months in a couple of weeks :eek: He'll always be my little baby though :p

Jai - has there been any progress on the sleep front?

AFM - I'm so so tired today. It was my MIL's 60th yesterday so I stayed up at their house for the night and DH came down from where he was working for the night. I went to bed around 11ish but I let my SIL and BIL have a 'look' at Lucas sleeping in his cot and he stirred and then was wide awake until around 1.30 or 2am. I ended up bringing him into bed with us as that tends to do the trick. As soon as he stirs I stick my boob in his mouth and he's happy :laughing: Needless to say, I didn't get a very good night's sleep. At least I was able to leave him with the MIL and FIL for an hour or two while I went and got some fresh vegies from the Wanneroo markets. I thought I'd try Lucas out with a few new tastes as I feel like I'm stuck on carrot, pumpkin and sweet potato. He has tried zucchini and he liked that, and today I gave him a bit of avocado for lunch and he ate that. I also bought parsnip, turnip and bananas ($9.99 a kilo - bargain! :laughing:). It felt very indulgent to have a banana with yoghurt after dinner tonight.

Have a nice easter everyone. I'm going to attempt some Hot Cross Buns in my new bff tomorrow (my thermomix. I'm so in love with it!!!:laughing::laughing:)

jai9
29-04-2011, 15:49
herewego - how did the hot cross buns go? have you been making Lucas's food in the thermomix? I just made my first batch of pumpkin yesterday, but I don't think I blended it finely enough. I just guessed how to do it and it seemed to turn out ok.

Ekmum - how are you going with the sleep?

Dragon - so pleased to hear you are really enjoying being a mummy and Isabella is developing a lovely personality.

May - hope you are enjoying school holidays and spending time with your 2 girls.

AFM - sleeping is getting better. Lucas has been waking about 10.30/11 then about 2/3 and then again about 5/6 which is not great, but so much better than every 2 hours. He still only sleeps for 45 mins for his day sleeps. have 2 sleep consultants coming out next week, one through my CHN and a private one. If the CHN one works then I might cancel the private one, as she is $500:heywhat::cantbelieveit: But I said to DH I would pay $1000 if Lucas would sleep well. I have a cold at the moment, so last night I was up coughing and spluttering while Lucas was sleeping peacefully.

We started him on solids a week ago. He loves them. Loves his rice cereal. He pulled the funniest face the first time I gave him pumpkin, but seems to like that. That's all we've tried so far. Will try carrot or sweet potato next.

Lucas hasn't been putting on enough weight, so am hoping the solids will help with that. My CHN said my supply could have dropped, but I don't feel like it has. I expressed this morning and got 80ml out of one boob which I thought was ok. Have gone back to 3 hourly feeds to see if that helps. We were on 4 hourly feeds which Lucas seemed fine with, but want him to put on more weight.

herewego
29-04-2011, 23:56
Jai - the hot x buns were delicious! I just used the recipe in the standard cook book. With lucas' food I blitz it on speed 7 for a few seconds to purée while it's raw, and then cook it for 7ish minutes (depends what/how much I'm cooking) on speed 3. Once it's cooked I purée it on speed 9 for a few seconds. I always need to add some liquid to carrot as it's very hard to get smooth otherwise.

Hopefully the sleep consultant brings you some much needed relief.

AFM Lucas has his first cold so the poor little thing has been coughing z bit. He doesn't seem too congested which is good. I couldn't get him to go to sleep in his cot last night so I had to rock him to sleep in his arms. I had to do the same tonight, although I think he's just milking it now as he seems a lot better than last night. I'm p***ed off with dh though because he went to help a friend do some work at his house today but said he'd be home early afternoon because his friend was going out. Then his friend had a change of plan but I told dh I'd like it if he would be home for bath/dinner time as Lucas was really grumpy and basically having to be held all afternoon and I'd like a hand. Plus I wanted to watch the wedding! He said no, and ended up walking in the door just before 7pm. I've said barely a word to him (I'm sure he knows I'm mad) and pulled out his 1 shirt from the ironing pile and left it scrunched up on his chair. Ah, the petty little things that make us feel better...lol He must know I'm annoyed because I told him he can do the dishes, and he's doing them, whereas normally he flat out refuses to do dishes. I enjoyed watching the wedding though! It was beautiful. Ah, young love... ;-)

EKMum
30-04-2011, 22:23
Jai - I hope the first sleep consultant helps you and you don't have to pay $$ for the private one. Sounds like things are getting better anyway.

Herewego - It is annoying when DH isn't being very helpful - sounds like he got the message though! Hope Lucas gets better soon. We haven't had any sickness yet - touch wood.

May - how are you and your gorgeous girls going?

Dragongal :wave: (and anyone else that reads this thread!)

AFM - Corey's sleep hasn't improved much. On thursday night he woke at 11 then again at 1am - I refused to feed him and settled him back to sleep (although it took 30mins to do so) He then slept for three hours so I felt like I had a mini break through. Last night after his needles - he went to bed late around 8pm and slept until 3.40am:eek: I could'nt believe it - although I did settle him a bit twice through the night - but he didn't really wake up he just stirred - at one stage he was sobbing in his sleep:(. So we will see how he is tonight.
He was much better having his immunisations this time - he still screamed when the nurse gave him the needles, but he settled a lot quicker than last time which is good. I took DH for support and he was just as upset as I was!!!
I just ordered my own Mother's Day present - I'm very excited about my first Mother's day. DH is a bit hopeless with presents so I usually just tell him what to buy. I don't think it will arrive in time for next Sunday as I ordered it too late - I got a necklace with Corey's name and birthday stamped on a pendant, which I thought was a good 1st Mother's day present.

silvers
04-05-2011, 14:05
Hi Ladies I'm here, I often read your thread but don't get time to post, but its been so quiet I thought Id better bump it up.
I hope all are going well and getting some SLEEP.
Its getting very cold down here so we haven't been doing too much. We have started solids BLW it is very messy but fun I love watching his little faces with all the new tastes and textures.
We have had such an improvement with sleep he is sleeping through the night but I expect it will go down hill again with the next ww approaching. It only took us 5 1/2 months to get a night where he slept through lol. He is also rolling over now he looks so happy when he does its great.
Ok better go hope all is well and I'm sending :goodvibes: out

EKMum
06-05-2011, 18:39
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY - to you all!!
Hope you have a wonderful day!

Silvers - Great news on the sleeping front (I'm jealous!) Did you do anything different or was it just a gradual thing? Solids are fun aren't they!!!

Jai - how did the sleep consultant go? Are you having any joy with Lucas's sleeping now? If so let me know your secrets!

Herewego - How is Lucas going now - I hope his cold has cleared up.

May - Back to the school drop off pick up routine!! Hope all is well in your house.

Dragongal - Hope things are going well with you too!!

AFM - Sleeping is still a nightmare - I'm considering giving him a formula bottle before bed to see if that keeps him going through the night. I know dragongal has found this helpful and another friend told me she also did this. I was going to try putting him in the cot - but I have changed my mind as I don't want him to grow up too fast (Im a wuss).
He is loving his cereal - we haven't tried anything else yet - will probably try some pumpkin next week.

jai9
09-05-2011, 21:18
herewego - Lucas had his first cold too. Really put a spanner in the works of sleep training. sometimes DH's have no idea how hard our days are.

EKmum - I have thought about formula too but Lucas doesn't really take a full feed from a bottle. I'd certainly give it a go though if Corey takes a bottle.

Silvers - glad to hear you have had improvements with sleeping.

hello to everyone else.

Hope you all had a great day yesterday.

We had the private sleep consultant out and we are now in the process of basically doing controlled crying (which I know a lot of people don't agree with), but we have to do something, we can't get up every 1-2 hours for the next year. She really gave us the confidence to do it and explained what Lucas' cries mean so we know that he is crying out of frustration as he hasn't learnt how to put himself to sleep. we also went cold turkey on the dummy as DH reckoned it was making it worse during the night (helping with getting to sleep though). First night he cried for nearly 2 hours, second night about an hour, twice during the night, 3rd night slept through and then 4th night got a cold so woke every 2 hours and last night slept till 4. It was so hard and am glad DH has been up to help out during the night. We will keep trying as we are seeing improvements.

Also. Lucas has his first tooth.:smiliedance: It came through on Tuesday Very exciting.

silvers
11-05-2011, 16:06
Jai hope the cold goes quickly and yay for the tooth.Arrom has got one sticking out a tiny bit too.
EK The only thing different is he has found his thumb and now sucks it all night. He went from 2hr wakes to sleeping through doing this him self.
I hope you too get some rest soon.

EKMum
03-06-2011, 15:26
I'm not sure if anyone reads this anymore, but I thought I would write a post anyway. I hope you are all doing well.

My little man is now sleeping in his cot in his own room which is good for mum and dad:) and for the first 4 nights he was sleeping really well, but the last three nights he has gone back to the 2 hourly wake ups :no: Hopefully we go back to the 1 or 2 wake ups soon.

He is also now rolling which is very exciting and he is a very active little bub. We are getting a playpen on the weekend to keep him contained! (and safe from the dogs) We have been enjoying swimming lessons, playgroup and we went to rhyme time today at the library which he also seemed to enjoy. So we are keeping busy.

We have also been having solids - but have been taking it slow. He still really enjoys rice cereal and loves pumpkin. He's not so keen on carrot although he is getting used to it but he really doesn't like apple!!! I thought he would love it, oh well, may have to save up and buy some bananas:laughing:

Hope all your bubs are doing well, they are growing up so fast.

Herewego and Jai - enjoy your trips - you must be getting excited!

May - how did the naming day go? What poem/reading did you end up using?

Take care everyone.