View Full Version : ~*~Celebrating Clothies~*~
11-09-2006, 09:30 AM
I thought this would be great thread to show off our Kids in cloth nappies and maybe the non-converted will see how cute our bubbies aka Big Bums look in them.
Everyone likes to show of their little one's in them, so feel free to post pics! :D
MotherOfPearl
11-09-2006, 09:41 AM
Ok, have to go work on that.
DramaQueen
11-09-2006, 09:42 AM
I posted this little pic of my man in another thread, but here it is again :thumbsup:
http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k99/dramaqueen_078/b08c7db9.jpg
11-09-2006, 10:04 AM
Very cute Kel. Makes me want another little boy.
(Note to self: NO MORE KIDS!!!) :rolleyes:
I've posted these in another thread aswell but once i have recieved my other fluffy mail (hopefully this week) i will post more.
Ducky (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/SwaddleBees002.jpg) in one of her SwaddleBees (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/SwaddleBees003.jpg) and
Ducky (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Snugglebums002.jpg) in one of her SnuggleButts (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Snugglebums003.jpg).
11-09-2006, 10:13 AM
Just as i submitted the last post the delivery man came :smiliedance:
I just got my Green fluffy mail (3 anytimes, 2 funtimes, 7 hempies and 7 boosters)
and 2 nappies from Nic Naps and my liners from Best for Baby :smiliedance: still waiting on more fluffy mail though :yes:
Okay well it's time to start washing :laughing:
DramaQueen
11-09-2006, 10:15 AM
She is gorgoeus Loz....makes we want another little girl!!!!!!
We should stop this, this could be dangerous!!!!!!!:D :eek:
11-09-2006, 10:28 AM
She is gorgoeus Loz....makes we want another little girl!!!!!!
We should stop this, this could be dangerous!!!!!!!:D :eek:
Instead of TTC'ing, how about we just swap our youngest every few weeks ? ;) :laughing:
DramaQueen
11-09-2006, 10:30 AM
Could be the safer option .... yeah!:laughing:
11-09-2006, 12:25 PM
I will try & figure out how to post a pic.....
11-09-2006, 12:37 PM
Finding Cobey.. (http://static.flickr.com/94/240023198_02ec5bd222.jpg)
Also entitled "Mum, I'm trying to sleep. Get the damn camera out of my face!"
11-09-2006, 12:48 PM
http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n174/poshBecks/?action=view¤t=IMGP1123.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch1
Ok lets just see if that worked? Its one of Ella in her Greens Pink ginham. So coot!
Karni... this ones for you!!
http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n174/poshBecks/?action=view¤t=IMGP1118.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch1
It's Ella in her SS Strawberry Shortcake before I sold it to you!!
& here's another in her pink Ginham!!...
http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n174/poshBecks/?action=view¤t=IMGP1121-1.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch2
Oh btw I forgot to say in my previous 2 posts!! :o
All your bubbas look gorg!! :p
11-09-2006, 01:10 PM
aww Bec Ella is absolutly adorable. Even though i have a newbie i've gone gooey again looking at those pics. C00t indeed! I almost feel guilty buying it now ;)
I've actually been meaning to ask you, now that i've recieved and waiting for my GK boosters and hemparoo's to dry will they fit in the SS ?
Nikki - Cobes is gorgeous too. I can't believe how much the little man has grown! :D
11-09-2006, 01:14 PM
I almost feel guilty buying it now ;)
I've actually been meaning to ask you, now that i've recieved and waiting for my GK boosters and hemparoo's to dry will they fit in the SS ?
And so you should!! LMAO :laughing: ;)
Yeah I used a hemparoo in it!! Both med & large fit it no probs!!
11-09-2006, 01:17 PM
And so you should!! LMAO :laughing: ;)
Yeah I used a hemparoo in it!! Both med & large fit it no probs!!
:crying: Would you like to buy it back ? :laughing:
Thanx Bec =)
11-09-2006, 01:19 PM
:crying: Would you like to buy it back ? :laughing:
Thanx Bec =)
Do you have the next size up!!!!! :p
I cant wait to see some more piccy's!!
11-09-2006, 04:10 PM
If you are interested I have pics on 'my kids' (click on link below in sig)
Will be posting more pics on there when I can get some more nice days like today. (for taking cute bot pics)
All the bubbas are gorgeous!
11-09-2006, 05:04 PM
ohhh i will take some new pics tonight specially for this thread lol
gorgeous cloth-bummed cuties everyone has :D:D
more pics ppl! :D
12-09-2006, 12:47 PM
Nic Naps (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/NicNaps1.jpg)
GK funtimes (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/GKanytimes2.jpg)
Another GK funtimes (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/GKanytimes1.jpg)
One for you PoshBecks ;) Sandra Stuffable (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/SSStrawberryShortcake.jpg)
I recieved my Fuzzi Bunz today and waiting on my Baby Beehinds so i'll post more soon :D
MotherOfPearl
12-09-2006, 01:17 PM
you girls have some gorgeous bubs, and nappies!
I love seeing nappies drying in the sun. Love getting to hang nappies out in the sunshine, Hugh usually comes out with me in his pram. So here's my contribution to celebrate cloth:
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/sleeping-2.jpg
EskimoMumma
12-09-2006, 01:29 PM
Im not a clothie, but Lauren, Ducky is soo cute! I love her chubby legs! :D
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9025/clothbuttzr7.jpg
Here is bubby in his funtimes. I am still getting used to the bubble butt look of it, but its pretty cute. Can't wait for summer!!
Lauren, I am looking forward to your opinion on the Fuzzi Bunz.
12-09-2006, 03:24 PM
Kazza - I shamefully admit that i still dry my hemps, boosters and nappies with inbuilt inserts in the clothes dryer. They never seem to dry in less than a day even with the brilliant weather we have in melbourne atm. Maybe we just need more wind :confused:
Mummy2AlexandMary - haha thanx. I love having a chubba bubba. As you know Calista was tiny and always has been so it's a massive difference having a chubby girl. :D
shed - I'm still getting use to the bubble butt look myself but DH seems to think it's d@mn cute :laughing: Baden looks adorable in his thomas nappy. I'll let you know how i go with the FB's, just waiting for them to dry :rolleyes:
becca74
12-09-2006, 03:37 PM
just a plain old terry - but nostalgically from a time gone by, I love seeing my boy in them ...
Noah in a terry nappy (http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k126/morrissey1974/IMGP1480.jpg)
Chub Chub
12-09-2006, 03:42 PM
Ok I've just stumbled here! I used plain terry's with DD when she was born through summer but as she got older we got lots of leaks so I am ashamed to say my 16 mth old has been in disposables for the last 7 months. Is there a secret to no leaks????
(we always used disposables at night from day 1, do you use cloth at night too?)
MotherOfPearl
12-09-2006, 03:45 PM
They never seem to dry in less than a day even with the brilliant weather we have in melbourne atm. Maybe we just need more wind :confused:
Well the positive side(?!) to a drought I guess is the washing always dries!
I wash them at night, hang them out in the morning and bring them in in the arvo.
As we are on a solar power system with a back up diesel generator if it can't keep up, I'm sure if I didn't blow up the solar with a clothes dryer first I'm sure we could never afford the diesel to be running a dryer!
(we always used disposables at night from day 1, do you use cloth at night too?)
:thumbsup: Yep, I use BabyBeehinds (http://www.babybeehinds.com.au) hemp with a bamboo booster and a woolen soaker over the top. I'm waiting for a BBH bamboo nappy to arrive and a woolen wrap cover any day to try out.
just a plain old terry - but nostalgically from a time gone by, I love seeing my boy in them ...
I take my hat off to you Bec, I'm slack- use prefolds or fitteds, you're much more clever than me!
becca74
12-09-2006, 03:50 PM
Ok I've just stumbled here! I used plain terry's with DD when she was born through summer but as she got older we got lots of leaks so I am ashamed to say my 16 mth old has been in disposables for the last 7 months. Is there a secret to no leaks????
I dont know how I'm gonna go when Noah gets bigger - the longest 'full-time' cloth I went with my toddler (2 1/2 years old) was last week for 3 days & nights, but the leaks were driving me to despair.....I just hope to have accumulated enough pockets by the time Noah is leaking big boy poo!
Noah is full-time cloth - It actually feels weird, the idea of putting him in sposies now! we are going over east for 2 weeks during the school holidays, and I would need an extra suitcase for nappies, so will relent and use sposies then. It will be weird!
12-09-2006, 04:00 PM
Is there a secret to no leaks????
With flat's I guess the secret to no leaks is finding a good cover;)
becca74
12-09-2006, 04:21 PM
With flat's I guess the secret to no leaks is finding a good cover;)
The best 2 covers I have are 'bummis', but because they are so expensive and I only have 2 of them, although they save his clothes, I run out of them pretty quick as it still leaks onto the bummis(my toddler poos 2-3 times a day). My wool covers hold it all in ok, but that's alot of wool-washing to be doing, and re-lanolising....
so far, pockets are the only thing that work to hold in toddler poo.....but I only have 6 of them, so that's not enough to go full-time. My mum is sewing me some more pockets so hopefully these might work:thumbsup:
I asked my mum what to do, and she said this is why, back in the days when we were all toddling about in terrys, our mothers were so eager to push kids into toilet training early! I dont think there ever has been a real answer for this....
unless someone knows.....I'm all ears :yes:
otherwise, I'm glad it's getting warmer, as my 2 1/2 year old is going to be going half naked as much as possible soon, to get him outa nappies altogether!
I take my hat off to you Bec, I'm slack- use prefolds or fitteds, you're much more clever than me!
Oh Kazza....you will be waaay more clevererer than me at it in the long run - it did unfortunately take me 7 years and 4 babys to get to the point where I could put a cloth nappy on my baby :laughing:
12-09-2006, 04:29 PM
The best 2 covers I have are 'bummis', but because they are so expensive and I only have 2 of them, although they save his clothes, I run out of them pretty quick as it still leaks onto the bummis(my toddler poos 2-3 times a day).
I have the same problem with DS, everytime he poo's it goes all over the cover also.;) I agree Bummi's are definately good, I don't mind the Prowraps either.
becca74
12-09-2006, 04:34 PM
I have the same problem with DS, everytime he poo's it goes all over the cover also.;) I agree Bummi's are definately good, I don't mind the Prowraps either.
I'll have to look into Prowraps then - thanks for the tip :thumbsup:
12-09-2006, 05:04 PM
love the nappies hanging on the line hehe dont they look so prettyyyy
i took some pics of my girls last night and another today so will upload them tonight when the kidlets are in bed and post thme up :D
12-09-2006, 07:51 PM
One for you PoshBecks ;) Sandra Stuffable (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/SSStrawberryShortcake.jpg)
Awww soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo CUTE!!!!! :yelclap: :D
Percy
12-09-2006, 08:12 PM
Shed........... Baden is so cute in his thomas nappy!
I am waiting on mine. Cant wait to put jake in it!
12-09-2006, 09:17 PM
My turn!
Sav in red BB hemp 11th sept
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y1/charmzy19/100_2863.jpg
Bella in red BB hemp 11th sept
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y1/charmzy19/100_2878.jpg
Bella in pink fuzzibunz 12th sept
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y1/charmzy19/100_2887.jpg
Sav in tinkletots winnie the pooh cover 12th sept
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y1/charmzy19/100_2905.jpg
12-09-2006, 09:21 PM
aww Charmzy.. very coot!
12-09-2006, 09:22 PM
ill be adding to here soon, im ordering my first lot of cloth soon :D
12-09-2006, 09:23 PM
12-09-2006, 09:41 PM
yayyy a new cloth mummy
12-09-2006, 09:45 PM
yayyy a new cloth mummy
i have been converted placing my first order tomorrow :D
just need to find some inserts from somewhere :confused:
12-09-2006, 09:55 PM
greens also sell inserts, mandy :)
I went all out about bought Large Hemparoos, mainly because I'm a tightarse and I didn't want to buy small ones, then large later :p
For microfibre boosters, go to Big W and get the House & Home brand of Microfibre Cleaning Cloths. :D just fold them in thirds and there's your microfibre booster
12-09-2006, 09:57 PM
w00t!! :smiliedance: What did you order ?
shed - The fuzzi bunz are fantastico.. no leakages yet! Love 'em! :D
12-09-2006, 09:57 PM
greens also sell inserts, mandy :)
I went all out about bought Large Hemparoos, mainly because I'm a tightarse and I didn't want to buy small ones, then large later :p
For microfibre boosters, go to Big W and get the House & Home brand of Microfibre Cleaning Cloths. :D just fold them in thirds and there's your microfibre booster
thanks for the tip
12-09-2006, 09:59 PM
*Yoink* Thanks for the tip :thumbsup: :D
12-09-2006, 10:08 PM
*Yoink* Thanks for the tip :thumbsup: :D
:o before I steal the credit. All thanks goes to Veve! :yelclap:
12-09-2006, 10:10 PM
lol GK is out of inserts atm... will MOE inserts fit them? or the weewuns hemp boosters? orrrr bb hemp boosters? plz help lol
cwsmum
12-09-2006, 10:19 PM
If you can't get those ones, I know they are always sold out at my local Big W ad hardly ever restocked :banghead: Have a look in the section where all the car cleaning sponges/cloths are. I got a pack of 9 or 10 cloths (I think it was that many, I can't remember now lol) it was a big pack anyway, for about $10 :thumbsup: The packaging is mostly black, i think there was some red and yellow on there....and they are rolled up with just a peice of cardboard around it, no plastic packaging.
12-09-2006, 10:29 PM
lol GK is out of inserts atm... will MOE inserts fit them? or the weewuns hemp boosters? orrrr bb hemp boosters? plz help lol
Ive only got GK boosters and hemps.. i should be recieving my weewuns soon so i can't tell you if they do fit GK.
Email Sasha and see what she says. I'm sure she'll point you into the right direction:thumbsup:
Oh and.. great tip veve and cwsmum :D
kirstenriley
12-09-2006, 10:54 PM
Big baby butts are so cute...im new to the cloth as well, but here is a pic of my new angel, 5 weeks old on thursday, she is a cutie.
http://s85.photobucket.com/albums/k76/Kirsten_030/?action=view¤t=megannappy.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch1
Oh and.. great tip veve and cwsmum :D
happy to help :) - I originally stole the tip from another bubhubber .. I just wish I could remember WHO!!! :laughing:
ah well .. its just fantastic to share info !!
ps- seekrit .. remind me next time you are over.. I have a few nappies that might fit cobes (need covers though)
Jen
Funkychicken
12-09-2006, 11:32 PM
These bubba's are all so cute. Becky, Ella is just gorgeous!
I know I have posted these before but I'll show you again!
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/3458/pic00968uz4.jpg
http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/7976/pic00991qd2.jpg
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/2673/pic00994lo7.jpg
:D :D :D
13-09-2006, 07:02 AM
happy to help :) - I originally stole the tip from another bubhubber .. I just wish I could remember WHO!!! :laughing:
Was it Tea Lady?
13-09-2006, 06:26 PM
Very cute pics of Hamish Sal :thumbsup:
I can't believe it!!! 3 people have been converted in 1 day :eek: :smiliedance:
13-09-2006, 06:50 PM
Very cute pics of Hamish Sal :thumbsup:
I can't believe it!!! 3 people have been converted in 1 day :eek: :smiliedance:
Keep it up then, at this rate you will have the whole forum converted soon!:p
13-09-2006, 07:28 PM
Keep it up then, at this rate you will have the whole forum converted soon!:p
I'm not taking any of the credit :no: I don't want them blaming me when they realise they're short for money until next pay. :laughing:
13-09-2006, 07:36 PM
I'm not taking any of the credit :no: I don't want them blaming me when they realise they're short for money until next pay. :laughing:
I'll come and blame you tho' when nothing's in stock :eek:
13-09-2006, 07:48 PM
:o surely im not that bad. :D
Nickster
13-09-2006, 08:23 PM
http://http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m37/sonnet119/th_P9130003.jpg (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m37/sonnet119/P9130003.jpg)
That's my DD in her hempadelic BubbaJ from The Cauldron - taken tonight before bathtime.
By the way, everyone's babies look so adorable - not a pumpkinhead amongst them all!
I agree.
Can you um, stop converting people. You're just adding to the hyenas that go and grab them all when they come in stock. :laughing:
Like we need more of those
13-09-2006, 08:44 PM
ermm.. how is it my fault ? :crying: ;)
13-09-2006, 08:45 PM
http://http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m37/sonnet119/th_P9130003.jpg (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m37/sonnet119/P9130003.jpg)
That's my DD in her hempadelic BubbaJ from The Cauldron - taken tonight before bathtime.
By the way, everyone's babies look so adorable - not a pumpkinhead amongst them all!
now thats an awesome looking nappy
14-09-2006, 07:34 PM
ARGH photobucket isnt working and i have new pics of the girls in there BB bamboo's :( :(
this is my little one in her zappy nappy (http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g317/zenia800/glittershoesrednappy.jpg)and here she is in her homemade pink nappy (http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g317/zenia800/pinkheart1smaller.jpg)with matching singlet!
proud mama:yes:
17-09-2006, 05:46 PM
All i san say is hold on Girls GK are making new inserts & they are not only a great price but make the nappy less bulky & are just plain fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!!
Will post some photos soon when i can be bothered getting them off the camera onto the computer :p
~Chick79~
20-09-2006, 09:09 PM
Just thought I would post a picture of my little bubba in his Thomas the Tank Engine GK Funtime nappy.
http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m205/StusChick/DrewintheThomastheTankEngineNappy.jpg
sopolicha
21-09-2006, 07:10 AM
Wow, what an amazing bunch of beautiful babies.
Lovely cloth, nothing worse than seeing a manky old disposable hanging down between the legs.
Cluck, cluck, cluck. Thank You DH for having that vasectomy :yes: .
I wish I wasn't so lazy to work out the Photo Bucket.
sopolicha
21-09-2006, 07:41 AM
Okay, not to be outdone in the cute and nappy stakes here is Cha modelling the Pink Dreamytimes.
http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l112/sopolicha/IMG_0078.jpg
http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l112/sopolicha/IMG_0077_2.jpg
BTW, the hairy arms in the shots are not mine.
21-09-2006, 08:36 AM
Very cute sop and ~Chick79~.. and i agree sop there is nothing more worse than seeing a boring and saggy knee knocking disposable nappy :)
meme - i love the matching set.
21-09-2006, 11:09 AM
I'm not a clothie mum but I just wanna give you guys a round of applause! :yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap: Your bubs all look so adorable, I've opened every pic in this thread and I'm just amazed at how far these fitted cloths have come. DD's in 'sposies but I did terry squares with DS for the first 6 months I think it was. I would have gone much longer if I knew that these things were around and invested in some! Way to go girls! :thumbsup:
23-09-2006, 03:43 PM
I posted these pics in another thread but i thought that posting them in this thread is appropriate aswell.
Dakota reading the Baby Beehinds product information guide
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/bbbs004.jpg
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/bbbs001.jpg
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/bbbs002.jpg
Tomorrow she'll be washing the nappies herself ;)
sopolicha
23-09-2006, 06:11 PM
Oh Lauren, she is soo cute and obviously so clever reading!!! Too cute!
26-09-2006, 10:27 AM
Ok here are some of my favs :D
Love my Dreamytimes cause im a cheeky monkey monster !
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y270/Allyooooooo/CauseClothRules.jpg
Wash day .... aaaaah you cant beat it :D
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y270/Allyooooooo/CIMG0886.jpg
ikis84
26-09-2006, 10:30 AM
Love the wash day pic allyoo! :thumbsup: Just lovely!!
26-09-2006, 10:46 AM
Noice pics Allyoo :yelclap:
My nappy washing day isn't until tomorrow so i'll take some pics then. Does anyone else get excited when washing day arrives ? :o I love having a full stash ready to go.
sopolicha
26-09-2006, 10:49 AM
I just said in another thread how much I enjoy washing the nappies.
It is going to be sad day around here when toilet training time comes.
Nice pics ally. I can't tell what your fav nappy is ;) .
26-09-2006, 10:54 AM
I know sop im a basket case love my Greens but i shouldve taken the pic a few days later when i had the Cherubs Kiss newborns up OMG !!! Soooooo cuteeee :o
Oh & im holding off TT for as long as possible :rolleyes: :laughing:
He has new nappies coming in the next few months d@mnit !!!!!! :p
26-09-2006, 10:54 AM
Love the wash day pic!!! I don't mind washing these days!
Even if Iam holding av at the same time.
27-09-2006, 01:06 PM
Woohoo it's washing day !!!! :smiliedance: haha sorry, just a weeee bit excited :o
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/washingday003.jpg
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/washingday002.jpg
27-09-2006, 01:18 PM
OOOH OOOOHH!!!!! Karni, I see a Strawberry Shortcake one!! :laughing:
Lovely!! I just took mine off the line, so once I stuff them I will share piccys!!
27-09-2006, 01:23 PM
Oh yayayay Lauren !!!!!
How gorgeous !!!!
I cant wait to have pink nappies heheh i had better have a girl next time or else :p
27-09-2006, 01:31 PM
OOOH OOOOHH!!!!! Karni, I see a Strawberry Shortcake one!! :laughing:
Oh whoops you weren't suppous to see that ;)
Ally - Girly prints are way more cutier. It's like shopping for girl clothes, more of a wider range KWIM! :D
MotherOfPearl
27-09-2006, 02:24 PM
Woohoo it's washing day !!!! :smiliedance: haha sorry, just a weeee bit excited :o
:smiliedance: glad you're getting out in the sunshine Lauren!:D
And I'm with Ally- can't wait to buy pink anything.
27-09-2006, 03:28 PM
As much as I'd like another girl, I am sure it would send me broke.
It is more challenging to get boy's clothing and nappies....(and I am still going broke!)
I love the washing day photos.
I would like to see nappy stash pics....;)
sopolicha
27-09-2006, 04:51 PM
It has been wash day here also. I am not sure if I should be proud or embarassed.
http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l112/sopolicha/IMG_0201.jpg
The worst part about it is, I just unloaded some on eBay.
27-09-2006, 04:55 PM
That's one healthy looking stash sop!
(feel free to sent me the ebay link) :)
MotherOfPearl
27-09-2006, 05:00 PM
Wow Sop is all I can say!
sopolicha
27-09-2006, 06:35 PM
Maybe it is a touch of OCD coming out?
My cause is not helped by Broadband and PayPal. PayPal is just evil, two or three clicks and the item is yours.
After my run-in with Buyena, I swore that I would never buy another cloth nappy. It worked...................for about a fortnight.
28-09-2006, 09:35 AM
I find direct deposit easy enough til the account is depleted of course..
What a great looking stash!
sopolicha
28-09-2006, 10:58 AM
Very true Kymmy, but Paypal also has the option of direct debiting your account.
28-09-2006, 11:10 AM
Paypal also has the option of direct debiting your account.
That's exactly how i pay for everything, it's very very nasty and too easy to buy stuff (especially nappies) online these days. Dh said he'll close the PayPal account but i think if he did that, it has to be murder worthy :devil6: ;)
28-09-2006, 12:04 PM
Here is a pic of Ozzy in the Bumgenius nappy!
Bumgenius nappy picture (http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/speedwayatom/Pics003.jpg)
It looks kinda bulky there but that was stuffed for night and I had only just got the nappy so wasn't sure how much stuffing was needed.;)
Funkychicken
28-09-2006, 12:06 PM
Firstly, Sop, I am in awe!!! If there was an emoticon showing me bowing before you, I would be using it now-either that or a green-eyed monster one! I am soooo jealous.
My stash is growing though and my trusty old sewing machine did this cover for me last night. Hamish thinks it's pretty!
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/9152/pic01374eq7.jpg
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/2787/pic01376vw9.jpg
sopolicha
28-09-2006, 12:37 PM
At the end of the day the are only things for poo and wee.
Sal, I like the look of that cover, is it PUL?
OM, I also like the look of that Bum Genius, I don't seem to have anything green.
3cherubs
28-09-2006, 01:07 PM
I do not know how to use the photobucket thingy, but my avatar is a cloth pocket i made.:thumbsup:
ikis84
28-09-2006, 03:20 PM
Oh Sal, Hamish is adorable!!! Love the cover too :thumbsup:
Sop, that's what I have to remind myself of too - they are only for poo and wee. Only poo and wee... only poo and wee... as I go to click on Pay with paypal! (I agree, that is totally evil :devil6: )
Funkychicken
28-09-2006, 03:39 PM
At the end of the day the are only things for poo and wee.
Sal, I like the look of that cover, is it PUL?
OM, I also like the look of that Bum Genius, I don't seem to have anything green.
It's actually two layer's of flanellette (orange with white stars) with a layer of polar fleece in the middle. I made a long rectangle of flanellette and PUL and sewed them together then sewed that into the crutch of the cover. So the PUL is hidden under the flanny. I am at this moment (although I am taking a breather to visist BH!) making a pair of woollen longies from a jumper I found in the oppy.
It's not just buying the things that is addictive! :D
sopolicha
28-09-2006, 08:13 PM
Sal, you are one clever chicken. Too warm up here for full on longies and fleece pants. Bloody global warming.
28-09-2006, 08:20 PM
Very true Kymmy, but Paypal also has the option of direct debiting your account.Have to look into that - it is easier for os things yeah?
I am liking all the pics. I had so much fluffy today so its all on the line now.
Some show of stuff too!
Will no doubt put it up on my blog tomorrow.
It isn't just the buying that is addictive I agree, funkychicken. I love knitting woolies, sewing up bumjumper longies and one day i wanrt to sew my own naps....ahhh nappies, what a hobby!
stellaj
28-09-2006, 09:36 PM
Anyone got good bumjumper instructions or hints, mine never work properly! I love all the pics of the cute nappies and even cuter bubs, i'll have to take some tomorrow.
Funkychicken
28-09-2006, 11:44 PM
Anyone got good bumjumper instructions or hints, mine never work properly! I love all the pics of the cute nappies and even cuter bubs, i'll have to take some tomorrow.
I'll let you know if mine has worked when it is finished! it is definately a made-up-as-I-go project! :laughing:
waawa
29-09-2006, 12:31 AM
Anyone got good bumjumper instructions or hints, mine never work properly!
Are you using a particular pattern at the moment? What about them isn't working properly?
All the instructions I know of are here:
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/links#knitting
(scroll down a little)
Lara
29-09-2006, 02:36 AM
Here is Boof showing off yet another Greens :o
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y270/Allyooooooo/SpunkyDuds.jpg
sopolicha
29-09-2006, 06:51 AM
Here is Boof showing off yet another Greens :o
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y270/Allyooooooo/SpunkyDuds.jpg
What a cheeky, toothy bugger.
Mmmmmm I don't have any yellow :rolleyes: .
29-09-2006, 08:57 AM
I'll let you know if mine has worked when it is finished! it is definately a made-up-as-I-go project! :laughing:
Sounds like me! I have sewed up 2 longies from jumpers. I think I need to felt them more as they fit my 3 year old (which is ok!). I might put up a photo on my blog.
Kymmy, you just sound like the cleverest craftiest person. I wish you lived next door to me. I could come over and ask you how to get the crocheting right on the legs of my soakers.
Baden's soakers. Baden's. :o
29-09-2006, 09:14 AM
Kymmy, you just sound like the cleverest craftiest person. I wish you lived next door to me. I could come over and ask you how to get the crocheting right on the legs of my soakers.
Baden's soakers. Baden's. :o
:laughing: Yes baby's soakers not mine! I wish all the ppl I talk to on the net were in my street! Every1 irl (and some on the net 2 of course) thinks I am weird.
I must take that as a compliment being crafty (in what way...hmmm:o ). I can't really crochet, not well, but i like doing edges!
Funkychicken
29-09-2006, 09:25 AM
Yes baby's soakers not mine! I wish all the ppl I talk to on the net were in my street! Every1 irl (and some on the net 2 of course) thinks I am weird.
I must take that as a compliment being crafty (in what way...hmmm). I can't really crochet, not well, but i like doing edges!
I have a friend with a 7 week old so I have an IRL nappy nutter of a friend!:D She had planned to use 'sposies this time around as she was going to return to work quite quickly but after only two weeks she was utterly disgusted with them and has found the world of modern cloth! :yelclap: :yelclap: She has been making woolen soakers from old jumpers and using the cuffs for the legs and the neck roll for a waist band. Very clever person.:yes:
29-09-2006, 09:26 AM
What a cheeky, toothy bugger.
Mmmmmm I don't have any yellow :rolleyes: .
Yep he takes after his mama :p
Yes you neeeeeed yellow .... Have you got red or aqua ? They are really nice too :yes:
stellaj
29-09-2006, 03:09 PM
My bumjumpers don't felt up properly, do you just do hot then cold washes and a rub to get them right? 100 per cent wool or a mix?
29-09-2006, 03:26 PM
About 15minutes in the washing machine - keep checking then the dryer - always keeping an eye. That is how I do it. Works best with 100% wool.
btw I got some kool aid today so I am keen to dye some wool soon.
stellaj
29-09-2006, 04:59 PM
thanks kym, sal and waawa for the tips.
here is a couple of 'stash' pics i took becasue i am sure that some of my nappies have gone walkabout off my washing line (or i may just be losing my mind).
fitteds http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9270067.jpg
pockets http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9260062.jpg
aio http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9270065.jpg
i'll have to get pics of the most important of all, wool.
stellaj
29-09-2006, 05:03 PM
oh, and this just because its cute-
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9260053.jpg
29-09-2006, 05:17 PM
Oh those pics are great!:thumbsup:
29-09-2006, 05:18 PM
aww stellaj_79 i love the elmo nappy and the bumble bee pic. I wish i could get my hands on a butterfly one. :yes:
29-09-2006, 05:21 PM
And if you ever want to sell the bumblebee one - keep me in mind:p
29-09-2006, 07:25 PM
Great nappies Mel! I like the elmo one too!
So cute on the grass!
Percy
29-09-2006, 08:50 PM
Okay, ive finally gotten around to posting some.
This one is Jake getting into the kitchen cupboard. The very lovely oscars mum made this nappy. It was my very first one!! Has a nemo pattern on it........
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1239.jpg
Second is Jake in his green kids. We have all the pastel colours now.
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1243.jpg
29-09-2006, 09:27 PM
Love those pics - gorgeous Jake!
stellaj
29-09-2006, 09:31 PM
bubs in cloth are so cute! Jake looks cute and nice nappy oscars mum:thumbsup:
oh, i only just got the bumblebutt so i'm not over it yet;)
Funkychicken
29-09-2006, 09:41 PM
oh, and this just because its cute-
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9260053.jpg
You're not wrong-it's too cute for words!!! He is such a looker that boy of yours!
And now I have to say that I am in awe of your stash too, Mel. Mine doesn't come close!
Funkychicken
29-09-2006, 09:45 PM
And here are my creations of last night and just now! They are my first MADE-OUT-OF-A-JUMPER efforts. The longies are the sleeves, which wern't quite long enough-hence the extra bit. The shorties are a small bit of the front of the jumper and I reckon I'll get two more out of the jumper. Not bad for a $3.00 wool jumper in the oppy! :D
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/2883/pic01398ef5.jpg
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/6073/pic01399nu1.jpg
stellaj
29-09-2006, 10:05 PM
WOW Sal they look so great, you should be so proud of yourself! The jumper doesn't look like wool. Did you just cut up the pieces and sew them up on the machine? Hamish is so lucky. Can you bring them to the melbourne park meet thing so i can have a closer look pls?.
Funkychicken
29-09-2006, 10:21 PM
WOW Sal they look so great, you should be so proud of yourself! The jumper doesn't look like wool. Did you just cut up the pieces and sew them up on the machine? Hamish is so lucky. Can you bring them to the melbourne park meet thing so i can have a closer look pls?.
Yep, they are wool. It's a really fine knit though. I think it was a men's jumper. It was still so new looking. The lady in the op shop (Berwick oppy is full of stuff that the affluent deposit there!) said she knows the lady who bought it in ans said all her items are very well cared for. Bonus for me! Or for Hamish I should say. Anyway, it had one of those pure new wool tags. I haven't decided whether I'll try to felt it any more though-I might just lanolise it (now that I have worked that part out!) and see how it goes. I thought the shorties will be cute for summer.
And I'll bring it to the meet. :D
Here's a pic of my happy little chappy in his red Greens nappy!!
I have finally figured out the stuffing. I had to cut the hemparoo down, I cut one-third of it off, it was just way too bulky.
Then I cut a square out of the spare bit and put that in between the folds in front of his willy. So where he wees has the extra layer, without having the extra bulk of the extra layer through the whole crotch.
I am much happier with them now, we haven't used a sposie in two days now including overnight, and had no leaks.
Full steam ahead.
http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/6268/redgreenstr9.jpg
30-09-2006, 11:28 AM
Very cute shed :yes: Seeing that i now can't wait for the red and lilac gingham that i ordered to add to my GK's stash :rolleyes: I loooooove Green Kids! :yelclap:
Also i can't wait for the 2 cherub's !!!! 3 weeks and counting :o
what a good idea to cut the prefold down and use a small section of is as an extra booster for the little man!!
30-09-2006, 12:08 PM
Shed- very cute!!!! And clever with cutting the hemp.
Av only wees at the front....
Very clever Sal! I am amazed. Will have to try some soakers like that but I like knitting too much...Have a large bag full of jumpers to transform here.
Gotta love the op shops. I bought a few jumpers to make longies for $2 recently. But now I am so tempted to head out to Berwick!
Today I am kool aid-ing - its fun! The kids love it too. They want to know why they can't drink it. Hmmm hubby too.
30-09-2006, 12:32 PM
This one is Jake getting into the kitchen cupboard. The very lovely oscars mum made this nappy. It was my very first one!! Has a nemo pattern on it........
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1239.jpg
Awww that is gorgeous - not bias at all am I lol:p
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 01:52 PM
Shed- very cute!!!! And clever with cutting the hemp.
Av only wees at the front....
Very clever Sal! I am amazed. Will have to try some soakers like that but I like knitting too much...Have a large bag full of jumpers to transform here.
Gotta love the op shops. I bought a few jumpers to make longies for $2 recently. But now I am so tempted to head out to Berwick!
Today I am kool aid-ing - its fun! The kids love it too. They want to know why they can't drink it. Hmmm hubby too.
Kymmy what is kool-aiding?? i have never heard of this.
30-09-2006, 02:18 PM
Kymmy what is kool-aiding?? i have never heard of this.
Have you heard of kool aid? Its a a cordial mix - powder. They drink it in the US and NZ. Its like using food colouring on wool - have you tried that? But its acidic so you don't have to fix it with vinegar. Its easy and fun! I have done 3 colours - aqua, orange and green. I am looking forward to knitting it up. They are very bright and fruity!!
30-09-2006, 03:14 PM
What beautiful clothies we have here!
I just snapped this photo up. Cobey's been unwell and it's a bit hot here so we've taken him to giving him day naps in the bathroom.
Chris decided he'd take one too..!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nikki_m/256101007/
Tsk! MEN!
:eek: I forgot to say, Cobey's wearing a Finding Nemo Greenkids Funtime :D It's our favourite
30-09-2006, 03:39 PM
awwr Nikki.. whatta cute pic! :D
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 04:29 PM
Have you heard of kool aid? Its a a cordial mix - powder. They drink it in the US and NZ. Its like using food colouring on wool - have you tried that? But its acidic so you don't have to fix it with vinegar. Its easy and fun! I have done 3 colours - aqua, orange and green. I am looking forward to knitting it up. They are very bright and fruity!!
Wow- I never knew that about kool aid! I use direct dyes when I dye stuff-I only have to add salt, but i do have to do it on a stove top.
Although, I am hoping DH will get my outdoor dying pot ready soon!
Don't forget to post pics when you are done. I'd love to see them! :yelclap:
stellaj
30-09-2006, 05:50 PM
food dye us best for wool i've found, photos are great everyone!
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 08:40 PM
I just have to say how much I love this thread-when I see a new post in here I get sooo excited! I think, ooohhhh more clothie pics to fawn over and more chatting with clothie mums! :D
I really do need to think hard about my relationship with both bubhub and nappies!:o :o :laughing:
30-09-2006, 09:29 PM
Hey guys! No photos yet- but I will have some soon because I AM WAITING FOR MY VERY FIRST FLUFFY MAIL DELIVERY!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: OMG The suspence is killing me- you guys converted me, I might add! DH is getting so sick of me emailing him at work- "Check the PO box on your way home!!' :rolleyes: I got the GK trial pack and a couple of BBB's with Tot's Bot's covers. YAY!:D
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 09:44 PM
Hey guys! No photos yet- but I will have some soon because I AM WAITING FOR MY VERY FIRST FLUFFY MAIL DELIVERY!! OMG The suspence is killing me- you guys converted me, I might add! DH is getting so sick of me emailing him at work- "Check the PO box on your way home!!' I got the GK trial pack and a couple of BBB's with Tot's Bot's covers. YAY!
:smiliedance: YAY FOR POOKIESOSSIGE!!:yelclap:
I remember Kool Aid!! I grew up in NZ and we used to drink it. We had a teacher who we called Mr Kool Aid because his surname sounded something like it. I can't remember what his actual surname was.
I am off to NZ in a couple of weeks. Might get me some Kool Aid and have a go!
I have been sewing today. Having a go at making a fleece pocket. I am having trouble getting the elastic stretched enough.
I will post a pic if it works out.
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 09:55 PM
I remember Kool Aid!! I grew up in NZ and we used to drink it. We had a teacher who we called Mr Kool Aid because his surname sounded something like it. I can't remember what his actual surname was.
I am off to NZ in a couple of weeks. Might get me some Kool Aid and have a go!
I have been sewing today. Having a go at making a fleece pocket. I am having trouble getting the elastic stretched enough.
I will post a pic if it works out.
I have made a couple of fleece pockets. They are easy enough to make as long as your FOE is wide enough, My first one, I used FOE from spotlight and it was so narrow, it made it really difficult. The best thing about them is that you really don't need a cover. I made the pocket double layer and it almost water-proofs it.
Ohh...and I wanted to add-is that you in your avatar? If so, you are NOTHING like I imagined! :laughing: I think I had a picture of you as being a grown-up version of Baden! :rolleyes:
yes, thats me. My baby who I endured all those months of discomfort for and who I went through that painful labour for looks nothing like me.
What does FOE stand for? I can't even think what it might stand for. More lingo to learn.
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 10:06 PM
yes, thats me. My baby who I endured all those months of discomfort for and who I went through that painful labour for looks nothing like me.
What does FOE stand for? I can't even think what it might stand for. More lingo to learn.
:laughing: Sorry, it means Fold Over Elastic. The pattern I used for my first nappies (the free one) requires FOE. It makes it so much easier to sew on but you really do need the 1 inch wide one, which I have only found on Ebay at Ellas_mummy's shop along with PUL. happy nappying!
stellaj
30-09-2006, 10:46 PM
Nice head, Shed :D Good luck with the sewing.
Em, how exciting - your very first fluffy mail, good for you!
Look what i did today- http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9210047.jpg
Luca was very grizzly all day and as you can see in the pic, a bit red looking poor bub, anyway very soon after the pic was taken he projectile vomited all over me. It really went along way so i'm keeping an eye on him.
Funkychicken
30-09-2006, 10:51 PM
Nice head, Shed :D Good luck with the sewing.
Em, how exciting - your very first fluffy mail, good for you!
Look what i did today- http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a150/stellaj/P9210047.jpg
Luca was very grizzly all day and as you can see in the pic, a bit red looking poor bub, anyway very soon after the pic was taken he projectile vomited all over me. It really went along way so i'm keeping an eye on him.
That looks fantastic, Mel! I had a few like this when Hamish was a newie-in fact he came home from the birth centre in this one.
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5246/copyofpic00257xk2.jpg
You have inspired me to do some more 'creative' dyeing as opposed to dyeing straight colours!
02-10-2006, 12:02 PM
Poor Luca :hugs: Gorgeous suit though - love it.
Nikki - love the pics - Looks hot there. We are just getting semi tee shirt weather her. Love getting outside and taking photos of my baby cloth bum.
Sorry no photos here. I have an online album and blog so will link my kool aid attempts soon. I have started knitting a soaker with some of it. It looks great. Even hubby is impressed (though being a kiwi wanted to drink it) Its funny cos he tells every1 about cloth and how wonderful it is. Sadly he doesn't change that many cloth nappies - he still needs guidance.....("How does that work again?")
Percy
02-10-2006, 02:16 PM
Jake and DH in his long awaited blue bamboo baby beehinds.
I love them:thumbsup:
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1265.jpg
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1266.jpg
MotherOfPearl
02-10-2006, 02:35 PM
Sadly he doesn't change that many cloth nappies - he still needs guidance.....("How does that work again?")
Sounds like Angus, disposables he's fine with,
but bring out the cloth and he's like "How does it work again, oh can you just do it, not sure about the inserts."
Although I think he is trying to learn more.
02-10-2006, 02:38 PM
I love the pics of Jake in his BB's - very very cute!;)
sopolicha
02-10-2006, 03:11 PM
The blue is very nice. I think I could even put that on cha.
My DH seems to manage now with full time cloth. At the beginning if there was even a hint of a disposable in sight, he would go for it.
The only problem I have now is on a daily basis is, 'Does this one need a cover?' Oh and the nappy bucket. The nappies go in the bucket not on top.
02-10-2006, 03:21 PM
The coloured bamboo looks gorgeous. I only have a natural (can't wait til the xpo...)
I told hubby that baby needs a cover so he buttond up the bodysuit! And yes, he puts the nappies on top of the nappy bucket too...He sorta tries!
sopolicha
02-10-2006, 04:55 PM
As promised in another thread, here is the International Fluffy Mail.
http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l112/sopolicha/IMG_0209-1.jpg
02-10-2006, 05:47 PM
Oh my !!!!
Sop what are they & where are they from, do they work well etc etc etc ?!?!?!??!?
Give me details woman give me details * froths at mouth *
stellaj
02-10-2006, 05:55 PM
www.hyenacart.com don't go there! thats where you got it, right Sop?
02-10-2006, 06:00 PM
Oh wow - gorgeous Sop;)
02-10-2006, 06:16 PM
Pretty and retro style - love it Sop!
Funkychicken
02-10-2006, 09:02 PM
ooohh...that one is CUTE!! :yelclap:
05-10-2006, 11:06 PM
http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/Naps/photo#4981794434932473874
This is my bub in his first Erica's fitted.
sopolicha
06-10-2006, 06:28 AM
Very cute kymmy, and the nappies aren't bad either.
I do love an Ericas Nappy.
Yep the retro flowers come from a shop called Full Moon Baby Gear on Hyenacart. There is some pretty amazing stuff there. I am just glad it is American and I don't really like forking over the dollars in case it gets lost and other general unfounded paranoia.
It is an AIO with fold over elastic all around the edges, makes i nice and neat and there is velour on the inside, I am thinking it is bamboo. It has two boosters hemp and bamboo. I really love the edges. I haven't seen anything even remotely like it.
I agree with stella - don't go there.
11-10-2006, 08:37 PM
http://mcm.minti.com/blog/27332/itti-bitti/
Av in his new longies and also his itti bitti!!!
stellaj
11-10-2006, 09:07 PM
ohhhh rainbow- my favourite! Does this mean your stash is complete Kym? :laughing:
BTW- i now own a VBSN!
11-10-2006, 09:11 PM
I have a funny feeling my stash will never complete...
....since I don't have a VBSN yet...
Well done Mel! How did you score that? I am so jealy!
11-10-2006, 09:23 PM
aww Av is so coot kymmy :yes:
I'm still waiting to see more Stash pics. I'll post mine when my current orders arrive.
11-10-2006, 11:01 PM
Awww Kym your little man is just oh my goodness too cute !!!!!!
Love the longies !!! Sheesh going to have to get my mum working over time now hehehehe !
Funkychicken
11-10-2006, 11:22 PM
Now for the big question kym. Are you going to make these gorgeous longies of yours to sell? :D
stellaj
11-10-2006, 11:30 PM
ssshhhhhh Sal, or i won't get anymore! :laughing: Kymmy, I lub you!
stellaj
11-10-2006, 11:54 PM
Look what i just won!
http://www.ozebaby.com.au/auctions.php?VA=428
Funkychicken
11-10-2006, 11:57 PM
Look what i just won!
http://www.ozebaby.com.au/auctions.php?VA=428
WOW, Mel! They are gorgeous!:thumbsup:
I seriously need to learn to knit!
Just a quick hijack-it seems my boobies are back in favour. Hamish has fed for two days and nights with NO biting!:smiliedance: And he has dined TWICE today and again at bedtime with no fussing!
stellaj
12-10-2006, 12:04 AM
Thats really great Sal, i guess he was just having a break. I was thinking when i was driving home that perhaps you could be pg, as they often go off then!
Back on topic- I solemnly swear i will not buy anymore nappies or related products until the end of November. I am getting very greedy (and poor) and i have more than enough :thumbsdown: In fact stay tuned for a nappy sale in the next few days. (excuse me talking to myself)
12-10-2006, 01:49 PM
Now for the big question kym. Are you going to make these gorgeous longies of yours to sell? :D
I am willing to knit other babies yes of course!
Surely Av doesn't need a new pair of woolies every week!
(I am just a lil addicted to knitting ...)
All you have to do is ask!
12-10-2006, 01:57 PM
Mel- I will have to join you for that nappy ban!
But well done on the longies. Utiki wool - so jealy...again.
What does lub mean??
12-10-2006, 02:06 PM
In fact stay tuned for a nappy sale in the next few days. (excuse me talking to myself)
Ooh tuning in:p
stellaj
12-10-2006, 02:17 PM
Love,love,love you Kymmy thats what!
I'll go through the stash tonight to do the culling:crying:
CrazyBeautiful
12-10-2006, 08:11 PM
Oh, I love the Disana Wool Cover on my 13 month old DS. It's so gorgeous.... everytime I look at it I get goosebumps (sad, but true)!!! It's just so gorgeous. So, I'm going to get some 100% wool and knit some myself.
13-10-2006, 12:32 PM
Oh to be lubbed!!?!!! Thanks Mel!
I need to cull hmmm but I don't want to ...
Yeah the Disanna wool covers are good.
And yep learn to knit GLC!
CrazyBeautiful
13-10-2006, 01:42 PM
Yeah the Disanna wool covers are good.
And yep learn to knit GLC!
I can knit!!!!:yes::laughing: One thing I'm pretty expert at.
13-10-2006, 02:06 PM
Oh! Good! I want to see what you knit. I wouldn't call myself an expert- I just crazy passionate for knitting!
Maybe you can give me some tips.
Funkychicken
13-10-2006, 03:45 PM
Wow Kymmy, how exciting! Can I order a pair of shorties? With summer upon us (literally after yesterday) they may be more practical then longies. Anyway, I'll PM you to talk more.:thumbsup:
13-10-2006, 03:58 PM
oh yes this heat! Its so nice to show of little legs in shorties now!
ikis84
14-10-2006, 08:07 AM
Just wanted to introduce my little girl to my fellow clothies! Now I can actually call myself a clothie, not a clothie-to-be!!
Here is Olivia at 2 days old (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n58/ikis84/100_0683.jpg)
and here is her big bubble butt (in a BBH and cover) (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n58/ikis84/100_0695.jpg)
and a wash day photo! (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n58/ikis84/100_0710.jpg) (yes, pretty obvious what type of nappy is most used in this house! We have some greens, but they are a bit big for now!)
I am happy to say that Olivia has only had three disposables on her little bottom :smiliedance: , and that was in hospital, before we found out that we could actually use cloth there!
CrazyBeautiful
14-10-2006, 09:19 AM
Olivia is beautiful. Congratulations!!!:smiliedance:
14-10-2006, 04:28 PM
Thanks for sharing! Olivia is just gorgeous!
Funkychicken
14-10-2006, 04:49 PM
Wow-congratulations on the arrival of Olivia! I must have missed that news when My 'puter went down. She is just beautiful! And the nappy pics are great too-I love the clothes line pic, you should send a copy to Davina-I'm sure she would love it!
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
stellaj
14-10-2006, 04:56 PM
AWWWW, so cute! And your washing is so neatly pegged too! Congrats on a beautiful bub.
14-10-2006, 08:52 PM
Thought it was about time i posted some Nappy pics :p
Here's (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/100_1394.jpg) some of the stash on the line (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/100_1393.jpg) this afternoon
Here's (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/100_1410.jpg) some of MJ (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/100_1408.jpg) just before bed tonight in her Rose GK Anytime
Funkychicken
14-10-2006, 11:25 PM
Ther'es is something about a clothesline full of nappies that makes me smile. I love hanging them out and arranging them. Yesterday morning, I asked DH to finish the dishes while I hung out the nappies and he said, "I'll hang out the nappies."
You should have seen me move! I tried so hard to convince him to NOT do it but he did anyway. I was left feeling a bit deflated-nappy hanging is MY job, not his! :crying:
15-10-2006, 09:23 AM
I'm the same Sal, but maybe its because I like things done my way or not at all :laughing: Its relaxing hanging out nappies, when i'm not chasing MJ at the same time :rolleyes:
~Chick79~
15-10-2006, 09:36 AM
Ther'es is something about a clothesline full of nappies that makes me smile. I love hanging them out and arranging them. Yesterday morning, I asked DH to finish the dishes while I hung out the nappies and he said, "I'll hang out the nappies."
You should have seen me move! I tried so hard to convince him to NOT do it but he did anyway. I was left feeling a bit deflated-nappy hanging is MY job, not his! :crying:
And if he isl ike my DH - he never hangs them out right!!! :laughing: My DH reckons I am obsessive about the way they are hung out! :o
ikis84
15-10-2006, 01:01 PM
My DH is happy for me to wash them... (he leaves rinsing out the pooey ones for me :rolleyes: ) but he likes hanging them... he even uses two pegs per nappy!! I like putting them away, and having the nappy box all full and clean :D Never thought I would argue with my DH over who does the nappies!
Tam-I-Am
15-10-2006, 02:41 PM
Somewhat off-topic, look at the gorgeous tee shirt (http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/9895/pa150002lf7.jpg) I picked up for DD yesterday :D
15-10-2006, 02:48 PM
oo000ooo i like it Tami :yes: I might have to steal the slogan and make Dakota one :devil6:
stellaj
15-10-2006, 06:33 PM
I saw them at Kmart too, very cute! And the one that says 'cute and stinky'.
sopolicha
15-10-2006, 09:35 PM
Very cute CB.
I am still waiting for Miss cha's Feisty Fairy t-shirt to turn up.
15-10-2006, 09:46 PM
Like the pics Rainbowbrite! Gorgeous!
I have seen that slogan Clarabelle - can't remember where though. Amusing though!
Tam-I-Am
16-10-2006, 12:33 AM
I hadn't seen it in Kmart, Sella - I actually got this one from Cotton On Kids - fantastic shop, so many very cute clothes, some very funny slogans (I think I'm going to go back and get the "Lady of Leisure" tee-shirt next week - for Claire of course, not for me :D)
16-10-2006, 08:00 AM
Somewhat off-topic, look at the gorgeous tee shirt (http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/9895/pa150002lf7.jpg) I picked up for DD yesterday :D
OMG I love that shirt! Sooooo cute - but I didn't know that Cotton On sold kids clothes, I don't think the store near me does:no:
Tam-I-Am
16-10-2006, 12:29 PM
Cotton On Kids is actually a store all of its own - owned by the same people, but not run out of the same shops as the adult Cotton On.
16-10-2006, 01:28 PM
Cotton On Kids is actually a store all of its own - owned by the same people, but not run out of the same shops as the adult Cotton On.
Oh well that all makes sense now;)
16-10-2006, 02:49 PM
gorgeous top! Savannah has a romper that says the same thing :D
sopolicha
16-10-2006, 06:47 PM
WOW kymmy, they look great.
You should start taking orders.
Your boy is very cute.
16-10-2006, 07:02 PM
Oh Kym they are cute & so is Av my goodness i want to steal him especially with the performance Boof is currently putting on because he doesnt want to eat his dinner :rolleyes:
16-10-2006, 10:57 PM
18-10-2006, 04:02 PM
So I love it when this happens...
http://s112.photobucket.com/albums/n174/poshBecks/?action=view¤t=IMGP1353.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch1
Too cute i reckon.. much cuter than a sposie sticking out!! :p
Btw... must get one of those t's fpr Ella! :D
19-10-2006, 02:48 PM
So pretty! A keeper. :yes:
ikis84
19-10-2006, 05:59 PM
Poshbecks... that is too cute!!
Percy
24-10-2006, 05:26 PM
I had to share this piccie.
Its a starbunz from natures cradle.
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m272/katiegibbons/100_1277.jpg
mum2elouise
24-10-2006, 05:41 PM
Alright, you've inspired me to share some pics, too:D Here is Elouise is her Starbunz:
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/mum2elouise/Showingmummyhowyoucancrawlinyournew.jpg
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/mum2elouise/Showingmummyhowyoucancrawlinyour-1.jpg
24-10-2006, 05:45 PM
Alright, you've inspired me to share some pics, too:D Here is Elouise is her Starbunz:
Your links don't work;)
mum2elouise
24-10-2006, 05:46 PM
I know - hang on a minute:o I'm editing it now...:o
mum2elouise
24-10-2006, 05:48 PM
Should be fine now:thumbsup:
24-10-2006, 05:52 PM
With everyone showing off their Starbunz nappies - it is making me impatient waiting for mine to be shipped;)
Funkychicken
24-10-2006, 06:42 PM
They are fantastic nappies! I have to go and have a look at those two companies now. :smiliedance:
24-10-2006, 10:02 PM
Are they good nappies? They look so adorable!
Beautiful models - Jake and Elouise!
31-10-2006, 11:51 AM
Very cute Rach ! :yes:
I finally recieved my first woolen shorties this morning from Angel Blossom :yelclap: okay so they aren't quite shorties at the moment more like pants and they smell so yummy. They've been lanolised with lavender.
Aloha Angel Peasant Smock And Shorties Set (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/o_AlohaAngelfullsetTHEONE.jpg)
Dakota modelling the shorties (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/angelblossoms001.jpg)
and again.. (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/angelblossoms007.jpg)
and these frilly shorts are on the way. Which cost me an arm and a leg :rolleyes: DH doesn't know yet :o
Front (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/o_Frilly-Delightful.jpg)
Back (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/o_Frilly-delightful-back.jpg)
mum2elouise
31-10-2006, 01:13 PM
Beautiful models - Jake and Elouise!
Very cute Rach !
Thanks ladies!:D BTW, KarniF00l, your little girl is gorgeous!:yes: And i love those gorgeous pants she's modelling, too!:D
stellaj
31-10-2006, 01:15 PM
Ahhhhhh Loz, wool is so beautiful. It has alot of stretch so should last a long time. She looks gorgeous!
31-10-2006, 02:00 PM
Thanks Rach and Mel. :)
I'm going to be really honest here. I never liked wool before today. I use to dread it when my nan knitted things for DS1 because for some silly reason i didn't like the feel and look of it at all. I was so closed minded to it all and told her to stop knitting because i didn't like them :o i feel awful for that now because she spent all that time knitting for no reason and well she's not around anymore for me to tell her that. I wish i could go back a year and say thank-you but i can't.
Dakota is my first baby to be in cloth, yes i know sad isn't it because she's my forth child but i never knew about MCN and how easy (and addictive) it is compared to terry flats. Majority of my (dakota's) nappies that i bought have PUL so i didnt need to use covers but so many people raved on and on about wool soakers so i thought i would give it a go. Now, this is where i think i messed up with BBB's. I sold them because the covers i was using weren't working but now that i have some wool soakers i think it might just do the trick. I can't believe how breathe-able wool is :yelclap:
Sorry to go on a little, i'm off to order more BBB's.. shhh don't tell DH.
MotherOfPearl
31-10-2006, 02:15 PM
I finally recieved my first woolen shorties this morning from Angel Blossom
Wow Lauren, I had seen these- they are gorgeous,
so's Dakota!
mum2elouise
31-10-2006, 04:50 PM
Here is one of Elouise in her Rainbow Batik GK :thumbsup: I love that one - so bright and colourful! It always cheers me up when i change her into that one:D
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/mum2elouise/Cloth%20Elouise/InhernewGKrainbownappy.jpg
31-10-2006, 06:44 PM
Gorgeous Lauren! I swear by wool! Is that BFL yarn? I am yet to knit with that. I have a couple of balls- so exciting!Yep expensive too :yes:
Elouise is beautiful - love the look and nappy!
31-10-2006, 08:01 PM
aww too cute Rach! I was never sure about getting the Rainbow Batik GK funtimes but now i'm kicking myself seeing how cute it is on Elouise.
Gorgeous Lauren! I swear by wool! Is that BFL yarn? I am yet to knit with that. I have a couple of balls- so exciting!Yep expensive too
Thank-you :) Yeah the angel blossom aloha shorties are a hand-dyed Blue-faced Leicester/Alpaca blend wool and the one i have coming is hand dyed Aran Blue Faced Leicester wool from the UK. so yeah, whatever that means :confused: :o All i know is that it's burnt a hole in DH's wallet which he is still yet to know or maybe even find out about :devil6:
I am getting that Rainbow Batik one with my next order when the new prints come out :thumbsup:
Here is one of Elouise in her Rainbow Batik GK :thumbsup: I love that one - so bright and colourful! It always cheers me up when i change her into that one:D
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/mum2elouise/Cloth%20Elouise/InhernewGKrainbownappy.jpg
soooooo cute!!!
31-10-2006, 08:09 PM
I am getting that Rainbow Batik one with my next order when the new prints come out :thumbsup:
They don't have them anymore :no:
stellaj
31-10-2006, 09:10 PM
I'm going to be really honest here. I never liked wool before today. I use to dread it when my nan knitted things for DS1 because for some silly reason i didn't like the feel and look of it at all. I was so closed minded to it all and told her to stop knitting because i didn't like them :o i feel awful for that now because she spent all that time knitting for no reason and well she's not around anymore for me to tell her that. I wish i could go back a year and say thank-you but i can't.
I'm sure she knows now, don't be sad I'm sure she was very proud of you and your kids. :hugs:
01-11-2006, 12:15 AM
I am going to knit with my new BFL tomorrow! I have yellow 8ply and blue Aran. I have come close to perfecting my pattern so its exciting.
stellaj
01-11-2006, 08:51 PM
good for you Kymmy, show us some pics
01-11-2006, 09:17 PM
I am knitting wth some BFL now. But if you want pics you can have a look here at my blog or http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/KnitNap
I want to put up more but this puter doesn't like these things!
02-11-2006, 09:26 AM
I'm finding all this talk about wool interesting- I still don't quite 'get' how it does the job, but I am soo taken by the patterns, colours and especially the frills on the ones you have ordered, Lauren!! I'm not really keen on my covers with the BBB's either...
And Kymmy, you are one talanted lady by the looks of things, I can't knit to save my life!
Mel- What knitting know-how website was it that you were talking about ages ago?
02-11-2006, 09:42 AM
Thankyou for saying I am talented and saying I am a lady!:o :laughing: :D
Wool is amazing. I thought it strange at first that you put wool over a nappy. I love knitting for babies and ppl would complain they don't like knitteds cos you have to handwash it so it was weird to me that you would make a nappy cover from it! But then I researched and found that once lanolised it neutralises smells and also soaks up the moisture while also breathing. Not unlike a sheep in the rain. So just airing the cover out is easy.
There is some good knit sites. There is one that has videos. Sorry can't remember the name. Knitty is good too - great patterns and instructions.
02-11-2006, 09:43 AM
I'm finding all this talk about wool interesting- I still don't quite 'get' how it does the job, but I am soo taken by the patterns, colours and especially the frills on the ones you have ordered, Lauren!! I'm not really keen on my covers with the BBB's either...
I think wool is the goer em :yes: I too struggled with BBB's and now i'm kicking myself for selling them but that also gives me the excuse to order more. Lanolised wool soakers is the best cover you can get especially for over night usage, i think majority of the clothie ladies can swear by it. Also the good thing about wool is that you don't have to wash it every day just aslong as you air them out every 2 or so changes.
Woo.. half way through typing this post the delivery man came! I have finally recieved my orders from Cherubs Kiss :smiliedance: I'm off to do some washing :D
02-11-2006, 10:11 AM
kymmy - my gosh you are so talented. Do you make them with adjustable waist bands ?
stellarella
02-11-2006, 10:15 AM
I was super suss on the wool thing too...I just could not picture how it would work! But it does! DS has been in BBB's and wool for 5 nights now and no leaks, he feels dry by morning (13 hrs). I love wool and im never looking back! Plus it looks so damn cute...
02-11-2006, 10:16 AM
I have finally recieved my orders from Cherubs Kiss :smiliedance: I'm off to do some washing :D
Isn't the nappy gorgeous:thumbsup:
02-11-2006, 10:20 AM
kymmy - my gosh you are so talented. Do you make them with adjustable waist bands ?
I want to get some adjustable elastic. Angel Blossom use that as you would know! I usually don't use elastic as I do a stretchy waistband but it depends on the yarn - some stretches out of shape easily (eg. merino and mohair)
02-11-2006, 10:27 AM
Isn't the nappy gorgeous:thumbsup:
Yes ! I didn't want to put them in the wash, i just wanted to look at them all morning :o :laughing: They are so so soft aswell.
Has anyone seen wool soakers like the ellybelly babywear (ozebaby) one's but with BFL yarn ?
Funkychicken
02-11-2006, 10:40 AM
Oohhh, kym, is it your bubba's birthday today????
If so happybirthday to your little man! :smiliedance:
mum2elouise
02-11-2006, 12:54 PM
Oohhh, kym, is it your bubba's birthday today????
If so happybirthday to your little man! :smiliedance:
I was going to ask the same thing... Happy Birthday!!:smiliedance: :thumbsup:
Lirael
02-11-2006, 12:58 PM
Woo.. half way through typing this post the delivery man came! I have finally recieved my orders from Cherubs Kiss :smiliedance: I'm off to do some washing :D
ooh!! what did you get?? mine came the day after I ordered but im in QLD:D I got 7 raphaels:smiliedance:
02-11-2006, 01:02 PM
ooh!! what did you get?? mine came the day after I ordered but im in QLD:D I got 7 raphaels:smiliedance:
I live in QLD too but had to wait:(
Lirael
02-11-2006, 01:05 PM
I live in QLD too but had to wait:(
oh that sucks!! I was really surpised actually, I didnt realise they are in bris
02-11-2006, 01:18 PM
Oh i've been waiting a fair while for mine.
I got 3 Honey Boys. 1 Pink fleece with ballerina inner and matching booster , 1 berry fleece with butterfly inner and matching booster and 1 cherry with handprint inner and matching booster.
i also got 1 butterfly raphael with a booster and also 4 deluxe boosters.
What raphaels do you have cel ?
I'll take a pic of my whole stash once i've done washing and drying them.
Lirael
02-11-2006, 01:22 PM
I got a leopard and a coffee cat for DD
I also got 5 newborns, 1 zoo animals, 2 animals, a baby and a toys
Ill post some pics in a bit:D
they are sooooooo gorgeous!! (abd the new borns are tiny:p)
02-11-2006, 01:55 PM
Has anyone seen wool soakers like the ellybelly babywear (ozebaby) one's but with BFL yarn ?
No I will have to have a look. I like her soakers though - usually pretty. I would like to knit for a girl!
I just bought some adjustable elastic! And stitch markers. So I can't hyena anything but I can knit with nice things!. And I am looking forward to a soaker swap so I can actually have a soaker that someone else knitted.
All this talk of soft and cute nappies! I want one but I am trying not to buy any nappies for a litle while and I am being good. I buy wool instead cos surely Av needs more woolies :o :laughing:
:yes: Av is one today! He is still my baby but where has the time gone?!
:confused:
02-11-2006, 02:00 PM
ooo.. Happy Birthday Av !! happybirthday Time surely does fly by, it won't be long before he's in school :eek:
Oh i so wish i could knit then i would do a swapsie with you kymmy but i just don't have the patience with that kinda thing :o
02-11-2006, 04:33 PM
Can't knit but you can hyena! ;)
Don't scare me - Av in school? Oh my! My boy will be going to kinder next year :eek:
stellaj
02-11-2006, 06:26 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY BIG BOY AV!happybirthday
em- the site was www.knittinghelp.com
I got my Itti Bitti AIO today, it's gorgeous although i don;t know why i ordered a large, it won't fit for awhile.
02-11-2006, 08:25 PM
Can't knit but you can hyena! ;)
Oooer is that an offer ? ;)
Okay so i've taken pics of my stash. Probably not as great as most of you lovely ladies but ehh.. i'm still a n00b.
Stash 1 (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/stash002.jpg) - We have Green Kids (anytimes, funtimes and 1 dreamytime), Honey Boys, Raphael, Bits for Bots, Nappies Covered and a Sandra Stuffable.
Stash 2 (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/stash001.jpg) - SwaddleBee's, Fuzzi Bunz, Pea Pods, Nic Naps, Baby Bloomers, Peace Pockets, Very Baby and a Fruit salad.
Complete Stash! (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/stash005.jpg)
My 3 new GK's funtime prints are already on their merry way :yelclap: Did anyone else get the same email today ?
stellaj
02-11-2006, 09:36 PM
Loz, nice stash! Do you just have one in nappies?
02-11-2006, 09:43 PM
Thanks Mel. Yeah just the one thank godness.. i would be going nuts if there was another. Imagine all the nappies :eek:
02-11-2006, 09:51 PM
Okay so i've taken pics of my stash. Probably not as great as most of you lovely ladies but ehh.. i'm still a n00b.
How many stuffers and boosters do you have????? I have been using cloth for just over 20 months and omg you have waaaay more than me in nappies:p
02-11-2006, 10:00 PM
OM all of the nappies you see there have got boosters/prefolds/hemp inserts ect ect in them.. so alot. Plus i have lots of spares. Maybe too many.
I'm selling the SwaddleBee's if you are interested and having a girl of course ;)
stellaj
02-11-2006, 10:03 PM
although Loz, more in nappies would equal more excuses to shop :D
02-11-2006, 10:04 PM
:no: the excuses are wearing very very thin with DH.
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.