View Full Version : What type of car?

Amanda06
10-09-2006, 12:42
Just wondering what type of car families have?

Also wondering what people think of Kia Carnivals? Are they good to travel in?
Can you fit alot in the boot area or does the back seat use up alot of the space?

We are looking to upgrade at some point. We are looking for the 3 rows of seats, but also having enough space for prams and porta cots.

Any help would be great
Amanda

FourAngelKisses
10-09-2006, 12:56
We currently have a Magna staionwagon and will be getting another seat put in the boot in a few months to accomodate the baby. I would love to upsize to a Kia Carnival, but it isn't an option at the moment due to cost.

From what I have seen, there is a fair bit of space in the boot, but I could be wrong. Hopefully someone has one and can shed some more light on this for you.

Will be watching this thread with great interest.

10-09-2006, 12:58
Hi Amanda,

we have a Honda Odyssey as a family car. I can't rave and rant about them enough.. the car is a member of our family :laughing:

Here's a site if you want to have a squiz http://www.honda.com.au/wps/wcm/connect/Honda.com.au/Home/Showroom/Odyssey/

FourAngelKisses
10-09-2006, 13:01
Nice!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: @ the price though. Yikes......

10-09-2006, 13:14
They are pricey, but really worth it if you can justify that kinda money. Especially if you have 3 littlies still in car seats/boosters ect.. The car is fantastic for long drives and comfortable to drive and it'll be great for when the children grow into their teens. So many well worth features in it. As i said, i can't rave and rant enough about them.

Anyway goodluck with your decision Amanda !! :D

JATS
11-09-2006, 06:46
Subaru are releasing their 7 seater in Aus soon! *YAY* We're planning on getting one soonish ;)

At the moment we have a 2002 Subaru outback, it's the absolute BEST car! :D

Karizma
11-09-2006, 06:59
We have a Jeep Cherrokee. It has a huge boot for prams and all the shopping, Very Luxurious to drive and travel in. And heaps of leg room and space for pillows toys etc......
Dont know what a kia carnival is like though. :D

ada
12-09-2006, 07:58
Hi there ... we have a Mazda MPV its a seven seater and fantastic you can fit 7 adult sized people in it comfortably even the ones in back at the moment we have taken out one seat in the back for more room for prams shopping what not, but have a big booster and car seat next to each other and there is still enought room for someone to sit amongst both seats.also all the seats at back have anchorage points so car seat can go where you want, which is something we with big families have to consider not all people movers have anchorage points for all seats. .... and its economical on petrol and one of the best when looking at fuel according to racv.
hope that helps cheers
ada

FourAngelKisses
12-09-2006, 08:10
I've always wondered about the MPV...thanks!!

stellarella
12-09-2006, 08:17
We have a Toyota Prado. Its a big 4WD, we only have it because we are driving to the NT to live in 6 months.

Its nice and spacious and feels really safe but is more expensive on petrol compared to my last car, Toyota Corolla LOL. It holds 8 people.

I think it compares pretty well in fuel effiency to most large cars. Its about 12L per 100kms.

subaruforestermum
12-09-2006, 08:26
Subaru Foresters were voted as the safest second hand family car this year......

We have a 1999 Subaru Forester GT.....hmmm somewhat of a family car, is turbo'd though, which is more for me...lol....but they are great to drive, plenty of room....subaru's full stop are great cars...

Its an AWD, so very safe driving.......

desync
12-09-2006, 08:28
Toyota Tarago. :D

http://tarago.toyota.com.au/

My mother has one of 'ems, and I drive it quite a bit. Very nice to drive. The VVT-i is muchos nice. Very spacious vehicle (but it does take alot of adjusting to just how big it is, road/lane wise). Pretty good fuel consumption. Common car means cheaper services+parts. Great for long distance travelling. (although, the few times I've been in the very back seat I've noticed strange harmonics. But I'm prone to carsickness. :( )

Pretty darn expensive though.

LittleBoysRock
12-09-2006, 10:02
We have a toyota Camary....I would LOVE a territory though!

Mamaduke
12-09-2006, 12:01
I test drove the Kia Carnival a while ago and they are absolutely gutless...well that model was anyway. I was driving the automatic and it would struggle searching for the right gear and was constantly revving like a Learner driver sitting on the clutch. The interior is spacious but seemed very cheap - plastic throughout, which I know is the interior of all cars these days, but with the rough and tumble of children, it wouldn't last too long.
We ended up getting a Toyota Kluger with the extra 2 seats which fold flat to the floor when not in use. The fuel consumption is at 10.5 per 100km.
I am absolutely in love with this car and we're now thinking of taking advantage of Toyota's 4.9% fixed interest rate on Klugers at the moment.
Here's the website if you want to have a look...Toyota Kluger (http://kluger.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePage/0,4666,1830_644,00.html)
We have the CVX model with the leather interior which is great for spills.

:smiliedance: Oh what a feeling!:smiliedance:

Aquamarine
12-09-2006, 12:16
We just upgraded our old Toyota Tarago for a newer model.
We just traded the old one for a 2003 Toyota Tarago, Dark Blue in colour.

We were considering getting a brand new Kia Carnival or Grande but we decided to stick with the Tarago as we knew they were more reliable.

A friend of my dad's works for Kia and he said they do have a few mechanical faults. But then again my dad works for BMW and he says the same thing about them.

RuthK
25-09-2006, 12:33
Can anyone recommend one of the slightly older Honda Odyssey's? A friend has last year's model, which is gorgeous, but out of our price range. But if one of the slightly older models are still as good, we'd be happy to go for one of those when No.4 comes along.

CJJHRA
25-09-2006, 17:33
We used to have a 96 tarago.. loved it, the turning circle was great, VERY easy to park and drive! Felt solid, and safe to drive. Unlike the KIA we test drove too!

But coz we have so many boys and they love to go camping and stuff... we now have a Landcruiser 100 series, its such a pain in the A to park, so much wider than the tarago (it was little in comparrison LOL) and theres not too much space for storage either, it sucks, but its ok too, as we dont have prams anymore, but have roof racks for camping stuff anyway. WE took a parado for a test, but that was squisher, but easier to park cause its not quite as wide and that few cm makes a big difference I felt.

go the toyotas!!! very reliable cars.. had our tarago for about 3 years, never had to spend a cent on it (well the usual tune up and tyres, and that was all)

25-09-2006, 22:32
we've got a chrysler grand voyager, its brilliant. We test drove kia's and taragos and felt that chryslers won out votes hands down. Its a LE with LWB so LOTS more boot space than kias and taragos... which we REALLY needed for our monster truck pram. I dont think we could have managed with any other car and 4 kids so close in age, and we've had it full of adults too and it comfortably seats 7 adults! We have the two girls in the back in capsule and maxirider and me (who is not a petite girl lol) can sit between the two comfortably when i need to feed sav in her capsule as we drive :D

cjb/jbvd
26-09-2006, 06:15
when i have to upgrade, i'll probably go a 4 door ute. then i won't have to worry about boot space.......................

indigoin0z
26-09-2006, 06:41
okay, hijack warning here...:eek:

so what do the poor people with 4 kids buy?

we are on less than $25,000 per year!

we were lucky enough to find a gorgeous mitsubishi magna 2 years ago, faaaaantastic...
dont want to get rid of her, but likely may not have choice...
so what do we buy?...

suggestions pleez girlz...
i have asked hubby for a clydesdale & cart [given where we live] but renting a house doesnt really allow for a stable in the backyard:rolleyes:

RuthK
26-09-2006, 07:32
The crazy thing is I thought to myself, if we get twins for next time around (nos 4 & 5) we'll get $8000 baby bonus and that will help to buy a much better car. Isn't that sad!

FourAngelKisses
26-09-2006, 08:28
okay, hijack warning here...:eek:

so what do the poor people with 4 kids buy?

we are on less than $25,000 per year!

we were lucky enough to find a gorgeous mitsubishi magna 2 years ago, faaaaantastic...
dont want to get rid of her, but likely may not have choice...
so what do we buy?...

suggestions pleez girlz...
i have asked hubby for a clydesdale & cart [given where we live] but renting a house doesnt really allow for a stable in the backyard:rolleyes:

We have a magna stationwagon and we are looking at getting a seat put in the boot. Will have no space at all for a pram and groceries etc, so hopefully we could sell it not long after.

Bouncy1
26-09-2006, 13:06
I have four kids. I drive a '95 Tarago. Love it. We used to have to travel fortnightly to our Capital City (4hr drive each way). We could pack it full of what we needed for our family of six, including a full on pegperego twin walking pram, two portacots, all necessary clothing etc - no no one was squashed.

Apparently the newer models of tarago are smaller though.

I like that it only has the one sliding door at t he back, the kids cannot accidently get out on the road, it is on the footpath side.

We still regularly travel (but not quite as often) it is petrol friendly (we can do one way trip and drive around t he city for 3 or so days on less than a tank)

Mamaduke
26-09-2006, 13:18
I like that it only has the one sliding door at t he back, the kids cannot accidently get out on the road, it is on the footpath side.

I love the fact (being a person who parks next to Taragos) that the kids aren't going to open the door onto my car! :o

26-09-2006, 13:57
I like the chrysler having the two sliding doors on each side, with 3 carseats in the back its much easier being able to access them from both sides of the cars and with child locks on none of the kids can get out without us... plus they know how much trouble they'd be if they even thought about it lol

ThomasMum
26-09-2006, 14:32
We've just sold our 2.5 years old Golf Sport and bought another VW, a Jetta with diesel.

Not bad esp for petrol wise

TM

angelickaren
26-09-2006, 14:58
hi we have a chrysler grand voyager,and its great i love it, has great space we too test drove a kai carvinal and it was gutless compared to our voyager a bit sad our car is in for repair as we bought it second hand and they didnt fix it before the warranty was up bad:shame: car dealer so we are getting it fixed now it will take a couple of days :gloomy: and we are driving our inlaws falcon sedan and oh my good the pushers just fits in the boot and for getting everyone in they are so squshed. bring on thursday my car our 4 baby will be back home

mummyof5
26-09-2006, 15:57
With my brood, we have had a wagon with a seat in the boot and then we had an 8 seater MItsubishi starwagon. It was only a 2 litre, not a 2.4, so was a bit gutless, but so easy to drive...
We stayed with the Mitsubishi thing, as I know lots of people with Tarago's and I found them way too squashy in the back. We needed an eight seater too, so 7's were out, and we preferred a 4 wd because we are on small acerage, so we bought a Mitsubishi Delica, which is basically a current shape starwagon, but 4 wd. I love it. It is a turbo diesel, so while not cheap to fill, I get better economy in it, than I did in the old starwagon!! Also it has split folding rear seats, and 3 anchor pionts for car seats, 2 in very back, and one in the middle seat on the drivers side. As they are not sold here from new, they are a japanese import, but are not mega expensive, around the $15,000 to $20,000 mark for a 1997/98 model, up to close to $27,000 for a 2003 model (or so I have seen). They also come in a long wheel base with captains chairs, or normal wheel base with either the 8 seats or captains chairs ( 7 seats).
I wouldn't trade it for anything (exept maybe a newer one:D :D )....

FOURtunate
26-09-2006, 20:19
We have a Toyota Avensis 2004.

If price were an issue (and it once was), I'd go for a secondhand Mitsubishi Nimbus.

*Sparkles*
26-09-2006, 20:30
We used to have a Landrover Discovery 4WD. It was a diesel and the fuel economy was excellent. However, it was too big for me to handle so we downsized last Xmas to a Toyota Kluger which I love to drive but it is more thirsty. Mamaduke (a fellow Kluger driver :thumbsup: ) has already posted the website link. We got the CV sport which came with spoiler, alloys and a few other extras. It also has the extra 2 seats in the boot that fold flat to the floor. We haven't used them yet!

One other thing to consider (anyone who is thinking of changing their car) is the colour. Our last 4WD was dark blue. It always looked dirty and we were constantly washing it, this is difficult now as a lot of States have water restrictions.
The Kluger is silver which is a fantastic colour as it doesn't show the dirt. :D

FourAngelKisses
27-09-2006, 06:55
The Kluger is silver which is a fantastic colour as it doesn't show the dirt. :D

Yep, I agree. Our car is silver and hasn't been washed in about 2yrs. You can't tell either except for the dirt on the back window, lol.

*Sparkles*
27-09-2006, 11:30
Yep, I agree. Our car is silver and hasn't been washed in about 2yrs. You can't tell either except for the dirt on the back window, lol.

PMSL @ 2 Years!! :eek: OMG I thought we were slack! :laughing: ;)

FourAngelKisses
27-09-2006, 16:25
:laughing: I keep meaning to take it to one of those DIY car wash places, but our closest one is 45km away and I always forget until I get home.

codswallop
27-09-2006, 17:15
my mumsy has a kia and i have to say its not bad.
though i havnt had the bub in there yet we manage to fit our whole family in it when we go out to geather (my mother, two large (6ft+) brothers my hubby and self plus eskys and things and its not to squashy at all

A Party of Five
28-09-2006, 12:22
so what do the poor people with 4 kids buy? we are on less than $25,000 per year

My DH is a Carsalesman and he said that a Mitsubishi Starwagon would be to best thing for you. Can pick one up for about $16,000. If you are in Tassie he will help you out. If not try these websites.
Goodluck:thumbsup:

www.carsales.com.au (http://www.carsales.com.au)
www.carsguide.com.au (http://www.carsguide.com.au)
www.drive.com.au (http://www.drive.com.au)
www.autoweb.com.au (http://www.autoweb.com.au)
www.tradingpost.com.au

FourAngelKisses
28-09-2006, 12:45
My DH is a Carsalesman and he said that a Mitsubishi Starwagon would be to best thing for you. Can pick one up for about $16,000. If you are in Tassie he will help you out. If not try these websites.
Goodluck:thumbsup:

www.carsales.com.au (http://www.carsales.com.au)
www.carsguide.com.au (http://www.carsguide.com.au)
www.drive.com.au (http://www.drive.com.au)
www.autoweb.com.au (http://www.autoweb.com.au)
www.tradingpost.com.au

Also try www.countrycars.com.au, I believe they cover some of QLD, all of NSW and all of VIC.

wiccawife
14-11-2006, 15:25
I thought the same thing, twins will put us at 6 and 7. So $8000 towards a Hiace would make a world of difference. Does anybody have any suggestions for a 10+ seater other than the Hiace?

FourAngelKisses
14-11-2006, 15:28
Mini bus?

tommylu
17-11-2006, 12:19
I have 4 kids and we had to upgrade to a ppl mover recently,we had a ford stationwagon with the 2 extra seats in the back but my boys were getting too big for them so we decided to get a Chrysler Grand Voyager,I LOVE MY NEW CAR !!lol. It seats 7 adults its sooo easy to drive and very very comfortable inside with plenty of room for everyone and everything.
Now all we need is a bigger house !!

RuthK
23-11-2006, 07:14
We just got a new Toyota Avensis (ended up being cheaper than getting 1 a few years old) and it's wonderful! It had plenty of room, doesn't look liike a people mover, just a big car and it's very comfy. Recently moved house and the amount of boot space was amazing. We also got a roof rack, and back sensors which are almost essential, as you can't see below about 4 feet high at the back.

mumtofour
23-11-2006, 09:30
We currently have a Magna staionwagon and will be getting another seat put in the boot in a few months to accomodate the baby.

We have a 2000 ford falcon wagon that we have just put the third row seat in the boot...In july we are hoping to get a new car - hopefully a 2002 Nissan Patrol ST...:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
23-11-2006, 09:41
We have a 2000 ford falcon wagon that we have just put the third row seat in the boot...In july we are hoping to get a new car - hopefully a 2002 Nissan Patrol ST...:thumbsup:

We will have to buy a new car altogether in a year or so....the dic kie seats in the magnas only hold up to 26kg. :banghead:

Roopee
23-11-2006, 09:55
We have a pretty new Landcruiser. While its not cheap to fill the ecomony is decent. BUT they are HUGE. Hard to park in most shopping centres due to smaller parks etc:thumbsdown:
We have alot of fun in it though- we take it on the beach fishing, swimming etc and i must say i love it.

We got one with the leather interior so we can easily mop up any spills etc.:thumbsup:

BlessedWithBlue
01-12-2006, 13:33
Thanks for starting this thread!! we are looking for a 7 seater this weekend, we have already taken a Hyundai Trajet for a test drive and i found it very easy to drive. Smooth and easy to park too with a decent amount of boot space and roomy inside:thumbsup:
The Hyundai for us at the moment is the front runner. The only problem is there isn't many around Adelaide so we will have to be quick in buying since the one we test drove is already gone:eek:

We have yet to test drive a Kia Carnival which we will be doing this weekend and i guess seeing what we can actually find that suits us.

Chicco25
01-12-2006, 14:59
I have the new Jeep Commander Grand which has the 7 seats. It's excellent to drive, very fuel efficient being a diesel,more than enough boot space and has 3 anchor points. I have both my kids in booster seats and will be able to comfortably fit the baby seat between the two.

Worthy Investment if your able to spend the money

Anita

vikki a
01-12-2006, 22:01
Hi, I drive a chrysler grand voyager SE (1998).... And i love it! It has heaps of boot space, i can fit my jeep tandam pram in, and a stroller,and theres still room! Also the two sliding doors are great, to get the little ones out. And my two long leg children have heaps of room in the back..

Moorish
05-12-2006, 16:43
I'm surprised that noone has mentioned a HOLDEN ZAFIRA (http://autoweb.drive.com.au/cms/A_55633/newsarticle.html) yet. We have a 2003 Zafira TT Equipe and it's a 7 seater people mover. Size wise it's between a SUV like a Ford Terratory and a Kia Carnival but WAY better than the carnival. We looked at those too and I thought they were rubbishy and plastic. Fabric and overall finishings weren't a very good quality.

Unfortunately we're just about to sell our beloved Zafira because our eldest will still only be 5 when baby #4 is born and she's only petite so will need to remain in her booster seat and H-harness, meaning she cannot sit in the far back seat as it doesn't have an anchor point. (Although we've had it checked and it is possible to install one but it's time for a change we thinks!) At the moment we fit along the back seat a normal Safe'n'Sound birth - 4 years car seat, a single bottom booster seat and a Safe'n'Sound Maxi Rider car seat, quite fine.
Our next purchase will be either a TOYOTA AVENSIS (http://avensis.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePage/0,4666,2281_802,00.html) or perhaps even a Honda Odyssey but by no means are we Tarago people! (To tempting to actually fill it! :D ) But who knows what we'll end up getting!

Ladies I've just discovered an AWESOME site that has a good run down on most of the people movers mentioned here.
CHECK IT OUT HERE (http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=8806&vf=1)
Amazing what you can find in google! Hope it helps!

FourAngelKisses
05-12-2006, 16:47
I liked the look of the Zafiras when they first came out. How do they go for leg room and boot space though?

I've noticed they don't make them anymore though? Can't have been too popular.

Aquamarine
05-12-2006, 16:50
We have a 2003 toyota tarago.

We were going to purchase a new kia carnival but had heard that they don't have as much power and are a little dodgy.

My dad's mate works at kia and said they have all sorts of problems. Then again, my dad works for BMW and says the same thing!

We purchased ours a few months back and are really happy with it.

So my advice would be get a used tarago rather than a new kia.

Good luck with what you choose!

Me (31)
DH (31)
DS (4)
DS (3)
DS (11 weeks)

Lila
05-12-2006, 16:55
hi girls,
well i LOVE LOVE LOVE my kia!
it is good value for money!
we drive back and forth from NSW to VIC (1000 kīs one way) and it is still working, the engine hasnīt blown ect....:laughing:
i think for under 30k getting a 7 seater with all extras, like dvd, air, tinting, central locking, :ecomcity: and mechanicly stable (at least my carnival is) - is quite good!!!

yes, it is not a volvo, nor a BMW or a LeXUS , but hey for that money...it is GREAT :D

A Party of Five
05-12-2006, 17:08
:thumbsup: We have a 2004 Toyota Tarago GLX, with eight seat's and it has heaps of room. It's great to drive and very easy to park too. Right now we have Ben in the middle but when the twins come he will move into the back with the older two. And my twin Adventure Buggy fits easily in the back too!

sugar n spice
05-12-2006, 17:17
we have a mitsubishi magna tj 2001 model

i love my car

SairBear
05-12-2006, 21:58
woohooo go the magna!!!! i have a magna wagon too!

ive been researching 7 seaters for ages and my faves are:

honda odessey
mitsubishi grandis
suzuki grand vitara 7 seater

they would be my choices:thumbsup: if i was to win lotto!:laughing:

my 98 wagon is my baby... ill be keeping her till DDs old enough to drive !

FourAngelKisses
06-12-2006, 05:42

i love my car

We have a TJ 2002 model, love it!! It will be mighty cramped next year once we change it from a 5 seater to an 8 seater though, argh!!!

Moorish
08-12-2006, 11:29
I liked the look of the Zafiras when they first came out. How do they go for leg room and boot space though?

I've noticed they don't make them anymore though? Can't have been too popular.

Leg room fine. In the back probably better for a younger family - couldn't put teenagers in the boot seats! Nice and powerful engine, drives like a CAR not a truck which I really like.

They're a European car so they're imported to Australia and Holden put their touches and badges on them so possibly it's just too expensive to keep doing now there's more cars like this on the market? When they brought out my version (an 03 TT Equip) they only released 300 in Australia and they've been popular ever since, but back then you didn't have many 7 seater people movers to choose from - now there's lots of competition.
We had 2 of these at one stage (long story) and we bought both of ours from Melb (coz they were so hard to get in Tas) and we ended up selling one here in Tas. We had SO many calls for it and ended up selling it for more than we paid for it!
I'd love to keep ours but there are bigger ones out there.

Can't wait! Next week when DH is on leave, we're going car test driving!

Did you all see the link I posted earlier on the people movers? Here it is again - PEOPLE MOVER ARTICLE (http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=8806&vf=1) We're going to test drive all of them if we can and I mean the whole hog. Car seats, prams everthing!

Mrs J
10-12-2006, 19:51
My mum and dad have a Hyundai Terracan turbo Diesel 2005 model. It is a 7 seater and its brillant great on fuel. It has heaps of room it fits my bertini shuttle in it perfect still with room for the shopping we also go with my parents and my husband and as well as the car seat all fit in the back without using the boot seats. It is like driving a car u wouldnt know u were driving a 4x4. Its easy to park and goes great on the beach.. We have owned well should i say they have owned 3 Hyundai's and they are a good car. My first car was a Hyundai Getz what a great little car. I had to sell it though when i got preg with bub we now have a 2005 Falcon and there good to the Gas is so much cheaper to run. I deff reccomend any Hyundai .... :thumbsup:

Thanks for starting this thread!! we are looking for a 7 seater this weekend, we have already taken a Hyundai Trajet for a test drive and i found it very easy to drive. Smooth and easy to park too with a decent amount of boot space and roomy inside:thumbsup:
The Hyundai for us at the moment is the front runner. The only problem is there isn't many around Adelaide so we will have to be quick in buying since the one we test drove is already gone:eek:

We have yet to test drive a Kia Carnival which we will be doing this weekend and i guess seeing what we can actually find that suits us.

1princess2princes
29-12-2006, 21:43
we have a ford territory and love it! Seats 7 adults and the third row of seats fold completly flat for when i do the grocerys i thinkg i am converted for life

SorenLorensen
02-01-2007, 17:01
we just got rid of our magna (not sporty enough acording to DP) we now have a subaru liberty wagon and my god i thought the magna was good, but this has more leg room at the back and also the pram fits in with so much more room let for my shopping :yes:
a friend of mine who had twins about 8 moths ago did alot of looking around for a car. the kia canaval (sp?) she said did not have enoght room in the back for het huge parm. the 2 that were perfect and not a huge amount of money were a sanggyong (SP?) van, or a mistubishi nimbus 2001 model. she chose the nimbus because the other car is not to common, just incase it broke down. she loves her car and after seeing what she can fit in the back i think she made the right choice

Moorish
10-01-2007, 11:12
Just to update you all - here's hoping our car (2003 Holden Zafira) sells today, an offer is being made tonight.

We have a deposit on a brand new Kia Grand Carnival and we were soooooo surprised at how big it is and how much of a great drive it was! For those with 4+ kids and REALLY need space in a car I'd highly recommend it! :thumbsup:

mlskiing
23-04-2007, 20:15
Can you tell me where you inquired about the rear (4th) anchor point for your Zafira? Twins due soon to add to our clan that already has 3 and 2 year old girls. Thanks

I'm surprised that noone has mentioned a HOLDEN ZAFIRA (http://autoweb.drive.com.au/cms/A_55633/newsarticle.html) yet. We have a 2003 Zafira TT Equipe and it's a 7 seater people mover. Size wise it's between a SUV like a Ford Terratory and a Kia Carnival but WAY better than the carnival. We looked at those too and I thought they were rubbishy and plastic. Fabric and overall finishings weren't a very good quality.

Unfortunately we're just about to sell our beloved Zafira because our eldest will still only be 5 when baby #4 is born and she's only petite so will need to remain in her booster seat and H-harness, meaning she cannot sit in the far back seat as it doesn't have an anchor point. (Although we've had it checked and it is possible to install one but it's time for a change we thinks!) At the moment we fit along the back seat a normal Safe'n'Sound birth - 4 years car seat, a single bottom booster seat and a Safe'n'Sound Maxi Rider car seat, quite fine.
Our next purchase will be either a TOYOTA AVENSIS (http://avensis.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePage/0,4666,2281_802,00.html) or perhaps even a Honda Odyssey but by no means are we Tarago people! (To tempting to actually fill it! :D ) But who knows what we'll end up getting!

Ladies I've just discovered an AWESOME site that has a good run down on most of the people movers mentioned here.
CHECK IT OUT HERE (http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=8806&vf=1)
Amazing what you can find in google! Hope it helps!

FourAngelKisses
23-04-2007, 20:55
Updated : we now have a 7 seater Magna.........LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

~rambox~
23-04-2007, 21:00
We have a 7 seater Holden Jackaroo :thumbsup:

indigoin0z
24-04-2007, 06:14

i love my car

we have one of those too!! great, hey!?:yes:

oops, DH has just reminded me ours is a 2000

dreamer80
25-04-2007, 11:48
Just butting in here…sorry. But just like to add my 2-cents.:D

Yes I don’t have a big family, only one little boy on the way and a DH…but I have just brought a 2007 Toyota Kulgur Grande AWD which could fit a small army of kids in it:laughing:…has 7 seats, DVD screen to entertain kids, very spacious interior, satellite navigation…never get lost again:laughing:, heaps of storage pockets and compartments to hide kids mess, leather interior so easy to wipe up mess…and best of easy lots of room in the back for prams, portacots etc.

Husband, has a 2005 BMW X5, which is also very large and has 5 standard seats, but personally too expensive for a “family” car :no: (he got it though salary package)

mumo5
26-04-2007, 08:00
Hi there ... we have a Mazda MPV its a seven seater and fantastic you can fit 7 adult sized people in it comfortably even the ones in back at the moment we have taken out one seat in the back for more room for prams shopping what not, but have a big booster and car seat next to each other and there is still enought room for someone to sit amongst both seats.also all the seats at back have anchorage points so car seat can go where you want, which is something we with big families have to consider not all people movers have anchorage points for all seats. .... and its economical on petrol and one of the best when looking at fuel according to racv.
hope that helps cheers
ada

I've got an mpv..I love it. I've never had a car that I didn't want to upgrade until this one.. I love it. We've had it for 4 years now and I still love it the same as when I first got it.

Although... I find there isn't much room in the boot. I had to buy an umbrella pram (for a new born but folds up like a stroller) just so I could easily fit it in the back. My friend had a 3 wheeler (which are quite big) and we had to quickly slam the door so it would stay in. And then there was no room left for anything else.

And being a v6 I do find it goes alright on fuel but not as good as a 4 cylendar. Good luck

rollercoastermum
01-05-2007, 19:16
We have a 1995 toyota spacia..
tis ok but now not big enough seeing that my step-son lives with us.
BUT I dont want to go the full hog an dup to a mini bus...So we have looked at star wagons as they are bigger than the spacias..
hoping we can get another belt put in.