View Full Version : Western suburbs of Melbourne Mums and Dads
TinyLittleTootsies
01-02-2011, 11:21
Chat for western parents.
Kadorite
02-02-2011, 13:34
I'm 23, a soon-to-be Mummy from Hoppers Crossing. I recently moved here but have lived in the west all my life. Hoping to meet Mummies in my area as I don't have many friends around here. There are two girls in my birth group that are from the West, I'll have to point them towards this thread :D
young_mummie07
02-02-2011, 22:07
hi ladies i am from sydenham have to gorgeous boys soon to be 4yrs old DS1 and DS2 4months old :) looking to meet or chat with other mummies in the area :)
HannahRose
03-02-2011, 09:59
I dont really know anyone in Melbourne, well anyone with Kids. Living in Airport West. have a daughter 23 months, and a baby due in June.
I love shopping, Movies, Netball, Talking, Cake decorating and getting to know people.
Have only been here a few months- moved from New Zealand at the end of 2010.
TinyLittleTootsies
03-02-2011, 11:33
sorry privacy
Kadorite
03-02-2011, 11:54
Yep I'm pretty lucky there's actually 4 western suburb mummies in my due date group but I've only met two of them IRL. One that I haven't met actually dropped off her old rocking chair at my house for me as she no longer wanted it :goodvibes: they're a great bunch of girls.
This weekend I have my baby shower :hyper: I'm super excited, some of the girls coming are old friends from high school that I haven't seen in nearly 6 years! I left school early and moved around a lot so I don't have many close friends. I'm looking forward to it! Then Sunday will be off to the Big W baby sale to pick up the few things we still need (more cot/bassinette sheets, medicines, digital thermometer and some other bits and pieces).
Alexander Beetle
03-02-2011, 12:11
Hey ladies I'm in Yarraville. I've only been a Westie for a month or so though. Before that I lived in Elwood (next to St Kilda) for 12yrs. I have one boy who is 2 and seems to have turned into a devilchild almost overnight lol.
Hi ladies! :wave:
So glad this thread has been started. It's been a while since i last logged on here.
A quick introduction.. I'm Anna. 27 year old stay at home mummy to 2 kids. My DD is 4 and my DS is 15 months. Living in Altona Meadows.
Would be great to get to know a few people from the area.
Hope everyone is well.
HannahRose
03-02-2011, 14:05
Hi HannahRose, welcome! Do you make the whole cake with your cake decorating?.....
What has everyone got planned for the weekend?
Hi MelbourneMummy,
Yeah I bake my cakes aswell, I really enjoy bothe the baking and decorating. If you have Facebook you can check out some of the cakes I have done for Family and Friends - http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cakes-by-Hannah-Rose/282699927946
As for the weekend, We are Car shopping, and hopefully going to see that movie Burlesque.
I also need to start thinking about baby gear, we left most of our stuff from number 1 in NZ, even tho ive done it before- its still quite daunting!!
HAn
FearlessLeader
03-02-2011, 14:19
hi guys, i am crashing your thread. :D we are probably moving west some time this year, most likely footscray/west footscray/kensington ( :fingerscrossed: if we can afford it!)
I might just stalk you guys and jump in if we move over your way *retreats into the shadows*
young_mummie07
04-02-2011, 22:50
hi ladies
i hope you are all safe during this shocking weather we are having :(
Kadorite: i hope u have a fantastic baby shower this weekend and u and bubs get spoiled :) do u know what u are having??
MelbourneMummy: How r u enjoying living in melbourne??
Yeah my lil man starts 4yr old kinder on monday :( my baby is growing up before i know it i will be getting him ready for primary school. I like to spend time with the kiddies don't get much me time only when they are asleep but i do enjoy going to markets and catching up with friends and their kiddies :)
HannahRose: Congrats on the new bubs do u know what ur having??that is great that u do cake decorating i have tried a few times suceeded and failed lol
How do u like living in airport west?
Hi Anna07 hope u and ur kids are doing well :)
TinyLittleTootsies
04-02-2011, 22:53
sorry privacy
TinyLittleTootsies
04-02-2011, 22:57
Lily of the Nile
05-02-2011, 00:06
Hi! :wave:
I randomly saw this thread just now in new posts! I'm one of the mums Kadorite met irl :D
I'm 32, have an 18month old boy and a baby girl due this month. I'm also married and have been with my partner for about 12 years, (married for 5) I live in West Footscray but grew up in Kingsville/Yarraville and my husband is from Flemington where I spent most of my time growing up to(school/friends/work/etc.) I was born in Footscray actually lol
Where do I hang out? Yarraville for coffees, breakfasts, dinners, shopping at Altona Gate and Highpoint, before I got too lazy to walk we went to Vic Market every sunday for fruit and veg (love that place) Williamstown ofcourse, that's it really. I rarely leave the west, everything is at my doorstep! All my family live here too, my parents still live in Kingsville and dh's parents in Flem and brothers and sisters are scattered around Sydenham/pascoe vale/ascot vale and so on.
I actually didn't think there were many from the west on bubhub, but this is suprising. :)
TinyLittleTootsies
05-02-2011, 01:55
Lily of the Nile
05-02-2011, 14:18
Yeah our street flooded last night but then it subsided pretty quickly, we're pretty high up here. My cousin lives in Altona Meadows and they were flooded, also a friend in Wyndham Vale and their power was out and street flooded. I know it floods heaps around Ascot Vale, Maribyrnog and parts of Footscray/Kensington, I wonder how they did yesterday? Today seems to be fine, we'll see tonight though? Crazy weather :no:
Alexander Beetle
05-02-2011, 18:56
Yeah our street flooded last night but then it subsided pretty quickly, we're pretty high up here. My cousin lives in Altona Meadows and they were flooded, also a friend in Wyndham Vale and their power was out and street flooded. I know it floods heaps around Ascot Vale, Maribyrnog and parts of Footscray/Kensington, I wonder how they did yesterday? Today seems to be fine, we'll see tonight though? Crazy weather :no:
Yeah last might we had to take dS out for a drive (grrr) to get him to sleep because he is going through a'stage' (i hope) and so many streets were flooded. It was not a great night for a drive lol.
So I am new to the west, but I have a lot of friends who live over here. I am really liking it. Yarraville village reminds me of Elwood village a lot, so I feel very comfortable here. I like the cheap food in footscray, I used to come over here just for that. And it's quick to get back to Elwood way if I want (but I never want to lol).
FearlessLeader
05-02-2011, 19:34
MM i am in carlton ATM, so it will feel like living in the 'burbs in footscray :laughing: we looked at a place today, soooo nice! And a few open for inspections lined up during the week, there are so many lovely places in west footscray that are in our range :smiliedance: plus the 216 bus would get both DP and i to work in under 30 mins! Does anyone here know that route? Is it dependable? It's the caroline springs-brighton beach, goes up barkly, through central footscray then up dynon rd. I don't drive so PT is essential.
young_mummie07
05-02-2011, 21:27
hi all hope ur all doing well with this shocking weather that we are having :( do any of you have msn chat??
Kadorite
06-02-2011, 10:42
My baby shower was amazing! I got so spoilt and it was great to catch up with friends that I hadn't seen in years (I recently moved back after 3yrs living in Sydney). I was given everything I'd been hoping for (more cot bedding, nail clippers, baby wash) except a nappy bag. But that just means I get to go shopping :D
My house was pretty unaffected by the weather, what I've taken to calling mini Yasi! But my suburb copped a hiding, streets flooded everywhere, trees downed and power outages. Crazy! Werribee plaza flooded and I'm hoping it's been reopened today as I want to go shopping!
I do use MSN but at the moment I'm waiting on TPG to post my modem so I can set up the Internet. Hopefully it's soon!
Fearless - the 216 is as reliable as you can expect from PT. I don't drive either and I used to catch it to get around. As I'm sure you do already just make sure you allow time for traffic or a cancelled bus.
Lily of the Nile
06-02-2011, 11:22
Kadorite it's so lovely your friends spoiled you! I actually never had a baby shower :( Happy shopping though!
I don't have msn, I used to but it annoys me because it slows my computer down + when my sister and cousins see me online they want to chat and I can't be bothered :o (they live o/s)
Fearless I don't catch pt anymore, but I did obviously when I was younger and I'm a train person, the trains are good on this side (or they used to be) and it's quick to get to the city.
Toptally OT but if you ever go to Footscray station, you MUST try Olympic donuts, they're the sugary hot jam ones, but they're the best in Melbourne I garauntee, I think they've been there for like 25+years?
http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=14589318253
TinyLittleTootsies
06-02-2011, 14:59
Alexander Beetle
06-02-2011, 15:46
Wow. My boyfriend is a donut freak so he will die when I tell him about this place. Fearless I don't drive either, and I have no PT issues. But I live near Yarraville station so I'm easy. I work in Toorak, and get 2 trains, and honestly, it doesn't take me much longer than when I used to bus in peak hour from Elwood. There's heaps of buses around here that seem to go everywhere. Plus there's an Aldi in maribyrnong which may not be a bonus for you, but I love Aldi lol so I was rapt. So far nothing to dislike about the west at all :)
Lily of the Nile
06-02-2011, 16:15
Wow. My boyfriend is a donut freak so he will die when I tell him about this place. Fearless I don't drive either, and I have no PT issues. But I live near Yarraville station so I'm easy. I work in Toorak, and get 2 trains, and honestly, it doesn't take me much longer than when I used to bus in peak hour from Elwood. There's heaps of buses around here that seem to go everywhere. Plus there's an Aldi in maribyrnong which may not be a bonus for you, but I love Aldi lol so I was rapt. So far nothing to dislike about the west at all :)
I love Aldis too! More so for the nappies, toilet paper etc. Dh doesn't like the food cause he doesn't know the brand :rolleyes: There's one just around the corner from my house in West Footscray (Ashley St)
Now that I mentioned the donuts I'm craving! I got some a while ago when I was at vic market and they were crap, nothing beats the footscray ones.
I'm going tomorrow now :D:laughing:
MM I don't think I have been to that cafe? I haven't been to foreshore in years actually, we go to the shops and the park in Willi. Totally ot again lol, there's an ice cream shop, it has a sign 'worlds best ice cream' I think the owners are lebanese and its across from the park (not the tennis courts side but the police station side) its got awesome ice cream and we also get fish and chips from the shop at the park near the gazebo, its the little one, it only sells fish and chips (no burgers and stuff) its really good. Look at me only talking about food, pregnancy does that! :)
Kadorite
06-02-2011, 17:13
Mmm jam donuts... Damn you girls I think you've given me a new craving! Olympic donuts are the best, I went to high school in Footscray for a year and I love them.
I haven't been to Willy beach in years, I used to know the guy who ran the cafe on the beach next to the surf club and he'd give me freebies. I wonder if he still owns it? I don't actually like that beach though :laughing: I was spoilt growing up, my parents have a holiday house down the Great Ocean Road just past Lorne so I grew up at surf beaches not yucky bay beaches. Often at Willy if you pick up a handful of sand from under the water it's grey from the oil coming from boats in the bay. I did surf lifesaving for 13yrs (nippers as a kid and 3yrs active beach patrols) and the one season I patrolled at Williamstown we had a bomb scare! Some kids dug up an old mortar (I think? It was a bomb anyway) from WW2 at about 9am that morning. The police cordoned it off and sat next to it in deckchairs all day until the bomb squad guy rocked up around 4:30pm. He inspected it and realised it was live so we had to evacuate the beach. They detonated it and it took out a few seagulls :laughing:
There's my entertaining story for the day :D
Alexander Beetle
06-02-2011, 19:31
I'm loving the info on this thread. It's always good to know where the best of things are. Like, best pizza, best Vietnamese restaurant etc.
TinyLittleTootsies
06-02-2011, 20:38
FearlessLeader
06-02-2011, 20:59
Hi again guys LOL looks like can't keep out of this thread :p
Thanks for the bus info. And the donut info, i know that place but I've never had one before, will have to recify that :yes:
just popping in to say to MelbourneMummy- YES the Footscray Market is fantastic. I find their fruit and veg really good quality and super super super cheap (waaaay cheaper than the Vic market) and the seafood is the best in Victoria, i reckon. There are no deli places there which is a bit sucky but also ends up saving me heaps because if i go to Vic Markets i can't resist all the yummy cheeses and small goods
Mum2LnC sounds like you live around the area we are looking. haha that's why i don't have any sort of instant chat, i don't want to chat to everyone all the time, and i sort of don't get the ettiquette, if you don't want to talk to someone, or you're busy having a really serious conversation with someone else, what do you do? Ignore them?
wondergirl76 I've always loved your av i love that show :thumbsup: My DS has started saying "brett brett" for some unknown reason, and me and DP always respond with "britt? that's a girls name!" :laughing:
kadorite yeah my uncle and aunty have a place just before Lorne so we are spoilt as well, now if only they would stop renting it out all summer holidays so the family could get a turn when it's hot for once!
:wave: all the rest of the westies
Wow.. all u girls have been busy. Took me a while to catch up on the posts!
Lots of good info.
Am so glad the bad weather has passed.
MelbourneMummy - i know which loud thunder strike you were talking about !!! I was standing at my kitchen window at the time and it scared the crap out of me. Overall, our house on the outside was fine. Our place is quite elevated but we had a nice waterfall in the bathroom coming from the ceiling lights and also from between the plaster joint ! Had no phone line or internet for over a day as the optus cables had been affected by teh rain. But all is back to normal.
Which cafe in Willi did you not like? We just attended a wedding at Sirens. Never been there before. But the food was good.
Kadorite - glad to hear you had a great baby shower. Best party you can have for bub. What kind of nappy bag are you looking for? Only asking as I'm starting to clear out the kids stuff ready to sell. But i do have a nappy bag (maybe used a few times) More than welcome to have it (for free).
Haven't been to the point cook park as yet - will definately check it out. Is that the one right near the shopping centre? A while back we went for a drive up to Sunbury and found an awesome park - think its called the Galaxy Playground. Its huge.. 3 parks in one. And the kids had a ball.
Hope everyone is well.
TinyLittleTootsies
06-02-2011, 22:02
Lily of the Nile
06-02-2011, 22:09
We don't swim at Willi either, when we were young yes all summer, but we usually make the effort to go abit further now like Mordi, Carrum etc.
I don't go to Altona beach or Point Cook either, not to eat or anything, I'm limited too lol
If we go to a big park now it'd be like Maribyrnong/Anglers, Footscray park is not bad for a local and yarraville park. A good one is Cruikshank park near my parents house and my primary school, it has a creek and its nice for walking, it goes around about 3km? The maribyrnong walking track is longer and thats a nice walk, we used to do that all the time for exercise.
Speaking of food again :laughing: have you been to the Laksa King in Flemington? That's our new favourite place yum yum, it's busy and you wait a bit but its not long and soooo worth it.
Vietnamese is good in Footscray too, there's a few of them and Thai in yarraville. I need to google names though, I only know the outside of the shops.
I haven't been to Footscray market in years, my mum says its still not bad but it used to be better, they're actually closing it now which is a shame. They're closing everything now, Forges is gone, it's near my house atm but its not worth it, they used to have the best bra and undie sales! Kmart will close and that whole building, Footscray is not like it used to be, but it still has some good shops and for kids clothes you'd be suprised what you find :yes:
I love Vic market, Thursday is the best day because it's the freshest (I'd have to check that but pretty sure) we go on Saturdays or Sundays though when dh isn't working and the quality is alot better than supermarket. Prices well, it depends, my local coles has good prices on some stuff like $1.49 for bananas (well not now its $6 thanks to yasi) but I just go for quality because it lasts longer and more variety. I love the deli section too and it has the best bakery and the meat section is fantastic, very cheap and good qaulity like I buy diet mince for $12kg at my local butcher but it's $7 at Vic market and cheaper if you go later in the day, as low as $4.
Alexander Beetle
06-02-2011, 22:20
We don't swim at Willi either, when we were young yes all summer, but we usually make the effort to go abit further now like Mordi, Carrum etc.
I don't go to Altona beach or Point Cook either, not to eat or anything, I'm limited too lol
If we go to a big park now it'd be like Maribyrnong/Anglers, Footscray park is not bad for a local and yarraville park. A good one is Cruikshank park near my parents house and my primary school, it has a creek and its nice for walking, it goes around about 3km? The maribyrnong walking track is longer and thats a nice walk, we used to do that all the time for exercise.
Speaking of food again :laughing: have you been to the Laksa King in Flemington? That's our new favourite place yum yum, it's busy and you wait a bit but its not long and soooo worth it.
Vietnamese is good in Footscray too, there's a few of them and Thai in yarraville. I need to google names though, I only know the outside of the shops.
I haven't been to Footscray market in years, my mum says its still not bad but it used to be better, they're actually closing it now which is a shame. They're closing everything now, Forges is gone, it's near my house atm but its not worth it, they used to have the best bra and undie sales! Kmart will close and that whole building, Footscray is not like it used to be, but it still has some good shops and for kids clothes you'd be suprised what you find :yes:
I love Vic market, Thursday is the best day because it's the freshest (I'd have to check that but pretty sure) we go on Saturdays or Sundays though when dh isn't working and the quality is alot better than supermarket. Prices well, it depends, my local coles has good prices on some stuff like $1.49 for bananas (well not now its $6 thanks to yasi) but I just go for quality because it lasts longer and more variety. I love the deli section too and it has the best bakery and the meat section is fantastic, very cheap and good qaulity like I buy diet mince for $12kg at my local butcher but it's $7 at Vic market and cheaper if you go later in the day, as low as $4.
What???!!!! Are they seriously closing the Footscray Market? But I love it! That's poo'd me off. Where did u hear that one? Also, has anyone shopped at Little Saigon? It's awesome. Crazy, I can only go there without DS.
Now I'm really hungry - reading about all this food!
Wow - didn't know they were shutting all that down in Footscray ! I did know about forges, that's at central west plaza now.
MelbourneMummy - you're not the first to complain about the Rotunda in Willi. HAve heard a few bad reviews about them. But do go to Sirens. Not sure about their prices.. but its quite pleasant. you can sit outside right at the sand.
Was wondering - anyone know of any good indoor pools around the area?
And also.. anyone go to the indoor play centres? Have been to a couple. Most were great at the start but then they became a little run down. We had DD's birthday at Tumbles last year - was actually good.
But would love to hear others thoughts on pools and play centres.
Hope everyones having a good night
Lily of the Nile
06-02-2011, 22:39
What???!!!! Are they seriously closing the Footscray Market? But I love it! That's poo'd me off. Where did u hear that one? Also, has anyone shopped at Little Saigon? It's awesome. Crazy, I can only go there without DS.
Since the governement re-zoned it and increased building storey height it's been earmarked for redevelopement, most likely apartments. I think thats now the plan for most of Footscray, when it will happen though I don't know? Maybe the council knows more, they'd have plans for it if you want to find out for sure what's happening.
Little Saigon? No, I will check it out though :yes:
Swim centres close by are Maribyrnong (near highpoint, its a good one) Altona, Sunshine (never been to that one though) and AcotVale leisure centre (my fav). Indoor play centres I think Monkey Mania is the best at Docklands, docklands is good for kids stuff! Don't even go near the central west plaza one, so yes apart from tumbles in willi I'd go there. I don't know how old your kids are either but my nephew loves science works museum in spotswood, they have good play areas there for kids too, they seem to love it.
Lily of the Nile
06-02-2011, 22:43
Oh I totally forgot, my sister and her friend always took their ds' to Play Shak in Altona, I've never been there but apparently its good. :)
TinyLittleTootsies
06-02-2011, 22:57
TinyLittleTootsies
06-02-2011, 23:01
Kadorite
07-02-2011, 07:31
I've no idea on playcentres but Sunshine leisure and maribyrnong leisure centres are great pools! Or Melton waves if you want to go that far.
Mum2LnC - funny story about Cruickshank park, my friend was growing pot there and a guy got stabbed one night. The cops supposedly combed the area looking for the knife but never noticed his plants. Needless to say he got them out of there quick smart :laughing:
I forget who offered me the nappy bag, I'll say thanks but no thanks. I have a crumpler shoulder bag that should do otherwise I'll just go shopping. Any excuse for shopping!
frekles1985
08-02-2011, 23:05
Hi guys thought I'd drop in and say hi,
I am 26 and have a DD 6 and a DS who is 18 mths. Im new to the western suberbs we moved to Werribee about a month ago from Cheltenham. We dont have any family or friends over this way there all in the eastern suberbs so would love to chat to you mums from area.
Im really liking it over this way except thats Its taking me for ever to get use to the area Im consinetly getting lost lol.
1st for Jess
09-02-2011, 08:01
I'm another Feb mum. More Nth burbs now I guess (Pascoe Vale)
But grew up in St.Albans and lived in Willi for a couple of years. I miss it!
Be back later just wanted to be able to find you again!
Jess
iwantcake
09-02-2011, 10:07
Hi everyone - I hope you don't mind if I join you too...
This my first post so I'm a bit shy - although I have stalked BH for ages before I finally joined, great info here.
I'm turning 35 this year and am married with a lovely little girl aged 2 years and 3months. We moved to Melbourne in July last year from Brisbane so are still getting used to everything here, but totally love it. We live in Sydenham as well. I may have to go back into this thread and have another proper read of all the fantastic suggestions about the local areas.
I love everything to do with food (especially cakes and desserts!!) am obsessed with weddings (used to be a wedding co-ordinator in Qld) and am currently a SAHM but playing around with the idea of having my own small wedding/event business one day.
I just found out we are pregnant with baby number 2, however having a few issues (possible threatened MC) so anxiously awaiting results of blood tests to see what is going on. Fingers crossed everything will be ok. :fingerscrossed:
Nice to meet you all :wave:
Kadorite
09-02-2011, 11:52
Welcome Frekles & Cake! :D
Frekles - we're neighbours, I'm in Hoppers Crossing. I ventured into Werribee the other day and yep, I got lost a bit too. Have you been to Werribee plaza since the rains last weekend? Some of the shops smell like dirty feet from the wet carpet, it's horrible! DP and I went into D!ck Smith and I was holding my nose. DP laughed at me and said it wasn't that bad but it was really making me feel sick! Apparently some stores were quite badly affected. I hope there's flood damage sales! :D
I totally forgot to let my due in Feb girls know about this thread, but they found there way here anyway :laughing:
FearlessLeader
13-02-2011, 08:43
hi girls, well turns out we won't be so westside after all, just bought a flat in north melbourne, so on the way to the west but not quite there :laughing: might stick around anyway as we're right on the 57 tram route and the footscray-east melb bus (not sure of the no.) so we'll still be hanging around footscray/maribyrnong a bit.
TinyLittleTootsies
13-02-2011, 15:54
Well I'm probably the oldest so far. LOL, I'm late 30's and have been living in Werribee for 18 months. I was originally living beachside Seaford then we relocated to Tassie for 3 years & now we're back here. We dont know anyone on the west of Melbourne and would like to change that.
I'm married and have one son who is 8 months old we are about to start TTC again as time is against me.
I'm keen to meet other mummies and bubbies so that JC can start to socialise as well as myself.
6butterflies
14-02-2011, 18:35
Hi, can I jump in too? :wave:
I am about to push 40 (eergh, but they say you are only as old as the man you feel so that makes me 37 lol), and have been in the Tarneit/Truganina area since 2008, having spent most of my life in Echuca on the Vic/NSW border. I have six kids ranging in ages from 16 down to 21mth, with the eldest being my only girl. I actually love it here, I have also lived in Cranbourne and Mooroolbark, and just HATED it.
Currently I do it all alone and am about to start a nursing degree, but I would still love to meet others in the region.
Kadorite - I know what you mean about the Plaza, my son came home and told me the roof had collapsed near KMart - omg!!! Imagine being there when it happened?
I hope everyone else is enjoying the sunshine, my kids are rapt with it! They were hating being inside all the time!
Mum2Blake
15-02-2011, 10:09
hey girls im a 22 yr old with a 1 year ol son we live in sydenham and would love to meet other mums and bubs in the area as we dont know anyone out here. We are both very shy s playgroup wasnt good for us. We are on our way to footscray markets for the first time today. Its very hard pushing a pram and a nanna shopping trolley lol. Best be off blake is cracking it on the train.
beaniebabez
15-02-2011, 16:41
Hey all
Not to sure if I have already been in here and introduced myself.
I live in St Albans out west. I am married with 2 children. One girl 8 months and one boy 2 years.
I stay at home whiler my husband works and wanted to make some friends..
Hope you are all well..
iwantcake
16-02-2011, 12:05
:wave: Mum2Blake I live in Sydenham too, and beaniebabez we live quite near you so I would love to catch up for an informal coffee and chat sometime. I often come to St Albans for some meat/grocery shopping or we could go somewhere in Watergardens maybe?
Mum2Blake, how was the Footscray markets? If you'd like some company going back there again I'll come with you.
MelbourneMummy - Thank you so much for asking after me. Unfortunately it's been bad news as sadly the doctors confirmed I had an early MC last week. Hubby and I are trying to stay positive and we both know that baby#2 will happen for us one day, hopefully in the not to distant future. In the meantime we have our lovely little 2yo girl to keep us happy and busy. :)
beaniebabez
17-02-2011, 16:56
I Want Cake - I would love to go for a coffee sometime. I am sorry for your loss.:no:
I am here for you if you want to chat!:hugs:
BIG hello' s to everyone else in here, hope you are all well.:yes:
FearlessLeader
18-02-2011, 13:13
iwantcake: so sorry for your loss :( hope you fall again as soon as you're ready to.
MM we are in a 2 bed flat atm (renting) and the new place is pretty much the same size with an extra bedroom tacked on. It's very old and there's no BIR, no heating or cooling, kitchen is in serious need of an update, but it's liveable. I love being inner city so i'm happy :)
:wave: to all the newcomers
Can't believe they're closing the markets, that's terrible news!!!
So due-in-feb girls, who has popped already and who is still waiting???
Kadorite
18-02-2011, 14:42
:hugs: iwantcake. I'm so sorry for your loss, I hope that you get your sticky babe soon.
FearlessLeader - The three of us are all due around the end of the month. Both 1stForJess & Mum2LnC have had pre labour but no signs here. I'm actually due on the 3rd March so I still have a few weeks to go. I was originally due 22nd Feb which is why I chat to the Feb Mummies, I didn't want to join the due in March girls as I'd already bonded with the Feb girls. I'm ready for him to come now though! Feeling very big & uncomfortable! DP talks to my belly each night and says "You can come out now little man, I don't want to go to work tomorrow!" :goodvibes: He's taking 2wks off when bub is born and keeps saying he's ready for his holiday. :rolleyes: Yeah right, 'holiday'.
TinyLittleTootsies
22-02-2011, 16:21
Hi Ladies... where has everyone dissappeared to?
So sorry to hear about yours loss iwantcake.. big hugs to you :hugs:
Kadorite - I'm guessing you have had bub already? Hope everything is going well.
Welcome to all the newbies in the chat also.
Haven't popped on for a while now. Both kids had come down with a bug.. making me dislike kinder just a bit. And now it seems i have caught something too. But unfortunately no rest for me :no:
My little boy has FINALLY got a tooth.. well one and half! as today a top one has come through. At 17 months i was beginning to worry he'd be toothless! But they are all on their way.
Hope everyone is doing well.
Lily of the Nile
13-03-2011, 22:35
I'm still here :wave:
Kad is getting induced tonight!!! Hoping she has a wonderful and safe labour and delivery.
Too cute about the teeth cutting through, I didn't get teeth till I was 2 can you believe, I heard when they come late they all come quickly? Could be a good thing I suppose less of the teething stage.
I'm off to moomba parade tomorrow, I'm dying to take ds, what's everyone else up to?
TinyLittleTootsies
13-03-2011, 22:59
hello! I am still here too, but deleted the other ones for privacy issues. I have a few of you added to facebook, I think I PM'd everyone to add them, but if I missed anyone can you please PM me your facebook details! I love bubhub but I just did not want to discuss location things on a public forum after being found out by someone lol. It is easy for me to shoot my mouth off about my location etc lol. Hope no one was offended by me deleting my posts!! :D:D
ps Mumba I would love to go but I have so many things I need to do tomorrow that I should have done today aghh. I am really tempted to put it all off for tuesday and go anyway haha.
Lily of the Nile
18-03-2011, 07:50
I didn't even realise you deleted posts, someone found you out on here? eek I always wonder if people I know come here, but then I think I don't write anything too bad so meh. lol
I was thinking about our facebook group and how all the brisbane girls are meeting up and now the Sydney girls. There isn't many Melbourne girls there and so maybe we can organise a lunch or something? Go to a playcentre if our kids are old enough? Or to a nice park?
This is the group btw incase some of you aren't on there, it makes it easy to send invites and see who everyone is irl ie. names etc.
:) http://www.facebook.com/#!/home.php?sk=group_186887131345395&ap=1
So Kadorite had her little man! And he's very very cute and squishy :goodvibes:
I haven't been doing much. I didn't go to moomba on Monday, we tried to drive into the city and it was so busy and rds closed so we went to Monkey Mania instead, ds loves that place. Yesterday I took my mum and ds to altona gate and left them dowstairs, ds loves the play structure, and I went and did my shopping, it was easier than dragging him around and he was so satisfied afterwards. I can't take him to parks just yet because I can't run after him with the baby strapped on me, so playstructures keep him contained :yes:
Hope everyone is well :)
TinyLittleTootsies
19-03-2011, 14:21
oh I was at altona gate too! In the afternoon.
Just thought that I would come in here and say that there is the bayside fesival down at Altona beach today! I think there are different things to look at and do, with some jumping castles, etc for the kids, then fireworks at 9:30 I think.
The day is from 10am until 10pm and is mostly down at Logan reserve (the park at the beach).
Mum2Blake
23-03-2011, 12:22
hey all i live on melton hwy in sydenham and dont drive. Im wondering if anyone knows of a good child care centre or family day care close by. I need to get my son socialising with kids and i need a days break to clean the house and just get things tidy. Thanks for any replies.
HannahRose
23-03-2011, 13:55
Hello Again. And Hello for the first time to some!
I have been MIA for a while now. Just read through 6 pages of thread! There has been alot going on.
Have spent the last 3 weeks in New Zealand, and whilst It made me realise that Melbourne is my home now, it also made me realise that i really need a circle of friends with children! It was so great being back with my antenatal group and seeing my DD having a blast with her little friends!
Im probably slightly more Nth West than West- but I drive and am keen to meet people for coffee, shopping etc.
We have decided to make melbourne our home for at least the next 5 years so will be looking at buying a house sometime this year- The info in this thread has been really helpful as to Facilities in the West- so thanks!!
Han
young_mummie07
31-03-2011, 12:47
hi everyone how r we all going? i haven't been on for awhile so much going on! hope everyone is doing well :)
I am so over the weather the last couple of days :( one day it's beautiful and the sun is out the next minute it's cold and raining wish it would make up it's mind that's how we get sick.
what's everyone up to on the weekend? i was thinking of going to a kids clothing sale on saturday but not sure still can't decide lol and have school on sunday can't wait to finish so many things happening on sundays and can't go to anything bcoz of school :(
anyways better go my lil munkins have woken up :)
speak to u all soon :wave:
Hi all and welcome to the ladies that joined our chat :wave:
Has been a busy last few weeks, with the kids getting sick (again) just seems to be going round and round in circles. I figured that I prefer if both kids are sick at the same time, so then they will get better at the same time. Instead of one being sick then a few days later - the other. And round and round it goes. It's catching up to me and i feel competely drained :hair: LOL
But on the up side - the weather has been great! Loving a bit of sunshine. Took the kids to 2 parks up in point cook. They had an absolute ball!
Young Mummie - the kids clothing sale you mentioned.. is that the one is preston (or somewhere abouts)? Did you end up going? You mentioned school on sundays.. what are you studying?
Was thinking of getting back into my studies, but figured I'd hold off a bit as I won't be starting work till the little man goes to kinder and i know qualifications and requirements change over the years.
But anyways.... How is everybody ???
How are we all spending Easter???
My DH is orthodox and this year their easter falls on the catholic easter - so will be one hectic weekend. Why is it that we all have to do the running around!
Hope everyone is well !
saskiasmum
07-04-2011, 21:02
I am in Newport near Williamstown and have a 3 1/2 DD and another due in Oct...
Kadorite
08-04-2011, 06:02
Hey Saskiasmummy - you're not far from me :) I'm in Hoppers.
saskiasmum
08-04-2011, 06:24
Hey Saskiasmummy - you're not far from me :) I'm in Hoppers.
Yes - not far away at all
How old is your little one now?
Lily of the Nile
08-04-2011, 07:31
We're the same Anna, I'm orthodox too and so Easter will be at 2 places this year, I like it when it's the same though.
Hi saskiasmum, you're close to me to, I live in west footscray and grew up in kingsville, I have a 20month old ds and 6 week old dd.
Hope everyone else has a good weekend, might be going to the baby expo but I'm still undecided, going alone is scary lol
FearlessLeader
08-04-2011, 09:29
We're the same Anna, I'm orthodox too and so Easter will be at 2 places this year, I like it when it's the same though.
Hi saskiasmum, you're close to me to, I live in west footscray and grew up in kingsville, I have a 20month old ds and 6 week old dd.
Hope everyone else has a good weekend, might be going to the baby expo but I'm still undecided, going alone is scary lol
I would have come with you today but i left my free ticket on my desk last night d'oh! Can't afford to pay for a ticket :( and i don't have time to go over the weekend. If anyone wants my free ticket, and can pick it up from north melbourne, pm me and i can get someone to put it aside for you. Might as well get used!
Kadorite
08-04-2011, 20:17
Saskiasmum - Kaelan is 4wks on Tuesday :D my little man is not so little anymore.
Mum2 - Steve and I are going on Sunday if you want to join? I'll be meeting up with another bubhub girl too.
luv bubby
11-04-2011, 12:42
I have a 8 month old boy and would love to meet some parents with a bub the same age in our area. We are both in late 20s xx:babydust1:
gonnabeaGR8mum
11-04-2011, 17:37
HI there,
i just wanted to stick my head in and say hi :wave:(which i've aleady done obviously Duh!:doh:). we're not in the western suburbs yet but we will be by the middle of may. we're moving down from Newcastle NSW and know absolutely no-one in melbourne so i'm hoping to meet some fabulous people through the hub (after all this is where all my current fantastic mummy friend's came from).
i have one beautiful little munchkin, miss E who turned 2 in feburary and we're expecting number 2 end Oct early Nov. will be living within a 20 minute radius of deer park for DH work but other than that no suburb set in stone yet.
So hi again, hope to get to know you all a little better soon, til then take care :goodvibes:
luv bubby
11-04-2011, 18:55
Hello :) My man works in Deer park too! His company has just moved there.
What does your hubby do?
saskiasmum
11-04-2011, 21:27
HI there,
i just wanted to stick my head in and say hi :wave:(which i've aleady done obviously Duh!:doh:). we're not in the western suburbs yet but we will be by the middle of may. we're moving down from Newcastle NSW and know absolutely no-one in melbourne so i'm hoping to meet some fabulous people through the hub (after all this is where all my current fantastic mummy friend's came from).
i have one beautiful little munchkin, miss E who turned 2 in feburary and we're expecting number 2 end Oct early Nov. will be living within a 20 minute radius of deer park for DH work but other than that no suburb set in stone yet.
So hi again, hope to get to know you all a little better soon, til then take care :goodvibes:
I'm due late Oct early Nov too and have a DD 3 1/2....!
gonnabeaGR8mum
11-04-2011, 22:56
Hello :) My man works in Deer park too! His company has just moved there.
What does your hubby do?
hi there, DH works for O**** its a big move for him and us. what about yours?
saskiasmum thats cool, where are you having your bubba?
1st for Jess
27-04-2011, 03:10
Anyone need some kitchen stuff?
Or chairs/cupboards/beds?
We're cleaning out my nans place and its all going to the op shop/bin on Friday so feel free to come pick bits out. Chelsey St, Ardeer (just off ballarat rd)
There's fans, toasted sandwich makers, tv's, electric frypans all sorts.
Queen size bed and base, perfect cond
Retro chairs etc etc
kiarahsmum
27-04-2011, 21:09
Hi all, just wanted to pop in and say hi! I'm from werribee (lived here all my life) been married for 18 months but together for 12 years. I have a 6yo dd and am pregnant with number 2 due on 1st November (which is my dh's birthday)
Look forward to getting to know you all :)
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
happygrl
28-04-2011, 10:28
I just wanted to say a quick hello :wave:
DH and I have recently moved to Sunshine West with our now 5 month old DS.
We don't know anyone in the area, and being the first in our group with a baby I don't know any other mummies. I've got my name down for a mum's group, but tbh the mchn is pretty bad in this area and I don't really expect to hear from them.
I'm looking forward to getting to know you all :wave:
FearlessLeader
28-04-2011, 12:15
hi all, hope everyone is well.
Welcome to the newbies, happygrl congrats on moving and not being a complete nervous wreck, it's hard work!
1st for Jess, that sounds sooo tempting, especially the retro chairs part! but we don't have room for one more thing at our place.
AFM we have moved in properly to North Melbourne it's NOT FUN moving with a toddler!
does anyone know, is there any indoor play areas at Highpoint? I used to catch the bus to Northland because there was a small one there which was great as a stop off point when shopping, or just on rainy days, plus it's free :D i don't recall seeing anything similar at Highpoint though?
Lily of the Nile
28-04-2011, 13:21
Hi to all the newbies! :wave:
happygrl I live in West Footscray so not too far from you :)
Jess I was thinking the retro chairs, dh would love them! but I 'forbid' anything more in this house.
Fearless I'm pretty sure highpoint doesn't have one, I always take ds to Altona gate for the play structure (even though he gets bored of it now) otherwise docklands monkey mania is good, they have toddler tuesdays for half price to members. We should organise a little play date with the western suburbs mums there :yes: You get free coffee too :D
saskiasmum
29-04-2011, 16:25
Jess I was thinking the retro chairs, dh would love them! but I 'forbid' anything more in this house.
Fearless I'm pretty sure highpoint doesn't have one, I always take ds to Altona gate for the play structure (even though he gets bored of it now) otherwise docklands monkey mania is good, they have toddler tuesdays for half price to members. We should organise a little play date with the western suburbs mums there :yes: You get free coffee too :D
Monkey mania is great an agree that a western suburbs mum catch up would be good!!
TinyLittleTootsies
29-04-2011, 16:42
I agree! I wrote almost the same post after you wrote yours fearless but it isn't on here! lol must not have pressed send properly! highpoint doesn't have one as far as I know (and i think I would have found it by now haha). Altona Gate has one, like Mum2LnC said, but that is a bit out of your way really I guess. (you can come visit me though if you head that way lol)
Mokey mania coffee isn't free though! It costs parents to get in (other centres don't change for parents) and the coffee is "free" with the parent entry cots lol. In other words they just make you have a coffee! I still like monkey mia the best though, it seems to be the only one that my girls don't get bored and come looking for me, apart from the place in footscray where they get lost inside it and I have to go looking for them lol (better for bigger kids I think).
happygrl
29-04-2011, 22:03
A western suburbs catch up would be awesome but DS is probably a bit young for monkey mania just yet I think.
FearlessLeader , Highpoint definately doesn't have one, which is a shame.
Lily of the Nile
29-04-2011, 22:11
Oh true it isn't free, but when me and dh go I refuse to pay for both of us and they let me in for free, I'm getting abit tight in my old age lol :o but really making parents pay, its silly.
We should organise something then, monkey mania is pretty good and have a good toddler section, ofcourse I'll be chasing ds (he likes the big slide and jumping castle) and then he'll throw a tanty on me!! :o
happygrl I have a 9 week old too that I'll bring along so I'm happy to sit and chat, more for us then the kids :laughing:
Do you guys know anywhere else child friendly? Highpoint do need a play area don't they.
happygrl
29-04-2011, 22:30
Sounds good to me then
I've got no idea on where to go with kids. This is all new to me, so I'll just watch this thread and use your ideas :D
Ballerina
30-04-2011, 20:46
I have recently moved over to Melbourne from New Zealand and am living in Point Cook and am looking for some new friends. I have a 2 year old :) Anyone else live here?
gonnabeaGR8mum
01-05-2011, 07:59
I have recently moved over to Melbourne from New Zealand and am living in Point Cook and am looking for some new friends. I have a 2 year old :) Anyone else live here?
hi Ballerina :wave: i'm moving to melbourne next week (my hubby is looking at houses for us starting tomorrow and a lot of them are in the point cook area). i have a 2year old DD and another on the way. i'm going to be hunting down new friends for her and me as soon as i arrive :rolleyes:... are you in one fo the newer estates in point cook?
Ballerina
01-05-2011, 08:17
hi Ballerina :wave: i'm moving to melbourne next week (my hubby is looking at houses for us starting tomorrow and a lot of them are in the point cook area). i have a 2year old DD and another on the way. i'm going to be hunting down new friends for her and me as soon as i arrive :rolleyes:... are you in one fo the newer estates in point cook?
Hi!! Where are you moving from? I think we are in the Innsfail estate. Lots of new houses going up everywhere though! When are you due with number 2?:wave:
gonnabeaGR8mum
01-05-2011, 08:26
Hi we're moving from Newcastle (mid coast NSW) for hubby's work. don't really know a soul in Melbourne so i'm a bit apprehensive. I'm 14 weeks today! woohoo! which makes me due the 30th Oct, but i'm guessing early to mid November for delivery as DD was late and i had to be induced to get her moving lol
Ballerina
01-05-2011, 13:02
Hi we're moving from Newcastle (mid coast NSW) for hubby's work. don't really know a soul in Melbourne so i'm a bit apprehensive. I'm 14 weeks today! woohoo! which makes me due the 30th Oct, but i'm guessing early to mid November for delivery as DD was late and i had to be induced to get her moving lol
It's a hard move when you dont know anyone. We moved cause of DH's work too and only knew one person here who lives in Point Cook which is why we chose here. What does your hubby do? When was your daughter 2? Mine was 2 in Feb. She is quite a handful at the moment as we have started toilet training. She will go at day care but not at home. We have just started trying for number 2 but im not quite as excited as I was trying for number 1. Some days I dont think I have the patience to handle another! lol
gonnabeaGR8mum
01-05-2011, 13:42
It's a hard move when you dont know anyone. We moved cause of DH's work too and only knew one person here who lives in Point Cook which is why we chose here. What does your hubby do? When was your daughter 2? Mine was 2 in Feb. She is quite a handful at the moment as we have started toilet training. She will go at day care but not at home. We have just started trying for number 2 but im not quite as excited as I was trying for number 1. Some days I dont think I have the patience to handle another! lol
yes i know what you mean, i have many what we call "one child days" when i wornder what on earth we've gotten ourselves into here lol. we really started trying (only in Jan this year :eek:) because it had taken us so long to get pregnant with DD and i was begining to realise itd be nice for her to have a sibling when she was still young enough to get along with him/her. DD was 2 in feburary as well. we're only very midly introducing TT at the moment, she's shown little to no interest and i figured she (and I) didn't need the stress on top of the move. but i guess we'll have to get moving eventually :freakingout: Hubby is an industrial chemist (on the research side). I am a stay at home mum. how about you?
willowmay
01-05-2011, 14:50
hi guys im new to melbourne as well an im keen to catch up, im 23 and i have a little girl who is 10 months today! i live in mernda but i dont mind a little bit of travel.:)
HannahRose
02-05-2011, 09:11
Hello New people, and older people, have been absent for a while!! Would be keen for a catch up if one is being organised'!!
@Ballerina, I know how you feel. I moved to Melbourne from N last October, it can be quite daunting for sure!! I also have a 2 year old ( she was 2 in march) It can be hard to meet new people for sure!
@gonnabeagr8mum, Congratulatuions I think it will be nice having 2 close in age as well...but not to close! we are slowly TT as well. takes a lot more patience than I thought it would.
@Willowmay- We went for a drive out to Mernda the other day as were trying to decide where we want to build our new house. Do you like it there? We are currently near the airport, and have been looking at Highlands, Mernda Villages and Caroline Springs.
Hope everyone is well... Im counting down the weeks till Number 2 comes... 7 more weeks if on time!!
Ballerina
02-05-2011, 13:36
yes i know what you mean, i have many what we call "one child days" when i wornder what on earth we've gotten ourselves into here lol. we really started trying (only in Jan this year :eek:) because it had taken us so long to get pregnant with DD and i was begining to realise itd be nice for her to have a sibling when she was still young enough to get along with him/her. DD was 2 in feburary as well. we're only very midly introducing TT at the moment, she's shown little to no interest and i figured she (and I) didn't need the stress on top of the move. but i guess we'll have to get moving eventually :freakingout: Hubby is an industrial chemist (on the research side). I am a stay at home mum. how about you?
Thats great it didnt take you as long this time round. It took us 7 months first time round so am hoping it might happen a bit quicker this time.
What date in Feb is your little girl and what is her name? Mine was on the 11th and her name is Millie.
Is it only around Point Cook that you are looking at places? Because of all the new houses there seems to be quite a high crime rate as the low lives are travelling from other suburbs to steal building supplies from the houses being built. We woke up on Saturday morning to an empty beer bottle that had been thrown through our window. Just so pleased it wasnt Millie's window. Must of been drunk kids on their way home as they did some damage to other houses along the street too.
My husband is in the middle of training at the moment to be an Air Traffic Controller which is why we moved over here. Im a Flight Attendant but I dont have a job over here. The last flight I did was in March and I was flown back to NZ to fly Prince William around on his last visit. It was super exciting!!!:freakingout:
Ballerina
02-05-2011, 13:37
HannahRose-
Where in NZ are you from?:wave:
Woody1982
02-05-2011, 23:52
I didn't grow up in Melbourne either, none of my friends here have kids. My first baby is due in November... Living in Caroline springs and missing my hometown like crazy- hormones!
gonnabeaGR8mum
03-05-2011, 21:06
I didn't grow up in Melbourne either, none of my friends here have kids. My first baby is due in November... Living in Caroline springs and missing my hometown like crazy- hormones!
hi woody :wave: where is your home town? My DH is staying in Caroline springs at the moment as he tries to find us a house down there, he seems to like it and for all i know we could end up at your neck of the woods. I'm anticipating missing my friends and family terribly but i'm hoping i can remain positive for my DD and get out doing things and meeting new people ASAP. I'm expecting this bub will arrive sometime in Nov too, when is your EDD?
Ballerina what a coincidence my DD's birthday is the 12th feb :cheerleader2: that sucks about the crime in point cook. thus far DH has looked at houses in point cook, seaholme, caroline springs, hillside and taylors lakes. we've got until the end of next week to have a house to move into before we run out of paid accomodation. so :fingerscrossed: ETA oh and my DD's name is Elianna
hannahrose TT is something i've never had ANY experience with, so i feel really out of my depth :rolleyes: and i think DD knows it too...
Woody1982
04-05-2011, 09:15
Im originally from Canberra, Caroline Springs is one of the nicer western suburbs, Im sure you'll like it here :)
Im due November 3rd, so im almost 14 weeks now :celebrate:
Will you be having your bub here or moving down afterwards?
Roofless
04-05-2011, 22:59
This May sound like a stupid question but would anyone around the Sunshine area Like to get together for a Play date. I am a stay at home Dad and would like to have my 19 month old son socialize with some toddlers the same age or a little older. At the moment he doesnt get to socialize much due to me being excluded from Mothers group because I'm a Dad.
happygrl
04-05-2011, 23:08
Hi Roofless. I'm in Sunshine, but my DS is only 5 1/2 months old, so probably not what you are looking for.
I can't believe they won't let you join a group - that's terrible.
Roofless
04-05-2011, 23:18
Its not that they wont let me, They just made it very clear I wasn't welcome.
gonnabeaGR8mum
04-05-2011, 23:54
This May sound like a stupid question but would anyone around the Sunshine area Like to get together for a Play date. I am a stay at home Dad and would like to have my 19 month old son socialize with some toddlers the same age or a little older. At the moment he doesnt get to socialize much due to me being excluded from Mothers group because I'm a Dad.
hi there roofless, my DD is 26 months already so may be a bit beyond your DS but i'd be happy to give it a go once we get down there, can never have too many friends for the dear little ones :no: thats crap that the mother's group isn't more accepting, i'd hate to think that if my Dh ever decides to be a SAHD that he'd have difficulty socialising our children due to crap like that. We're moving down end next week/begining of the week after so i'll be in contact after that if you're still looking for a play date.
woody i'm just past 14 weeks too, and will be having this bub down there at sunshine hospital (long story about interstate booking in meaning not much choice but hopefully it'll work out fine). DD came 12 days late and was induced so i'm not holding out much hope for this one being on time, you'll probably beat me across the finish line:rolleyes:
1st for Jess
05-05-2011, 01:18
Hey Roofless, my DD is only 10 weeks so doesn't know she exists let alone another kiddy :) just wanted to let you know that I went to my first mothers group today and there was a daddy, I made sure I went and had a big chat with him, so we're not all like that.. The nurse also mentioned that new groups start every 3 months and we're more than welcome to join the next one if this doesn't work out for whatever reason, or if we'd just like to make more friends in a new area. So I'd say contact the local nurse or playgroup australia and give it another go!!
I really think there should be a dads group not just for SAHD's but for all dad's - they need to talk too!
TinyLittleTootsies
07-05-2011, 17:39
So many new people writing! This is great! I have been reading along :)
i thought of some places MumtoLnC....
Outdoor
Williamstown playground on the foreshore near the tennis courts - good for all ages as there is a lot of grass to play on a rug for babies, and playground for older ones.
Point Cook pirate ship park (that's what I call it lol, it is in Alamanda estate) - wouldn't be that great for little kids I don't think, but I am not sure.
Altona playground at the foreshore on Pier street. Good again with grass area to sit on but also tables there too and a bigger playground, but very windy and not good on a cold day.
Indoor
The four indoor play centres (ones that you pay for) that I know about are at... docklands, altona north, footscray and williamstown.
Shopping centre play gym (free)... food court in Altona Gate shopping center.
cafe
I just go to my regular ones but these websites have some good suggestions.
http://www.heybambini.com.au/Cafe-Review.asp?area=West
http://littleeatsreviews.blogspot.com/2009/11/west.html
Hey Roofless, my DD is only 10 weeks so doesn't know she exists let alone another kiddy :) just wanted to let you know that I went to my first mothers group today and there was a daddy, I made sure I went and had a big chat with him, so we're not all like that.. The nurse also mentioned that new groups start every 3 months and we're more than welcome to join the next one if this doesn't work out for whatever reason, or if we'd just like to make more friends in a new area. So I'd say contact the local nurse or playgroup australia and give it another go!!
I really think there should be a dads group not just for SAHD's but for all dad's - they need to talk too!
I agree!! It was bad that you had that experience roofless! You are very welcome to post here for what it's worth lol.
gonnabeaGR8mum
07-05-2011, 19:26
its official! we have a house and we're moving in to point cook on the 16th May, it feels good to know where we're going. I'm feeling a sense of loss leaving my home up here but i also can't wait to get there and meet some new friends :fingerscrossed:
TinyLittleTootsies
07-05-2011, 20:28
its official! we have a house and we're moving in to point cook on the 16th May, it feels good to know where we're going. I'm feeling a sense of loss leaving my home up here but i also can't wait to get there and meet some new friends :fingerscrossed:
Congratulations on getting the house! I like point cook, it seems nice when I have been through there. Kids on the streets playing kind of place :).
Ballerina
07-05-2011, 20:31
How exciting!! :celebrate: Where abouts in Point Cook? We go to Rhyme time and story time at the Point Cook library so maybe we can meet there one morning. Oh and I know you dont me but Millie would love a play mate if you wanted to drop Elianna around for a play while you do your unpacking. It can be very hard trying to unpack with a toddler trying to help too.:eek:
gonnabeaGR8mum
07-05-2011, 20:48
How exciting!! :celebrate: Where abouts in Point Cook? We go to Rhyme time and story time at the Point Cook library so maybe we can meet there one morning. Oh and I know you dont me but Millie would love a play mate if you wanted to drop Elianna around for a play while you do your unpacking. It can be very hard trying to unpack with a toddler trying to help too.:eek:
wow thanks for the offer thats wonderful of you, i will see how we go but will def bear it in mind.
the house is in the Newminster Estate, DH was exploring point cook for me today and has picked up a heap of brochures on the library and community centre. looking forward to trying ryhme time and story time, would love to meet you there (only a 20 minute walk from our NEW PLACE, which is great as i can't drive)
Ballerina
07-05-2011, 21:18
I havent heard of that estate but had a quick google and depending what street you are in it doesnt look too far from us. We only have one car so I walk everywhere. Luckily I havent been caught out in the weather yet. Takes me about 15-20 mins to walk to the shops. Do you know what your doing for internet? It's so crap here as apparently they dont have enough cables etc so we have to have a T-stick and even that is terrible as it always cuts in and out.:hissy::hissy::hair::hissy:
Have you already packed all your stuff up?
overitand36
07-05-2011, 21:39
At the moment he doesnt get to socialize much due to me being excluded from Mothers group because I'm a Dad.
I am being to have a dislike for mothers group for this exact reason, mcn are mostly to blame both my DH and I went to so called parents group walked in the door and was meet by oh you must be hear for mother group...... then she saw DH never have I seen someone backpeddle so fast
Dads to a wonderful job its about time they got a break, maybe you could start up a dads playgroup I am looking up starting up one in Truganina but need a few dads to attend and also looking for a dad to run it as would be better run by a dad than yet another mum
point cook playgroups are full we need more
bellalika
07-05-2011, 21:50
Hi Guys, sorry to hijack your thread but I was wondering if anyone knew of any playgroups, activities, kid friendly parks & cafes etc near the Kingston Gardens Estate in Hoppers Crossing, or even what the estate is like? My BIL and SIL just bought a house there to be closer to her Mum but they know little about kid things in the area. Thought I would help out by asking for her. Thanks.
young_mummie07
15-05-2011, 22:01
Hi everyone:wave: i'm 27 have to boys DS1 is 4yrs old and DS2 is almost 7months old :) currently living in sydenham and looking to chat with other parents or catch up for regular playdates etc...
feel free to add me on fb sweet_italiana84@hotmail.com
HOpe to chat soon :)
willowmay
16-05-2011, 16:42
Hi everyone:wave: i'm 27 have to boys DS1 is 4yrs old and DS2 is almost 7months old :) currently living in sydenham and looking to chat with other parents or catch up for regular playdates etc...
feel free to add me on fb sweet_italiana84@hotmail.com
HOpe to chat soon :)
Hi i would love to catch up! I live in whittlesea way. Im 23 and i have a 10 month old little girl. My name is jaime by the way, ill add you on facebook!
young_mummie07
16-05-2011, 21:01
Hi i would love to catch up! I live in whittlesea way. Im 23 and i have a 10 month old little girl. My name is jaime by the way, ill add you on facebook!
Sounds great Jaime look forward to chatting to u :)
Hi all, we have a 13month old DD, looking for playdates in watergardens, airport west, keilor park area. Look forward to chatting to you. jo_melb@hotmail.com
hi, I'm just new to bubhub..its kinda confusing. my son is almost 2..and has also just gone through 'the change' lol. from angel to devil child. Has it gotten better or worse in the last 5 months?
sweetppod
25-07-2011, 00:06
Just thought I'd come by and say hi! I've posted on every other thread about Western Suburbs/Point Cook, so what the hey LOL hope y'all keeping well and look forward to chatting with y'all. Anyone up for a playdate?? Got a 9 month old boy looking for a friend. Cuppa and a chat? :hugs:
young_mummie07
26-07-2011, 18:53
Hi sweetppod
I have sent u a pm :) look forward to chatting to u :)
happygrl
27-07-2011, 20:30
Hi to all the Western Suburbs mums and dads.
The Derrimut Community Centre, where we go to playgroup, is having a Playgroup open day tomorrow, Thursday 28th July 9.30 - 11.30am for 0-4 year olds.
There will be a sausage sizzle, face painting, arts and crafts and other activities.
The address is 40 Lennon Parkway, Derrimut.
Hope to see some of you there.
Chicky Pea
04-08-2011, 13:48
Hi everyone!! :wave:
I'm 33 and live in Kingsville :) We've been over here for about 9 months now. I used to live in Elwood until we got evicted when my DD was about 8 weeks old because they wanted to increase the rent to an amount they knew we couldn't afford. C&^%s! It was a blessing in disguise really because we love it over here. What you can afford compared to Elwood is crazy! We have a 3 bedroom place with a backyard, walk to cafes and a bit left over, compared to a pokey 2 bedroom apartment... love it! And SO many families over here it's sort of nuts....
Anyway, glad I found this group and look forward to doing a bit of chatting with you all.... :yes:
I am also new to bubhub and have been here in Point Cook for about 3 months, still finding my way round! I have a 2 yr old and a baby due in about 3 weeks. I have met some other lovely mums in the area and they have started "Point Cook Hubbers" on facebook for anyone in the area and surrounding suburbs. Would be great to meet others and have play dates for the little ones!
sweetppod
14-08-2011, 11:40
I am also new to bubhub and have been here in Point Cook for about 3 months, still finding my way round! I have a 2 yr old and a baby due in about 3 weeks. I have met some other lovely mums in the area and they have started "Point Cook Hubbers" on facebook for anyone in the area and surrounding suburbs. Would be great to meet others and have play dates for the little ones!
Hi rachmc,
I tried to find the FB page but it wouldn't show up, can you send me a link or something? Thanks. x
Hi rachmc,
I tried to find the FB page but it wouldn't show up, can you send me a link or something? Thanks. x
Hi sweetppod,
try the link http://www.facebook.com/groups/223311304380737/ or hopefully it should come up under a search for Point Cook Hubbers
Look forward to chatting to you :)
ivyfang1229
21-10-2011, 13:22
hey there, you are not far from us, ,I think. we are in sunbury, just moved here month ago, our son is 4y old. :hyper:
pyebaby1
02-11-2011, 15:09
Hi, I have not long moved over here to melton, I am orginally from the eastern side therefore I do not have any friends over here and would really like to get to know some people. I am 22 weeks pregnant and I am due on March 3 2012, I can not wait until my little bundle of joy arrives.. Hope there are some people out there who would like to be my friend, I am a very easy going person and love a great chat...
Cheers Pyebaby1
jennarae
05-11-2011, 21:28
Hi there me and my lil family moved to point cook a few months ago I have a 6 month old lil girl have met some nice mums but am always looking to make new friends for me and buba enjoy getting out and about so let me know if u would like to meet up XX
pyebaby1
07-11-2011, 11:52
Hi, Jennarae
Yeah would be lovely to meet new people, would be lovely to meet you and bubs, I am as you know 23 weeks pregnant so not a little one around quite yet but not long now.... Hope to talk soon ....
jennarae
08-11-2011, 14:42
Hi, Jennarae
Yeah would be lovely to meet new people, would be lovely to meet you and bubs, I am as you know 23 weeks pregnant so not a little one around quite yet but not long now.... Hope to talk soon ....
Hey been in Australia a few months now (frm NZ) and have learnt fast how big Melbourne is and living on one side of the city makes it very hard to catch up with friends who live on the other side.. Its like living in another town.. we have friends here we havent even been able to catch up with yet cos they live east.. new how would love to meet up sometime congrats on becomen a new muma xxooxx
:smiliedance::babydust1::smiliedance:
ShaeSophie
31-01-2012, 22:59
I am new to this and don't really know how it works but looking to meet new mums/mums 2 be that are around the age of 20. I have a beautiful 5 and a half month old baby girl and would like to get out of the house more then what I do now.
I'm kind of shy when I first meet some one but I think I'm pretty easy to get along with :-)
Mrs Leto
12-02-2012, 20:07
Hi, I have just come across this thread. I am 31 and have a nearly 9 month old DS, I am originally from England and have been living in Melton for just over a year. I do not know anyone that is not DH's family and I am keen to meet up with other mums/mums to be that are close by.
I don't want this to sound like a lonely hearts ad so I'll leave it here for now, I'm looking forward to hearing from you :)
jonnysmama
14-02-2012, 19:23
I'm in Hillside if anyone's near by and wants to have a coffee out hi for a walk. I'm 26 and have a 10 month old DS.
Sent from my GT-I9000 using BubHub
bubbaboo10
22-02-2012, 13:38
Im from Hillside and would love to get to know some other mums. I have an 18 month old DD.
willowmay
23-02-2012, 08:15
hey we live in epping (about half an hour away) and my little girl is 20 months we would love to catch up! if you want you can pm me :)
Mummabearto2
16-03-2012, 21:28
I'm 32 and live in Keilor Downs. I have a DS 3.5 and a DD 8 months. Would love to meet some other Mums in the area for a coffee or a chat if anyone is interested :)
Russian Netting
21-03-2012, 13:55
DF and I are looking for another couple with children around the same age as our DD 9 mths to become friends with!
I've just started taking my DD to occasional care and she's the youngest one there. It really hit home that I'd love for her to have friends her own age and DF and I would love to make some new friends also.
So please don't be shy sending me a message!
Oh, we're in Hillside :)
bubbaboo10
22-03-2012, 12:18
DF and I are looking for another couple with children around the same age as our DD 9 mths to become friends with!
I've just started taking my DD to occasional care and she's the youngest one there. It really hit home that I'd love for her to have friends her own age and DF and I would love to make some new friends also.
So please don't be shy sending me a message!
Oh, we're in Hillside :)
Im in Hillside too, would like to meet up. My DD is 20 months though.
I'm 25 and pregnant with my first due April 11. Would love to meet some mummy's..
I'm in sunbury
Russian Netting
22-03-2012, 12:38
Im in Hillside too, would like to meet up. My DD is 20 months though.
20 months is fine! I'll pm you my email to add to fb?
If anyone else would like to make a new friend, let me know and I'll add you too :)
Russian Netting
22-03-2012, 12:41
I'm 25 and pregnant with my first due April 11. Would love to meet some mummy's..
I'm in sunbury
Sunbury isn't far at all..and neither is your due date! How exciting!
bubbaboo10
24-03-2012, 12:21
20 months is fine! I'll pm you my email to add to fb?
If anyone else would like to make a new friend, let me know and I'll add you too :)
sounds good, im on facebook.
Russian Netting
24-03-2012, 17:50
Can't send you my email via pm..saying you don't allow private messages?
Sunbury isn't far at all..and neither is your due date! How exciting!
Nope not at all...
Everyone keeps asking if I'm excited/nervous/scared but I'm like no.... I'm over all that I'm just ready for him too be out...
It's a boy named Cohen :)
Russian Netting
25-03-2012, 10:07
Nope not at all...
Everyone keeps asking if I'm excited/nervous/scared but I'm like no.... I'm over all that I'm just ready for him too be out...
It's a boy named Cohen :)
I think almost every woman gets like that...at the end of mine, I didn't really even care anymore (sounds harsh, I know)
And what a nice name, too :)
hey all :)
my partner and i are both 29yrs old, live in west footscray. ive lived in melbourne for a year now, moved from NSW,
hes been in melbourne his whole life..
i am 34 weeks pregnant this week, first child due june 14th.
i dont know the gender as its been stubborn every scan, either legs are too close or its upside down :) i have my 34-35week scan 7th may so maybe it will co-operate :)
would love to get to know other mums/parents in the area
another thread crasher here! :D
im a 23 year old mum, with a 3 year old girl, living in st albans.
i need to talk to other parents or my brain is going to melt into a puddle on the floor. would love to get to know other westie parents and chat!
hey :)
ive been in melb for a year now and dont really know anyone, id be happy to get to know you and chat :) first time mum also.
actually looking at moving to st albans in july/august
I don't live far from you!
willowmay
03-05-2012, 09:39
Hey to the st albans folks! we live in epping so its about a half an hour drive away. I am 24 and i have a nearly 2 year old little girl! we would love to chat to you guys! we are super friendly :)
WhiteTulips
14-05-2012, 14:21
Hey all! I'm about 5-10mins away from St Albans...I'm near Taylors Lakes. I'm 24 (25 soon...eep!) and have a 10mth old DD. Would like to make some new friends! :wave: