View Full Version : Parents' Rooms: The Good, The Bad and the Stinky
bheditor
28-01-2011, 09:54
I just came across a thread in the main forum about a neglected parents room - with overflowing bins full of dirty nappies. Ew. :eek:
One reply caught my attention ...
maybe bubhub could set up a parents room register or something
that we could vote give reviews on our local rooms would be great if this could then be published in the local newspapers
What a great idea!
How can we rate these rooms. Everyone list a parents room they think is well below par.
Maybe we could give them star rating?
Or maybe a list of things parents room should have and then grade them on that.
eg.
comfortable chair for feeding
clean change facilities
microwave
areas for privacy
toilet that fits a pram
easy access
doors that can't be opened by toddlers
etc etc
What do you think?
It could be a national register and those who get an 'F' will have to sort themselves out!!
TripleTime
28-01-2011, 09:57
A star rating out of 5 sounds good.
Ease of access for Charlestown square in Newcastle gets a 0 from me & Westfield Kotara gets a 5 for everything.
Guest1234
28-01-2011, 10:00
I reckon a star rating and a review :)
bheditor
28-01-2011, 10:02
I reckon a star rating and a review :)
So a general rating out of 5? or 10?
And then a review saying why ... touching on all the things a good parents room should have...?
Just*Ace
28-01-2011, 10:06
Such a good idea! I would definitly write a review on some good and bad ones I've seen!
Daydream Believer
28-01-2011, 10:07
Great!!!! Can I review one now?
Stockland Rockhampton is the best I've seen.
As well as feeding chairs throughout, there are 4 private rooms with locking doors,vaircon, tv, play thing on the wall for older child, comfy chair and enough room for a trolley.
The whole this is Clean, there's a microwave, wipes provided in a 'warmer', gated play area, change table paper. 5 stars for everything (actually, 6)
Stockland Gladstone is the same, but much smaller and sometimes the bins are too full. I'd give it 4 stars :)
Great thread!
TripleTime
28-01-2011, 10:07
And then a review saying why ... touching on all the things a good parents room should have...?
Out of 5, 10 makes it to hard & a review.
Little-Pink-Hen
28-01-2011, 10:11
I would love to see parents rooms to be semi split so if you choose to feed in it doesn't feel like your feeding your baby in a toilet. I love ikea's idea that have two rooms, change rooms and a feeding room that are separated rooms
The state of parents rooms is the reason I quickly choose to bf in the main food court instead.
Def pram friendly and soap dispensers I can't believe how many I've been to without hand washing facilities :confused:
Paper towel or reusable towels some toddlers are terrified of hand dryers
Bins close to the change bench
Guest1234
28-01-2011, 10:12
5 star, easier to understand, as with 10 it gets too complicated.
With 5 stars, 1 is poor, 3 is average, and 5 is excellent. With 10 stars, 1 is poor, 5 is average and 10 is excellent, there is too much in between poor-average-excellent and can then get too confusing. So definately 5 star :D
All I can say is what parent rooms,
no such thing as parents rooms in my town :(
A rating system would be a good idea though, help parents knowwhat to expect in a room.
I think it was Erina near Riot and chemist baby room & gosford town centre (which is closed now anyways) that doesnt have electric doors..any baby rooms with a push/pull door is ridiculous especially when you have a double/tandem pram or toddlers as well as a pram it is useless, unmanageable and really hard on parents.
Just*Ace
28-01-2011, 10:28
ABA have something similar on their website, but it only gives a star rating.
http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/products/babycare.asp
The Baby Care Room symbol is awarded to a premises with:
a convenient, quiet place to feed in privacy
comfortable seating (armchair style is preferable)
cleanliness
somewhere safe and clean to change nappies
hot and cold water and hand drying facilities
waste disposal
a smoke free zone
no advertising of artificial formula or toddler follow-on formula
preferably access for fathers who need to care for infants without interfering with the privacy of breastfeeding women
Other features that are highly desirable to consider during the design of a baby change and feeding facility include:
easy pram (stroller) access, including twin prams
doors should be light to push and have the ability to be propped open for pram access, but not automatic
the room should be clearly marked and easy to find
food preparation area separate to nappy change area, with bottle warming facilities
hot water thermostat regulator on taps
change bench within arms reach of taps so baby can remain attended
dispenser machine to buy disposable nappies
dispenser machine for paper cups
toddler toilet with low mirror, low wash basin with automatic cut off taps, no automatic hand drying facilities and a door able to be pushed open from the inside
bheditor
28-01-2011, 10:33
Paper towel or reusable towels some toddlers are terrified of hand dryers
Bins close to the change bench
So true!
I was wondering the other day why all the toilets have hand dryers in them. Like you said, toddlers would be scared but also what if your baby is sleeping in the pram? So dumb
Df and I went to the mcg the other day for the Twenty20 and df was good enough to take ds to change his nappy.
He asked a mcg staff member who pointed him to the other side of the ground. Ok.. so he goes on over to the what is mens room with a small change table right next to the urinals.. grosss!!!
DF being grossed out by the situation remembers there is a unisex change room next to an entrance where our football memberships are, changes ds comes back and then right near the entrance where he asked the orignal guy for the nearest change room.... is a bl00dy change room. JEEEEZZZZ
So a good knowledge from staff where change rooms are would be nice so you don't have to lug a 2 year old toddler halfway around the MCG. hehe
bheditor
28-01-2011, 10:35
All I can say is what parent rooms,
no such thing as parents rooms in my town :(
A rating system would be a good idea though, help parents knowwhat to expect in a room.
hi Nemmi! :wave:
You might want to check out another of our Bub Hub army threads ...
What can we do to get change/feeding facilities in rural towns? http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=389310
We'd love your input!:yes:
bheditor
28-01-2011, 10:40
OK - so a star rating out of 5
:cheerleader2: - EXTREMELY POOR
:cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: - POOR
:cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2: - AVERAGE
:cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: - GOOD
:cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2: - EXCELLENT
Maybe we should do a wish list too ..
eg. an excellent parents room should have:
etc
etc
Pajamarama
28-01-2011, 10:42
A star rating out of 5 sounds good.
Ease of access for Charlestown square in Newcastle gets a 0 from me & Westfield Kotara gets a 5 for everything.
:iagree: 100%! Those stupid rocking chairs in Charlestown annoy the cr@p out of me too. and wasn't impressed when I went in one day and a staff member was hogging the microwave heating up her lunch while my son screamed for a bottle. Or with the filthy look she gave me when I asked her to move aside as it was a parents room not staff room. :angryfists:
I rate Myer Charlestown about a 3.5 star, although I was a little concerned one day when I went in there was a swarm of bees inside! But to their credit when I alerted a staff member some of the maintenance team came & shut it down immediately and fixed the problem.
Penrith Westfield old & new sections both get a 4.5 star from me. Love that the old section has an automatic door on the parent/child toilet and toilet is nice & roomy, easier when manoeuvring a big pram. :yelclap:
EPIC FAIL 0 star :shame: to Cardiff Marketplace when I was there a couple of months ago. There is no signage to even indicate it's there and it is an empty stall with a single green plastic garden chair, no bins at all let alone for nappies, no microwave and no soap to wash my hands.
Are You For Real? award :cantbelieveit: goes to to Mt Hutton for having lounge chairs bolted to the floor (hmmmm let me just slip this in my bra & sneak out :laughing:)
Great idea. Definitely a rating out of 5.
Other considerations (i may be doubling up on some of these - i can't remember what i read!!)
* A play/tv area for older children
* Private breastfeeding areas that can be locked (i don't really like having other children opening the curtain to see what i am doing - thus exposing my boobie to the entire parents room!!)
* Shouldn't have the change table and nappy bin in a breastfeeding room (The Glen has some old Parents rooms set up like this and they STINK!!)
* Definitely agree that parents rooms should have paper towels
It would be nice if some breastfeeding rooms had an additional footstool/seat for Dads to sit on!! But that's probably just wishful thinking!
Off topic - but i get so frustrated sitting in the parent's room when a parade of people (generally older women) traipse in to use the toilets in there!! I just don't understand why?? :confused: I was sitting in a breastfeeding area in David Jones and this group of older women came in, each of them took turns using the toilet, they had a ***** session and then walked into the breastfeeding area and kept saying 'Is anyone in here'?? Hmmm...as if i am going to answer you... Sorry, bit off topic but i had to have a mini vent!!
bheditor
28-01-2011, 10:52
OK -
We've just had a bit of a think about this and it might be a bit much to do an exhaustive list of Parents Room on our site ... it would need to be regularly updated and maintained and it may not be that useful in the long run.
What we need to do is think of the rooms that need to be fixed!!!
So now I am thinking that maybe we should reduce the list to just three things ...
1. The worst parents rooms in Australia
2. The best parents room in Australia
3. Places where there are no parents room and there should be!
Does that make sense.
If we can identify Australia's worst parents room - as voted by BH members then we might be able to get them to fix them up! No one would want to be on that list.
Also - we can't be all negative. We need to highlight those that are outstanding. They need to be held up high so that all others know what a good parents room should look like...
So Logan Hyperdome is on the list right?
Pajamarama
28-01-2011, 10:55
Oh and Westfield Tuggerah gets a
:cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2: :cheerleader1: :cheerleader2:
from me! They are huuuuuuge and well stocked and love the added touch of padded change mats on each section of the change bench
kochanski
28-01-2011, 11:01
Enough room for a pram in the feeding cubicle, and able to close the curtain/door behind it!! The parent room in Sydney Central is neat and tidy, but so small that you can barely get in and out of either feeding room and definitely can't close the door, plus the door to the parent room is clear glass so anyone walking past can see you if they peek in.
Parents rooms near foodcourts also need to be cleaned/deodorised more often. The parent room near the foodcourt at Macquarie smelled disgusting the one time I went in and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while.
Parramatta Westfield gets a thumbs down for me, one room didn't exist where the map said it did, another was very difficult to find and quite poky! For such a large and central shopping centre there was a severe lack of parent facilities.
Always been happy with Hornsby Westfield and most of Chatswood Westfield (Chatswood Chase is falling behind though).
lealea79
28-01-2011, 11:05
Something that annoys me is at the theme parks in qld the change rooms are ok, they even have a microwave. But I hate how there is no toilet in change rooms, am I just too leave ds outside? So after I change ds I use the disabled toilet so ds is still safe with me.
lealea79
28-01-2011, 11:09
capalaba central is not easy to get into as it has a push pull door, but once you fight with the door its ok inside.
capalaba park is great, it does have the lounge in the nappy area though. It also has a gated play room for little ones so you can also sit in the play area and feed bub if you have other kids.
Misschief
28-01-2011, 11:28
Perhaps devide this into states and regions? Otherwise it might become a bit messy as not everyone lives in the same town/city/state lol.
Ie: South NSW, Western NSW, Sydney, Hunter Valley, Mid North Coast, North Coast, the tweed, etc.
OR only devide them into states.
bheditor
28-01-2011, 11:32
Perhaps devide this into states and regions? Otherwise it might become a bit messy as not everyone lives in the same town/city/state lol.
Ie: South NSW, Western NSW, Sydney, Hunter Valley, Mid North Coast, North Coast, the tweed, etc.
OR only devide them into states.
Good idea!
OK - how about we find the FIVE worst parents rooms in each state!! And the five best!
Nominate the best and worst one you've seen!!
3boysNAprincess
28-01-2011, 11:35
Out of five great idea
Just*Ace
28-01-2011, 11:38
My worst ones for NSW
Plumpton marketplace: no curtain or door on feeding area, stinky bin with no lid next to feeding area, hard plastic chair
Darling Harbour shops: no feeding area, no chair, no electric door
Best one I've been in
Penrith Westfield: comfy feeding chairs, curtains for feeding areas, usually clean, good size
Robina Town Centre in QLD has THE BEST parents rooms I have ever come across. Lounges, play ground, heaps of change tables, toilet with junior toilet, deep basins incase of nappy incidents, microwaves, bottle warmers, high chairs, private feeding rooms, heaps of big nappy bins, vending machines with bottles, formula, baby food, dummies, wipes, nappies.
So great!
Definitely 5 stars!
narribri
28-01-2011, 11:45
Best I've seen in WA
Westfield Carousel - private breastfeeding area separate from the changing tables, fenced toddler areas, nappy bins in smell-proof cupboards, nice big toilets and breastfeeding cubicles to fit a pram in, comfy chairs and pretty lights that keep my baby distracted (and stop her sleeping. Is that a positive or negative?)
Worst
Garden City - stinky, horrid plastic chairs with no privacy for feeding, dirty, only one change station and one feeding chair for the entire centre.
Love this idea!
overitand36
28-01-2011, 11:49
WOW can't believe one of my suggestions was actually taken seriously
thanks guys
Misschief
28-01-2011, 11:52
NSW Worst: Palm Center shopping center in Coffs Harbour.
Tiny (Doesn't even fit just 1 pram or trolley in there).
Only has 2 hard plastic chairs to feed on
NO privacy curtains/doors
No microwave for bottles
No play area for siblings
Only 2 spots on the counter to change bubs
Bins are always overflowing
Always stinks horrible
Hard to access.
All the way at the back of a long hallway. Kids would wet their pants before they reach the parents room :rolleyes:
No toilet and sink for the little ones who are toilet trained.
NSW Best: Toormina Shopping Center. They recently renovated this center and made a fabulous parents room that we didn't have pre-renovation.
Its got
3 Booths with curtains to BF
A counter with 4 spots to change bubs
Each spot has their own big sink.
A great play corner with fencing so the kids cant escape while their siblings are being taken care of by their parents.
A big toilet for adults
A small toilet for the little kids who are toilet trained.
A special sink that's positioned lower for the kids to wash their hand as well.
An always working microwave lol!
Though if I have more time to think, I can probably come up with an even worse parentsroom than the one mentioned above :D
bheditor
28-01-2011, 12:05
I guess I should add some too! These are for Queensland.
My favourite is at Westfield Carindale.
Big open area with heaps of lounges but also a couple of screened/curtained off areas ...
Two big toilets
Lots of change tables,
Microwave
tv
toddler play area
nice leather lounges and carpet.
Very much like a lounge room rather than a bathroom!
The worst is at
Mt Gravatt Plaza ... just a dirty mat near a toilet. ew.
MagicalLeopluradon
28-01-2011, 12:16
Sounds great! I would definitely write some reviews.
bheditor
28-01-2011, 12:37
Sounds great! I would definitely write some reviews.
Excellent.
So what would be your pick for Best and Worst in Qld?
TripleTime
28-01-2011, 12:47
:iagree: 100%! Those stupid rocking chairs in Charlestown annoy the cr@p out of me too. and wasn't impressed when I went in one day and a staff member was hogging the microwave heating up her lunch while my son screamed for a bottle. Or with the filthy look she gave me when I asked her to
move aside as it was a parents room not staff room.
I rate Myer Charlestown about a 3.5 star, although I was a little concerned one day when I went in there was a swarm of bees inside! But to their credit when I alerted a staff member some of the maintenance team came & shut it down immediately and fixed the problem.
Penrith Westfield old & new sections both get a 4.5 star from me. Love that the old section has an automatic door on the parent/child toilet and toilet is nice & roomy, easier when manoeuvring a big pram. :yelclap:
EPIC FAIL 0 star :shame: to Cardiff Marketplace when I was there a couple of months ago. There is no signage to even indicate it's there and it is an empty stall with a single green plastic garden chair, no bins at all let alone for nappies, no microwave and no soap to wash my hands.
Are You For Real? award :cantbelieveit: goes to to Mt Hutton for having lounge chairs bolted to the floor (hmmmm let me just slip this in my bra & sneak out :laughing:)
I haven't been the parents rooms at charlestown, our double pram doesn't fit through the door let alone the triple.
Mount Hutton sounds like market town.
sammyplus3
28-01-2011, 12:50
i think all parents rooms should have a toddler toilet and an adult toilet
sammyplus3
28-01-2011, 13:16
Perth Worst- belmont shopping centre near the food court always smells the carpet is gross the toilet is for kids only and is a half door. always have to use the disabled toilets for me and kids cos if 1 needs to go we all generally need to go
Belmonts 2nd baby room isnt that much better it has 2 toilets but the kids one is behind a partition and the adults one is next to that there is no room for a pram in the loo and it also smells
Perths best that i have been too is the one at Myer in the city it is huge large lounge suites i think there is 2 toilets plenty of room only down fall is that its always so busy as im sure its the only decent one in the city often whole families are sitting in there
do these shopping centres consult with mums or builders?? cos some of these change rooms are seriously stupid the galleria one down stairs is so poky it has a double toilet but u are fighting traffic at change table to get to the toilets and they only have 2 feeding tiny cubicals
In general my BIGGEST complaint about parents rooms is the majority I've found have feeding chairs that don't accommodate feeding an older baby/toddler, they are restrictive in width.
Also the noise factor needs to be looked into maybe having separate small rooms for feeding since some young babies hate loud noises and some older ones are so easily distracted it can be hard to get them to feed.
Seacretsquirrel
28-01-2011, 14:13
have to 2nd the one at Carindale (Qld) I loved that it was HUGE! and had cold water spouts in the sinks too so you could fill kids (and grownup) water bottle with nice cold water rather than luke warm tap water!
As for us in the NT - I must say although they have upgraded the ones at Casuarina so they at least look kinda nice they are still so tiny - you cannot get a pram into the toilet cubical - which means leaving the door open or your child in the room unattended :eek: one of them does have a toddler toilet and adult one in the same cubical though the size is not much bigger than a standard single adult cubical so no room to swing a cat! so basically they get a :cheerleader1::cheerleader2: (they only get the 2nd one for at least making an effort to make them a bit better than the grungy horrible places they had before!)
kymberly
28-01-2011, 14:34
Ok I love getting around different shops trying to scout out bargains!! Westfield Chermside has plenty to chose from but some are just too small.... Best choice there is the one in the food court area, absolutely huge with all the things you need (ESP the closed off sections for us new mummies trying to learn breastfeeding without being couped up at home :-) )
My local one at North lakes Westfield also has fantastic choices but my favorite is near the woolworthes entrance! I practically lived in that one learning to breastfeed DS 7mths ago!
Worst would be a fancy restaurant we visited in Sydney! There wasn't even a fold down change table and I had to try and change bubby ontop of a closed toilet seat ewwwwwwww Won't mention their name but it was in darling harbour!
Misschief
28-01-2011, 14:55
I agree with the noise bit. Have you ever tried to breastfeed a newborn with Metallica blaring loudly out of the speakers??? :rolleyes:
Oh and there's one parents room here in Park Beach Plaza that is very small, which is odd as it's one of the biggest shopping center here on the north coast. Yet the size isn't the biggest problem. Its freezing cold in there!!! I dont know why, but oh my gosh! Every time I went in there to breastfeed DS as a newborn, I would have to make sure DS had socks on and a blanket to wrap him in while feeding. This was midsummer by the way. I had to take a cardigan along when I went shopping there, knowing I'd need it in the parents room.
I wonder if they turn the temp down to slow down the spread of the stink of full bins:confused:
zombiekitty
28-01-2011, 15:17
I guess I should add some too! These are for Queensland.
My favourite is at Westfield Carindale.
Big open area with heaps of lounges but also a couple of screened/curtained off areas ...
Two big toilets
Lots of change tables,
Microwave
tv
toddler play area
nice leather lounges and carpet.
Very much like a lounge room rather than a bathroom!
The worst is at
Mt Gravatt Plaza ... just a dirty mat near a toilet. ew.
I agree with both of these!
Little-Pink-Hen
28-01-2011, 17:49
Robina Town Centre in QLD has THE BEST parents rooms I have ever come across. Lounges, play ground, heaps of change tables, toilet with junior toilet, deep basins incase of nappy incidents, microwaves, bottle warmers, high chairs, private feeding rooms, heaps of big nappy bins, vending machines with bottles, formula, baby food, dummies, wipes, nappies.
So great!
Definitely 5 stars!
Omg that's awesome and I never went into when I went there lol
Little-Pink-Hen
28-01-2011, 17:56
My worst in our area is MacArthur square in the food court
Has two section of areas right near door and two change benches that sideways so not easy unless your used to that. No soap at all and the basin and bins are not close to the change mats
Another one is center point food court you can't even get a pram in there at all so dh had to take the pram while I took dd in
Best hhhmmm :confused: I do like the food court in Campbelltown mall I think that's always been clean and friendly when you go in
Little-Pink-Hen
28-01-2011, 18:02
Worse ones sorry I've used is taronga zoo (which I'm going to on Sunday )
It's just one of those ridiculous fold down ones in a disabled toilet. They have never felt they support dd weight since she was 5 months old and she was on the 3rd % weight band their so a tiny baby :confused:
Becstars
28-01-2011, 18:32
In our local area the australian breastfeeding association has provided a star rating and put a certificate in each of the parents rooms at the shopping centre.
In addition they talked to the retailers and got those on board who were willing to be breastfeeding friendly locations, the council then produced a brochure for the local area listing parents rooms in the community and their rating, and also listed breastfeeding friendly locations...
I know everywhere is techinically a breastfeeding friendly location as we are free to do it anywhere..but the cafes who particularly welcomed mums and bubs were happy to get on board...:cheerleader1:
MELBOURNE:
Chadstone: (best) near Lindt Chocolate cafe. Has heaps of change tables. Never smells. 2 lovely couches. An adjoining toilet. Then an enclosed area containing toys, tv and kids chairs and tables & 2 cubicles for breastfeeding (so nice to have your children contained whilst you're breastfeeding, so many areas dont)
(second best) Myer: has heaps of couches, change areas & play things for kids, but only 1 private breastfeeding room. Only downside is it doesn't have a toilet connected directly to the change room.
Southland: (best) David Jones. Has lots of couches and tables & chairs for the kids, is well away from people who might walk in (which is just as well as no private breastfeeding areas) & an adjoining toilet.
WORST: Anywhere in Ireland, dont go there to breastfeed and if you dare do it in public you'll be stared into the ground by non-well meaning old busybodies!!!:laughing:
Crazyfamily
29-01-2011, 15:34
i live in Ipswich, qld. My local shopping centre is booval fair. They have a terrible change room. I cant say anything positive about it. You would be better off changing your child on the backseat of your car. Management has been approached but say there is nothing they can do ad they have no space to provide better. i actually avoid the centre as much as possible.
Worst
* Melbourne Airport Virgin Blue Terminal is the worst i have come across. It was dirty, nappy bins overflowing, no where to feed, only had those pull down nappy change stations, filthy looking sink (i just used my hand sanitiser!) and it was just GROSS!! Definitely will never change DD there again.
* The Glen near the Centre Management office. The breastfeeding rooms have a proper door so you have complete privacy. But you share it with a pull down nappy change station and a nappy bin so it STINKS! It's a shame cause all of the other rooms are fairly good.
Best -
* Knox change rooms aren't too bad. They are always clean and are fairly well set up. The one up near Riot has a contained play area and a TV as well.
* Myer Bourke St - this has recently been done up so is quite nice. It has two lockable breastfeeding sections, a children's toilet, couches, clean change facilities. Only bad part was that the general public just kept walking in and using the toilet.
Von Zipper
30-01-2011, 07:20
I am in SA. The best I have seen:
Westfield Elizabeth - has two very well equipped parents rooms. Automatic doors, microwave, breast feeding rooms with privacy curtains, parent/child toilets, toddler sinks, games for toddlers, nice, bright murals on the walls, generally clean and non-smelly, though the feeding chairs could do with a steam clean.
Intermediate:
Adelaide Airport - very small, only one pull down change tables, two large toilet cubicles, but no toddler toilet. No breastfeeding area. Clean, though.
Women's & Children's Hospital - for a hospital that has a lot of babies through the doors, there is only shared disabled toilet/pull down change tables and no where (that I have seen) the breastfeed
Worst:
Port Wakefield BP - shared with disabled toilet, but the pull down change table doesn't support much weight. Almost had DS go crashing to the floor. I need DF to hold it up so I can change him!
Hannahly
30-01-2011, 07:34
Worse ones sorry I've used is taronga zoo (which I'm going to on Sunday )
It's just one of those ridiculous fold down ones in a disabled toilet. They have never felt they support dd weight since she was 5 months old and she was on the 3rd % weight band their so a tiny baby :confused:
Yes that is shocking there. You are either lining up to use the disabled toilet one or in the way of others using the female toilets. Hideous. Taronga Zoo on a whole fails for me. Dodgy expensive food and lack of child areas. Worst zoo in oz
iLOVEthree
30-01-2011, 07:58
I have used many and my worst experience was at Colonnades SA. I was changing DD's nappy and whilst covered, literally, in poo DS was let out by a staff worker who used the toilet because it was closer than the ladies. For the next 5 minutes after that was torture... turns out he was hiding under a chair in the change room. He thought he'd be funny. It wasn't & he now does not hide.
However, the staff shouldn't use the baby change room toilets!
Perth
Best - Westfield Carousel and Park Centre Vic Park.
Park Centre is small but it is very clean and private.
Worst - Ikea (stank and I thought that was where you fed as well but after reading a previous post maybe they have a different feding room but I don't think so). I'm not keen on Myer, yes it is BIG but it didn't feel very clean. David Jones - I had to leave my pram out and again it didn't feel very clean.
Electric Boogaloo
30-01-2011, 11:25
I'm in Adelaide, and I've only ever used 2 parents rooms here.
David Jones in the city is excellent - it's clean, has big couches, microwave, change tables, sink, separate toilet, a closed-off play area for toddlers, and separate BFing rooms with their own change tables, sinks, lockable doors and 2 chairs (so hubby could sit with us too)
Myer Tea Tree Plaza (through Miss Shop) was okay but it isn't even really a room, it's basically the end of a big corridor. It has a microwave and sink. There's a toilet big enough to get a pram into - although when I was there a staff member went in there to use it, and it's directly opposite the couch where I was breastfeeding so I didn't feel very private. The couches were both really dirty. Bit of a mixed bag really.
Intermediate:
Adelaide Airport - very small, only one pull down change tables, two large toilet cubicles, but no toddler toilet. No breastfeeding area. Clean, though.
The breastfeeding area is inside the female toilets - it's a room off the side, not in the actual toilets but you have to enter the female toilet door.
ETA just realised I have used three parents rooms, including the one at the airport!
Mum2One Bub
30-01-2011, 22:25
WA - Joondalup Lakeside has fairly decent facilities but is located at the back of the food court, so you have to fight throught the crowds in busy times to get there
The Shops @ Ellenbrook - clean and modern and easy to get to - oh and they have alcohol gel on a wall dispenser, nice touch!
Myer Perth - spacious but the toilet in the parent's room seems to have been out of order for at least a year! Unless it's been fixed in the last month or so!
I hate ones without a family toilet, I feel awful having to use a disabled toilet in case there is a person who needs to use it but you have no choice! And also hate fold down change tables and they never seem to have the weight rating visible....I assume they're safe but kind of end up propping it up or having a death grip on DS while I do it....sometimes it's easier to just change him in the car boot before we head home loL! ;)
TheUndomesticGoddess
31-01-2011, 08:37
QLD (Brisbane)Best
Westfield Chermside (near the original eatery) is the best one there, the worst would be the really tiny parents room near Target in the same shopping centre.
QLD (Brisbane)Worst
The small shopping centre at Wynnum Central (sorry, can't recall proper name) it's on the corner of Bay Terrace and Charlotte (?) Street. It has a disabled toilet that has a baby change table in it...the whole room STINKS, the toilet runs constantly, It's appaling. I was even apologising to my 2 month old bub at the time for the conditions he was in!!!
MummyLip
31-01-2011, 09:34
[QUOTE=bgbgbb;5548445]MELBOURNE:
Southland: (best) David Jones. Has lots of couches and tables & chairs for the kids, is well away from people who might walk in (which is just as well as no private breastfeeding areas) & an adjoining toilet.
I AGREE DJ's has nice couches and it is a pleasant feeding room. :cheerleader2::cheerleader2::cheerleader2::cheerle ader2:
Southland near entrance of Priceline not so great as it only has one breastfeeding cubicle and no toilets for toddlers.
:cheerleader1::cheerleader1:
FRANKSTON, Victoria shopping centre BAYSIDE there are some shockers there. Near Gloria Jeans has two feeding areas and good toilets facilities but it is never very clean always smells like pooey nappies eek!!!
:cheerleader1::cheerleader1:
KMART Frankston have put in a really nice feeding room but I haven't used it yet but at least it is clean and colourful
NSW - Westfield, Miranda 5 stars. Always feel clean, couches, private feeding areas, tv, microwave, gated play area, big sinks, free disposable change mats, toilets that fit prams in. They also have two "stroller friendly" toilets in a couple of the female toilets too.
David jones (in Miranda) however is awfull, the "change tables" are just benches, there's no facilities & the toilet smells.
David Jones Garden City (QLD) is always stinky every time I go in there! Yuk! I always have to take the used nappy home because the nappy bins are overflowing. And the sink in the toilet part looks like it's falling apart.
noniwaldron
01-02-2011, 20:21
Ok I love getting around different shops trying to scout out bargains!! Westfield Chermside has plenty to chose from but some are just too small.... Best choice there is the one in the food court area, absolutely huge with all the things you need (ESP the closed off sections for us new mummies trying to learn breastfeeding without being couped up at home :-) )
My local one at North lakes Westfield also has fantastic choices but my favorite is near the woolworthes entrance! I practically lived in that one learning to breastfeed DS 7mths ago!
Worst would be a fancy restaurant we visited in Sydney! There wasn't even a fold down change table and I had to try and change bubby ontop of a closed toilet seat ewwwwwwww Won't mention their name but it was in darling harbour!
ha! yes i have had to do that before, change bub on a toilet seat at Hogs Breath in dubbo. AND it was a gigantic poo-through situation, not just a simple wee or anything! hilarious looking back now, but at the time i was very annoyed. not even a flip down change table?! come on people
trishalishous
01-02-2011, 22:20
ALBANY WA,
Albany Plaza parents room
Cleanliness - generally great 4/5
Privacy - great, separate feeding area 5/5
Microwave is nice and clean 5/5
Large toilet for prams, with extra loo for little bums
overall 4/5
improvement needed - comfier feeding chairs (currently garden.outdoors chairs)
Brooks garden
Cleanliness - generally great 4/5
Privacy - ok, separate feeding area with comfy chairs, but no doors/curtains for privacy from main area 3/5
Microwave none 0 /5
Large toilet for prams, with extra loo for little bums
overall 3/5
improvement needed - curtains over feeding areas, so more than one family can use the facilities at once
trishalishous
01-02-2011, 22:29
Perth
Best - Westfield Carousel and Park Centre Vic Park.
Park Centre is small but it is very clean and private.
Worst - Ikea (stank and I thought that was where you fed as well but after reading a previous post maybe they have a different feding room but I don't think so). I'm not keen on Myer, yes it is BIG but it didn't feel very clean. David Jones - I had to leave my pram out and again it didn't feel very clean.
In Ikea, if you go out to the checkouts and use that parents room, its HEAPS cleaner!
Also the PR in carousel near the food courts is usually busy, but the other one is fine!
Riverton forum is good too :)
Morley Galleria has broken aircon, last time I was in there it was so hot, I couldnt feed, just quickly changed DD and sat in the food court.
MagicalLeopluradon
02-02-2011, 06:52
I agree with you, I loveeeeee Carindale change rooms, both of them actually....great big open areas, in fact one time a few of my BH friends and I sat down and played with the kiddies in there! Also Ikea has a pretty good change room!
WORST would be Hyperdome change room, near Kmart blerghhh so tiny and the bins always reek so gross.
Excellent.
So what would be your pick for Best and Worst in Qld?
AndrewTheEmu
04-02-2011, 14:02
Im with tripletime on westfield kotara *3 thumbs up*
private BF stalls with comfy chairs and curtins, a fenced in play area incase you have a toddler in tow as well, 5 (possibly more change tables) with nappy bins directly beside them, huge toilet with button push/sliding door, microwave, TV!!! definatly the best ive ever been too.
Ive only been to the one in myers at charlsetown square, it doesnt have feeding stalls or a fenced in play area but it is always clean, has BF chairs and a large toilet for mums with prams. (same as David jones in newcastle but theyre closing down soon)
bheditor
04-02-2011, 15:33
happy friday arvo everyone!! :highfive:
So based on all your wonderful feedback :) I've come up with the following list of The Best and Worst Parents' Rooms in Australia!!
But it still needs to be refined and added to, etc.
Can you have a look and make sure I haven't done something terrible (like put an excellent room in the 'worst' list or a NSW centre under WA etc)
Can you tell me if you think the rooms listed are worthy to be on the list - is it really the BEST or WORST in the state?
Can you add any more that you can think of.
And we have none for Tasmania, the ACT and Northern Territory!!
:yes: BEST :yes:
QLD
Westfield Carindale
Westfield Chermside (near the original eatery)
Westfield North Lakes - near the Woolworths entrance
Capalaba Park
Robina Town Centre
Stockland Rockhampton
NSW
Westfield, Miranda
Westfield Kotara
Campbelltown mall – near the food court
Toormina Shopping Centre
Westfield Hornsby
Westfield Chatswood
Westfield Penrith
VIC
David Jones, Westfield Southland
Chadstone near Lindt Chocolate café
Chadstone, Myer
Knox
Myer Bourke St
SA
Westfield Elizabeth
David Jones, Adelaide city
WA
Westfield Carousel
Park Centre Vic Park.
The Shops @ Ellenbrook
Myer Perth city
TAS
NT
ACT
:no: WORST :no:
QLD
David Jones Garden City
The small shopping centre at Wynnum Central (corner Bay Tce and Charlotte St)
Hyperdome change room, near Kmart
Booval Fair.Ipswich
Mt Gravatt Plaza
NSW
David Jones, Miranda
Taronga Zoo
MacArthur Square – near the food court
Palm Center shopping centre, Coffs Harbour
Parramatta Westfield
Plumpton marketplace
Darling Harbour shops
Cardiff Marketplace