View Full Version : Perth IVF, Mums, and Mums to be

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

bourbon11646
25-01-2011, 18:53
Hi Everyone!

I thought i would start this thread for us Perth girls who have babies born or due in 2010 or 2011.
It will be for us new mums (or mums already with children but with new babies) to share our experiences and help each other emotionally as we watch our children grow up together.
The idea is to meet up once a month in a child-friendly environment of our choice for a drink & a chat while our children either sleep (if still young!) or if a little older play together.
There will be some times where not all of us will be able to come to the monthly get together (for instance if we are too sleep deprived or our child is sick!) but hopefully if we form a big enough group there will be some people still able to catch up with at that time.
Let me know on here if you are interested and we can contact each other via this thread and once we get to know each other we can share more contact details then.
It will be nice to share experiences with each other of our ttc journey and our little bundle of joy that resulted from it :celebrate:

Bourbon xx:

Sonja
25-01-2011, 23:30
Hi Bourbon

Sounds great. I am due with #3 in early March 2011. I have an almost 2 yo and a 5 yo who will be starting school next week. We moved to Perth early December for DH's work. DH has family here (not close) so we don't really know many people and would be very keen to meet some people. I'm based in Trigg but don't mind where we meet.

Looking forward to catching up with you and any other Perth mums!

Sonja

Rinche
26-01-2011, 02:04
I finally found ur thread Bourbon. Great idea. Count me in of course!

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 02:07
Sonja - that's great! I'm due early April so a month after you :-) where did you move from? I live in Beldon not too far from Trigg. Wow 3 little ones - you have your hands full! You can give us some tips & tricks of the trade.
Looking forward in meeting you all x

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 02:09
We posted same time Rinche! Yay welcome :-)
Ps: can u not sleep either?!

trishalishous
26-01-2011, 05:39
I'm not exactly a Perthite but I am up every month! we are in Wilson (Cannington) our little girl arrived may 2010

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 08:22
Trish - if u r in Perth regularly then that's good enough! I mean WA really - where r u the rest of the time?
Congratulations on your girl :-)

babydreaming2009
26-01-2011, 08:45
Hi Bourbon - great idea!

I was actually thinking of suggesting it for the Perth girls in our due in Apr/May/June thread, so well done for getting it off the ground. I think your idea of extending it to New Mums in 2010/11 is much better, as there are lots of girls who we have cycled with last year who have had their bubs already.

I'm in North Perth, but am fairly relaxed about where we meet...:)

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 09:08
Babydreaming - I thought the same thing, I wanted to include the girls we cycled with who's babies have already arrived.
It's exciting to meet everyone & their bubbs after so long in this journey together.
And we will no doubt all have similar worries & concerns we can share & help with. We seem to live around the same area & can mix up where we go each time :-)

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 09:20
:cheerleader2: ROLLCALL: PERTH NEW MUMS 2010 - 2011 :cheerleader1:

Bourbon11646 - 14 April due, gender surprise, Beldon

Think ill do a roll call so we can keep track of everyone who is joining:
Can everyone please add their details or ask someone to do it if you arent sure how :)
If you can please include your BH name, then the due date or arrival date, followed by the gender (& name of baby if its born already - just the first name), followed by the suburb you live in.

Sonja
26-01-2011, 09:46

Sonja - due 17 March, caesar booked 11 March, boy, Trigg

Bourbon we moved from Melbourne late November. We were living in North Fitzroy. We're having our first boy after 2 girls.

Hayls70
26-01-2011, 11:15

Bourbon11646 - Due 14 April, gender surprise, Beldon
Sonja - Due 17 March, caesar booked 11 March, boy, Trigg
Hayls70 - Due 24 march, Girl, Innaloo

Well done Bourbon for getting this thread started! You're a legend xx
Hi everyone!! Should we aim to have a little get together before our bubs are due?? Maybe mid/late feb?? What's everyone's thoughts?

Rinche
26-01-2011, 11:58

Bourbon11646 - Due 14 April,gender surprise, Beldon
Rinche - Due 14 August, TBA, Stirling (but moving to Aubin Grove in April)

Bourbon - I was up at midnight baking. At 10pm I decided I wanted portuguese custard tarts, what was I thinking? And of course, the best time to eat them is when they are warm, so I was eating sweets after midnight. Not good. Guess who has a stomach ache this morning. :(

bourbon11646
26-01-2011, 13:25
Rinche - lol how funny! When you've got a craving you have to satisfy it! Hope your tummy didn't hurt too much afterwards. Some foods don't agree with me either but seemed great at the time!

Hayls - yay you made it! I'm so glad I started this thread, will be so good getting to know everyone.
And great idea to catch up before bubs arrives. We need to throw some dates around & see who's interested.

sooz80
26-01-2011, 13:53

Sooz80 - 24 March due, gender surprise, Hamersley

Such a good idea for a thread - especially as we had a bit of a roll on BFPs last year.

:wave: everyone.

Babydreaming - I think we met at the Naked Fig last year - so glad you got your BFP as well. I think most of the table are either UTD or have had their bubs.

Such an exciting time...

I'm also up for a meet up next month

bebedream
26-01-2011, 23:44

Great idea Bourbon!! I'm definitely interested in staying in touch and catching up. I'm expecting no1 on 13th April - almost the same EDD as yours! :)
I live SOR though but I'd love to catch up soon!

ROLLCALL: PERTH NEW MUMS 2010 - 2011 :cheerleader1:

Bebedream - Due 13 March, Boy, Kardinya

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 00:19
Rinche - I love how next to gender you have TBA lol :-)
U mean when u can find out u will right not that u are arranging the gender of your choice hehe :-)

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 00:42
PS: Hayls & I organized to meet each other for the first time next wed 2nd before I started this thread.
Anyone want to join us? We are going to Hillarys Marina @ 2:30pm. Let me know & I'll give you more details :-)

bonnybaby
27-01-2011, 11:50

Count me in too. Good work Bourbon. Ive mentioned catching up with you and Hayls a few times before but never got off my backside to organise anything! Now I have no excuse :D

Seems like most of you are NOR, unfortunately Im SOR...but can definitely travel to meet depending on just how north it is. So maybe when we do the monthly catch-ups, a more central place will be great. Really looking forward to it.

Can someone put me in the rollcall...I just tried it then but for some reason it's not letting me paste it in the same format...maybe something to do with the work computer?!

Due 22nd March with a little girl :celebrate:

MrsL
27-01-2011, 12:30

Bonnybaby - Due 22nd March, girl, SOR
Mrs L - Due March 11th, girl, NOR

Wow 6 of us due in March and 2 more the next month! these bubs will be v close in age. I also have a 2 1/2 year old son.

I have friends who live SOR and we often meet at floreat beach park which seems to be a nice spot. It's quite central, has a pretty good playground and a cafe to buy that much needed coffee :D. Of course depends on time of year due to weather.

awesome idea!!!!

Hayls70
27-01-2011, 12:37

Bonnybaby - Due 22 March, Girl, SOR!

Bonnybaby, I've added you but didn't know your suburb! are you keen to meet up next wed at hilary's?

bourbon- yes I made it!! great idea for the rollcall!!

sooz- we're due the same day!!! wonder how close we'll come!

Rinche- hiya, where is aubin grove? Those portugese custard tarts sound yummy, recipe?? I'm such a sweet tooth during this pregnancy!

sonja- hiya x

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 13:32
Bebedream - are u due in April? The roll call says March so just checking?

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 14:34

Sonja - Due 17 March, cs booked 11 March, Boy, Trigg
Hayls70 - Due 24 March, Girl, Innaloo
Sooz80 - Due 24 March, Gender Surprise, Hamersley
Bebedream - Due 13 April, Boy, Kardinya
Bourbon11646 - Due 14 April, (cs temp booked 6 April), Gender Surprise, Beldon - moving to Ellenbrook around May

Just fixing up the rollcall & putting due dates in order.
Bebedream i changed yours to match your signature (April not March)..

bebedream
27-01-2011, 19:32
Hi Bourbon. Yes, I'm due in April! Thanks for changing the date. Not sure why I wrote down March. Maybe it was wishful thinking! lol :laughing:

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 19:34
Or baby brain which is affecting us all lol :-)
May aswell use that excuse while we can haha!

Rinche
27-01-2011, 21:05
Ha ha Bourbon, TBA is "to be advised". I've never heard of "to be arranged". Lol
I will share with everyone when we find out the baby's sex.

I cannot do next week as I'm working. :-(

Sonja
27-01-2011, 21:28

I'm good for a catch up at Floreat - weather permitting!

Flexible with days - just couldn't get there til 9.30 or so as have school drop off at 8.45. Looking forward to it. I know almost noone in Perth so this is great!

Sonja

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 21:42
Lol Rinche :-)

The first catch up (which was planned before I started this thread) is next wed 2 Feb @ 2:30pm at Hillarys marina.
Everybody is welcome, let me know if you want to join Hayls & I.
All future catch ups we can decide as a group what date/time and location suits all of us. We may have to compromise & occasionally go out of our way to make it fair on everybody.
One thing I do ask though is can we choose locations that are easy for people to find & with decent parking!

Hope everyone has a pool or air con - it seems we are in for some hot days to come here in Perth!

MrsL
27-01-2011, 22:22

Mrs L - 11 March, Girl, NOR
Bourbon11646 - Due 14 April, (cs temp booked 6 April), Gender Surprise, Beldon - moving to Ellenbrook around May

Think i posted at same time as someone else and got left off the rollcall so i've added again. Interesting just reading up on cord blood bank stuff and its recommended for IVF babies - like we have any money left :rolleyes:

trishalishous
27-01-2011, 22:32
I'm in albany when not in perth :)
will be back in perth around march 24th (mils bday) at this stage.

Sonja
27-01-2011, 22:34
Hi Bourbon

Thanks for the update re the catch up - unfortunately I won't be able to make it as it's Lucy's first day of school and I need to pick her up at 2.45. Mornings are generally better for me as Scarlett has an afternoon nap.

Hope to be able to attend the next one!

Sonja

bourbon11646
27-01-2011, 22:49
No worries Sonja thanks for letting us know. Goodluck to Lucy on her first day, have you got the camera ready?!
I'm sure we can accommodate the timing of catch ups to fit in with mums needing to do school pick up & drop off's. After all we will all be in the same boat eventually :-)

Rinche
27-01-2011, 23:22
Hayls - forgot to give u the recipe. I got it off this website (but I used puff pastry):
http://www.syrupandtang.com/200811/pasteis-de-nata-portuguese-custard-tarts/
Aubin Grove is a fairly new suburb near Atwell (between Gibbs and Rowley exits off the fwy).

I have been thinking about the downs testing as I'm approaching 12w. I have my scan next week, so will find out there if we need to test further. I hate to say it (and I don't want to start debates about termination) I previously thought I might terminate if there was high chance of downs. But now I think I'm lucky to have this pregnancy thru IVF - why why on earth would I even consider it. It's interesting on how my perception can change over time (and who's not to say I'll change my mind again). 6 sleeps till our scan!

Rinche
27-01-2011, 23:23
Whoops - mixed up my threads... The downs topic was on another thread. U must be thinking "how random"! Lol.

bonnybaby
28-01-2011, 11:05
Morning ladies,

Isnt it stinking hot here, its awful!!! At 6.30am this morning it was already 30 degrees. argh, my poor fat feet and hands and getting fatter by the second.

Bourbon and Hayls - Sorry I wont be able to catch up next Wed...Im still at work :-( and Im on arvo's, so I don't even start until 2pm. Cannot wait to finish up, its horrible coming in every day. I just stare at the clock :rolleyes:

Hiya to everyone else I don't know...will be great getting to know everyone, and we can ask each other a tonne of questions when we are freaking out over something!!

Oh and those portugese custard tarts...making my mouth water. Not fair, Im on a strict low GI diet and I think the sweetest thing Ive had for 4 weeks has been a pear :( C'mon baby girl, as soon as you are born I can eat what I want!!!

Bourbon - silly question...where on earth is this thread??? The only way Ive been able to access it so far is from the link you posted in the 'due jan/feb/mar' thread. Ive scrolled through all the forum and cant find it. Its probably staring me in the face but for the life of me I cant find it. Step by step dummies guide please :-)

bebedream
28-01-2011, 11:14

Yes Bonnybaby, this heat so early in the day is unbelievable!

I work during the week (except Fridays) so I won't be able to make it to your 1st catch-up. It's also our 4th wedding anniversary on Wednesday :D

bourbon11646
28-01-2011, 13:23
Bonny - once you post in a thread you only have to click on user control panel and then subscribed threads. It will list all the threads you post in and show you instantly if anyone has posted recently.
I started this one under a 'bub hub get togethers' section so it wouldn't go under ivf etc.. Not sure if I did it right but I think I did? Hmm but just follow the steps above to find it easily.

bonnybaby
28-01-2011, 14:25
Bourbon - Hey thanks for the tip. I found it through the user control panel just then, never gone to a thread via that way before. But you know whats weird, I posted in another ivf related thread yesterday and today...but that isnt in there for some reason. Maybe you need to make more than one post per thread before it links you or something.
Anyways, at least now I can find this thread easily.

When should we organise our 1st official catch-up then with everyone?
Should we start throwing around a few ideas or wait a little while longer?

bourbon11646
28-01-2011, 16:02
I was going to say wait but then realized it's not long til some of our bubbs will be born!!
I don't know about everyone else but I won't be going anywhere for a while directly after the birth until bub & I are into a routine, I'm recovered, not a walking zombie & have a bit of confidence!!

Can everyone mention a bit of a range when they are available?

7th Feb - 15th Feb I'm free except not tues 8th.
That's my earliest, I'm free after that too but have doc appts all over the place so will go through it if you all are not free in above range.

Sonja
28-01-2011, 16:07
14th or 15th are good for me at this stage. Mornings are better for me - after 9.30?

bonnybaby
28-01-2011, 16:19
I can see this will be difficult to fit everyone in as we all have work/dr's appoints/other children etc...but maybe if we get a few people free, then we still go for it.

Out of Bourbons range, Im free 9th, 14th & 15th Feb. Only in the mornings like Sonja as I work afternoons. However, 3 more weeks and Im finished, so after the 18th Im free as a bird until bubs comes along!!!

bourbon11646
28-01-2011, 16:30
So far 3 people for 14th & 15th in the morning... What about everyone else?

MrsL
28-01-2011, 20:00
Hiya,

I can do 14th in morn but not 15th as I have my mothers group for my DS.

Hope everyone is managing to keep cool :D

MrsL
28-01-2011, 20:03
Bebedream - just reading through people's sig's - whats IVM?

bebedream
28-01-2011, 22:27
Hi Mrs L

IVM stands for In Vitro Maturation (as opposed to In Vitro Fertilisation). It's a relatively new and rarely used form of IVF ( I think my clinic - FSWA) is the only one offering IVM in Australia.

It's recommended for women who have PCOS or hyperstimulate as the clinic gives you a small amount of drugs and collect the immature eggs and mature them in the lab. Once the eggs have matured in the lab, they used ICSI to fertilise them and from then on, it's like the standard IVF procedure.

It's a lot easier on the body (no risk of OHSS) as you only take a small amount of drug. I took 100 ui of Puregon from day 3 to day 6 of my cycle and I had EPU on day 9. They collected 8 immature eggs and managed to get 3 of those to mature overnight but thankfully all 3 fertilised. I had never worked with such a low number of embryos before (3 on day 1!) and was very doubtful that even one would make it to day 5 but one little fighter made it to blast and here I am!!

The handling and "maturing" of the immature eggs requires more expertise on the embryologist's part ( I don't think I would even have tried IVM if the embryologist had not been Steven Junk who is renowed to be the best in WA), and because less eggs are are retrieved, the transfer rate is lower than with IVF, but it did work for me after numerous IVF failures!!!

IVM is not for everybody and the data on IVM is almost non-existent but it does work! I'm not a classic case of PCO (normal weight, regular periods) but I had OHSS each time even on only 112.5 UI of Gonal F at the ripe old age of 36-37.

There have been only about 2000 IVM babies born worldwide so far compared to millions of IVF babies (IVF has been used for over 40 years)! This makes my little IVM boy even more special in my eyes :)

bourbon11646
28-01-2011, 23:34
That's four people for the 14th in am.. Any more?

Bebedream - I've read about ivm in my zita west book, it's meant to be pretty good. Sounds like just the thing I needed as I hyperstimulate very easily. Was on 3 months bedrest this cycle & so sick - my ovaries are STILL swollen even at 29 weeks preg!

Hayls70
29-01-2011, 09:02
Hiya ladies, I can do either 14th or 15th Feb -morning is fine.. so count me in xx

thanks rinche for the recipe!!

narribri
29-01-2011, 09:07
I'm definitely interested! My little girl arrived in November 2010, we are in the Cannington area. Those dates look fine for us so far.

babydreaming2009
29-01-2011, 09:27

babydreaming2009 - Due 6 May, Girl, North Perth

Hi girls - just adding my details...

Sooz / Mrs L - so good to see you guys got your BFPs. Woo-hoo, I got mine too! You're right Sooz, I think everyone at our last catch up may now have finally had success!

Bourbon / Hayls - will PM you about this Wed...

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 09:31
Sonja
Bourbon
Bonny
Hayls
MrsL
Narribri
Bebedream??

Anyone I miss?

We are getting a nice little group together yay! :-)
Once ive confirmed who's coming and stalked those who haven't answered we can throw some locations around.

Have a good day everyone & baton down the hatches in case of strong winds!!

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 09:34
Sooz, babydreaming & Rinche - r u coming on the 14th?

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 10:22

Babies Due:

Babies Arrived:

Narribri - (baby name?) Arrived Nov 2010, Girl, Cannington

Just adding Narribri...

narribri
29-01-2011, 10:29
Thanks! My girl is Talia :)

bebedream
29-01-2011, 11:07
Sorry guys

I'm only available on the days I don't work (i.e Fridays, Saturdays on Sundays).

14th of Feb is a Monday isn't it?

I finish work in the 1st week of March and then I'll be wide open ('til baby arrives that it :laughing:)!

Rinche
29-01-2011, 13:06
I'll also be at work on the 14th.
Enjoy the day!!

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 18:25
I'm free on 12, 13 & 19th Feb too if everyone else is?? That way it's not a work day & everyone can join in..

What's everyone think? Or do you other ladies want to keep it on 14th?

MrsL
29-01-2011, 20:04
bebedream - wow that sounds so interesting! As if plain old IVF wasn't amazing enough I can't believe how medical science is progressing! How fantastic that u were able to get your BFP this way!:hyper:

Looks like we should have some good numbers for our first catch up - yay looking forward to it! ;)

bonnybaby
29-01-2011, 22:54

How was the weather today?! Stinking hot for most part of it, then this arvo it absolutely chucked it down with heaps of thumder and lightening. My poor kitty cats dove under the doona as they were petrified.

Bebedream - So glad you had success with IVM. That was my very next option if this FET didnt give me my BFP. I too was really worried about the low numbers of embryos from IVM...but in your case it worked. Probably for my next one I'll do IVM, so its really great to hear from someone who had success with it. Dr Hart was my FS who recommended it, although it was Yeap who would have carried it out I believe. Did she do the EPU?

Bourbon - Hey I see from the roll call you are booked in for c-sect, wow you have a date already? Exciting stuff!! Did you always know you would be having a c-sect? Also, if we change the date from the 14th, Im only avail on the 12th, any time of day.

Jamot
29-01-2011, 23:05
Oh is it too late to join? We're due with #3 in June and are NOR...just reading your thread and I can't do the 14th...hopefully it will be a roaring success and there will be another!? :D

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 23:09
Is everyone else available on the 12th? Otherwise we may just have to leave it on 14th. Let me know :-)

Bonny - yeah my cs is temp booked for 6th April, not set in concrete but most likely will be due to family history (mum had narrow pelvic bones & docs say it's usually hereditary) and also because of my MS the doc thinks it will be safer for me & bub.
Pretty exciting & unreal having a date!! And 6 has always been my fav number lol.

How are you going? Getting closer now!
Have you bought everything u need?

Who's having a baby shower? Mines next week how exciting!

bourbon11646
29-01-2011, 23:12
Jamot - welcome!! Never too late to join :-)
Do u know if ur having a boy or girl?

Can all the new people pls add yourself to the latest rollcall or ask me & I'll do it :-)

sniggle6
30-01-2011, 02:33

Hubby and I will be moving back to Perth in May (in Melb atm), could I join even though I'm not there yet? :-) Would be nice to "know" some people when we get there (if that makes sense.....it is 3.30am!)

We have a little boy, Cooper, who was born in November.

MrsL
30-01-2011, 09:07
:D hello!

yes i'm avail 12th or 14th so either for me is fine.

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 10:43

Babies Due:

Jamot - Due June, Gender ?, NOR.

Babies Arrived:

Narribri - Talia Arrived Nov 2010, Girl, Cannington
Sniggle6 - Cooper Arrived Nov 2010, Boy, Lives in Melb - Moving to Perth in May.

Adding more details & people...

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 10:52
CATCH UP NO #1 & NO #2

CATCH UP NO #1:
Wednesday 2nd Feb
2:30pm
Hillarys Marina
Attendees: 2 possibly 3 people
Details: If you are interested either pm me or ask on here and ill tell you where we are meeting.

CATCH UP NO #2:

Im doing a poll and the most amount of people who want to come we will make it on that day.
Can everyone not listed below please indicate what date or dates you are available out of the 12th Feb and 14th Feb. We can then organise where to meet up and set a time.

So far:

Bourbon - Available on both days 12th & 14th Feb
MrsL - Available on both days 12th & 14th Feb
Bonny - Available on both days 12th & 14th Feb

Thanks everyone, the sooner everyone replies the sooner we can organise our catch up :smiliedance:

Jamot
30-01-2011, 10:54
This is going to be a lovely group...can't just feel it!:D

Bourbon- we are having another boy!! :cheerleader2:....really looking forward to it!!

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 11:18

Babies Due:

Jamot - Due June, Boy, NOR.

Babies Arrived:

Trishalishous - Baby Girl Arrived May 2010 (name?), Girl, Wilson
Sniggle6 - Cooper Arrived Nov 2010, Boy, Lives in Melb - Moving to Perth in May.

Adding Trishalishous & Jamot's baby gender..

narribri
30-01-2011, 11:26
I can do 14th, not the 12th - we have a family do.

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 11:35
CATCH UP NO #1 & NO #2

CATCH UP NO #1:
Wednesday 2nd Feb
Hillarys Marina
Details: If you are interested either pm me or ask on here and ill tell you where we are meeting.

CATCH UP NO #2:

Im doing a poll and the most amount of people who want to come we will make it on that day.
Can everyone not listed below please indicate what date or dates you are available out of the 12th Feb and 14th Feb. We can then organise where to meet up and set a time.

So far:

Narribri - Available on 14th Feb only

Thanks everyone, the sooner everyone replies the sooner we can organise our catch up :smiliedance:[/QUOTE]

Sonja
30-01-2011, 11:54
CATCH UP NO #1 & NO #2

CATCH UP NO #1:
Wednesday 2nd Feb
Hillarys Marina

CATCH UP NO #2:

So far:

Sonja - Available on 14th Feb only

Thanks everyone, the sooner everyone replies the sooner we can organise our catch up :smiliedance:[/QUOTE]

Just adding my availability.

Jamot
30-01-2011, 12:59
Sorry girls would love to attend but I work both Mon and Wed and we have commitments on the 12th!

MrsL
30-01-2011, 13:32
eek sorry ladies i have to change myn to only avail on the 14th now. we were supposed to be going to lancelin next weekend but has now been changed to weekend after. cut and pasted below;

Originally Posted by bourbon11646 http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/styles/BubHub/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=5550871#post5550871)

CATCH UP NO #1 & NO #2

CATCH UP NO #1:
Wednesday 2nd Feb
Hillarys Marina

CATCH UP NO #2:

So far:

MrsL - Available on 14th Feb only

Thanks everyone, the sooner everyone replies the sooner we can organise our catch up :smiliedance:

Hayls70
30-01-2011, 14:20
CATCH UP NO #2:

So far:

MrsL - Available on 14th Feb only
Hayls - available on 14th Feb

Hi to all the new ladies joining this thread...I look forward to meeting everyone eventually!!

Bourbon- you are doing a fab job organizing the catch up. Looks like we have alot of ladies available on the 14th Feb so maybe that's the place to start.

keep cool everyone!!!

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 16:22
Ok ladies here are the final dates! :smiliedance:

CATCH UP NO #1:
Wednesday 2nd Feb
Dome Cafe Hillarys Marina, Hillarys.
Attendees: Bourbon, Hayls, possibly Babydreaming.

More people are welcome!

__________________________________________________ ______________________________

CATCH UP NO #2:
Monday 14th Feb (Valentines Day)
10:00am ?
Location ?

Attendees: :yes:
Bourbon - (Beldon)
Hayls - (Innaloo)
Sonja - (Trigg)
MrsL - (NOR)
Bonny - (SOR)
Narribri (is little Talia joining us so we can all adore her?) - (Cannington)

Apologies: :no:
Bebedream - working - (Kardinya)
Jamot - unavailable that date - (NOR)
Rinche - working - (Stirling)
Trishalishous - in Albany, here 24 march. (Albany - Wilson)
Sniggle6 - Moving to Perth in May. (Melbourne - Perth)

Ones i need to check: :confused:
Babydreaming - ? - (North Perth)
Sooz - ? - (Hamersley)

Have i missed anyone? How is 10am for the attendees as most people said morning not afternoon.
Now.... WHERE TO GO - IDEAS PLEASE! :)

Please can the attendees list a few suburbs and choose areas easy to find with decent parking.

Bourbon - Happy to travel but not as far as Albany or Melbourne (sorry trish & sniggle :laughing: )
Anywhere NOR such as: Subiaco, Leederville, Hillarys, etc..
Prefer not the city.
I dont really know SOR but happy to go if thats what everyone decides.

Ok thats my suggestion now its up to the rest of you and then we can lock in the time and location and make this official :hyper:

narribri
30-01-2011, 16:28
Talia will definitely be with me, so somewhere pram friendly would be good (plus you all need to get used to thinking like that!)

We are SOR, there are some nice cafes in Vic Park? Otherwise we can go wherever, just not too far NOR as T is not too good in the car.

Sonja
30-01-2011, 17:01
I went to a lovely playground in Cottlesloe a few weeks ago - there's a cafe across the road selling decent coffee and it was really shady. I'll have Scarlett with me so somewhere kid friendly is good for me too. There's also the cafe at Floreat Surf Club which has decent access and a playground next door with lots of grassed areas to sit.

Otherwise I'm fairly new to Perth so not overly familiar with where to go.

sniggle6
30-01-2011, 19:01
Bourbon - ha ha! I don't blame you! Melbourne is very unpleasant at the moment anyway!

Hope you all have a lovely time this week, can't wait until I can join you all.

Btw, we will be living in Alkimos, in the new Shorehaven estate. Anyone else up that way?

bebedream
30-01-2011, 19:43
Hello all

Sorry for not replying earlier - the heat is unbelievable in my study and I can't stay in there for more than 5 minutes. Suffering badly in this weather - feet are swollen and sore :(

I can only make it on the week-ends (12 or 19th Feb) as work is obviously a non-negotiable engagement, so it looks like I'm definitely out this time.

Bonny baby: my FS was also Dr Hart! Dr Yeap did the EPU for IVM. I was told she is the only one "able" to do the egg collection for IVM (not too sure why as the other male Drs seem more experience, maybe not in this area) and Steve was there for my EPU. Dr Hart did my transfer (the 1st time ever with him), which was nice (and successful!).

PS: the 1st smiley at the post is not meant to be there but I can't remove it.

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 19:47
Sniggle - lol :-) my Dh will be in melb for 2 weeks job training in another weeks time (at the moment he's in Brizzy so I'm all alone :-( )
We were thinking of building in Alkimos at one stage but decided it's way too far for Dh to go to work every day at Perth airport.
There's a group of us NOR but I think you will be the furtherest north lol :-)
Are you building?

bonnybaby
30-01-2011, 21:22
bebedream - It was Dr Yeap that did my successful transfer!

Bourbon - If 6 has always been a favourite number...then definitely book in the c-sect then :D Its an omen. Ive pretty much got everything sorted, except a nappy bag. I just cant seem to find one thats just right. DH and I will both be using it, so we are after something unisex.

Locations - As Im SOR, Vic Park is a good one. However my friend who is in a mothers group always goes to Kings Park, to an awesome cafe and kids playground called Sticky Beaks. They have heaps of playground equipment, parking, shady areas on the grass or the tables at the cafe.
Umm, can't think of anywhere alse at this stage but will try and come up with others.

:wave: welcome to everyone else. Our group is getting quite big, all the support will be awesome!!

narribri
30-01-2011, 22:20
Sticky Beaks is great, that would definitely be a good idea.

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 22:29
Bonny - I like your suggestion of Kings Park! It's nice there. What's everyone think about making it there?
I know it's great this thread is getting big, will be so supportive when we are all nervous mothers and will understand what each other is going through.
Yes.. Number 6 is my number!
I'm annoyed at my Nanna who being the evil biartch she is is treating me like having a cs is the 'super easy' way out Grr. I have my MS & fam history being considered & if that's what my specialist says will be best for my health & bub then I'd rather listen to him! I told my Nanna a cs is actually much harder to recover from than a natural birth, she said "oh rubbish". It's like the bitter woman just wants me to suffer hrs of agony in childbirth like she did rather than what's safest & recommended for my individual circumstance! She's the classic 'if someones sick or has been through hell ive been through much worse' kind of person.

As for nappy bags I love my black ryco one I got from target. I got half price in sale for $25. It has great compartments and plastic pockets so nothing spills, changemat, sections zipped for change cards keys etc and other useful sections but not 'too' many sections. Also it looks like a work carry bag with shoulder strap perfect for DH rather than a nappy bag.

Sonja
30-01-2011, 23:24
Bourbon / Bonny / narribri

Kings Park is perfect for me - I'd love to go somewhere I've not been before.

Bourbon - after having had 2 caesars I've heard it all about how it's the easy way out. It's definitely not. But in my experience an elective caesar is far better than enduring a long and exhausting labour only to have a caesar anyway (my first baby) - that was the worst. And welcome to the start of every single person (strangers included) having an opinion on everything you do - how you give birth is just the beginning! I still get prickles on my hairline when someone offers "helpful advice" which I don't want and don't ask for, but after 2 kids I try and let it wash over me - but it can be bl@@dy hard!

MrsL
30-01-2011, 23:29
hello,

yeah i'm fine with sticky beaks @ kings park. I'd prefer park rather than cafe so my 2 YO can run around. 10:00 a good time too!

v good job with the organising bourban! :D

MrsL
30-01-2011, 23:42
oh yes I was also going to say something about caesar bourban -

I also had an emergency one with my DS after hours of nothing progressing. At the time I made them delay it even further by trying to do a blood prick test on bubbies head as i'd really wanted a natural birth. looking back I can't believe I did that! to go my whole pregnancy doing everything I could to keep my baby safe only to delay the emergency caesar and put him at risk at the end! I wasn't thinking straight and I can tell u that once u have your beautiful baby it doesn't make an ounce of difference how they got there. So don't worry about your birth plan going haywire - just get that baby in your arms! anyway after doing IVF to get our babies aren't we a bit past the 'natural' way of things :laughing:. I had the option to try naturally for this baby (with risks) or just go for elected caesar and chose the caeser because any amount of risk isn't worth it. We didn't go through all of this only to take risks at the end. safest option always - tell nanna that! :)

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 23:51
Thanks mrsL etc .. I try!
I will post a 'notice' tomorrow that the location is Sticky Beaks. I've never been there but sounds good. How do you find it? Is it visible from kings park rd? Also is the cafe next door so u get a drink etc then sit in the park? And of course close toilets for us preg girls with 'baby using bladder as a pillow' syndrome haha :-)

Sonja - argh the never ending 'advice' - we need a set of ear plugs! And I agree so many of my friends have had long hard labours only to need a cs too! One had it all - long labour, not progressing, epidural that didn't work from her back problems, then a general (coz epidural didn't work!). Next time around she did what doc recommended & elective cs much better experience for her.
Depends on ur individual case though, a natural birth would be wonderful if it's safe for u n bub.
My Ob is great, gives me the facts then says we can decide closer to the time once we've evaluated size of bub, position etc & I've discussed my MS with my Neuro.

bourbon11646
30-01-2011, 23:56
MrsL - we posted same time .. I agree - it's not like we are hiding from pain SH*t we did endless needles & ivf etc!!
And I think we would all do what it takes to have a healthy baby safe in our arms.

bourbon11646
31-01-2011, 05:18
http://catalogues.toysrus.com.au/portal/dynamiccatalogue?CatalogueID=12958207757452&pageview=two

Starting 3 Feb for two weeks Big Baby Sale at Toys r Us.

Sonja
31-01-2011, 10:04
thanks for this Bourbon - after 2 kids a lot of my stuff is quite run down so need to get a few things. I'm also thinking of getting a baby swing this time around - has anyone else got one or can recommend a good one?

Hayls70
31-01-2011, 12:40
Busy busy thread!!

I am happy to go to Kings Park too, Haven't tried this Sticky Beaks cafe..will have to look it up. Have been to the other one- Zamia cafe, that's really nice too!

bourbon- you got in before me!! Was about to mention the toysrus baby sale this thursday:laughing:!! ps. You're a star getting this organized!

MrsL- totally agree, it doesn't matter how our little bubs get here, we just want them to get here safely. I'm trying not to have any expectations so I don't get disappointed if things have to change!

hi everyone, bonny, narribri, sonja, bebedream, Rinche, Jamot, sniggles, trisha!!

thank god for a cooler day today guys!!..I'm still feeling lazy and tired though!!! Need some :smiliedance::hyper::cheerleader1: "ENERGY"

sniggle6
31-01-2011, 13:15
we are building, bourbon. Hopefully starting soon. It is pretty far away but living in the outer suburbs of Melbourne, we're used to driving long distances. In laws are in Joondalup, which is handy.

bonnybaby
31-01-2011, 21:20

Sticky Beaks is off Kings Park Road. There is one entrance which takes you to the carpark for the flash gym there, and there is another entrance just a few meters up the road for the entrance to the park/cafe. So if you end up at the gym, just go back onto Kings Park Road, and into the next entrance.

Its got toilets at the cafe, and the cafe is basically right at the playground/park area. It really is a great place for mums and bubs, and the playground is suitable for all ages as they cater for little ones, toddlers and upwards.

Bourbon - I looked at nappy bags at Kmart, they also had some $25 ones too, which I may end up with. I just cant afford to spend hundreds atm...although the pricey ones do look awesome.

Hopefully another 'coolish' day tomorrow, my feet need the swelling to come out!!

bourbon11646
31-01-2011, 21:40
Bonny - I got my bag from target, they had a good range and not too expensive. I refuse to pay a fortune on them!

Stickybeaks it is.. I'll post info tomorrow for everyone :-)
The pics & write up on the net look great for families.

Really hoping I get some zzz tonight...

sooz80
31-01-2011, 21:58
__________________________________________________ ________________________

CATCH UP NO #2:
10:00am ?
Location ?

Attendees: :yes:
Bourbon - (Beldon)
Hayls - (Innaloo)
Sonja - (Trigg)
MrsL - (NOR)
Bonny - (SOR)
Narribri (is little Talia joining us so we can all adore her?) - (Cannington)
Sooz - (Hamersley)

Apologies: :no:

Ones i need to check: :confused:
Babydreaming - ? - (North Perth)

I'm flat out at work ATM and have had difficulty logging in. I promise I'll try and post more frequently. I'm working both dates, but can get out for an hour or so on Monday. Really looking forward to meeting everyone:smiliedance:

Sonja
31-01-2011, 22:16

My next ob appointment is now on the 14th but it's at 9.45am and he's pretty good at running on time and I take only about 5 minutes (3rd babies don't generate a lot of discussion). He's across the road from King's Park so I'll definitely still be coming but maybe a little late.

Sonja

MrsL
31-01-2011, 23:51

I can't believe I've never been to sticky beaks! looking forward to checking it out.

re the nappy bag discussion - someone bought me one a really nice one and I never used it. I just had a big handbag that i used to throw my little nappy kit in and a toy. prob a good idea not to spend too much as I know a few people that have done the same thing but then again others that have loved their nappy bag. Its annoying cos u buy all this stuff and you'll never know if you'll use it or not until bub arrives :rolleyes:

narribri
01-02-2011, 06:07
Nappy bag... We have a GR8X one, I love it. Wasn't cheap, but I can't stand cheap bags and am prepared to pay for quality. It has a lovely light green inner that makes it nice and easy to find little things rattling in the bottom, it's big but not too big.

Sonja
01-02-2011, 09:08
I tend to agree with Mrs L - with both kids we didn't really use a nappy bag. I had the one that attaches to the bugaboo which was handy but I found when Scarlett came along I needed just a big open bag for all the food I had to take everywhere for Lucy as well as nappies etc for Scarlett. Nappy bags weren't big enough. I also agree with the black interior of so many of them you can never find anything in a hurry (which annoys me with all handbags not just nappy bags).

But if money weren't an issue I'd get a Storksak emily bag - they are so comfortable to wear. I might treat myself to one this time as I'll need something to stuff under the double pram when I go out with #2 and #3.

Lovely cool day here so far!

babydreaming2009
01-02-2011, 09:52

Sorry I can't make Mon 14th, as I'm working.

Sticky beaks is awesome though, so have fun! :celebrate:

Perhaps we can alternate between a weekday and weekend catch up to accommodate those who are still working...

bourbon11646
01-02-2011, 17:03
FINAL DETAILS OF CATCH UP AT STICKY BEAKS

CATCH UP NO #2:
10:00am at the Cafe
37 Kings Park Avenue West Perth WA 6005
Entrance is just off Kings Park Road, directly opposite Outram Street.
Seating is not able to be booked, first in best dressed but they told me we should be fine at 10am, it usually gets busy around lunch time.
The playground is visible from the Cafe.

Attendees:
Bourbon - (Beldon)
Hayls - (Innaloo)
Sonja - (Trigg)
MrsL - (NOR)
Bonny - (SOR)
Narribri & Talia - (Cannington)
Sooz - (Hamersley)

Apologies:
Babydreaming - working - (North Perth) -

** To those of you who cannot come because of work, i am really sorry - i did try to get a date where we were all free (not such an easy task!) - hopefully the next catch up you can join us as i would love to meet each and every one of you :yes: **

Hayls70
02-02-2011, 12:46
Good work bourbon xx

bourbon11646
02-02-2011, 13:45
Thanks Hayls, looking forward in meeting you and your friend today - will be nice to put a face to the name :)

I just saw an email that was delivered to DH (we can see each others on our apple computer) and found out he has organised roses to be delivered on Valentines Day! I was thinking 'oh no the surprise is spoilt!' (it was also visible on our credit card statement), but im not letting on to DH that i know.
Prob a good thing that i do know so that im not in the middle of a nap looking like cr*p when the delivery person knocks on the door :laughing:
I just hope i dont miss him while im at Sticky Beaks! Do they leave them out the front? I hope they get delivered later so they dont wilt & choc doesnt melt!

AWW how sweet of DH.. :cloud9:

bonnybaby
03-02-2011, 11:32
Bourbon - aw your DH is sweet ordering you roses and chocs...funny that you know about it before Valentines Day :laughing: hopefully the delivery is after the catch-up.

Thanks for organising the catch-up. We will definitely make the next one on a weekend or something so that the others can come along. Will be great meeting every one. Im terrible with names though...haha so apologies in advance as I will probably forget what everyones 'real' name is and only remember the BH name!!

So, I guess on the day we just look around for a bunch of preggie women :D

narribri
03-02-2011, 12:30
If anyone is worried I have a bh ribbon on T's stroller and nappy bag, we are pretty easy to pick

bourbon11646
03-02-2011, 12:31
Bonny - I know I feel bad that I know about the roses but with me doing the budget it's easy to see a big "roses .." the company name on the bank statement! Poor Dh, I'm not going to ruin it for him, I will keep the 'OMG what a surprise' voice lol :-)
There was also some purchase at strandbags, I wonder if that's for me or him lol.. He will be away for our wedding anniversary too , not back til 11 or 12 march which s*x :-( longest I've gone not seeing him.

Our first catch up yesterday with me, Hayls, Babydreaming & another bubhubber ready to pop Always Hoping, was a roaring success! I thought so anyway lol :-)
It was so nice meeting in person, we had endless conversation & laughs and it makes it that much more personal and special. We are looking forward to when we can introduce our bundles of joy to each other!

To anyone who hasn't met a fellow bubhubber before - I was nervous making that transition from being anonymous to meeting in person - I highly recommend it! I had the best time, everyone was LOVELY and after being on here so long in good times & bad I think it's a special kind of friendship. So bring on more catch ups!

bourbon11646
03-02-2011, 12:36
PS: we opted to swap mobile numbers before hand so private messaged them to each other. Just in case we couldn't make it or got lost etc.. Anyone wanting to do this who's coming to the next catch up on 14th pm me.
Also we all spotted each other quite easily - the belly brigade- lol I think we scared some people haha!

Sonja
03-02-2011, 14:55
Bourbon I couldn't agree more with how great these catch-ups are. I went to a few Melbourne new mums catch ups with women I met on the IVF BH thread and it was wonderful. I've made 2 close friends as a result. It's truly great. I can't wait to meet some Perth mums and find out more of the places to go and things to do.

Can I ask - is it all IVF mums and mums to be who have joined this thread? Not that it matters more just curious.

Sonja

bourbon11646
03-02-2011, 17:11
Sonja - I don't know it's just for women having babies in either 2010 or 2011, the fact that it's a thread on bubhub though means most were conceived through fertility treatment. Others are welcome though eg friends preg or natural surprises etc.

bourbon11646
09-02-2011, 08:38
Hi everyone hope you are all well & pregnancies smooth sailing.
Getting closer to our catch up at Sticky Beaks, should be fun!
Feel free to 'put the word out' about this group to anyone you think might be interested and not know.
C u all soon!!

Jamot
09-02-2011, 23:24
Have fun girls!!

LeeLee19
10-02-2011, 01:12
Oh cool... I found this thread finally... linked from the IVF thread. Don't know why I was having troubles before.

Can you add me into the roll call...

LeeLee - EDD 20 Feb 2011 (eek) Girl - Guildford.

I won't be able to make the catch up on Monday because I think you need a car to get to Kings Park in my hugely pregnant state :laughing: I don't have access to a car most of the time, but would love to come along to any catch ups that are on a train line in the future.

bonnybaby
10-02-2011, 12:29

Leelee - welcome. Wow not long at all now for you, how very exciting!!! You will have to let us know when she arrives.

Only one more week for me at work after this one. I so cant wait! Makes it 6 more shifts, woohoo.
Had an ob appoint this week, she is growing nicely and spot on average. Apparently weighs about 2.3kg already...seems crazy to think she already weighs that much, and Im walking her around in my belly. No wonder I feel weighed down in front and have trouble rolling over in bed :rolleyes:

Hope everyone is doing well. So its definitely next Monday, at Sticky Beaks, at 10am?? I'll probably go into work after catching up with everyone. How long do you think we might be?? ...just so I can let them know roughly what time I'll be starting work. Ive never met anyone from BH before.

bourbon11646
10-02-2011, 15:24

Babies Due:

LeeLee - Due 20 Feb, Girl, Guildford

Babies Arrived:

Just adding LeeLee to the rollcall..

Bonny - Yes the catch up is definately Monday 14th Feb @ 10am Sticky Beaks - if everyone can please wait out the front, we will spot the pregnant bellies im sure :)
Wow 2.3kg baby in there, its hard to imagine we are carrying that around with just our stomach muscles huh!! Yay for finishing work soon. The last catch up we were all chatterboxes and stayed for quite a while so its hard to work out how long we will be but maybe say 2hrs?? People can stay shorter or longer depending on how they are feeling.

LeeLee - Welcome!! Nice to have another fellow BH'er on board :yes: We will try to organise the next catch up somewhere on a train line so that you can join us.

Everyone else - Hope you are all well, ill see Hayls, Sonja, MrsL, Bonny, Narribri & Sooz on monday!!

AFM: 31 weeks today! In major nesting mode, trying to organise what ill need when bubs is born and what can stay packed (we are moving house to ellenbrook in may god help us :eek:), its hard living out of boxes and ive been getting very frustrated! DH away until 11 March so finding things difficult - cooking, cleaning, walking furbaby, organising all the baby stuff, organising the moving of the house etc...

Sonja
10-02-2011, 22:22
Hi - looking forward to seeing everyone next Monday. Just a reminder I will be a little late as I have my ob appointment at 9.45 just nearby so might not get there til 10.15 or 10.30.

Bourbon I might PM you my mobile if that's ok in case something goes haywire and everyone moves.

narribri
10-02-2011, 23:11
I'm sorry ladies, I'm going to have to bow out this time. We are going through hell here with reflux and the start of teething, I'm ridiculously short on sleep and am being forced to cut anything that's not 100% necessary.

Next time for sure.

bebedream
11-02-2011, 10:45
Hi everybody

Enjoy the catch-up at Sticky Beaks (such a cute name :)). I hope I can make it to the next one.

Sorry for being MIA. I've had a very busy and eventful 2 weeks with some good things (our wedding anniversary on 2nd Feb and my birthday on 8th Feb) and bad ones (major drama with half of our peppermint tree falling over our driveway and into the road last Sunday - thank God nobody was injured but costing us the earth to get the tree trimmed and the mess cleaned up + the washing machine's drainage pump not working anymore and inundating the bathroom - still washing everything by hand ATM). Have also been very busy at work and when i got home yesterday, my feet looked scarrily swollen. Feeling exhausted but bubs is still doing well so that's the main thing.

Have a nice week-end everybody!

Hayls70
11-02-2011, 18:21

welcome leelee, congrats on your baby girl! hope to meet you at one of our catch ups x

bourbon- hiya star! I will be coming Monday, DH and I have decided to go away next weekend instead..were cutting it a bit fine this weekend as nothing planned!

bonny- YAY for one more week of work!!! then you relax girl!!make the most of it..see you Monday.xx

see everyone Monday, be great to meet you!

Sonja
12-02-2011, 20:54
Narribri I really feel for you - Scarlett (my #2) put us through months of hell with combined reflux / teething issues. It was hell. She'd cry most days from around 4pm til midnight, with nothing settling her. And it was extremely common for her to be awake for 2 to 3 hours every night from around 1 or 2 am. I was a zombie.

I hope you get on top of it soon and get some sleep.

See the rest of you on Monday.

MrsL
14-02-2011, 00:03
Narribri - My DS was refluxy too. it was horrible. We got him on losec in the end. didn't work for him but good for others. I couldn't function and felt like i couldn't enjoy my baby as was just so tired all the time. I'm praying this one sleeps better. Hang in there - this time will pass.

everyone else - see ya tomoz! :)

bourbon11646
14-02-2011, 16:43
Another great catch up today .. Sooz, Bonny, Hayls, Sonja, MrsL - so nice to catch up and put a face to the name :-)
I'm really loving getting to know you all, have a great rest of your day x

To the other gals in our group hopefully we will all meet soon!
I'll try & make the next catch up on a weekend for those working & close to the train line.

Happy Valentines to you all!!

Sonja
14-02-2011, 17:51
Bourbon

thanks for organising - I agree it was lovely to meet so many great Perth mums!

Hope your roses and chocolates weren't waiting for you in the sun when you got home!!

Sonja

bonnybaby
14-02-2011, 19:36
I agree - thanks Bourbon for organising the catch up. Im looking forward to the next one and meeting others that couldnt make it today!

I have to admit that I was a little anxious driving there as Id never met anyone from the 'internet' before...but it was really good, everyone is in the same boat and can share experiences and offer support. Im looking forward to the next one already :D

bourbon11646
14-02-2011, 19:59
No worries, happy to organize them :-)
Bonny I felt that way the first time too but then it's so nice to share stories & experiences and the conversation just flows from there!
Whenever you all want me to plan another one let me know in case there are any special requests before due dates!
Also.. If anyone wants to be friends on Facebook let me know :-)
And to ladies I've actually met I'm happy to swap mobile numbers.
Looking forward to our 'mothers group' getting bigger & friendships forming.

sooz80
14-02-2011, 20:05
I agree that it was lovely to catch up. Sorry that I had to dash off - damn work!
It's really strange having to remind myself of real names rather than pseudonymns.

It looks like March/April are going to be exciting months for most of us.

Sonja
14-02-2011, 21:15
I'd be happy to have another catch up before my due date - and if it's a weekend I might be able to come without Scarlett and actually participate a bit more rather than chase around after her through the playground. Otherwise for those commencing maternity leave happy to have another weekday catch up. I don't know anyone really in Perth so it's so lovely to have some grown up company !

MrsL
14-02-2011, 22:50

yes was great to meet u all! sorry I had to keep jumping up and be a bit distracted with my DS. If its a weekend next time it'll prob work well as I can leave him with my hubby and get the chance to finish a conversation :rolleyes:.

bourbon11646
14-02-2011, 23:10
When are you all thinking about for next catch up - weekends only pls for this one?? Let's throw some dates around.. Including the other ladies we haven't met yet :-)

Sonja
14-02-2011, 23:16
The 26th or 27th of Feb would be good for me :). The following weekend is my last one before I have the baby so I'll probably have a million things to do that weekend.

MrsL
15-02-2011, 16:23
Just looking at roll call gain and with the exception of Leelee, Sonja and I are next up both being on the 11th March so if we wanted to squeeze another catch up in before then the 26th or 27th would work for me also (don't think we'd be able to get in before the 20th for leelee - wow so close! :)).

bourbon11646
15-02-2011, 16:37
SPECIAL CATCH UP BEFORE BUBBS DUE!!
:hyper::hyper::hyper:

Ok so this is a little sooner than 'monthly' catch ups but theres no rules here!
We thought we'd organise a catch up for the mums who have due dates coming up as no doubt they wont want to go anywhere for a while after bub is born!
This time its on a weekend - so who's in!!

DATE: SATURDAY 26TH FEB
TIME & PLACE: TO BE ARRANGED

Can everyone please let me know asap as this one is short notice! Also we need to throw around some times and locations - somewhere on the train line for those without transport & easy to find/parking (prefer not the city!).

I personally think mornings are better as im usually a zombie by the afternoon.
Some possible suggestions on locations from me are:
Leederville - there are cafes etc there and very close to train.
Joondalup - might be a bit far for SOR people though but also close to train, lots of shops etc.
I dont really know SOR that well so any suggestions on those areas - once again walking distance from train?

Looking forward in meeting more of our group :yes:

Sonja
15-02-2011, 19:15

After posting last night I've checked my calendar and I can't do the 26th until after 2pm. I'm having my last hair appointment that morning and I'll be desperate for a boost before bubs!!

If that morning is better for everyone that's fine I'll bow out. Otherwise any time on the 27th is good or the afternoon of the 26th.

Sorry I'm useless when it comes to suggestions re train access as I don't know Perth well enough yet.

Sonja

bourbon11646
15-02-2011, 19:36
I have plans on the 27th.
I can do anytime on 26th.
Depends on numbers - if we get a decent group who want to come cool otherwise I think we may aswell wait til following month.

Sonja
15-02-2011, 21:09
yep agreed.

Sonja
16-02-2011, 08:12
Hi quick question

Do any of the Perth mums NOR know where I can get the car seat installed? We could probably do it ourselves but I'd feel better if I had it done professionally.

Thanks Sonja

bebedream
16-02-2011, 09:09
Hello ladies

Just a quick post before going to work.

I can do the 26 Feb - almost any time as I don't think I have anything planned!:smiliedance:

bourbon11646
16-02-2011, 10:27
Sonja - any of the baby shops do car seat installations for a small fee. My Dh did ours and we will then pay Babyland $10 to check it. They do checks on certain days.

Bebedream - thanks for replying to catch up, just waiting on everyone else now to see if we get numbers to go ahead. Of course if any of you want to catch up with just a few of you, you can use this site to organize it but I prob will give this one a miss unless we get numbers as I've been to the last two.

Hayls70
16-02-2011, 11:17
hello ladies, luvly to meet Sonja, Sooz, Mrs L, Bonny (finally!!) and see Bourbon again!

I'm pretty sure I'm free on the 26th Feb at this stage so count me in Bourb's!

What about Subiaco...could meet at Dome or any number of cafes there? There are a couple cafes (not sure what they're called) near the Subi Train station and plenty others on Rokeby rd. also but Dome is on Rokeby rd so not far to walk. Leederville sounds good too- lots of cafes there!

MrsL
16-02-2011, 12:35

Sonja - kids safe in subi do i i think for free (can't remember that one tho) and any of the local councils do it for free (so i've heard). I also know balcatta baby shop (name escapes me on balcatta rd big pink building) charges around $30.

I'd vote leederville out of leedy or subi as i reckon parking is a little better. there's a dome or siennas or giardinis is lovely too (all on vincent street). i'm free anytime that day.

LeeLee19
16-02-2011, 13:13
Hee hee - I'd love to make the next catch up, but depends if I go post-dates. I'm not getting any signs yet, so quite possible. My personal prediciton is 1 March.

If I do make it, I probably wouldn't be able to come the morning of the 26 as I have yoga on Saturday mornings, but any other time that weekend. But definately don't plan around me as I definitely couldn't guarantee I'll be there.

Subi is good as there are lots of cafe's close to the train station. Dome has couches etc... comfy for preggie women!!!!

Re, getting your carseat actually fitted. Kidsafe will fit it for you and they charge $30. A number of local councils will do it for free - ring up and check. I worked for Subi council and they did it for free (if you were a resident). Stirling definitely do as well. I got mine fitted by a place here in Guildford who were excellent. They charge $20 and donate that to PMH.

Sonja
16-02-2011, 14:26
thanks for all the suggestions - I'll ring Stirling Council and see if I can get it done there - I don't mind paying just want someone who knows what they're doing!

I'm happy with Leederville as well if that suits - or subi - don't mind.

bonnybaby
16-02-2011, 16:12
In regard to the catch up on 26th Feb...I wont be able to let you know until early next week. DH does shift work as well so we don't get too many opportunities to see each other. If he is rostered on to work, then I'll be free to catch up. However if he is off, then we will probably be doing something together. Sounds corny doesnt it :rolleyes:

Leederville or Subi are both good ideas though.

bourbon11646
17-02-2011, 13:36

Ok so this is a little sooner than 'monthly' catch ups but theres no rules here!
We thought we'd organise a catch up for the mums who have due dates coming up as no doubt they wont want to go anywhere for a while after bub is born!

Ok... the general vote is for Saturday 26th Feb in the afternoon say around 3pm??
Subi is winning so far so maybe we will make it there?

Attendees so far:
Bonny - to confirm early next week
Sonja - yes but after 2pm
LeeLee - maybe - in the afternoon only
MrsL - Yes
Hayls - Yes
Bebedream - Yes
Bourbon - Yes

** Nothing confirmed yet - just sussing out if we can get numbers.. **

Where are all the rest of the ladies hiding? We dont bite - promise! And its so nice to meet people face to face and will be great when all our bubbas are born to show them off!

sooz80
17-02-2011, 22:01

Ok... the general vote is for Saturday 26th Feb in the afternoon say around 3pm??

Attendees so far:
MrsL - Yes
Hayls - Yes
Bebedream - Yes
Bourbon - Yes
Sooz - Yes

Anywhere is good with me.

trishalishous
18-02-2011, 00:34
We are having a garage sale that weekend, so cant make it. Will be up for the long weekend at this stage, if anyone wants a coffee?

Guest1234
18-02-2011, 00:46
Hi quick question

Do any of the Perth mums NOR know where I can get the car seat installed? We could probably do it ourselves but I'd feel better if I had it done professionally.

Thanks Sonja
There is baby expo in balcatta that does car seat installations, also rac do them, give them a call to book in. Kid safe do them but the waiting list is quite long.
Most places charge, but if you install it yourself and get them to check it then its free.

I'm interested in a meet. I have a nearly 3yo (april '08) and a 7 month old (july '10) not sure about the 26th, entirely depends on dfs shifts. I'm south of the river in baldivis, but happy to travel somewhere central.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Bubhub

babydreaming2009
18-02-2011, 10:26

Attendees so far:
MrsL - Yes
Hayls - Yes
Bebedream - Yes
Bourbon - Yes
Sooz - Yes
Babydreaming2009 - Yes

Woo-hoo, I can make this one. Bourbon - thanks again for organising, hun!

bourbon11646
19-02-2011, 19:25

Babies Due:

LeeLee - Due 20 Feb, Girl, Guildford
Sonja - CS booked 11 March (Due 17/3), Boy, Trigg
Mrs L - Due 11 March, Girl, NOR
Bourbon11646 - CS booked 6 April (Due 14/4), Gender Surprise, Beldon - moving to Ellenbrook around May

Babies Arrived:

Fruittingles - has a 3yo & 7 month old - Baldivis

Anyone missing off the rollcall??

bourbon11646
19-02-2011, 19:38

DATE: Saturday 26th Feb
PLACE: Dome Cafe - 26 Rokeby Rd, Subiaco.
TIME: 3PM

Attendees so far:
Babydreaming
Sooz
Bourbon
Bebedream
Hayls
MrsL
Sonja

Maybe
Bonny
LeeLee
Fruittingles

Apologies
Trishalishous

Awaiting Response
Jamot
Rinche
Narribri

Ok so its confirmed now check above for date, time. location - i have gone off what everyone has told me as to what time etc they can make it.
Biggest group yet!
Looking forward in meeting the new faces and catching up with the faces i know :smiliedance:

MrsL
19-02-2011, 22:07
hello,

i never go to subi, can someone let me know where is the best place to park near the dome?

bourbon11646
19-02-2011, 22:22
MrsL - there are some streets where parking is free but it's timed eg one hr or so. There is a paid carpark where my friend showed me which isn't as expensive as others (as you go down hay St it's just after the Rokeby rd lights (on hay St) just before railway rd intersection (I think Medicare is where the car park is..

Rinche
19-02-2011, 23:02
Ooops, looks like I'm one of the few who haven't replied. I won't be joining this catchup either. My friend instructs antenatal hydro classes in Murdoch, and she's invited me to join her classes on Sat mornings. Has anyone been to them? I don't even know what we do there, other than get in the pool. Should be interesting (especially since I haven't been game enough to wear bathers in over a year, and my belly isn't quite big enough to fill out the flab) lol.

bourbon11646
20-02-2011, 01:51
Rinche - the catch up is at 3pm, will your class be finished by then? Not that you have to come, just thought I'd point out coz you said it was in the morning.
Omg a hydroclass sounds wonderful! I haven't been swimming since being preg but think I may soon as the cool weightless feeling would be divine!! Enjoy :-)

Rinche
20-02-2011, 11:30
I seriously must have baby brain! I am SURE I read 11am. Yeh I should be able to make it then. :-) I think I'll be the only one there without an obvious baby belly. At least I'll be able to recognise the group.

bourbon11646
20-02-2011, 11:50
Lol Rinche :-)
Doesn't matter if u don't have a belly yet, we all know there's a bub in there & it won't be long til you join the preg waddle haha.
Looking forward in meeting you. You can tell us all about your water class.

narribri
20-02-2011, 11:53
We won't be able to make it sorry, Saturday's are insane for us and DH will not be impressed if I take his girl away while he's home.

LeeLee19
20-02-2011, 22:56
Oh, swimming whilst quite heavily pregnant is lovely Bourbon. I've been a couple of times. Great for getting the baby into a good position for birthing too. The only down side is hauling yourself out of the water - after almost forgetting you're pregnant in water :yes:

Well, today is D day for me... but no major signs. Mmmm, I reckon I might still be hanging around waiting for bubs in March. Hopefully not though!!!!

If I'm still pregnant and it's not too hot I'll try and make the catch up. There is another preggo mums catch up in the same location earlier that arvo, so I could go from one to the other - very convenient :laughing:

I use to work in Subiaco and I actually find parking is pretty easy there as long as you know where to look. There is parking just behind Dome, or otherwise there is quite a bit car park off Rowland Street. Otherwise there is quite a lot of street parking in the back streets.

bonnybaby
21-02-2011, 10:49
LeeLee - How exciting, you could go anyday now!! All the best of luck when the time comes.

Rinche - I do the classes at Murdoch. I havent been on a Saturday though, and normally do the Thursday nights. However now Ive finished work (YAY), I'll try and do another class during the week too. I find them pretty relaxing, and its just great getting in the water. I only started when I was about 31 weeks, and now wish I had started from day 1. There are a huge range of women, ones who are about 15 weeks to ones about to pop.

Talking about water, DH and I have been snorkling the last couple of weekends at Metams Pool in Trigg...floating around on the surface of the water is just divine!!! haha the only problem is trying to walk out and up the sandy hill to my towel...I must look hilarious, its not the easiest thing to do.

Bourbon - Will update the catch-up soon, at this stage I 'should' be able to make it...but will confirm later. Thanks again for organising.

Hope everyone has a great week. This is my first week on mat leave...I feel a bit out of sorts and not quite sure what to do. Normally Id be getting ready to head into work and now I dont have to do that, its put me a little out of whack!! Ive definitely been working too long if Im suffering withdrawals :eek:

Sonja
21-02-2011, 12:08
bonny - we'll have to keep our eyes out for you - we're at Mettams pool most weekends. Lucy (DD1) is learning snorkeling and loves going there, although I'm not a huge fan of the beach itself - too rocky. I really love the kids beach at Trigg best - it's so lovely to be spoilt for choice around here. I give another vote for swimming whilst pregnant - I take the girls to the pool every Tuesday after school and love it - no sore hips or back while in the water!

Speaking of which Scarlett and I are taking the dogs to the dog beach down the road so I'd better get moving.

LeeLee - hope things start moving for you soon.

Hayls70
21-02-2011, 16:07
Leelee- WOW!!! hope things happen soon!! You may be our first new bubba on this thread!!

Sonja,bonny- I'm with you guys on the swimming! Love floating in the water it feels soo nice! dh and I went down to Margs this weekend and had a luvly time at the beach.

bonny- enjoy your time to yourself...you won't get it again!!! It does take a bit of time to get used to not working though so I know what you mean! I think it took me about a month to get used to it...but that was so long ago now. Put those feet up chicky x

hi bourbon, hi everyone!

MrsL
21-02-2011, 22:56
leelee - wow thats so exciting! What happens in regards to homebirths/midwives and going over due dates? I know that under an ob they won't let u go more than about 10 days over... good luck if the time comes before sat!

ta for info re parking - i'm sure i'll find somewhere. ;)

LeeLee19
21-02-2011, 23:45
Thanks everyone for the well wishes. Yep, I think I'm the next cab off the ranks in this little group.

Mrs L, I can go up to 43 weeks on the homebirth program as long as everything is going well, i.e. baby is moving, BP okay etc.. I'm feeling good at the moment, so happy to wait as I REALLY would hate to be induced - just over the heat (who isn't). At 42 weeks I think they refer you for a scan and KEMH would probably start putting pressure on for an induction. So :fingerscrossed: she decides to join me earthside in the next week or so :hyper:

bourbon11646
22-02-2011, 10:35

Attendees so far:
Babydreaming
Sooz
Bourbon
Bebedream
Hayls
MrsL
Sonja

Maybe
Bonny
LeeLee
Fruittingles
Rinche

Apologies
Trishalishous
Narribri

Awaiting Response
Jamot

Ok so its confirmed now check above for date, time. location - i have gone off what everyone has told me as to what time etc they can make it.
Biggest group yet!
Looking forward in meeting the new faces and catching up with the faces i know :smiliedance:

__________________________________________________ __________________________

Just updating the list... i think ive given the Dome cafes some great business lately, i seem to go there everytime i catch up with friends! They have nice icy drinks to cool down a preggo body :laughing:

LeeLee- wow not long for you now! Cant wait to hear when your bub comes :hyper: Lol at pulling yourself out of the pool forgetting for a minute that youre preg and weightless haha..

Bonny - Watch out everyone will be hunting you down at Mettams now :laughing: My DH and I used to go snorkelling there too just past the reef (where the sharks can get you eek!), the water was so deep and relaxing but i stuck close by dh in case a hungry shark started stalking us! I never used to worry about them, now im a wuss.. Careful you dont trip over your flippers and land belly first on the reef!! Enjoy being on maternity leave, soon you will love it and not want to go back to work!!

Hi to everyone else .. Hayls, babydreaming, sooz, bebedream, mrsl, sonja, fruittingles, rinche, trish, narribri, jamot :wave: its so hard to imagine that soon we will all have newborns omg!! :highfive:

Hayls70
22-02-2011, 10:52
Hi ladies, looking forward to saturday!!!

bourbon- do you think we should book?? or do they take bookings? maybe not!! I guess if it's really busy we can always find another cafe..there's plenty around Subi.

bourbon11646
22-02-2011, 12:38
I was thinking the same thing. Ive rung them & spoke to Belinda who said they don't take bookings, that lately it hasn't been busy sat arvo, we can push tables together etc. She asked what it's for - I said a bunch of preg women catching up lol - she laughed & said usually they only book for a bunch of old people but she will ask her manager & let me know what they can do. I told her 11 people but some are maybes. She was really nice & was trying so worst case scenario we can go elsewhere like you said. Sounded ok though. They wouldn't want to send us all into labour panicking lol! (my words not theirs!)

Sonja
23-02-2011, 20:13

Do any of you have a problem with ants in your house? I'm told it's because we're close to the beach so there's not a lot we can do, but it's ridiculous how many we have. I left the girls' dinner out of the oven for 5 minutes to cool down and when I came back found ants making a march towards it!

If anyone has any tips I'd be grateful. We use ant rid but they seem to love the stuff.

Sonja

MrsL
23-02-2011, 20:22
yes we do! we use ant killa whick seems to reduce them for a bit but then they come back. i said to my husband we may need to get someone in to take care of them - its getting really out of hand!

bourbon11646
23-02-2011, 21:24
Sonja - I don't but my Nanna & dad get heaps of those really tiny ants in the kitchen & bathroom during warmer weather.
Not sure what they use sorry but I know my Nanna had pest control come in a couple months ago to do her usual outdoor bug spray all around the house windows etc & this hasn't stopped the ants!

Sonja
24-02-2011, 00:02
thanks Bourbon and MrsL

DH reckons it's just something were going to have to adapt to but it drives me crazy. I guess on the plus side it means my benches are spotless and my pantry so well organised with everything in tupperware!

Sonja

trishalishous
24-02-2011, 00:10
We have ants down here too. DH sprays outside regulary

LeeLee19
24-02-2011, 00:41
If you're not keen on chemicals, you could try a strong lemon juice and water spray..seems to keep spiders away as they don't like it. Otherwise, white vineger wiped over surfaces works for a while. Ants are a pain!!!!!

Still pregnant, though did make muffins at 10.30pm a couple of nights ago and did quite a lot of cleaning today....nesting?

bonnybaby
24-02-2011, 11:24

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/hyper.gifhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/hyper.gifhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/hyper.gif

Attendees so far:
Babydreaming
Sooz
Bourbon
Bebedream
Hayls
MrsL
Sonja
Bonny

Maybe
LeeLee
Fruittingles
Rinche

Apologies
Trishalishous
Narribri

Awaiting Response
Jamot

Just updating from 'maybe' to coming along...so I'll see you all there on Sat at 3pm :D

My hands and feet are so swollen today and they hurt to move as the skin is tight and puffy. This ongoing heat has knobs on when this pregnant!! I might go to the pool later so I can cool off a bit.

Hayls70
24-02-2011, 12:04
Sonja- my MIL recommends peppermint oil for ants...she gets a rag puts some oil on it and wipes everywhere, she says it keeps the ants away for awhile!

Sonja
24-02-2011, 14:22
thanks for all the tips - I might try a few and see what works.

Gawd I am so over this heat!!! I've been fine to date and not complained or anything but today - I've had enough!! Lucy's home from school and I had to go over to Osborne Park this morning - it's probably the hottest suburb in Perth. The girls both lost it as did I as the place we went to wasn't air conditioned. Poor kids felt so sorry for them and for me as well.

I can't wait for this weather to be over - but I think it'll be a while yet.

bourbon11646
25-02-2011, 21:21
Looking forward to catching up tomorrow! C u all at 3pm, bring on a nice cold frozen drink! This heat is never ending!

Rinche
26-02-2011, 14:09
Hi girls, I'm sorry I cannot make it this afternoon! Hope u are all able to treck thru this heat without fainting!! Have a good afternoon :-)

Jamot
26-02-2011, 14:17
Ah thats my luck...remember to check what's happening the day its on (Im pleading baby brain :)!! Have fun girls...hope the aircon is cranked!!!

LeeLee19
26-02-2011, 14:43
Well I'm still pregnant (sigh), but I think it is just a bit to hot for me to walk to the station and get the train, I might make it there but not sure about back again. Walking would be great to try and get this bub on the move, but it's just too much in this heat. Have fun though. I guess I'll make a catch up when I got a newborn :cheerleader1:

Sonja
26-02-2011, 18:56
Well thought I'd jump on before DH gets back with the kids.

The site for the sleeping bags I mentioned is:

merinokids.com.au. They also make swaddling wraps ( which I think would be too hot).

I must have been remembering incorrectly - the NB to 2 yo bags are about $130. Definitely worth it - both girls wore them daily til 15 months and I rarely washed them (only aired them).

Lovely to catch up today - LeeLee - yep it was very hot!

Hayls70
27-02-2011, 17:44
Thanks for the info Sonja, $130 sounds even better!! Great to catch up yesterday x

leelee- how are you going...anything yet?

hey everyone, luvly to see you guys yesterday..bourbon,bonny,sonja,sooz,babydream,baby dreaming.KEEP COOL!

sooz80
27-02-2011, 18:26
I hope that you are now holding your bub LeeLee - you must be going crazy in this weather.

For all those there yesterday, I've attached a pic of the mobile milking device that has caused hilarity for my DH.

I'm not sure if it's worked though...

I am now going to back to sucking ice cubes...

Have a lovely evening ladies.
file:///C:/Users/SSHAW%7E1.GEO/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot.pngfile:///C:/Users/SSHAW%7E1.GEO/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png

MrsL
28-02-2011, 15:55

apolologies for not turning up on sat esp since the early catch up was partly because of me. DS was very whingy all morning and when he fell asleep that arvo (a rare occurance these days) DH and I also crashed and when we were woken up it was 3:15 already!

Hope u guys had a lovely time and I hope to make it the next one but I'll have to see how I go. Its all a little harder having a toddler who doesn't like cafes or travelling too far etc so I'll keep online and check out the locations to see which ones are suitable (but please don't try and cater for that in any way).

I missed the convo about sleeping bags but thought I'd share my preference. I love snugtime. they're at myer and DJs and also avail online. they come in sizes and are tog tested just like the gro bags but at about a third the price. They make a summer muslin one that my DS has been sleeping in the past couple of months and it was only about $25.

Man sux to be 8 months preggo in this heat! :rolleyes:

MrsL
08-03-2011, 15:41
Gone very quiet on this thread...

LeeLee - surely u have your bub by now?

how's everyone else? :wave:

Only 3 more sleeps for Sonja and me - eek! :eek:

bonnybaby
08-03-2011, 16:05
MrsL and Sonja - Definitely on the countdown now, 3 sleeps!!!! All the very best of luck for your big day and I will be thinking of you both. Let us know how you go and I cant wait to hear of your little arrivals :smiliedance:

Big hello to everyone else. This thread has been a little quiet of late, everyone must be busy...or the heat has killed everyone!! Nice that its slightly cooler the last few days, it has given my swollen feet a little time to go down.
Very strange to think that Im having a baby soon. Every day I wake up and wonder if today will be the day. Its all still very surreal for me.
Nothing too much to report on. I think its all about 'waiting' now, and counting down the sleeps.

Hope everyone is doing well x

bourbon11646
08-03-2011, 18:27
MrsL & Sonja - OMG 3 sleeps!!! Goodluck, cant wait to hear the happy news :smiliedance:

LeeLee - How are you going, any baby news?

Bonny & Hayls - not long for you guys, getting closer as im sure you are aware! Its still surreal isnt it!

Hi to everyone else i hope you are all doing well.
Yes the thread has been quiet, its that time i think with babies being born so catch ups are fewer and further apart but it will 'perk' up again once we are all settled im sure.
Everyone make sure you update us on here with your happy baby news so we can congratulate you :celebrate:

AFM: been busy packing the house, gardening, going out all the time (anything but resting basically oops), only around 4 weeks til my CS... :eek: Really hard to believe ill be a mum finally!

Take care everyone xx

Hayls70
08-03-2011, 20:30
Sonja and MrsL- I'm thinking of you guys, only a couple days! I feel the excitement building! Are you all packed and ready to go?

bonny- I know what you mean about waking up wondering if today is going to be the day! Someone in our other thread had a friend (who has the same name as me..) who was due the same date as me 24th March!..she had her baby 3 days ago!! I told DH this and he started questioning me on where my bag was and the baby bag etc!! Have you been getting pains in the smoo?? (totally odd question but I have noticed this in the last couple days!)

bourbon- very surreal! I've got a busy week this week too which will make it FLY! Then I'm determined (as you should be!!!) to try to rest up next week!

leelee- ??any news?

bourbon11646
08-03-2011, 20:55
Hayls - Dh has banned me from doing anything! The poor guys, they seem even more nervous than us!
Have you guys been getting Braxton hicks? I've had weird pains come & go all day and of course can't help but wonder..!
Dh has just put in his dates at wk that he needs off, not easy with a new job so I can't St*ff it up by letting bub come early - cross those legs lol! No pain in smoo like the rest of you further along so maybe bub is quite content still..
Bonny & Hayls make sure you SMS me when it happens lol!! I can inform BH if u like that bub is on it's way or let u do it.. I'm so excited omg!!!

Sonja
09-03-2011, 19:12

Yep 2 more sleeps!!

My mother arrived on Saturday and my father today. The kids are so excited to have them here and I'm enjoying my last little bit of peace before Friday. I'll be heading into SJOG tomorrow afternoon around 5.30 for admission at 6. CS is booked for 8am Friday.

We decided to hire a baby capsule as I've been freaking out a little about how I'll do the school drop off and pick up with an infant - it's hard enough with Scarlett. So I feel that's a bit more under control now. All I need is DH to install it which he'll do on the weekend. Hopefully not too complicated.

Had my last pregnancy massage this morning - just heavenly. When I was in Melbourne I was a pilates junkie but I haven't gotten into it here so have been having an occasional massage instead. Very relaxing and helps with my hips when they play up.

Took the dogs for their last trip to the beach today - well the last one I'll be taking them on my own for a while. It was so rough but one of my dogs just loved it and got dumped several times. Was very nice.

I was wondering how you'd all feel about once we all start having our babies turning this thread into a bit of a mother's group thread for support and general info on services in Perth - I know I could certainly do with any tips or advice from you all who've lived in Perth a lot longer than me! There's an Adelaide group in the pregnancy through IVF section who have a similar thread and it works really well - and Perth's small enough that even though we all live in different parts I'm sure we can still help each other in lots of different ways.

What do you think?

bourbon11646
09-03-2011, 20:22
Sonja - wow not long now!!! Goodluck I'll be thinking of you!
You're brave taking the dogs to the beach on your own!
The massage sounds heavenly, could really do with one of those! Where do you get it done?
I am all for using this thread as a mothers group for advice etc, that was my plan when starting it - to get to know other Perth mums and form our own little group and share advice & experiences.
All the best for Friday xx

Sonja
09-03-2011, 21:02
Bourbon

I go to a lady at Karrinyup - Jill Potter. Her number is 0410 709 259. She's been a massage therapist for years and knows what she's doing. She's $70 an hour but you can also go for a half hour session as well. I get really sore shoulders from breastfeeding so will be heading back to see her once the baby's born.

Sonja

MrsL
09-03-2011, 22:57

starting to get really nervous/excited etc about friday. Its so strange knowing the date that bub will be born. Yes am pretty much all organised. Will just pack the final things into the bag tomorrow and fri morn. had a few mild braxton hicks over the past few days and i wondered it I'd make it to the caesar date but am pretty sure i will. Was trying to remember with my son and I think i had them for a week or so before.

we've just about got the nursery together - talk about leaving it to the last minute! My son says he wants fairy stickers too and a pink cot (sheet) :laughing:. I went and got him some car stickers for his wall to try and make up for the attention getting spent on the baby's room. My husband was saying he'll take him to the park while I'm I'm in hospital and he said "and mummy can come too when she's finished with the baby" :laughing: poor thing I think it'll be a bit of a shock for him.

Sonja - I've also borrowed a capsule off my friend. I ended up hiring one with with my son when I realised how useful they were! Yes def we should use the thread for advice etc. I think one of the most important things is to realise you are not alone and others are experiencing or feeling the same way u are.

I'm thinking Leelee has had her baby and is up to her ears in nappies etc - no time for bubhub just yet :laughing:

quite a few of u coming up to due dates now so there will prob be an explosion of birth notices on this site soon. how exciting!!! :hyper:

bourbon11646
10-03-2011, 02:12
Sonja - thanx for the contact info for the massage, will definitely keep it in mind!

MrsL - Friday is so close, I feel nervous & excited for you!
Your son sounds sweet especially how he thinks you will be 'finished' with the baby soon!

Leelee - hope all is going well & you are cradling your new bubba?

Hi to all u other Perthies.. Thank god it's gotten a bit cooler!
Baby notices are going to flood in soon yay :-)

AFM: 4 wks today til my cs.. Eek!! Just got back from movies with a friend, she made me a gorgeous pack of goodies, lots of Curash stuff, bibs, towels, vests etc very kind.
Hopefully by going to bed at 12:20 I'll sleep through til morning?!! Been having terrible nights sleep lately..

sooz80
10-03-2011, 06:57

Mrs L/Sonja - Good Luck for Friday - it's all very exciting. I wish I had a date!

LeeLee - i hope that motherhood is treating you well.

:wave: everyone else.

I'm keen on this being a support network as I'm pretty clueless on most things and it's good to get advice from those in the same situation.

AFM - It's my first day of Maternity Leave today - I made it to 38 weeks. My hubby's colleagues threw him a surprise baby shower yesterday (he's a nurse), which brought a tear to his eye. We got some lovely bits and pieces. With all the stuff given to me by my cousin (including Boori cot, pram, stroller and car seat as well as bunny rugs, gro-bags etc), we've managed to get off pretty lightly on the purchases front.

We're all getting very close to D-Day - so exciting. Does anyone else not quite believe that they're going to have a baby????

I hope that you're all enjoying the cooler weather.

bourbon11646
11-03-2011, 11:53
Hi Everyone :)

Sonja has asked me to pass on the happy news that:

Marcus Christopher (i wont post surname) has arrived!
Spitting image of Lucy.
Great set of lungs. Mum & Dad extremely happy!

CONGRATULATIONS TO SONJA & DH!!
:cheerleader2: :celebrate: :cheerleader2:

MrsL
11-03-2011, 12:27
Congrats Sonja! :cheerleader2:

Well just waiting to go to hosp. I'm booked in for 1:30 so I'm praying that it all goes on time and to plan and my ob doesn't get called away or anything. Been fasting since 7:15 not even water which is really hard so just want the time to arrive! Of course had an awful sleep last night.

Very strange knowing I'll only be preg for another few hours...

Bourban could u pm me your mob number and I'll do the same as Sonja?

Hayls70
11-03-2011, 12:55
CONGRATULATIONS SONJA on the safe arrival of Marcus- cute name x hope you are both well, how exciting!!!

bonnybaby
11-03-2011, 13:53
Congratulations Sonja on the arrival of your little boy!!!!!
I hope you are doing well and look forward to hearing all about it.

Mrs L - Woohoo not long at all now. Must be the wierdest feeling knowing that you will have bubs in your arms in a few hours. Fasting is cr*p hey...hope you get something yummy later on. Good luck, thinking of you.

Sooz - Hey congrats on starting mat leave!!! Hopefully you can relax a little...dont do what I have been doing. Ive been flat out with no time to relax, but Im going to make more of an effort to put my feet up and enjoy some peaceful days before the arrival! I also dont quite believe Im going to have a baby soon, it sure is surreal.

Bourbon - thanks for the update on Sonja, and let us know when you hear from MrsL.

Everyone else :wave: hope you are doing well. All our babies are coming soon :smiliedance:

MrsL
11-03-2011, 18:52
hi all. Think i might be able to manage this from my phone.

Indiana born at 2pm today weighing 3.3 kg. We're all doing well.

bourbon11646
11-03-2011, 19:47
WOOHOO Congrats MrsL!!! Hope it all went well x

babydreaming2009
12-03-2011, 09:19
Congratulations Sonja on the arrival of Marcus :cheerleader2:

Congratulations MrsL on the arrival of Indiana :cheerleader1:

Love both of those names... enjoy cloud nine :cloud9: xx

Sonja
12-03-2011, 09:21
Congratulations MrsL. Gorgeous name! Hope you had an ok night.

We had a shocker. Poor little boy still hasn't passed his merconium and is miserable. Was screaming from 1am til 4am when I got desperate and sent him to the nursery for a bit of sleep. He came back at 6 as peaceful as anything. The midwives here are the best I've had of all the hospitals I've been in. I've picked up so many useful tips.

Well better run. Hoping to shovel some food in b4 baby wakes.

Mrs L congrats again. Can't wait til we all have our bubbas! Bonny are you next?

Hayls70
12-03-2011, 13:20
CONGRATULATIONS MRSL!! on the safe arrival of Indiana (gorgeous name) Glad you are both doing well xx so exciting!!!!

Sonja- poor bubs, I'm glad to hear the midwives took care of Marcus and gave you some rest time! They sound great there which is very reassuring xx

and well done you two getting on here and chatting to us!!! I can't say I'll be able to do the same!! (unless I pinch MIL Laptop) but more to the point, where do you guys find the time and energy!! I'm impressed xx

LeeLee19
12-03-2011, 23:56

Wow...sorry it's taken me so long to post..I'm sure you call all imagine why :D so long in fact that I'm no longer the newest Mummy...congratulations to Sonja :cheerleader2: and Mrs L :cheerleader1:

So for my news, Piper Ann was born on Thursday 3rd March at 3.30am. Not quite as planned but still lovely. I went into labour at just gone midnight on Wednesday 2nd. Contractions were always really close together between 2 mins and 5 mins, but totally bearable. Even managed to do housework between 4am and 7am once I realised I wasn't going to be getting any sleep.

It all picked up around 7.30am when I told my birth support person (ex ptr) that I was in labour, told her to go to work, then rang back 10 mins later to tell her to come around. Called MW and told her I was in labour about 9iam ish, but that I was fine and I'd keep her posted.

It all amped up a bit and got MW round at about 10.30am. I had had a couple of spews (sorry TMI) by then and was moaning through irregular but frequent contractions. Got the birth pool filled up. MW said I was progressing nicely, cervix at 4cm - :cheerleader1: so she left us to it for a bit. Next few hours a bit blurry, lots of moaning, got in the shower for a bit with the fit ball - that was good, then the pool for a bit. Tried to keep hydrated with Electrolytes and Coconut water but kept throwing everything up. Got MW back over at about 3pm as was feeling pretty full on. Laboured for the next couple of hours, until I felt it was just all too much, rolling contractions one on top of each other but still not very regular...felt very out of control and was hoping this was transition. MW was concerned at how dehydrated I was because of the spewing. Did a VE with my permission and was only 6cm, cervix still thick, babe posterior and really high, she just did not want to come down. MW was very honest and said that I would most likely be labouring for many more hours to come.

In light of how much pain I was in and the dehydration, which wasn't helping dialation one bit, we transferred to KEMH. OMG - that was the worst car ride EVER, in peak hour traffic from Guildford to Subiaco at 5.30pm - its the only time I have ever encouraged my ex to do crazy driving, going through orange lights and driving down the emergency lane through the Graham Farmer Freeway :freakingout: Well it wasn't an emergency, but sitting in the car contracting every couple of mins was NOT FUN!!!!!

At KEMH got an epidural and hooked up to fluids...my MW was awesome and was still able to practice as my MW at KEMH. Apparently the hospy staff were talking C-section when I came in and she said I would NOT be having a C...knew I would have been devestated if that had happened. I laboured for another 8 hours and baby's heart rate was lovely and regular the whole time. My MW went home after a couple of hours as otherwise she would have reached her 12 hours, so that she could come back for the birth. She got the hospital to call her at 1.30am, when I was nearly 10cm dialated so she could come back and be at the birth - AWESOME :hugs:

I then pushed Piper out in some serious hard work in just over an hour...it was the BEST feeling and such a sense of achievement when she finally crowned, then slithered out.

We got lots of lovely skin on skin and she breastfed for about 45mins straight away. At about 7am we went up to the ward...I had something to eat and we bonded for the rest of the day. I asked to be checked out asap and we left at 5pm that day.

So, not quite my planned homebirth, but happy with what happened in the long run, and given the dehydration, I don't think I could have done anything any differently. I do feel a little grief over the birth I wanted and didn't get and have shed a few tears over all the birthing affirmations I wrote, decorated and stuck to the wall in the nursery, but I loved birthing so much that I don't think I can only have one baby, so hopefully I'll get a lovely easy homebirth next time.

Breast feeding was a bit tricky for a couple of days, sore nipples etc... but we seem to be doing okay now. Boobs started leaking last night which took me by surprise, so I guess my milk has well and truly come in :D

Sorry for the long post, but I love reading birth stories so I thought I'd share. We're going to have a lovely collection of squidgy newbies soon, so looking forward to a catch up in a few weeks.

Bourbon...are you next? Wow..can't believe you'll have your own little squidgy in your arms soon. All hard work, but totally worth it when they look into your eyes.

I'll keep you all posted!

Sonja
13-03-2011, 01:53
Leelee thanks for sharing your story. Those early weeks with a newborn are just divine.

Girls - one suggestion for those going to hospital for births - pack a small torch and a comfortable pillow. SJOG don't have small night lights at least not in my room so my book light is a godsend for night feeds. Also the pillows aren't comfortable I've brought my big peanut pilow and it helps with sleeping in any position on these narrow little beds!

bonnybaby
13-03-2011, 15:34
Mrs L - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Indiana!!!! I hope you are recovering well. Cant wait to hear all about it.

LeeLee - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Piper. Thanks so much for sharing your birth story, I love hearing all the details of what happened. Even though it may not have gone exactly to plan, it sounds as though you loved the birthing experience as a whole, and thats the main thing.

Sonja - Hope you and Marcus are going well. Im at SJOG in Murdoch, the sister hospital for Subi...so Im hoping the midwives are as good there as yours are at Subi.

afm - I think Im next in line as per 'due dates' unless someones little bundle comes in early. 9 more sleeps to go. Its totally unbelievable to think that Im going to have my own 'birth story' to tell soon. The way Im feeling at the moment, I could easily have her anyday now. I feel very uncomfortable in my tummy and groin area, feels like she has dropped down and is weighing very hard down below. Lots of BH yesterday and today as well. But knowing my luck, she will let me wait it out.

Hayls70
13-03-2011, 16:35
Congratulations LeeLee!!! thanks heaps for sharing your birth story, I love to hear about it! Although it wasn't quite the birth plan you wanted it sounds as though things went pretty smoothly- apart from the car ride and dehydration! Piper made a grand entry into the world!

bourbon11646
13-03-2011, 22:11
Congratulations LeeLee on the birth of Piper! Thanks for sharing your story, what a dramatic entry to the world especially that horrible car ride!
Nothing ever goes to plan with births but at least you avoided the cs.
Rest up and enjoy every minute xx

MrsL
14-03-2011, 22:22
thanks for sharing leelee. What a great story! And Congrats!
I'm finding it nice and relaxing in hospital apart from getting no sleep of course! I'd suggest ear plugs as the hallways are v noisy and other baby's crying etc. Indi is much more settled today as my milk has come in. She didn't sleep a wink the second night as she was so hungry. Luckily the nursery took her twice for us so we could get some sleep. She's so noisy i can't wait to put her in her own room! All going well anyway she took to feeding like a duck to water and is sleeping about 2 hours at a time at the is!ent.
Yes i wonder who will be next? Good luck to whoever it is!

Sonja
15-03-2011, 13:15

Well we're home. I got completely jacked of the place and asked to go home today. Still quite sore but between the noise from the other rooms and claustrophobia I had to get out of there. MrsL we've had the same sort of nights with Marc - he's just awake constantly overnight feeding - I think I've had 6 hours' sleep in the last 3 nights in total. Coping quite well all things considered.

Ok better run. Scarlett's very confused by all the activity at home today and DH isn't well (oh joy) so it's all happening here.

Sonja

sooz80
16-03-2011, 14:38
Sonja - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Marcus :cheerleader2:. I hope that you are all settling in back at home.

Mrs L - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Indiana :cheerleader1:. It sounds like you had a good experience at Glengarry. Hopefully Indiana is sleeping better now she is getting a good supply of milk.

LeeLee - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Piper. :cheerleader1: Thank you for your positive birthinfg story (although it didn't quite go to plan). It's good that you're enjoying motherhood.

Bonny/Hayles - any sign of impending labour yet? My bub still doesn't feel like it's engaged. I don't think it wants to come out any time soon. On the plus side it means I'm still walking the dog 3-4km a day. However, I have got very sleepy since starting Maternity Leave - no sign of nesting from me - just napping!

bonnybaby
16-03-2011, 15:29
Sounds like all the new mums are doing well.

Sonja - can't believe you are home already. Make sure to take it easy as you dont want to overdo it so soon after your c-sect. Hope DH gets better soon.

Sooz - No real signs of movement just yet, although every day Im hoping is 'the' day!! I can't believe you are still walking so much every day, good on you. I had to stop walking long distances a couple of months ago as the muscle pain in my lower tummy was really bad. The physio gave me a super stretchy elastic thing to wear around my tummy when walking, but as you know, the heat has been horrendous and I couldnt for the life of me wear a body-sock thing as well!! Id have melted!

afm - Had my last obs appointment this morning. yay the little girl has finally moved into a better birthing position and her spine is almost right at the front. She has always been sidewards facing, so the obs is glad she has moved. She has dropped into position as well, which is why I can probably breathe better these days.
Im booked in for induction next Tuesday at 7am...but Im praying she comes before then. Id much rather she come naturally, but what will be, will be.

Hope everyone else is doing well x

bourbon11646
18-03-2011, 15:22

Babies Due:

Bonnybaby - Due 22 March (induce 22/3?), Girl, SOR!
Hayls70 - Due 24 March (induce 28/3?), Girl, Innaloo
Bourbon11646 - CS booked 6 April (Due 14/4), Gender Surprise, Beldon - moving to Ellenbrook around May

Babies Arrived:

Sonja - Marcus Arrived March 2011 - Boy - Trigg
LeeLee - Piper Arrived March 2011 - Girl - Guildford
MrsL - Indianna Arrived March 2011 - Girl - NOR

Feel free to put in your actual babies birth dates and add any details that might be missing or incorrect..

bourbon11646
18-03-2011, 15:29
Hi everyone! I thought it was time i updated the rollcall.. feel free to add/change your details as they change.

Bonny - Thats great that bubbs is in a good position, hopefully this means you wont need to be induced. What have you been up to lately? Resting? Going out?

Sooz - how are you liking your maternity leave?

Sonja - Sorry you got jacked off at the hospital, must be nice to be in the comfort of your own home now. How has Marcus been?

MrsL - good on Indi for being a great little :BFing: it must have been hard before your milk came in and frustrating.

Hayls - Id laugh if you and Bonny's bubbs came on the same day! Hey mine might even join you, imagine that lol :laughing: Hope youre getting lots of rest and taking it easy, not long now!

LeeLee - How are you and Piper doing? I love her name, reminds me of that tv series Charmed.

Babydreaming - How are you going?

Hi to everyone else... Bebedream, Fruittingles, Rinche, Trish, Narribri, Jamot .. is that everyone?

AFM: 6/4 is getting closer :smiliedance:

Hayls70
18-03-2011, 18:50
Thanks for updating the rollcall Bourbon! I hope bubs does come the same day as Bonnybaby and you too! you could come anytime now!
My OB said my cervix is thin and getting ready so I'm hoping to come way before the 28th March!!
She didn't have a problem me changing the date which I thought was strange after her telling me my baby might be big..this time she said No my baby is average size and going over a few days shouldn't make any difference!Then when I said what happens if she comes on the 25th (when she already 2 births booked) she said No worries she just makes it work!! So different from the other day..I think having DH there made a difference!!

trishalishous
19-03-2011, 01:09

Babies Due:

Bonnybaby - Due 22 March (induce 22/3?), Girl, SOR!
Hayls70 - Due 24 March (induce 28/3?), Girl, Innaloo

Babies Arrived:

Trishalishous - Baby Girl Arrived 13 May 2010 (Eliz abeth Linl ey Rose), Girl, Wilson

Updated to add Miss Es birthdate and name

sooz80
20-03-2011, 15:26

Bonny - I hope that your little one makes a move naturally. Tuesday is sooo close.

Bourbon - Not long now - are you all prepared?

Hayls - Also hoping that your little one comes before the 28th.

AFM - 39 week appointment showed that my little mischief maker is still not engaged. I knew that anyway asd it wriggles all of the time. However, I did lose my mucous plug this morning, so something is happening. I've got until the 29th, before my Ob will insist on inducing me. I hope it gets into position before then :fingerscrossed:

:wave: to everyone else.

sooz80
21-03-2011, 04:36
Well I'm at sjog in very early labour. Just trying to get some kip as I've got a very long day ahead of me...

Sent from my X10a using Bubhub

bourbon11646
21-03-2011, 07:03
GOODLUCK Sooz!!!

Wishing you all the best for a smooth labour, soon you will meet your baby how exciting!

Looking forward to the happy news xxx

Hayls70
21-03-2011, 07:31
Sooz- OMG! Good luck chick!! I hope your little mischief maker has engaged and everything goes well today xx am thinking of you!

Hiya everyone, I started getting REALLY sore in my pelvis area yesterday, to the point I could barely walk..then noticed my mucous plug has partially come away..not sure if it all has and I hadn't noticed. This morning I've had a spot of blood (not sure if this is normal so might call up unless someone can tell me?) and some period pain like symptoms. So I'm thinking that I can't be too far away!!

ps. Bourbon- what are you doing up so early??!!

bourbon11646
21-03-2011, 09:21
Hayls - it sounds like you're next!!!! Ring the hospital because in my antenatal class they said to call at the slightest bit of blood.
It's all happening now ladies, a dominoes effect lol!
I'm having a hard time sleeping from a sore back, ribs, hips - must b loosened ligaments & extra weight of bub.
Was still in bed though on iPhone but bored!
Hayls put in the final touches of your hospy bags! Maybe the clairvoyant just meant a few days early!
Goodluck, thinking of you xx

Hayls70
21-03-2011, 09:54
Bourbon- thanks I will be texting you when I can and have some news! I rang the midwife, (think I put this on april/may/june thread) and she said to try to rest as I may be going in sometime today. The bleeding with mucous is normal and she called it the "bloody show" so I'm thinking either today or tomorrow I could be meeting our little girl!!! My guess date for bubs was today..maybe I am more psychic than the psychic:laughing: we'll see!!!

sooz- Hope you are getting some sleep, I'm going to try to soon but I keep getting the cramping pains (contractions??) which are keeping me wide awake!! Cant wait to hear your news!!...though if I'm in hospital, I probably won't hear for a few days!! good luck x

bourbon11646
21-03-2011, 11:15
Hayls - u n Bonny could b same date!!

bonnybaby
21-03-2011, 11:19
Sooz and Hayls - Dont leave me behind!!!!! Im due before both of you, no fair.
Best of luck to both of you and I cant wait to hear your news!!!

I had really thought Id have had my bubs by now too, as I lost my mucous on Friday night. It was pretty gross looking, haha!! So I madly, or stupidly, jumped on Dr Google to see when labour might start. And basically I figured losing the plug isnt a predictor at all...some ppl went into labour straight away (sooz, you lucky girl), whilst others lost their plug 3 weeks before going into labour.
I so so so want to go naturally and was hoping that losing the plug was my sign...but it looks as though I'll be going to the hospital for my 7am inducement tomorrow morning.
1 more sleep, its a crazy thought!

Cant wait to hear your news Sooz and Hayls :celebrate:

bourbon11646
21-03-2011, 12:36
Bonny - how frustrating, it's always the way when you want something to happen. And yet if you went somewhere far from home you'd probably go into instant labour!!
Goodluck for tomorrow I hope it goes well for you. Fingers crossed labour starts today or tonight though!

sooz80
21-03-2011, 13:15
Elliot Gareth Shaw born at 9.10am weighing 3.9kg and measuring 53cm. Healthy little (well big) boy. Will post more later. Hope to see you at sjog soon hayls. The midwives are fab.

sooz80
21-03-2011, 13:16
Bonny I hope you get your natural delivery too.

bourbon11646
21-03-2011, 13:23
Sooz - CONGRATULATIONS on the birth of Elliot!! Same name as my brother :)
I wasnt expecting that news so soon lol, a nice sized bub, cant wait to hear your birth story. Im glad the midwives have been fantastic it makes such a difference. Rest up, and well done to you and your DH!
:hyper: :celebrate: :hyper:

Hayls70
21-03-2011, 13:29
Oh WOW Sooz!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!! what a gorgeous name..He is a healthy Big boy! Can't wait to hear your story! I might see you there in the next couple days. xxx

Sonja
21-03-2011, 17:00
CONGRATULATIONS SOOZ AND DH ON THE SAFE ARRIVAL OF ELLIOTT:hyper::cheerleader2::celebrate:

Woo hoo!

Hayls - sounds like you're next!! How exciting - it's all happening.

Bonny - I soooo get where you're coming from. I too always wanted a natural labour and birth experience. Trust me once you're holding you're little one nothing else matters. I hope though there's some action tonight for you.

AFM - well I braved the Westfield at Whitfords this morning with Scarlett and Marc and my mother who's still here from Brisbane. OMFG there's no way I'll be grocery shopping on my own with 2 under 2! It's too hard with a pram etc to actually get anything done. But I was able to get a start on Scarlett's birthday shopping (she's 2 on the 9th of April and we've done nothing so far about it :eek:). Marc's going really well so far - taking each day as it comes as I know how quickly it can go pear-shaped.

Hope you're all well. I am loving these cooler mornings, although I've forgotten how to dress in anything beyond a skirt and tshirt!

Oh by the way if anyone is looking for some post-baby belly support I bought a belly bandit online just before I went into hospital and started wearing it about 3 days after my caesar and it makes me feel so good, particularly when b/f (which can take a big toll on back and shoulders). Here's some more info on them:

www.bellybandit.com.au

bonnybaby
21-03-2011, 17:51
sooz - :celebrate: woohoo congratulations to you and DH on the arrival of Elliott. Thanks for updating us and look forward to hearing more from you. Must be an amazing feeling to see him after all this time. Take care.

sonja - wow you are brave, 2 under 2yrs to a busy shopping centre like that!!! Id be nervous just taking 1 there, let alone 2. I agree, the cooler mornings and evenings are such a relief. Before we know it, winter will be here and I'll probably be complaining about the cold.

Hayls - Thinking of you and hoping your contractions mean your little lady is very very close-by :smiliedance:

Been fit-balling this afternoon, nothing so far.

Sonja
22-03-2011, 08:40
Good luck today Bonny - what time are you heading in??

bourbon11646
22-03-2011, 13:03
Sonja - I think she was heading in at 7am this morning..

bourbon11646
22-03-2011, 13:11
If anyone wants to be Facebook friends pm me. I can also make you a member of 'Emmas Mummies Group' if you like- it has lots of BH girls on there. We can see each others FB profile but other than that the group is secret & private and posts don't show up on your wall or news feed. It's fantastic as any parenting questions you have you post & lots of women reply with answers.

bourbon11646
22-03-2011, 15:14
"Dan & Hayley are proud & excited to announce the safe arrival of our beautiful daughter 'Isla Rose ..' born today 22nd March at 1:12am weighing 3.19kg (7pounds) and 48cm." :smiliedance:

CONGRATULATIONS TO HAYLEY AND DAN ON BEAUTIFUL ISLA
:celebrate:

Sooooooooo happy for you both and i cant wait to meet your gorgeous girl and get all our newborns together!!

Youre next Bonny... hope you are going well today xx

sooz80
22-03-2011, 16:42
Congratulations Hayley and Dan on the birth of Isla. I'll keep my eyes open for you. I hope that the birth went well.

Bonny - I'm thinking of you. Good luck and hope to hear the good news soon.

Bourbon - thanks for the updates.

Sonja - hope you are coping well with 2 under 2s and another nipper.

Hi to e veryone else. I'll post the birth story from home when I have a computer - needless to say it didn't go as planned, but we're happy with the result;-)

Sonja
22-03-2011, 16:47
CONGRATULATIONS HAYLS AND DAN ON THE SAFE ARRIVAL OF ISLA ROSE :cheerleader1::hyper:

HI Sooz we're going well. Scarlett's struggling a bit (the middle child) but she'll get there. Mum goes home in 2 weeks gawd knows what it'll be like then :freakingout:

Bonny - hope things are progressing for you...

Bourbon - are you next??

bourbon11646
22-03-2011, 17:24
Sonja - omg yes I am lol! Never thought I'd read that as it seems to have been such a long process and I'm always reading about everyone else being next!

I'm hanging out for Bonnys news! Hope she's not having too much of a tough labour.

How are you & bubs going?

bourbon11646
22-03-2011, 21:36
Not sure where my last post went saying this but:

The news is in... just got a message from a number i dont know and im taking its from Bonny's DH as im not waiting on any other birth announcements lol

"We are excited to announce the birth of Ivy Mae born 3:06pm weighing 7 pounds 8 ounces. Mother and baby doing well"

CONGRATULATIONS TO BONNY & DH on your new little girl IVY
:smiliedance: :celebrate: :smiliedance:

Sonja
22-03-2011, 23:14
CONGRATULATIONS BONNY AND DH ON THE SAFE ARRIVAL OF IVY :celebrate::cheerleader1::smiliedance:

bebedream
23-03-2011, 12:19
Oh my Goodness! Things are really starting to heat up on this thread! 3 new arrivals in 2 days!:hyper:
Congratulations to Sooz on the arrival of your baby boy Elliot!!!:celebrate:

Congratulations Hayley and Dan on the safe arrival of your baby girl Isla!!! :celebrate:

Finally, congratulations to Bonny for the eagerly awaited arrival of baby Ivy! :celebrate:

Also, a belated congratulations to Sonja on the birth of baby Marcus!:smiliedance:

Bourbon - you are the next one! How exciting!!:hyper: I'm sure you cant wait to meet your bundle of love!

I won't be far behind you and I hope bubs doesn't arrive early as the nursery is still not ready! :eek: Mr and Mrs Disorganised - this is us!!

Hello to everybody else!

chelez
25-03-2011, 10:50
Hi Everyone !!

My 1st baby dd was born dec last yr !! do i count ?? :)

Would love the details to the fb group too i am located in Kardinya / Coolbellup area

bourbon11646
25-03-2011, 13:56
Hi chelez & welcome!

You are most welcome to join our little group :-)
Congratulations on your daughter!
Is it Emmas mummies group on FB you are interested in?
I think you will need to pm me the link to your FB so I can add you as it's a closed/secret group.

Hope everything is going well with your first child.

Hi to everyone else, I'm reading every day but not posting as much at the moment. Less than 2 weeks til my cs!!

I hope all the new mummies are going well, such an exciting time!!

chelez
25-03-2011, 14:10
Hi chelez & welcome!

You are most welcome to join our little group :-)
Congratulations on your daughter!
Is it Emmas mummies group on FB you are interested in?
I think you will need to pm me the link to your FB so I can add you as it's a closed/secret group.

Hope everything is going well with your first child.

Hi to everyone else, I'm reading every day but not posting as much at the moment. Less than 2 weeks til my cs!!

I hope all the new mummies are going well, such an exciting time!!

Hi there !! yes i think that is the group :)

here is my fb -
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=730871012

Wow not long to go for you !! do you know what you are having?

bourbon11646
25-03-2011, 14:56
No I don't, it's a surprise! I'm so curious and excited :-)

bourbon11646
25-03-2011, 18:19

Babies Due:

Babies Arrived:

Trishalishous - Eliz abeth Lini ey Rose Arrived - Girl - Wilson
Narribri - Talia Arrived Nov 2010 - Girl - Cannington
Sniggle6 - Cooper Arrived Nov 2010 - Boy - Lives in Melb - Moving to Perth in May.
Chelez - Lila arrived December 2010 - Girl - Kardinya/Coolbellup
Sooz - Elliot Arrived March 2011 - Boy - Hamersley
Hayls - Isla Arrived March 2011 - Girl - Innaloo
Bonnybaby - Ivy Arrived March 2011 - Girl - SOR

Just updating the rollcall & adding Chelez.
I hope everyone is well, if any of you want to organise a catch up while some of the rest of us are having our bubs feel free!
Looking forward to a big mum & bub catch up when we all are ready :cheerleader2: :cheerleader1:

sniggle6
25-03-2011, 21:26

I haven't posted here in awhile! Cooper and I just got back from a week in sunny Perth, our last "holiday" before we move back for good! So excited, can't wait! The weather in Melbourne is just rubbish (heaters and ugg boots anyone?)

Lots of babies being born, which is lovely. I'm looking forward to coming along to one of the meet ups when we make the move in a few months. :)

Rinche
25-03-2011, 21:31
Hi all! I've been MIA for a while, as I normally post on a different thread, but I come here often to read and catchup on all the updates. Congrats to all the new mummas!! Wow, what a run... And GL to Bourbon soon :-)

AFM - we had our anatomy scan today, confirming what we already knew, that our little one is a girl.

MrsL
26-03-2011, 12:27

Babies Due:

Babies Arrived:

Trishalishous - Eliz abeth Lini ey Rose Arrived - Girl - Wilson
Narribri - Talia Arrived Nov 2010 - Girl - Cannington
Sniggle6 - Cooper Arrived Nov 2010 - Boy - Lives in Melb - Moving to Perth in May.
Chelez - Lila arrived December 2010 - Girl - Kardinya/Coolbellup
MrsL - Indiana Arrived March 2011 - Girl - NOR
Sooz - Elliot Arrived March 2011 - Boy - Hamersley
Hayls - Isla Arrived March 2011 - Girl - Innaloo
Bonnybaby - Ivy Arrived March 2011 - Girl - SOR

Hello! sorry just changing the spelling of Indiana. Wowee!!! U don't look at this thread in a week and look at what's happened;

CONGRATS TO SOOZ, HAYLEY AND BONNY!!! :cheerleader1::cheerleader2::cheerleader1:

Bourban - so exciting you're up next!!!

Welcome Chelez :wave:

Rinche -Congrats on a little girl - yay pink!

Sonja - I hear ya re the shopping trip. been a couple of times with My son and Indi and she is good as gold but toddlers and shopping centres do not mix! what a nightmare! Loving the new mothers room at whitfords tho with a toddler play area!

Bebedream - We were the same with our nursery but it all came togther in the end and lets face it the baby doesn't know where they're sleeping anyway. Indi gets shuffled from room to room contantly.

Well we are all settling in well. Having a caesar has been really hard. the not driving and not being able to pick my son up especially. Luckily he is old enough to understand but hard when he hurts himself or climbs something he shouldn't. My mum has been fab and helping everyday.

We have some bad and some fairly good nights. She can go for a stretch of 4-5 hours on occasion but a lot of the time wakes 2-3 hours. Dh was sick friday night and I had 2 kids to get up for during the night and then my son at 6:30am (he also woke 2:15 for some water) and that just about killed me!

Just loving it tho and appreciating it all so much as I'm sure so many of us do after the IVF stint. Didn't even have a blues day this time like I did with my son. yay for that!

New mummies - I want to hear how you are all doing with the feeding, sleeping, juggling life etc!!! I have to say the second time around is soooo much easier. First time is such an adjustment. xxxx

Sonja
27-03-2011, 10:41
MrsL I share your pain. We've got a sick house here too (DH has been sick since I came home from hospital) - some nights we're up with all 3 kids. Joy! I remember how tired I got with Scarlett's night waking and how short-tempered it made me with Lucy and I so don't want to go there again. Made me feel terrible.

At least 2nd and 3rd time around we know there's light at the end of the tunnel!

Hope all the new mummies are going well! Can't wait to hear from you (when you can).

Sonja

bourbon11646
27-03-2011, 12:21
Just an update: Bonny & Hayls are going well, both are thrilled & excited with their gorgeous girls. Both our new mummies have had some bf problems but are getting there.
They sure do sound very much in love with their little girls & I can't wait to meet the little bundles of joy & share my own!!

Have a good day everyone x

bourbon11646
27-03-2011, 15:46
PS: I just went swimming - finally - bliss!