View Full Version : Perth IVF, Mums, and Mums to be

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Always Hoping
01-08-2011, 15:29
Sonja - We have 1 frostie bubby awaiting. If our little frostie is not to be then, yes, we are stopping at one. I just couldn't go through another cycle and with me not working I don't think we could afford to do any more IVF.:( I try not to be sad about this as there are many girls who would be grateful with one and many more who are childless because they couldn't afford to do IVF in the first place. I try to be humble and count my blessings every day (some times I get a little miffed that babies didn't come to me very easily........ :(.

Bonny - I presume she was a psychic.................it's funny I didn't even think to ask. Z went okay in her new room (better than me). She woke twice (the magic hours of 2 and 5) but I didn't need to get up to her as she settled back to sleep straight away. I slept so lightly as I just hated not having her beside me. My DH and I were both so sad because she wasn't there.:( I think if we didn't have to dismantle the cot (because it doesn't fit through the doorways) we would have wheeled that up to our room and put Z in that for the night:yes:. I will keep her in her bassinet in her room for a couple of nights and then try her in her cot again. She has had two day sleeps in her cot today. A miracle (although I think she is getting a cold as she is a bit snotty today) so she's probably not feeling the best and wanting to sleep.

Hope everyone is keeping warm on this very windy/rainy day.

Luv to all

Everyone - Have we moved the next catch up to 1st Sep?

MrsL
01-08-2011, 22:02
hi all,

quick one as so much reading now no time to post :laughing:.

I'm happy for catch up to be sept 1st and as i said at sooz's u are all welcome to come to myn. Or has it been decided elsewhere that I've missed?

LeeLee19
02-08-2011, 00:18

Been reading, but not posting as have been trying to get all this proof reading done...finished now thankfully.

Sonja, hope your little one is not too much in the wars now...these things happen hey, I'm just amazed kids don't hurt themsleves more to be honest as they seem to sniff danger out...the more dangerous the more fun - :laughing:..totally agree re not helicopter parenting...there's a lot of research around things like playground structure and the like these days saying that it is being made so safe and sanitised that it is actually more dangerous for kids as they are not learning to play with risk taking in a safe way, if that makes sense.

Bonny, mmmm yes the night wakings...Piper has been waking more frequently recently after sleeping through previously. Usually I get a few hours at the beginning of the night...so now when she wakes up for the first time I bring her in with me and feed lying down for the rest of the night so I can sleep. As it's just me there's plenty of room in the bed, though she sleeps stuck to me like a koala bear...I get plenty of sleep though. Only downside, is I wake up all stiff from sleeping on my side and she likes to make me up in the morning by feeling my face, cute...but....:rolleyes:

Catch up on the 1st is fine, but I have a playgroup at 12.30 in Beechboro and Kallaroo is a long way for me, so could we maybe make it a bit earlier, say 9.30 or more central...though don't know if anyone lives more central, so maybe just earlier?

Sonja
02-08-2011, 09:55
Given it will be the 1st day of spring, do we want to try and catch up in a park somewhere?? I don't mind having it near me and if the weather isn't good we can come back here?? I'm near Clarko Reserve at Trigg which is gorgeous on a sunny day.

What do we think?

Always Hoping
02-08-2011, 15:31
I'm happy for the catchup to be in a park (hopefully the weather will permit).

Hope you're all having a wonderful day.

MrsL
02-08-2011, 23:20
i'm happy with whatever park or earlier. is trigg any better for u leelee?

LeeLee19
03-08-2011, 00:58
Yep, happy with park meet too...Trigg prob is better yes, as I can just go all the way down the Reid Hwy, only took me 1/2 hour last time I went to Sonja's.

bourbon11646
03-08-2011, 19:14
I'm hoping I can make this one too. Will be coming from ellenbrook but should b fine, what time?

Sonja
03-08-2011, 20:12
How would 1030 work?

MrsL
03-08-2011, 21:28
great tho i think leelee wanted a bit earlier due to her MG?

Sonja
03-08-2011, 22:24
Oops yep you're right. LeeLee what time is good for you?

LeeLee19
03-08-2011, 23:47
10 would work for me, then we should all miss the end of rush hour traffic, but gives me enough time to get to MG

sooz80
04-08-2011, 00:23
I'm hopeful for a sunny morning in the park. I'm looking forward to a break in the weather to get some clothes dried. I seem to have been really busy the last few days. Elliot had his jabs on Tuesday and as last time is pretty unhappy - he just wants held all of the time - poor little mite.

I hope that everyone is well.

bonnybaby
04-08-2011, 18:44
Always - How is Zoe going in her cot at night now? Is she getting used to it? Or more so, are her mummy and daddy getting used to it? It certainly took me a while to get used to.

Sooz - Hope Elliott is feeling a bit better after his jabs now. Touch wood, they havent really affected Ivy too much when she has had them...actually, the one thing I did notice now I think about it is she had one of her best night sleeps ever!

Hows everyone else going? I went to the Mums and Bubs movie today at carousel, it was Bad Teacher. It was my first time going to the movies since before she was born. She did pretty well and slept in my arms for most of the movie...but, since coming home she hasnt wanted to sleep in the cot all day...I think one taste of sleeping in my arms is all it takes these days!
Oh and Im happy with 10am on 1st Sept too.

Always Hoping
05-08-2011, 22:27
Bonny - well Z is not doing too well in her cot. It is taking a lot to settle her and over the last two nights has been waking every 2 hours. She is even waking in between these times but is settling herself. The other times I am having to feed her. I don't know if it's because she's going through a growth spurt and needs the extra feeding or it's because of the new cot and room.

I know I have been so spoilt from the beginning and Z has been sleeping all night and now that I am having to get up through the night.....................OMG how do you girls do it!!!!!!! I am knackered after two bad nights:freakingout: Here's praying for a better night tonight.

:wave:to everyone. Hope you all enjoyed the gorgeous weather today.

Well my mum is down at the moment and she will see Z at swimming tomorrow for the first time. I am so excited to have my mum here...................yay. My DH is with the Army again so it will be just me, Z and my mum. A girls day.:goodvibes:

MrsL
06-08-2011, 17:51

oh dear always. I think u feel it way more when u have to go back to waking up. when its constant like my little indi u just get used to it :rolleyes:

Bonny - ohh i really wanna see that movie. its been such a long tiome since I saw an adult movie at the cinemas. last one was Rio tho they make kids movies with a lot of adult humour these days too which keeps it interesting.

Hi bourban - hopefully u make this catch up as I'd love to meet little luca :fingerscrossed:

Hi leelee, sonja, hayls and sooz :wave:

question - when do u start to offer the cooled boiled water? is it when u do soilds? I am planning on starting next week and have ordered some pears with my food shopping on monday and bought a little blender/chopper/pureeing thing as well as all my little icecube trays, bowls and spoons and cleared a little drawer for all indi's feeding things - I'm excited :hyper:

Sonja
06-08-2011, 20:21
MrsL I give Marc cooled boiled water with his meals, more to get him used to the taste than for any other reason. He loves it!

Good luck with the solids. Marc has breakfast and dinner now and really enjoys it

bourbon11646
06-08-2011, 21:07
Will try to do personals tomorrow... I'm SO exhausted, weeks of very little sleep :-(
I'm wrapping luca one arm out now & last night he went well but there was a gang of guys outside my window fighting & I had to call the police so no sleep again! I could have killed them!!

Sonja
06-08-2011, 22:14
Bourbon I hope things improve for you soon. Both Lucy and Scarlett were nightmares for most of their first 12 months so I know how hard it is. I hope you have a better night tonight. Did you wind up trying the breast feeding tablets?

Always I agree with MrsL sometimes it's easier to cope when you never get a good night's sleep

Bonny how's Ivy sleeping now?

sooz80
07-08-2011, 20:13
LeeLee - I've just seen you on the news. Good for you. I've had two old bags move to a different table because I was feeding elliot. It's mot as if I was flaunting anything.
I'll be back later: -)

Sent from my X10a using Bubhub

MrsL
07-08-2011, 22:36
what! what happened leelee??? what channel?

LeeLee19
08-08-2011, 00:23
Thanks Sooz...Mrs L, it was an event this morning for World Breastfeeding Week. Lots of women met up on each train line and headed into town to meet at that cafe in the middle of Forest Chase for a public breast feeding event. The cafe loved it...as all us mums purchases lots of coffees and muffins :). The news came down for the event and Piper and I seemed to end up in the middle of the action...Piper's first claim to fame, being attached to my boob - noice :laughing:

Sooz, that experience sucks :no: Silly women, they'd see more flesh if they walked past any news agency which stocks FHM.

I've been loving this dry spell...got some washing done and DRIED and it's just lovely to have a bit of sun, I was feeling a bit vitimin D deprived there for a while.

Always... I hope little Z is transitioning well now...I think I'm super lazy as I gave up with the cot after two nights :rolleyes: Piper just seemed to think it was a play space. So cute that Zoe is waving.

Piper's latest thing is feeling things..like everything we go past, doors, window sills everything is super interesting and produces a glow of wonder in her eyes...just lovely. I'm really enjoying this age.

:wave: to everyone else!!

Always Hoping
08-08-2011, 12:46
Well my darling little Z is now fully transitioned into her cot. She sleeps through the night and is now having an hour morning nap. OMG!!!!!! Unheard of. I am yet to test the afternoon nap because I have been out most days and she has had her nap in the car.

Well I am sooooooo sick with the flu/cold. I am coughing heaps, sore throat, runny nose and sore eyes (ears hurt a little too). My DH has done his back in so we are a complete pair of OF at the moment. The only one on the top of the world is our princess (thank goodness). I keep praying "give it all to me and spare her". She has a bit of a runny nose but not too bad.

Good for you LeeLee. I remember when DH and I were at the caravan and camping show and I had to BF Z. I went into a little corner (almost hiding) and the looks I got from the old ladies. Eventually a salesman came up to me and asked if I was BF (as I had a privacy veil on). I said yes and he took me to the sales area where it was aircon etc as it was a boiling hot day. He was so nice and understanding. I felt like poking those old biddies eyes out. What could be more natural than BF your baby. I mean that's what boobs are for. I personally don't want to see someones whole boob when they are BF but then again if it offends, DON'T LOOK.

Well I am off to sit and feel very sorry for myself and listen to my DH about his sore back. What a crappy pair we are:rolleyes: Perhaps chocolate will help :D

Sonja
08-08-2011, 22:18
Always hope you feel better soon. I've been struck down by a bad sinus infection and felt dreadful all weekend. Didn't stop DH going to the footy yesterday, leaving me with all 3 kids to entertain for 6 hours :rolleyes: thankfully we live close to Clarko Reserve at Trigg which always keeps them busy.

MrsL how did Indi go with the pears?

MrsL
09-08-2011, 23:45
always - yay for zoe!

leelee - I'd love to have seen it - good 4 u!

bourban - hope luca is sleeping better for u.

sonja - hope you're feeling better. Indi pulled a face at her pear (dislike?) it was actually more of an event for my son who had a turn feeding her and stood on hand with a tissue ready to wipe her mouth - v cute!

Hi everyone else :wave:

sooz80
10-08-2011, 23:23
Hi girls.
I've been really busy at work and not been on here much at all. It sounds like people have been full of colds. We all had it last week - it was not much fun.
Always/Sonja - I hope that everyone is feeling better.
Mrs L - How sweet about J feeding Indi.
Bourbon - I hope that Luca is giving you some zzzz.
LeeLee - I've got to agree that this age is lovely - I'm sure E really noticed the cats and dog in the past few days - he actually tried to stroke one of the cats.

It's a bit of a sad day for me today. It's the funeral of an old school friend who died of Sudden Adult Death Syndrome 10 days ago. We weren't super close, but emailed each other a couple of times a year. It makes you really appreciate every single day.

Anyway, bedski for me - Elliot has decided that 5.30am is a good time to start the day, so I'm working to his schedule :)

Always Hoping
11-08-2011, 12:03
Sooz - OMG. :hugs:. I have never heard of it in adults. It makes us appreciate every day when we hear of such trageties. Life definately is too short and every single second needs to be appreciated. You are in my thoughts.:cuddle:

MrsL - how cute your son helping feed Indi. His job as official tissue holder and wiper is a very important job and one held in very high esteme for "older" brothers.;)

Sonja - bet you could have just bopped him one for up and leaving you with the kids when sick.

AFU - Well I don't think I have ever been so sick in my life. At night I can't stop coughing and sneezing. It's not too bad during the day but as the day drags on I get worse. OMG...........................I am such a sook. Toughen up princess!!!!:D

bonnybaby
11-08-2011, 18:36

Feels like I havent posted in ages! Just read back and it sounds as though a few colds are going around. We had an extremely unsettled week last week. Just as Ivy was going great guns, out of the blue she was up all night and not doing any daysleeps...seems as though she had a bit of a cold as she was coughing a lot and very snotty. So sad to see her so bunged up because it was so difficult at feed times, even when we had used Fess and Vicks. It didnt really clear her nose, so she struggled BFing. But that seems to be behind her now and she is sleeping a lot better.

Sooz - Sorry to hear about your friend. Its so scary to think that something like that could strike anyone at anytime. Really does make me realise how short life is and to make the most of every single day.

Always - Hey great news about Zoes cot sleeping!!! And doing daysleeps too, woohoo!! Go Zoe.

Leelee - Doh I missed the news. I would have loved seeing that segment. How many mums turned up? Would have been awesome seeing so many BFing mums. I love BFing so much, its such a special thing and Im going to be awfully sad when the day comes when I stop completely with Ivy :-(

MrsL - Oh so Pear isnt liked so much with Indi. I have had a packet of rice cereal in the cupboard for a few weeks now, but Im a little scared to start. I think I will just need to pick a date, and go for it. Not sure what Im so scared of really...maybe its just the fact Ivy is growing up so fast and I want to freeze time as it is, because life is just so beautiful with her now.

Big hello to everyone else, Sonja, Bourbon, Hayls.

LeeLee19
12-08-2011, 00:02
Sonja and Always...I hope you're feeling better soon, so far we seemed to have avoided the winter sniffles, but I bet I'll have jinxed myself now. We do quite a lot of train travel and I'm constantly moving away from people who sound sick...STAY HOME!! hee hee - I'm sure I barely used to notice pre Piper.

Sooz, I'm sorry to hear about your friend, so very sad! I've not heard of Sudden Adult death either...does that mean that there is no obvious cause?

Mrs L...super cute about feeding Indi. Piper hasn't really started any solids yet but had a few swipes. I'm planning to do baby led weaning with her, so just give her stuff that I'm eating (one way to make sure I'm eating health :). She's had a couple of successful salad swipes, getting big fistfuls of spinach, lettuce and avocado..not much going in though and she seemed to delight at a fresh lemon and balsamic dressing :confused: odd child

Well I'm not sure I'm going to get a front to back roll out of her as now when she gets on her tummy she is intent on trying to crawl...she gets her bum up and then onto her feet, kinda like a downward dog in yoga, but still with a face plant. Very entertaining. I try and give her about half an hour of naked time and just blast the heating which is when she does her best tricks :hyper:
We went to the kids area at the state library to meet a few friends with bubs yesterday which was awesome, such a big space with so much stuff for kids. It might be worth keeping in mind for a central meet up one day when the little ones are crawling.

Hi to everyone else! :wave:

Hayls70
12-08-2011, 21:20
Hi ladies, sorry I'm hopeless at keeping up with BH these days!

I hope I can make it to the catch up on the 1st sept. It's right about the time we're moving so will see how it's all going then.

Sooz.. Sorry to hear about your friend..awful news.

Always..was it hard for you to put Zoe into the cot? I stil can't bring myself to yet! Hope you are feeling better

MrsL.. Have you persisted with the pear? Apparently it can take a few goes before they take to some things.what else have you tried with Indy?

Bonny.. Hiya, I bought some rice cereal this week and have started Isla on it..4th morning today and she screwed her face up the first two times then yesterday she opened her mouth for some..took her a couple days to work out what the heck I'm doing. She hasn't had much though,only about a thumbnail amount yesterday then maybe 3 today..progress! Good luck when you start!

MrsL
16-08-2011, 10:58

hayls- hope all the packing is going well. hopefully we'll see u on the 1st then. have u tried some different solids now with isla?

leelee - i've never heard of baby led weaning but it makes sense. does that mean u don't do any pureeing?

Bonny - i hope ivy is back to sleeping well for u still. its hard to go back when they've been going well.

always - hope u are all better now. its horrible when u feel that awful and have a little one to care for :no:.

sooz - sorry to hear about your friend :hugs:. i've also never heard of it- v scary.

well I'm a terrible mother:rolleyes:. after starting solids with indi i have to admit i keep forgetting or running out of time to do it. its sounds silly but she's still only up for an hour at a time and in that time i need to feed her or get somewhere or am sorting my son out etc and the whole day often goes without much of an opportunity to do it. i'm prob being a bit slack as she is still only 5 months. once she hits 6 months i'll try and have more of a routine with it all. have bought some pumpkin this week to try. my plan was always to do it v slowly but i didn't mean this slowly!

had a long chat with a mum in he mothers room at shops today. out of nowhere she bought up sleep issues with her 13 month old. she was obviously desperate to talk about it. It seems anyone with a child this is the number 1 problem. Indi seems to chop and change all the time. Am really trying to go with the flow but must admit am starting to hit a wall big time. it really is quite unbelievable how long our bodies have to endure this broken sleep and deprivation after having a child.

Sonja
16-08-2011, 14:35
MrsL you're not terrible - I agree at first I found it really hard to find time, but I'm really committed to getting him onto a good quantity of solids so I can tackle his night waking. DH gives Marc fruit, milk and cereal puree at breakfast when Lucy and Scarlett have their breakfast and then he has dinner at the same time the girls eat - that way I don't have to "find" a good time of day to do it. We're away this weekend but after we get back I'm going to start him on lunch as well. He loves eating at the same time as the girls. Maybe that would work for Indi?

I also reckon this age is tough if they're still not sleeping - they're very heavy (well Marc is) and all the carrying all day is very tiring after not much sleep. I'm up with Marc and one of girls every night so I'm used to not much sleep, but it's still hard. I just am so looking forward to some warmer weather so being up early doesn't seem so hard.

Sooz I saw something about it on Australian Story (I think). Just horrible. Hope you're holding up ok.

ok gotta run and get Scarlett into bed. Early pick up from school today which I hate as she's always tired and grumpy (bit like me :))

Always Hoping
16-08-2011, 15:48
MrsL - you're not a terrible mum. Having another child also to look after is challenging (not that I would know but having one to look after keeps me on my toes:rolleyes:). With Z meals I do a big cook up of vegies and puree them all (separately) and put them into ice cube trays. Once they are frozen I bag them up and have them in the freezer ready to go. If I know I'm out when it's her lunch meal I take a few vegie icecubes with me and they are usually defrosted by the time it's her meal time. If they're not defrosted most cafes etc are only too happy to heat up for me (as long as the container I have has a lid).

Sonja - how did you go with early pick up? Hope Scarlett wasn't too grumpy.

Hayls - hope the move is going smoothly. I know you're only moving next door but that must be harder as you would have to carry everything there. Putting Z in the cot was hard. I miss her so much, although I am now starting to sleep better at night. She is hit and miss at the moment with sleepting through. Some nights are good ...................... some not so good. On the whole though she's been very good at adjusting to her new room and new cot.

LeeLee - state library sounds like a great idea when our bubbies are crawling. That way we can catch the train in if we choose (although I'm a little dubious about trains after my last incident in December.................anyway move on - I will have to get over it sooner or later:yes:).

Sooz - how are you going:hugs:

AFU - well there is light at the end of the tunnel. I am starting to feel a little better. The coughing at night has subsided to just a cough and not partially vomiting from coughing (sorry TMI). I am just so greatful that Z didn't catch this cold. I wonder because she is BF that she was getting my antibodies through the BM. Hope so:fingerscrossed:

Luv to all. Looking forward to our catch up in a couple of weeks.

Hayls70
17-08-2011, 09:48
OMG we haven't even started to pack yet! I think it's going to be madly done over a couple days. DH keeps telling me not to stress about it! Hmmmm..that's not easy.

MrsL.. If you're terrible then I'm terrible too!! I started Isla on rice cereal last week, we did 4days of breakfast but she started pooing EVERY nappy change and then some?? They are green and sometimes mucusy..I thought I'd stop the cereal for a few days to see if it's that. Well I think it's teething as she's drooling like crazy and bad nappy rash. She's still pooing all the time even though no cereal for 3days. I'm thinking of trying again or some purees:)

Always.. Well done on the cot change, I can't bare the thought of moving Isla yet so I guess I'm not ready, I'm sure she'd be fine..it's me!! And you're so right moving next door is actually more hassle because you find yourself carrying things further rather than putting in a car just to drive next door!

Sonja..is the solids helping with better sleeping. The ladies at my mothers group have all started their bubs on solids and they haven't seemed to notice an improvement?

Hi leelee,sooz,bourbon,Bonny..

Afm: thinking of starting some pureed veg..fruit soon. Anyone else getting green mucus poos and very regularly??
Taking Isla to gymbaroo today, hoping she's going to love it..feel like I'm not doing enough for her as she's looking for excitement now!
BTW, noticed I started bleeding a little yesterday...AF?! Quite depressing actually.

Sonja
17-08-2011, 11:52
Hi Hayls nope solids on their own generally doesn't improve sleep, but as part of a total story means we can start resettling Marc and expect him to get through. Once he gets to 3 meals of about half a cup each time a day I'm satisfied he's not waking from hunger. That's also with a comp bottle at bedtime. It's just that it taken us a while to get to him having that much food. Had a crapola night with him last night. So tired today. Hope the move isn't too horrendous.

MrsL
17-08-2011, 22:09
tried pumpkin today and after indi nearly choked realised i should've added some water or milk to make a better consistency. just thought i'd give u all a heads up on that one as i think i learnt that the hard way last time too (you'd think i might've retained some of what i learnt for this time round but apparently not!)

oh and re the sleeping thru and food yeah i don't think it does make a differnece.my theory is that once they get to about 6 months of night wakings its pretty much a habit that needs to be broken :( and agree with sonja that the way to do that is to be comfortable that they aren't waking from hunger.

MrsL
17-08-2011, 22:14
oh also wanted to ask sonja what do u do when your girls wake? My son has been waking heaps of nights lately and its becoming v tiresome with the both of them. also whats the reason they wake do u know? he would wake occasionally before but was v quick to resettle with just a drink of water or something but lately is hard to get settled again and can be quite demanding at all hours of the night e.g. deciding at 4:30 this morn that he wanted blue pants on instead of green :freakingout:

Sonja
17-08-2011, 23:10
MrsL the girls' night waking is the bane of our existence. Scarlett had been doing it since we moved to Perth but with Lucy it restarted after Marc's birth. One theory is they do it because they see less of you during the day so they wake at night to see you. Basically how we work it is if Scarlett wakes DH resettles her, which can take ages. He usually winds up sleeping in her bed as he needs to stay with her til she falls back to sleep. I am then left with Marc to deal with. If Marc becomes too much of a handful I usually go and get DH and he takes over. By this time Scarlett is well asleep. Lucy (our oldest) will just come into our bed during the night to sleep if she has a nightmare.

It's certainly not perfect but it gets us through. Some nights are ok and some are terrible, but with 3 kids tbh I've given up hoping for much more. Sorry it's probably not much help but you're not alone.

LeeLee19
18-08-2011, 00:09
Totally unhelpful MrsL, but I really had a laugh at your son wanting different colour pants on at 4.30 in the morning :p I'm sure you were less than amused at the time :rolleyes:

bourbon11646
19-08-2011, 21:46
Hi! Boy do i feel slack, im sorry! Life has been very busy as im sure you all understand.
DH and I are building our first home (well as soon as the bank approve the building plans, finance has been approved but they want to see we are building not buying a car. Only prob is we can only afford to build if we get the $10 000 from Ellenbrook that pays our rent while we build. It seems they are all being pains in the butt, Ellenbrook wont extend the deadline as we have already signed a contract even though they sent fliers in the mail extending it for everyone else!, the bank wouldnt give us the money we wanted but then DH got a small pay rise and all of a sudden they will lend us heaps (they wouldnt take into account his new pay rise on the way or his bonuses/allowances), then the building company are taking ages to draw up plans and we need all of this tied in NOW to get the grant aahhh! Stress! It will be exciting if/when we get to go ahead though. And a little scary i guess thinking of a mortgage!
Luca has been quite sick with reflux poor little sausage. He was chucking alot and in pain so hes been on Losec for a month or so and it seems to help a bit. We saw a paed the other day who tripled this dose and i dont know if its a fluke but he hasnt vomited since even when burping. Hes in alot of pain while bf though, had me in tears the other day as i couldnt stand him screaming in pain and refusing the breast. I think a combination of reflux pain and teething.
He is dribbling and drooling, flushed cheeks, irritable, biting and sucking on anything including my face!
His day sleeps are quite good, from 2-3 naps/sleeps a day.
Nights he will sleep ok one night and be restless the next. Keeping me on my toes!
Ive learnt to not speak too soon as he changes the rules on me :eek:
Have taken him to the chiro about 5 times. He said his neck and back etc are fine but his tummy was in knots. He gave me baby biotics to put in his milk which has helped and now he farts and poos easier!
Am settled in the new rental in Ellenbrook finally. Boy was moving house a huge stress. And we have to do it again if we build lol.
It was hard with a newborn thats for sure. Hayls i feel for you!
Went to gymbaroo the other day with Hayls, i loved it as Luca really enjoyed it. Seeing his smile and face of wonder made me so happy. He was a bit grizzly when i got home but then slept really really well that night!
Im thinking about going to the library for 'Rhyme Time', has anyone done that? Whats it like? We should all meet at a library for that :yes:
Umm what else.. Luca is soooooo cute hes growing up so fast and really becoming more of a little boy rather than a baby. He has funny quirks and i often can get squeals of laughter out of him by repeating funny sentences at him like 'are you stinnkkkyyy?' - sends him insane with laughter! :laughing:
Some days have been hard when ive been tired and things seemed to get on top of me. I tend to stay home alot so i really should get out and about more.
DH helps alot around the house, washing, cleaning, cooking and i do 100% of looking after Luca at night which can get hard if hes waking often but DH is a pilot so dont want him tired!
Started Luca on rice cereal today, he swirled it around and ate a tiny bit, screwed up his face and WAAAAAAAAAA!! Hmm lets see how tomorrow goes! The paed told me to start solids.
Ok ill shut up now..

PS: whats happening with the catch up - where n when? I take it no one with colds etc would come? Im scared of luca getting sick, my paed said his reflux will get really bad if he gets a cold. He surprisingly didnt catch mine or DHs really bad cold when we had them last though. Cant wrap him in cotton wool but just checking... im sure you all wouldnt spread any germs though!

LeeLee - You made me laugh re the downward dog comment! I was trying to picture a baby doing that haha. I think meeting at a library is a great idea.

Sonja - wow 3 kids you are superwoman! I think id do whatever works too. Anything for sleep or sanity i say. Its easy for others to say you should do this or dont do that but you have to just survive i say!

MrsL - Sorry the kids have been demanding. It would be hard with more than one thats for sure. Scary about the pumpkin choking incident, thanks for the heads up. I agree the days go sooo fast that we run out of time. DH said yesterday "have u started the solids yet" umm nope ran out of time! And yes how on earth do our bodies survive on such little sleep, it always amazes me!

Hayls - I really enjoyed catching up the other day at gymbaroo and look forward to it each week! How was Isla after? Luca was grizzly and tired but slept really well!
Hows the rice cereal going?
What purees are you going to try next? I think ill do pear..

Always - Luca didnt catch our colds either and we were quite sick. I hope it is from bf and the antibodies. Thank god bubs didnt get sick, nothing more scary than blocked noses.

Bonny - Does Ivy get snuffly at night? Luca does from the reflux and fess does nothing so now i leave it and it usually clears by morning. Even after bf it clears.. weird!

Sooz - Im sorry to hear about your friend, life is short and thats so sad.
I think Luca and Elliot have been talking and agreeing that 5:30am is a good wake up time!

sooz80
19-08-2011, 21:54

I've not been on in a while - I'm pretty shattered with working full time hours in 4 days and then DH working at the weekend. It was so much easier before DH started back at work. We'll get there though. Other than that all is well and I'm focussing on enjoying every second with my little man.
For those that were asking Sudden Adult Death syndrome is caused by a heart defect - it generally hits young adults in their late teens to early 30s. It's something that you are born with, but doesn't cause any symptoms until your heart basically stops working.

Bonny - I hope that Ivy's cold has cleared - I think everyone has been struck by one.

LeeLee -The state library sounds like a great idea.
We went to the kids area at the state library to meet a few friends with bubs yesterday which was awesome, such a big space with so much stuff for kids. It might be worth keeping in mind for a central meet up one day when the little ones are crawling.

Hayls - I hope that the packing is going well. It will be geat to get into your own place. We haven't had any experience of the green poo - but Elliot's not teething yet. Maybe try fruit/veggies instead?? How did Isla enjoy gymberoo? E loves it.

Mrs L - we had a similar start to solids and we don't have a toddler and we're not sleep deprived. You're doing great! I treated Elliot to mashed banana today as they were only (!!!) $7 per killo at Wanneroo Market! I hope that you're feeling better - we go through these panics about whether we're doing the best we can - it's only natural.

Sonja - I hope that you're getting some more sleep. I think that it's amazing how you cope. Barry went to rhyme time on Thursday and said it was awful - pretty empty with an old dragon taking it. The new lady starts next week, so we may see how she goes. It was a highlight of Elliot's week previously.

Always - It sounds like you've had a rotten time with that illness. I hope that you're feeling better now.

Hope everyone has a fantastic weekend :D

sooz80
19-08-2011, 22:01
Bourbon - you must have posted as I was typing - I lost my post, but had luckily copied it first - Go Me!!!!
We go to Rhyme Time at Scarborough on Thursday mornings. There was a fantastic buy who took it, but he's been moved. His replacement starts next week, so :fingerscrossed: she's half as good.
The meet-up is at Clarko Reserve on Thursday 1st September (please correct me if I'm wrong).
Gymberoo is fab, isn't it. Elliot can't control his excitement when the Hello Song starts as he know's that he's got 45 minutes of fun :yes:

LeeLee19
20-08-2011, 01:20
Bourbon - wow that moving sounds stressful, I hate moving and vowed never again after the last time, so I can't even imagine how hard it would be with a baby. Glad to hear you had fun at gymberoo.

Sooz - four days at work must be exhausting, how lovely to come home to little Elliot though, that's so cute that he anticipates his fun gymberoo session so much. I hope the new person at Rhyme Time is good :fingerscrossed:. I used to work at Subi Library and the guy that does Rhyme Time and Story Time there is awesome. It got so popular and busy that I think they have it twice a week now.

MrsL - you were asking about baby lead weaning, well the idea is that by six months (or so) babies are able to grab food cut into suitable sizes and feed themselves so that is an option instead of pureeing. There is a really great book on it called 'baby lead weaning' by Gill Rapley which is worth a read as it's got some really good info in it. Very easy to read too. Piper grabbed my half eaten pear the other day and had a good munch on it...very messy and very funny!!

AFU...well Piper has cut her first tooth :eek:. I only noticed as she gummed my finger the other day as she likes to do and I noticed it wasn't so gummy anymore...had a look and sure enough, a little tooth :D. She didn't seem grizzly or anything so doesn't seem to have caused her too much bother. Maybe the amber teething necklace helped??? Well I posted a couple of posts ago that we had avoided illness, and doh or course jinxed myself :no:. I got a minor cold the next day and downed LOTS of zinc, ate oranges etc which seemed to minimise it... Piper seemed well enough, but then a couple of days later, a snotty nose started. Again, she doesn't seem very bothered by it. I bought a vapouriser for night and she's breathing fine, just a bit snuffly on the boob and a bit of a cough. Oh well, I think it's hard to get through the winter without one. I been offering extra feeds for the antibodies which she is delighted at :yes:. We went to a free baby signing class at Subi Library on Monday which was great fun. I've been working on trying to sign milk at every feed, but she's paying no attention as has a one track mind as soon as there's a wiff of milk around....maybe I'll try another sign to start off with.

:wave: to everyone else - hoping you're getting a bit of sleep in.

bonnybaby
20-08-2011, 17:59
Geez Ive been pretty slack on this thread too. Sorry. Each day just evaporates into the next...and Ive only got one bubba, I can only imagine what it would be like for MrsL and MrsL with 2 and 3. Superwomen thats for sure!!

We had a rough week a couple wks ago when Ivy had a cold, but thats all cleared up now. I think it was Borbon asking if she gets stuffy nose at night, yes, definitely. And it has nothing to do with the cold she had as she has been stuffy at night for months now. I dont know why. Some nights are so bad that she has trouble feeding. I tried Fess too and found it did nothing at all. Oh and you asked about Rhyme Time. Ours is great...sorry Sooz that DH took E to the Dragon lady, hope you get a better lady soon!!! Its really fun and Ivy loves it. I think she loves having a good look at all the other babies more that my singing. Oh and she loves the ones where I put her on my lap and wobble her around, she ends up giggling her head off.

We started Ivy on rice cereal today. None of it was swallowed. She did open her mouth for each spoonful though which is a great start, but then it just dribbled out over her chin. I will try each day until she swallows it. How long will it take for her to swallow?? And did you guys start on veggie/fruit not long after rice cereal?

Her sleep is up and down. Some nights are brilliant with only one wake up...although majority of nights she still wakes about 5 times. Even still, we are happy with this as it used to be double that. And now it doesnt take too long for her to go back to sleep, which is great. We no longer pace the room rocking her.

She will be 5 months on Tuesday and I cant get my head around how fast those 5 months have gone by. It really does feel like only a few weeks ago I was at the hospital with her a few hours old. Some days Im really clucky (call me crazy) and Id love to have another baby in the very near future. Its just such a shame that we will probably end up having to do IVF, which we cant afford...and Im scared to get my hopes up of having another child in case it isnt the case. Natural miracle would be out of this world.

Sorry for no personals atm. I'll try and pop on here a bit more often. Ivy has just woken from her nap so I should get going. haha the dishes that I was going to tackle can wait :-)
I hope everyone is well and Im looking forward to the catch up. Its been ages since Ive seen you all.

sooz80
20-08-2011, 19:50
Our rhyme time was fantastic, but the man who did has been moved to another library - hopefully hos proper replacement is good.

What a gorgeous day - it reminds me why we live in perth;)

Elliot is 5 months tomorrow and his my little ray of sunshine. I'm focussing on him and banishing broody thoughts for now ;) They are addictive though

Always Hoping
20-08-2011, 20:31
Sorry guys no time at the moment for personals but just wanted to say that my darling little Zoe has cut her first tooth today. I noticed it as she stuffed my finger in her mouth to chew on.

I quickly read that Piper has also cut her first tooth too. Yay to our two little girls. No real complaints from Z either cutting her tooth.

Will try and reply to personals later.

Have a wonderful evening everyone.

bourbon11646
20-08-2011, 21:51
How old r the bubs with teeth? Luca is 4.5 months (20 wks tues) and I feel like a tooth is on the way..

MrsL
20-08-2011, 23:16
hi all!

man so exhausted had my sons third bday party today. was fantastic but such a lot of work! Indi was such a good girl watching me prep all the food etc but i think it got too much for her this arvo as she wouldn't have her last nap of the day and ended up v tired at bedtime.

bonny - i've started fruit and veges first and will do rice cereal at 6 months.

bourban - no teeth in sight for indi yet tho flushed cheeks :confused:

hi everyone else :wave:

is it clarko reserve (trigg park) then @ 10am this thurs?

LeeLee19
20-08-2011, 23:22
Bourbon Piper is 5 1/2 months

Always - how cool...seems you found the first tooth the same way as me :laughing:

bonnybaby
21-08-2011, 15:41
Mrs L - I think we changed the catchup to the following Thursday...the 1st?? Is that right?

woohoo to the Piper and Zoe on their first toothy!!! Make sure to get some pics :-)

MrsL
21-08-2011, 16:51
oh yes sorry i did know that my dates are just out.

hope everyone enjoyed the last of the beautiful sunshine :p

bourbon11646
21-08-2011, 22:04
How nice was the sunshine today :-)
Makes you feel good when the weathers nice.
And easier to get washing dry ;-)
Had friends from Margaret river come up which was great & we met their new little bubby! It's funny coz the guy never wanted kids then something changed, they now have a daughter and he's SO clucky!
Really touching to see.
Luca loves meeting new people & is fascinated by other babies!
He slept for 2hrs this arvo before they got here and usually he can hear a pin drop, today we were IN the nursery talking & he didn't stir what's with that?!
Hope u all had a nice weekend.
Good sleep vibes to u all!

sooz80
26-08-2011, 21:24
We've slipped to the second page. There seems to be a flurry of activity on here and then it all goes quiet again:rolleyes:
Well I spent today washing all of Elliot's 6-9montha and 0 clothes and packing away most of his current clothes. He's growing up a little too quickly :yes:
Apart from that - his feet are still a constant source of amusement... We've not found any food that he dislikes yet, but he's still not putting on much weight...
And that's it really - the weeks are flying by and my little boy is growing up fast.
I hope that everyone has recovered from colds and other nasty bugs.
I'm looking forward to our catch up on Thursday. :fingerscrossed: the weather stays sunny.

Hayls70
27-08-2011, 11:04
Hiya ladies,

Well I'm disappointed to say I won't be able to make the thurs catch up. We have just got the keys to our new house so it's set to be an ultra crazy busy week! Especially considering I've done NOTHING yet arghhh.how the hell do you do anything with a 5 month old that only wants her mumma! I thought I'll spend each day moving the little stuff..seeing as it's next door then come Thursday DH and his mates can do all the heavy stuff...my part seemed simple but now I'm realizing nothing is simple anymore..

I hope you have a luvly time and the weather holds up, let me know about the next catch up and I hope to see you guys then

Sooz-they are growing up fast aren't they !! I'm loving having more understanding between us every day but at the same time they're no longer little babies..soon they'll know how to say NO ...I dread the day Isla says stop kissing me to bits n pieces mummy!

Sonja
27-08-2011, 15:58

That's a shame Hayls but totally understandable. good luck with it all.

Sorry don't get on here much anymore life is extremely busy at the moment. Lucy turned 6 on wednesday and it's been pretty full on with party preparations. She's having 40 kids at Northern Districts gymnasium tomorrow, and we've had to prepare an enormous amount of food for it. We were in Brisbane last weekend to see family as well so it's been crazy.

Marc is now sitting up on his own, and trying to pull himself up on furniture. I keep forgetting he's only 5 and a half months as he's so into everything. He's eating well but night time sleep is still all over the place some nights are good then others he's awake for an hour or more in the middle of the night. I think it's developmental as all my kids did it - just before they started a new thing they were quite wakeful. He's trying to crawl too. You'd think with all he had going on he'd be exhausted at night but he's got so much energy. He's still one of the happiest babies I know I just love every bit of him (even at 2am).

Look forward to seeing you all on Thursday.

hopefully2
27-08-2011, 23:24
hey all...so sorry to gate crash your thread but I am doing a double embryo transfer this month and was wondering how many of you fell pregnant with 3 day embryos. Am thinking it will get me through the tww knowing that others have had success. I had two embryos transfered on Friday, one an 8 cell and one a 7 cell. I am also a Perth girl so was hoping since I fit some of the criteria it would be ok ;). Pg after this month I might be able to join you all here. xxx ivfhopeful xxx

Sonja
27-08-2011, 23:59
Hi ivfhopeful

You are more than welcome here. I always had day 2 transfers (all my IVF was in Melbourne I moved to Perth November last year) so I can't help. Good luck though and please hang around the more the merrier.

Rinche
28-08-2011, 01:43
Ivfhopeful - all of my transfers were day three embys. And I also had two put in. I'm the only one I know of that's had day 3's. Fingers crossed for a sticky one (or two)!!

Hi everyone else, it's been a long while since I've posted. I've been lurking, and trying to keep up with the thread as best I can.
My little girl Amalie Eden arrived 08/08/11. A perfect package in 3270g and 49cm. I absolutely love her to pieces, and so thankful that IVF / ICSI has brought us our daughter.

sooz80
28-08-2011, 10:51
Hayls - I'm sorry that you can't make it. I can only imagine how hard it is. I barely find the time to sort out washing and unload the dishwasher inbetween playing with the young man. It is beautiful seeing their personalities coming out - they are so playful now - I find myself tearing up with sheer love at times.

Sonja - it sounds like you've got a fun packed day. Exhausting, I'm sure, but I'm looking forward to party times. Marc sounds like he's going great guns. Elliot is nowhere near sitting unsupported, but he can spin in a circle and lift his bum up during tummy time. I hope that you're getting some more sleep.

Ivfhopeful - welcome - Elliot is the result of an average 3 day 8 cell embryo. We only ever got a few embryos so didn't normally take them to blastocyst. I hope that this cycle is a successful one

Rinche - congratulations on the arrival of Amalie - they make all the hell of ivf worth it, don't they?

Hope everyone is well x

MrsL
28-08-2011, 22:22

sorry have also been too flat out to post lately!

IVFhopeful - i can't help u as had day 5's by i am crossing my fingers for u and hoping that this time works for u :fingerscrossed:

sonja - wow mark is really coming along! I think indi is one lazy little girl :rolleyes: I think she is just too content chilling out and watching the craziness of our household! I remember my son getting quite frustrated and wanting to move about more and achieved his milestones fairly early.

sooz - i've also been washing the 0's today. I never even got to dip into the 00 summer clothes draw! Luckily 95% of her clothes are hand me downs which in girls clothes seems to mean they've only been worn a couple of times or never!

Hayls - shame about the catch up! If we stick to last week of the month tho as originally planned the next will only be a few weeks after. :gl:moving!

well sickness has hit our household yet again! hopefully for the last time this winter. Indi had 3 extremely disturbed nights - like having a newborn again :no: but last night went back to her normal waking pattern and was much happier in the day. Poor thing must've been so uncomfortable.

well assuming indi is back to 100% on thurs we will see you all then! looking forward to it :hyper:

LeeLee19
29-08-2011, 00:47
ivfhopeful - my daughter was the result of a day three transfer. I did three fresh cycles of IVF (with no known fertility problems) and never got any embryos to blasties nor any to freeze :(. The successful one was an eight cell embryo from memory. Good luck with this cycle!!! :hugs:

Rinchie - congratulations on the birth of your little one :cheerleader2::cheerleader1:. We'd love to see you at one of the meet ups, though I'm sure at the moment you're just enjoying those sleepy newborn moments.

MrsL - oh bummer that sickness has hit again, but hopefully this will be the last of the winter nasties for you. Piper has recovered from her little cold and it only seemed to really bother her for one day.

Sonja - wow life sounds hectic and it sounds like Marc will be walking before you know it :eek:.

Sooz - tearing up with love...yep I know how that feels. Sometimes I look at Piper's little face and I can't believe I got so lucky. In the depths of IVF woes I just thought I'd never get here and feel so blessed everyday.

Hayls - shame you can't make it, but I can totally understand. Moving is a nightmare without babies involved, let alone with a small person who needs you all the time.

Piper is really enjoying this eating lark, I'm just giving her whole chunks of food, so I didn't think she was getting much down, more experimenting, but found tiny bits of cumber in her nappy this morning (TMI) so some is going in and she had rock melon pieces this evening and definitely got some of that down. They both seem good for the teething, though she seemed to enjoy the broccoli the best. We shared an apple the other day (she just sucked and gummed it) but got most cross when it was my turn for a bite, she wanted it all to herself :laughing:.

She's been having good belly laughs for a few weeks now, but always when I've been interacting . playing with her, but today she laughed for the first time at finding something else funny. She was in a wrap on me in the garden and I was trying to wind up the garden hose in amongst the long grass, our cat spied the movement and pounced on the end of the hose, so I kept moving it and she kept pouncing and doing these silly leaps in the air. Piper was watching the cat intently and then started laughing hysterically everyrtime she pounced. It was beautiful weather and just one of those magical moments.

Anyway, enough of me rambling on. I'm about to attempt a sleepy transfer :fingerscrossed:

MrsL
29-08-2011, 10:46
oh and a huge congrats to rinche on Amalie!!!! :cheerleader1:

Always Hoping
29-08-2011, 15:32

Well I have done a quick read over the last couple of pages.................

Well I am a no show on Thursday............................not my fault though. My step dad has been with me for the past 2 weeks and I have been running him back and forth to the hospital for tests for an upcoming op. I thought he would be going home on Wednesday back to Jurien and then I could come but the hospital just rang back and he is to go in on Tuesday and Thursday so unfortunately I can't come to the catch up...........................poo bum poo!!!! I have no idea when these appointments are going to end and when his operation will happen. Hopefully we will be more in the know tomorrow.

Well I have been like an invalid this last week............bad back from picking up Zoe incorrectly. I feel like a horse has kicked me in the backside. Ouch!!!

Hopefully I will have more time to write some personals to everyone but I think that is wishful thinking.

Have a wonderful day and have a great catch up on Thursday. I will be thinking of you all.

bourbon11646
29-08-2011, 16:41
Always - i hope your back feels better soon, the bubs are getting heavier and heavier and i know i dont always lift things correctly either and am constantly bending over the cot and bassinet!

MrsL - Sorry you are all sick, its definately going around. DH has had man flu all week! I hope Indi starts to sleep better for you soon, its really hard being up and down like a yoyo all night.

LeeLee- Glad to hear Piper is going well, i love hearing their laughs and giggles. Isnt it gorgeous how they find so many things fascinating :-) The cat bouncing sounded cute!

Sooz - How is your gorgeous Elliot? I have also been busy packing away clothes that no longer fit and unpacking larger ones. They are growing way too fast!

Rinche - Hey there! Welcome! Congratulations on the birth of Amalie, i loveeeee the name! :cheerleader1:

Sonja - How are you going? :wave:

Ivfhopeful - I have done a few transfers of blasties with NO luck, it was the last cycle where i transferred two day 3 embies that brought me my precious Luca :yes: Goodluck with it all :fingerscrossed:

Hayls - how is the dreaded packing going? I remember when i was packing DH kept saying "dont stress, youve got heaps of time..." or "there isnt much left" ... let me tell you - pack early!! There wasnt lots of time and even though it didnt look like alot, it took me ages, especially in between Luca! Seeyou at gymbaroo :)

Bonny - How are you going? Did u get my FB message, when is the baby shower?

Hi to anyone i missed :wave:

AFM: I unfortunately cant make thursday either :no: My mum is coming up for the day to visit me on thursday from Mandurah as its my birthday on the 30th.
Ive been flat out packing away sml clothes for luca and unpacking larger ones, i cant believe how fast hes growing. Hes been sleeping alot better - huge touchwood here - so i hope it continues.
Ive fed him just over a weeks worth of rice cereal and finally had time for something more interesting today. I just puree'd some apple for the rest of the week and then ill move onto other things. I love feeding him solids, he seems to really like it.
Gotta run, hes waking up... and i have washing to hang.....

Sonja
29-08-2011, 18:18
So who's still coming on Thursday? Just checking we still have a few coming as I usually have mother's group and am happy to skip it but not if I'm going to be playing on my own :p

LeeLee19
29-08-2011, 21:32
I'll be there Sonja...can you just remind me the name of the park again. And were we making it 9.30ish?

MrsL
29-08-2011, 21:39
i'll be there too!

MrsL
29-08-2011, 22:18
is it too late to try and change it to the wed morn? since leelee and sonja both have mg's on the thurs it would be silly if u were the only ones coming and missed out on your other catch up. only if it suits everyone who would've come on the thurs tho.... might not work but thought i'd put it out there...

Sonja
29-08-2011, 22:52
Hi it was Thursday to suit Bonny as she does swimming Wednesday mornings. I don't mind missing mother's group at all if there are a few of us. I think Sooz and Bonny are still planning on coming ??

LeeLee it's called Clarko. Basically drive to the end of Karrinyup Rd and you're there. There's usually heaps of parking in the mornings.

We didmoriginally say 10 but 9.30 is fine by me as we're on foot but might be tricky with traffic depending on where people are coming from.

sooz80
29-08-2011, 23:08
I'll be there. I can probably do wed instead as I don't have any meetings. Just got back from the gym, I'm sooo unfit. Feels good getting back on track though

LeeLee19
30-08-2011, 00:27
Great, thanks Sonja..I'm sure I'll find it.

I'd prefer to keep it to Thursday as I've made plans for Wednesday morning now :)

Maybe if we say between 9.30 and 10ish, as these days I always seem to be running late anyway. I have a playgroup that starts between 12.30 and 1ish in Beechboro, which was why I was keen on it being a bit earlier. Hopefully Piper will sleep somewhere in that mix. She only had one sleep today (though it was for 2 1/2 hours). She's been quite consistently having a morning and afternoon sleep for a couple of weeks, but noooooo I don't want to move to one long sleep yet, nooooooo.

Sonja
30-08-2011, 15:02

Just returned from Clarko and I suspect it will be too cold on Thursday. It was quite windy and not really pleasant. Not sure if we want to make another plan. I'm happy to host here and if it does turn out to be a nice day we can maybe go for a walk or something. I'll pm my address.

LeeLee19
30-08-2011, 16:04
Yep, looks like rain on Thursday too, I'm happy to meet at yours Sonja. Will text in the morning to confirm I'm coming :)

MrsL
30-08-2011, 18:28
hi,

yeah sorry forgot why we'd made it thurs to start with. thanks for offering your place sonja. we'll see u on thurs then!

bonnybaby
30-08-2011, 18:43
Hey guys,

Definitely count me in for Thursday! We are still doing the swimming on Wednesdays so I wouldnt have been able to make it if we changed it to then. Looking forward to the catch up as I missed the last one. I think the last time I saw you all was at Kings Park when our babies were only a few weeks old...and now they are all around the 5 month mark!! Far out! I'll probably be there closer to 10am rather than 9.30, as I will have the freeway traffic to battle.

IVFhopeful - welcome and best of luck for your transfer. Ive only ever done blasties so I cant help out with the 3day transfer.

Sonja - wow Marc is sitting!! Ivy will be a while off yet. She will sit with me holding around her waist, or leaning up against something briefly, but not unassisted yet. You have been so busy. Have fun planning the party!

Rinche - Congratulations on the arrival of Amelie!!! I bet it is still sinking in that you have a little baby. I think Im still pinching myself... Be good to see you both when you feel up to catching up.

MrsL - Oh no, not sick again. Hopefully you all recover soon. Ivy was a bit snotty for a while, and boy was she unsettled. Hopefully Indi is better by Thursday.

Hayls - Good luck with the move. I agree though that with it just being next door, it will probably be harder than packing it all up in a car and driving somewhere. Means everything has to be walked over by hand. Yuk. Isla might enjoy it as she may think its like playtime.

LeeLee - Sounds like baby led weaning is going well. I toyed with the idea, then soon realised Im too scared of choking...Id rather take baby steps I think and start with puree...more for my peace of mind than anything else. She has been eating carrot the last 3 days and loves it. haha the cat story made me laugh.

Always - oohh a bad back is awful huh. Makes every task hard. Are you going to get physio or something done on it? I have always suffered from bad backs, though touch wood it has been ok for a while. I find a good physio helps. Shame we cant catch up thursday as we havent met yet. Although as MrsL pointed out, if we keep it last thursday of each month the next one isnt far away.

Bourbon - So apple is a big hit with Luca. Isnt it fun. I love feeding Ivy now, her face lights up whenever I bring her bowls and spoon out.

Just a food question for those who have been feeding for a while now.
Ivy had about 1 tablespoon of rice cereal for a week. Then moved onto carrot, today being the 3rd carrot day and she easily took 2 tablespoons. It looked like she wanted more, kept opening her mouth and grabbing for the bowl etc.
Should I try giving her more food in the one meal (3-4 tablespoons etc)....or would it be better to give her 2 smaller meals (2 tablespoons) until she is satisfied?
Secondly, Im still BFing her every 3-4 hours and even though Im starting to give food, she still eagerly drinks. At what point will she not want so much milk and I can maybe drop a feed or two and space them out longer?

Thanks for your help :-)

Sonja
30-08-2011, 21:16
Bonny

We can talk about solids on Thursday - I'm sure between all of us we can help

Sonja
01-09-2011, 09:53
Morning all

Turns out it's a gorgeous looking morning after all!

Still happy to meet here but might be a nice morning for a walk to the park and get a coffee?? I don't have bonny or MrsL's mobiles - can you text me just to confirm you're still coming and also in the event you're running late in case we do decide to go for a walk.

Thanks and see you at 10

Sonja

MrsL
01-09-2011, 22:59
hi,

sonja - the name of the ant stuff in amdros - from bunnings.

leelee - u left a couple of things in my pram basket i noticed when at the shop today. Do u need them before the next meet? I think i'm a fair distance from u...

MrsL
01-09-2011, 23:03
also it was great to catch up! we talked briefly about doing another wed morn next time and bonny happy to miss swimming that day. thought maybe we should lock in the date and location early so we can organise around. if we do last wed it'd be the 28th. I'm happy to have at myn but am a bit worried might be too north for some people?

bourbon11646
02-09-2011, 20:54
Can any catch ups be around 1pm? I find it too hard in the mornings as I'm in ellenbrook & I spend the mornings feeding - bf & solids, medication, bath, am sleep etc. It takes all my time and I find luca is happier after his am sleep or he gets overtired. If not I understand but I may not be able to come & it would be great to meet all your bubs.

bourbon11646
02-09-2011, 20:55
Ps wed is the only day I have regular plans - gymbaroo..

Sonja
02-09-2011, 21:23

Afternoons are no go for me as scarlett is either asleep or grumpy from not sleeping. I also prefer getting out in the morning as we're out anyway after the school drop off. If afternoons are good though am happy to give the next one a miss so bourbon can come.

MrsL
02-09-2011, 23:58
oh and i guess that means hayls also has plans on a wed? I can do morn or arvo but wouldn't be able to a wed arvo anyway. Maybe another day an just see what majority prefers...

LeeLee19
03-09-2011, 00:31
MrsL - yes I did leave my top and scarf in your pram (I knew I'd do that)...it was so warm that I only realised when I got to my playgroup that I was still wearing just a fairly scimpy, cleavage revealing singlet and had nothing to put on over it. It was fine when I had a baby wrapped on me :laughing: I'll get it off you next time we meet if that's okay. If I desperately want either in the meantime, I might get my Mum to pop over at a convenient time as she lives NOR in Madeley, so not too far from you.

Re - catch ups. I'm fine with either morning or arvo. Piper will just sleep in a wrap/sling if I'm out and about. The only mornings that are a no go for me are Mondays, and in terms of arvos, Thursday and Friday are no good. Any other time is fine. I'm happy to travel to Mullaloo, Piper is much better in the car now...even if it does sometimes take me singing crazy songs at the top of my voice :laughing:.

Bourbon...not being rude and imposing the group on you, but would it make it easier for you to catch up at your house if we did stick to a morning catch up? Then L could stick to his morning sleep in his own sleep space. Just a thought.

Hayls..hope moving is going okay :fingerscrossed:

sooz80
03-09-2011, 08:20
I can normally fit workdays around catch-ups, but we can't do Tuesday or friday afternoons.
Are weekends better for people as they are less structured? I'm aware that finding a time and day for everyone might be difficult now everyone is enrolled in different activities.

MrsL
03-09-2011, 11:17
ok lets break it down,

Monday arvo
Tuesday morning
Wednesday morn or arvo? when's gymberoo hayls and bourban?
Thursday morning
Friday morning

this is due to leelee not mon morns and thurs/fri arvos, and sooz not tues/fri arvos and wed whatver time gymberoo is. my wed arvo plans are later and i assume we wouldn't make an arvo catch up too late due to traffic anyway?

Can others copy and remove any of the above times that do not suit u either and then we can try and come to an agreement for next catch up (keep in mind the dates are the last week of this month I think 25-29th mon-fri). if has to be a weekend i suppose we could do that option tho I do prefer family time.

Hayls70
03-09-2011, 11:23
Moving going well, although I have crap everywhere at the moment..today all the big stuff gets moved

Re catch up

I have mothers group Tuesday 10-1pm
Then gymbaroo Wednesday 1pm-2pm

Any other day were good.

Hope everyone wellxx

Sonja
03-09-2011, 11:42
I agree MrsL weekends would be a lSt resort for me too.

Count me out for any afternoons. Tuesday or Wednesday mornings are fine. Based on Hayls response tho Tuesday mornings no good for her.

Don't exclude afternoons just because I can't make it. Unless it's at bourbon's place (no pressure at all bourbon) it doesn't seem mornings will work for her.

sooz80
03-09-2011, 11:51
I think we'll be back to wed or thur mornings that we had previously;)

MrsL
03-09-2011, 13:25
Monday arvo
Wednesday morn
Thursday morning
Friday morning

this is due to leelee not mon morns and thurs/fri arvos, sooz not tues/fri arvos and hayls not tues morn or wed arvo.

i'll leave the morning/arvo option for now and unfortunately i suppose either bourban or sonja may not be able to make it :(. perhaps a morning/arvo alternative each month if we can manage to find a suitable arvo. so far only monday seems to work for most.

Sonja
03-09-2011, 14:39
Why not make the next one the monday afternoon in the last week of september and see how everyone finds it. Thenreality is we only have a few left for the year anyway and once we get into next year routines will be different, babies older, mothers more confident (and rested :fingerscrossed:) and scarlett in childcare 2 days a week :hyper:

Hayls70
03-09-2011, 22:35
Im happy with the monday arvo. It will be really nice to see everyone..I still haven't seen everyone's bubs yet and they're growing up so quickly.

LeeLee19
03-09-2011, 23:35
Monday arvo is fine for me :yes:

sooz80
04-09-2011, 08:06
Monday afternoon can work for me.

bourbon11646
04-09-2011, 16:33
Mon arvo is good with me too :yes:

MrsL
04-09-2011, 21:43
u guys happy with myn? not too far for anyone? monday arvo 26th sept? time suggestions?

anyone had any experience or info on apnea? Indi has been experiencing episodes where she finds it hard to breathe for a few seconds and its really scaring me. its a bit hard to explain exactly via this site so will explain more when i see everyone and i've rang PMH and health direct and am seeing GP tomorrow to get referral for paed but just thought i'd see if anyone else had experienced anything like this?

bourbon11646
04-09-2011, 22:11
MrsL - r u saying your place? Where is that? My place is a bit sml with unpacked boxes ready for our next move..
How about 1pm?
I used to work for a sleep apnea specialist but walked out after a week as the guy was a ****! So didn't learn much lol.. But there are monitors that you can use which go off if apnea occurs, your doc will go through it all. It would be scary. I caught luca not breathing for a little while last week& I panicked & moved him then he was ok. Pretty scary though. I'd do some google research if I was you..

Always Hoping
06-09-2011, 11:25

Hope you enjoyed your last catch up. I was so dissapointed that I couldn't make it. My step-dad has now gone back to Jurien and is awaiting the phone call from the hospital as to when his op will be. He is at risk of losing his eye during this op and I am quite concerned for him. Still worrying is not going to change anything.

Well my back is doing much better. I am able to pick up Z without passing out:rolleyes:

We went away to Ledge Point on the weekend in our new caravan. We had such a wonderful time. Z was excellent and slept in the caravan really well. My DH had a great Father's Day. He was smiles from ear to ear.

I would love to come to the next catch up. Has it been agreed Monday afternoon on the 26th Sep?

Hope you all had a great weekend and spoilt our DH on their special day (yeh I know every day is special for men:D).

MrsL
07-09-2011, 21:48
hi all,

quickie - myn is not far from hillarys marina just a bit further north. will pm address to those coming. 1pm sounds great bourban are others happy with that? yes always am guessing monday is the day as most seem able to make it :smiliedance:

bourbon11646
08-09-2011, 12:28
Cool can u pls pm me the address & your mob number?
Would u like me to bring a cake or cool drink?

MrsL
08-09-2011, 13:49
hi guys,

have pm'd my address to those i think are coming (and sonja if any chance u can make an arvo). please let me know if u are coming and didn't receive it.

don't worry about food etc i'll just grab something from bakers delight up the road.

just did a food shop with indi and decided to see how she went sitting up in trolly. In the end had to prop her with a loaf on bread on either side :laughing:. can't believe how much attention she got tho! people just luuuurrve babies

Sonja
08-09-2011, 14:41
MrsL how funny. She would have looked adorable.

Well just survived lucy's first sports carnival with Scarlett and Marc in tow. All kids had a great morning but exhausted. Came home for a frosty fruit ice block and Marc shared mine. Made the most gorgeous faces! He's such a big boy now. He has toast with vegemite in his high chair every morning with the girls now and he loves it.

MrsL I didn't get a pm from you?

bourbon11646
08-09-2011, 21:31
I never got a pm either?

MrsL
08-09-2011, 22:15
oh dear must've done something wrong. will try again tomoz - tv and wine time now ;)

Indi was just in hysterics in the bath. My son was splashing down on the water really hard so it sprayed all her face (and me!) and at first i was going to tell him off cos i thought she'd be scared but then she started cracking up :p Not sure if she was laughing at the water tho or just responding to my son's hysterics - so gorgeous :p

bonnybaby
09-09-2011, 21:07

Ivy is booked in for the chiro on that Monday arvo, so I'll see if I can change the day and/or time, and will let you know next week.
Ivy has had an absolute shocker few days re her sh*t sleep. I just don't understand how a baby can not sleep most of the night and go all day without sleep. We have been scratching our heads wondering what on earth we can do...we have tried every settling technique we can think of, given teething gel, given panadol, checked temperature of room, checked nappy, checked she hasnt spewed everywhere...checked everything. But my bub still does not sleep.
Luckily though she throws in a few good nights here and there to keep in our good books :-) last night was a goodie, so here's hoping she backs it up with another goodie tonight and not one of her usual shockers!!!!

Have a great weekend everyone and I'll try to change Ivy's chiro so I can make the catchup x

Hayls70
09-09-2011, 21:55
MrsL could you please PM me also? Will be great to catch up with everyone

Always Hoping
10-09-2011, 11:28
MrsL - could you please PM me your address too?

Sonja - can't believe M is eating toast with vegemite :eek:. Z would choke on anything like that. Wow am completely in amazement. I really do have to start introducing more lumps. I tried Z on watermelon but had to keep fishing it out of the back of her throat as she was choking. Didn't do my blood pressure any good :freakingout:. I must admit though I didn't panic as I didn't want Z to see me getting upset. I just kept popping my finger in the back of her throat and fishing out the watermelon that wouldn't go down the hatch.

AFU - Z has her second tooth. It came through on Father's Day (not sure if I have already posted this......................I've still got baby brain).:p

BF is becoming challenging as she keeps biting me when feeding..............I can see weaning happening in the very near future.:rolleyes:

Have a great day everyone..................am off to swimming with Z as DH is with the Army again today.

MrsL
10-09-2011, 15:08
hi guys,

bonny - hope ivy had a better night for u. I can't understand that either - she must be exhausted!

always - wow 2 teeth! I think indi must have one on the way as had very flushed cheeks lately.

sorry hayls and everyone else I did include u all in the pm but for some reason didn't go thru :confused: will try again now so let me know again if u don't receive.

LeeLee19
11-09-2011, 02:26
Bonny - boo, to no sleeping...I hope little Ivy gives you a better night tonight :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:

Mrs L, bath time sounds super cute. Piper has just discovered splashing :rolleyes:

Sonja - aw, I love it that Marc's eating his brekky with the girls, I tried Piper on toast and avocado this morning and she seemed to like it - didn't get a lot down but she gave me lots of grins

Always - yep the solids stuff is scary isn't it, is Z choking or gagging? Choking is when they totally stop breathing as the airway is constricted (and silent), gagging is when they sound like their dying and retch, possibly even vomit and is noisy. My understanding is that if they are gagging, and making noise they are fine and will deal with the food. The gag reflex point in little bubs is much further forward on the tongue and gradually moves back I think at around eight or nine months. This apparently helps prevent true choking, but is triggered often as babies get used to food in their mouth. Choking was (is) one of my big fears so I did a St Johns first aid course to help allay the fears (only helped somewhat :rolleyes:) and they said to NEVER stick fingers down a babies (or anyones) throat even if choking as it can push the item further down and cause choking or make it worse. If baby is actaully choking, then you'd flip them over and whack them on the back between the shoulder blades. The exception to this would be something stringy going down the throat (say leaves) that you could grab hold of and pull out.

Piper's only eating finger foods, so we have quite a few coughs and splutters (and once a mini vomit) most meals, but have learnt to just let her deal with it, which she does and just goes back for more food. Of course I'm silently freaking out, but gradually getting better.

Whilst a bit nerve racking, the food thing is hilarous. She makes such funny faces when trying new things and talks to her food and makes 'mmmmmmmm' noises when it's something she obviously likes (like pear). Nothing has been rejected yet.

Re the next catch up...I'm just going to be a maybe for now. Miss Piper has started not liking the car again :no:. We went to Joondalup last weekend to see Playschool live and the journey home was traumatic. If she chills out over the next couple of weeks we'll give it ago, otherwise I'm going to try to stick to journeys that are 15/20 mins tops.

I hope you're all enjoying this lovely weather :)

Sonja
11-09-2011, 04:39
Great explanation LeeLee re chocking vs gagging. I had been trying to think of the best way to explain the diffference and you've done it for me. Always I would probably never have given Marc toast at 5 months if he was my first baby but Scarlett grabbed a piece of toast off my plate when she was the same age and ate it and was fine so I thought Marc probably would be as well. yep sometimes it seems to go down the wrong way but he spits it up and keeps going. He loves chomping on a piece of bread.

I also only ever give him grain bread as it doesn't ball up in their mouths as much as wholemeal or white bread does so is safer.

Bonny hope you get some more sleep soon. Marc's still also not great at night (why I'm on BH at 2 am) despite now eating 3 pretty big meals a day. It's definitely a habit with him. He's also been quite sick so that hasn't helped. Oh well. We'll get there I suppose.

Always Hoping
11-09-2011, 11:23
LeeLee - thank you gorgeous. Yes, Z is "gagging" and your explanation was fantastic. The food that she is gagging on is just on the back of her tongue and I am not having to shove my finger down her throat (as I dramatically explained it) but hooking it off the back end of her tongue. I'm going to have to be brave and let her deal with it and see what happens. I mean, I can't have her on puree until she's 21:laughing:. I really appreciate your explanation and also Sonja's input. I will try and let Z take a little control and see what she does. Her breakfast is pureed apple and pear with mushed up banana. I've been letting the banana be quite lumpy and she's dealing with that. Perhaps because it's quite soft she doesn't mind those lumps.:rolleyes:

Sonja - I guess by number 3 you're not as nervous as us 1st time "nervous nelly" mums. Thanks for the tip on the bread. We don't eat white bread (personally I think it's like glue too), only multigrain anyway. Hope little M starts to settle at night. Is he feeling any better?

Got to go, Z has just woken from a 17 minute sleep:hissy:.

sooz80
11-09-2011, 22:24
MrsL - I got the pm thanks. How did you go with the sleep apnea? Sounds scary. It seems as though Indi is enjoying having a big brother. It must be so rewarding when they get on so well - definitely worth all the hard work.

Always - glad that your back is improving. I hope that things go well with your step dad. It's good that you've got your caravan on the road.

Sonja - the sports carnival sounds like good fun. It must be non-stop activities with 3 children. If one hasn't got something on, another will have. I hope Marc starts sleeping a bit better at night - although I know you like your cuddles with him ;)

Bonny - I hope that the sleeping gets betterand Ivy perks up a bit. Elliot still isn't teething - I think we may have gummy smiles for a good while yet.

LeeLee = I hope that Piper starts enjoying car journeys a bit more. It sounds like BLW is a winner for you. Elliot is enjoying shoving food in his mouth. Toast and banana are winners so far. He also likes puree as well. I seriously have not found a food that he dislikes.

Bourbon - Looking forward to seeing little Luca.

Hayls - I hope that the stress of moving is in the past and that you're enjoying your new home.

Well another weekend is over before I realised it. All is good here - Elliot is doing things in his own sweet time, but is such a chilled out happy little fella that I'm really enjoying these months. I honestly believe that he'll be a mischevious toddler so I'm soaking up every precious minute of calm.

Sonja
11-09-2011, 22:33
Sooz Marc's like that with food too everything we offer he'll happily eat. Lucy was the complete opposite and Scarlett was the same and both changed dramatically at 15 months and seemed to stop eating altogether. Lucy's pretty good now but Scarlett could still happily live on air if i let her and it's a huge part of why she gets so grumpy.

I guess I'm just saying this so anyone whose baby is a bit slower on the uptake with food doesn't worry too much as it rarely relates to how well or much they eat as toddlers :)

LeeLee19
11-09-2011, 23:53
Always...it's so hard isn't it, I've had to stop myself so many times from intervening. It gets better though :)

Sonja - yes things seem to change from week to week even, Piper likes everything now, but I think that's because it's so new, who knows what she'll be like in the future. I was quite a fussy eater from memory, but eat most things now, so I think it usually sorts itself out.

Sooz - lovely to hear Elliot updates, mmm he might be mischeveous, he's got such a cute cheeky little face!!!

I've had a hard couple of days. Piper is lovely as always, but in a super super clingy phase (wonder week 26 to the tee). Doesn't want to be put down even for a second, which is fine, I'm happy to wear her in a carrier, but then she wriggles to get out when she's in one for more than 20 mins, doesn't want me to even look at anything else...gah!!! She was very grizzly this arvo so we went for a walk and chilled out in the park which she liked (pulling tufts of grass out and flinging them everywhere). Then this evening, again grizzly grizzly, I managed to wrangle her into her PJ's and flopped down by the bed with a dramatic exhausted sigh. She looked at me and just cracked up laughing...which made me laugh and made everything okay again. She's also developed the stranger fear. She's okay with my mum and my ex ptr as she sees them regularly, but no one else is allowed to hold her. On a positive, she is saying 'mum' fairly consistently and reaching out to me, BUT only when she's upset... poor little sausage. When I see her upset and don't know what's wrong I just feel it must be so frustrating being a baby in some ways and not being able to just tell someone what's wrong. Hopefully this week will be less exhausting!!! :rolleyes:

MrsL
13-09-2011, 18:10
hi guys,

always - don't worry this is baby number 2 for me and i'm just as nervous with the whole food thing! even tho i've done a first aid course i think i'd still panic and not know what to do if something went wrong.

Leelee - what is the wonder week 26? that would be coming up for me i think... sounds like indi having similar thing to piper. My usually super chilled bub has been a bit whingy etc and i have no idea why :confused: funny as i did the same thing as u yest and hit the park where she pulled at the grass. today she was a bit like it again and even tho she'd only been up for half an hour i just put her back in bed and she slept another hour so perhaps she's tired. who knows??? can't belive she's saying mum already - go piper :smiliedance:

sonja - your scarlett sounds like my son with food. altho he is getting a lot better now. its funny how something seems to happen into toddlerhood and food becomes such a battle!

sooz - i called it apnea as thats what i seemed to see on dr google but am not really sure thats it. i saw a doc who did not seem overconcerned and perhaps thought (as i did) maybe it was a bit iof flem clog up or something. anyway just keeping an ear and eye on her and hoping for no more instances.

hi evveryone else :wave: hope u all got my pm ok. i realised the first time it didn't send as u are only allowed 5 recipients at a time.

man have been sooooo tired the last few days. had a girls night saturday night and then sunday and last night indi has been very wakeful in the night. not only waking up but taking ages to go back to sleep after i do go in. i can't work it out :confused: she's not sick, she doesn't seem that upset at first, she's not hungry... i just don't get it! i think as a result she's been more tired and grumpy in the day too. am hoping for a better night tonight :fingerscrossed:

Sonja
13-09-2011, 19:01
MrsL a sleep consultant told me they can be very wakeful at night when going through developmental leaps. I've just had a week of it with Marc. Not fun at all!

Always Hoping
13-09-2011, 21:19
Well Sonja and LeeLee you have both given me courage........................I gave Z a little bit of toast this morning (not that much went into her mouth) and some finger food (cooked carrot) with her dinner tonight. She loved being able to feed herself and it got her used to the texture. With the extra carrot that I cooked I cut it up into chunks and put it in her dinner and she was quite happy to have those chunks and actually chew them. Not one gagging incident. OMG!!!!:hyper:

A few were rolled around the mouth a bit and then she spat them out but 99% went down the hatch. Yay!!!!!:smiliedance:

I think I will pack away the machine that purees her food and just bring out the fork.

She is nearly 7 months old. Do you think she's old enough to put a little bit of butter into her mashed potatoes and on toast. I'm going to try her on a little bit of oats/porridge for b'fast tomorrow. I have to start introducing some more foods as she must be so bored of the same vegies.

Next week I'm going to put some chicken in her food and see how that goes. I hate to think what her nappy is going to smell like..................it's bad enough on just vegies.

Z has been for a little while now grabbing on and starting to hug. She even puts her head on my shoulder or chest and snuggles in. Sooooo cute. I love it. I could hold her all day (not going to help the crawling advancement though if I do this).

MrsL - hope you are able to catch up on some sleep.

Well I have to go as I need to do the ironing. DH has no shirts left for work tomorrow. Bummer.

Sonja
13-09-2011, 21:33
Always Marc (who was 6 months on Sunday) has butter, vegemite, cow's milk (in cereal), tap water (we have a distiller thingy attachment on our tap), chicken, vegetables, fruit, rusks, baby rice biscuits, cottage cheese and grated cheese. And tonight Lucy shared her chocolate icecream with him :eek:.

And he's thriving!

MrsL
14-09-2011, 10:27
yeah its interesting i've got 2 versions of first foods. one is the Ngala one which seems quite conservative and the other is another children's organistaion and it has yoghurt from 4-6 months, cheese sauces, cott cheese and small amounts or cows milk from 7 months and cheese from 8 months under dairy and meat from 4-6 months. this one is designed more around foods you or the family would eat. I'm going to get some yoghurt and cott cheese today to try (ps i like mundela (sp?) brand yoghurt after checking ingred.)

sonja - thanks for the sleep insight. aniother bad night last night and i'm thinking maybe it is to with that as she's been so much more active and vocal lately. also maybe staring solids properly :confused:

Always Hoping
14-09-2011, 16:41
Sonja - you have given me more confidence. Thank you so much. I am going to try Z on most things (obviously steering clear of chilli.....:eek:) and not get so hung up on what she should be having at a certain age. I'm sure she will let me know what she wants and what she doesn't.

As my mum said.........................."we never raised you kids according to all this food structure and you are okay". Well she has a point.

Z loved her porridge this morning. I mixed it with apple and pear puree and she couldn't get enough. She has turned off bananas lately and well I'm not going to force them on her. Although at $10 a kilo I may hide some in her porridge tomorrow morning:laughing:. I even gave her some of my toast and she loved feeding herself. I don't think she actually ate much of it as I seemed to be picking a lot of it up but she had fun.

I will try her on chicken next week. How are you giving the chicken to Marc? Are you cooking it first and then breaking it down into smaller pieces or are you mincing while raw and then cooking? So many questions (sorry!!!!).

L xxx

Sonja
14-09-2011, 16:45
Always I cook the tenderloins first then puree with cooked vegies.

MrsL
14-09-2011, 21:55
always - pan frying the meat in oil then adding salt free stock and veges, boiling it up and chucking it all in a blender to puree is a good way to serve up 'dinner meals'

LeeLee19
15-09-2011, 23:43
Mrs L - wonder weeks are supposed to be certain developmental weeks (rough guides) when babies go through a big cognitive shift in the way that they see the world, which can make them more unsettled as the world becomes a bit scary for them. A friend of mine recommended the book which I got of book depository. I was kinda sceptical and just bought it as it has lots of actvity ideas in it, but honestly, Piper has gone through these wonder weeks almost to the day so I'm a bit of a convert. Maybe I'm looking for it though. She's been a bit less clingy the last couple of days, but still has her moments..usually when I want to go to the loo - arrrghhh!

Roasted pumkin was on the menu tonight and she LOVED it, so much that she was smooshing big pieces into her face and up her nose, then breathing in, I was trying to wipe her nose so she didn't inhale pumpkin, but she wasn't having any of it. I have never seen so much mess...it was straight in the bath when she'd finished!!

We've started brushing our teeth together in front of the mirror morning and night which is so cute. She has a little baby toothbrush and I put her on my hip and she watches me very seriously in the mirror and tries to copy...I so need to get a photo of this one.

And do you think it's mean that I put her in a zebra onsie which a tail today? :laughing:

MrsL
20-09-2011, 23:24
leelee -so cute about brushing teeth and the onsie :p ta for the info on wonder weeks. funny as i posted i noticed indi was 26 weeks on my ticker.

well she has been waking soooo much lately i am so exhausted. its 9:30 and as i type this she is awake calling thru the monitor. seriously don't know what is going on! might give ngala a call tomoz. she's been whingy in day too :confused::(

Sonja
20-09-2011, 23:44
MrsL I nearly posted today asking how she's going but didn't have the energy. Marc's been waking heaps lately too (3 times between 7 pm bed and 7 am). I'm ok as it hasn't been going on as long as it has been for you but if it keeps going I'll hit the wall too. I think my sanctity in some crazy way is that having Lucy at school means we have to get out by the same time every day twice a day and then sport and play dates after school I don't have time to think how tired I am. The thing tht frustrates me is I hit bed at 9.30 and either take forever to go to sleep or fall into a deep sleep only to be woken an hour later by him which is sometimes more exhausting.

I'd bin the monitor. I haven't used one at all this time. If he needs me he has to really wail.

Well he had his 6 month needles today and was such a trooper, barely cried at all.

Well he's completely refusing purees now unless he feeds himself:eek: so there's LOTS of mess at meal times. He's mainly on finger food but most of that goes on the floor. Can't wait til he masters a fork makes life soooooo much easier.

Hope everyone else is going well. Verrrrry quiet in here lately.

MrsL
21-09-2011, 10:15
Hi sonja,

I don't have the monitor on at night (only when watching TV) and I have her door closed AND i wear ear plugs so she does have to really call for me. My other concern is that she can wake my son up (which she did at 5:30 this morn) so now I also have a grumpy toddler all day :( I've called Ngala and am waiting for a return call. can only wonder whether its teeth or solids - i just know! I was planning on hitting bed early last night only to then hear her call out. I sent my husband in with water and panadol and she cried to sleep after that and I finally hit bed only to be woken by her again at 11 :no:

I'd really appreciate any other advice if anyone has any I'm going a bit :freakingout:

Always Hoping
21-09-2011, 11:59
Sonja and MrsL - sorry to hear you guys are up a lot with the littlies.

Z has been getting up at 2/2:30 ish and 4/4:30 ish every night. I have been putting it down to teeth as she is feeding and then going back to sleep. She is waking up more than twice but is settling herself (thank God).

Well Z is just about impossible to give a bottle to during the day unless I sit in her room in the feeding chair with no distractions. If she hears a noise anywhere she wants to investigate. Very frustrating. Not so bad now because its cold weather but as soon as summer hits I need to be getting more fluids into her.

I feel like when we are out I almost need to sit in a cupboard to ensure she has something to drink.:freakingout:

Well I hope I can make it on Monday as my SD is having his second op tomorrow. Unfortunately they didn't get all the cancer and are having another go tomorrow. The sad part is he is at a high risk of losing his eye.:(

I will let you know MrsL if I can't make it. Unfortunately I never know until the last minute what's going on as the hospital can't give us much info until they are certain of what is going on.

Luv to all xxx

Sonja
21-09-2011, 14:14
MrsL sorry no great words of wisdom here I'm afraid. Marc had 2 feeds overnight and awake at 5.45 to start the day. We went through this with Scarlett and in the end just had to wait it out. Her room was next door to Lucy's so leaving her to cry wasn't an option. Could you send your son to his grandparents for a sleepover and see if you can resettle her without a feed and without worrying she'll wake him? We wound up doing that with Lucy so we could somewhat address the night waking.

Thankfully this time Marc is at the other end of the house but I've resigned myself to getting up at night until I wean him, which won't be til he's after 1 anyway. I hope Ngala have some words of wisdom, but I suspect they'll be letting her cry a bit which is hard with a toddler in the house.

Always hope everything is ok with your SD and he doesn't lose his eye.

God I am so over rain! I got a personal trainer a few weeks ago to go running with me 2 nights a week and I feel like we never get to go bec of this bl))dy weather. I feel like I'm living in Melbourne!

Hope everyone else is going well. Where is everyone?? :detective: Obviously not at the beach!

Sonja
21-09-2011, 14:26
MrsL do you think she's hungry? I give Marc a comp feed of formula before bed every night. Smetimes he wants it sometimes he doesn't. It definitely seems to make him more settled. I couldn't do it with Scarlett as she wouldn't take a bottle. Now tho I've just remembered Indi won't take one will she?

MrsL
21-09-2011, 15:54
always - sorry to hear about your SD. I hope the opertation goes ok without loss of his eye :(

sonja -ngala not much help. She won't take a bottle (my own fault as i never gave it to her) but i ruled out hunger by giving her rice cereal last night anyway. I'm actually thinking its the solids upsetting her a bit as her poos are prob not as regular either. I'm going to try pulling back and have cut them out altogether today to see if she's a bit better tonight. My son does sleep at my mum's every fri night which does help me out but i would prob need a good week to get her sorted. have thought about shifting her cot down other end of house.

I am sooo over rain too. so boring!

trishalishous
22-09-2011, 01:31
We found DD really unsettled between 7 and 13 months, then everything went back to normal. She was teething/crawling/walking in this time, and it knocked her about a bit.

Sonja
22-09-2011, 11:30
MrsL how was your night? Marc had 3 feeds overnight :rolleyes: but at least he went down straight after each one. Woke up this morning to an overflowing nappy and wet sheets poor love. I agree wth Trish that these period can be quite unsettled for so many developmental reasons. I sort of feel like I just have to get through the next 6 or so months and it'll get better after that. At least my other 2 kids are sleeping better now so we're only dealing with Marc.

Re solids, I tend to give Marc nothing after 5pm in case it upsets him. He has quite a lot of food throughout the day but as he gets tireder I find he loses interest so am making lunch his main meal and just finger food for dinner.

Hope everyone else is well. How cold was it this morning? I gather thisis not that usual for this time of year in Perth??

sooz80
22-09-2011, 12:17
Howdy Folks,

I've been MIA. Life is really busy at the moment.

Sonja/Mrs L/Trisha - I've noticed that E is also a bit more unsettled at night. Luckily, he just screams out once before self settling. I think for him it is just processing the day's events as there are no signs of any toothypegs.

Are we meeting on Monday - my days are muddled.

We're now having visitors for Christmas - my cousin and his family (with their 2 and 6 year olds). I can't wait - a house full of kiddies at christmas - just what I've always wanted. However, it means that we're full steam ahead with laying the lawn in the back and installing a pool fence.

Sonja - Perth is a real mixed bag in Spring. We arrived here in September and wondered where the sunshine was!?! It goes from freezing to 20C in 4 hours and torrential rain to beach weather. I gotta say I love spring overall though.

MrsL
22-09-2011, 21:39
hi,

yeah another pretty bad night. partly due to my own sleeping as well. dunno my instincts just telling me something not quite right with her. poor baby i wish she could tell me!

yes we're on for monday. could everyone please tell me if u are coming or not as i'll grab some food on the morn...

Sonja
22-09-2011, 22:12
Hi MrsL I'm a definite no.

bourbon11646
23-09-2011, 22:02
I'll be there :)

Hayls70
23-09-2011, 23:17
I'm there too

LeeLee19
24-09-2011, 23:26
Sorry, but I don't think I'm going to make it. It's just too far for me to travel with Piper not super keen on the car at the moment. I'm trying not to do any driving over 25 mins tops and I think it would take me 50mins to get to Mullaloo. She might be alright one way, but not the other. We're on the train a bit more though which is positive as she LOVES the train :D

MrsL
25-09-2011, 12:41
hi ladies,

I'm so sorry but indi has come down with yet another cold and i won't be able to host tomorrow. Can u let me know u got this message. hopefully u can find another venue if not am happy to do the monday after.

sooz80
25-09-2011, 15:15
Sorry to hear that mrs l. I hope thst she gets better soon x

bonnybaby
25-09-2011, 15:51

Ive been in Bali for the week and got back yesterday. It was great getting away and we stayed in an awesome villa with own pool. My parents came which was great, as they helped mind Ivy while DH and I went out every now and then. Unfortunately though both Ivy and I came down with a cold a couple of days ago, and still suffering now. Ivy can hardly breath, so we went out and got one of those Vicks vapourisers for her room...not sure it actually did much as she is still super blocked up. Although, maybe she would be a lot worse without it. First cold she has had, so I shouldnt complain.

Mrs L - I was going to say Im unable to come to the catchup as we have the chiro for Ivy, and she is sick...but now Indi is sick as well. Poor little bubbas. I hope they get well soon (and me). I wonder what is making Indi so unsettled, especially since she was an ok sleeper before. Ivy is still a nightmare sleeper, nothing changed here. She was doing really well for about a month after our Ngala stay, but then it reverted back to terrible. We actually still get up to her anywhere up to a dozen times per night... on a good night maybe 3-4 times. I think Ive given up hope of her becoming a better sleeper!! We have had it since birth and 6 months later Im finally coming to terms with it (I think...)

Sonja - I agree with the mess at meal time hey! Ivy grabs for the spoon and then flings it around, food goes everywhere!

Always - I hope the op goes well for SD. Feed times have been the same with Ivy for a while. Even the slightest sound in another room will cause her to almost do a backflip to see what it is. DH cannot be in the same room either, nor the cats...as she just wants to look at them. My poor bbs get pretty painful as she is constantly coming off them while still sucking!! Ouch.

Sooz - Sounds like you have a fun xmas lined up. It would be great fun seeing them all rip into their pressies and xmas day. Yeah you better get the grass in before the summer as it will be really difficult to get going in the heat. Make sure you get a water exemption as well so you can water it more often until it is established.

Leelee - Wonder what it is about the carseat Piper doesnt like. A friend of mine, her boy always hated the car seat too. She couldnt travel anywhere without him crying. Must make it difficult going anywhere.

Hayls - Have you settled into the new house now? How did Isla make the transition?

Bourbon - Hey there. How is Luca going? Is he settling better at night now?

I gave Ivy some scrambled egg this morning. I dont think she liked it too much, or maybe it was the texture, as it was more chunky than her usual puree veges/fruit etc. The allergy specialist we took her to recommended we try pretty much everything (except honey) on her before 7 months. I was a bit nervous and Ive been keeping a close eye on her for any reactions, but all good so far.

Always Hoping
25-09-2011, 20:06
MrsL - sorry that Indi is sick. I hope she feels better. Such a worry when bubbies aren't well.

Bonny - sounds like Bali was wonderful but not so good that you and Ivy aren't well. hopefully you are both on the road to recovery now.

CATCH UP - now that MrsL isn't able to host because of poor little Indi not being well I am happy to host the catch up (SOR). Yes, I live the other side of that water line in front of Perth and NO you won't grow another head venturing this side of the line :D.

PM me if anyone is interested and I will PM you my address and mobile.

Hope some of you are still up for a catch up.:goodvibes:

bourbon11646
25-09-2011, 21:13
MrsL i got your message just now so im glad i logged on!! I hope you all feel better soon, its not much fun when youre sick.
Always how far south are you as im in ellenbrook so a bit of a hike for me but let me know what suburb and ill consider it... maybe a little earlier then... ill find out where first. Also who is going? x

Hayls70
25-09-2011, 21:31
MrsL- sorry Indi not well, hope she gets better soon and you're coping ok. Thanks for offering your home for the catch up, hope to see you at the next one.

Always- How is your SD? I hope the op went well. I'd be keen to come to yours tomorrow but only if you're sure and up to it. No pressure if you do change your mind.

Bonny- glad you had a good time in Bali but sorry to hear you and Ivy caught a cold, must be hard trying to look after her when you're not well yourself, especially as shes not sleeping!! What's going on there Ivy!

Bourbon- hope to see you tomorrow

Hi Sonja leelee sooz

MrsL
25-09-2011, 22:20
hi all,

glad u got messages and thanks for offering your house always. yes its been a bit of a nightmare as she was up every 2 hours last night and not settling well each time. Really tho i shouldn't complain after reading your post bonny its prob just a normal night for u! I honestly don't know how u are surviving and 2 overseas holidays too! well done. i really hope she gets better soon tho. I found i just really hit a wall already having her more unsettled lately and reaching 6 months of sleep dep for her to then get sick its been really hard :no: not looking forward to tonight...

Always Hoping
25-09-2011, 23:42
MrsL - best of luck for tonight:fingerscrossed:. Z has been very unsettled lately as well. I'm putting it down to teething and developmental changes. Who knows!!!!! I've given up trying to work it out.:freakingout:

Bourbon - I have PMd you with my suburb. Unfortunately I forgot to put my mobile # in that PM so I will PM you again:rolleyes:. Still have baby brain.............unfortunately I think my baby brain is here to stay.

Bonny - sending sleeping vibes to your house tonight:goodvibes:

LeeLee - is my place a little more convenient for timings for Piper? Hope so.

AFU - well my SD had his second op and they saved his eye. Very relieved. I picked him up from hospital today and he is a little worse for wear, although he is very greatful for his situation as he knows things could have been a lot worse. His wounds will heal and he will be on the road to recovery in no time. My mum is very relieved now too.

I live about 15/20 mins south of Perth on the freeway if anyone is still interested in a catch up. Hayls is keen. I'm not worried what time. Whatever suits anyone that comes. I'd like to say "give me warning so I can bake something.....ha ha". I'm a packet girl;) Hayls I think you still have my mobile #. Text me if you need my address from last time you came here.

Just send me a PM and I can send you my address and mobile (promise I'll send in one message.........)

Looking forward to hopefully catching up with you gals tomorrow.

Always Hoping
26-09-2011, 11:21
Looks like our catch up will be another time when more are able to make it.

Hope everyone has a nice day (even though the weather is crap!!!!).

Are we going to wait until the end of October or have a catch up before?

MrsL
26-09-2011, 14:44
oh shame the catch up did not work out. who is able to come if we just reschedule for next monday at myn 1pm again?

Always Hoping
26-09-2011, 16:15
MrsL - Z and I are able to make it on the 3rd at 1pm.

Hope everyone else is able to make it.

AFU - forgot to post a very special announcement. Z "officially" crawled forward last Friday. Her daddy had the day off work too and he saw her first crawl. Very special day for us all. She has been pushing herself backwards for a little while now but she mastered the art of going forwards (especially if you put something in front of her that she really wants).:p

bourbon11646
26-09-2011, 16:43
I wish i had more time to properly reply and do personals, just want to let you all know that things are very hectic at the moment as we are building a house and due to go to prestart very soon so are rushing around like mad people selecting roof colour, paint, flooring, kitchen, bathroom stuff, blinds, pavers, gardens, etc etc you name it we have to choose it! Crazy! Therefore im working every spare moment around DH's work schedule so we can go to expos, homebase centre, warehouses, showrooms blah blah and make selections that hopefully look nice in the end! I will have to leave all catch ups until after our prestart for this reason.
Ill be happy when we can sit back and watch our house get built (with hopefully no dramas along the way lol)..
Lucky Luca seems to enjoy going out and sleeps well in the baby bjorn while we are dashing to and fro! :eek:
Hes been sleeping better lately but thanks to solids sometimes wakes at inconvenient hours from having a pooey nappy and refuses to settle dirty not that i blame him! I heard him pushing at 4:30am and thought "ohhh noooo damn it! Gonna have to get up and change his nappy!" Sure enough nice surprise awaiting me :laughing:
After some chatting away he finally went back to sleep but by that time id missed out on precious zzz's and then it was time to get up.
Sometimes he cries out at the beginning of the night too (teething?) or is harder to settle at first when he used to be really easy but cant complain overall hes pretty good. I do find the interrupted zzz's is starting to catch up with me though, so tired all the time! And im thinking of baby no 2 am i mad lol :freakingout:
I dont know whos done finger food with their bub, i want to try it as Luca loves his food and has mastered purees and always wants my food when im eating that i feel bad not offering him something but im so scared of him choking! Especially when the hungry lil man shovels food in! Hes likely to push it straight down his throat! :eek:
What did everyone offer and when? Hes not quite 6 months but not far away.
I read everyones posts and sorry to hear about sick bubs, lack of sleep etc. They are always changing the rules arent they.
I will try to get on here in between Luca sleeping and doing house stuff.
I am looking forward in catching up when things settle down (hopefully before luca turns 18... :laughing: )
Take care,

MrsL
26-09-2011, 22:50
hiya, alternatively we can meet somewhere more central like a park now that the weather is warming up. also if bourban unable to make it we can do a morning if suits more?

sooz80
26-09-2011, 23:05
Hi. Next Monday is out for me. I can do any other day though... mornings are preferable as elliot can be grumpier in the afternoon. Jope everyone is doing well x

Sonja
26-09-2011, 23:36

We're in melbourne next week (school holidays) but i'd be happy to meet next time. Mornings are definitely better for me if bourbon can't make it.

LeeLee19
26-09-2011, 23:40
Wanna go back to Wednesday / Thursday mornings? I'm free next Wednesday morning, not Thursday though. Or I'm good for Monday arvo's too, though like Sooz, mornings are probably slightly better as Piper is less grumpy. The State Library in the city might be a good meet up spot...central for everyone, heaps of toys if MrsL or Sonja are bringing older kids, plus if it's nice weather the gardens in near the art gallery are just lovely now, all planted with edible plants, lots of grass etc.... Plus I get to go on the train :laughing: ...Piper LOVES the train.

Bourbon, if you're worried about choking...I highly recommend you read Gill Rapley's book Baby Lead Weaning, it will totally put your mind at rest :). Piper stuffs loads in, but it nearly all falls out. She only swallows what she can manage. We had a discussion on this a couple of weeks ago on here.

Always Hoping
27-09-2011, 11:20
I think the State Library is a great idea. We have the indoors if the weather is yucky and outside if the sun is out.

I have never been to the State Library and catching the train into the city sounds good too. Although I won't be able to drive to the local train station as by 7:30 am there is no parking left. Still a bus ride from home might be really enjoyed by Z.

I am happy with wherever and whatever time.

Hope to see you all (well most) next week.

Sonja - have fun back in Melbourne.....................you must get terribly home sick for Melbourne. It's a wonderful city with heaps of cafes/restaurants and always something going on. It's only downfall...................too cold in winter (Brrrrr).

Sonja
27-09-2011, 13:27
Always I LOVE cold weather but it became a real hassle with kids who were always sick or hated putting all their clothes on all the time.

Having said that since moving to Perth I've experienced the hottest driest summer for years and now the wettest winter. Must say I'm not that impressed at the moment :laughing:!

Yep State Library sounds great. You should agree a time that works (I think it will be a while as it takes everyone a while) - Thursday mornings are good but don't worry if I can't make it as with the 2 kids to drag along sometimes it just doesn't happen!

MrsL
27-09-2011, 16:17
yeah great idea leelee. shame u can't make this one sonja. wed morn would work best for me if suits others? just hope not too busy with school hols...

sooz80
27-09-2011, 17:37
Wed morning is good for me too: )

LeeLee19
28-09-2011, 00:45
Shall we plan a meet then say next Wednesday (5th) October, kids area of the state library? It's on the mezanine level for those who haven't been. Even if it's busy with school hols, it's pretty big, so I'm sure we can find a space for a chat. They have story time on wednesday's so the kids all tend to congregate in one area.

Shall we say 10ish onwards...to give people time to get there on PT or find parking if driving. If it's nice weather we can always head outdoors. I'll PM my mobile number.

Hayls70
28-09-2011, 10:07

State library is a good idea although I don't think I will be able to make it on Wednesday as bourbon and I take bubs to gymbaroo Wednesdays. I'm only speaking for me though as gymbaroo starts at 1pm but by the time I get Isla ready etc it wouldnt give me much time for the catch up.

I will wait for the next one in that case.
Out of interest for future reference is there parking near the library as I'm not so keen on taking the train at this stage?

Hayls70
28-09-2011, 10:08
Ps. Don't change the date for me though..

MrsL
28-09-2011, 10:17
i can honestly do a wed or thurs. it doesn't make much diff...

bourbon11646
28-09-2011, 11:11
Thanks for advice on solids, ill just have to bite the bullet and feed some finger foods to him eventually! Im fine with all the other food and Luca loves it (more than milk!).
Saw paed yesterday and he got allergy tested, poor thing had his arm stabbed 7 times with a scalpel but he was in very good spirits thank god! Only very slight reaction to cows milk. Also very slight reaction to apple so paed said watch out for melons & berries as they react the same way as apple.
Have to reduce his losec by half a ml every 3 days and see how his reflux goes.
Bummer cant make gymbaroo today as have a meeting at my sisters work (building company) and the prestart lady there is going to go over some stuff and help dh & I before our actual 5hr prestart appt in a couple of weeks. Soooo much to choose!! It was doing our heads in yesterday driving back and forth picking up floor sample & trying to match kitchen and bathroom tiles etc..
Cant say im a huge fan of the city... too busy but you guys have fun, it does sound great for kids.
Ill be in for one once house stuff is sorted at a park or closer library...and can prob make late morning around 10:30-11am? But no point discussing that until closer to the time..
Have to run and get ready for meeting now, take care mummies & bubbies!

Always Hoping
28-09-2011, 11:37
Wednesdays or Thursdays are fine with me

Always Hoping
28-09-2011, 22:40
Sorry, Wednesday is out for me now. SD has a Drs appointment at the hospital.

MrsL
28-09-2011, 22:51
make it thurs? suit more?

LeeLee19
29-09-2011, 00:09
I can do either Wed or Thursday too as I forgot, that playgroup I usually go to isn't on in the school hols...did we want to make it Thursday instead...would that suit you Sooz?

For those driving there is a multi storey under the State Library / Cultural Centre area, I think there is an entrance on Roe Street. Not sure how exy it is?

Bourbon...you made me chuckle with your comment that the city is busy...I'm originally from London and having lived in a few UK cities, Perth City is positively snoozy :laughing: Sooz...would you agree? It's pretty quiet in the Cultural Centre on a weekday and the kids section in the State Library is super awesome. It's HUGE and gated and has hundreds of toys, including cubbies and dressing up costumes for the todlers/pre-schoolers and the new garden area near the train station is just lovely. I'm a big fan :)

On another note...what is it about orange foods...Piper will pretty much eat anything, but LOVES all things orange, so cantelope melon, oranges, carrots, pumpkin etc...having said that she was pretty keen on her zucchini wedges this evening, sucking off the soft juicy bits and chucking the skins and going 'mmmmm' 'mmmmm'. Very cute. Oh and she is definitely saying Mum now, witnessed by a few people...just bliss!!!!

trishalishous
29-09-2011, 00:36
Ill tag along next week, either day is fine, as we are up on holidays :)

sooz80
29-09-2011, 11:04
Thursday is good for me.
LeeLee - Perth is pretty sedate - even walking around at lunchtime there's not the hussle and bussle that I'm used to! That was in Manchester as well - London's has even more buzz!
I'm looking forward to checking out the State Library - I like it around there - has a nice ambience.:yes:
Bourbon - cruskits and toast are pretty good starter foods as they go soggy pretty quickly. We tried watermelon at first - but that goes into mushy lumps which in hindsight isn't the best. Banana and papaya are also pretty good to try first of all. Elliot is fine with watermelon now, but they take a couple of weeks to learn how to chew properly.
Hayls - how's the new house? It must feel great to finally be in there.
MrsL - how's Indi now? I hope that she's recovering.
Bonny - glad that you had a good time in Bali. I hope that Ivy is sleeping a bit better.
Sonja - have a good time in Melbourne.
Always - glad that the op went well - it must be a stressful time for you all.
Trisha - look forward to meeting you.

Always Hoping
29-09-2011, 11:31
So has it been agreed Thursday?

What time?

Looking forward to seeing all that can come and also checking out the State Library. Sounds fabulous.

LeeLee19
29-09-2011, 14:41
Shall we say 10ish...I'll aim to get the 9.30 train from Guildford (which means I'll at least def get the next one). Piper's morning sleeps are totally random so if she's not had one, she can just sleep in the wrap (hopefully) :rolleyes: I've got a pretty new rainbow one which I'm a bit partial too at the moment, so you won't be able to miss me in the library :laughing:

Hayls70
29-09-2011, 18:31
Found out gymbaroo not on over school holidays either so wednesday would've been fine.
Thursday fine too.
I think I'll be driving in so I hope there is plenty parking. Is the library pram friendly? I'm presuming it would be..

LeeLee19
29-09-2011, 21:51
Yep totally pram friendly...take a lift up to the ,mezzanine level then you can't miss it :yes:

MrsL
29-09-2011, 21:58
cool i'm driving too and this is big for me - i'm a bit like bourban and NEVER travel to the city (prob been a few years since i've been there). I'm such a coastal gal :p

Hayls70
30-09-2011, 12:40
I'm the same MrsL and don't go into the city hardly ever! ...definitely a coastal girl here too!
See you all next Thursday then x

bourbon11646
30-09-2011, 22:11
I used to drive there heaps for work yrs ago but I'm not real keen on busy places/not as good parking etc, prefer quieter places/parks/coffee shops/local libraries/houses etc.
It's amazing how many mums my age I'm meeting in ellenbrook just from Dh & I having coffee before food shopping etc! Met 3 girls & joined a local mothers group finally!! Yet to catch up though, has to wait til after prestart in couple weeks. Will be good to meet locals especially since ellenbrook is a community within itself.
Not the same bond as with us ivf'ers though ;)

bonnybaby
01-10-2011, 20:55

Flat out here atm and Ivy is STILL sick. Cant believe its been 10 days so far and she is still super blocked up, cant feed properly and snot freaking everywhere, ewww. I feel so sorry for her.
Just a quick note to say I'll definitely try to make it next Thursday too. Will wait and see if Ivy is better, but I wont bring her unless she is 100%. MIL is missing her heaps, she is currently undergoing chemo and cannot risk even the slightest infection due to low white cell count etc, so she hasnt seen Ivy for ages. I think she is having withdrawal symptoms!

Anyway must run. Im hosting my parents 40th wedding anniversary celebration next weekend and Im sussing out a menu. Argh its stressing me out.
Hope to see you all Thursday.

LeeLee19
01-10-2011, 23:21
Hayls and Mrs L...ooh Thursday will be an exciting adventure then...I hope you find parking okay.

Bonny - poor little Ivy and poor you, sick bubbas are so stressful. I hope she gets some relief soon and we see you both on Thursday. I'm sorry to hear your MIL is unwell and going through chemo. I hope that it works and she makes a swift recovery.

Not much to report here. We visited my sister today and went on the train as Piper is still on a bit of a car strike. Long journey as we went into the city, then out to Glendalough, but Piper was hilarious. Her latest noise is a 'ha ha' sound. So she kept looking at people on the train and then going 'ha ha' - very cute! Also we had cous cous for dinner tonight....:freakingout::freakingout::freakingout: :freakingout: VERY VERY messy. Who knew that eye lashes could be such good cous cous catchers...I think Piper still has some up her nose :eek::eek:

See you all on Thursday :yes:

Hayls70
03-10-2011, 11:13
Hi girls, Isla woke up with a chesty rattly cough yesterday which she then vomited a couple times last night..and now this morning. I've had to cancel her 6month needles today til she gets better but still going to take her to the Doc appointment ..not that I think he'll do much but they always say best be safe than sorry!

So this is her first sicky! Horrible when they cry that shrill " I'm in pain help me!" cry and you feel helpless. We both had chuck up all over us! Anyway, I've given her some panadol and she's sleeping on me right now, I hope she sleeps it away!!

Bonny- how's ivy? And you?? Is this her first cold? Sounds like it's hanging around too!

Leelee- that's so funny of piper on the train, she's a social butterfly..car is boring in the backseat on her own!

Hi everyone I hope to see you Thursday but it's all going to depend now

Always Hoping
03-10-2011, 11:56
Bonny - soooo sorry to hear that Ivy is ill. Snot................ewwwww!!! That's the one thing that will make my stomach turn. How's your MIL. So sorry to hear that she is having to have chemo but at least she is in good hands and that the technology is there to give her every chance of a full recovery. My MIL is a living example and she also had chemo (plus radiotherapy). Knowing that Ivy is there will give her something wonderful to look forward to (especially when Ivy is better and can go near her again).

Hayls - oh no!!!! Not Isla too!!! Seems a lot of bubbies are ill at the moment. Z had a crusty nose for one day so I better no complain hey? Hope she is sleeping soundly and wakes up all better.

Sooz - after seeing your jumperoo I have been madly looking for one on Gumtree and finally found one for sale close to my place (that was in good condition). We picked it up yesterday and Z absolutely loves it. She squeals with delight when we put her in it. This jumperoo that I bought looks as though it was never used.

LeeLee - can't wait to see Piper. She has grown into quite a little character. I love watching babies interacting with their surroundings. Ahhhhh!!!! Warm and fuzzy!!!:goodvibes:

Bourbon - glad you have found a MG close to home. I am looking at trying to join one closer to home as well (more for Z sake than mine). I like her to interact with babies and she just goes mad when she sees another baby or child. She loves kids and babies. Hope you can make it on Thursday. I would be lovely to see you again and also to meet L.

Well to all our sick babies and mummies - hope you all have a speedy recovery and feel better quickly.

Looking forward to Thursday.

AFU - Z now has a new jumperoo and loves it. I know you all feel this way about your babies too - the love is just unbelievable. I get really teary when I look at my girl. I just feel so incredibly lucky, blessed and fortunate. The Gods have been extremely kind to us all.:goodvibes::babydust1:

PS - Well done Geelong!!!!!:smiliedance:

MrsL
03-10-2011, 13:38
hi all,

haylz - oh dear poor isla! hope she's feeling better soon.

always - i have a similar thing to the jumperoo (exosaucer) and indi just loves it too! it really brings the noises out of her! I know what u mean about those moments where u just about burst with love and just feel so extremely appreciative of how what u have. u could never explain to anyone that feeling :cuddle:.

leelee - hope piper is off her car strike soon tho it sounds like your quite enjoying your train trips :)

bonny - indio is the same with her cold. she keeps waking up snotty and i think surely it can't go on any longer! my son also caught it, he woke up once one night just for a drink, was fine in the day and it only seemed to go for about 3 days so there is def something to be said for them building up their immunity. what a diff compared to a poor bubs cold! I had 3 nights of hell with indi and i cant understand how one little babe can produce so much snot!

hi everyone else - cant see further back.

well it sounds like it'll be a good turn out for thurs. like bonny and haylz i will have to see how indi's snot nose is. when we organised it i thought for sure she'd be all better by now. fingers crossed :fingerscrossed:

I've been taking some control with indi's sleep lately. have reduced her to 3 naps a day (she was still having 4!) by stretching her to 2 hours awake time and have put another cot down the other end of the house away from my son and am ignoring her a bit in the night niow (not if distressed). It seems to have improved things a bit and am hoping to start feeling better soon. just really hit a wall big time!

Hayls70
05-10-2011, 11:34
Isla seems worse today so its not looking good for us tomorrow unless she miraculously wakes up better by then! Fingers and toes crossed because she. (and I) get sick of being home all day. In fact she was inconsolable yesterday afternoon and I was thinking OMG poor thing must be in so much pain, I ended up putting her in pram all rugged up and going for a walk...well, she shut up immediately then drifted off to sleep! Sick? Or bored? Lol!! No, definitely sick...but bored too!
On another note, I've been bfing her non-stop to keep her hydrated and give her antibodies but my milk supply isn't replenishing that well! Any tips..please?? I'm also giving her some water. She seems to throw up her solids..other than pear/apple puree.

So anyway, if we can be there we'll see you otherwise looks like we're waiting for the next one boohoo!

MrsL... How's Indi going with the reduced naps? Still improving? Doesn't she get overtired when you stretch her wake time?

bonnybaby
05-10-2011, 13:28

Hayls - Oh no, not another sick bub. Sounds like she has more than just a cold if she is throwing up as well. What did the Dr say? Poor thing not keeping her food down. Ivy is STILL not quite better yet, I cant believe today is her 14th day since being sick. WTF. I seriously thought it would have cleared by now. Not so much snot (gross) but she still has an awful cough, its so sad seeing her coughing as she struggles to breath while doing so. Are you all settled in the house now?

Always - I looked into the Jumperoo thingy too but we have a jolly jumper which she goes in every day, so I figure I will spend the money on getting one of those things they can sit in and walk around on, similar to the jumperoo but with wheels. Cant for the life of me think what they are called atm. But yeah, they love bouncing around huh. I find that when I hold Ivy now she always tries to jump on my lap as though she is still strapped into the jolly jumper! MIL has one more chemo treatment to go then this series is over. Unfortunately she has been told she will need chemo every 4yrs or so.

MrsL - Same as Hayls asked, how do you stretch Indi out without her getting overtired? If I miss Ivy's sleep signs or push her out too long, she will never sleep. Its such a fine line with her. We have kind of dropped down to two day naps, although if she has a really crappy nap of 20mins or so, then I will try and get a 3rd one in. Oh and I hope she gets better soon, been dragging on a while like in this house.

Hiya to everyone else. Regarding the catch up, Im reluctant to bring her tomorrow. As mentioned previously, the snot/mucous has pretty much gone, but she still has a barking cough. Id feel like terrible if one of your bubs caught something. Really sucks though because Id loved to have come along. I havent even met Always yet and was looking forward to it.
Oh on a positive note, I was blown away yesterday when I saw Ivy up on all fours rocking back and forth!!!! Since then, she has done it countless times whenever on her tummy. Cant believe how quickly she is growing up, she may be crawling really soon!!! Better get some safety things done around the house!!

MrsL
05-10-2011, 16:24
wow go IVY:smiliedance: I don't think I give indi enough tummy time something i really must work on. I tend to just sit her up all time now she is able to and she seems so happy with it. Must admit tho i've been a little overconfident sometimes rushing off to do something and found her faceplanting the floor :rolleyes:

shame Isla is still so sick. that sounds like a really bad one :(

Indi's going really well actually with the stretching. we are usually out and about in her awake time which seems to stop her from getting too irritable (usually harder if at home).

its only 2 hours awake time but she's never been able to manage much. I tend to put her down about 8:30/9, 12/12:30 and 3/3:30 whatever time is 2 hours after she last woke.

And amazingly contrary to what they say should happen she actually sleeps longer now. yesterday morn and this morn she did 1.5 hours and when i put her down at 12 yesterday she slept 3 hours! previously she was 40min-1 hour naps. It has also really helped me stretch her feeds longer in the day as she was only sleeping awake for such short periods before I was feeding every 2.5 hours :eek:

anyhoo feels good to take some control. can't say the nights are getting any better tho. luckily she is so perfect in every other way :p

Always Hoping
05-10-2011, 22:56
So many sick bubbies......................:( Hope they all start to get better soon. If Z ever gets a stuffy nose I rub a little Vicks (only a tiny bit) on her bottom sheet so her body warms it up and she gets a gentle vapour.

So who is a definate for tomorrow?

Bonny - I was really looking forward to meeting you tomorrow. Oh well, next time;) I know I harp on this but if you read a book called "Save our Sleep" I found it to be excellent for setting a routine. Not all days can go like clock work but near enough. It has really helped me to read Z's signs. On each hour (because of this book) I can tell you what is needed for Z. Example:

7:00 wake and BF or bottle
8:00 b'fast
9:00 BF or bottle and nap (although book says to put baby to bed awake - yeh right!!)
Z sleeps for about 1.5 hrs
11:00 BF or bottle
12:00 lunch
1:20 bottle and nap (used to be 1:00 but now she is older the later nap in the day is not needed)
3:30 BF or bottle
5:00 dinner
6:00 bath
6:45 bottle and asleep
10:00/10:30 bottle dream feed

I know it sounds like I'm running a boot camp but honestly Z really responds to it. She has gotten to know associations (such as being put in her sleeping bag during the day with a bottle means she is going for a nap).

If you are interested PM me and I'll give you my home number for a chat (no pressure:D)

Hugs to all our sick bubbies...................:hugs:

LeeLee19
06-10-2011, 00:22
I plan to be there. Sorry to hear about sick bubbas.

Piper only had one sleep today....ONE! Though it was for nearly three hours. Hmmm wondering if this is a move to one sleep a day, I've got a friend whose baby did that at nearly 8 months. She seems to be able to go for about four hours or so of awake time, so two sleeps means she isn't sleepy until about 9ish. And she is definitely forward moving now, in a sort of commando wriggle...very funny.

sooz80
06-10-2011, 08:03
I'll be there. I hope all our sick bubbas get better very soon.

Always Hoping
06-10-2011, 09:36
I'll be there.

Sooz I think I have your mobile number from last time we met at your place so if I get lost I will ring you:freakingout:

Looking forward to seeing everyone and watching Piper commando crawl:D

MrsL
06-10-2011, 11:17
hi all,

i think we'll have to give it a miss today. i was still wiping away snot yesterday and she was croaky this morn :(

such a beautiful day tho we are going to hit the beach instead :smiliedance:

well done on the crawling piper clever girl :D

just out of interest if i did a catch up at myn next thurs morn would anyone be interested? just thinking sick bubbies may be better then and most of u seem keen to get out...

sooz80
06-10-2011, 17:26
Always/LeeLee - it wasgood to catch and see the little ones playing so well together (well the girls anyway - whilst Elliot practised his hip thrusts!).
MrsL -I'm free next Thursday to catch up.

:wave: everyone

LeeLee19
06-10-2011, 22:53
It was lovely to catch up Sooz and Always...Elliot and Zoe are just delightful!!!

Piper must have caught the hip thrusting mania as she was lying on the bed this evening and did a couple - ha ha.

She slept over lunch at Govindas for about 45 and then we ended up going back to the State Library with my friend and her two year old...and didn't go to sleep again until 6pm this evening. Hoping she has a lovely long sleep tonight to make up for it.

bonnybaby
06-10-2011, 23:10
haha whats with all the hip thrusts going on?!!! Sounds like I missed out on some laughs.

Always - Thanks for the info on Z sleep patterns. Ive half read the book, although I havent actually followed any of it. Ivys night sleep the last week has been great (I hope Im not jinxing myself). Ever since we got back from Bali almost 2 weeks ago, which funnily enough is also the time she has been sick...she has slept fantastically at night. I would have thought being sick would make her worse, but she is actually better. Maybe it has something to do with the vapouriser on in her room?! Wierd. Wonder how long it will last!!

DH and I had a scare today. We noticed a rash all over Ivys body, little red spots everywhere. I thought the worst (meningococal etc), and called the Dr for an appointment, but luckily he said it is pretty harmless. Its a viral rash caused by her being unwell for so long and is often seen in babies and young kids when they get run-down. Ive never heard of it. Apparently it should disappear as quickly as it arrived. So Im actually glad I didnt come to the library today otherwise I would have been sh*tting myself whilst out and about.

trishalishous
06-10-2011, 23:40
so sorry! we had visitor
s show up this monig and couldnt get away till 2pm! a whole suny day w

MrsL
07-10-2011, 10:29
bonny - indi also had that rash with her last sickness. starts with an R but can't remember name. Any worrying rashes just press with your finger. if they go white - all good if they stay red its a worry. are u keen for a catch up next thurs? will go ahead if there's enough interest... leelee i realise it may be too far for u.

sooz80
07-10-2011, 11:09
It sounds like roseola - Elliot had it a few months back. It disappeared as quickly as it arrived and didn't seem to cause him any distress - but yep it was very worrying. We did the glass test and took him to the doctors to check him over.

Always Hoping
07-10-2011, 11:37
LeeLee and Sooz - what a wonderful morning spent with you and your precious babies. Piper is so independent (and eating an apple - I'm in awe) and Elliott with his hip thrusting..................sorry little man but you gave us a very good giggle).

Well after you guys left the library I stayed and fed Z and thought I might as well go and visit my old work (on St Georges Tce). My boss and his wife (a good friend of mine) were very happy to see me and I stayed and chatted for quite some time. I am going back there on Monday for lunch with girls from another floor that I became good friends with. I am sure they will get a shock when they see how much Z has grown.

I felt quite ill last night. My tummy was not sitting very good. I think it was because I didn't drink enough water (well none) the whole time I was out. It's funny............I religiously make sure Z has water at hand all the time but never worry about myself. My DH got a bit cross with me because if anything happens to me Z is on her own..................I have to agree with him:rolleyes:

Well I had the biggest scare of my life this morning. I always put Z in a bassinett pram when I have my shower. I had the basinette pram next to our vanity and I went to the toilet first and when I came out there she is basically standing in her basinette and leaning over the sink playing with a nail brush OMF..............G. If she had decided to lean the other way she would have hit the tiled floor. Needless to say the basinette is now a 'NO GO ZONE'.

MrsL - I will say yes at this stage for the catch up................it all depends on my SD as he is in the process of having his reconstruction surgery. I'm not quite sure when it's going to happen.

Bonny - hope you can make it to the catch up...................would love to meet you and Ivy. Very scary about Ivy's rash. My girlfriend's little one recently had this too and she thought the worst. Her bub is also unwell and ended up with the rash.:eek: Someone else expained it well................if it goes white when pressing it's fine. That's how my girlfriend explained it to me as well.

Everyone else - :wave: and if your little one is not well I'm sending heaps of "get well soon :hugs:".

Have a wonderful day girls and an even better weekend. Yay swimming tomorrow with our little Z:smiliedance:

flutterbyes
07-10-2011, 11:58
Hi ladies I've been in BH a little while but I've just stumbled across this little group/ thread and I'm also a Perth mumma :)
I have a DD Amelia who is 19 months and nearly 6 weeks ago was blessed with our DS William :)
In a few weeks time....once these early 'newborn weeks' have passed
I'd love to meet some other mums and for Amelia to meet some other play mates too!
Look forward to chatting, have a great day!

Always Hoping
07-10-2011, 17:39
Flutterbyes - :bigwelcome: and congratulations on the recent birth of William. Of course you are welcome to meet up with us mums and bubs. Sonja and MrsL have some older children so you little girl will have some play friends too. Are you SOR or NOR?

We are all pretty spread out of the metro area but we try very hard to meet up with each other. Yesterday three of us met at the State Library in Perth and we had a wonderful morning chatting and watching our babies play together.

Again, contrats on William and enjoy the "newborn" stage. It doesn't last long does it:(

My little darling is having a very late afternoon nap. We went and visited her nanny and poppy and well she was just too excited to sleep there:goodvibes: Had to wait until the drive home.

bourbon11646
07-10-2011, 22:26
Welcome Flutterbyes & huge congrats on the birth of William!
You are more than welcome to join us :)

Sick bubby in our house too, luca has his first cold :( red puffy eyes, sneezing coughing, nose blocked, upset, poor thing. We are trialing a vaporizer tonight & Vicks.
He also had his needles which was heartwrenching. He actually yelped this time but the nasty nurse was not gentle. I felt so sad for him sobbing away :(
She said the mouth drop one is now an injection but I said no way are u giving him 3 needles!

On another note we have prestart next thurs so we r madly rushing around choosing stuff for our house.
Things should settle down then & i can come to catch ups :)

2 little girls about 4yrs old have come up to luca now wanting to c him! They love him! And luca has huge grins & smiles for them! I think he attracts the older ladies lol!

Hope you're all well & bubs recovering if sick.
Talk more soon, more house stuff to go through.. Aargh!

LeeLee19
07-10-2011, 23:15
Hi Flutterbyes

Welcome! And congratulations on the birth of your wee man. I hope you're enjoying those newborn snuggles and being looked after. Please do come along to catch ups, we would love to meet you.

I won't come to the catch up at Mrs L's house as it's just a bit far for me, but I'll be keen to do one next month. Do we want to stick to the last week of the month or the first? We discussed maybe trying a catch up at Kings Park again now the weather is nicer as that seemed to work quite well when we met after bubs were born.

flutterbyes
08-10-2011, 04:35
Hi ladies thankyou so much for your welcomes :)
I am in South Guildford but am happy to travel to meet up with you in the next few weeks.
Sounds like a few of you have some sick little ones so I hope they all get better soon, it's no fun when they are sick poor little poppets :(
Have a great weekend and I'll definitely keep in touch! Cheers x

bourbon11646
08-10-2011, 12:04
Flutterbyes - looking forward in meeting you, Amelia & William :)

LeeLee - Id like to see Pipers hip thrusts, sounds amusing! Kings park sounds great to me.

Always - glad u had fun at the library, they do get excited to see other people huh. Luca is the same. Are you feeling better? Isnt it ironic we care so much about looking after our bubs that we forget or dont care about ourselves. Women always put everyone before themselves just the way we are :)
Enjoy swimming, is it lessons, have you been before with Z?

Sooz - Elliot and his hip thrusts, i want to see that! Looking forward in seeing you both next catch up.

MrsL - I hope Indi is feeling better and her sleep is improving. Its so hard getting little zzz yourself too.

Trish - Hope you are well :wave:

Bonny - if its not one thing its another scary thing, that rash would freak me out too! Mannn if we have another bub how much better prepared will we all be! So many things to learn with the first! I tried a vaporizer last night, Luca loved it (so did dh and i - sounded like a day spa lol)

Hayls - How is Isla going?

AFM: Luca is still coughing like crazy and blocked up at night. I feel bad taking him out everywhere during the day choosing house stuff :(
We tried a vaporizer in his room last night which seemed to help. This morning he wouldnt settle and i found out why - a big poonami which needed surgical removal :eek:
Im keen on a Kings Park catch up when the weather is nice. Have to be when Luca is better though. I cant wait to finally meet all your bubs, last i saw you all was when i was pregnant :eek:

MrsL
09-10-2011, 16:12
welcome flutterbyes :wave:

bonny and anyone else whose bubbies dont drink from bottle - how on earth do u get water into them??? cant seems to get indi to take any from bottle or sippy cup...

also - anyone elses bubbies just pooing ALL the time due to solids :eek:

bonny and haylz - keen for thurs?

MrsL
09-10-2011, 21:07
and sonja for thurs? if back from melbourne...

LeeLee19
09-10-2011, 22:04
Piper will drink water drom a plastic cup in the bath :eek: ew... she won't take a sippy cup, but will drink from a regular cup. I hold it, but let her go for it herself in the bath :)

bourbon11646
09-10-2011, 22:12
MrsL - luca drinks from everything but not a sippy cup as he just chews on it! He loves drinking from a normal cup so I ordered a doidy cup which is better for babies. Have a look at:

http://www.bubshack.com.au/

Always Hoping
09-10-2011, 23:48
MrsL - I should be there Thurs. My SD has his reconstruction surgery tomorrow so it all just depends on when he comes out of hospital. It all depends too on Z as she has conjunctivitis in her right eye. I am putting drops in the moment and it has improved heaps from yesterday. The chemist said it should be gone within 48 hours. :fingerscrossed: Don't worry, I won't risk anyone else if Z's eye is still funky.

YES Z is just pooing all the time because of solids. She will do at least 4 a day (and pretty decent amount too:eek:) With Indi have you tried a cup that has a straw that goes to the bottom of the container? Z likes the straw sippy cups.

How is everyone else and their bubbies? Hope all our sick little ones are getting better and on the straight road to recovery.

AFU - well we went with friends to the middle of nowhere today motor bike riding. Well DH and his mates and a few of their kids all went riding. Just a few of us back at base camp chatting etc. It was a complete challenge with Z trying to keep the blasted flies off her. Ewwwwww. Whenever the wind died down the flies would come out. I ended up trying to keep her in her pram with the fly net over her. I felt like crawling in there with her. There were a few snakes out there so it shows they're starting to come out of their hiding holes and warming themselves up in the sun.

sooz80
10-10-2011, 14:40
Always - I hope that everything goes well for your SD. The flies are a pain aren't they - we've got a bug screen for Elliot's pram as well. I hope that Zoe's eye clears up quickly.

:wave: flutterbyes - how are the newborn weeks treating you? I've been looking over old photos and can't believe how quickly they change. I miss the the milk-drunk buddha look - but I'm loving the excitement he gets when he spies some food now though! I look forward to meeting your little brood.

bourbon - Poor little Luca. It's horrible when they're ill. I hope that you're free for the next catch up at King's Park.

MrsL - We just kept on perservering with a beaker for Elliot. I found that offerring water in between mouthfuls of food was the most successful. We've also got a little pooper here now as well. When he was bf only he would go for 4-5 days between poos - now we're lucky to go 2-3 hours! I love the little grunt that he does whilst squeezing one out!

Well - Elliot seems to have learnt a lot from Miss Zoe and Miss Piper as he is now finally sitting unsupported and is lifing his bottom up when on his tummy. Worry not though the hip thrusts are still ongoing! Oh Always/LeeLee pm me your email addresses if you want a copy of the pics.

bonnybaby
11-10-2011, 12:24
MrsL - sorry for the late reply, I wont come to the catch up on Thursday just due to the distance between yours and mine. It would probably be about an hour drive to get there unfortunately. By the time Id arrive it would be time to turn back around again :-( Im up for Kings Park for the next one. Oh and yep, getting water into Ivy is virtually impossible. We attempt about 3 times per day and have tried bottles with various teats, sippy cups with spouts and straws, normal cups, doidy cups, normal drink bottles etc. I must persevere as I go back to work just after xmas and Im stressing out big time that she will still only take boobs!! The most she has had is 45ml over the day from a bottle, only just the other week. Plus with summer coming up I really want her to be able to take some water. Ive been putting frozen fruit in those little net things that bubs hold onto and suck (cant remember the name of it) so I guess I could always just freeze water and let her slowly suck on that.

flutterbyes - Welcome and congrats on the birth of William! Love to meet you and your little ones.

bourbon - hey isnt prestart a nightmare?! We went through it all a couple of years ago, sooo many things to choose and decide upon. The hardest thing I found was trying to imagine what the finished house would look like, when choosing tiles, bricks, colours etc, would it all go together or end up looking like a circus!! Good luck.

leelee - Hey great idea about trying a cup in the bath. That way she wont end up saturating her clothes! Ivy tends to suck on the facecloth so Im sure she gets more water from that than all the other ways we have tried.

always - good luck to your SD for his upcoming surgery. Will be a relief to you once it is done. Yuck, I can imagine the flies, not looking forwward to that in the coming months. Or the mozzies that will be coming out in the evening.

sooz - Yay congrats to Elliot for sitting unsupported. Ivy only just started the other day too. They are growing up so fast!

Hi to everyone else Ive missed, Sonja, Hayls, Trish

Well Ivy is finally better. Far out, 3 wks of being sick, I thought it would never end. She still has a slight rash but thats fading away. We bought her an exersaucer yesterday which she loves! Its an Evenflo brand and has springs in the legs so she can jump around. To see her face light up with the biggest grin is just heaven.

Just a qu. How many meals are your babies on now? And how many milk feeds? Ivy is on 2 solid feeds, probably just over half a cup per meal. And sometimes I give her some frozen fruit in that net thing and maybe a rusk every few days. And between 4-5 milk feeds. The reason I ask is mum has put a lot of doubt in my mind now, the other day she was here when I fed Ivy and she couldnt believe how much she ate and made a comment that her tummy is tiny and Id fed her too much?! I assume a baby will turn their head if they are full?? Can a baby over eat, as in eat more than what they need? haha like adults, I often keep eating once Im full... Thanks.

bourbon11646
11-10-2011, 18:00
Bonny ive read that thats perfectly normal so dont listen to your mum as i find their advice doesnt often match whats recommended these days anyway.
Your baby will guide you as to when shes had enough and wont just keep eating & eating. Some babies are hungrier than others ( like mine lol paed said hes just a hungry baby) and some have a faster metabolism.
The annabel karmel books also say this.
You are doing a fantastic job and YOU know your baby better than anyone else whether theyve had 50 kids or none.
Go with your instincts as they are the most powerful accurate thing to follow xx

Always Hoping
11-10-2011, 21:05
Bonny - babies don't understand being greeding. They simply feed until they have had enough. Z has a whole wheatbix with a whole banana for b'fast.:eek: I mean most adults will only have two wheatbix. Babies are so active and their bodies need a lot of energy to grow and develop.

Z is having three full meals a day with sometimes morning tea and afternoon tea (this will usually be a little bit of fruit - cooked apple, pear or melon in the same net thing as you've got).

Our darling mums mean well - my mum too thought I was feeding Z too much until I explained that babies don't understand being greeding and eating beyond what they need. I just take it on board what mum says...............and to be honest some of it is excellent advice. Our mums want the best for their grandbabies too:goodvibes:

I asked the CN about how much food I should be giving Z. The CN asked what I was doing now and I explained that I let Z be the controller of that. If she was still looking for more food at the end of the meal I would prepare more or give desert after her main meal (being fruit). The CN said that was perfect. Let your baby tell you how hungry they are. At this age they won't any more than they need. I presume greed only settles in when choc and icecream is introduced....................yummy (or is that just me:rolleyes:).

Sorry you won't be there Thursday. I'm waiting to see how Z's eye goes. It is 98% gone and cleared up but it has to be 100% before I will let her near anyone's babies.

Keep persisting with the water....................I am very lucky, Z loves her sippy cup with a straw and loves her water. A lot of it ends up down her front but I figure with the warm weather nearly upon us she will love the cool down:D I introduced about three different types of sippy cups to Z about 2-3 months ago and left them on her play mat and she would chew on them all and then one day she discovered that by sucking stuff comes up.........I think she did this as a game to start with and then decided she like water.

MrsL - will let you know tomorrow afternoon whether I can come or not. Just seeing how Z's eye is. She is 98% cleared up but am making sure it's 100% gone before I let her near any babies.

Have a wonderful day tomorrow everyone

MrsL
12-10-2011, 10:23
hi everyone,

thanks heaps for your advice over the water thing. Indi's fav 'toy' is the washcloth too :) i will keep persevering. i remember buying every type for my son and my husband said we could open a sippy cup museum :laughing:

bonny - yeah well said bourban re bonny's message. also kids will throw up if they've really had too much. I now give indi 3 meals a day (730ish, 11:30ish and 5ish)and she breastfeeds every 3-4 hours totalling about 4-5 a day (not including during night). On the formula tin it says 3 a day for this age but breastfeeding diff i suppose. I also still like to make sure she's had a BF in between sleeps which has to equal 4 feeds per day then.

does anyone know what age they recommend to turn it around so the food is more important than the milk feeds?

always - yes those flies! we are at the beach about every 2nd day these days and its such a pain. i try and time it so indi can sleep on the beach so at least i can put her cover over her (and to help with safe toddler supervison!) I'm sure z's eye will be fine by now. at least at this age bubbies aren't touching each other. also squirt a little breast milk in it. i always do that when indi has a cold as hers get a little gunky and wipe with warm salt water.

leelee - kings park sounds great! im happy for either 1st or last of month.

sooz and always - look forward to seeing u tomorrow. haylz is also coming along. Flutterbyes if you're interested let me know and i'll pm u address. 9:30/10 or whatever time suits your bubbies is fine. i'll grab some yums this arvo!

how clever BH has auto save now!!! i guess they can remove the smiley with a computer and hammer :laughing:

Sonja
12-10-2011, 11:15

sorry have been MIA - we got back from Melbourne late Sunday night and I've felt very spacy all week as the kids are still waking on Melbourne time and Marc's been up a bit at night. Hopefully everything will return to normal soon.

Bonny Marc eats an enormous amount of food some days and others very little. I just follow his lead and keep offering til he turns away or gets cross. And yep he will sometimes vomit if I've over fed him.

MrsL I have started offering Marc lunch before his bf and he has dinner without a bf first. Sometimes when he's really hungry he'll refuse food and cry and I give him one side and it seems to take the edge off his hunger so he eats properly. I just follow his lead. I think around 9 months is when food becomes more important and bf should (usually) follow solids.

LeeLee we went to Kings Park yesterday and it was great. I met another bubhuber from the over 35s thread and we had a great time. Would love to try and get there more often.

better go. School holidays are exhausting - I've had to catch up on heaps of cooking and cleaning etc and with all the kids at home the day disappears.

bonnybaby
12-10-2011, 11:42
Thanks so much for your advice about how much food to give.

Bourbon - Thanks. Yep, I think I need to follow my instincts. Last week I decided that at the beginning of this week I would give Ivy 3 meals per day, but then mum made that comment and due to being swayed by her I havent gone to the 3 meals as I had previously decided. I like to listen to my mum as she has had 4 kids and I figure a lot of the time she knows what she is talking about, but a lot of the time she doesnt either!! So I think on this occasion, I wont listen to her...3 meals here we come!

Always - Thanks for your advice too. After hearing what Z eats per day I think I need to start giving more. Maybe I have been going too 'slow and steady' if you know what I mean. Partly because Im still introducing one new food every 3 days as I had that scare with the egg a few weeks back. Do you do the weetbix with milk or water? And I guess it just goes all sloppy. Im still giving rice cereal but I think she can now move to proper cereal huh.

MrsL - Ive read about 9 months solids come before milk. I made the mistake yesterday of giving food before milk...and I had a very grumpy baby on my hands until I gave her a BF. Oh yeah the autosave is great. Ive lost count of the times I have lost my entire post and had to retype.

Sonja - welcome back! I hope you had a great time.

bourbon11646
12-10-2011, 11:55
My paed told me solids before milk at 6 months hmm not sure on this i may need to research..
As for formula each brand is different. My karicare one says 6-9 months 250ml water with 5 scoops powder, 3-4 feeds a day then 9-12 months 200ml water 4 scoops powder 3-4 times a day, 12-24 months 200ml water 4 scoops powder 2-3 times a day..
They r all different.

bourbon11646
12-10-2011, 12:01
Id do milk first then solids an hr after for each meal at this stage bonny.
Check out this:
http://www.healthdirect.org.au/health-information-services/pregnancy-birth-and-baby-website/baby-topics/foods-for-babies-solids-1

bourbon11646
12-10-2011, 12:26
Id do milk first then solids an hr after for each meal at this stage bonny.
Check out this:
http://www.healthdirect.org.au/health-information-services/pregnancy-birth-and-baby-website/baby-topics/foods-for-babies-solids-1

Always Hoping
12-10-2011, 17:35
Bonny - I just mix the weetbix with water but Z has had cows milk before (just a few little sips off my spoon when I'm eating b'fast). B4 I gave her weetbix I started her off on baby oats. You cook like a porridge. She loved that too. I give Z bits of my toast and if I'm eating a sandwich I break bits off the bread and give that to her.

I'm starting to get a little "over" all literature that says "you should introduce this now and don't introduce that until later and blah blah blah". The only thing I'm going to take any notice of is the honey. I was starting to think that I would need a uni degree to understand how to feed my baby.

I've now got the attitude of having more confidence in myself (a little thanks to Sonja and LeeLee) and introduce whatever, whenever. I gave Z some of my grilled barramundi the other night at a restaurant and she looooooooved it.

If your little one is prone to allergies well erring on the side of caution is a good thing.

As for BF with solids. I bottle/BF Z an hour before her meal. She then goes down for a nap an hour after her morning/midday meal and she then has another BF/bottle to get her off to sleep.

Go with the flow with bubby. They know what they want................and aren't afraid to show it:D

Sonja - welcome home. Hope you had a wonderful time in Melbourne. It's always great to catch up with other bub hubbers and put a face to the name.

MrsL - sorry but I can't come tomorrow (well I can but Z can't):laughing:. Her eye is still infected and I wouldn't forgive myself if she passed it on to the other little ones. Conjunctivitis is really contagious and all she would have to do is touch a toy and any other bubby touching that toy would more than likely end up with it. Really sorry as I was really looking forward to seeing you (and others) again. Pooh!!!!!:(

Must go someone has just woken up from her afternoon nap.............went down late (oops..........bad mummy).

MrsL
12-10-2011, 20:34
sonja - prob late notice but having a catch up at myn tom morn if u can make it.

Sonja
12-10-2011, 20:46
Thanks MrsL i'd love to but we've got a big catch up with school friends and mums tomorrow at Clarko - helps the kids settle any nerves about going back to school.

MrsL
12-10-2011, 21:01
u still coming sooz? looks like me u and haylz.

sooz80
12-10-2011, 21:26
Yep - I'll be there. I'm making myself scarce whilst DH works on the garden. Can I bring anything?

MrsL
12-10-2011, 21:30
great! no need have just sent DH to IGA. cant guarantee he'll choose something decent tho :laughing:

shame u cant make it sonja and always. next time!

flutterbyes
13-10-2011, 03:24
Hi Mrs L thanks so much for the invite but I unfortunately can't make tomoz (or today now as the case may be!) Thankyou so much for thinking of me though and hopefully next time I'll be able to join and meet some of you. Enjoy :)

Always Hoping
13-10-2011, 19:12
Hope you all had a great catch up today.

I was so dissapointed we couldn't make it. Z's eye is just about clear. Just couldn't risk her infecting your babies.

Can you believe it, it's going to be 33 on Sunday.:freakingout: I'm not that keen on hot weather. I should have been born in Tasmania:laughing:

When the weekend gets here have a great one. I will be taking Z swimming for the next 3 Saturdays as DH is away with the Army for 2 weeks. I'm glad I'm in the pool with her but we miss him so much when he's away.:(

MrsL
13-10-2011, 21:53
unfortunately it never went ahead. hayls had to cancel and theres not really much point unless a few of us keen.

always - i dont know how u do with DH away so much. hope u have a great time swimming and as for the weather bring it on I say :smiliedance:

LeeLee19
14-10-2011, 00:57
Oh dear, it's a shame the meet didn't go ahead...Sooz, I hope you have a lovely garden anyway though!!!

Just popped in as I meant to say earlier, that Flutterbyes, I think we've met a few times before. The names of your little ones and location matches. I think your MIL lives across the road from me in Guildford. I have little (or not so little) Piper and am the woman who carriers her around in a variety of wraps and baby carriers :laughing: Small world!!!! Would be lovely to see you and you new bub at a meet!

Always Hoping
14-10-2011, 16:39
Sorry to hear that meet didn't go ahead.

Guess what..................Z's eye is completely cleared up today. That'd be right..............one day out. Oh well. I should be happy that her eye is all cleared up.

Well we'll have to organise the next catch up........................or best intentions of a catch up:laughing: Is it agreed that we'll meet at Kings Park (I presume Sticky Beaks playground/cafe). What day?

speckled
14-10-2011, 19:25

Some of you I know from the Perth IVF thread.

I have twin baby girls. They were premmie at 31 weeks and are now 7 weeks old, they were due next week.
It was a very complicated pregnancy and I spent 12 weeks in king Edward.

I have been secretly reading this thread while pregnant, and would love to meet you all.

flutterbyes
15-10-2011, 03:26
Congratulations Speckled on your baby girls. I hope they are both doing really well and although Im new to the group also would love to meet you oneday.

LeeLee19 Hi!! Yes you are right! How funny!! Perth is such a small place though and I find that inevitably whenever you meet new people you find that somewhere along the line you know friends of friends or something bizarre like how we know each other!! I feel like a bit of a goose though coz it seems this is an ivf only mums thread and I read it as Perth ivf mums or Perth mums. I hope I can still meet up with you all even though I didn't experience ivf?? I really feel a bit stupid :-/.
I hope Piper is well I'm sure she is so different to when I last saw her! They grow so fast!

Anyway ladies I hope I can still join n meet you all. Have a great weekend :)

Sonja
15-10-2011, 04:37
Congratultions speckled on the birth of your precious babies. I hope also to meet you soon.

Flutterbyes you didn't misread the title of the thread it does include Perth mums and Perth IVF mums equally so please yes we would all love to meet you and definitely you should stay in this thread!

MrsL how are youngoing with Indi's nightwaking. As you can see, i'm up :rolleyes:,

Always Hoping
15-10-2011, 10:54
Speckled - :celebrate: and congratulations on the birth of your twins. Sorry to hear it was a complicated pregnancy and that they were premie. Hope they are coming along great guns now. How are you going/coping with twins? We look forward to meeting you and your precious babies.

Flutterbyes - don't be silly..................everyone is welcome here. It's a great way to meet other mums and their bubs.

Sonja - so which one had you up at an ungodly hour? Z only got up once last night after her dream feed. I think it was around 1:30 ish. Can't remember now:rolleyes: I did change her nappy this time and well just as I was taking the old nappy away Madam decided to have a wee and well it went all over her clothes, sleeping bag, change table etc. Had to do a complete change of everything. She hates her nappy being changed through the night. She screams the house down. Oh well, all in a nights work:freakingout:

Hi everyone:wave: Have a wonderful weekend. Off to swimming soon with Z. She has a new swim suit........................very cute. Hopefully she detracts all the attention to her and not how revolting I look in boardies. I really should have gotten on that ab circle pro a long time ago:(:rolleyes:

MrsL
15-10-2011, 17:09
hi all,

welcome speckled:wave:

fluterbyes - yes have others have said all welcome. regardless of how we got these babies i think we all experiencing the same issues now :laughing:

always - hope your swimming went well.

sonja - i think shes def better but i just try and go and feed her once in night regardless of how many times she wakes. she's now starting to wake quite early too (5:20 this morn!) we'll get there :rolleyes: at least it was a saturday today so hubby could give me a decent sleep in. did u get back to sleep after your 4am post?

bonnybaby
15-10-2011, 17:41
MrsL - How do you think Indi goes with the one feed at night? Ive been trying to only do one feed a night for a while now and as Ive been trying to stretch her out lately I have been feeding her around 4-5am. Couple of nights ago she woke at 3am, resettled herself and the next thing I knew it was 7.30am!! Never once in her almost 7 months has she gone all night without a feed. I was blown away. And my bbs were about to explode!! Im sure during the night with Ivy it is a comfort feed rather than a hunger feed. Shame the catch up didnt go ahead.

Always - Great to hear Z eye is all clear now. Ohh what a pain in the backside that must have been doing an entire change in the night! They definitely like to keep us on our toes! And Im sure it wont be the last time either. Hope you had fun swimming. Our new term starts next week and Im looking forward to it.

Speckled - Wow congrats on your twin girls. Sorry to hear you had a lot of issues, 12 wks in hospital must have felt like a decade, but Im sure all worth it now when you look at your little bubbas!

Flutter - As the others have said, you are more than welcome. The more the merrier!

Re next catch up, Kings Parks will be good as its probably more central for most. Should we stick to the last Thursday of the month then? That would make it 2 weeks time on 27th Oct. What do you all think?

Sonja
15-10-2011, 18:49
Always FINALLY Lucy and Scarlett are sleeping through most nights so it's just Marc. He's doing a dream feed around 10 and then usually he's up again once or on a bad night twice after that. When I posted it was actually 2 am Perth time (the posts all have Brisbane times) and I am quite happy with the pattern on feed around 10pm, then again at 2 or 2.30 then he wakes at 6.30. I find the 2 blocks of sleep I get around those feeds are fine. Both girls fell into that pattern without me doing anything in particular and it worked well.

MrsL I loathe the early morning wake ups - we had a few of those after we got back from Melbourne bc of the time difference. I don't mind so much if it's daylight but in Melbourne when it wasn't light til 7am I found it really draining when the girls would do it.

Bonny - I definitely think Marc wakes for comfort not food - sometimes DH tries to resettle him but we know within 5 minutes whether it's going to work or not and if not i just feed him as he goes straight back to sleep. If he screams too much he'll sometimes wake Scarlett so then we've got 2 kids to get back to sleep.

I'm happy with the last Thursday this month at King's Park. I can't do Wednesdays anymore but would be there on a Thursday.

Hope everyone has plans for staying cool tomorrow. We'll be at the beach :goodvibes:

bourbon11646
15-10-2011, 22:09
Flutterbyes - of course you r welcome & im looking forward in meeting you :)

Speckled - hey i remember you! Congrats on the birth of your twins, sorry u had a hard pregnancy. Cant wait to meet them :)

Hey everyone else, prestart was finally done yesterday. What a mission. Still lots of ppw etc before house gets built.
I set my alarm for 6am to be dressed and to get luca fed bathed dressed & bottles done etc for mum who was babysitting then dh & i had to be in myaree by 9am (peak hr traffic).
Weelllll not only did my alarm not go off but my very reliable/never sleeps past 6am baby decided to sleep to 8am wtf!!! So it was a mad mad rush eek..

As for catch up im extremely keen BUT when is CHOGM? Im not going anywhere near the city during that time as it will be crazy!!
Dh is helping out during it & says steer clear!

LeeLee19
15-10-2011, 22:20
Flutterbyes - def the more the merrier...looking forward to seeing you again :wave:.

Always...glad to hear Z's eye has cleared up and that she's getting into trying new foods...mmmm Barramundi, I don't eat fish really anymore, but I do miss it!!

MrsL, glad to hear Indi's sleep is getting a bit more manageable for you and Bonny you too.

Sonja - hope you enjoy the beach tomorrow. We are heading to my sisters for lunch and as Piper is on a perpetual car strike I'll be on the train...so I hope I don't melt in this heat. I might get my mum to drive me home as then I can sit in the back with Piper as she's got a car seat in her car.

Well Piper's picked up a couple of funny new habits which are making me giggle, she quite frequently looks under her eyebrows at me and lowers her head, hard to describe but most amusing! And she's started doing this funny little head wiggle...if I do it to her, she then wiggles her had back again and has started to do it a bit to music...maybe her first attempt at dancing??

I've given her yoghurt for about a week or two now, at first it was the one food I was spoon feeding her, but because she's been feeding herself from day dot she soon had enough of that and now grabs the bowl and tips it up directly into her mouth, like a cup. I got some video footage today...hilarious! UBER messy :freakingout:, but so much fun.

The last Thursday at Kings Park sounds like a plan. I have a playgroup on that starts at 12.30, but I can probably be a bit late. Shall we make it 10am? Maybe we could get take out coffee and find a nice shady spot on the grass as containing our wiggly babies might be a bit harder than last time we met. I know Piper loves rolling around on the grass, eating dirt and leaves ;)

bourbon11646
15-10-2011, 22:21
What about 3rd or 4th Nov for catch up? Chogm is 28-30 oct but dh reckons it will be a bit crazy the day before and couple days after..

MrsL
15-10-2011, 23:01
hiya,

bonny - i also dont really think indi needs a feed. she doesnt really wake crying she is just awake and then seems to get annoyed when she's awake too long at which point i go and feed her to get us both back to sleep. she really is quite wakeful in the night often waking and resettling and as i said stirring early these days! I usually feed her then put her in bed with DH with some instructions on solids and time for next sleep and head down to the spare bed for some extra zzzz's. He reckons he tries to keep sleeping while she rips his face to shreds :laughing:

sonja - we're also heading beach tomoz :smiliedance:

leelee - dont u love how they are really coming into their own personalities now. its such a special time :goodvibes: i love giving indi yoghurt such an easy meal. i fed her fish i'd pureed with a cheese sauce and peas for dinner tonight and was almost gagging as she spat it back at me. i cant stand it!

bourban - glad your on track with all the house stuff! what a crazy time for u!

im happy to catch up whenever. can i be a coastal girl again and suggest floreat beach for the end of the month if kings park traffic will be bad. lovely grassed area, playground and take away coffee etc and central to most (i think :confused:) otherwise if everyone would pref make it beg of month at kings park happy to do that too!

Sonja
15-10-2011, 23:19
MrsL Floreat sounds great if it suits the others - not sure if LeeLee can get there on public transport tho.

Bourbon i'd forgotten about Chogm and yes will definitely be avoiding the city. DH is working from home that week to avoid the city. Early Nov sounds much better.

Nighty night everyone

Always Hoping
16-10-2011, 12:00
LeeLee - Piper sounds funny. Z too is doing the head wiggle/head bang. She seems to do it more if there is music on. So funny to watch. She too is getting her personality and it's so adorable to watch. Letting P feed herself yoghurt.............ewwwwww. Almost need the hose to clean up:laughing:

Sonja - Z too wakes at about 2ish and I BF her to put her back to sleep. I've never tried to settle Z at night. I just find it easier to feed her to get her back to sleep (which I'm sure is more comfort than anything). Glad you've only got M now getting up at night. Glad the girls are now sleeping through :fingerscrossed:

Bonny - have fun in the new term of swimming.

Bourbon - prestart....................thank god that's over hey?:freakingout:

AFU - well now Z has a runny nose. Doesn't seem to bother her and it hasn't turned her off her food or anything. Hopefully it doesn't develop into anything more. She has her CN appointment tomorrow morning, then taking SD for his follow up appointments from his op, then Tues I take my SIL to her dental op and then Wed go and see the accountant.:freakingout: Gee I thought I was busy when I was working.:D

I tried Z on natural yoghurt a couple of days ago now and I mixed pureed fruit into the yoghurt purely because natural yoghurt..............blah:barf:. At first her reaction was one of "ewwwww..........yuck" and then she wanted more. Well she likes her yoghurt now. Next thing I'm going to try is pasta chopped up into her dinner.

She is having her morning nap at the moment....................hence me having time to post:D

As for catch up - I'm happy with whenever, wherever.:)

bourbon11646
16-10-2011, 16:14
Man i hate living out in the sticks, just checked google maps & its going to take an hr each way to get to floreat beach. Theres not really anywhere central to north south & east is there? Not sure how luca will go .. How do u all go with catch ups that r an hr away? Does bub get overtired?

MrsL
16-10-2011, 18:41
bourban - an hour! wow! where abouts are u at the mo? maybe somewhere else then. It is a bit hard to find somewhere central.

I'm always happy to host a catch up for the northies in between other catch ups but its only really worth it if at least 3 others are keen. feel free to suggest it anytime :D

always - i do the same with the natural yoghurt as agree it is so bad on its own. indi gagged when i gave her a taste.

so where does that leave us for this catch up? kings park at beg of month? is that more central for all?

Always Hoping
16-10-2011, 19:54
Bourbon - I live about 20 mins south of Perth and it usually takes me anywhere between 45 mins and an hour for catch ups that are north of perth.

Z is a sleeper when it comes to the car so I usually don't have much trouble with her getting overtired. If she doesn't sleep on the way there she certainly does on the way home :D I find the interaction she has with the other babies far outweighs the travel time.

Still every bub is different and they get tired more quickly than others and some are not good travellers (I can hear you nodding LeeLee re the travelling:yes:).

When I drive to Jurien to visit my mum Z sleeps the whole way (2.5 hr drive from my place):smiliedance:

Everyone - catch up - I agree that Kings Park is more central for everyone and if anyone wishes they can catch public transport easily.

Is the beginning of November agreed?

bourbon11646
16-10-2011, 21:10
MrsL - im in ellenbrook so malaga, ballajura, or north of greenwood are better for me. Kings park is also just under an hr travel but i really want to see u all so ill come. Im really keen on coming to yours sometime :)

So what dates in nov for kings park? R we sitting on grass in shade? What time? As late as poss pls as it takes me an hr & luca has his am sleep around 9am, although he'll prob sleep in car - hopefully lol :)

MrsL
16-10-2011, 22:23
oh that is far! yeah grass would be great for me and near playground if its on a day where my son is there.

Sonja
16-10-2011, 22:24
If we make it the first thursday in november does that work? It's the 3rd i think.

There are heaps of shady spots at sticky beaks so we should be fine. Re timing if it's too late in the morning it could be really hot tho depending on the weather. I wouldn't want to get there much later than 10 but understand that mightn't suit everyone. I'd head straight from school drop off so Marc will either sleep in the car or the baby bjorn when we get there. Marc had his morning sleep in the tent on the beach today so he's learning to be very adaptable!

LeeLee19
16-10-2011, 23:40
Yeah Perth is so spread out. Floreat is a wee bit far for poor Piper in the car. Bourbon..Ellenbrook is only about 15mins from me, but I think we're the only ones living east-ish :)

Kings Park is good as even if I decide not to chance it in the car (prob about 1/2 hr from Guildford) I can train then bus it.

Shall we say 10am then in a nice shady spot near Sticky Beaks (for coffees) and the playground for any toddlers.

I reckon the first Thursday is a goer..maybe easier to remember? Will put it in the diary now.

And yes Always, the yoghurt really was ewwwwwwww....tonight she got covered in the stuff, then started sobbing for some unknown reason, so I picked her up to comfort before the wipe dowm and got slimed *sigh* evenings are now necessitating baths for both of us :no:

bourbon11646
17-10-2011, 11:36
10am Kings Park 3rd Nov is fine with me. Im hoping the hr it will take to get there that luca will sleep in the car! Otherwise it will be a long hrs drive lol :freakingout:
LeeLee - maybe those that are willing can come out this way sometime, the swan valley is gorgeous :)
How does this autosave work by the way? I just pressed reply to thread rather than post reply but not sure how to retrieve?

Sonja
17-10-2011, 13:19
Bourbon i'd love to come out to the swan valley for a catch up. Are you anywhere hnear Whiteman park ( at least i think that's what it's called)? I'd love to take the kids there.