View Full Version : Breast pain 3 days after milk coming in?
Hello all, just wanted to ask whether this is a normal part of early B/Fing before I start to worry about mastitis etc! Background is that my little girl is 7 days old today and we've been struggling a bit with feeding. I've had raw nipples pretty much from day 1, and was prescribed some antibiotic cream for them today through the C'ty health BF nurse, in consult with my doc, to try and speed up the healing process. We're both getting better at the attachment side of things, I've just got sensitive nipples as well as the damage from the early days so latching involves pretty intense pain for the first 30 secs or so, usually improving after that.
Leaving that aside though, this afternoon I had much deeper pain in behind the nipple, it happened on each side after feeding, stayed for a couple of hours, then subsided with the following feed. I can best describe it as a strong dull sting deep in the breast tissue. Is this part of milk still coming in and ducts opening up?
I'm just anxious about infection given the broken skin. Would be very relieved for any advice as to whether this is part and parcel of the joys of "getting started"! Thanks in advance.
I'm not sure sorry but would suggest calling the breastfeeding helpline 1800686268 they are open 24 hours. I called on day 5 i think when i was having heaps of pain and they talked me through all the possibilities and were really helpful! Best of luck, you do want to keep on top of any pain you have so to avoid mastitis.
Thanks minties, I spoke to them a couple of days ago re other stuff but will give them a ring in the morning. :yes:
lulululu
26-01-2011, 01:57
I agree. Call ABA. I think any pain that doesn't ease after the first minute needs following up. Sounds a little like vasospasm.
yeah - sounds like nipple vasospasm.
Here you go
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/nipple-blanching.html
Thanks for those links - I have a Community nurse who's also a BF advisor person coming to visit tomorrow morning and I will follow it up further with her.
Does attachment usually improve as their mouths get bigger?
Stiflers Mom
26-01-2011, 22:26
Thanks for those links - I have a Community nurse who's also a BF advisor person coming to visit tomorrow morning and I will follow it up further with her.
Does attachment usually improve as their mouths get bigger?
Yes, my baby has a slight tongue tie and breast feeding was a nightmare at the start. Now that she is bigger her attachment is heaps better despite not having her tongue clipped. It should all fall into place in a little while, it sounds like you are doing a brilliant job. The first weeks are difficult, but it is awesome coming out the other side :)
I get a stabby pain down my breast under the nipple area too, I've just gotten used to it and haven't has any mastitis or other complications from it. Sometimes I think it happens more when I am cold (and tired).
Yeah, absolutely did improve for us. Dd was pretty tiny when she was born (2.8 kg) and her little mouth used to leave ridge marks on my nipples. Ouch. She grew pretty quickly though and by probably four weeks her mouth was able to open wide enough to feed really comfortably. In the meantime you might want to try feeding lying down (bubs on their side next to you). I foumd this was easier for me and dd when she was tiny, and it stops them pulling back and doing more damage to your nipple.
Thanks medot and minties- that's heartening!
I wanted to try lying down yesterday but couldn't work out where arms/baby etc should go. Stopping her pulling back would be a big benefit! I'll ask the nurse to show me that and how to attach in footy hold tomorrow too.
Thanks.
Bubbles10
27-01-2011, 07:06
It can be helpful at the start to keep baby wrapped whilst you are learning a new position (if bubs hands are everywhere).
When i feed lying down, i lie on my side with the under arm (the one on the bed) stretched out. Bub lies with the top of her head on the bed below the outstretched arm. I used to have a face washer under bubs head that helped get it at the right height and also collect any leaks. My top arm can help make sure attachment is right. The under arm can also go around back of bub and pull their bottom in, which can help with correct attachment.
i love feeding lying down, it is helpful when bub gets bigger and more distracted by things around them. lying down can help calm them.
Stiflers Mom
27-01-2011, 07:38
It can be helpful at the start to keep baby wrapped whilst you are learning a new position (if bubs hands are everywhere).
When i feed lying down, i lie on my side with the under arm (the one on the bed) stretched out. Bub lies with the top of her head on the bed below the outstretched arm. I used to have a face washer under bubs head that helped get it at the right height and also collect any leaks. My top arm can help make sure attachment is right. The under arm can also go around back of bub and pull their bottom in, which can help with correct attachment.
i love feeding lying down, it is helpful when bub gets bigger and more distracted by things around them. lying down can help calm them.
My baby is feeding better this way just now too, she arches her back when I try feed her normally. Good thing is lying down sends her (and me!) off to sleep more often than not.
Thanks so much for that description! The Cty Health nurse ran out of time this morning so we only had a brief run down of how to do it rather than a hands on trial... :)
As to the other... she has a little suspicion it might be thrush, although I've never had it before and there are no visible symptoms... so we're playing wait and see pudding... :(
tinynosetinytoes
27-01-2011, 13:28
I think the PP have offered you some great advice so not much more to add from me other than in between feeds express a small amount of milk and rub in on your nipples. Then leave them exposed to air dry a little (if you don't want to go without a bra, just pull the 'flaps' down on your maternity/breastfeeding bra.
It can help them heal a bit better :)
Thanks so much for that description! The Cty Health nurse ran out of time this morning so we only had a brief run down of how to do it rather than a hands on trial... :)
As to the other... she has a little suspicion it might be thrush, although I've never had it before and there are no visible symptoms... so we're playing wait and see pudding... :(
I was misdiagnosed with thrush over and over and treated over and over even though bubs didn't have any evidence of it in his mouth until I was diagnosed with vasospasm 3 months down the track. I was referred to a rheumatologist by the lactation consultant due to the fact that its linked with autoimmune diseases.