View Full Version : Elevit v Blackmores
Hi all :wave: Just wondering what preg vitamins everyone is taking? I am currently taking Elevit - but the herbalist that I will start using as of next month has recommended Blackmores - mostly because they contain fish oil. Elevit actually work out a touch cheaper and are easier to take (only 1 a day - instead of 2). I buy 100 Elevit for $49.95 (100 days) and blackmores are about $45.00 for 70 days. I don't know whether to switch or take fish oil seperately .... as I have heard that Elevit are the best ...hmmm :rolleyes: What is everyone else doing?
My naturpath recommends Elevit due to the higher dosages of vitamins in it and apparenly they are less refined (when you break it open it looks all cardboardy) and she gave me fish oil tablets to take seperatley. So thats what I do :)
MrsMiggins
08-09-2006, 13:01
My Dr recommends only Blackmores or Nature's Way due to the inclusion of iodine in these multi-vitamins. Australian diets are very low in iodine, which is essential for brain development, as well as eyesight & hearing in unborn bubs.
I have found you can often get Blackmores cheaply at discount health stores or pharmacies if you go for the economy size bottle (either 100 or 140 - depending where you are buying it). Coles often have the 100 capsule bottles on sale for around $28 - something.
I'm on fefol they also have fishoil and I find them great, two months supply for about $30 depending where you get them from.
I am allergic to seafood, so I unfortunately cannot take Blackmores or Fabfol, or a lot of the other really good ones on the market. :thumbsdown:
I take Elevit and also Blackmores Flax Seed Oil capsules, so that I don't miss out on those essential fatty acids. My doctor recommended also using iodised salt occasionally on my food to get the right iodine content in my diet.
We use iodised salt also.
I was on Blackmores from March 2003 until 2 months ago! Changed to Fefol Multi-Preg on DR's advice :D
MrsMiggins
08-09-2006, 14:48
We use iodised salt also.
A great start! You can also get iodine naturally in salt water fish (I think it was... sorry! PG brain strikes again!!)
A supplement helps on those days where you may not get any iodine at all (I know I have days where I don't use salt at all).
The Australian Gov. have apparently only recently been making Dr's aware of the very low iodine levels in Australian diets and suggesting they pass info onto PG women.
sugar n spice
08-09-2006, 16:35
i found my nausea increased more in this preg when taking blackmores yet no problems when i used it with my second. On the reccommendation by my dr to take a calcium supplement the chemist reccommended elevit as it has a high dose of clacium so im taking that with no problems so far
Took Blackmores with my first, Elevit with my second (I couldn't keep blackmores down - way too big) and separate iron tabs
I use the blackmores pregnancy and breastfeeding ones. Used them with Bailey too and they were good :thumbsup:
Im currently taking the elevit, i was taking blackmores but they are too hard to swallow and they repeat on my all day! Not a nice taste at all.
I have enough trouble swollowing panadol let alone blackmores which are the size of horse tablets.
The elevit ones seem to have more mg's or what ever of each ingredient/vitamin than the blackmores
lavenderpegasus
09-09-2006, 09:19
I take the blackmore pg ones, but I think they are usually recommended by old naturpaths and others because of the good history of blackmores, but I think that is it;
I personaly think take what ever ones you can, whether because of cost or pill size. As long as you take something to supplement folate.
Ive been using Blackmores and havent had any problems :)
I just found an alternative that is a one a day pregnancy mutli with both fish oil and iodine. It it on sale too (if you buy 3) here is the link:
http://www.vitaminking.com.au/page/shop/flypage/product_id/10567
It's a bargain for 6 months supply! :)
wannabamum
16-09-2006, 06:05
I have an under-active thyroid so have been researching into iodine and pregnancy vits. From what I understand Elevit does not have the recommended allowance of iodine however Blackmores does. The amount of iodine needed and the association with a lower IQ due to deficiency has only come to light recently. If you were to get iodine from food you would need one teaspoon of iodine salt per day! From what I have read two Blackmores a day will give you the vits you need.
Just wanted to add, my dr today recommended Elevit, because it is clinically proven to reduce spina bifida (sp?) At least thats what he said
our FS recommends Elevit but really only because they are just one of the good ones out there...
I was told there is not allot of difference between Elevit and Blackmores however the new Blackmores Gold range http://www.blackmores.com.au/Products/Detail.aspx?ProductId=1928 has added things Elevit has not yet added to theirs and also they said that the Blackmores one is good because you take 2 capsules, one in the morning and the other in the afternoon so there is a nice balance of vitamins etc through the day, instead of getting a hit in the morning, to which the levels are liekly to be low in the afternoon.. (the ones that get extreted in your urine) or something like that!
Adria your Dr is talking about it having Folate in it, which pretty much all pregnancy multis do.
EskimoMumma
26-09-2006, 16:31
I have found you can often get Blackmores cheaply at discount health stores or pharmacies if you go for the economy size bottle (either 100 or 140 - depending where you are buying it)
I bought a bottle of 140 capsules of Blackmores for 20bucks in the discount vitamin store in melbourne (elizabeth street i believe)
Blackmores gold is also available in bulk buying at the discount stores :smiliedance:
*Sparkles*
26-09-2006, 16:38
I started off taking Blackmores, aswell as a Natures Own folic acid tablet every day. I then switched to Elevit as I heard they were better and they also contained the folic acid so I didn't need to take that seperately anymore.
I never even gave fish oil a thought, I was more concerned about the folic acid and iron and Elevit has a good daily dose of both. I will stay with them even after bubs is born as I want to BF.
ElizaDee
26-09-2006, 17:13
I took Blackmores while pg and still taking it due to breastfeeding! I don't have a problem taking large tablets, been taking pills since I was a kid. Due to being asthmatic.
I take the Blackmores ones. but I take them both at the same time in the morning. Should I be taking one in the morning and one in the evening?
Sorry to hijack the thread.. :o
Hi Len,
Thats just what the Pharmasist told me, she certainly seemed to know what she was talking about though. Blackmores dont seem to tell you either way on the bottle... might ask my sister tonight, she is a pharmasist to...
I take the Blackmores ones. but I take them both at the same time in the morning. Should I be taking one in the morning and one in the evening?
Sorry to hijack the thread.. :o
I'd like to know that too, cause i bought a bottle before the m/c so i should get in and use that up
I have emailed Blackmores and asked them and also "asked a naturopath" which is on their web site, hopefully i get a responce from one soon.
I wonder if you took both - alternate each day - then you would be getting the best of both worlds. I take Elevit but am now concerned about the lack of fish oil and iodine.
Michelle_N
27-09-2006, 10:43
Just to throw another spanner (or tablet) into the works. I have read and heard and seen heaps of research (done here and in the US) about taking fish oil. That it is an extremely important oil for babies brain developement.
They actually supplement premmie babies milk with the fish oil to help their brains develop and it has been clinically proven that it does help.
I take Blackmores but also supplement with fish oil tablets. As there isnt quite enough fish oil in the tabs.
From what I understand the Blackmores has the required folate to prevent spina bifida but I know nothing on the iodine part.
Will see if I can find anywhere on the net if there is a definitive millgramage that preg women need to take of all vits then everyone can go check the bottles and see if they meet the recommended requirements. If anyone else can find it please post!
Its so difficult when there are so many different vitamins out there!
Michelle
Michelle_N
27-09-2006, 11:05
Okay found something....here goes:
Folic acid is necessary for DNA synthesis, and therefore critical in the development of all tissues, particularly the nervous system's. Oral contraceptives may deplete folic acid levels.
Deficiencies have been linked to megaloblastic anemia and neural tube defects (incomplete development of the brain and spinal cord). Folic acid supplementation has been shown to reduce recurrence of neural tube defects by 72 percent.3 When a group of more than 2,000 women took a multivitamin that included 800 micrograms of folic acid from the time of conception through the first three months of pregnancy, their babies had 50 percent fewer birth malformations of all types and no neural tube defects.
Because the neural tube forms within the first four weeks of pregnancy, you need to get sufficient folic acid while you're trying to conceive.
RDA: 400 mcg.
Food sources: liver (750 mcg. in 3.5 oz.), whole grains, legumes (358 mcg. in 1 cup lentils), sunflower seeds (317 mcg. in 1 cup), beans (292 mcg. in 1 cup pinto beans), green leafy vegetables (200 mcg. in 1 cup frozen spinach, 171 mcg. in 1 cup turnip greens), citrus fruits (109 mcg. in 1 cup orange juice), broccoli (104 mcg. in 1 cup), and brewer's yeast. Herbal sources include dandelion, amaranth greens, lamb's quarter, nettle, and red clover.
Vitamin B-6 is important in the breakdown and utilization of carbohydrates, fats, and proteins, and in the production of antibodies and red blood cells. Oral contraceptives can deplete this vitamin. A deficiency may aggravate morning sickness, which supplementation can help relieve. In one clinical study, 342 pregnant women were randomly assigned to receive either 30 mg. of vitamin B-6 or a placebo. Compared to the placebo group, the women taking vitamin B-6 reported a significant reduction in nausea and vomiting, although one-third continued to experience gastrointestinal upset.
RDA: 2.2 mg.
Food sources (contents given in mg. per 3.5-oz. serving): torula yeast (3), brewer's yeast (2.5), sunflower seeds (1.25), toasted wheat germ (1.15), legumes (.81 for dry soybeans), walnuts (.73), whole grains (.55 for brown rice), fruits (.51 for bananas), green leafy vegetables such as spinach (.28), and meat, fish, and poultry.
Calcium is vital to the health of bones and teeth in both the fetus and the mother. It's important not to take calcium and iron at the same time because each counters the absorption of the other. For this reason, some practitioners recommend that women take a multivitamin that contains iron and, at another time, a calcium supplement. In addition, a high protein intake depletes calcium stores, which is one reason the RDA is so high (since most Americans consume more protein than they need). If you follow a lower protein vegetarian diet, you may not need this much calcium.
RDA: 1,200 mg.
Food sources: sardines (370 mg. in 3 oz.), dairy products (300 mg. in 1 cup low-fat milk), mackerel, firm tofu processed with calcium, seaweed, tahini, almonds, dark leafy greens (180 mg. in 1/2 cup), salmon (165 mg. in 3 oz. canned with bones), broccoli (70 mg. in 1/2 cup), beans, lentils, blackstrap molasses, and dried fruit. Herbs containing calcium include nettles, red raspberry leaves, oatseed, oatstraw, alfalfa, chamomile, borage, dandelion, and red clover. A cup of lamb's quarters or amaranth greens contains about 400 mg. An infusion of two handfuls of nettle, red clover, raspberry leaf, or oatstraw in 2 to 4 cups boiling water, steeped 4 to 8 hours, contains 250 to 300 mg. per cup. Food herbs rich in calcium generally also contain magnesium in a ratio well utilized by the body.
Vitamin A is essential in building strong bones and teeth, and in the growth and repair of all tissues, especially skin and mucous membranes. Because of the potential toxicity of high doses, which are associated with birth defects, stay within recommended guidelines. Beta-carotene, which the body converts to vitamin A, is considered more beneficial and is not associated with toxicity.
RDA: 2,500 IU
Food sources (given in IU of beta carotene): Orange fruits and vegetables such as carrots (11,000 in 1 large carrot), sweet potatoes, winter squash, (2,700 in 2 to 3 medium), cantaloupe (3,400 in 1/4 melon), peaches (1,330 in 1 medium), and dark leafy greens like mustard and kale (7,400 in 3/4 cup cooked), spinach (7,300 in 1/2 cup cooked). The best herb source is dandelion (3,500 to 6,500 in a 1/2 cup of steamed or flesh dandelion greens), although you do not need that much--just adding a few leaves to your salad will boost your vitamin intake. Other herb sources include alfalfa, cayenne, paprika, and elderberries.
Vitamin C is essential for collagen synthesis, as well as amino acid and thyroid hormone production; it also aids iron and calcium absorption.
RDA: 70 mg.
Food sources: guava (242 mg. in 1 medium), papaya, green peppers (96 mg. in 3.5 oz.), broccoli (90 mg. in 2/3 cup cooked), Brussels sprouts (87 mg. in 6 to 7 cooked), cauliflower (78 mg. in 1 cup), cabbage (47 mg. in 1 cup), turnip greens, strawberries (59 mg. in 10 large), citrus fruits (53 mg. in 1 orange), cantaloupe (33 mg. in 1/4 melon). Herbs include dandelion leaves, nettles, elderberries, rosehips, cayenne, violet leaves, pine needles, and alfalfa.
Vitamin D is important in the absorption of calcium and phosphorous and for the fetus's bone and tooth development.
RDA: 10 mcg. (400 IU)
Sources: sunshine, alfalfa, nettles, dairy, butter, eggs. Deficiency is rare.
Vitamin E is important for red blood cell growth and proper immune function.
RDA: 10 mg. or 10 IU
Food sources: wheat germ, vegetable oils, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, whole grains, eggs, spinach, soybeans, hazelnuts, almonds, and seaweeds. Herbs include alfalfa, rosehips, raspberry leaf, and dandelion.
Vitamin K is necessary for the formation of thrombin--a chemical critical to blood clotting. In the presence of certain intestinal bacteria, our bodies can make this fat-soluble vitamin. Insufficient vitamin K can contribute to postpartum hemorrhaging.
RDA: 65 mcg.
Food sources: (given as mcgs. per 3.5-oz. serving): kale (729), green tea (712), leafy greens such as turnip greens (650) and spinach (415), broccoli (200), lettuce (129), cabbage (125), watercress (57), asparagus (57), oats (20), green peas (19), and whole wheat (17).
Iron requirements double in pregnancy, chiefly to keep up with the production of hemoglobin (the chemical that carries oxygen in red blood cells) in mother and fetus.
RDA: 30 mg. The drawback of supplemental iron is constipation. Absorption is increased by vitamin C.
Food sources: clams (24 mg. in 3 oz.), oysters (11 mg. in 3 oz.), legumes (9 mg. in 1 cup soybeans), tofu (7 to 13 mg. in 4 oz. firm), organ meats (6 mg. in 3 oz. beef liver, 15 mg. in 3 oz. pork liver), whole grains (5 mg. in 1 cup cooked quinoa), beans (4 mg. in I cup cooked pinto beans), dark, leafy greens (3 mg. in a cup cooked spinach), dried fruits (2 mg. in 5 figs), seeds, nuts (especially almonds), egg yolks, rosehips, and blackstrap molasses (6 mg. in 2 tbsp.). Herbs containing iron include yellow dock root, dandelion root, nettles, and alfalfa. According to Cox, these herbs provide an assimilable source of iron that is nonconstipating.
Zinc is important in enzyme function, the formation of insulin, protein synthesis, development of reproductive organs, and immune function. In a study of women with blood zinc levels below the median, the group who took a prenatal vitamin that included a zinc supplement bore infants of greater birthweight and head circumference than the placebo group.
RDA: 15 mg.
Food sources: (given as mg. per 3.5 oz. serving): fresh oysters (148.7), pumpkin seeds (7.5), gingerroot (6.8), nuts (3 to 4), whole wheat (3.2), oats (3.2), lima beans (3.1), green peas (1.6), garlic (.6).
One note common across everything I read was: "Multivitamins not designed for pregnancy should be taken with care as there are dangers associated with excessive doses of nutrients such as Vitamins A, D and B6."
Hope it helps!
Michelle
27-09-2006, 14:23
I am taking Elevit :thumbsup:
Ok for those taking Blackmores this was their answer about when to take the 2 capsules in a day of their Pregnancy & Breastfeeding Gold Formula...
It is best to separate the dose of the Pregnancy formula so you maximise
absorption of the nutrients. One with breakfast and one with either
lunch or dinner would be ideal.
Thanks for that nicoleE:thumbsup:
firstbubonway
29-09-2006, 12:34
Wow - great to know i should be taking each blackmores tablet separately. Never occured to me to do that! There are so many ads for elevit on tv at the moment - it makes me worry if they are better but my gp recommended blackmores (funny how advertising works!). Thanks for the tip! :yelclap:
Thanks Nicole!!!! Good job.... :yelclap:
Just to throw another spanner (or tablet) into the works. I have read and heard and seen heaps of research (done here and in the US) about taking fish oil. That it is an extremely important oil for babies brain developement.
They actually supplement premmie babies milk with the fish oil to help their brains develop and it has been clinically proven that it does help.
I take Blackmores but also supplement with fish oil tablets. As there isnt quite enough fish oil in the tabs.
From what I understand the Blackmores has the required folate to prevent spina bifida but I know nothing on the iodine part.
Will see if I can find anywhere on the net if there is a definitive millgramage that preg women need to take of all vits then everyone can go check the bottles and see if they meet the recommended requirements. If anyone else can find it please post!
Its so difficult when there are so many different vitamins out there!
Michelle
Does anyone know what the daily RDA is for fish oil? How much do you take on top of your blackmores?
Femme la Phoenix
01-10-2006, 15:20
Omega 3's During Pregnancy (and TTC)
The omega-3 fatty acid, DHA, is the major structural and functional essential fatty acid in the central nervous system. It is essential for normal development of eye function and vision in the growing fetus. In premature babies, the levels of DHA are positively related to head circumference, birth weight and birth length. These results suggest that increasing omega-3 fatty acids during pregnancy may be beneficial to both mother and child. Essential fatty acids may also help to prevent premature birth.
How safe is it to supplement Omega 3's when I'm Pregnant?
There are two types of fish oil supplement -- those made from the liver of the fish and those made from the body of the fish. Supplements made from the liver of the fish, such as cod liver oil, contain the retinol form of vitamin A and need to be either avoided altogether or strictly limited in pregnancy so that your daily intake does not exceed 3,300 micrograms (mcg). On the other hand, fish oils not derived from fish livers contain lots of DHA (docosahexaenoic acid), which is essential for your baby's developing eyes and brain.
DHA, also called omega 3 fatty acid, is found in concentrated amounts in oily fish and, in lesser amounts, in other foods, such as walnuts and linseeds. Including DHA in your diet is essential for your baby's normal brain, eye and vision development, especially during the last trimester. This may be one reason why premature babies are particularly at risk of eye and brain damage.
Fish especially rich in omega 3 fatty acids include tinned or fresh mackerel, salmon, trout, herring, pilchards, anchovies and sardines, and some experts recommend eating two fish meals per week. If you're not a big fish eater, you could take a fish oil supplement, but do make sure you choose one formulated specially for pregnant women.
At present, there is no recommended daily intake of DHA, although this is currently being researched. In the meantime, remember that if you eat a varied range of foods, including some oily fish, you may not need to supplement your diet anyway.
anna's mum
01-10-2006, 17:28
Well now I am stumped, because I am taking Cenovis Preg & Breastfeeding vits! :confused:
Just checked, they have fish oil, iodine & of course folic acid, so should be covered :thumbsup:
Femme la Phoenix
01-10-2006, 19:02
Well now I am stumped, because I am taking Cenovis Preg & Breastfeeding vits! :confused:
Just checked, they have fish oil, iodine & of course folic acid, so should be covered :thumbsup:
Hi anna's mum,
I'm taking the same one's and really like the range of vitamins/minerals and the fact they had omega 3's as well!!
Personally, I am going to wait to pregnancy is confirmed before taking additional omega 3 supplements - just through personal choice -
Omega 3 is a safe supplement to take and compared with some fish containing heavy metals ie: mercury it is a safe choice to make while TTC or Pregnant.
HI:wave:
After reading through this thread (I take elevit) and freaking out that I am not taking the right amount of anything lol (first pregnancy) I bought:
Evening Primrose Oil 1000 mg Omega 6 fatty acid gamma linolenic acid GLA 3 per day
Salmon Oil 1000 with 300mg Omega 3 Marina Triclycerides 3 per day ( sourced from wild salmon and re tested for mercurym heavy metals and pesticides.
AND
Kelp 1500 equivalent to Iodine 300 mcg. 1 per day
Can anyone see anything that I should not be taking?:confused: Am I taking enough of everything?:fingerscrossed:
HI:wave:
After reading through this thread (I take elevit) and freaking out that I am not taking the right amount of anything lol (first pregnancy) I bought:
Evening Primrose Oil 1000 mg Omega 6 fatty acid gamma linolenic acid GLA 3 per day
Salmon Oil 1000 with 300mg Omega 3 Marina Triclycerides 3 per day ( sourced from wild salmon and re tested for mercurym heavy metals and pesticides.
AND
Kelp 1500 equivalent to Iodine 300 mcg. 1 per day
Can anyone see anything that I should not be taking?:confused: Am I taking enough of everything?:fingerscrossed:
Hi Caithi - I would probably check with your health food store or chemist - just to be sure. I have heard that EPO Can cause uterine contractions and is not recommended during pregnancy - but then again that might not be totally correct. I reckon the salmon oil and kelp should be all good though.
Good luck with everything :D
Hi Caithi - I would probably check with your health food store or chemist - just to be sure. I have heard that EPO Can cause uterine contractions and is not recommended during pregnancy - but then again that might not be totally correct. I reckon the salmon oil and kelp should be all good though.
Good luck with everything :D
THANKS! :hugs:
I just called and they said "Hmmmmmmm I have no idea?????" :banghead: lol
Ill do a google :thumbsup:
"Evening Primrose Oil should only be taken from menstruation to ovulation. This is because Evening Primrose can cause uterine contractions in pregnancy. The dosage taken should be 1500mg to 3000mg per day. "
This is what I found! :thumbsup:
What is a healthy Omega 6 oil to take then? :D
Wow - great to know i should be taking each blackmores tablet separately. Never occured to me to do that! There are so many ads for elevit on tv at the moment - it makes me worry if they are better but my gp recommended blackmores (funny how advertising works!). Thanks for the tip! :yelclap:
I was actually told in advertising class that excessive over sell (too much advertising on tv) is a bad thing because it makes you seem desperate. Take the greater newcastle home loan ad for example!!!